Chiefs edge Durban scrap

RYAN VREDE reports on the Chiefs’ 18-12 victory over the Sharks at Kings Park.

The Sharks spoke this week about finding the synergy and cohesion that has been lacking for most of their campaign. It didn’t happen for them tonight for a plethora of reasons, most notably their inability to retain the ball through enough phases for them to build line-depleting pressure on their opponents.

When they weren’t knocking the ball on in contact or, at times, under no pressure whatsoever, or overcooking lineouts, their ill-discipline further undermined their cause. Unseasonable humidity complicated handling, and while both sides were guilty of fundamental errors in this regard, the Sharks could have aided their effort by holding the ball through their forwards more often than they were willing to do.

Indeed they bossed possession and territory and when they were direct they looked capable of unlocking the Chiefs’ stingy defence. Instead they often went wide without earning the right to do so first, and were met by organised, physical and intelligent defence.

The Chiefs absorbed early pressure well then struck against the run of play. A multi-phase move eroded the Sharks’ defensive line and they shifted the ball wide to Aaron Cruden who cut through amidst calls of obstruction from Sharks players. A review of that score suggested they may have had a solid argument for a penalty. Cruden converted and later kicked a penalty to give his side breathing room.

Much of the Sharks’ focus had been on nullifying the efficient strike runners in the Chiefs’ pack as a means of diluting Sonny Bill Williams’ potency. But the midfielder rendered himself a relative non-factor with his worst performance in Super Rugby. His offloads failed to find their mark and his hands seemed to have been dipped in industrial strength lubricant before kick-off. However, even with the Chiefs’ most dangerous attacking weapon blunted, the Sharks couldn’t get the precision into their attacking game to capitalise.

Pat Lambie kicked three penalties either side of half-time to draw his side within a point. The Chiefs reverted to a more forward-orientated in the second half while the Sharks retained faith in their sterile method. Their fans would have hoped their replacements would have injected some penetration into their play, exploiting the Chiefs’ travel-weary legs and minds.

And they gradually grew in stature, Lambie kicking a penalty to set up a tense finish. You sensed the Sharks would end stronger but they never had the patience and tactical purpose to steal the victory. They became increasingly frantic as full-time neared and in so doing became easier to repel. Chiefs scrumhalf Augustine Pulu scored an audacious try after the siren sounded, faking to kick for touch then breaking through a gap and dancing down the touchline.

The Sharks needed to win this one to keep their charge for the conference title on track. Dropping home points has often been terminal to teams’ ambitions and you have to think that this one will come back to haunt them.

584 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Show All

• 551.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-549: nope you are not African you are Scottish living in Africa like I am 3rd generation SA Jew living in Africa… BIG Difference..

You are NOT African.. you are 2nd or 3rd generation European descendant living in Africa.. but you are not African.

If and when sh’t hits the fan in Dirtbin you will be on first flight outa there en route to the bonny Loch Gloman to stake your Granpappies claim..

The REAL African will remain in Africa.. but you sonny boy I doubt will.

• 552.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

This has been an exceptionally interesting thread to read.

We all have different heroes. Some we can relate to more than others. However, no-one can argue that Swales was not a true African hero.

This thread has reinforced what a complete arsehole skopshyte is. It all makes sense now, why the man is so lost. The Jew who chose to marry out of Judaism. A big deal for the family that, no wonder skopshyte is permanently agitated.

• 553.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

All Jews born in Israel are called sabra whether they are still there or not..

Even that Gumede partner Isakovitch is sabra.. whether you able to accept it or not.

• 554.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

You people who are tied to your clannish attachments and your tribalism and your creeds and religions are the ones who are lost.. not those who have evolved beyond the confines of religion, creed, tribal heritage and tradition..

Those who preach give peace a chance better realize what it is they are preaching and stop visiting ancient war museums which fill their blood lusting souls with awe at the concept of more heroics and more killing and more infatuation with war..

• 555.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-554:

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-612: So then stick to athletics or tennis or basketball or whatever tickles your fancy. Stop wasting your energy on the talentless, unathletic poor rugby players.
    Go join a basketball blog or tennis blog or athletics blog and swear at the people there. See what happens. They, as supporters of the graceful, talented sport codes will likely not take kind to some oke from the fairest Cape that wants to tell everyone else to think exactly like him and if not, swear them in a language most people do not recognize as a language at all, but rather as bribberish constructed by a lonely man deprived of the greatest gift of all – that is LOVE.

• 556.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-553:

Where shall you run, where shall you hide on the day of reckoning? Will you run east or west or south or simply straight in your moer in? Do not look left, do not look right, do not pass beginning and do not collect two hundred Rand. Be careful of the landmine in the road that will, if stepped on, attack your sensitive nostrils with an unstoppable force.
    You hate Schalk Burger for no reason other than the fact that he saw right through your twisted act like a pure blue eye through a magnifying glass.
    Jy het hom gevra vir ‘n dop toe klap hy jou teen die kop.
    You are miserable because he has wine on tap, you have nothing but a dors bek.
    Now chill out, leave the booze, talk sense, respect all your fellow human brothers, be kind to animals, do not steal from the poor and then preach to others about the sins of the past.
    Then, maybe, just maybe, you will find a warm boesem to crawl in under at night, to feel warm and safe with.
    Nag ou seun.

