Haskell in hot water

James Haskell has been cited for punching during the Highlanders’ match against the Cheetahs.

Haskell was yellow carded for the incident where he punched Justin Downey twice but the incident was also white carded and the loose forward was subsequently pinned.

Citing commissioner Mike Heron said the incident met the red card threshold for foul play.

136 Comments

• 1.NSWStormer: Reply to this comment

Marius Jonker should have heeded the advice of the touch judge and sent Haskell off with a red. It was justified.

• 2.BULLET: Reply to this comment

What an r-sole!

• 3.the_winger: Reply to this comment

Two clear punches to the face, what more did Jonker need to reach for the red? Going against the unambiguous advice of his touchie who had an unhindered view of the incident. The rules state a red is automatic for punching, why the hell wasnt Haskell sent down? Imagine he’d been a Saffa player!!

• 4.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

Shake hands and a few beers together after the match is all that is required.

• 5.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Haskell is a twit. They complain about the dirty saffas. Pff.
    Jonker is getting more and more erratic and pedantic as a ref. he is becoming highly irritating. he used to be great.

• 6.willievz: Reply to this comment

I’d be surprised if he gets more than 3 weeks.

He’s a non-Saffa.

• 7.willievz: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-4: Saffas are physical, not dirty.

There is a big difference.

Over nations envy us for our physicality in approach.

• 8.jockstrap: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-7:

What a crock of ****, the Irish are similar to the Saffas in their physicalily and they don’t get carded half as much.

• 9.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Irish are nowhere near………..pisssssh !

• 10.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

I just think law makers are obsessed with throwing huge bans at the moment. Digby Ione getting banned for his tip tackle was absolutely pathetic. Do these siting officials actually have the game’s best interest in mind when they make these decisions? I think a yellow card for a punch is fine, maybe a red depending on the severity, but why must it have to go further then that…

• 11.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

Bloody Jonker should be in hot water too for ignoring his touch judge’s advice. How many times have we heard a ref say when a TJ makes a decision he is forced to follow it.

Cheetahs would have won if Haskell was red carded like he should have been, despite their big lapse later in the match and Sias Ebersohn having a shocker.

Bet Haskell will get a lesser penalty than Butch has for charging into a ruck, which in my opinion was worth no more than a 1 match ban. Stupid officials!

• 12.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@jockstrap(jockstrap)-8:
    Yeah, but this is where the POB and us kiwis come into it.
    We pay all the refs too make the Boks life terrible.

@wpforever(wpforever)-9:
    Well the Irish are doing something right.
    Last four games between Ireland and Boks.
    Boks 1
    Ireland 3

• 13.wing_14: Reply to this comment

HC, last time the ABs played the Boks they lost STFU

• 14.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wing_14(wing_14)-13:
    Last time ABs played we won the RWC.

• 15.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-7:

Most saffas are physical some have been blatantly dirty.

• 16.willievz: Reply to this comment

@jockstrap(jockstrap)-8: Let’s see how many weeks (or days) Haskell gets.

Then we can start a debate regarding Saffas and citing outcomes.

• 17.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Anyway, seen as wing_14 only looks back one game b ut not the one before that when ABs thrashed Boks 40-7 we shall carry on.

Haskill needs to punished more than the yellow card.
    Even though he was getting taken out of play, as the ball had cleard but was getting held onto, he cannot punch.
    Ban of 3 weeks should be enough.

• 18.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-16:
    Why bother?

• 19.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-14: Last time the AB’s played they choked and were beaten by France only for Joubert to come to the rescue.

• 20.willievz: Reply to this comment

@SpiesIsWorthless(SpiesIsWorthless)-19: Leave these Kiwis, they are not worth debating with.

They still think 1987 counted as a proper win.

• 21.jockstrap: Reply to this comment

@wpforever(wpforever)-9:

Ireland have outmuscled the Boks in the last couple of games(plus they actually managed to beat the Aussies at the WC unlike some ;) ).

• 22.willievz: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-15: @Hurricane(Hurricane)-18: Please name me one Saffa player that has been carded / cited for blatant punching a-la Haskell.

Just one.

• 23.willievz: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-22: Let’s make that the last 10 years.

• 24.seamus: Reply to this comment

I think all the years of peroxide abuse is starting to have an effect on his game management

• 25.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-22:

I know some for eye gouging, head butting and biting.

