Matfield confirms potential Bok return

Victor Matfield says he may come out of retirement to play for the Springboks later this year.

There were numerous reports over the last month about Matfield’s possible return to the Springbok fold. This despite the 110-Test veteran’s decision to retire at the end of the World Cup and the fact that he hasn’t played any form of rugby in 2012.

On Thursday evening, Matfield revealed during a short interview on SuperSport’s rugby programme Boots and All that he received requests from Bok coach Heyneke Meyer to return to action.

‘I got a couple of calls from Heyneke and he believes I can still make a valuable contribution. We still have to discuss in what capacity that will be,’ said Matfield, who turns 35 on 11 May.

‘But at the moment, there’s plenty of red tape that prevents me from doing so [Matfield is currently committed to SuperSport as an analyst and is a lineout consultant at the Bulls], so a final decision is yet to be made. We will see what happens.’

This means that we could see Matfield feature for the Boks against England in June. The lock is also touted as a possible captain option, along with Japan-based scrumhalf Fourie du Preez.

98 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Difference between me and you is that I don’t criticize everyone involved in rugby all the time, you do.
    You enjoy the fact that you can criticize and make snide comments. Anyone can do that.
    Start taking a stand and defend that position with clear rational arguments. Not google stats.
    Accept that HM is the coach. He is not your choice for obvious reasons, but hey, deal with it.

Go sleep now and dream of your dream coach, then come back when your braincel is refreshed and give me an opinion backed up by solid reasoning. Could be players, their age, strengths, weaknesses, durability, ability to combine with certain players etc.
    The test will come in if you can be objective.

Now run lad, you have your assignment.

Say hi to Lancaster in your dream?

• 52.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Trams

Again, think lad!

France was his fourth test. He beat Scotland (winless) and Italy (one win against the Scots). Then he lost at home against Wales.
    Heyneke has 3 tests against England. Lose 2 and the series is lost.
    Very different situation .

• 53.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

DAS

Give me a day or two to google it.
    Sure there was an Argentinian, Georgian forward close to 40.

• 54.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-51: haha now i should be like you with your toadying “ek stem saam” sheep-like thinking?

heyneke is the coach, no ill ferlings from my side about that :-)

what is amusing is seeing the paranoia & defensiveness from the bulls fans who reckon they own heyneke or have the inside lane to his thoughts, e is the national coach boys, is actions affect all of us who love the boks.

• 55.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

No Trans. Nothing amusing. Sad. Sad to see the provincialism effect.
    Many simply hates the thought of a Bull in charge. Not all.

And please don’t think like me. You keep me entertained.

• 56.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Night now. Off to bed.

Remember your assignment!

• 57.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-40:

I like Rassie. I met him on a plane to JHB. The guy gave me time, and he was just ordentlik nice and very unassuming. You could see the U 20 WP guys looked up to him.

• 58.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-55: heyneke is OUR national coach, we all back him to take the Boks to above the threshold of 80% wins!

this doesn’t mean us as supporters won’t discuss what he puts out in the media, we’re not braindead bulls supporters, we’re BOK supporters FIRST!

• 59.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark(KeurboomPark)-57: that’s nice to hear. i was just saying it would be churlish of any union that refused to release a member of their staff that heyneke wanted when in desperation he had enlisted his trusted bulle leutenants.

• 60.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Now that comment will make Obama jealous.
    Saying exactly the right things, except for the brain dead bulls comment – that is something only a EP fan will say and simply unasked for.

Yes he is OUR coach. Now respect that and when you criticize, do it with class, not like a brain dead ………….. :-)

• 61.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Sorry, “discuss”, not criticize.

• 62.H: Reply to this comment

I give up. Pick Victor for the June tests. There are currently at least 4 better locks in SA than Victor, and I’m being really generous here since I’m judging him on when he last played. Let’s see how he stands up in a game after all this time away from the game. This is a great way to ruin a great player’s reputation.

