Barritt in line for top award

England and Saracens centre Brad Barritt has made the shortlist for the Premiership Player of the Year award.

The South African has played an influential role for Saracens and has been rewarded with a call-up to the England national side this season. Barritt is one of six nominated for the award, the other five being England and Harlequins skipper Chris Robshaw, another Harlequin in Mike Brown, Julian Salvi of Leicester, Nick Wood of Gloucester, and James Scaysbrook of Exeter.

Leicester’s Richard Cockerill, Exeter’s Rob Baxter and Harlequins’ Conor O’Shea are up for Director of Rugby of the Season.

The winners of both awards will be announced on 8 May.