Heyneke wants Matfield to lead

Heyneke Meyer plans to bring Victor Matfield out of retirement to captain the Springboks in 2012.

Meyer said when he was appointed in January that he would pick a captain after his own heart. He also admitted that the short turnaround before the June Tests would see him changing very little in terms of Bok structures, and that he may have to count on the existing leaders to steer the ship.

In a recent conversation with keo.co.za, Meyer said that he won’t pick a long-term captain until he has got to know the players. He will pick Matfield to lead the Boks for the series against England, as Matfield has the experience of leading South Africa, has played over 100 Tests and has worked extensively with Meyer at the Bulls.

Matfield retired from rugby following last year’s clash between the Barbarians and Australia. The 34-year-old lock has reportedly lost a lot of bulk since then but he will undergo an intense conditioning programme between now and June to be ready to battle England, a side with a reputation for robust forward play.

Matfield has been keeping fit since he retired last year, and has been working as a lineout consultant at the Bulls.

447 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All

• 401.willievz: Reply to this comment

@DAS(DAS)-400: Precisely. That’s MORE than enough experience right there.

• 402.cab: Reply to this comment

Aggenee if we have matfield and spies in same pack and lose to England – meyer must get the chop straightaway.

• 403.cab: Reply to this comment

This oke is not reading tge signs right at all and wants to fallback on players who were in their prime 5 years ago – matfield and spies are not the right players – there is a reason why the stormers are doing so well and it’s that pack – you want to bring one if tge old bluebulle boys back then pick gurthro steenkamp who is still a beast in the tightfirward exchanges and basically carrier the bulls for the last 2 years but pick matfield and spies against England and u asking for trouble – they’ve just walked over the Ireland pack in the 6n.

• 404.carol: Reply to this comment

Martin Johnson liked the ‘Experienced Players’

They were champion at dwarf tossing and bird pulling!! :-)

Problem was they had no energy for rugby the next day!

• 405.sandeno: Reply to this comment

Oh god, this is so disappointing. Matfield? Really?
    Luckily the Boks are playing the Poms who can self destruct and have a daft coach as well. Thank god it ain`t Wales, it would have been a whitewash.

• 406.carol: Reply to this comment

Grootbluesmile has just told me that Percy is no longer required as kicking coach!
    Some bloke called Loiis Koen is running on with water bottles and kicking tees.
    I am so upset I have opened a bottle of Italian Falanghina 2010. :-(

• 407.willievz: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-406: Don’t worry Carol, you will still see Percy on Keo TV!

Oh, and Johan Goosen does not need a kicking coach unlike Morne :)

• 408.carol: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-407:
    Percy is a joy to behold on Keo TV.
    Can’t wait for his next appearance….

Poor Morne, heard he had put his boots on the wrong feet yesterday and could not kick for toffee :-(

• 409.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Read it here first.
    Should Victor decide to play in June, expect him to join the Lions soon.
    I’m willing to put my second favorite bulls underwear on it.

• 410.cab: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-404:
    yip useful qualities, but not on the field – this england team look alot more focussed.
    i’m surprised all that happened under johnson, i thought he woulda crapped on them from a dizzy height, thought he’d be a strict disciplinarian and all.

• 411.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

All I could think when I read this was ”oh no” think I put to much faith in our new coach, what happened to him saying something about he will choose the best players or something like that.

Am extremely disappointed, was looking forward to a new look team with none of the past baggage.

If you don’t win all your beginning games with a new team its acceptable, but bringing back retired from SA rugby guys and then not winning will just leave a bad taste.

Hope this is just all a load of cr*p. We have so much new talent out there. Don’t think this will be good for team dynamics either.

• 412.carol: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-410:
    I agree Cab, I was surprised and disappointed frankly that Johnson was not more critical of his players when he was interviewed in New Zealand.
    Their behaviour was beyond pathetic!

• 413.cab: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-412:
    i actually thought he was alot better when i read that, looked a bit like a serious george, but i suppose i wouldve been a bit pissed as an england supporter tho i dont really know he had them playing the right way england should play.

• 414.H: Reply to this comment

Make either Spies or Bekker captain. Spies gets the slight edge because he has been in the team a bit longer. If they both don’t start for the Boks then an injustice has been done. They will both be good enough to be in the team for another 4 years.

As for Matfield… good luck getting him to pack on the extra muscle in 2 months and be match fit. That alone is my biggest objection to him being in the team. I’m sure he is mentally stronger than last year but the body is obviously not.

• 415.Greenies: Reply to this comment

The Hyena needs somebody to trust. Being religious nutters as th blue bulls are. Matfield is God, ouch!
    Under-cooked at the minute, and Hyena doing a Springbok Special (underestimating the opposition) Wie soek kak? Ons always Ons…

I supose you have to start somewhere, not a bad choice considering. Your captain needs to be on your side( the trust circle) and if you dont have any one, bring in the experience.

