KeoTV: Boks to stick with experience
25 Apr 2012
MARK KEOHANE names the two youngsters who should be in the Bok squad to play England as well as the two overseas players who could solve Heyneke Meyer’s No 7 selection headache.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article19 May 2013
GREGOR PAUL, in the Herald on Sunday, writes world rugby will get its integrated season after the 2015 World Cup and Super Rugby won't break to accommodate an international window. Super Rugby will shift to a March start and won't break for test matches, the June window will be shifted to July and all players will have a 14 to 16-week off-season. Other innovative plans are being discussed, such as building a world series of tests in years that fall between the World Cup and British Lions tours. The revolution that All Black coach Steve Hansen called for last week is coming. The players ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article25 Apr 2012
MARK KEOHANE names the two youngsters who should be in the Bok squad to play England as well as the two overseas players who could solve Heyneke Meyer’s No 7 selection headache.
DavidSwart has written 13 articles.
7 Sep 2012
6 Sep 2012
GREGOR PAUL, in the Herald on Sunday, writes world rugby will get its integrated season after the 2015 World Cup and Super Rugby won’t break to accommodate an international window. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

233 Comments
25 Apr 2012, 13:18 pm
Talked sense up and till Joe/Cronje comment for 7.
Willem Alberts, Deysel, Josh Strauss, Potgieter all options that can be considered. They are experienced Super Rugby players and introducing them with Brussow/Spies who are experienced test players should not be too tough.
Some of them not in the greatest form but still a month to get that right.
25 Apr 2012, 13:22 pm
Joe van Niekerk,jacques Cronje….WTF?? Alberts,Elstadt,J.Potgieter,Marcel Coetzee,Ashley Johnson..would go with ANY of those before bringing back “Soth of France Joe & the human Massey Ferguson tractor Cronje. SA cupboard full when it comes to loose fwds,thats like askin NZ to bring Howlett,Rico Gear,Rokocoko etc ahead of Guilford,Hosea Gear,Ranger,Savea etc
Stupid.
25 Apr 2012, 13:29 pm
And please lets stop this talk of Matfield,please.
Etzebeth
Elstadt
J.Kruger
Flip
Bekker
All capable.
25 Apr 2012, 13:30 pm
Youngsters I agree with. Guthro Steenkamp and possibly FdP are the only players from overseas.
Another uncapped player will be Stander. He knows how to play under captain Spies hehehe.
25 Apr 2012, 13:33 pm
Does Keo know that is it Etzebeth and not ‘Ester-bet’ as he pronounces it?
25 Apr 2012, 13:34 pm
@Dazzler(Dazzler)-5:
that IT IS, not is it… sorry
25 Apr 2012, 13:35 pm
1. Oosthuizen
2. Du Plessis
3. Du Plessis
4. Etsebeth
5. Bekker
6. Alberts
7. Brussouw
8. Spies
25 Apr 2012, 13:38 pm
Who the fck is Esther Beth?
And what is a Janster?
25 Apr 2012, 13:40 pm
@Dazzler(Dazzler)-6: First take the plank out of your own eye, hey Dazzler. By the way, did you go to Rhodes University?
25 Apr 2012, 13:42 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-8: I’m not sure who Esther Beth is, but I bet she makes a lekker melktert
25 Apr 2012, 13:42 pm
While I agree that Joe has been playing great rugby for Toulon, we’re far better off with Willem Alberts at 7. And I reckon Heyneke is with the katman on this.
25 Apr 2012, 13:44 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-11: And we dont play test footy!
25 Apr 2012, 13:46 pm
@Horings(Horings)-12: Or rugga for that matter.
Perhaps this injection of slang is a deliberate marketing ploy to make the game more attractive to youngsters.
Sorry, Jansters.
25 Apr 2012, 13:49 pm
1.Beast,Coenie,Guthro,Greyling
2.Bismark,Chilli,Strauss
3.Jannie,Cilliers,Nel
4.Etzebeth,Elstadt,Flip
5.Bekker,J.Kruger,Steenkamp
6.Brussow,Kolisi,Minnie
7.Alberts,Deysel,Johnson
8.Spies,Strauss,Stander
9.Hougaard,Du Preez
10.Goosen,Steyn,Jantjies
11.Habana,Mvovo,Basson
12.De Villiers,Frans Steyn,Whitehead
13.De Jongh,JPP,Eberson
14.Aplon,Le Roux,JPP
15.Lambie,Pietersen,Taute
`
25 Apr 2012, 13:50 pm
This marketing bullsh i t. The Bulls play in pink to expand their brand, but will your son support a team in pink?
25 Apr 2012, 13:55 pm
Maybe Meyer’s alleged plan to make Matfield his captain and Fourie his scrumhalf is also a stroke of marketing genius, intended to capture the imagination of the all-important elderly rock spider demographic
25 Apr 2012, 13:56 pm
Also keo, one of your minions has just posted a piece on the baby bok squad, saying that Goosen’s inclusion means that he won’t feature against England. You guys need to talk to each other. I bet they all sit open plan and you have an office.
25 Apr 2012, 14:00 pm
Keo is probably “working” from home.
25 Apr 2012, 14:04 pm
Really don’t think Meyer will even think of bringing Joe back when we have enough good players right here.
Sure Alberts had not played as well as last year, but the season is still young and he is a great player he will be back to his best soon. There is also Deysel and Potgieter.
Talking about youngsters what about Marcell Coetzee? He has been outstanding this S15. Only 20 years old too, same age as Etzebeth and Goosen. We sure have some great young talent goming through in many positions. Cheetahs LH Oozthuizen is another youngster playing superb.
Wish Sharks gave Jordaan a chance, think he by now would have shown just what a great talent he is too.
For me the youngster that has impressed me the most is Etzebeth. Super talented.
Now waiting to see Pieter Steph du Toit shine. He too is a great talent. Just needs to get some S15 game time.
25 Apr 2012, 14:05 pm
Let’s not mince words here.
Let’s not fck about with platitudes to those have contributed in another era,
for this is the beginning of a NEW ERA.
The age of Victor is gone.
He was great, one of the greatest ever. And his contibution will never be forgotten.
But this 2012.
Heyneke……………………………………move on. Or the Wallabies and AB’s will crush you.
25 Apr 2012, 14:07 pm
NZ
1.Woodcock,Crockett,Whopper
2.Hore,Mealamu,Coles
3.O.Franks,B.Franks,Famuiana
4.Hoeatta,Romano,Donnelly
5.Whitelock,Rettalick,Boric
6.Thompson,Messam,Lowrie
7.McCaw,Latimer,Braid
8.Read,Vito,Manu
9.Ellis,Weepu,Kerr-Barlow
10.Carter,Cruden,Barrett
11.Jane,Ranger,Guilford
12.SBW,Nonu,
13.Smith,Kahui,Ellison
14.Gear,Savea,Freaun
15.Dagg,Smith,Toeava
@Puma(Puma)-19:
Dont forget Kolisi,Stander
25 Apr 2012, 14:07 pm
@Puma(Puma)-19: Jordaan came on as a sub a few times earlier in the season and looked really impressive. Whitehead has been impressive too though, and has more experience – which I guess is why they stuck with him. And, contrary to what Ryan Vrede wrote, I think JPP has been playing well too. I certainly would have given Jordaan more game time though.
