Chiefs edge Durban scrap
21 Apr 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on the Chiefs’ 18-12 victory over the Sharks at Kings Park.
The Sharks spoke this week about finding the synergy and cohesion that has been lacking for most of their campaign. It didn’t happen for them tonight for a plethora of reasons, most notably their inability to retain the ball through enough phases for them to build line-depleting pressure on their opponents.
When they weren’t knocking the ball on in contact or, at times, under no pressure whatsoever, or overcooking lineouts, their ill-discipline further undermined their cause. Unseasonable humidity complicated handling, and while both sides were guilty of fundamental errors in this regard, the Sharks could have aided their effort by holding the ball through their forwards more often than they were willing to do.
Indeed they bossed possession and territory and when they were direct they looked capable of unlocking the Chiefs’ stingy defence. Instead they often went wide without earning the right to do so first, and were met by organised, physical and intelligent defence.
The Chiefs absorbed early pressure well then struck against the run of play. A multi-phase move eroded the Sharks’ defensive line and they shifted the ball wide to Aaron Cruden who cut through amidst calls of obstruction from Sharks players. A review of that score suggested they may have had a solid argument for a penalty. Cruden converted and later kicked a penalty to give his side breathing room.
Much of the Sharks’ focus had been on nullifying the efficient strike runners in the Chiefs’ pack as a means of diluting Sonny Bill Williams’ potency. But the midfielder rendered himself a relative non-factor with his worst performance in Super Rugby. His offloads failed to find their mark and his hands seemed to have been dipped in industrial strength lubricant before kick-off. However, even with the Chiefs’ most dangerous attacking weapon blunted, the Sharks couldn’t get the precision into their attacking game to capitalise.
Pat Lambie kicked three penalties either side of half-time to draw his side within a point. The Chiefs reverted to a more forward-orientated in the second half while the Sharks retained faith in their sterile method. Their fans would have hoped their replacements would have injected some penetration into their play, exploiting the Chiefs’ travel-weary legs and minds.
And they gradually grew in stature, Lambie kicking a penalty to set up a tense finish. You sensed the Sharks would end stronger but they never had the patience and tactical purpose to steal the victory. They became increasingly frantic as full-time neared and in so doing became easier to repel. Chiefs scrumhalf Augustine Pulu scored an audacious try after the siren sounded, faking to kick for touch then breaking through a gap and dancing down the touchline.
The Sharks needed to win this one to keep their charge for the conference title on track. Dropping home points has often been terminal to teams’ ambitions and you have to think that this one will come back to haunt them.

584 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All
22 Apr 2012, 21:34 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-495:
no doubt mahlangu was fighting for his cause.
but to insinuate that he showed extreme bravery is stretching it.
in my opinion anyway.
22 Apr 2012, 21:36 pm
Haha if ze germans had won apartheid might have lasted another 100 years.
Whattaloser.
Who cares what a lettuce nibbling washed out hippy thinks anyway.
22 Apr 2012, 21:37 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-495: Yeah right… So what was Jerry doing in Africa… as far down South as Namibia too… sightseeing?
And the Japsprats… in Singapore… China… Indonesia… and everywhere as far South as Darwin, Australia… What were they doing… checking out some new sites for a couple of Toyota factories?
Fark me… You need to eat a couple of steaks soon, bru… There’s a distinct lack of Vitamin B from those years eating rabbit food and fungus only…
22 Apr 2012, 21:38 pm
anyway, this argument will never be resolved.
it all depends on the individual’s perspective.
the football commentator:’the men wearing pink, shocking roma in the first half.’ : D pink the flavour of the day nowadays it seems.since juve hauled in ac milan milan wearing pink they have stuck to the pink shirt at home now as well.
A bud but they dont fly nazi flags and have lamps made from jewish skulls.
22 Apr 2012, 21:39 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-496: you must go back to Scotland that is where your affiliation and your heart is hankering for..
You wanna say on one hand that Solomon Mahlangu or Moses Mabhida means fck’all to you and Edwin Swales or Cecil John Rhodes or Lord Kitchener means EVERYTHING to you .. and in the next breath you wanna tell me you are a dyed in the wool fully bred son of Africa.. then you are ONLY fooling yourself and none other…
22 Apr 2012, 21:41 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-498: I thought you were 60% German
so wtf you doing in Somerset West? of All places.
22 Apr 2012, 21:41 pm
Gayle is innocent, I say.
22 Apr 2012, 21:44 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-503: wtf were you Poms doing in Africa
Sightseeing.. fleeing the tyranny of Queen Elizabeth 1st … escaping the overbearing feudal lords of Old mother Hubbard’s cupboard.. WTF WERE you seeking in this darkest dingiest arse end of the world continent full of non Christian uneducated heathens?