Soo for now.. I give the Hyena the OK, like I did with Dizzie at this stage, but scrutiny will be watching!

My guess – alot of structure, little brains(lack street smartness) this void balanced by brut force will be Hyena’s game plan.

If we could just add in the brains and some dancing shoes…… what a deadly combo it will be.

• 416.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@ Greenies

Poor post.

• 417.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-350: Honiball was quite legendary…was Bok flyhalf during Nick Mallett’s great coaching run.

• 418.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

What a joke Why dont you bring Smit back too and with FDP just add as many Bulls as you can??
    Another lazy coach wanting veteran to run the team, and when they fail some one to blame
    Victor do the honorable thing and decline
    Meyer have some balls and and do not consider average players like WO, Stegman etc (yes M steyn too)
    I cannot believe this? Please somebody tell me its a joke??

• 419.Scatman1968: Reply to this comment

This is all bull. Bull coach & coaching staff .Next all average bulls players in the bok team with their kick and lets hope the other team makes a mistake so we can score. Going to be easier and easier to beat the boks this year

• 420.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Scatman1968(Scatman1968)-419:
    yeah its possible What a nigh mare Hope your wrong

• 421.Sydney Shark: Reply to this comment

Total over-reaction going on here. HM said he plans to pick VM for the England tests but he will not decide on a long-term captain until he has got to know the players. It looks to me to be a holding pattern. So I cannot see VM being the long-term captain. He is being ultra-cautious. He is also trying to effectively plan because he knows he’s got f all time to prepare for these games. The biggest issue I have is that VM hasn’t played any rugby since the RWC. He has less than 3 months to get back to match fitness. How exactly is that enough time? Vic better start playing in the S15 now off the bench otherwise he is going to be horrendously undercooked come June.

Not comfortable with HM’s decision but I can accept it if VM is only around for the June tests. He cannot be the captain going forward from there. Leadership is an issue with the current crop of players in SA. It looks like HM was potentially relying on Juan Smith being fit but since he is no longer in the picture. Who else can he rely on?

• 422.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Scatman1968(Scatman1968)-419:
    Its a self destruct mentality
    To even suggest Matfield (who had already stopped been a top test lock and showed in world cup) as been his captain this year, without any super15 games or training, has got to be one of the most stupid statements of all time.
    One has to question his metal state?
    We just got rid of the idiot PVD, and what do we get now ?
    Again we will be the laughing stock of kiwis and Aussies
    With all this wonderful talent we find a way to self destruct, and see the talent disappear to Britain and France, and wonder why???

• 423.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Sydney Shark(JayDaFiveOh)-421:
    Why would he even consider using him against England when he is not playing in Bulls squad in super 15, AND we have plenty of young talent to try out
    I would play in form young talent any day, mixed with in form experienced players.
    JDV can captain but he is a stormer so wont happen

• 424.whatever: Reply to this comment

What a load of k uk!! The guy is how old FFS??

Jeez we have some classic young locks comming through and he wants to carry on with an oke who has already retired, unbelievable!!

• 425.whatever: Reply to this comment

@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-361:

Not too shabby……….he does’nt like to pass too often though does he :)

• 426.Bradenel: Reply to this comment

well… I believe everyone is having an over reaction about this. Matfeild coming back is not a bad idea… however, and its a big however- I can start to see warning signs of what happened to Bismark. Players Like Eben Etsebeth are going to be picked behind has-beens like Matfield and…. Bakkies….. Botha….. I DO NOT want to see Bakkies back in the squad… nor John Smit, nor Fourie Du preez, nor Danie Rousouw, and not even Jean De Villiers.

Its time for Meyer to start making changes, and stop looking back at bulls players who are well and truely has beens. Matfeild to come back all the other players no longer playing can sit at home and watch the games -_-

• 427.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Bradenel(Bradenel)-426:
    Whats Bismark got to do with Lock and Matfield?
    How can you pay an unfit retired lock as a captain in a bok team vs England
    Please explain that one?

• 428.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

I am in two minds about this plan.

But Meyer reason makes sense. Matfield brings that pyschological edge over oppornents and class is class. This be my Bok locks

Bekker (WP)
    Matfield (NTvl)

Etsebeth (WP)
    Kruger (NTvl)

• 429.Bradenel: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-427: Im afraid that would happened to Bismark (he was chosen behind an off form John Smit) may happen to players like Eben Etzebeth and Juandre Kruger (getting chosen over and off form Victor Matfield)
    see?

• 430.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

G13, there is no sense in bringing a retired and unfit player into a team to lead them, none what so ever. He should have bitten the bullet and either select a current player which he thinks will be his future captain and tell the player he is on probation or if he does not know who that person is, another senior player with clear indication it is only for 3 tests.

Why waste even 3 tests on a has been way past his best, rather give the next generation some much needed experience.

• 431.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Ask any lock playing today to name their most difficult opportnent and bet you, Most will name Matfield.