25 Apr 2012, 14:10 pm
Good video Keo. Agree with you all the way.
Hope all these youngsters on keo listened to what you said regarding bringing youngsters in slowly. The exact 2 I’ve said all along – Goosen and Etzebeth.
25 Apr 2012, 14:13 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-9:
Is that a serious question or some kind of dig?
But no I didn’t, why?
25 Apr 2012, 14:15 pm
@Dazzler(Dazzler)-24: Serious question. A guy I know likes to call himself Dazzler and he went to Rhodes. So now I know you aren’t him.
25 Apr 2012, 14:18 pm
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-23: Ah finally intelligent life out there. Thank you … thank you very much …
25 Apr 2012, 14:19 pm
Ahh ok no definitely not me. I actually picked up this nick up in England, you know the poms. And somehow it caught on here too, it’s not something I like to call myself, I just get called it unfortunately!
25 Apr 2012, 14:19 pm
PissAnt excluded of course when I refer to the lack of intelligence that so often parades in the guise of passionate rugby supporter
25 Apr 2012, 14:22 pm
Jimmy Stonehouse or Brendan Venter for Sharks head coach
Plum to be retained as FWD’s coach
25 Apr 2012, 14:22 pm
@keo(keo)-28: …and/or rugby scribe. Let’s not kid ourselves here.
25 Apr 2012, 14:23 pm
Ag Keo, it will be interesting to see what you have to say if an old Bok team gets whitewashed by a young England team.
25 Apr 2012, 14:24 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-17:
keo has a petite corner office.
furnished by tinytots interiors.
they have little filing cabinets and everything.
25 Apr 2012, 14:25 pm
@keo(keo)-26:
You’re so very welcome.
Don’t understand how some people think that one can simply select a whole new team consisting of mostly young talent, have a week to prepare the team for a test, and then still expect to win?
As you said, youngsters should be introduced slowly.
I’ve said it many times; 2 now, another 2 for 4-Nations, and then another 2 or 3 for the EOYT.
Come the 4-Nations next year, HM will have a very well balanced side.
25 Apr 2012, 14:27 pm
@Dazzler(Dazzler)-27: I saw your explanation of the name on here before and that actually made me even more suspicious because the Dazzler I know claimed to have picked the nickname up in Oz but was living in the UK. Still, I’m sure there are thousands if not millions of Dazzlers out there – each blinding others with their brilliance.
25 Apr 2012, 14:27 pm
@keo(keo)-28:
Onbeskof
25 Apr 2012, 14:29 pm
Brussouw and Kolisi, end of story and Mark K, please dont use that word footy, leave that **** for nz and aus, in SA we play rugby.
25 Apr 2012, 14:29 pm
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-33: Say what? You’re agreeing with him that Joe or Cronje would be good additions while simultaneously lamenting the urge to select a whole new team? Think about that for a while.
25 Apr 2012, 14:31 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-34:
Yeah, the poms call all people named (insert real name here) Dazzler. I can assure it’s for no other reason!
25 Apr 2012, 14:31 pm
@Oranjebliksemblou(Oranjebliksemblou)-36:
Moer hom
25 Apr 2012, 14:35 pm
@Dazzler(Dazzler)-38: Darryl?
25 Apr 2012, 14:37 pm
@Dazzler(Dazzler)-38:
They usually call people named Darren Dazzler.
In which case you have my sympathies.
25 Apr 2012, 14:38 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-40:
Listen
Stop flirting with him
Los uit
Take it offline
25 Apr 2012, 14:42 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-37:
I feel that young players should be introduced slowly.
Guys like Cronje and Joe can still add value.
Who should we play at 7 against England? Alberts? He’s been poor.
Burger is out, Smith is out, Vermeulen is out.
In the squad I would certainly think of guys like Elstadt, Coetzee, Stander, Kolisi…
But when you only have one week, I don’t think it is a bad idea to bring in either Cronje or Joe.
Remember what happened to van Hussilin and Gaffie under Mallett against NZ? They never recovered after that test.
HM knows how to build a squad. You will be surprised by his squad this time next year.
A guy like FdP can also still add great value. Not only his experience, but just like Cronje and Joe he too is in top form.
Who else do we have at 9 besides Hougaard?
And as far as lock goes, we need someone who has been around the park.
Matfield, if fit and conditioned is that guy.
And remember, England will be extremely tough to beat.
25 Apr 2012, 14:43 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-40:
You thnking about his other brother Darryl.
25 Apr 2012, 14:50 pm
@keo(keo)-28:
Honoured. Thank you.
But you still owe me a coaching course! I am looking for a change in career.
25 Apr 2012, 15:00 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-45:
UCT are going to need a new coach next year.
25 Apr 2012, 15:04 pm
Beast
Bismarck
Jannie
Etzebeth
Bekker
Brussow
Kolisi
Du Preez (c)
Morne
Habana
Frans Steyn
JdJ
Hougaard
Lambie
25 Apr 2012, 15:08 pm
I don’t think Goosen will be playing any part in the June test. If I’m not mistaken the junior World Chanpionship is at the same time and he has been selected as 1st choice flyhalf.
25 Apr 2012, 15:10 pm
agree about Cronje, 122kgs Wrecking ball. Has plenty of speed still.
CJ Stander, Arno Botha, Potgieter, Adonga Also worth a bolter for Meyer
Bring back Schalk Britz!!!!
tragic he is not being looked at as backup impact off the bench.
25 Apr 2012, 15:12 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-14:
Yes. agree. the form front row is
Oosthuizen.Strauss.Nel
No argument
25 Apr 2012, 15:15 pm
wtf does keo smoke???? id love to have some, how on earth can you ignore the blokes who are performing in OUR SUPER RUGBY SIDES KEO!!!!!! FFS!!!!! WERE YOU BORN THE WRONG WAY AROUND!!!!
25 Apr 2012, 15:15 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-50:
You might be right, but…
That Cheetahs front row was man-handled by the Chiefs.
25 Apr 2012, 15:16 pm
we got coetzee , potgieter, deysel, alberts, elstadt to choose from but no u wanna go pick blokes who have been playing in a piss poor rugby tournament up north, my fark i wanna bliksem this computer
25 Apr 2012, 15:18 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-17: I thought you would have a bit more common sense. If HM pulls Goosen out of SA u20 squad now what does that tell SA and Goosen – that he is in the Bok squad 4 England. The Boks take priority over any other selection. Take one and add one to it and see what you get.