22 Apr 2012, 21:45 pm
I said nothing about mahlangu sonny.
I think u are the one who should fukkoff.
Have u even tried to learn an african language?
Who mentioned cjr?
My grandaddy saved your hide son because ze germsns would have enlisted the arabs help to incinerate your daddy and mommy if ol grandpop hadnt taken a bullet at al alamein chasing rommels africa corps out of the region you ungrateful piece of s’h it.
Granpop aint around so you can thank me.
Make sharp boy.
22 Apr 2012, 21:46 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-506: Yes.
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-508: I come from a mixture which includes German, sure.
I don’t live in Somerset West though.
And I consider myself an African.
Got the old eVoid album to prove it.
22 Apr 2012, 21:49 pm
Interesting conversation…
Like Thabo… I am African… and very proud of it…
My Free State born father fought in the 8th Army North Africa… was blown to the gates of hell… left for dead and ‘rescued’ by two Indian stretcher bearers whose attention he managed to attract by grunting… and was emoting shrapnel that appeared in ‘boils’ till the day he died…
Haven’t been to the WW2 Museum… but am sure I would be moved if I went…
However, have been to the Apartheid Museum in Cape Town… and been to Robben Island more than 24 times (really can’t remember every time now)… and would strongly recommend both to everyone… especially those who identify themselves as Africans…
Nothing in life or war is that straight forward and simple and there were/are many heroes who were incarcerated on The Island. If you have never been, please try and go… it is a very enlightening experience.
As far as WW2s relevance to Africa is concerned… SWA/Namibia… ceded to SA by the United Nations after the war to prepare it for independence (which took longer than it should have)… and German East Africa /Burundi, Rwanda and Tanganyika abut yes… had Germany not been defeated… were both German colonies and their control of Africa would have been pretty much completed had they won the war…
so yes… the defeat of Germany by the Allies… and White, Black, Colored and Indian South Africans… was directly relevant to Africa…
22 Apr 2012, 21:49 pm
@charo(charo)-501:
They hung him for re entering his own country carrying an AK47
What they murder Steve Biko for.. wtf for exactly??
and those punks that murdered Chris Hani are still breathing and eating government sponsored food.
Where you gonna draw the line in respect of who’s hero is worthy and who’s is not??
Had it not been for European slave masters there would not be any Usain Bolt’s or Michael Jordan’s in Jamaica or USA
They would still be African.. which is essentially who they are.
22 Apr 2012, 21:51 pm
and was emoting = and was removing…
22 Apr 2012, 21:53 pm
If u dont know wtf was happening then u should shut your trap.
Hitler DEMANDED the return of namibia. You know, where they had slaughtered 100 000. Hereros a few decades before under a relatively begnign govt (in comparison to the nazis).
Imagine what the nazis would have done.
German u boats attacked shipping off our coastline.
How were we not involved fool?
22 Apr 2012, 21:54 pm
Back to rugby – how kak are the Sharks
22 Apr 2012, 21:57 pm
G dont try spin your way out of this u old tosser.
U say whites arent african. Thats your premise.
U are a fool and i think all reasonable people agree on this.
Its your cross you bear it.
Goodnight all.
22 Apr 2012, 21:57 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-514:
not sure how long a mexican would live if he entered the usa with an ak47 under his arm.
and those punks who murdered farmers and their innocent families are being fed tax payers sponsored food.
and michael jordan proudly wears the colours of the usa.
and usain bolt (and chris gayle- ok dawn?) are proudly jamaican.
you see, this argument can go on forever…. it’s all perspectives.
22 Apr 2012, 21:58 pm
sorry meant league of nations…
22 Apr 2012, 21:59 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-511: don’t flatter yourself Scotty.. you never fought for me or anyone of my tribe.. not a fck.. you never fought for anyone but for yourself.
My grandparents came here from Lithuania fleeing the tyranny of Lenin and his thugs long before the 2nd world war they are about as ‘African’ as your grandpappy was.. in fact probably more ‘African’ than your clan scottyboy
My parents went to the newly formed state of Israel as young idealistic people seeking to build and serve an identity of their national or religious persuasion ..
That is another debate altogether and has f’all to do with the issue brought up why Edwin Swales name has been removed from the street of Dirtbin and replaced by a more affiliated name of one of Africa’s own struggle liberation heroes.
22 Apr 2012, 22:04 pm
Old fuckadilly getting a well earned klap in his ubuntus.
#give peace a chance
22 Apr 2012, 22:05 pm
@charo(charo)-519: He was NOT a Mexican entering a foreign country USA.. He was a South African born and bred re entering his OWN country usurped by Europeans and hung for attempting to liberate it..