For punching i can name heaps buddy….korne crige, kempson( cheap shot to the back of the head), dalton (and for stamping on an opponents head), muller. I will dig around for more. The mentioned are top of mind.

• 26.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-20:

Eish you are having to go back into the archives to try get your dagger in.

• 27.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-25:

Yappies glamorize gougers, biters and rib-crackers as ‘hard men’ and get them back in the PrickBok jersey asap and then cheer them as they run on to the field.

Punchers, surely the lowest and least dangerous offense, hardly bear a mention unless theyre by the opposition. Thats why you get lobotomized losers saying a punch is “worse than a spear tackle”. It helps normalise the gouging scum they select whilst giving them cause to hate teams that are their moral superiors (ie every team).

• 28.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@SpiesIsWorthless(SpiesIsWorthless)-19:
    Hmmm so the ABs were not beaten but they were in the same game?
    I can see you are trying to be funny but have failed, just like the Bok attempt for the RWC in 2011.
    Anyway i understand schooling may not be upto standard in SA so i will let you off but for the record, 8 points is more than 7 points.

• 29.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Haters them will hate and the back and forth mudslinging is plain childish.

Back to the actual article, both touchies suggested red ‘for multiple shots’, comish agree and said is was a red card offence…so what happens to Jonker and do the Cheetahs get another apology?

Also note Downey had to leave the field after the shots so I assume this will be at the higher end and a lenghty ban is on the cards.

• 30.whatever: Reply to this comment

Faaaak, all the holier than thou, butter would’nt melt in my teams mouth wa nkers out in force.

All teams (yes all) have had their dirty players so get off your f ucken high horses

and iloveaprickinmymouth, you fu cked your mother yet?

• 31.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-29: What I hate about this sort of stuff, regardless of who is involved, is that the cheating *rick who caused the incident through holding him back will get off completely free. He is in fact incentivised to to it again next week because it worked so well this week. So what should have been a penalty to the Highlanders gets turned into a yellow card plus a multi week ban because a player gets sick of the 3 refs not policing the game well enough. All teams do it, so it is not a Saffa vs Kiwi vs Aussie team thing, just a poor part of the way the rules work. Just imagine if you were allowed free swings until someone illegally obstructing you let go. Might sort out that sort of illegal play quite quickly. When was the last time you saw a ref award a penalty for someone been held back or obstructed around the scrum like that?

• 32.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-31:

You are touching on a different issue now and poor refereeing is harming the game on a totally different level and more than most seem to care…until it is to late.

As for punching, it is a red card offence no matter what. There is no room for cheap shots in the game of rugby.

• 33.whatever: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-31:

Certainly if free swings were permited, Cowan would not have held back Bakkies……. :)

• 34.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-32:

Boet, don’t miss a week on superbru. I got allocated all the home games and I think only 1won (Chiefs). Dropped 19 places, ouch!

• 35.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-34:

Hahaha thats nothing, I dropped 24 spots last week AND I got my tips in :shock:

• 36.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-30:

Im totally spent from ******* your mother up the @rse. She seemed to like it altho said she hoped it was “safe” because she’d “already given birth to 1 too many @rseh0les already” and that Mothers Day only gives her nightmares.

• 37.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-36: That uncalled for ! Its post’s like this that is making this place a drag to come too nowdays. Stick to rugby guys , debate passionately but please for the love of all things rugby lets stay above the belt !

Re the punch , it was a red card offense , the touchies both thought so and Jonker was wrong. I reckon he is getting a little too big for his shoes and thinks he is number 1 , he showed zero trust in his 2 assistants. Having said that , its over and judging by the replay if Haskell dont get at least 8 weeks then its certainly not a fair process. Taken into account what Butch got for his shoulder charge.

• 38.willievz: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-37: Let’s not forget there were TWO punches.

It’s not as if Haskell threw the one, then realised oops I should not have done that.

He threw another.

Jab jab.

• 39.willievz: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-26: All those players you mentioned there have long retired.

I can name countless ABs and Wallabies who are (or should have been) guilty of very dirty play.

As for gouging, consider the Crusaders lucky, yet again.

• 40.aliboy: Reply to this comment

They always consider themselves lucky when they visit SA and don’t get gouged :-)

• 41.willievz: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-40: Lol.

The point is, the other rugby nations are just as guilty of foul play as SA.

But the stigma remains that we are dirtier than the rest.

