Landers spoil Cheetahs’ party
28 Apr 2012
GARETH DUNCAN watched the Cheetahs relinquish a 30-9 second-half lead in a 36-33 defeat to the Highlanders in Bloemfontein.
This match will be remembered as one of the most unlikely comeback wins in Super Rugby history. The Cheetahs have only themselves to blame after a shocking defensive performance during the final quarter. To concede 27 points during the closing stages of a game is embarrassing, especially after all the hard work done earlier on.
The Cheetahs held an all-round ascendancy against the ill-disciplined Otago team, and rightfully led 23-9 at the break and 30-9 shortly after the half-time restart. However, the Highlanders capitalised on the Cheetahs’ poor defensive showing midway through the second stanza as they ran in three converted tries to level the scores at 30-30.
After the teams traded penalties, Sias Ebersohn had the opportunity to convert a potential match-winning three-pointer from right in front of the posts, but he buckled under pressure and pulled the easy attempt. The Highlanders then edged the win in the 79th minute thanks to a Chris Noakes penalty. Astonishing.
During the week, Naka Drotske explained that he had a specific game plan to down the highflying Highlanders. The visitors came with strong reputation for their breakdown domination on attack and defence, and it was essential for the Cheetahs to nullify this threat to achieve victory.
And the home team did so impressively in the first half.
They committed enough numbers at the breakdown to halt the Highlanders’ strong counter-rucking, which saw them thrive on attack with the quick ball won at the tackle points. The Kiwis’ ill-discipline also cost them as they were issued two yellow cards in the 25th and 32nd minute respectively. Andrew Hore was the first player sent to the sin bin for a breakdown transgression, while James Haskell received the second for a blatant punch. The English flanker was lucky not to receive a red card as referee Marius Jonker was advised by his assistant to do so.
With this advantage, the Cheetahs built strong attacking momentum and crossed the chalk twice through Coenie Oosthuizen and Andries Ferreira. But it was Johan Goosen who was the main influence during the Cheetahs’ charge.
The 19-year-old flyhalf scored a haul of 18 points – kicking 13 in the first half (via three penalties and two conversions), before sprinting 65m down the touchline in the second stanza and beating two covering defenders to dive in at the corner. This gave the Cheetahs their 25-point buffer. In addition to his impressive spearheading of the backline and solid defensive display, he didn’t miss one goal attempt.
Unfortunately for the men from Bloemfontein, Goosen hurt his shoulder during the act of scoring and he was replaced by Ebersohn. And with Goosen’s early departure, came the Cheetahs’ downfall.
The hosts stifled on attack and their resolve crumbled on defence. This allowed the Highlanders to cut the deficit thanks to tries from halfback replacements Noakes and Jimmy Cowan, who completed a brace.
The Cheetahs still had the opportunity to close out the win, but they failed as Ebersohn missed his easiest goal attempt – handing the Highlanders their seventh win of the season.

385 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All
28 Apr 2012, 19:57 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-244:
Expect a spanking from Jockbok. He’s watching you.
28 Apr 2012, 19:59 pm
@cab(cab)-243: puhleeaase S10 was 5 games long and you are claiming that as a “proper” super trophy win?
Bwaaaaaaaaaaa.
Are you seriously comparing the overall super rugby Sharks record against the Lions or the Cheetahs record?
Bwaaaaaaaaaaa. Don’t make me larf.
I ask again, what the fook do the Sharks have to do with the Cheetahs losing to the Highlanders from 30-9 up?
I’ll come back to this thread next month, maybe by then you would have cooked up some dots to connect with.
Exceptionally illogical you are today. I can only assume there is some sous involved.
ebersohs are sharp runners, anyone can miss a kick, you dont write players off cos of 1 missed kick. it shouldnt have come down to the kick, even if hed had got it, would only been a draw – the real problem was that the cheetahs relinquished a 21-point lead in 30mins when all over them – 3 converted tries – pop pop pop.
Bok back line for the future
15. Coetzee (Lions)
14. JJ engelbrecht
13. Sadie ( he wil get his form back)
12 De jonge
11 Le Roux
10 Goosen
9 Hougaard
28 Apr 2012, 20:00 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-248:
Why don’t you and Goose get a room already …?
As good as the kid is he is made of GLASS ! ..yes I said it and its there for all to see …can’t take the knocks and its unfortunate.
I hope he proves me wrong.