How thick do these whites actually gotta be to realize they are NOT African.. How f’ng THICK does anyone gotta be like this little piffle arsed 2nd generation Scotsman and his Woesie Pompom pal to REALIZE that they are hankering after European war heroes and get goose flesh when visiting European war museums.. but they look DOWN their pitiful white pompous pompom noses when you mention an African Liberation struggle heroes name..??
You people are KIDDING yourselves.. You are NOT African.. you are as African as I am which is NOT African ONE little Itsy bitsy teeny weeny BIT !!!
22 Apr 2012, 22:08 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-522: another pompom pseudo f’ng Nazi loving ‘African’ wanna come enter the fray…
The little Scottish fraud and his Scottish grandpappy gone running off to spear himself another defenseless fishy in the seas and rivers of Africa.. they should lock him up for treason for killing the Chiefs fishy.
22 Apr 2012, 22:08 pm
U wish they were african.
Chewed up spat out.
U really think israel would exist or that your jewish family would not have been handed over by our own national socialists if the germans hadnt had to contest with grandpop or millions like him?
Lets face it u are an ungrateful ignorant fool.
22 Apr 2012, 22:13 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-523:
perhaps a “mexican” is more american than a redneck border guard in new mexico or texas?
see what i mean?
what is nationality these days?
anyway, this is boring me. been lovely sunday and i have better things to do.
22 Apr 2012, 22:16 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-525: you little Scottish sprat reckon you liberated me.. Moron.. since When ?
go spear another fish your moronic self aggrandized little European white boy.. you ain’t an African.. not a hair on your head nor a pore of your skin is African.. get it THROUGH your thick indoctrinated warmongering colonialist eulogizing head.
22 Apr 2012, 22:17 pm
The fish are mine.
22 Apr 2012, 22:21 pm
Not me.
Grandaddy.
He became an africam but i was born one.
When u calm down and realise what you ow my famoly and edwin swales u can let me know ok?
22 Apr 2012, 22:22 pm
What were fuckadilly’s kin doing whilst Adolf was running around like a mutt with two tales.
Making gefligte tofu?
Thanks to people like grandpa gunther you were saved from being some nazi’s lampshade.
They were better men then you or I.
And they fought and died in their thousands as proud South Africans.
You cowardly stinking old goat.
22 Apr 2012, 22:26 pm
Only a fool thinks it has anuthing tl do with skin.
Methinks u want to make people angry.
I have found it amusing but i am not your free psycholovist ok?
Get your head sorted ok?
22 Apr 2012, 22:27 pm
fuckadilly’s kin were already here in Africa.. long before Adolph reached puberty .. and probably long before Rangerprudes grandpappy was too..
So Fuckadilly is as African as you little pompous European colonialist sympathizing white boys are.. which is absolutely Not at ALL..!!!
22 Apr 2012, 22:28 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-530:
they were indeed braver and better than us…
22 Apr 2012, 22:30 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-532: Ees eet ‘cos I is white?
22 Apr 2012, 22:30 pm
you little pompous punks wanna change the debate to a Jewish issue.. it has Fck’all to do with a Jewish issue.. this is an AFRICAN issue..
Edwin Swales is and was NOT African.. and he did NOT die for Africa or for Africans.. he died for Britain and the Allied forces in Europe.. Not for or in Africa..
Dumb little agenda laden European (non African) punks !!
22 Apr 2012, 22:32 pm
Indeed fuckadilly.
But what were they doing?
Fighting for their adopted country or selling waistcoats?
22 Apr 2012, 22:35 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-534:
Its the indoctrinated thinking that gotta change..
Woesie Spittle reckoned Edwin Swales was an African hero and Solomon Mahlangu was NOT
THAT is what the argument is about.. Not whether Gunther’s granpappy or The Scottish prudential grandpappy fought Hitler to save Europe from Nazism..
They didn’t fight Verwoerd or Vorster for the liberation of South Africa.. which may have been more admirable after all. seeing they reckon they are dyed in the wool born and bred ‘AFRICANS’ themselves.
22 Apr 2012, 22:36 pm
Edwin Swales is African and proof that the bravest African whiteboys come from Durban… Full stop
22 Apr 2012, 22:37 pm
Ag pleas. They arrived in the ’20′s’
Because lenin only took over in 1917 and needed time to defeat the white russians.
But why did they have to flee lenin. Sounds like a bs story to me. After all trotsky was jewish as were many prominent commies under lenin.
So anyways thats why u feel like a johnny come lately?
Relax man.
22 Apr 2012, 22:37 pm
they were selling waistcoats to the boertjies in Potchefstroom.. thats what they were doing.. the war was over in some other continent someplace else.. not in Africa.. in Europe.!!
Capische.. or STILL NOT ??
22 Apr 2012, 22:38 pm
Gunther is an African.
Fuckadilly is an Africunt.
Here endeth the lesson.