That is hogwash.

• 42.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-33: I suspect that you are absolutely right :-)

• 43.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-41: SA are in the position where between Bakkies, James, and Burger they have 3 current, or almost current, high profile players who have reputations for some pretty ugly deeds. The impression is made worse by the ‘cult status’ that seems to be given to guys like Bakkies. The rest of the world looks on and figures that the SA public must approve of what he does.

It might just be due to my age, but I have far more tolerance for someone taking a swing at a guy who is messing with him than I do for someone who would eye gouge, head butt, serially ‘stiff arm’, kick someone in the head etc. There were days when cheap shot merchants were ‘dealt with’ on the field and pulled into line. Now the laws say that you can’t do that, but if the refs don’t police the cheap shots/illegal play, the players will always want/need someway to sort it out. One good question is that why can the refs always see the punch, but never see the provocation. In this case they saw the punch, but not the guys arm holding Haskell back???? Hard to believe really.

• 44.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-37:

how odd that you had no problem with the comment I replied to then. The only language a lobotomized loser understands is lobotomizedloserish.

@willievz(willievz)-38:

and youre the loser who reckons “punches are worse than spear tackles”.

opinion = null and void (much like your skull)

• 45.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-41:

Yappie gouging scum are heroes in Yappieland. So indoctrinated are they in folklore that gougers are worthy of worship that they have incorporated the false-gouging-allegation in to matchplay as well. And lobotomized losers like you have bought in to it, because youre a lobotomized Yappie loser.

• 46.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-45: How come the New Zealand Ministry of Protecting Our Fcken Image let you onto the Internet? Surely a redneck twunt like you is worth banning from the web for the sake of the decent folk of Kiwiland. I’m sure a referendum among the literate few would back this up.

• 47.whatever: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-45:

iloveaprickinmymouth, go give your mother a second shot, she coudn’t feel the first

• 48.aliboy: Reply to this comment

Got to say that as a Kiwi I don’t like reading PBgS’s comments either. Still, there have been plenty of others on here just as bad from from SA, and even us peace loving types sometimes see a bit red over the barrage of insults that can flow. PBgS probably thinks of his ‘messages’ as fair retaliation. Just shows that there are some sad and lonely people wherever you are in the world.

I see Haskell got 3 weeks. Some credit given for the provocation and clean record, and most ‘bad’ emphasis on the fact that he threw a 2nd punch. OK, now let’s hear all the conspiracy theories :-) :-(

• 49.whatever: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-48:

Throwing in a smiley does not mean you are not fishing dude.

“Iloveaprickinmymouth’ is not retaliating for anything……… he has just arrived and started throwing the mud. Doos of epic proportions who (not suprisingly) found out that his girlfriend shagged a Saffa and therefore the hatred of all things Saffa.

He ***** his mother on the side too, so has major issues………….

• 50.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-48:

He said, she said arguments never have any winners but plenty of losers…the turkeys just don’t get it though!

3 weeks seems light to me, he put a guy out of the match for holding onto him in a maul! Almost as weak as Jonker not prepared to give a red when all evidence and the touchie pointed towards it.

• 51.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

“The regular six week suspension period for striking was reduced to three based on Haskell’s early guilty plea, his previously clean record and the remorse shown.”

Mmm yeah well, is 6 weeks the norm or the higher end of scale for similar incidents? Whichever I was leaning towards the higher end based on the damage he did…pleading guilty (for something a few million tv viewers saw multiple times) and showing remorse seems like lame excuses to reduce a sentence.

• 52.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-48:

Thats fine then, Im not a Kiwi.

If lobotomized losers cant understand English, then speak in the language they do understand. Tell me how the last comment at 30 is justified in a rugby context ?

And then once youve finished, tell me why this twit

@>^..^< katman(katman)-46:

picks up on my comment but not on the comment at 30 ?

Let me guess….. its because he has 1 set of Morals applicable for Yappies and another entirely different one for non-Yappies. How very convenient and, coincidentally, completely applicable to their attitude to rugby.

• 53.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Try typing a sentence with proper punctuation and no spelling mistakes and the majority will understand you! It has nothing to do with not understanding English.

• 54.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-51:
    Wouldn’t want you for my lawyer…….

• 55.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-54:

Hey it was my team on the receiving end ok, I am working for the prosecution on this one…I would have started at 8 weeks and work my way up!