25 Apr 2012, 15:20 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-42: Jammer Tannie Dawn. I’ll leave the flirting to you
25 Apr 2012, 15:21 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-44:
25 Apr 2012, 15:21 pm
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-33: Amen brother … in a year he will have a very capable side with a great blend of old and new and that is how all good sides are developed, nurtured and sustained.
I am constantly amazed at how many good rugby players SA produces and equally how many supporters who know so little about the game
25 Apr 2012, 15:23 pm
@keo(keo)-57:
Very very true.
what about juandre kruger? that bloke has been playing some dam good rugga but he doesnt get a mention likewise with coetzee
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-45: apply for the Blues job
25 Apr 2012, 15:25 pm
@willievz(willievz)-52:
in patches but they have being form front row.
WP Nel is Best TH of the current lot in S15
Maybe CIlliers will be given a chance?. I still believe the Pommies have an edge in front row and will look to target it. I do not rate Beast as a consistent scrummager. Dan Cole is a Destructive TH who would have Beast for breakfast.
Oosthuizen needs get his chance.
25 Apr 2012, 15:26 pm
@Caper(Caper)-47: great team you have picked a loosehead who has just started playing, a tighthead who is struggling to make his Sup rug side, a lock in Bekker who has been out of form and injured, Alberts who has been woeful this season, Kolisi who is not there just yet as a Test flank, Hougaard out of position on the right wing, Lambie at f/b when he has played most of his rugby this season at 10 and JDV at outside centre when he is a specialist 12 who can provide a job on the wing but is not an outside centre.
Send your application for convener of selectors now. Now wait send it to the Blues. Pat Lam would love your thinking.
25 Apr 2012, 15:27 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-61:
agree with coenie getting a chance, beast for last 20 as a impact prop of some kind, dont know if cilliers will make the step up but wont know till he is there
25 Apr 2012, 15:28 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-45:
You have been asking for that coaching course for about ten years.
You think he’s gonna deliver?
25 Apr 2012, 15:30 pm
We have not had a good tighthead since Balie Swart ………
only Kempson and Visagie are notable mentions
25 Apr 2012, 15:30 pm
@keo(keo)-57:
We who know so little bow before your superior knowledge, Yoda.
25 Apr 2012, 15:31 pm
@keo(keo)-62: there is nothing wrong with the side, your just &*(%$ off because puke watsons name didnt feature
What about young Malherbe (21)? Too soon?
The Kiwis are playing a young 3 in Franks (24)
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-59:
I agree. juandre kruger reminds me more and more of a young Adri Geldenhuys, the gentleman who became a SA Player of the year in his debut season.
Keo, longterm planning is one thing But its results that matter. The results this year will determine meyer future planning.
Look at Robbie Deans??. How much longer will his masters support his “master plan”.
25 Apr 2012, 15:33 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-66: cuz remember butch is gonna be our flyhalf at the WC
in keo i dont trust
25 Apr 2012, 15:34 pm
@keo(keo)-62: Erm Keo, he said JdJ and not JdV at outside centre.
25 Apr 2012, 15:35 pm
@keo(keo)-60:
Hey even I have my standards.
@Dawn(Dawn)-64:
I know! But he offered it I did not ask for it. I suppose he has a good excuse given Winning Ways is gone…
My old school mate is coaching Bay – maybe I must go chat to him! It is where Mallet started after-all!
25 Apr 2012, 15:36 pm
@Caper(Caper)-47: Ja, come on Caper. Everyone knows that what the Boks really need is a No. 5 lock who is retired, a scrumhalf who is big in Japan and a couple of loosies who used to play Test rugby but haven’t been considered good enough since at least 2010. Get with the program!
Keo
I do think HM will go for Lambie as the # 2 flyhalf as HM is more subjected to go with personnel that have cool heads and handle pressure situations better.
@Michael(mikeybrass)-71: was just about to point that out, wish my language i wanted to use wouldnt be censored
25 Apr 2012, 15:38 pm
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-63:
agree. beast and Schalk Britz as impact off the bench.
@FFF(FFF)-65:
agree. Can always bring back Faan Ratenbach, BJ Botha. We simply dont have THs at S15 who dominate consistently.
@willievz(willievz)-68:
I have being impressed with what I seen of Malherbe, has good right shoulder. But too early. Kitschoff too IMO. One more season.
25 Apr 2012, 15:40 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-64:
Jakes Winning Ways cancelled until further notice.
Jake got to keep Grant Ball in Le Divorce.
Keo got to keep the siamese twins JC and Rehaan.
25 Apr 2012, 15:40 pm
@FFF(FFF)-74:
Very good point about Lambie. I just hope he gets settled in one position.
a shock non selection could be Jean, with F Steyn at 12 and Lambie at 15.
25 Apr 2012, 15:41 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-21:
7.McCaw,Todd,Braid
9.Ellis,Smith,Kerr-Barlow
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-50: that front row leaks scrum penalties like crazy
25 Apr 2012, 15:43 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-73:
“…and a couple of loosies who used to play Test rugby but haven’t been considered good enough since at least 2010. Get with the program!”
So you were a great PdV fan for not considering them?
25 Apr 2012, 15:45 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-79:
I am 100% certain that you have named the 3 halfbacks who Hansen will select. Expect Weepu to annouce he is leaving NZ shores in a few weeks.
I think the scrum penalties fair comment
25 Apr 2012, 15:46 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-76:
Its actually a global phenomenon……i mean who really wants to play @ number 3
(its like playing bass guitar, no one wants to do it but if you good at it you will be well paid)
25 Apr 2012, 15:46 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-77:
Don’t make gaai of Yoda
25 Apr 2012, 15:49 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-72:
Make my day
Seen Ig lately?
25 Apr 2012, 15:50 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-84:
I chat to him often, but have not seen him in a while.
25 Apr 2012, 15:50 pm
Must be off for now. Chat later folks.
25 Apr 2012, 15:51 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-85:
Sigh.
25 Apr 2012, 15:51 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-44: Heh, Newhart. I have a feeling a few beers with you may be very entertaining.
25 Apr 2012, 15:52 pm
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-75: I am not sure how Keo can criticise Beast and JdP either. The former was the second choice loosehead for the Boks and has time to play back into form. That he is coming back from injury means he is well rested and should be hitting his best in time for the test series.
Jannie is playing poorly but he is also the incumbent tighthead which impacts on the very argument for experience which Keo was making in his own video.
Hougaard should remain at scrumhalf; we have the necessary specialist wingers.
25 Apr 2012, 15:53 pm
@FFF(FFF)-82:
good comparison.
it is also most energy sapping position!
25 Apr 2012, 15:53 pm
@H(H)-88: He’s gonna be in Arniston this weekend. Rock up.
Wear something nice.
25 Apr 2012, 15:56 pm
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-80: Listen China, I know you’re excited because Keo gave you a pat on the back but settle down.
PdV gave Joe van Niekerk a game and then told him thanks but no thanks. That was in 2010.
I always thought P Diddy was well out of his depth, but Meyer hasn’t even started coaching yet and he’s already starting to make PW Botha look open-minded.
