Chiefs edge Durban scrap
21 Apr 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on the Chiefs’ 18-12 victory over the Sharks at Kings Park.
The Sharks spoke this week about finding the synergy and cohesion that has been lacking for most of their campaign. It didn’t happen for them tonight for a plethora of reasons, most notably their inability to retain the ball through enough phases for them to build line-depleting pressure on their opponents.
When they weren’t knocking the ball on in contact or, at times, under no pressure whatsoever, or overcooking lineouts, their ill-discipline further undermined their cause. Unseasonable humidity complicated handling, and while both sides were guilty of fundamental errors in this regard, the Sharks could have aided their effort by holding the ball through their forwards more often than they were willing to do.
Indeed they bossed possession and territory and when they were direct they looked capable of unlocking the Chiefs’ stingy defence. Instead they often went wide without earning the right to do so first, and were met by organised, physical and intelligent defence.
The Chiefs absorbed early pressure well then struck against the run of play. A multi-phase move eroded the Sharks’ defensive line and they shifted the ball wide to Aaron Cruden who cut through amidst calls of obstruction from Sharks players. A review of that score suggested they may have had a solid argument for a penalty. Cruden converted and later kicked a penalty to give his side breathing room.
Much of the Sharks’ focus had been on nullifying the efficient strike runners in the Chiefs’ pack as a means of diluting Sonny Bill Williams’ potency. But the midfielder rendered himself a relative non-factor with his worst performance in Super Rugby. His offloads failed to find their mark and his hands seemed to have been dipped in industrial strength lubricant before kick-off. However, even with the Chiefs’ most dangerous attacking weapon blunted, the Sharks couldn’t get the precision into their attacking game to capitalise.
Pat Lambie kicked three penalties either side of half-time to draw his side within a point. The Chiefs reverted to a more forward-orientated in the second half while the Sharks retained faith in their sterile method. Their fans would have hoped their replacements would have injected some penetration into their play, exploiting the Chiefs’ travel-weary legs and minds.
And they gradually grew in stature, Lambie kicking a penalty to set up a tense finish. You sensed the Sharks would end stronger but they never had the patience and tactical purpose to steal the victory. They became increasingly frantic as full-time neared and in so doing became easier to repel. Chiefs scrumhalf Augustine Pulu scored an audacious try after the siren sounded, faking to kick for touch then breaking through a gap and dancing down the touchline.
The Sharks needed to win this one to keep their charge for the conference title on track. Dropping home points has often been terminal to teams’ ambitions and you have to think that this one will come back to haunt them.

584 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 » Show All
22 Apr 2012, 18:31 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-398: Well you certainly lack no creativity on defence. You seem to find ever increasingly inventive ways to let your opponents’ score tries against you.
Unlike the Bulls who suffer the same challenges, but they have the class to pull it off regardless……
22 Apr 2012, 18:31 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-397: Nice copy and paste… Competing with Transie now…
She lit a cigarette, both hands behind her back
Thought she was hungry, lack of choice saw to that
Only you can try to see what I’m really like
She said, only you can understand the way I feel toni-ight
She blamed excesses on the ‘merican dream
So seldom witnessed, never-er seen
Hah – hah – hah – hah – hah…
Imagination – could make a man of you
22 Apr 2012, 18:34 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-400: Edwin Swales had more courage in his right ballas than you and your reincarnated vege fried brains after 100 vibrating bulldust reincarnations…
22 Apr 2012, 18:36 pm
Edwin Swales was a Durban boy, not a Pom.
DHS old boy.
Skopshyte is talking kak, again.
22 Apr 2012, 18:38 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-398: Wake up, it’s all about whats on the scoreboard at the end of the game. If you can’t lift your leg you won’t be pissing with the big dogs. I told you your team can’t play in dew, but you don’t listen, Those ex-freestate players don’t know what dew is, how can one blame them, the humidity, the dew, the Durban poison, they are batting on a sticky wicket.
22 Apr 2012, 18:39 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-402: Of course it’s a cut and paste fool.
From Rugby 365.