• 56.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Life Ban for the Pom you say……all good to me. Catch you up Slartibartfast.

• 57.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-49: Whilst I don’t get time to contribute that often I have been on this forum for over 5 years now, and have seen lots of of intellectually challenged posters come and go. If you are a Kiwi or Aussie you need to have a REALLY thick skin to deal with the constant accusations and abuse that get dished out by a certain section of the SA fans on here. I choose not to get involved with the fools (“the best way to look like a fool is to argue with one”), so either don’t post, or try to make a point with humour rather than offense. The joke about conspiracy theories is just a bit of a fun ‘dig’ at some of the guys on here who still think Elvis is alive. It is the same sort of humour that I would use with my mates. Please don’t take it as a serious windup.
    The next question usually asked is “if you need such a thick skin to come here, why not go to The Silver Fern etc etc”. The answer is that I know roughly what other Kiwis fans are probably thinking, and reading the ‘opposing’ point of view is much more interesting. It is even better if you can have a reasonable debate without some brainless idiot climbing in with childish insults like often happens.
    As for PBgS – he claims that he isn’t a Kiwi, so maybe he is a reincarnation of one of the disaffected Bok supporters that have disappeared off here over the past year or two. I can’t remember the aliases, but there were a couple of seriously unhappy SA supporters who lost the plot over L Watson etc and seem to have gone from here. Not that anyone is probably missing them as their style was much like PBgS’s.

• 58.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-57:

Elvis is dead?!?!?!?! :shock:

• 59.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-50: “he put a guy out of the match for holding onto him in a maul”

Can’t be Haskells fault that the other guy has a glass jaw. Based on that argument if he had hit one of the front rowers he might have got no penalty at all :-)

I figured 4 weeks with the provocation, so 3 weeks seems a bit lucky, but still more than I would have in my set of rules (regardless of which team etc).

• 60.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-58: Yeah. But Santa Claus is real!!!!!

• 61.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-59:

You see the problem is the spin doctors sometimes spin themselves into a corner, sometimes provocation counts nothing, sometimes it does, sometimes injury to the other person counts and sometimes it does not. Way to many grey areas, I suggest a minimum x weeks for punching, spitting, cursing or whatever they want to put on the list for a first offence.

This stays on your record for 5 years and a second offence will be x*2, a third x*4 and a 4th x*8 or something along those lines. Forget mitigating factors and cut out the grey areas, that way we know exactly who will get what and no biased (actual or percieved) can be connected to it.

• 62.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-60:

I am a little scared to ask about the Easter Bunny…

• 63.whatever: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-57:

I actually think he is a Kiwi, Black Panther aka wet pantie, but he pretends not to be…………..

I suppose the tooth fairy also does not exist?

• 64.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-61:

Good idea, can’t be any worse that the BS that gets dished out atm. Differs depending on which piece of continent (Or Island) your are standing on! But, I guess wew have the same issue with the refs………..

• 65.aliboy: Reply to this comment

You would do some of them out of a cosy little job!!
    Agree on the grey areas. They cause far too many inconsistencies and unhappy fans etc. Five years is too long though. That is much of a career for many players and in a game where we allow the opposition to verbally and physically seek to provoke a response with the actual intent of getting the other guy sent off, I wouldn’t want to see someone too harshly penalised for ‘reacting’ to provocation as it will just encourage more provocation, and some guys will make an art out of it. On the other hand if the act is obviously premeditated and extremely dangerous (an eye gouge, bite etc) then I would quite happily see them get only one warning and then banned for life.

• 66.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-65:

The 5 years are just an example, maybe we can refine it further…make it two years but if you get back onto the sh1tlist after 2 years you start on a slightly higher level than a first time offender. Even a 1 year cycle but you do some loading on the starting number if you end up there more than once in subsequent years.

• 67.whatever: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-65:

The only issue I have here is also the potential for “grey areas”. It has to be 100% no arguments video evidence that it was an eye gouge and not just carelessness. That Rebels lock that was accused of an eye gouge by “I can’t tackle for sh it” Carter was hard done by IMHO. There was not 100% evidence of an intentional eye gouge. The guy is now labeled as one………….bs

• 68.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-37: Look at his name! Feel pity for him. He cannot help himself. .Personality disorders make people behave and talk in strange ways. It is a disease.
    But it absolutely takes away something from this site. I support you wholeheartedly.