25 Apr 2012, 15:58 pm
Is Joe van Niekerk still playing?????
25 Apr 2012, 16:01 pm
I know he is. Just making conversation.
Before Yoda gets a heebee.
25 Apr 2012, 16:01 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-93:
Toulon’s captain. In great form.
25 Apr 2012, 16:02 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-93: His mommy’s massages don’t pay for themselves, you know.
25 Apr 2012, 16:05 pm
For those of us who can’t check out video clips all the time, can someone summarise the match 22 Keo proposed?
25 Apr 2012, 16:06 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-92:
My goodness, how old are you? Do you want a sucker?
Exactly, he gave him “a” chance.
Since then he continued in great form, captaining a great side.
Have you seen him play, say in the last year or so?
And by your comments regarding PdV and HM, am I correct in assuming you are anti-establishment?
Prefer to blame coaches rather than thinking objectively about players/teams/coaches?
Jy moet mooi dink voor jy praat pappie.
25 Apr 2012, 16:07 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-97:
Dont put us through that torture again
25 Apr 2012, 16:09 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-93: Yes, and not too badly either. Although he is looking a little dik in die pens. Mind you, half the French Top 14 is a little dik in die pens.
25 Apr 2012, 16:10 pm
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-98:
25 Apr 2012, 16:10 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-91:
yissus very snaaks.
at this rate I’m going to have to sell tickets.
kontant only.
25 Apr 2012, 16:11 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-97: You should watch this one. You’ll like it.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-97: He wants Goosen and Esther Beth in, along with Jacques Cronje and Big Joe. And don’t dare suggest otherwise, or the little fella will mock the snot out of you. He knows his ruggafooty, Lil’Keo.
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-92:
Let’s see your team Mr. Expert.
25 Apr 2012, 16:12 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-100:
Muffin/croissant top
25 Apr 2012, 16:12 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-101:
25 Apr 2012, 16:13 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-104:
Magtag he is onbeskof
Never come across such a rude arrogant twerp since HG
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-98: If by “anti-establishment” you mean to suggest that I believe people under the age of 30 can play Test rugby, then yes – I am anti-establishment
@Dawn(Dawn)-106: At least Baguette Botha still looks lean and mean.
25 Apr 2012, 16:14 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-109:
Jy is net lus vir kaksioek man.
25 Apr 2012, 16:16 pm
too early for Goosen. May crack in big spotlight. sweats too much for my liking.
Steyn
Lambie
Elton
25 Apr 2012, 16:16 pm
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-111: No, I just genuinely disagree with Keo’s opinion. But let’s just be friends …
25 Apr 2012, 16:18 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-113:
Friends indeed.
But come on now, you know HM will do the right thing.
If there is one guy that can and will build a team, it is Heyneke.
25 Apr 2012, 16:19 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-112:
Sweats too much? LMAO!!!
25 Apr 2012, 16:20 pm
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-114: I want to believe … but not in a bunch of over-the-hill Bullies.
25 Apr 2012, 16:20 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-112: We’re talking about giving him game time, not a back rub.
25 Apr 2012, 16:23 pm
Greyling/Beast (if he makes a successful comeback in time)/Kitshoff
Chiliboy/Bismark (Chiliboy better than Bismark at the moment IMO)
Jannie (nobody else really)
Etzebeth (outstanding)
Bekker/Kruger (if Bekker is injured, Kruger looks pretty good)
Brussow/CJ Stander (Brussow hasn’t impressed me much this year, CJ Stander is a great player though perhaps less of an out-and-out fetcher. The law interpretations have changed though)
Elstadt/Marcell Coetzee (both hard men, Alberts has been a bit kak this year)
Spies (I think he has played better this year and Vermeulen is now injured)
Hougaard (dynamic)
Goosen (class)
Willie le Roux/JJ Engelbrecht (Willie has been great for the Cheetahs, JJ has been very impressive with limited game time. Habana is playing better, but too little too late)
Frans Steyn
JP/Taute (will both look better in a Bok team. JJ Engelbrecht has actually been great here when coming on for the Bulls, and may be worth a shot too)
Aplon (dynamic, great boot)
Lambie (solid)
25 Apr 2012, 16:23 pm
here’s one on the guppys new great white hype Pieter-Steph du Toit aka PSdT.
Pieter-Steph du Toit, the 19-year-old lock who made his debut for the Sharks in Super Rugby this weekend has, as reported yesterday, been included in this week’s Bok planning group. The young man from Swartland Hoër in Malmesbury is the grandson of a Bok legend from the same region, legendary Boland strongman Piet “Spiere” du Toit.
Piet du Toit was a hugely powerful player, plucked from the obscurity of the Stellenbosch under 19s, where he was playing flank, and turned into a powerful front ranker by Doc Craven. He went on to play 14 tests at tight head prop, between 1958 and 1961 and is still widely considered to be one of the strongest men ever to wear the green and gold – at least relative to other who played in the same era. Du Toit senior played his last test at the age of 25 and then went on to become a successful wine farmer , acquiring the Kloovenburg estate in the Riebeeck Valley in the late 50s. His son Pieter (Steph’s dad) runs the estate today.
Spiere, alas, passed on in 1996, at the age of just 60.
25 Apr 2012, 16:27 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-112:
are we auditioning for the boks or a pompfliek?
25 Apr 2012, 16:29 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-118:
Not bad.
Don’t agree with all, but at least you showed that you are a bit more open-minded than….who was it again? PW?
25 Apr 2012, 16:31 pm
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-121: Cheers. I honestly believe a team like that would beat the sort of team Keo is proposing. But we all have our little ideas …
25 Apr 2012, 16:33 pm
Later.
25 Apr 2012, 16:34 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-117:
mean Goosen hasnt got nerves of steel for test rugby yet.
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-118:
where is the OVS hooker Strauss??. I think Taute could be a bolter.
25 Apr 2012, 16:35 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-124: Yeah, Strauss should be considered. Never seems to make mistakes.
25 Apr 2012, 16:36 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-118:
agree with your other thoughts to especially about Jannie!!. But I would still choose someone like Cilliers over him.
25 Apr 2012, 16:38 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-126: It may be worth a shot. I don’t know enough about scrummaging to make a decision on that. Jannie seemed to come good last year, but then seems to have lost it again this year. He would probably be more motivated for the Boks. Something seems to be wrong in Durban.
25 Apr 2012, 16:43 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-127:
IMO, he simply doesnt dominate enuf. Solid but nothing more. Natal is going through bad patch at moment. S15 campaign all over the place. Jannie goes missing in the loose as well.
25 Apr 2012, 16:45 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-128: But we don’t have a 3 in SA that dominates, so I’ll take solid!
25 Apr 2012, 16:46 pm
One of the nicest things things about reading through this thread, is that there is a serious lack of provincialism in it for a change!