• 63.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Heineken is playing a doofus here…he is promoting a non competitive culture? There are many deserving locks who have played well this year yet matfield has been invited to hop in.

• 64.PaulLondon: Reply to this comment

To bring back Matfield, is an insult to all the locks who have been busting there behinds in the S15,so they can get a shot at playing for the boks.

Juandre Kurger, must be spewing. Brought from the UK to step into Vic’s shoes, and when his time comes to shine, Vic returns.

• 65.PaulLondon: Reply to this comment

their*

• 66.rabooby: Reply to this comment

HM seems to have his head screwed on – then you read comments like
    VM coming back, FDP and Rossouw crazy.
    If he wants a captain and experience then get SMIT back, he has not retired and is still playing. And much better shout than bringing VM back.. Not that I think Smit should be there – he should have retired after 2007. I think HM should follow lancaster and make a brave move and decide on a captain for England test when he selects his team later on – and not think of OLd has beens to bring back to captain. A Strauss great choice but then Bizzy will be out, I know His not playing to form but when Bizzy puts on the Green and Gold his a man possed and will outplay any hooker. Think J Strauss would be a great call.

• 67.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@rabooby(rabooby)-66: Josh at 8 over Spoes any day.

• 68.willievz: Reply to this comment

Of course, by playing in the England series, Matfield (110 caps) will surpass the record of John Smit (111 caps) to become the most capped Bok of all time.

Extra motivation to feature.

• 69.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Give it a rest already with Matfield stories

Blue first Victor

• 70.pakslae: Reply to this comment

I think a fully fit and conditioned Matfield could still play international rugby, but the right thing Heyneke should have done was to try and get Victor Matfield back into the Bulls set up and play Super Rugby again. Os du Randt didn’t just walk into the bok team, he played a full season with the Cheetas. John Smit came back to South Africa to play for the Sharks again.
    It’s just pure arrogance and optimism from both parties to think he can come back straight after such a lay off and expect to do the business at international level again. I think he will need a good 5-8 games at Superrugby level to get to where he was before he retired.

• 71.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

I agree. There should be no elitist mentality in the class of 2012. We say NO MORE!

• 72.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-60:

Seriously. What is wrong with Obama? He DOES the right things. If only South Africa had a president like him. A dignified, educated, god fearing, good father, consensus-seeking, pragmatic statesman.

• 73.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark(KeurboomPark)-72:

Another swept up in the Obama craze?
    No, here is my position.
    I believe in less government spending.
    I believe in smaller government.
    In lower taxes.
    In higher moral standards.
    In supporting Israel.
    Etc….

Therefore, I’m a Republican, not a Democrat.
    So I’m not an Obama supporter.
    He is a good guy to watch basketball with and eat a hot dog, but America needs a strong president.
    Obama is like Kennedy and Clinton. Charismatic and well groomed.
    But he is also weak like Carter.
    All Democrats.

Obama must go, but he will be re-elected unfortunately.
    America hasn’t hit rock bottom yet.

• 74.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-73:

Republicans are far bigger spenders than Democrats.

• 75.rangerman: Reply to this comment

funny how heyneke hasnt mentioned spies as a candidate for bok captian.

i guess spies is not making the run on side then?

• 76.race of tan: Reply to this comment

I do understand Heynekes reasoning.

Anyway give Matfield the chance to get fit again and lets see how he goes. Currently the top locks in SA are injured so not such a bad idea at all, many players come out of retirement.

As long as Meyer has a proper plan for future players. As said before Meyer wants Matfield back for this year and then that is it!! Whereas PDV had no plan at all!!

• 77.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Matfield, FdP and Spies, with Steyn at 10 and WO at 12 or 13, Kirchener at 15

That when I stand behind England to fck us up good and holy at home to teach these laager dwellers a damn good lesson in courage.

• 78.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-74:
    Explain.
    And please don’t tell me you have CNN (DNN) as your source.
    Back your statement up with sound fiscal reasoning and facts and I will debate this with you.

