Schoolboy banned for assault

Schoolboy-Derby-on-KEO

Schoolboy banned for assault

A Hans Strijdom High School schoolboy has been suspended from all rugby for three years after knocking a provincial referee unconscious during a match.

According to the Beeld, the incident occurred during a schoolboy game in Mookgophong earlier this month. Referee Chris de Beer (37), a member of the Blue Bulls Rugby Referee’s Society, was unconscious and had to receive medical treatment from paramedics on the field.

The 17-year-old schoolboy, who is currently in matric, pleaded guilty at a disciplinary hearing this week and received a 10-year ban, of which seven years were suspended.

President of the BBRU Louis Nel said the schoolboy had been ‘banned from anything associated with rugby’. He added that the committee had taken two extenuating circumstances into consideration, namely the fact that it was the boy’s first offence and that his mother was seriously ill.

It’s also been reported that De Beer has resigned from the referee BBRU’s referee society because of his unhappiness about the outcome.

12 Comments

• 1.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

what outcome was the ref looking for?

would be interesting to know?

they weren’t exactly going to send the 17 year old to pollsmoor.

• 2.Dusky: Reply to this comment

What has this got to do with rugby ? Its a clear case of assault. Should be a criminal conviction in my opinion. What does a ban from rugby have to do with it. If I go knock someones lights out at the mall, are they going to ban me from my job for 3 years ? No – you get a criminal record and possibly go to prison.

Did the ref lay a charge of assault with the police I wonder ?

• 3.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-2:
    If your job was a security guard at that mall and you bash someone for no reason at all, then yes u would be sacked.
    He should never play again, simple.

• 4.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Hurricane – It’s a shame this kid never knocked out Bryce!! tee hee

• 5.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-4:

17years old. fair punishment IMO. Give him chance to redeem himself.

• 6.BULLS73: Reply to this comment

Why must he be given a chance to redeem himself? He acted like a adult he must take it like an adult!

• 7.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this boy knew what he was doing, he also uttered foul language towards this ref and proceded to bliksem him! extenuating circumstances my arse!

• 8.BishopsOD: Reply to this comment

Tjo! He must have been knocked the f*ck out! All we needed was Smokey and Darrell from Friday for that classic stoner flick ‘Friday’…

• 9.Uncle Oswald: Reply to this comment

Naboomspruit is a kak place. Our high school teams got moered stukkend on the pitch whenever we played there. And then they also bliksemed us after the game just so we knew our place. Nylstroom was even worse. Our teams were terrible, so we probably deserved it.

• 10.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 9 uncle Os…lofl!

I dont even know where those dorpies are but nothing beats a good ol’ platteland derby ne

• 11.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Uncle Oswald, what school did you play for?

I believe Hans Strijdom were in the process of losing to Alberton High school.

• 12.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Chris de Beer, 37, from the Blue
    Bulls Referee Union was sworn at
    and hit over the head by the boy
    after he sent him off with a red
    card for hitting another player last
    week, the Beeld newspaper
    reported.

“After the game I walked over to the player to confirm his number because I had to write a report.

“The boy took me by the throat, and said I was talking lekker kak,” he said.
    The boy from Hans Strijdom

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.