Nice work guys
25 Apr 2012, 16:47 pm
Weren’t the same journo saying things like ……”we need to be gentle with Goosen and not rush him in…ect”
Keo and Co do more u turns then a fleet up taxi’s before a metro road block
25 Apr 2012, 16:48 pm
Is this Kebble lighty a LH or a TH? I really hope he is a TH… we need more than a few of those.
25 Apr 2012, 16:49 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-104:
Did you catch the Santam response to Nando’s on radio this AM?
25 Apr 2012, 16:50 pm
@Dazzler(Dazzler)-132: LH, I’m afraid:
According to the WP Vodacom Cup coach, John Dobson, Kebble is a tremendous prospect who has the ability to go all the way to the top.
“Ollie is a special player. Although he prefers loose head, he has the ability to pack down on both sides of the scrum. He is definitely more mobile and skilful than his dad,” quipped Dobson.
“I have no doubt that he has the potential to become a Springbok,” he added.
25 Apr 2012, 16:52 pm
@FFF(FFF)-131:
25 Apr 2012, 16:57 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-134:
Well if he has the ability, maybe they should start grooming him as a tighthead. He’s only 19 after all…
25 Apr 2012, 16:59 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-133:
Nando’s accepted the challenge and already delivered this afternoon, a day early.
Nice to see
25 Apr 2012, 17:01 pm
@Dazzler(Dazzler)-137:
Every month for a year ………….. thats what you call duel publicity
25 Apr 2012, 17:02 pm
Cheers all
25 Apr 2012, 17:03 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-66: sweetie you’ve been on your knees for a decade already
25 Apr 2012, 17:03 pm
@FFF(FFF)-138:
Clever marketing by both parties… they both come out of this the heroes.
And of course great that the kids benefit too. This is what PR should be all about!
25 Apr 2012, 17:04 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-71: my humblest apologies. How careless of me. Oh well then that team must be a goer
25 Apr 2012, 17:06 pm
@FFF(FFF)-74: He rates Lambie more a fullback than a 10
25 Apr 2012, 17:07 pm
@Dazzler(Dazzler)-141:
Would no be surprised if it was the same agency……..
25 Apr 2012, 17:11 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-113: and good on you … how dull a day if we all shared one voice. Different opinions make for even more different opinions which make for a more informed individual
25 Apr 2012, 17:12 pm
That ‘experience’ which carried the Boks at the 2010/2011 Tests Seasons yielded a cumulative 28% success rate against the Big Five (NZ, Aus, Poms, France, Ireland)
The way to go
25 Apr 2012, 17:13 pm
@FFF(FFF)-144:
Doubt it, a friend of mine is on Nando’s marketing team and she didnt mention it, but you never know… I’ll ask her!
25 Apr 2012, 17:13 pm
@FFF(FFF)-131: I said integrate him into the system and let him play Sup Rugby without fear of failure. That was before the start of the comp. Yet he has shown in his Sup Rug debut season that good enough is old enough.
25 Apr 2012, 17:15 pm
@Dazzler(Dazzler)-147:
does she work for Black River FC @ Jupiter
25 Apr 2012, 17:18 pm
I’m with Keo on Etzebeth, but not Goosen (yet). Keo’s forgotten a number of other stand out youngsters, such as Marcell Coetzee, CJ Stander and Siya Kolisi. All loosies ironically! I wouldn’t go oversease for more loosies and I wouldn’t bring back Matfield either. Bekker and Van der Merwe have enough experience for the Poms and there are good youngsters coming through like Etzebeth and Juandre Kruger. My match day 22 would be: Lambie, Basson, De Jong, Frans Steyn, Morne Steyn, Fourie Du Preez, Spies, Brussoux, Bekker, Flip Van der Merwe, Alberts (if fit)(Duane Vermeulen), Jannie Du Plessis, Bismark Du Plessis, Beast Mtwarira – reserves, Hougaard, Jantjes, Ralepelle, CJ Van der Linde, Gurthro Steenkamp, Etzebeth, Duane Vermeulen (if fit)(Marcell Coetzee).
25 Apr 2012, 17:20 pm
@keo(keo)-148:
……………..SA has knack of making player crash and burn tho, i suppose temperament does play a big part
IE…….F Steyn @ never transcended out of that schoolboy mentality
25 Apr 2012, 17:21 pm
@FFF(FFF)-151:
Correction……..F Steyn @ (20 years old)
25 Apr 2012, 17:26 pm
It’s fascinating how the media controls our perceptions. Not too long ago they had some thread commenting on how well Chilli is playing and many agreed. So much so that Bismark was now left out of these pointless hypothetical teams that everyone spouts the whole time. Forward a few weeks and now that that talk has died down, everyone is fine with Bismark and the fact that he has struggled a for form.
I’m just desperately waiting for someone in the media to start pointing out just how AWFUL Jannie is… and was and will forever be. The only reason he got a Sharks contract was because of his lil bro. Then he went on to get lots of caps for them because of his lil bro and now he’s the seeming incumbent for the Boks?! This guy is TERRIBLE!! Can’t anyone see just how bad he actually is….
25 Apr 2012, 17:36 pm
@lepel(lepel)-153: Not much depth at tight head.
Werner Kruger, WP Nel???? Plenty of loose heads, Coenie Oosthuyzen, Dean Greyling,
Steven Kitshoff is another stand out youngster forgotten by Keo.
25 Apr 2012, 17:46 pm
The Boks must always make use of a big tall no 7. from way back we have had players in that mould. Stoffberg; Smal; MacDonald; Venter; Smith and others. We must pick a tall player there. Potgieter is the future imo. Outside of the obvious like Vermeulen and Alberts we have Strauss and Coetzee who are also damn good. The only part of Spies’ game that looks good at the moment is his lineout play, so 2 options at the back of the lineout will be good.
Other countries have one or maybe 2 really good players like this, our no 7 types are 2 a penny in SA.
25 Apr 2012, 17:48 pm
I would not waste any time by selecting Cronje or Van Niekerk at this stage.
25 Apr 2012, 17:49 pm
I agree with Goosen and Etzebeth.
Not with Joe and Cronje. They’ll have to wait a bit longer – like maybe never.
At 7 we’ve got Alberts and Elstadt and at a push Potgieter on our doorsteps.
25 Apr 2012, 17:52 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-157: Who is Cronjes agent?
Van Niekerk has his mom and mates with Keo but Cronje I do not know what his Keo connection is about
25 Apr 2012, 17:56 pm
If there’s one position we don’t have to go oversease for, it’s the loosies!
25 Apr 2012, 17:57 pm
@theonlylionsfanincapetown(Lions)-159: I hear Ernst Joubert is on the
verge of being picked for England! Seriously??
25 Apr 2012, 17:58 pm
@JL1(JL1)-158:
All Bok coaches have their bolters.
And ol keo reckons he knows a bolter when he says one.
We’ll just have to wait for the Christmas book sales once again and Cronje’s mug on keo for 4 months.
25 Apr 2012, 18:04 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-161: Really?? That would rank with that Andre
Markgraaf selection (I can’t remember his name), in place of Francois Pienaar!