• 69.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-62: You mean you haven’t heard ??? :-( :-( :-(

• 70.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-67: Fair enough.

• 71.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-63: Nah, the tooth fairy is real. My kids told me so!!

• 72.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-66: Two or maybe 3 years would probably make sense. At the end of the day you are trying to modify behavior rather than stop players playing, so the shorter period is a bit of a reward for subsequent good behavior after you have hopefully learned something. Another option is a ‘points’ based system where the difference offences have different points and they add up as you offend. Points drop off after X years, but whilst you are carrying those points your penalties for new offenses reflect the points load. This makes the subject of a players ‘history’ less debatable and turns some of the grey a darker shade.

• 73.JL1: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-57: Those days this site used to average a 1000 comments, now Keo is lucky to get to the 500 mark on a regular basis

Those bloggers that left at least had principles

• 74.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-69:

NOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

@aliboy(aliboy)-72:

Yip just another fairly simple way of doing it and all better than what we have had for a very long time now. But we know nothing changes quickly with these guys…

• 75.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-63:

it shouldnt come as a major surprise that someone else – anyone else – has also recognised that youre a whinging Yappie lobotomized loser .

Dont worry, most b@stard by-products of @nal reproduction usually are. Not to fret, angel, I’ll look after your mammy reeeeeeal good.

• 76.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-57:

It seems you approve of this loser. Does that not seem odd since he was the one who lowered the tone ?!

They dont understand manners so why grace them with any ?

• 77.aliboy: Reply to this comment

Always been intrigued by the ‘moderation standards’ (or lack thereof) on Keo? I help moderate a similar sized forum on a different topic and on there we would have long ago given guys like PBgS (and heaps more) etc the bullet. I keep looking for the ‘Suspend Account’ button but can’t find the damn thing. Is this a legal issue in SA, or just a choice made by Keo’s management?

• 78.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-76: What I find on these types of forums is that if you approach most people with a bit of humour and ignore any initial abuse etc, they tend to start responding in kind and then you can have a decent discussion. I have done it a few times on here with famous Kiwi haters (Big Hit and Heavens Game are two I remember from the past ) and within a few posts the abuse etc has been replaced with something more sensible. If you actually want to have a meaningful discussion on here (which you may not want I suppose), try it sometime before you get so labelled as a ******** that no one will listen anyway.

• 79.aliboy: Reply to this comment

******** = Richards top most appendage

• 80.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-77:

The only moderation on this site was done by the previous webmaster, he left about 5 years ago!

I think keo and his bandits think the controversial caracters on this blog increases the traffic and hits but like his prediction of the roaring Lions last weekend he has it all wrong. I have been around here for almost day dot and the number of very good bloggers who left can fill a book, just to be replaced by idiots spoiling it for all.

• 81.aliboy: Reply to this comment

It’s an interesting debate. From the forum I help with we lost a bunch of regular bloggers when the rules first tightened up a little, and there were moans and groans about ‘censorship’ etc. A few years on the site is still growing furiously and the moderator team only get involved on very rare occasions because the standards are now entrenched in the site culture.

• 82.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-78:

this lobotomised loser clearly ‘thinks’ Im someone else and probably has historical issues with him. Cmon, who on this Earth deserves 1 iota of respect for that comment at 30 ? This is not the 1st time he has made this comment to me. Like I give a sh*t, but if thats the language he understands, then thats the language he’ll receive.

Your logic flies in the face of remarking on the language I used but no comment on the initial perpetrator. You Kiwis are a funny lot.

• 83.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Yip and it makes perfect sense, on a good day you can come across some very knowledgable people on here and it is a joy to read what they think about rugby issues. Most days though you have to wade through some much rubbish it is just not worth it.

• 84.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-82:

I tend to ignore people like you but I will make an exception here. I don’t think I have seen a single post from you where you have not had something bad to say about South Africa, its people or its rugby players. Fair enough if you have issues with us but there are many ways and means to get your message across, full out attack and deragatory remarks is not the best and it does say more about you than whatever message you trying to get across.

If you really interested in talking to us, even to tell us what is wrong with us try a different angle. You can start by changing your very offensive blog name. If not then don’t come crying when someone does lash out at you.

Take it or leave it.