22 Apr 2012, 18:40 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-384: I have read up on this Mahlangu character and can’t really see that he did anything. Left SA for MK training at a young age, came back into the country to blow something up, got caught by the police before he could complete his objective and killed two innocent bystanders in the ensuing shoot out.
Not really that much of a big deal, was it? Nothing like being awarded the DFC and the VC, is it?
Nah, Mahlangu is not my idea of a hero or someone to look up to.
22 Apr 2012, 18:43 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-404: I fink its ‘cos he’s white… even though he is African to the core…
Can’t have a “brave” white man according to the likes of Transie and Skop skiet and bendover… especially one who is universally acknowledged as brave to the bone…
22 Apr 2012, 18:44 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-406: I know… Thats why you sounded… so, um… decisive….
For a change.
told you HG, ‘chiefs by 5′ and what did you say?
*schweeeeeeeeeet*
Ted Swales was pretty good at rugby too. Played for Griquas and made the Natal team as a reserve although never actually represented Natal in the end.
22 Apr 2012, 18:45 pm
Another great man
Sailor Malan
My grandfather knew him, served during the war and had occasion to serve alongside him.
22 Apr 2012, 18:48 pm
@Kea-Cat(KEA)-405: “If you can’t lift your leg you won’t be pissing with the big dogs.”… LOL… who the big dogs…? Stormers… all of a sudden… Hehehe… hoo hoo… ha
And how many Supe rugby titles the Breezers got…
Ag, fark maybe Keo is another universe and STormers got seven under the belt too… Maybe thats why their supporters get confused when Saders come to town… You okes think you are the Crusaders…
Actually I think I finally understand how you Brokeback broken down breezers think now… You fools think you are the Crusaders already…
Fuckwits
22 Apr 2012, 18:49 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-412:
My dad too. My dad flew spitfires in North Africa and Italy
22 Apr 2012, 18:51 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-414: A great generation.
Respect.
22 Apr 2012, 18:51 pm
The Bulls and Sharks are going into Bok camp tomorrow. If HM wants to teach them a defence strategy, he only has to play them the re-runs of the last few Stormers games.
That’ll have them waking up screaming in the middle of the night.
22 Apr 2012, 19:00 pm
Congrats tl the winners bad luck my sharkies.
Went to the game and i was really saddened by the poor option taking of the sharks. The game was there for the taking if the ball had simply moved through the hands on a few occasions bissy being the most noticeable.
Imo keegan is not ready for captaincy. If we had taken the 3 points on offer instead of the lineout bissy overthrew we would have led the game and maybe even won it.
Anyways well done chiefs but i will never turn my back on the MIGHTY SHAAAAAARKS!
22 Apr 2012, 19:01 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-412: @CoachPete(CoachPete)-414: You boys should visit the musee de l’armee at les invalided,Paris.they got the greatest ww2 memorabilia you will ever see.they also cover the first ww extensively.when you in a place like that you realize the great sacrifices those heroes made for our freedom.it’s a real humbling experience.
22 Apr 2012, 19:03 pm
GOnna watch that fat lump khulubuluse zuma on carte blanche now.
Just to cheer me up.
22 Apr 2012, 19:09 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-413: Yeah we have won nothing, but remind me what have the Sharks won. At the begining of the season we werent blowing our foghorn about wining the super 15, as far as I remember it was the Shark supporters who felt they had the best chance. On Friday the Stormers average age of the team was 23, but it’s the Bulls that are rebuilding, whats the Bulls average age??? The Stormers won’t win the Super 15 this year, neither will the Bulls, but both can at least hold their heads high after a good season unlike the team that is all talk and has done sweet nothing the whole season. HG admit it, your team has lost it.
22 Apr 2012, 19:10 pm
The most successful SA ace pilot of them all was Marmaduke Pat Pattle. He flew in North Africa and Greece (mostly with a Hurricane) and is reported to have shot down between 22 and 44 axis aircraft, with some suggesting the final count was 50. He was possibly the top RAF ace of WWII.
Born in the Eastern Cape and went to Graeme College.
22 Apr 2012, 19:11 pm
The imperial war museum in london and the war museum in munich are also awesome.