25 Apr 2012, 18:05 pm
@theonlylionsfanincapetown(Lions)-160:
Yup, he was a serious ommission from the Boks IMO.
25 Apr 2012, 18:19 pm
@theonlylionsfanincapetown(Lions)-150: Oops! I left out Habana!
25 Apr 2012, 18:24 pm
@hensopper1(hensopper1)-155: Spies looks a certainty at 8, so we’ll
need someone who can tackle in the back row. Someone like Coetzee if Alberts and Vermeulen aren’t fit with Burger and Smith already out.
25 Apr 2012, 18:24 pm
Heyneke Meyer will be up to his neck in the brown smelly stuff after the England series. Bringing in a commentator who retired last year and hasn’t played since to captain the team along with a few other over the hill buddies is a terrible idea. Its not the world champions that he’s dealing with first up, that comes later. The Boks are playing England and its the youngest most inexperienced England team in years. The captain only had 1 test cap before the 6 nations, so that gives him 6 in total! Toby Flood is the most experienced guy in the whole England squad!!!! What a wimp Meyer is, he has phenomenal talent to chose from and he’s going for the old fossils. This is looking like P-Divvy all over again.
25 Apr 2012, 18:32 pm
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-166: I refuse to believe that Meyer will really select Matfield for the England tour, it simply cannot be. It is with a similar disbelief that I read of reports that Fourie du Preez might be selected, although he is still actively playing rugby so the story might have some trace of credibility.
25 Apr 2012, 18:34 pm
Oooooo nyasty Keo Yoda!!!
25 Apr 2012, 18:36 pm
@theonlylionsfanincapetown(Lions)-165:
your nic does great disservice to KATMAN… this websites renowned, respected and, for many years, lone Lions supporter in Cape Town…
oooooohhh….
okay i get it now…
you’re a fan…
Katman is a supporter…!!
25 Apr 2012, 18:37 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-168:
I think he was suffering a sugar low…..
Makes me grumpy too!!
25 Apr 2012, 18:41 pm
@hensopper1(hensopper1)-156:
Cronje is currently better than anything on offer in SA: he is stronger that J. Smith albeit shorter and has far better ball skills and positional game than Albert, he plays both 8 & 7
I can’t see anyone who can compete with JvN at 8 right now, he may not have 80 minutes of Test rugby in him but neither do Albert, SB or Deysel.
Any combination that includes Brussow and Spies is at fault.
Unproven young talent doesn’t win tests.
25 Apr 2012, 18:47 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-167:
Believe it. Matfield confirmed it.
25 Apr 2012, 18:47 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-167: The England tour is a great opportunity to add new blood, because the young talent is evidently there. England will only be thinking about development, so the pressure isn’t on. The pressure will definitely be on when the rugby championship starts. Then Victor will go and retire again and its time to put in a new captain and give someone else a debut?!?!? Totally wrong. Do that all against England, get a bit of confidence and then see how they do against the All Blacks and Wallabies.
25 Apr 2012, 18:50 pm
I will have no problem with either Joe or Jacques being selected if we do not have a better option in RSA to turn out at 7.
I simply do not believe this is the case.
We have experienced guys that can, and if you want to apply some risk we got some bloody good youngsters.
The only position this might have some credibility is at 9 and FDP.
I have a friend in Japan who follows Bok rugby religiously and attended just about every game in Japan where Boks played. From his viewpoint and that of reports I read FDP is in some decent form albeit in a karaoke league.
Problem is apart from Hougaard there is really no 9 in SA currently I want close to a Bok jersey.
25 Apr 2012, 19:02 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-174:
Personally, I’d bring Joe in at 8. But that will never happen.
Etsebeth is a no brainer as only he and Flip are the only decent 4s left in SA and Flip hasn’t really performed this season. To be honest, the only other positions that “youngsters” would compete for is at 10, and only then as backup to Steyn and 7 where I’d have either Juandre or Elstadt as bench cover for 7, 5 and 4.. Centres will come from JdV (if fit) Steyn, JdeV, de Jongh, Olivier and possibly JJ.
The wings are the usual suspects with Pietersen being the only non Bok competing for 15.
I agree with you about 9.
25 Apr 2012, 19:10 pm
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-173:
A hiding in SA will bring Mallett to the coveted England job faster than most would have thought!
25 Apr 2012, 19:12 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-174:
Fair enough
Name one injuries free player who is better?
25 Apr 2012, 19:16 pm
@David(David)-175:
Flip had better up his game as Bekker (if he stays uninjured for long enough) and Etzebeth are turning into the new Bakkies/Vic combo.
Juandre also playing decent rugga and I don’t know why no-one is mentioning the Cheetahs locks. Hard working no-name brands those boys!
We are well covered at 10, Morne will start which I have no probs with and then Lambtjop or Goosen with Jantjies can cover with ease.
We have a bit of an issue at 15 – never quite rated little Joe but he sure has some balls from what I have seen in recent weeks. Kirchner… he is an option and I’ll leave it at that.
I prefer a fullback that controls and reads a game very well personally. Who is solid as hell on defense and controls his wings to cover the park.
I disagree with Keo here and I actually think Lambtjoppie is an option here especially what I saw from him in the RWC last year. Sure he has no real great pace but his natural feel for the game and how he reads it and covers ground makes up for this. Reminds me of a mini-Rolls Royce he does…
On Joe…
Been quite a fan of the guy for many years but I just don’t know or believe he can really add anything to the Boks. Let’s just say I remain unconvinced but would love to be proved wrong.
My bolter as just a fan of the game (which will never happen) is to pick Adriaan Strauss at hooker. In fact, if Heyneke wants to avoid the wrath of the SA public a neutral choice like Adriaan who is not only playing great rugby, but is a great captain for the Bloem boys might not be the worst choice for temporary skipper…
25 Apr 2012, 19:24 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-177:
At 7?
The first problem is how do we compare players playing in SR and guys playing in France?
We know how good Alberts for instance can be although he has been rather **** in recent weeks. So would it not be easier to get him up to the standard we know he can perform at in the next 6 weeks than import Joe or Jacques whose ‘form’ in another (lower) league is a matter of debate?
Deysel is also a capped Bok, strong ball carrier, line out option. Also struggling with form following a long injury.
Josh Strauss is an option. One of the hardest working guys in Super Rugby in a really ****** team.
Dewald Potgieter is a very experienced Super Rugby player.
In the youngsters department we have Kolisi who impressed everyone, as did Marcell from the Sharks.
It is still 6 weeks till the Poms arrive.
The likes of Joe and Jacques will arrive a week before the tests without being assessed at all and without having had to play with, or against, any combo they will end up in. I just don’t think the risk is justified.
