Chiefs edge Durban scrap

RYAN VREDE reports on the Chiefs’ 18-12 victory over the Sharks at Kings Park.

The Sharks spoke this week about finding the synergy and cohesion that has been lacking for most of their campaign. It didn’t happen for them tonight for a plethora of reasons, most notably their inability to retain the ball through enough phases for them to build line-depleting pressure on their opponents.

When they weren’t knocking the ball on in contact or, at times, under no pressure whatsoever, or overcooking lineouts, their ill-discipline further undermined their cause. Unseasonable humidity complicated handling, and while both sides were guilty of fundamental errors in this regard, the Sharks could have aided their effort by holding the ball through their forwards more often than they were willing to do.

Indeed they bossed possession and territory and when they were direct they looked capable of unlocking the Chiefs’ stingy defence. Instead they often went wide without earning the right to do so first, and were met by organised, physical and intelligent defence.

The Chiefs absorbed early pressure well then struck against the run of play. A multi-phase move eroded the Sharks’ defensive line and they shifted the ball wide to Aaron Cruden who cut through amidst calls of obstruction from Sharks players. A review of that score suggested they may have had a solid argument for a penalty. Cruden converted and later kicked a penalty to give his side breathing room.

Much of the Sharks’ focus had been on nullifying the efficient strike runners in the Chiefs’ pack as a means of diluting Sonny Bill Williams’ potency. But the midfielder rendered himself a relative non-factor with his worst performance in Super Rugby. His offloads failed to find their mark and his hands seemed to have been dipped in industrial strength lubricant before kick-off. However, even with the Chiefs’ most dangerous attacking weapon blunted, the Sharks couldn’t get the precision into their attacking game to capitalise.

Pat Lambie kicked three penalties either side of half-time to draw his side within a point. The Chiefs reverted to a more forward-orientated in the second half while the Sharks retained faith in their sterile method. Their fans would have hoped their replacements would have injected some penetration into their play, exploiting the Chiefs’ travel-weary legs and minds.

And they gradually grew in stature, Lambie kicking a penalty to set up a tense finish. You sensed the Sharks would end stronger but they never had the patience and tactical purpose to steal the victory. They became increasingly frantic as full-time neared and in so doing became easier to repel. Chiefs scrumhalf Augustine Pulu scored an audacious try after the siren sounded, faking to kick for touch then breaking through a gap and dancing down the touchline.

The Sharks needed to win this one to keep their charge for the conference title on track. Dropping home points has often been terminal to teams’ ambitions and you have to think that this one will come back to haunt them.

584 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

• 151.skyewalker: Reply to this comment

Time running out indeed.

• 152.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Terrible pass byBosman

• 153.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

BOSMAN IS KAK

• 154.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

If we should somehow win this I will feel relief not joy. :sad:

• 155.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

This a stating the obvious, a very good defensive game. Yes handling errors, but that comes from good D. Also, the Masaga attempted tackle was wreckless.

• 156.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

WHAT POINT IS A LOSING BONUS POINT TO THE SHARKS? THEIR SEASON IS NOW OVER.

PLUMTREE OUT.

• 157.Getafix: Reply to this comment

Guppy rubbish!!!!

• 158.skyewalker: Reply to this comment

Heartbreak for sharkies! :sad:

• 159.Hondo: Reply to this comment

A great tackle by JP, that’s why they select him for the Boks ;)
    :(

• 160.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Eish what a shocker of a game, well done Chiefs.

• 161.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Chiefs too cocky………..Sharks ummm

• 162.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Not a good game.

• 163.Transformation: Reply to this comment

heartbreak hotel….

• 164.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

LOL bonus point

• 165.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

Looks like the sharks bubble has burst lol.
    On a serious note the sharks looked tired at the end there.

• 166.skyewalker: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-156:
    Lucky to get that bp…could have been far more embarrasing.

• 167.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Sorry Sharks. But freak you! Screwed my superbru.

• 168.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Skop will now be unstoppable

• 169.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Hard luck Sharks. But there were just too many handling errors and lack of concentration at crucial times. Good sides turn those into points.

