Waratahs ease past Rebels

GARETH DUNCAN reports on the Waratahs’ 30-21 victory over the Rebels in Sydney.

The result was expected. The Rebels are known for their poor record on the road, and they expectedly folded against the Waratahs’ charge. The latter dominated with a strong superior forwards display, moments of impressive backline interplay and clever decision-making to cruise to victory. Despite two tries in a late fightback from the visitors, the hosts still held on for a comfortable win.

The Waratahs will, however, lament their inability to score a fourth try for the bonus point. In the dying moments, they camped in the Rebels’ red zone, but they couldn’t reach the whitewash after several attempts. This could prove costly in their pursuit for a play-off place, considering their poor start to the season.

The Sydney team started the match strongly, grabbing the opening try after just 26 seconds. After winning possession from the kick-off, they built moment through strong ball carries before a smart backline move, mixed with inside and outside offloads, was finished off by fullback Bernard Foley. Scrumhalf Brendan McKibbin added the extras, and kicked two penalties for an early 13-0 lead.

The Rebels managed to hit back through a try scored by hooker Ged Robinson, but McKibbin slotted another three-pointer to make the half-time tally 16-7 in the Waratahs’ favour.

Hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau powered through after a clever lineout move to give the hosts a perfect start to the second half, and outside centre Rob Horne created a big opportunity for a bonus-point win when he scored the third try moments later. But their ill-discipline cost them momentum, and saw them reduced to 14 men when Horne was yellow carded.

The Rebels made full use of their one-man advantage and capitalised on that ascendancy to cross the chalk via flanker Tom Davidson and wing Lachlan Mitchell.

Once they returned to 15 men, the Waratahs regained their control of the match, but failed to find that valuable fourth try.

132 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

• 1.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Aaah Aussie derby, let me rather go clean the gutters

• 2.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

No let me rather marinate the meat for tonight’s braai and booze up so long :-)

• 3.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Lloyd Johansson, did he not play for the reds like donkeys of years ago?

TE-Rebels really scraping the barrel here :-)

• 4.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

I wish they would put this on later when I want to sleep.

• 5.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-2:

Ha booze up so long? Start now and you will miss the game!

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-3:

He was a youngster then and played overseas for a while…I think.

• 6.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Aussies should keep this kak to themselves.

• 7.Transformation: Reply to this comment

McKibbin is keeping Sarel on the bench…he might rethink his move

• 8.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Sarel has been nowhere near as good this year as he was last year with the Cheetahs. He should have stayed put.

• 9.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

I wonder what Pretorius and Cipriani thinks about this pipe blowing nonsense :-)

• 10.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

After watching most games this season I’ve come to the sad conclusion that the ref’s have been horrendos. Sanzar has been so busy trying to improve the game with small rule changes that they have totally droped the ball. Its not the rules it is the pathetic refs. The only ref that hasn’t been totally useless is mark lawrence.

Go rebels.

• 11.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

WOW go Tahs! Great opening try. 26 seconds

• 12.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

Bruise free football, they call it, in Melbourne

• 13.Transformation: Reply to this comment

cipriani must fokkof to england, he adds nothing! the aussies must face that they don’t have the player base.

• 14.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this game is so pedestrian… *yawn*

• 15.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-14: what did you expect from an Aussie derby?

• 16.Narutokun: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke wow that’s a long wait and the bleach seem to be losing.the.plot too !!!
    Dame is this aussies alone in the comp everytime i look its a aussies darby …lol

• 17.skyewalker: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-14:
    Yah,find it very hard to drag myself from the braai to watch an aussie borefest. :yawn:

• 18.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-9:

They’d more than likely also be showing their respects for the 21000 Aussies, Kiwi’s, English and French that lost their lives in those fateful few days at Gallipoli you boorish ignoramus…

• 19.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

So Sarel thought he gonna act like a money grubbing mercenary and makes the worst move of his career.. That’ll learn those money grubbing idiots that wanna chase the money fck their own game up by focussing on the WRONG aspect of what sport is supposed to be about..

I would advocate that ANY player that goes over to another club or franchise outside the country automatically forfeit his Bok aspirations including overrated hero’s such as FdP and Frans Steyn and the rest..

• 20.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Skop, your take on the latest shark attack in false bay?

• 21.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

@ 19 Is that not the Kiwi policy?

• 22.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Who cares what skopshyte thinks!

• 23.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Narutokun(Narutokun)-16: Yip I am currently watching old episodes. Not a bleach fan.

• 24.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Woody, he loves the sea…

• 25.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Same goes for Beale and O’Connor their games have gone to sh’t since they joined this no name brand bunch of slapped together moronic melbourne mercenary misfit moegoe team..