• 85.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-82: Quite correct that I didn’t read whatever was posted at #30. Not interested in reading all the BS, so didn’t bother looking back after I obviously skipped it the first time. The question you need to ask yourself however is why did you choose to make the posts you did in response? Did it add value to the other posters reading? Did it somehow improve the #30 posters behaviour? Or, did it just spout forth from your keyboard because you feel that you are an ‘internet warrior’?

Being a Kiwi I have been massively abused and insulted by stuff posted on this site (most game days in fact) by the mindless few. As Slartibartfast (how the hell do you pronounce that??) says however, you just sort through the rubbish and read the stuff that will improve your day. Otherwise why bother coming here in the first place?

• 86.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-51:

“pleading guilty (for something a few million tv viewers saw multiple times) and showing remorse seems like lame excuses to reduce a sentence.”

your above sentence, apply that to the 8 week ban Schalk burger got for his eyegouge in the lions series, and it too seems a very light sentence.. but its different right?

Prickbox – I wouldnt bother conversing with Whatever, this is a guy who has emigrated to NZ and continually derides the place, has never had a good word to say about it… having run away from SA he cant appreciate the life he now has… and constantly likes to belittle a place that now provides for him… really is one of the saddest SA’s Ive ever come across.

I think its because he doesnt get the sense of entitlement he used to have when he lived in SA…

• 87.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-67: like the bulls accusations on the crusaders you mean? they have constantly been labelled eyegougers on this very site with not one shred of evidence… double standards yet again huh sissy boy?

• 88.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-85:

What, would you prefer Phartiphukborlz?
    Douglas Adams writes in the notes accompanying the published volume of original radio scripts that he wanted Slartibartfast’s name to sound very rude, but still actually be broadcastable. He therefore started with the name “Phartiphukborlz”, and changed bits of it until it would be acceptable to the BBC.

• 89.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Mornin’ all

• 90.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-86:

Get off your high horse before you fall off and break something, then go and read the rest of the posts and tell me if you disagree. At the same time feel free to show me where I said that about Burger…

PS For the record, you are NOT returning serve but trying to stir something up that never was in any of the posts of mine above.

• 91.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-89:

Howzit Dawn, iemand het alweer die hek oop gelos! Die gediertes hardloop wild rond…

• 92.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-90: you state you were looking for the higher end of the scale of punishment for the damage he did?

as for Burger, 8 weeks for the most blatant eye gouge in the history of the game is not an adequate sentence, and I was just trying to see how you can justify two punches to the act of trying to blind someone permanently… I have found out all I need to with your response..

vindictiveness should never be the basis for a sanction, but you seem adamant to want to punish someone for their first offense with the maximum the law allows…

Im not stirring, I think 3 weeks was a fair punishment, and it wouldnt matter what country the perpetrator come from… but you too are also entrenched in the non-saffa conspiracy, and see the 3 weeks for a first offense as lenient… so be it

• 93.David: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-86:
    Sometimes I think the eye gouging incidents and accusations are overdone. When you have a melee of players in the middle of a ruck or maul blindly and desperately trying to grab someone/anyone in a different jersey who’s also writhing about you’ll get incidents when a player sticks his fingers into someones eye. Sure, the player on the receiving end is pissed, but in most cases it’s not intentional (unless it’s France or England :lol: ) and far too much is made of it as far as I’m concerned.

• 94.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-92:

So you are 100% sure you know what I had to say about Burger and his 8 weeks?

Trying to paint me something I am not and you telling me with a straith face you not stirring? Pull the other one pops…

• 95.whatever: Reply to this comment

Poppadoos, once again you wade in all guns blazing . You are so anti SA in your posts and then wonder why you get a poesklap on this site. Why don’t you stick to your word and not come back, it’s tiring when you whinge and cry that you are being picked on you little baby

• 96.whatever: Reply to this comment

Poppadoos, burger was never found guilty of eye gouging, only carelessness. The bloke who started it, Richard Loe, however was guilty as sin, not so? And he was……. Oh yup a kiwi

• 97.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-94:
    the whole burger angle was to show the inconsistency in wanting 6 weeks for Haskells two punches compared to an 8 week ban Schalk got. cant you comprehend that? do you think both incidences carry the same stigma and severity? hence the similarity in time of suspension?
    ok then, fair enough…

@whatever(whatever)-95: again, you never answer the question do you? what of the allegations of the bulls against the Saders eyegouging? many here were adamant it happened, even without one shred of evidence… now run along sissy boy, havent you house chores to do?