Schalk Britz
    Heinkie vd Merwe
    Brian Mujati

These players are worthy of special recall to Bok colors. Heinkie is still IMO the Most Destructive Bok Loosehead. You cant go wrong with these three.

Jannie is simply Not up to it.

• 432.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-430:

Thats a valid point but if it short term. I cant see the harm. Its a balance between experience and yoputh, present day and longterm planing.

But Please No Hargraaves!!

• 433.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

What transition are we talking about? Most of the Boks will be well experienced and familiar with each others style of play. Matfield would be a bridge where none is needed. Bekker has 24 caps and Kruger as back up is ready for the test arena.
    This tactic would reveal an uncertainty and hesitancy from HM that I did not think was there.

• 434.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-432:

Maybe we putting the cart in front of the horse here anyway, we may well find out the Meyer said something in passing and the scibes latched onto it as gospel. Somehow it just does not fit him and T-cup is spot on, I did not expect it from him…

• 435.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-433:

“This tactic would reveal an uncertainty and hesitancy from HM that I did not think was there.”

Very Valid Point. Why not bring him in as Lineout consultant imstead could be the question here instead??

• 436.Qrest: Reply to this comment

Bwaaahahahahahahahaha. Vic oh yes please he was soooo dominant in the past 2 years he just absolutelypositively has to be picked. While you’re on it HM pick fatboy Smit and maybe wave in The Clown as an assistant coach. Please please give us back The Clown otherwise who’s gonna open their mouths at the pressers and remove all doubt of incompetence.

• 437.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

Such a bad move from Heineke. I cannot see any good coming from roping in Victor again. How does this help in the long run????

• 438.Cane 73: Reply to this comment

Brilliant. Bring back Naas as well.

• 439.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Cane 73(Cane 73)-438:
    Bring back Naas

• 440.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

@Cane 73(Cane 73)-438: @Hurricane(Hurricane)-439: and while he’s at it, sommer Waal Baardtman ook.

• 441.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-104:

Afraid I disagree with you on the Matfield-Smit comparison.
    The big difference is one is your darling Vic and you always disliked Smit.
    I remember you railing for Gary Botha in 2006/2007. The level of insult levelled at Smit was huge. Time taught us that Botha was not in Smit’s league.

As for the 2011 WC – Well Smit had a good game against Aus. We certainly did not lose the game because of him. And we did not lose the WC because of him.
    Generally speaking its fair to say that Matfield did not have a great year.

The part I could not abide last year (and I will defend Matfield for the same reason) is as follows

Players don’t pick themselves. Its the selectors and the coach’s job.
    Smit did nothing wrong by staying on. In fact he confided in senior players to make sure he should do so (Matfield’s book).
    And if Matfield comes out of retirement at the coach’s request then my criticisism will be directed at Meyer and not at Matfield

Just like the criticisism should have been directed at PdV and not Smit.

All we ask is that the players picked give 110%.
    I believe Smit gave his all and I reckon Matfield will do the same.

Having said that I disagree with Meyer’s call (assuming its true)

• 442.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

Heyneke Meyer will be judged, as any other coach in bok history and in the world, not by his successfull history or future promises, but rather on his win/lose record. If he drops below 70%, expect a fallout.

• 443.coma: Reply to this comment

1. Oosthuizen
    2. Bismarck
    3. WP Nel
    4. Etsebeth
    5. Kruger
    6. Brussouw
    7. Burger
    8. Alberts
    9. Hougaard
    10. Goosen
    11. Habana
    12. F. Steyn
    13. Eberson
    14. JPP
    15. Lambie

16. Cilliers
    17. Chillie
    18. Bekker
    19. Vermeulen or Coetzee depending on opposition
    20. Pienaar – cover 9 and 10
    21. Juan de Jongh – would start if he learns to pass
    22. Aplon – cover 11,14,15

All of them are young enough to make the next WC. No has-beens. Enough experience.

• 444.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit(Biscuit)-441: Excellent Post!

• 445.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Heyneke Meyer is showing boere laager mentalty, no offense to the afrikaners on his website, but we have all seen this behaviour before Strauli, Maargraaf, Du plessis, Viljoen.
    These are tell tale signs that already he doesn’t what he is doing. No coach in their right mond would think of brining Matfield back where bringing Du Preez back is not a bad idea at all!
    This is sending a very bad message to Bekker and similar players.
    ALready my confidence in Meyer is slipping.

I can’t understand why Rassie didn’t want the coaching job!!!

• 446.wmp11: Reply to this comment

Different coach same story it seems. Play the young guns!!!! Out with the old!!

• 447.Guns: Reply to this comment

Not such a bad idea given the limited prep time, they will be up against a better English team since the RWC & before. As long as it is just for these tests the younger players will draw off matfields experience in test situations. You would
    Expect Matfield to feature in a couple Super Games first though..

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.