Injuries force rethink for Meyer

Heyneke Meyer says his plan to field an experienced Springboks squad has been compromised by injuries to key players.

Meyer had repeatedly intimated that he would retain many of the senior Springboks who had served over the last eight years for the three-Test series against England in June. However, speaking at the conclusion of the second of three Springboks planning camps with selected players from the Bulls and Sharks in attendance, Meyer said injuries had changed his plans.

‘I must say when I started the team that I thought probably would start, and I’ve said I would give everyone a fair chance has changed a lot,’ Meyer said.

‘Like I said, I thought it would be an experienced side just to get us going and get the continuity because the guys know a lot of the stuff and lead the youngsters. But it’s changed a lot and I think we’ll go for a younger team than I expected to go with.’

Several Stormers players who keo.co.za understands were in Meyer’s plans are doubtful for the England series, while others from other franchises are only just returning from lay-offs.

Besides injuries, Meyer’s intentions have also been curtailed by by experienced midfielder Jaque Fourie’s announcement that he would be unavailable for selection as well as Fourie du Preez and Danie Rossouw’s uncertainty about their desire to continue their Test career.

Meyer added that his choice of captain would also be affected by the aforementioned factors.

‘Obviously I am looking at the captains of the five franchises and a few senior guys, but there are a injuries,’ he said. ‘I am actually quite happy that I didn’t announce the captain because I probably would have been in trouble. I think it is probably the right thing to wait until the first test match.’

Meyer added that that appointment would most likely be a short-term one for the duration of the series only.

110 Comments

• 1.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Blessing in disguise dragnons ….

• 2.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

dragons …

• 3.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Fantastic news. Meyer knows he can move forward with a fantastic base of talent in this country, and stop the trend of picking experience/semi retired playwers living on well earned but now obsolete reputations.

• 4.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

With Schalk out, I think Adriaan Strauss is the best choice for captain. He leads from the front, makes more correct decisions than most, and he deserves to lead a dynamo outfit. He is also a very good communicator.

• 5.Transformation: Reply to this comment

no excuses heyneke, just get on with the job man…

• 6.skyewalker: Reply to this comment

The recipe is simple,pick in-form super 15 rugby players,experience and youth will balance out.

• 7.skyewalker: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark(KeurboomPark)-4:
    Bismarck will go into a terrible sulk if anyone is picked ahead of him as hooker imo

• 8.Transformation: Reply to this comment

bissie will throw a fit if he is an ‘impact player’ still his year :D

• 9.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

So, if he is looking at franchise captains, Strauss, Strauss, Spies, Daniel and Div.

Senior Guys?

Habana, Pieterson, Steyn, Brussouw, DuPlessis.

Not great. That means Spies.
    It should be one of the Strauss’ though.
    Bismark must start and we have a 7 flank vacancy.

• 10.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

this okies been reading keo.. or else his sidekick lieutenants have, and they been reporting to him that if he picks the old fogies and loses then he’s in big kak with the bok supporters so he better get with the program and pick current proactive players who are putting their hands up.

His biggest headache is who is gonna be captain.. that is the one selection he gonna have to get right, he’s been contemplating Matfield, FdP or Spies, neither of whom would be great choice.. so now he better stay up nights and think real hard who it gonna be.

This the squad he should be looking at

Steyn, Taute, Lambie
    Aplon, JPP
    JdV (c), Engelbrecht
    De Jongh, Venter
    Basson, Habana, Mvovo
    Goosen, M. Steyn
    Hougaard, Duvenhage
    Kolisi, Stander, Spies
    Elstadt, Coetsee
    Brussow, Minnie
    Bekker, Kruger
    Etsebeth, Steenkamp
    Oosthuizen, Malherbe
    Bismark, Chili
    Steenkamp, Greyling, Kitshoff

• 11.the_winger: Reply to this comment

A bit out the box but what about Brussow for skipper? He leads from the front, is in prime position to influence ref and is a player genuinely respected by friend and foe alike. It also keeps with the trend of other int loosie captains eg RM, LM (ex), TD, SW ect

• 12.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Chiliboy would make a good captain.