• 98.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-96: and Lowe got 6 months suspension… funny that huh? he got what he deserved, i would never defend his actions…use google images and enter Schalk eyegouge, and then proceed to tell me and the rest of the world that it WASNT an eyegouge… try to use both eyes though..

• 99.whatever: Reply to this comment

No there was no evidence to prove the saders did any eye gouging so their is no case, simple. It does not necessarily mean it did not happen?

• 100.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-97: Same can be said about the Lions last year regarding that club incident. I also recall you being very vocal and even calling the Lions a bunch of rapists. Evidence? Apology?…. yeah thought so.

• 101.whatever: Reply to this comment

Oh yeah, so remind us all why you ran away to Aussie? Faaaaking waste my time with a whinging doos like you!

• 102.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-101: funny that a team not renowned for eye gouging in their entire history is accused twice within ten minutes or so and there was NO evidence for either case? really, doesnt that sound even a little bit suspicious?

Tuna- please refresh my memory because I honestly dont remember the incident?

• 103.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-101: again you miss the point… show me the posts were I berate Aussie or degrade the country I choose to live in… do you understand the difference? you are on here always sticking the boot in about a country you chose to live in, in fact youve never said one good thing about the place…

why is that?

• 104.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-84:

to turn a phrase – “frankly, my dear, I dont give a damn”.

Id perhaps lend an ear were you to apply yr ‘morals’ evenly. But this loser has made this “have you phucked yr mother” countless times already. He obviously has issues with this Panties guy. What I noticed, however, is noone seemed to have any issue with this, there was no problem from the Yappies. So I reply in kind, eventually, and suddenly its a problem. How so ? 1 rule for 1 and another for others ?! Yes ?

I was on this website a few years ago. The Yappies were dishing it to the Aussies and Kiwis for their QterF exit. About how the Kiwis whinged, that part I found quite humorous, to be fair. But then its role reversal, against my adopted team, after RWC last year, and what happens ? Its the refs fault – HA ! Fact is, yr team was sh*t. Won lots of ball but didnt have any idea what to do with it. So what do the Yappies do ? Blame the ref – HA ! What lobotomised losers. Suddenly everything my Kiwi colleagues told me about the Yappies made sense. Everyones a cheat when the Yappies lose. Yes ?! Filthy scum gouge bite and crack ribs but 1 punch and the other team are filthy. Yes ? Yappie losers still living in the past, cant accept someone else is better than you. Yes ?

Yes, whinging Yappie losers, yes.

• 105.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Haskell got off lightly, four weeks minimum, with three weeks loaded on, so if he comes up for the same offence within a two year window, seven weeks.

• 106.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Sheepshaggingcunts

• 107.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Sure pops but that only work if you know for a fact I was happy with 8 weeks. You assumed that and as usual ignore the rest of the posts.

Returning serve se gat!

• 108.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Hows this cowardly little Maori dumpling Knobber69…

Big snot en trane when he ran away from Keo, because… wait for it… “He just couldn’t take it anymore”… Boohoo…

Now the fool is back… slinging Coconuts… like the Wild West Maori Gunslinger he thinks he is…

Wonder when the next boofarkenhoo blog breakdown is going to happen….

I give it until after the 4N….

Maybe by then the Coconut cracks… again… if not before…

• 109.willievz: Reply to this comment

3 weeks.

10.5 days for each punch.

Such a good guy Haskell. I believe he charms Kiwi hotelworkers too.

• 110.willievz: Reply to this comment

By the way guys – is this a joke or actually the truth?

3 weeks?

It is 1 May today, not 1 April.

• 111.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-104: Just two words:

Bryce Lawrence….

Can translate to many things:

Cheating Kiwi

or

Cowardly Kiwi

or

Duplicitous Kiwi

or

Cheating C.unt

or just

F.uck you…

Which, after all, is exactly what Bryce “Fixer” Lawrence did to Rugby Union with his QF performance…

• 112.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-109: Lol, and my, my… what an absolute “stunner” she was too…

• 113.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-111:

You’re finally coming around and ridding yourself of the albatros of shame.

• 114.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-112:

Mean’t for Prickblack.

• 115.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-108:

What happened to that blogger that used to go on about the IRA…grant10? Did he also run off crying?

• 116.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I give Poeps no more than 3 weeks before his next Oprah moment here before a live internet audience. Keo should make little boxes of virtual tissues available for the event.