• 79.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-77:

Calm down, calm down. You are hysterical. Drink a grand-pa. Drink a mug of wine, but for crying out loud, calm down!

• 80.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

No body expects contrived conviviality.However the amount of
    malicious drivel being spouted on this site is both spiteful
    and appalling when directed at a true S.A.great

• 81.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

greatness is great when it is great.. when it goes beyond great it becomes contrived convoluted conviviality .. that’s when greatness becomes decidedly ordinary and when respect starts to lose its credibility

• 82.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

what hell people talking about Obama on a rugby forum?

• 83.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-82:
    Well, people talk about s e x, race, sheep-shag g ers, dom dutch-man, etc.

• 84.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

same as they talk sexing up the sentimental sensual senility disorder

• 85.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-73:

George Bush was the biggest idiot big spender life killer president in our era. His reaction to Katrina said it all. It is a fact. Anyways, Obama will get a second term, because their is no credible Republican candidate. Period.

• 86.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Victor should be picked in the midfield – he’s been playing there all his life for the Bulls and Bokke in anycase

• 87.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

Big Vic is finished. It’s pretty selfish of him to even suggest coming out of retirement and straight into the Boks. Downright disrespectful to Springbok tradition.

• 88.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Keurboom

Are you fcking serious?
    That idiot is the killer! Thousands of Syrians die daily because he is to slapgat to act.

He has the blood of millions of unborn babies on his hands.
    He is the worst **** ever to sit with his **** scared a$$ in the Whitehouse.
    Don’t ever mention murder and slapgat again without mentioning his name too.
    So gatvol of hearing his voice.
    Smooth talking dooos.
    US is bankrupt because of him.
    But hey, we’ll just sell our oil to India and China.
    The two faced coward will have his day.

• 89.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-88: Obama’s an awful president.

• 90.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

Zionist window dressing.

• 91.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@SpiesIsWorthless(SpiesIsWorthless)-89:

Well we agree on one thing.

• 92.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ Kleuter
    Congrats!
    You are the most irritating blogger in the keosphere.Whenever I see your name at the top of of a post I sit voet in die hoek & scroll past your drivel.Thing is,you try to pass your opinion as fact and come across as this über-rugbyguru.Guess what? You aint none of that.Realise that.Please.In fact,I regard you as the poor man’s Tacitus.And please,dont reply to my post coz I dont give 3 fcuks what you have to say.

• 93.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-88:

There he goes again. Talking puss to a priest.

• 94.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@viewer(viewer)-18:

But that was a long time ago….5 years? Its a long way down a career, for most that is a career for others its half way

• 95.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Rage(Rage)-92:

Lol

You set yourself a trap here. You are afraid of his reply because in the first place he has irked enough for you to address him. Then your defense mechanism has kicked in to try protect your psyche. He really has taken you as his prisoner.

My suggestion is to harden up or go with the flow and enjoy the banter otherwise you are finding this a kitchen with a temp too high for your existence.

• 96.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-95:
    Analysis paralysis. You are so utterly boring and patronising. jerk off, tosswad.

• 97.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@Rage(Rage)-92:

LMFAO!
    Congrats in reading this you wimp. Mommy’s boy.
    You can’t run with the big boys until you learn how to pi$$ in the long grass you knut!
    Hehe…
    Scary cat. Afraid of my reply so now you hide behind the “and don’t bother relying because I won’t read it” mofgat excuse.
    Go throw you “Rage” somewhere else or if you can’t ask me and I will toss you head first into the nearest toilet you excuse for a rugby fan.

• 98.rabooby: Reply to this comment

HM is so in love with his prodogies, they have not been the players they were in 2009 – VM/ BB / FDP / Spies had 2 good seasons if that 2005/06 – Useless ever since. To be honest I rate Danie Roussow before BB . Anyway why does HM not bring Johan Muller back for the Eng test his playing superb and a great captain.. His 100 times better call than his love child VM..And Pienaar is playing great rugby watching the Heineken cup semi final and pienaar has been outstanding.

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.