• 13.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-10:
    Jeran de Villiers is high risk, not only as a player, but more so as a captain.
    He is injury prone, and old (according to your definition).
    So best case for Jean, even though I like him, is off the bench to offer defensive organization in the last 20.

• 14.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

If Chili boy goes on as captain relegates Bismark to bench.. that’ll be the end of Bismark.. he’ll pack up shop and head for France.

• 15.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Jeran??? Jean

• 16.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

We have learnt nothing if we do not apply the old fashioned rugby principle as follows.

PICK THE TEAM AND THEN THE CAPTAIN.

Simple. This is why Meyer will anounce the Captain when he knows what team he wants to select.

I think this is not so much panic induced by the old tppies limping around and juicing their pensions, but by the great ability he has seen for himself from the wide group of players he has had a good look at.

I could be wrong, but this indicates a reflective coach who can adapt to the circumstances. The last one we had like this was Kitch Christy. The rest have all failed to adapt enough to survive.

• 17.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Josh Strauss will be Captain.

• 18.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-17: Josh or Adriaan?

• 19.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

JdV is the one player in SA who can command absolute respect, control and clear captaincy cred through a game more than any other candidate in the country

JdV should have been captain long ago..better than Matfield and better than Smit and most definitely better than Burger or Spies…or FdP.. only other candidate at that level would have been Juan smith before his long term injury.

So as far as senior status captaincy cred goes as well as player respect and accord with ref’s etc.. JdV is head and shoulders better than anyone else in SA..

As far as young captaincy cred goes.. the options would come from

Arno Botha, Nick Koster if either can command a starting position.

My Bok captain medium term would have been Frans Louw who went to Bath.. he would have made the best choice for interim Bok captain this year..

• 20.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-19:

He is injury prone. You can’t have a new captain every other week.

• 21.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Spies will be captain.

• 22.viewer: Reply to this comment

Josh strauss captain? (sigh)

• 23.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@viewer(viewer)-22:
    What is using of my name thing?

• 24.Transformation: Reply to this comment

he said josh…

• 25.viewer: Reply to this comment

Oh kleuter on the keotv threas I asked PA if he’s coming back to keo.
    I thought u left after reading ur reply to spies is wothless. He said spies must be chased off all rugby fields

• 26.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

JdV is still the best choice for Bok captain as things stand right now..

Better than Spies, better than Matfield, better than FdP, better than Daniel, better than Josh strauss, better than Adriaan Strauss.

Make Spies captain and we lose to England.. how much you wanna bet..

If FdP were captain I don’t expect much better.. and if FdP, Matfield and Spies run on vs England we could face our first loss to England at home in a long time.

That selection above in @ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-10: is the better way to go

Pack should start

Gurthro, Bismark, Oosthuizen / Malherbe
    Etsebeth, Bekker / Kruger
    Brussow, Elstadt
    Kolisi

(Beast / Greyling), Chili, (Kruger / Bekker), Coetsee / Stander

Backs

Hougaard, Goosen
    (Basson / Engelbrecht), De Jongh, JdV (c), (Aplon / JPP)
    F. Steyn

Duvenhage, Lambie, (JPP / Aplon)

• 27.viewer: Reply to this comment

Oh kleuter on the keotv thread I asked PA if he’s coming back to keo.
    I thought u left after reading ur reply to spies is wothless. He said spies must be chased off all rugby fields

• 28.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@viewer(viewer)-27:
    LOL. No, still here. I can take it. I speak my mind, sometimes I get upset, but not for long.
    If I lose today, I come back tomorrow with all guns blazing!

• 29.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-26:

It is good that you stand by your opinion.
    But I disagree on the captaincy.
    Some of your choices are not bad.
    I would say we agree on about 50%.

• 30.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@viewer(viewer)-27:
    As far as Spies is concerned.
    I like him, but if I have to be honest, he is not the best 8 in the country. Perhaps he’ll do better in the last 20.
    But still, he is the captain of my team, and I will defend all my team’s players.