25 Apr 2012, 19:25 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-178: Agreed, picking Chris Farley at hooker would be an inspired selection imho…
25 Apr 2012, 19:26 pm
Everybody is working from the belief that England will be weak. OK, many historical examples will support that, but this is a side that however you may laugh, is coming here to win. They will not be fiddling around with a few new combo’s etc. I will say that if we do not get it right with getting our best on the pitch in that 1st game, we could be feeling like a bunch of poepols over night. Now is not the time to have a loose jam with the band and kick around an old cover tune. The band must be tight for that opening game.
We also have injuries to what many see as our front line players. We have no choice but to fill those holes with players that are able and in form playing top class rugby. Gone are the days when the bok coach can phone up some or other old veteran from his farm to do a job for us in crisis.
HONDO. I disagree that Spies and Brussouw cannot play in the same loose forward formation. Spies’ height compensates for Brussouws lack thereof, and Brussouws aggresion in contact compensates for Spies. The no 7 we need to pick must be our best big, fast hard hitter.
25 Apr 2012, 19:32 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-178:
I’d go for Aplon at 15. Our problem seems to be that our back 3 philosophy is based on a defensive role whereas other sides (the ABs in particular) use them as an attacking platform to open up the opposition defensive lines.
25 Apr 2012, 19:41 pm
The strongest bok squad without injuries is:
15 Jaco Taute
14 Gio Aplon
13 Juan De Jongh
12 Jean De Villiers
11 Bryan Habana
10 Peter Grant
9 Francois Hougaard
8 Duane Vermeulen
7 Schalk Burger
6 Heinrich Brussouw
5 Andries Bekker
4 Eben Eztebeth
3 Jannie Du Plessis
2 Bismark Du Plessis
1 Tendai Mtawarira
16 Chillyboy Ralepelle
17 CJ Van Der Linde
18 Juandre Kruger
19 Willem Alberts
20 Fourie Du Preez
21 Patrick Lambie
22 JP Pietersen
23 Adiraan Strauss
24 Steven Kitshoff
25 Rynhardt Elstadt
26 Marcell Coetzee
27 Jano Vermaak
28 Elton Jantjes
29 Johaan Sadie
30 Lwazi Mvovo
25 Apr 2012, 19:44 pm
@hensopper1(hensopper1)-181:
I agree with your comments about England. Lancaster has worked with the youngsters at the Saxons and he’s had a 6N to blood them and integrate them with the senior players.
25 Apr 2012, 19:48 pm
@David(David)-182:
I think Lambie can offer both. I also believe he will take the right option more often than not. But I understand the argument for him at 10 too. Just feel he can become a legend at 15. Just a personal opinion.
25 Apr 2012, 19:50 pm
How come Ashley Johnson’s name isn’t mentioned as a possible loosie option? I think he can be great cover at 7 or 8, given our injuries.
I’d still start with Brussow, Alberts, Spies, and possibly have Johnson on the bench.
Although David’s idea of a guy like Juandre Kruger covering 4, 5 and 7 on the bench is not too kak either.
25 Apr 2012, 19:54 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-179:
Bonair, Picalomo and Haranguai (?) will hold their own comfortably against any of the current match fit loose combo in SA, let’s not down play those guys, they actually won the RWC but for the cheating mastery of Joubert and the convolute world rugby media, those are hard men whom JvN and Jaques Cronje are facing each week.
Strauss and Dewald aren’t Test quality IMO
Cupboard is empty more or less, Stander might raise his hand but not yet.
25 Apr 2012, 19:58 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-187: Seriously? The closest you could get to Harinordoquy was Haranguai?
25 Apr 2012, 19:59 pm
@hensopper1(hensopper1)-181:
It’s a critical mass issue
Brussow to be effective needs SB, J Smith, Albert or Rossouw to beef up the back row, Spies’ contribution at the rucks and scrums is far from what I would expect of a Test eight man.
He fades fast against the big boys
25 Apr 2012, 20:00 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-188:
As close as it gets!
25 Apr 2012, 20:04 pm
Josh strauss?
I kept a close eye on him at coke park a few weeks ago
Erm (cough) . . , .amongst the flanks even george whitelock (non-AB) played better than him
25 Apr 2012, 20:06 pm
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-183: This will probably be the Bok squad to tackle the English though…..
15. Zane Kirchner.
14. Gio Aplon.
13. Jean De Villiers (c).
12. Francois Steyn.
11. Bryan Habana.
10. Morne Steyn.
9. Francois Hougaard.
8. Pierre Spies (vc).
7. Willem Alberts.
6. Heinrich Brussow.
5. Andries Bekker.
4. Eben Etsebeth.
3. C.J. Van Der Linde.
2. Bismark Du Plessis.
1. Coenie Oosthuizen.
16. Tendai Mtawarira.
17. Adriaan Strauss.
18. Juandre Kruger.
19. Joe Van Niekerk.
20. Jacque Cronje.
21. Fourie Du Preez.
22. Johan Goosen.
25 Apr 2012, 20:06 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-187:
I have watched a number of Top 14 games, I still believe it is inferior in quality.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-188: @Hondo(Hondo)-190:
Whenever I think of Harinordoquy I see the picture of his pappa coming onto the field and fighting his battles!
25 Apr 2012, 20:08 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-189:
You also forget – up and till that final last year in NZ they were pretty average…
25 Apr 2012, 20:09 pm
True Hondo, but Meyer will pick Spies. Balance is important and players need to compliment each other. Spies creates this problem with his lack of a rucking and mauling game. I would like Spies to prove he is not a show pony.
I say start him on the bench and play a bruiser like Burger; Alberts; Vermeulen at 8. This will give the boks a stronger option off the back of the scrum. All of those 3 can play ball too.
I like Bok packs with 8 enforcers.
25 Apr 2012, 20:11 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-193: Ja, that was top class entertainment. Le Redneck.
25 Apr 2012, 20:13 pm
I think I must give this site a break!
So insulted by the yoda!
25 Apr 2012, 20:30 pm
My F#cking word! Can’t believe it
32 year old Joe van Niekerk?
Y?
25 Apr 2012, 20:33 pm
Is Keo a United States Congressman? Shifty eyed?
25 Apr 2012, 20:35 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-197: Just give him a written poesklap.
25 Apr 2012, 20:39 pm
bwahahaha @ “Haranguai”
not the sharpest tool in the shed our Hondo
25 Apr 2012, 20:47 pm
Experience = book deal pending?
25 Apr 2012, 20:48 pm
Australia have had one the best backline in international rugby and up against what I reckon to be the inform backline in world rugby against Wales
The have injury concerns with O’conner & Cooper likely to miss out
I rate Christian Lealiifano is the inform flyhalf in Aus conference at the moment
He get the Back line going much like cooper did for the wallabies
As for mike Harris, I just rate his kicking only
Potential Wallaby backline #June tests
9.Genia
10.Christian Lealiifano
11. Digby
12. Pat
13 cummings
14 A.A.C
15 Beale
25 Apr 2012, 20:49 pm
@viewer(viewer)-202: And/or now represented by Keo’s brother.