28 Apr 2012, 20:01 pm
@ august
@cab(cab)-253:
!00 % correct
Ebersohn never lost the game
The cheetahs lost the game as a team Full stop done Klaar
little snot nosed slave trading barrister from Putney with all his toffee nosed last bastion pompom superiority oozing out his lily white arse still thinking slave trading is a decent commodity share investment in this here 21st century .. talking down to the real rugby bust a gut players, the same that the Sharkievarkies mercilessly buy up yearly on the slave trader market, and who put their all into taking a challenge, while his pompom sharkievarkie nonentity setup done nothing but roll over like Beethoven on a dumbfck Sunday to the weaker collection of NZ competition
Cheetahs should not have lost that after so much collective adrenalin putting them way ahead in the first 50 mins… the subbing off of De Bruyn and the injury of Goosen disrupted their challenge and they let it slip with a hard running team like the Highlanders difficult to stop once they get on a roll.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-252:
oh u still around? yip Sharks never won a Super Rugby Tournament ever. fact.
Only Cats (Lions/Cheetahs) and Bulls – based on that they should amalgamate all coastal vissie teams into one godawful useless team, the eastern storm sharks maybe can win one? of hoe?
Goosen wasn’t running freely just before scoring & hurting his shoulder. Cramp or worse, a strained hammy perhaps
28 Apr 2012, 20:02 pm
Goosen wasn’t running freely just before scoring & hurting his shoulder. Cramp or worse, a strained hammy perhaps ?
28 Apr 2012, 20:02 pm
I mean Almost!
28 Apr 2012, 20:03 pm
@cab(cab)-259: Should we start analysing the Lions’ super record?
Really? You want me to do that?…..
Thought not.
28 Apr 2012, 20:04 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-252:
So the 1995 WC also meant squat …Samoa in the quarters …
Why is it that people want to take away that win by Transvaal ..it was ground breaking and should not be snuffed at.
A blueprint for the WC win.
Anyway I’m no fan of comparing teams over each other like that.
28 Apr 2012, 20:04 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-257:
hello Coach – ja real pity watching that theyd done all the bladdy hard work – actually this cheetahs team playing some bladdy good rugby, just need one more krag tightforward, maybe 2, should never have sold bismark. tell u what if cheets still had bismark, and lions had alberts, and they did become teh cats – they would be title contenders.
28 Apr 2012, 20:05 pm
@cab(cab)-259: lol, the Eastern Storm Sharks. Classic.
That was funny, I’ll give that to you.
The Lions, as you say, can stay as their own team. They deserve it for winning the Super 10 in 19voetsek.
28 Apr 2012, 20:07 pm
@cab(cab)-265:
Hi there cab
Yes But you know i still like the way the cheetahs play They try hard and give a better effort than Lions
Skoppie is right once half backs went off it cheetahs lost their way.
Good teams win when 30-9 up in the 2nd half
Ruan Pienaar MOM , hell he has been brilliant
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-266:
Or the King Sharks maybe?
28 Apr 2012, 20:08 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-258: Madness is what you demonstrate
And that’s exactly how anger works and operates
Man, you gotta have love just to set it straight
Take control of your mind and meditate
Let your soul gravitate to the love, y’all, y’all
Where is skop’s love, the love, the love?
tvl contributed 16 of the 24 players to the RWC 95 Bok team – unheard of.
That was a great golden lions team.
Cheetahs don’t need Bismark anymore
Wat praat jy cab
28 Apr 2012, 20:09 pm
Merge Kings and Sharks
And lions and Cheetahs (keep coaching staff add os )
28 Apr 2012, 20:10 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-274: screw that sh*t.
Why not merge the Stomers and Kings?
The Storm Kings.
All in the same Cape anyway.
28 Apr 2012, 20:11 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-273:
baie kak tannie.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-275:
The Sharks need them more
We have plenty of young depth
Cab
Transvaal (now golden lions) won the Super 10. Super 10 was a purely provincial comp meaning there were no feeder unions (eg how today griquas can supply talent to cheetahs) Best finish for Cats (in Super 12) has been semi’s in 2000 & 2001 (I’ll double check but I’m pretty sure)
28 Apr 2012, 20:12 pm
Kings and sharks
You give spooner a hat attack
28 Apr 2012, 20:12 pm
Sharks are outright kakalak useless.. take the Lions and Cheetahs players out the Sharks and what you got left.. a bunch of wheezing little toffee nosed pompoms thinking their toffee arsed backsides smell like cream puff donuts at a last bastion pompous pompom sunny afternoon tea party in the lush sugar cane colonial hide away.
28 Apr 2012, 20:14 pm
@cab(cab)-272:
Im with you there all the way !
Regards CSB
28 Apr 2012, 20:15 pm
Don’t call me tannie you kuk talking ou balie in jou moer in
28 Apr 2012, 20:15 pm
@viewer(viewer)-278:
yip quite right – what a team, ian mac (he came to coach us, i never seen an oke that size, looked like deputy dan).
28 Apr 2012, 20:16 pm
eish, Sias will be stronger after pulling that ‘lambie’
keep your chin up boy!