• 117.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-104:

Oh shut up you sound like a stuck record

• 118.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Yes?

• 119.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Whew

It worked

The yapping stopped

• 120.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-114: Prickedbottom is a moving target, so understandable :wink:

• 121.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-115: Grantie is spending his days of retirement playing naked beach volleyball with Mini me on Camps Bay… In between bouts of mutual back rubbing and spreading suntan lotion….

• 122.poppa69: Reply to this comment

all the little ******** lined up in a row, eager to get the first hit in… what a laugh..

HG – I heard your banshee is now shacked up with GBS, and after seeing photos of him, you must be one hell of an ugly runt..

was it the full blown aids you have that made her leave? or are you just an HIV carrier? didnt your boyfriend tell you beforehand that he had it? Im guessing you probably dont know, but that might be the effects of the syphillis..

oh dear, how sad..

LMFAO

• 123.willievz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-122: Poppa

We don’t hit.

We get hit.

• 124.willievz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-122: And by the way – ********, Boer and Yappie is racist.

• 125.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-124: hey, d u t c h ma n isnt racist in my country, much like calling it a coconut tackle apparently isnt in your country?

but you seem to have no problem when HG goes on about it? yet you call me up in the first instance? why the contradiction? this place doesnt change does it? all ready to jump on a foreigner when he says something that is offensive, but all remain dubiously quiet when one of your own do it?

gotta love you Saffas, never met a nicer bunch of hypocrites..

• 126.willievz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-125: Mate, I am not speaking to you again. Calling me names like that is racist in my eyes, which makes you a racist in my eyes.

adios.

• 127.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-126: again, youre very quick to label me one, yet you let your countryman continue without nary a whisper..

HYPOCRITE!!!

• 128.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-122:

“was it the full blown aids you have that made her leave? or are you just an HIV carrier? didnt your boyfriend tell you beforehand that he had it? Im guessing you probably dont know, but that might be the effects of the syphillis..”

This is not necessary

• 129.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-111:

don’t talk about my Hero like that. Be nice. Take it on the chin, but wipe it first sweetheart.

• 130.aliboy: Reply to this comment

Wow – do any of you guys ever go back and read what you type? This thread has gone from a reasonable discussion about Haskell’s punishment and some light hearted humour (well apart from one strange ‘contributors’ efforts) to a complete nut house as soon as 3 or 4 of you jumped on your PC’s. Do you guys really come on here just to play ‘internet warriors’ and chant abuse at each other??? It really is pretty sad and I don’t even know if they have good drugs for this type of personality disorder. My wife’s a psychologist so maybe I should get her to do some analysis for you all.
    Anyway, how about telling the rest of us what threads you guys aren’t looking at so some adult discussion can take place.

• 131.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-122: Thank you…Exposed…

• 132.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-125: Then fck off. If it’s so traumatic and hostile, why stick around? If you don’t like Saffas, stay away from a Saffa site. If you are told that certain words are racist and offensive, then you KNOW they are, regardless of what they mean in your country. HIV and AIDS can only be a humorous topic to someone who is completely fcked in the head, with no capacity for rational thought or any form of compassion, regardless of what some prick may or may not have said to you first. These things are all plain and simple logic. If you carry on about them anyway, you are either extremely dimwitted or your only purpose of logging on here for the greatest part of every day of your life is to deliberately sound like a vindictive arsehole. So which is it? Are you feeble-minded or are you a jerk?

• 133.bokke baiter: Reply to this comment

Dirty safwits

• 134.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-132: why? because the majority of you have no problems using offensive words when talking to us? so harden up little leeuser, if you guys want to dish it expect it back…

as for this compassion angle, hahaha what a laugh…it seems you are another hypocritte… it was alright for your countrymen to mock the death of my mother huh? so, **** you too…

• 135.bokke baiter: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-131: It’s shameful you decided to move to the uk in order to abuse the NHS of its limited HIV drugs. Your disgusting.

• 136.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-134: Who is “us”? Have you ever seen me use offensive words when speaking to Cane or Hurricane? No you haven’t, because they are decent, civilised humans. You, on the other hand, are a little piece of filth. And don’t give me the sob story about your mother. 99% of the posters here didn’t have a word to say about her except to pass on sincere condolences. The 1% who did aren’t worth mentioning as they are cut from the same disgusting cloth as you.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.