• 31.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@skyewalker(skyewalker)-7:

I understand. Captain must be picked first, though.

• 32.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-9:

Put Bizzie at flank.

• 33.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-13:

Jean is the second best captain in the world. McCaw first.

• 34.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-12:

We have amazing hookers. Thanks to Long Street :)

• 35.viewer: Reply to this comment

Flanks and locks have been the most successful Test captains worldwide

• 36.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark(KeurboomPark)-33:
    If you say so.

• 37.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-17:

A good choice. Josh has great character,

• 38.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-21:

Then we will lose. No clue. Wont be able to keep his reins on the chariot.

• 39.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@viewer(viewer)-35: What about hookers? John Smit, Sean Fitzpatrick, Kevin Mealamu…

• 40.viewer: Reply to this comment

LMAO Keurboom re: JdV
    Hope you joking though. . .

• 41.viewer: Reply to this comment

Ok yes 2′s as well

• 42.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@viewer(viewer)-40:
    Glad to cheer up the day. What was ever wrong with Spies on the wing. He was incredible there in the U20′s. Wonder who tricked him into the engine room. Would be my second choice wing after Habana. Devastating.

• 43.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-26: JdV doesn’t deserve to start, Skop. You’d be creating another John Smit scenario. If Bekker is healthy, make him captain.

• 44.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

God, as long as we move away from a scenario where our seuntjies are getting slapped around with 10 minutes to go and the coach feels the need to send on his captain who he has taken off to steady the ship. That situation which we have seen as Bok Supporters reflects a non thinking team.

Ridiculous scenario illustrating a poor team leadewrship system.

Pick the captain after you have picked your team. All this expectation of a captain is ridiculous. Pick smart, hungry, good players. first. The natural leader will emerge from that situation. Who can say that the particular personality and understanding of a Matfield/DeVilliers or Smit will work with this new generation of players.

• 45.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-43:
    NOOO! Delete that thought immediately. No ways. Never.
    He will be knocked out on day one as captain.

• 46.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

My letter is in the mail. My email was sent and video-clips were attached.

• 47.willievz: Reply to this comment

@skyewalker(skyewalker)-7: Bissie has no argument.

Strauss is the best hooker currently in the country by some estimation. Chiliboy a good bet for second best.

• 48.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Anyway, it’s nice to hear Meyer talking some sense. Perhaps he has been reading the comments on Keo.

• 49.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-47: I second that. At the moment, Strauss 1, Chili 2, Bismark 3.
    Things can still change, but Bismark will have to pull up his socks.

• 50.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-49:

Bismarck has sunk to new depths. Good to see agree on Strauss.

• 51.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Bismark is just warming up. You are all right about the form of Strauss and Chilli but at his best Bismark will eat them both.

• 52.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-5:

“no excuses heyneke, just get on with the job man…”

Is Meyer not allowed to talk the press?

You’re just itching and waiting for Meyer to fail, aren’t you?

Your name should be Transparency, not Transformation.

• 53.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

I can’t believe even Daniesaurus was on Meyer’s wishlist!

• 54.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark(KeurboomPark)-50:

We are making progress. One down, 14 to go.

• 55.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-53:

He will eat 90% of the S15 locks for breakfast.

• 56.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

The biggest loss might be Jacques Fourie. No definite candidate to take his position.

• 57.wmp11: Reply to this comment

Adriaan Strauss for captain. Good leader and players get inspired by his runs and it fires them all up

• 58.wmp11: Reply to this comment

Also agreeing on Strauss #1 chilly 2 then bis. Strauss has always been consistent, he deserves a spot

• 59.wmp11: Reply to this comment

If jdv is back he can be Capt. With adriaan Strauss as vice

• 60.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Very True Kleuter.

I would like to see a Bok Juggernaught taking shape. Young or Old, they must be big and nasty.and Without compromise the front 5 must be a deeply unpleasant unit to play against. Test rugby exposes players that are lig in die broek without mercy.