• 557.whatever: Reply to this comment

hahahahaha, skopdoos, you got a pounding on this thread dude………….right up the naught

Classic!

• 558.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-352: GOOD POST!

• 559.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-557: says who.. you?

come again..?? You dumb runaway colonialist dunno what a pounding is.. The little molly coddled white boys got their pounding.. they are the ones suddenly a whole lot more enlightened than what they were before the pounding lesson took place.. it seems just like your pompous pom pom shark shifting boeties you not only cannot read.. you also cannot comprehend..

I on the other hand remain exactly who I am as the pounding lesson imparted to them of who’s African and who’s not.. just like you never were.. neither are they.

• 560.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-434: Come on HG. The bulls have reason to have a trophy room.They have a very proud history of winning.As a Shark supporter I admire their past success. Basson’s try yesterday was as good as it gets.I just finished watching the Skark/Chief’s game . Nothing in it .2 yellows missed against the Chiefs. Otherwise the ref was good.

• 561.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-450: A re you saying Shampoepollo was born in Springs?

• 562.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Lived in Springs.. grew up there from early childhood to early teens.. that is all.. not born there.

• 563.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-513: Robben Island as inmate or visitor? Honest question.

• 564.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-562: Springs is a great place. What went wrong?

• 565.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

visitor obviously

nothing ‘went wrong’

why should anything go wrong for anyone to leave a place for another

Moved to JHB at age 14 .. lived with father .. mother and siblings remained in Springs

You know Springs?

• 566.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

late here .. hitting the sack.. work in a few hours. So long.

• 567.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-565: Just wonder why someone would leave Springs..Great place . Grew up there.Work made me leave.

• 568.Transformation: Reply to this comment

interesting thread indeed and Saving Private Ryan is on tv as i type.

• 569.greentea: Reply to this comment

Peace and harmony in the Rainbow nation.

• 570.whatever: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-565:

“why should anything go wrong for anyone to leave a place for another”

Remember your words when you next have a crack at Saffa’s living abroad ou doosie!

• 571.whatever: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-559:

Dumb runaway?? hehe so you ran away from Springs did you? Too scary for a puny little whiteboywannabebrownboy?

• 572.whatever: Reply to this comment

Skopdoos, simply put you are a hypocrite, in one post you say one thing and in the next you contradict yourself…………..eish, what a plonker.

• 573.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-569: LOL

• 574.greentea: Reply to this comment

@optiplay(optiplay)-573:

Contenders for the title in no particular order Chiefs, Crusaders, Stormers, Bulls.

• 575.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-574: Spot on . My team will have to wait till next year. ( and get someone at centre instead of Bosman. Hope Steyn will be there)

• 576.greentea: Reply to this comment

@optiplay(optiplay)-575:

Yip Sharkies gone now I think, Crusaders starting to look very good they have a fantastic backline think it will come down to home town advantage as it normally does.

• 577.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@optiplay(optiplay)-560:

“nothing in it” ?

being kept tryless, at home, whilst the opposition score twice, is hardly “nothing in it”. The ref certainly tried his best to keep the baying Yappies happy, Sharks awarded 10pens, Chiefs awarded 6.

as for the “missed YC’s”, did you enjoy the prop, Chadwick, entering the ruck from the side and tackling the Chief player when the ball wasnt even out of the ruck yet ? thats a professional foul, on 2 accounts.

almost as dumb as the senseless Skinstad calling Masagas hit on Mvovo “a coconut tackle”. Being the 2nd Yappie commentator to use the racist term over the years. Taking a wee bit of time to ‘adjust’, arent we boys.

Probably hasnt been reported in Yappieland, no doubt theyre more focussed on those “missed YCs” for the opposition.

• 578.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-577: Explain “coconut tackle”Never heard of it. As for the gameThe sharks set up better opportunities but did not finish. The last try of the Chiefs hardly makes them superior. I was surprised how mediocre the Chief;s pack looked.i EXPECTED MORE. As for the ref :IMO the best ref of the weekend.However I dont envy the refs. TOO MANY RULES.!
    You answer the YC with a different qouestion so you are not giving your opinion on that issue. In the Chadwick case ,The ref had called ball out(Do i have the right one?)

• 579.stew: Reply to this comment

Sharkies out of it – if you cant win your home games , you aint in this comp.

• 580.stew: Reply to this comment

SAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADDDDDDDDEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRSSSSSSSSSS

• 581.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Have to say this is the most riveting thread on here………. Respect………

• 582.White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-466:

Well said old man.

• 583.The Hippy Hooker: Reply to this comment

Hey man,sort of like chill man. Saffie rugby players are amazing man and like,kiwi players are amazing too man So like,let’s just all get along man,lay back and watch these amazing sportsmen doing their thing man.
    It’s just a big oval ball of love dudes.

• 584.The Hippy Hooker: Reply to this comment

Hey man,sort of like chill man. Saffie rugby players are amazing man and like,kiwi players are amazing too man So like,let’s just all get along man,lay back and watch these amazing sportsmen doing their thing man.
    It’s just a big rugby ball of love dudes.

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.