• 170.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Rudolf strauli, plumtree, keegan daniels, jannie Dup, michalak, ludick and bosman don’t add any value to the sharks.

~end of story~

• 171.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-167:

Farked my bru up as well, i was heading for a fullhouse.

• 172.Transformation: Reply to this comment

so much for the potential 9 pts the sharks were going to pocket including their bye… :roll:

• 173.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Chiefs were bad, guppies were abyssmal. HG come get it you gutless git.

• 174.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

lucky f’ng guppyuppies saved a bonus point, little scrummy was so surprised he made the try line he didn’t think to run around nearer to posts and then SharkieVarkie dream merchants wouldn’t have been gifted that BP

Daniel is a poor Kak captain, problem at SharkieVarkie country ain’t so much the coach its this fak’d up attitude of entitlement that they think they can buy their way to success.

Until they change that mercenary fak’d up attitude they never gonna amount to much.., far too much kop toe f’ng arrogance emanating from out that last bastion of soutie money makes the world go round SharkieVarkie tank.

• 175.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-172:

@Slappes(Slappes)-173:

Poor HG must be heartbroken.
    A weekend from hell, starting with the Stormers victory.
    Wonder if we will ever see him again.

• 176.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Disappointing. The Chiefs converted their opportunities better than the Sharks,

They could have done us a big favour here.

Pity. i picked the Sharks on the ‘Bru.

That’ll teach me.

• 177.posts: Reply to this comment

170.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Too true, the only one you forgot is Van Zyl who hired them

• 178.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Bad luck Sharks Not sure about the Chiefs 1st try

• 179.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-176:

I also picked them
    Last week i picked the Blues to beat them
    They my hoodoo team, lol.

• 180.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 175
    hehe..him and Tacitus the same.Grootbek before the game and when they’re teams are winning.MIA if the result goes against them

• 181.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Sharks should have taken it in the 2nd half. Chiefs were out on their feet.

• 182.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-171: teach you to back these hopeless overrated self aggrandized wannabes

Where that proud prediction by HG how many points SharkieVarkie poeftas were gonna claim from their tour including their first games back home?

• 183.Bottomline: Reply to this comment

Bottomline, you can’t win with that many errors and lack of concentration.

• 184.charo: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-174:

problem is skoppie, we don’t do brawn in natal.

so we have to import it.

what we do though, is brains.

and then you guys buy it.

• 185.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

SKOP….give it a break ! You are truly pathetic, have you no shame.

• 186.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Well done Chiefs! This was really a game I believe the Sharks should have won. A pity as this Chiefs side is looking really good. Winning and yet not playing well. Going to be hard beating them in New Zealand.

Sorry to the Sharks fans, the team did well. I’m really impressed with Tim Whitehead. This guy is playing some good rugby… Mcloud continuous to disappoint and Lambie is showing some good signs.

• 187.charo: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-184:

or copy it

• 188.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-184:
    Hey Charo A game full of errors but Chiefs took their opportunities
    Ref was not great

• 189.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Lambie reminds me of that famous warplane the Swordfish which sunk the Bismark

• 190.nama1: Reply to this comment

Sorry Sharks.

There’s always next week. You can try again then.

This was actually not a high quality match. Some serious big hits though.

• 191.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Do Sharks have a bye next week?

• 192.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-185: suck it up sweety don’t lose your cool/.

• 193.charo: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-188:

yep, pete, sharks were disappointing.

don’t really looked coached to me.

but then, the chiefs didn’t look like world beaters either.

to me, stormers, bulls and saders are better than them

• 194.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-191: yep

• 195.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-185:

He is only doing a HG on the Shark fans.
    *** for tat.

• 196.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-194:

Thanks Transie.

• 197.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the chiefs have now beaten the sharks 3 YEARS in a row.

• 198.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-184: I was with you till your last remark. Sharks are mostly imports. No young talent coming through the ranks. You’re way off bru.

• 199.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-193:
    I think the Chiefs can challenge for the trophy this year if the get their islanders to stop the dirty ****
    They have a decent pack and really good backs

• 200.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.