• 61.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-56:

Totally agree about Mossie. I am also thinking that Habana will be an effective replacement, and will prove himself over three tests. JPP can keep his place on the wing.

• 62.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-60:
    Etzebeth, Kruger. Job done. Body parts everywhere. Spionkop revisited.

• 63.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Lekker lag ek nou vir die klomp skape op die site.

You guys must be dumber than even I thought.

Amazing how you all jump for joy at Heyneke’s statement today.

Fools. He is just saying a lot of his PLAYERS will have to be younger than he would have preferred. Nowhere is he saying that his CAPTAIN is going to be a youngster.

Today’s statement simply makes it even MORE likely that he will go for a veteran captain, to steady the ship full of youngsters.

Bottomline:

If Vic is willing and able, he will be Heyneke’s captain. Especially now that Schalk, Jean, etc. won’t be around to add some steel to the team.

Start using your brains, sheeple.

• 64.STBUR: Reply to this comment

From my perspective the only “old” players that should never have been considered was Bakkies and Danie Rossouw.

If Bekker had been injured would a combo of Matfield, Kruger and Etzebeth really been that bad? Experience plus youth. Hopefully it will be Bekker, Kruger and Etzebeth.

As for Fourie, yes he is playing in another, lower league but I cannot believe at a still reasonable age of 30 that he will not be an asset. Other than Hougaard which scrummie is going to be backup? No one else has stood out to be honest. Since Fourie has the experience it is entirely reasonable that he was considered – although judging from what I have read he won’t be released by his club? So the point is moot.

But it is frustrating to see how people get on this bandwagon about “holding onto old players” when you are essentially only talking about two of them and one of them, Victor, only because there is potentially too many injuries amongst the new comers.

Players like JdV and Schalk are certainly not old. Should Steyn play ahead of JdV? Maybe, but there is certainly space for JdV on the bench and definitely in the squad. Schalk is injured so it doesn’t matter but he has always been a titan 80 minute player. That is if you can take your blinkers off. Again, even if you played him off the bench while giving a new guy a chance it would be fine. What is all this talk of dropping them out right? Knee-jerk thinking and posting. The irony is the same old people will with their next breath say what a shame it is that Juan Smith is injured… tickle me silly.

Most importantly you cannot play 6-7 new guys in a game. It will cause such disruption that those new and talented players will not be able to showcase their best. Finally, in an injury heavy environment like we have right now, the new players you blood will depend on how they complement the remaining veteran players. Sometimes a deserving youngster will miss out because he won’t be right for the balance of the 22.

• 65.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@STBUR(STBUR)-64:

12 Steyn
    13 Habana

Nag vir die Chariot se Nyers

• 66.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

World Cup Winners 2015

1.Coenie (Moenie)
    2 Strauss
    3 Jannie
    4 Etzebeth
    5 Kruger
    6 Brussouw
    7 Elstadt/Bizmark
    8 Bekker

9 Hougie
    10 Goosen
    11 Spies
    12 Steyn F
    13 De Jongh
    14 JPP
    15 Taute

• 67.wmp11: Reply to this comment

Lol rwc first round knockouts.

• 68.poppa69: Reply to this comment

looking forward to seeing Meisekind in the Bok jersey again…

• 69.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Is HM looking already for excuses? ;)
    I would say give him a breathing space and a credit until it is shown he doesn’t deserve one, and that means losing test matches.

• 70.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-68:

yeah. in the lesbian bar. lol

• 71.wmp11: Reply to this comment

Coenie. Strauss. beast
    Etzebeth. Bekker
    Kolisi. J. Potgieter
    Duane
    Habana. Hougaard
    Goosen.
    Jdv
    Jdj
    Aplon
    Lambie / f steyn

• 72.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

I smell a Trol. Skoert poppy.

• 73.wmp11: Reply to this comment

Chilly, kitchoff, Kruger, Albert’s /brussow, McLeod, r.ebersohn, mvovo/basson

• 74.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@wmp11(wmp11)-71:
    You are a Stormer right? Cause no one else will drop Brussow for Kolisi. And surely Marcel Coetzee is also better.
    Bekker is way behind the ball game.
    And Habana at 9?