Chase the f’ng money and you sacrifice the true underlying purpose of what sport is about., once you lose any sense of patriotic fervor you just become one more robotic zombie chasing a ball around a field while your mind is someplace else thinking about your bank balance or retirement annuity..

• 26.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Slappes(Slappes)-24: The Old Man and The Sea.

• 27.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Must say the blog’s boring without GrantSpeedoBalls and JR 8-)

• 28.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Woody,yip Skops got a homemade harpoon and a row boat

• 29.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ slarti,

Its never too early, start of with a few ciders and warm up for two mouthwatering games later in the day ;-)

@ bryce,

If people cared then they would be advertising this **** at rugby games. We want rugby, not some general from the green barret crying on TV.

…And no need for the name calling, you wouldn’t like being called a sensitive troglodyte sheepshagger or would you? ;-)

• 30.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Slappes(Slappes)-27: I missed their departure. Why did they leave on their Groot Trek?

I must say I got a bit sick of all their “Plod” whining.

• 31.Narutokun: Reply to this comment

Bleach was the bomb u doing what u missing bru !!

• 32.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Robzim is a known shark protector.

• 33.skyewalker: Reply to this comment

@Slappes(Slappes)-20:
    The shark attack is so obviously related to chumming it’s only people who profit from the industry who try and defend their dubious actions.Shark cage diving and ‘research’ have habituated these monsters form the deep to humans and instigated an interest in them being a possible food source.The sharks are baited to breach by trailing a seal dummy behind the boats which does not look very different to a surfer on his board.Sharks are also teased alongside boats in order to rub their noses when actually the shark is trying to take the teaser ‘researcher’s arm off.I gave up surfing in false bay 5 years ago,and am even nervous on the west coast now.It’s despicable but year on year shark attacks keep going up because of these actions and so called experts deny the claims that attacks are related to their money making operations whilst innocent lives are being lost.

• 34.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Woody, yip self imposed exile for them but they do read here still. No doubt wanting to let rip at the sharkievarkies!

• 35.jeest: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-29: I’m on Bryce’s side here. You don’t make fun of this ANZAC stuff – it’s serious business and you come accross as an ignorant fool when you make jokes.

And a word of advice from someone who has een them react – I wouldn’t make any comments like that if you visit NZ or Aus – you’ll be heading home in a bag.

• 36.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-29: “@ bryce, If people cared then they would be advertising this **** at rugby games. We want rugby, not some general from the green barret crying on TV. …And no need for the name calling, you wouldn’t like being called a sensitive troglodyte sheepshagger or would you?”

Actually, I think it is very good to remember those who paid the ultimate price for their country. Australia is very big on it – almost all of their small towns have an ANZAC memorial honouring their dead. They are very proud of their history.

Compare that to SA today.

• 37.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@skyewalker Agree but this incident took place 40km from those chumming idiots. west coast? I reckon the waters too farkin cold for sharks?

• 38.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

poor little fakface wooden spoonful of spit get his gat skopped here daily wanna keep getting his ingratiated little fakface shoved up his piepie joller peanut brained poephol.

Aussies should stick to that fckd up aerial ping pong Aussie Rules garbage, rugby union is right out their natural inherent sporting inheritance its like taking a chinaman off the ping pong circuit and giving him a cricket bat and sending him out to open the skittle sticks innings in the mad house of the MCG in the sweltering midday sun

• 39.jeest: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-36: It’s actually the ONLY thing i’ve ever seen the Aussies take seriously.

• 40.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Robzim has started an adopt-a- shark initiative.

• 41.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

This game is so kak.

• 42.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

I think Kaplan is winning.

• 43.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ jeest,

Maybe you and the soft hearted old men should get together and trade your stories with some tissues.

I’m saying there is no place in rugby for this stuff. You agree or don’t agree.

~End of story~

• 44.skyewalker: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-8:
    Yep,he’s made the perfect example of chasing the money usually leeds to loss of form and reputation.

• 45.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-43: and I’m saying you are a complete twat. You agree or don’t agree.

~End of story~

• 46.skyewalker: Reply to this comment

@Slappes(Slappes)-37:
    Not fo the great whites,which are the one’s being targeted with all this so called research.I used to dive for diamonds and often saw their ghostly shapes gliding by.

• 47.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Middle aged swimmer stung by jellie fish. A swimmer clad only in a yellow speedo was stung on his testes at milnerton beach.

• 48.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Skyewalker, thats farkin scary! I’ll stick to swimming in my pool.

• 49.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ wooden spoon,

Next time try to be original and not copy me. Makes you look like a fool as well ;-)

Too many cry babies here, I’m outa here :-)

• 50.viewer: Reply to this comment

Skye. . . Spot on re shark attack. Some 20 year old kid is late after all. “Experts” are coming onto TV news to debate whether chumming caused it. I was appalled as all hell

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.