28 Apr 2012, 20:16 pm
@viewer(viewer)-278:
You correct …It means we beat the mighty Blues with a team all from Joburg ..funny how now the Lions are ontop of the Blues …
28 Apr 2012, 20:17 pm
@Almost…(Bonobo)-281:
i liked the u14c post earlier, how u doing out there in holland coffee? long time no hear.
28 Apr 2012, 20:18 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-284:
Yea poor kid ..it will pass though .
Juan Smith chose loyalty over cash. Same for heinrich. Best players in a poor team
ooh fok, this woman’s lib is getting out of hand.
what have i done now?
28 Apr 2012, 20:20 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-275:
EP and Border were previously with the Sharks. The Sharks need bolstering as well. You know that, I know that. So a re-unification is not to be sneezed at.
Everybody wins.
28 Apr 2012, 20:20 pm
@cab(cab)-265:
I reckon Ernst Joubert was a bigger loss to the Lions than Alberts. He’s developed a far more complete game at 8 than Alberts has. I couldn’t understand why he was moved to 7 to accomodate Alberts at 8 when it should have been the other way around.
28 Apr 2012, 20:21 pm
@cab(cab)-286:
Good thanks …left Holland to come back and fight the good fight against the Gauteng toll roads and support the Lions …
You still in France ?
28 Apr 2012, 20:25 pm
@David(David)-291:
he’s actually playing amazing in england, i disagree tho you players like alberts are actually few and far between in sa rugby, unlike the polynesian, its just so important imo to have one of these guys to give u that forward momentum – your point on JW is a very accurate one too, could go either way, i personally think u nearly got it right, still a schoolmaster after all and cant really reliquish control to let them fly, but i think he’ll adapt. he was not close-minded white, and even when wrong, he’d listen to others.
28 Apr 2012, 20:26 pm
@David(David)-291:
Ernst Joubert was overlooked by White for players like Cronje and Roussouw and Spies and Kankowski
Ernst Joubert would have been the natural successor to Juan Smith or even taken hold of the No.8 spot ahead of Spies once Van Niekerk set his sails for the NH…
Alberts is a fits and starts type player.. good for about 30-40 minutes in a totally bruising balls to the wall dam busting barnstorming effort..
He ain’t a complete No.8 by any standards.. neither is Spies.. and Vermeulen should have had a Bok call up LONG before either of those two did.
28 Apr 2012, 20:28 pm
@Almost…(Bonobo)-292:
nice coffee – u enjoying it back in gautengaleng? bit of a shame about the lions, injuries fkd their campaign up a bit and now back to square one – playing talent few and far between unlike years goneby.
28 Apr 2012, 20:30 pm
@viewer(viewer)-288: so did Goosen who just signed a 3 year deal with them though Bulls tried breaking the bank to get him..
Those are the players that get my utmost respect.. not these wheezing money grubbing mercenaries that go running to the Sharks when they pull that little grubby bag of silver out their promiscuous unscrupulous back pockets.
28 Apr 2012, 20:31 pm
Watching that last quarter one could be forgiven for thinking of Hansie…..
28 Apr 2012, 20:37 pm
Jake White is to Brumbies now what John Mitchell was to Lions about 10 months ago.. all bright and bushy tailed new broom sweeping clean with all the buy in from the downtrodden newbies who need to set their tails a wagging at the prospects of a new dawn arising
White is a me first fck the rest kinda coach.. not all that far different to Mitchell though Mitchell is more of a physical stickler hard liner disciplinarian and White a more pragmatic type analyst and utilization of brawn over play making ability.
Brumbies have got together a formidable physically pumped up unit with some those big and fast Polynesians propping up the Aussie brain team.. suits Whitey down to a glorious T.. see how he fares 12 months down the track or if it just another fairy tale beginning that gonna need some Aussie brains to put the whole show on the road like he needed Jones to fix his ailing setup when AC and Smal weren’t quite enough.
28 Apr 2012, 20:38 pm
vermeulen a very good player, but alberts gives much better go-forward, no-one in SA to touch his explosive power, both in ball-carrying and in the big-hits – u want to know what the lions and cheetahs missing – precisely that – that go-forward low-driving momentum that gets the team on the front foot and the other team thing goddamn thats a bees on the hoof – why u think jakey picked that polynesia truck at 8 – for his good looks? kiwis breed them as they do strikerunners, bokke dont, got alot of skill and alot of pace, but alberts is a rare specimen, he is almost exactly the same sort of player as his legendary australian counterpart Willy O – play him at 8 or 7, who cares with the details, but play him you must.
28 Apr 2012, 20:39 pm
“handing the Highlanders their seventh win of the season.”
And seventh straight vs unlucky Cheetahs who have yet to beat them.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All