One of my grandfathers flew fighters during the battle of britain and one helped boot the eyeties out of eritrea, rommel out of n’africa (wounded at al alamein) and operated for two years alone behind german lines in the italian alps because he was educated in edinburgh and had lesnt latin
Heroes.like the millions who stopped hitler and mussolini.
22 Apr 2012, 19:12 pm
@Kea-Cat(KEA)-420: ” HG admit it, your team has lost it.” Duh… Read my first post… What do you want me to do… Spell it out? But a loss does not mean capitulation… Sorry… No can do…There isn’t a brokeback breezing bone in my body that will allow me to do that… I still got my kahunas…
22 Apr 2012, 19:13 pm
The imperial war museum in london and the war museum in munich are also awesome.h
One of my grandfathers flew fighters during the battle of britain and one helped boot the italians out of eritrea, rommel out of n’africa (wounded at al alamein) and operated for two years alone behind german lines in the italian alps because he was educated in edinburgh and had learnt latin
Heroes.like the millions who stopped hitler and mussolini.
22 Apr 2012, 19:15 pm
Apologies for the dbl post
22 Apr 2012, 19:17 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-410: What… For once them inyanga bones fall the right way…?
Did you notice the Sharks C Team fuckswipe your “mighty” Kings – super franchise to be – in the curtain raiser? lol
22 Apr 2012, 19:18 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-426: if the Kings are allowed to ‘contest’ the Super 15 or 16 then superbru are going to have to increase the maximum win margin from the current 120.
22 Apr 2012, 19:28 pm
White shark 382
“Heathen” = a person who does not believe in an established religion
I can assume you are a member of the group that brought civilisation & christianity to this continent. Your people taught the heathens to put some clothes on & to have s e x in the more decent missionary position. & you have a keen appreciation of SA history & have never been subjected to repression or discrimination
WTF?
22 Apr 2012, 19:32 pm
Heavens GString. Pop goes your weasel. Hahahahahahahahahaha………..
22 Apr 2012, 19:35 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-427: Sheez… There’s a max win margin? What happens… they stop the game short?Fark, then next year there’s going to be an awful lot of games finishing early… 18 of them, including the byes probably….
22 Apr 2012, 19:35 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-427:
I dont think there will be a super 16 until after 2015 All tv contracts and rights are for super 15 until then
i also dont think Kings are going to b able to compete at super 15 level
22 Apr 2012, 19:37 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-427:
Got a full house this week I totally ignored Keo predictions
22 Apr 2012, 19:39 pm
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-429: Looky here…Farken ‘nother Gerbil who lost his way…
What happened… skopskietandbendover’s butt cheeks flinched involuntarily and out you popped?
22 Apr 2012, 19:43 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-425: Ag, its okay… Seeing double anyway… still recovering from yesterdays trip to the Voortrekker Cathedral… otherwise known as Loftus…
Checked out their Holy of Holies… Otherwise known as the Blue room… Fark me… when I first heard the name I thought Loftus had its own little Porncinema…especially since you can’t booze in the stands… I was wrong…
22 Apr 2012, 19:47 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-424: Nothing like walking into the Imperial War museum and confronted by a V2 rocket with a Mustang suspended overhead…
22 Apr 2012, 19:50 pm
Looks like all the Breezing Gerbils have run away after squealing and baying the whole weekend for a Tete a Tete with this Sharkie…
Will be back.
22 Apr 2012, 19:58 pm
“The Breezing Gerbils”.
Lol.
22 Apr 2012, 20:02 pm
only idiots support a kuk team like the sharks.
22 Apr 2012, 20:05 pm
no rugby culture,tradition and a loser mentality for 100 years and nothing better nowadays.
22 Apr 2012, 20:10 pm
@CAPECRUSADER (seven-times champions)(CAPECRUSADER)-418: @rangerman(rangerman)-424: Been to the Imperial War Museum in London. Quite something.
It would have been my Grandfather’s 100th Birthday on Friday. Same day as Hitler.
Quite a time they lived through.
22 Apr 2012, 20:11 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-433: Aren’t you tired of looking like a dumb ****? You’re one pitiful little balhaar lol. Pop………….pop………….can you hear that sound? Sound of you taking it up the pooper like your team did yesterday.