• 75.wmp11: Reply to this comment

Habbs at 11.. why would he b nine? Brussow has poor defence. Bekker will bounce back…if not go with Kruger or Sykes

• 76.wmp11: Reply to this comment

Marcell is a good choice to

• 77.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@wmp11(wmp11)-71:
    Why? I don’t know. You tell me.
    The reason I asked is because the whole team is written in order, from 1 tp 8, then 11, then 9 to10, then 12 to 15. Can you see why is is confusing?
    Is Coenie you 1 or 3?

• 78.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Ouch! My spelling is terrible tonight!

• 79.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@wmp11(wmp11)-75:
    Or if you placed the names according to the players actual positions aligned to the right, then I assume Beast is 3 and Coenie 1?

• 80.wmp11: Reply to this comment

Haha ya I tried mapping the position s like u would see it from Scrum but it screwed up when I submitted.
    1. Coenie/ kitchoff
    2. Strauss/ chilly
    3. Beast/ greyling
    4 etzebeth/ sykes
    5 bekkker/ kruger
    6 brrussow / kolisi
    7. J potgieter/ marcel
    8 Duane / j Strauss
    9 hougaard/ McLeod
    10 goosen / steyn.
    11 Habana / basson
    12 jdv/ r ebersohn
    13 jdj/ r ebersohn
    14 aplon/ a ndungane
    15 lambie / f steyn

• 81.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

Danie Roussouw ???

LOL LOL LOL

L O L

partnered by a Captain who is now a commentator.

Piet duh Silliers starting to look like Rod McQueen compared. This is going to be hilarious ! Argentina must be counting their lucky stars that theres 1 easybeat in the upcoming Rugby Championship.

• 82.kwas: Reply to this comment

Jaysus, hard to believe that has-beens like Habana and Ndugane still our premier wings.

• 83.wmp11: Reply to this comment

The biggest hasbeen of em all is spies

• 84.wmp11: Reply to this comment

Just worred bout his guns

• 85.wmp11: Reply to this comment

Where are you getting d rossouw from?

• 86.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Prickbok can’t spell. What a prick this dic. is!

• 87.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-44: You said it!!Can’t agree more.

• 88.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-49: @willievz(willievz)-47: We are not watching the same games. In a pack that is mediocre at best Bismarck is still playing good rugby.He is playing between two sub standard props and is still making the most steals of all the hookers in SA.(The Doc is not in good form at all.)Add to that , he is playing better every week.( admittedly he has to remember he is playing a team sport.

• 89.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Optiplay

I don’t see that fire in Bismark this year. Hope he gets it back fast as it will be sad to see him on the bench (or worse) again this year.

• 90.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-55: Nowadays it looks as if he did.

• 91.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Haven’t seen him since WC.

• 92.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-89: I would play Chilli ahead of Strauss.Admittedly Strauss is playing awesome rugby.But so is Liebenberg. Good hookers this year, and I agree unless Bismarck gets his old form back , he is in trouble.

• 93.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

On a different topic, has anybody noticed that at least two or three of the tries on the weekend were from obstructive play, but were allowed by the ref anyway? this makes me think that any team on attack should have an obstructive play guaranteed to score, just to chance once to see if it comes off because the ref is an idiot. This is especially useful against Kiwi refs (although Kaplan allowed one too this last weekend).

• 94.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-86:

I added an extra U for the slow Useless bucket of Urine

• 95.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

Spies is the ‘most likely’ captain of the current ACTIVE players. With that in mind, (and Burger/ JDV’s injury), the pack should have the below feel…
    1. Kitschoff
    2. Bismark? (experience only)
    3. WP Nel
    4. Etsebeth
    5. Juandre
    6. Brussow
    7. Elstadt
    8. Spies (c)

Bench (depending on 4/ 5 split), inluding two props when it’s 5;
    Chilliboy, Greyling, Jannie?, Bekker?, J. Potgieter

• 96.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-52: “You’re just itching and waiting for Meyer to fail, aren’t you? ”

you’re talking kak as always.

as you were.