25 Apr 2012, 21:01 pm
@storiejoernal(storiejoernal)-203: @kaksioek(kaksioek)-204:
I do find this punting for experience interesting when it was shot down quite aggressively on this site by its scribes against PDV when he tried the same thing…
I must say – Meyer’s ‘plan’ seems pretty much what Jake did way back in 2004.
But more on that some other time.
I am out folks – take care.
25 Apr 2012, 21:06 pm
Really!?
Smoke & mirrors stuff
25 Apr 2012, 21:12 pm
PA are you returning some day unlike Kleuter who has taken a principled stand against “SpiesIsWorthless”
25 Apr 2012, 21:14 pm
@viewer(viewer)-207:
What is your problem?
25 Apr 2012, 23:58 pm
England vs South Africa?
YAWN…
like watching Bobby trying to hide his inherent racism after the fact..
why would anyone want to watch the skop an jag of the teams that competed for 7th/8th spot at the WC?
26 Apr 2012, 00:31 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-209:
Lol
Are you giving back to the bokke fans the cough medicine they dished out after 2007 RWC?
26 Apr 2012, 02:27 am
Shame, old Poppa had to wait more than 20 years before he could start dishing out the medicine again. Nearly a lifetime of disappointment.
26 Apr 2012, 03:20 am
is kwas short for ***** as?
as for a lifetime of disappointment, I am not a bokke fan. you know, watching your team beat the ABs 12 times since readmission while having to endure watching the ABs beat the bokke 27 times in the same period.
that’s a lifetime of hurt
but continue to measure success by a 6 week tourny. it’s no wonder you guys settle for a 60% win percentage in test match rugby.
26 Apr 2012, 04:37 am
Pretty obvious HM will use veterans with only a few new players
Its his first test, and against Poms so he is not going to experiment with a lot o new players . he may gradually introduce new players
He will have veterans and hopefully not too many overseas players, and most likely Fdp and Victor
M Steyn will get nod over Goosen , F steyn at 12 unless he get Jdv at 12 then Steyn moves to 15
7 is the big question Alberts is not playing well, so a number of options
Plus he will have spies at 8 Vermeulen deserves it but may still be out
Wing could be interesting I think JP will be the 14 there still. Habana at 11 if Fdp does not play
13 is most likely De Jonge
26 Apr 2012, 05:49 am
All black poppa peos
26 Apr 2012, 05:52 am
Poppa wolballas
26 Apr 2012, 08:06 am
and his voortrekker brother Geo Keo?
26 Apr 2012, 08:15 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-212:
This is all about to change and you Kiwis know it. Give Meyer and Rassie a few years to put the correct structures in place and SA Rugby will finally be back out of the post-apartheid wilderness. You know it. Your little island does not have the Rugby Economics or the Player numbers to compete. In the long term you will basically disappear as a rugby force. You have kept ahead by complete professionalism via coaching and player management etc. You have always known that this lack of professionalism and political interference in SA Rugby has worked in your favour. Now SA is finally catching up – first it was the Bulls. Now the Stormers. Sharks, Kings, Cheetahs to follow. Lions to get there eventually. Money we have. Player resources we have. The time has arrived.
26 Apr 2012, 08:21 am
@The Analyst(The Analyst)-217:
And even today, the rugby economy on your little island rely’s on the gravy train of the Rugby Economy of SA. We bring the financial numbers to the broadcast deal, that effectively pay your players.
Your little Island would be nothing without SA Rugby and it has f…all to do with 60% wining ratios.
26 Apr 2012, 08:36 am
@The Analyst(The Analyst)-217: NZ doesnt have the player numbers to compete? bwahahaha
is that why the 4th place team in NZs conference has more points than the team in third place in SA’s weak conference? because we dont have the player resources? lmfao did you even put any thought into your emotional response?
SA has had the perennial cellar dwellers in the Lions and Cheetahs throughout Super rugby history, a true reflection of SA’s incredible depth of “talent”…
Our little island did just fine when you guys were rightfully expelled from rugby and international sport in general, and we will continue to be there or thereabouts at the top echelon of rugby,
your jealousy is duly noted though..
26 Apr 2012, 08:36 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-209: What’s the psychiatric version of a parole officer? Does yours know that you’re back here?
26 Apr 2012, 08:39 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-220: hows it ********?
26 Apr 2012, 08:46 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-221: Great effort, Poeps. I smell another mental capitulation in the not too distant future. Best go swap your forks for spoons so long.
26 Apr 2012, 08:50 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-222: so long loser, hows them lions going?
bwahahaha so Id guess you know all about smells, the stink from your team is rancid..
bye bye d u t c h m a n ..
26 Apr 2012, 08:59 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-223: geez popps, what it do son?
26 Apr 2012, 09:00 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-223: Jeepers bud, what was the phrase you used? “Inherent racism”?
26 Apr 2012, 09:05 am
@The Analyst-217: Post Apartheid rugby wilderness?
We’ve (SA) won two WC’s since 1994 buddy, really now.
There are two forces in modern rugga, SA and NZ. most national teams the world over contain a seffer or Kiwi in their lineup.
The only reason Southern Hemisphere Rugby possesses 6 Webb Ellis
trophies is because, through superugby and the Tri-nations our players are exposed to high quality opposition week in week out.
As much as we hate the AB’s and Wallabies our “rugby economy”, your words not mine,is interdependent.
So get over it dude, international rugby needs a strong NZ.
Case closed
26 Apr 2012, 09:08 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-219: “is that why the 4th place team in NZs conference has more points than the team in third place in SA’s weak conference? because we dont have the player resources? lmfao did you even put any thought into your emotional response?”
Nope that is because the third team in our conference is coache by a dead loss Kiwi, the same for the wooden Spooners Lions! Don’t worry eventually our Unions will catch on and Both coaches will move their stink right back to the island of the long white cloud!
26 Apr 2012, 09:25 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-221:
What is that ******** supposed to be?
26 Apr 2012, 09:29 am
Poops finished polishing his waka.
26 Apr 2012, 09:56 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-228: it is what he spelled out in his last post
26 Apr 2012, 09:59 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-230:
Last post
I wish
26 Apr 2012, 10:13 am
@Die_Bleskop_Waarheid(Die_Bleskop_Waarheid)-226:
Sure we need NZ and Aus, but they can sing to our tune. Both on the playing field and in the so called SANZAR decision making processes. SA Rugby does not need to 1) get worked over at the bargaining table called SANZAR 2) be behind Aus and NZ in rugby rankings 3) and cede the right to NZ as the #1 rugby nation in the world.
I am not interested in 2 World Cups, in a meaningless side show tournament. I am interested in the Springboks being the #1 nation in World Rugby e.g. winning 80% + of games and with the best players and coaches in the world.
Simple. Not a bad aspiration. You can keep your world cups.
26 Apr 2012, 10:47 am
@The Analyst(The Analyst)-232:
Good stuff…!
World Cups will become a marketing exercise for the Springboks and a festival for spectators from around the world to come and see the Boks in action and witness for themselves just how far ahead of the rest they are…!