22 Apr 2012, 22:43 pm
you never seen the movie fiddler on the roof.. that was the plight of the minority Jews in western Russia and Lithuania.. so what kind of BS story is it to YOU?
That why 90% of Jews in SA are Lithuanian.. from the early 20th century immigration .. and the rest went to USA or Britain or some to Australia. .. the German Jews were pretty happy and content in Germany they were as ‘German’ as some you continental colonialists are ‘African’.. or at least that’s what they thought they were till Hitler came along and told them they weren’t and exterminated them for being so.
22 Apr 2012, 22:44 pm
Haha selling waistcoats.
Then he tells us his family helped build israel who practice their own brand of apartheid and supplied pw with nukes.
What a hero.
Nothing like edwin swales.
22 Apr 2012, 22:50 pm
If I were a rich man.
A very rich man.
I’d deedle-eed-deee-deeedlllee-eedddee dum.
22 Apr 2012, 22:51 pm
edwin swales was indeed a hero and it’s a bloody disgrace what they have done in kzn.he died,as a 30 year old,fighting the scum of nazi germany and in my books that is good enough for me.i just hope the comrades haven’t melted down his medals already.
PERSONALIA
Name: Swales, Edwin
Date of birth: July 3rd, 1915 (Inanda, Natal, South Africa)
Date of death: February 23rd, 1945 (Leopoldsburg, Belgium)
Buried on: Commonwealth War Cemetery Leopoldsburg
Nationality: South African
BIOGRAPHY:
Edwin Swales was born in Natal and served with the Natal Mounted Rifles on the outbreak of war. He joined the S.A.A.F. in early 1942 and was seconded to R.A.F. Bomber Command in August 1943, being posted to 6 AFU based at Little Rissington. He was transferred to duties
with 582 Squadron, part of the Pathfinder Force, in July 1944. Swales was awarded an immediate DFC for his coolness under fire, leadership and adept manoeuvring during a daylight raid on the marshalling yards at Cologne on 23 December 1944. His friend Squadron Leader R.A.M.
Palmer, who acted as Master Bomber on the Cologne raid, was shot down and killed, receiving a posthumous VC for the action in a way which strangely foreshadowed Swales’s own award. Exactly two months after Cologne, on 23 February 1945 (the very day, by coincidence, on which his DFC was gazetted), Swales took the place of Master Bomber on the Pforzheim raid. His Lancaster was severely damaged by enemy fire both on the way in and over the target, but he
steadfastly continued to control the bombing until the end of the raid (which was to prove particularly accurate, concentrated and effective). Turning for home in his crippled Lancaster, Swales encountered turbulent cloud and ordered his crew to bale out over Belgium. As the last man jumped the aircraft stalled, leaving Swales himself no chance of
escape; he was found dead at the controls and is buried at the
Leopoldsburg War Cemetery. His posthumous award of the VC was gazetted on 24 April and proved to be Bomber Command’s last of the war. Edwin Swales’s medals, uniform and logbook were presented by his mother to the South African National Museum of Military History in 1959.
22 Apr 2012, 22:53 pm
Pogroms?
Lot older than lenin.
Terrible practice but it should have given u a bit more perspective.
22 Apr 2012, 22:56 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-543: you little Scottish fakface cannot read and your pompous white ignorant indoctrinated idiocy is fcking up your brain.. moron
My Grandparents came here from Lithuania.. early 20th century fleeing the pogroms in Russia and Lithuania..
My Parents went to Israel after it was formed in early 1950′s as young idealists who were seeking to create a national identity which they succeeded to some extent as Israel is today a thriving existing nation.. whatever the contentious politics are surrounding its existence… which is where I was born
They returned here late 1950′s when I was a child of 3
They were 2nd generation South African Jews.
I am sabra.. born in Israel.. to 2nd generation South African Jews.. so I am by descent 3rd generation South African Jew..
My children are not Jewish by virtue that their mother is not.. So my children are South African of mixed heritage..
Get the picture YET.. dumb little white indoctrinated pseudo African punk.??
22 Apr 2012, 23:02 pm
@CAPECRUSADER (seven-times champions)(CAPECRUSADER)-545: He was a brave soldier and pilot and deserves commemoration as a hero.. BUT his heroics had no relevancy to Africa.. it had every relevancy to Europe and the Allied defense and liberation from Nazi German offensive there.
22 Apr 2012, 23:04 pm
Fool.
You said they were fleeing lenin.
I couldnt give a toss if you they or the lady who does your books is jewish.
I am african like mahlangu and swales.
You are clearly unsure of what u are.
Your problem.
22 Apr 2012, 23:14 pm
U cant be sabra.
The sabra stayed to fight for their homeland.
U wanderered around caprivi whining about the food.
No. Dont tarnish the name of the true sabra.
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All