22 Apr 2012, 20:12 pm
check these ‘white Africans’ eulogizing their dead WW11 war heroes… how African could they possibly be for partaking in a European war which had absolutely f’all to do with Africa ?
you colonialists continue to f’ng fool yourselves , Edwin Swales was no African.. same as this little goody two shoes pale skin son of a sugar plantation owner is not… they are deeply endowed to their ancestral heritage of Old Mother Hubbard and her bare cupboard.. That’s why they still Eulogizing over European War heroes .. and why they cannot fathom why Edwin Swales means absolutely farkall to ANYONE with ANY affiliation to Africa and her history..
Don’t you dumb ‘white Africans’ get it.. you are NOT African.. and you ain’t ever gonna be … best you can ever hope to happen is that you assimilate your snot nosed highfalutin alien European attitudes and become assimilated with Africa and her indigenous inhabitants.. because you are an Alien here.. you are a misfit here.. you are a visitor here at best and an outright marauding colonialist usurper at worst…
So Edwin Swales boulevard is consigned to colonialist history and has no place in Africa.. the Mahlangu’s and Mabhida’s and Mandela’s and Biko’s… these are the true sons of Africa.. not these white skinned pale faced imposters who pretend to hail from Africa.. because they simply do Not !
So Solomon Mahlangu or Moses Mabhida or Nelson Mandela or Steven Biko.. these names MEAN something to the people of Africa and hence streets and stadiums are named after them.. while Edwin Swales simply does NOT.. unless of course you wanna turn the clock back and pretend that you white skinned pale faced colony hopping impostors actually own a piece of Africa.. which you did not inherit at all.. you simply came over here from your bare Mothers Cupboard and usurped it as your own.
22 Apr 2012, 20:13 pm
POP people whats that sound
everybody look whats going DOWN
HG’s pants are at half mast … poor CLOWN
22 Apr 2012, 20:14 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-437: You had better patent your nic – the Sharks are going to steal it off you soon.
22 Apr 2012, 20:16 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-426: you were lekker groot bek on thursday but that is you, big mouth & all durban humidity (hot air)
142. Heavens Game said:
19 Apr 2012, 11:46 am
@Transformation
(Transformation)-134: You are
wrong. Simple. But you are
entitled to be as totally and utterly wrong as you like… As usual…
You are entitled to be as
misinformed and farken
unbelievably naively enraptured with your GI Joe SBW StormerChief pinup to the extent of leaving your senses and using logic only suitable for Zimbabwe economics…
22 Apr 2012, 20:17 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-407: i don’t recall at any point suggesting you should hero worship anyone.
22 Apr 2012, 20:19 pm
These white skinned pale faced heathen impostors who hopped across the Atlantic ocean looking for a new colony to occupy get goose flesh and goose bumps when they visit these heathen museums of war memorabilia and war remembrance resuscitation and regurgitation …
and in the very next breath they gonna tell you that they were an emissary for making PEACE .. these white skinned pale faced warmongers were making WAR while bullshitting the world they were making PEACE .. and they got this insane notion screw’d up in their heads that its the OTHERS who are the haters.. while they are the peace lovers of the planet..
Yeah Give Peace a Chance
Go spin your garbage pompous pom pom riddled bullshit SOMEPLACE ELSE.!!
22 Apr 2012, 20:21 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-443: Bwahahahahahahahahahaha
22 Apr 2012, 20:27 pm
Haha joel telling us who qualifies as an african.
Funny.
22 Apr 2012, 20:28 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-447: Farken Edwin Swale is a man beyond your imagination…
Simply put… a better man…
A man of courage universally acknowledged as one of the bravest of the brave… Courage not tainted by politics until his honour and memory was cheapened by the politics of street naming…
Because of the colour of his skin… Nothing else…
How the wheel turns…
One thing is for sure is that he was infinitely braver than a certain smelly mouthed vegetarian’s tilt at “courageous” immortality as a glorified security guard in the Caprivi…
Farken Springs originating jumping Gerbil…
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 » Show All