• 97.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-63: VC might be willing but he is not able. It would be the stupidest move on both coach and player if that should happen , have we not learned from our past mistakes ?

• 98.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

SANZAR have finally acknowledged that the Bulls defeated the Brumbies through blatant cheating by the match officials. The Brumbies outscored the Bullsh*tters by 5-2 tries but, somehow, a flurry of penalties for the home side and a very dodgy try was the difference – a clear knock-on by Steyn’ed Undies inexplicably missed by all 3 blind mice. Their names might give a clue

Marius Jonker and assistant referees Lourens van der Merwe and Stefan Breytenbach.

The last time the Bullsh*tters won the title, the vast majority of their home games were controlled by match officials with very similar names.

No wonder they struggled to finish better than 8th at the RWC with a fair, neutral, referee.

let the lobotomized losers continue to whinge while the rest of us

L O L

• 99.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-86:

btw

loved your comment at 78

• 100.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-98: And where is this so-called admission then Tackles?

• 101.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-51:

Schalk Britz is better

• 102.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

13Gerber.

Better at running in open spaces.

• 103.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Tacitus.

I am responding to the article. If a senior player will captain the Boks, and as the article suggests Matfield; DuPreez and Burger are not available, that leaves Spies 0r Devilliers. But if this article is accurate, Meyer will also look at leaders within the franchises.

By your tone it seems you know something nobody here does.

• 104.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-100:

youre right

you’ll have to go online for foreign journalism to read reports based on the truth.

• 105.Bokhoring: Reply to this comment

@wmp11(wmp11)-75: Brussouw has poor defence – where did you suck that fact from? The guy is at number 8 in the competition for tackles made.

• 106.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-103: he knows nothing. he just assumes because meyer is afrikaner and a former blue bulls coach he has the inside scoop/lane to meyer’s thoughts/ideas, that’s all.

ditto with vic.

• 107.lepel: Reply to this comment

Bismark has done 0 to enhance his reputation so far this season. Now that JS is finally out of his way, he’s not really stepping up. Chilli has enjoyed a very good season so far and Adrian Strauss just keeps on delivering good games one after the other. By my account Bismark has done nothing this year to warrant selection other than his reputation.

Drop the Dups, Jannie has always sucked anyway, and bring in Chilli as captain. He’s been groomed as such a long time ago, now let him have a go. I think he’d do remarkably well.

Of the franchise captains the only two who really seem to inspire their team on the field to any degree are the two Strausses. Spies is just a bad player, JdV’s time is over and who even captains the Sharks? They could certainly do with a captain at this stage in their dismal season.

• 108.wmp11: Reply to this comment

Makes tacked yes, but also not the most reliable defender. Ei

• 109.vasteses: Reply to this comment

Jong ek kan lekker lag vir julle sogenaamde rugby kenners, Frans Steyn gaan 12 speel en basta. Kolitjie het nie nkans nie, as bekker reg is sal hy 5speel saam elstad of Flip, ek sien iemand hier het sommer vir Steenkamp in. Met mossie weg is daar nie n goed genoeg 13 nie. Morne sal 10 wees. Ek dink en hoop die verassing sal op 8wees mer Daniel wat my keuse is. Op 7 soek ons n danie tiepe speler miskien josh of potties. 6 is vir heinrich bespreek. Bisie sal sy lynstaan werk moet opknap maar HM kan maar enige van die 4 kies. Op vleul is dit habs en jp en agter sal dit pat of pietersen wees.stutte sal coenie, greyling, rooikop, en beast wees. Met kruger as buiteperd

• 110.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Vasteses.

Jong, jy het 4 loskoppe genoem en maar net 1 ‘buiterperd’ Vaskoppetjie genoem. So kan n mens nie toets rugby speel nie of hoe?

Flip en Elstadt is nie naastenby die beste no 4′s wat ons het.

Ek dink ook dat Daniel n besonders goeie speler is wat ingestel kan wees.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.