Haskell in hot water

James Haskell has been cited for punching during the Highlanders’ match against the Cheetahs.

Haskell was yellow carded for the incident where he punched Justin Downey twice but the incident was also white carded and the loose forward was subsequently pinned.

Citing commissioner Mike Heron said the incident met the red card threshold for foul play.

136 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

• 1.NSWStormer: Reply to this comment

Marius Jonker should have heeded the advice of the touch judge and sent Haskell off with a red. It was justified.

• 2.BULLET: Reply to this comment

What an r-sole!

• 3.the_winger: Reply to this comment

Two clear punches to the face, what more did Jonker need to reach for the red? Going against the unambiguous advice of his touchie who had an unhindered view of the incident. The rules state a red is automatic for punching, why the hell wasnt Haskell sent down? Imagine he’d been a Saffa player!!

• 4.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

Shake hands and a few beers together after the match is all that is required.

• 5.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Haskell is a twit. They complain about the dirty saffas. Pff.
    Jonker is getting more and more erratic and pedantic as a ref. he is becoming highly irritating. he used to be great.

• 6.willievz: Reply to this comment

I’d be surprised if he gets more than 3 weeks.

He’s a non-Saffa.

• 7.willievz: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-4: Saffas are physical, not dirty.

There is a big difference.

Over nations envy us for our physicality in approach.

• 8.jockstrap: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-7:

What a crock of ****, the Irish are similar to the Saffas in their physicalily and they don’t get carded half as much.

• 9.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Irish are nowhere near………..pisssssh !

• 10.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

I just think law makers are obsessed with throwing huge bans at the moment. Digby Ione getting banned for his tip tackle was absolutely pathetic. Do these siting officials actually have the game’s best interest in mind when they make these decisions? I think a yellow card for a punch is fine, maybe a red depending on the severity, but why must it have to go further then that…

• 11.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

Bloody Jonker should be in hot water too for ignoring his touch judge’s advice. How many times have we heard a ref say when a TJ makes a decision he is forced to follow it.

Cheetahs would have won if Haskell was red carded like he should have been, despite their big lapse later in the match and Sias Ebersohn having a shocker.

Bet Haskell will get a lesser penalty than Butch has for charging into a ruck, which in my opinion was worth no more than a 1 match ban. Stupid officials!

• 12.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@jockstrap(jockstrap)-8:
    Yeah, but this is where the POB and us kiwis come into it.
    We pay all the refs too make the Boks life terrible.

@wpforever(wpforever)-9:
    Well the Irish are doing something right.
    Last four games between Ireland and Boks.
    Boks 1
    Ireland 3

• 13.wing_14: Reply to this comment

HC, last time the ABs played the Boks they lost STFU

• 14.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wing_14(wing_14)-13:
    Last time ABs played we won the RWC.

• 15.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-7:

Most saffas are physical some have been blatantly dirty.

• 16.willievz: Reply to this comment

@jockstrap(jockstrap)-8: Let’s see how many weeks (or days) Haskell gets.

Then we can start a debate regarding Saffas and citing outcomes.

• 17.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Anyway, seen as wing_14 only looks back one game b ut not the one before that when ABs thrashed Boks 40-7 we shall carry on.

Haskill needs to punished more than the yellow card.
    Even though he was getting taken out of play, as the ball had cleard but was getting held onto, he cannot punch.
    Ban of 3 weeks should be enough.

• 18.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-16:
    Why bother?

• 19.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-14: Last time the AB’s played they choked and were beaten by France only for Joubert to come to the rescue.

• 20.willievz: Reply to this comment

@SpiesIsWorthless(SpiesIsWorthless)-19: Leave these Kiwis, they are not worth debating with.

They still think 1987 counted as a proper win.

• 21.jockstrap: Reply to this comment

@wpforever(wpforever)-9:

Ireland have outmuscled the Boks in the last couple of games(plus they actually managed to beat the Aussies at the WC unlike some ;) ).

• 22.willievz: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-15: @Hurricane(Hurricane)-18: Please name me one Saffa player that has been carded / cited for blatant punching a-la Haskell.

Just one.

• 23.willievz: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-22: Let’s make that the last 10 years.

• 24.seamus: Reply to this comment

I think all the years of peroxide abuse is starting to have an effect on his game management

• 25.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-22:

I know some for eye gouging, head butting and biting.

For punching i can name heaps buddy….korne crige, kempson( cheap shot to the back of the head), dalton (and for stamping on an opponents head), muller. I will dig around for more. The mentioned are top of mind.

• 26.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-20:

Eish you are having to go back into the archives to try get your dagger in.

• 27.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-25:

Yappies glamorize gougers, biters and rib-crackers as ‘hard men’ and get them back in the PrickBok jersey asap and then cheer them as they run on to the field.

Punchers, surely the lowest and least dangerous offense, hardly bear a mention unless theyre by the opposition. Thats why you get lobotomized losers saying a punch is “worse than a spear tackle”. It helps normalise the gouging scum they select whilst giving them cause to hate teams that are their moral superiors (ie every team).

• 28.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@SpiesIsWorthless(SpiesIsWorthless)-19:
    Hmmm so the ABs were not beaten but they were in the same game?
    I can see you are trying to be funny but have failed, just like the Bok attempt for the RWC in 2011.
    Anyway i understand schooling may not be upto standard in SA so i will let you off but for the record, 8 points is more than 7 points.

• 29.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Haters them will hate and the back and forth mudslinging is plain childish.

Back to the actual article, both touchies suggested red ‘for multiple shots’, comish agree and said is was a red card offence…so what happens to Jonker and do the Cheetahs get another apology?

Also note Downey had to leave the field after the shots so I assume this will be at the higher end and a lenghty ban is on the cards.

• 30.whatever: Reply to this comment

Faaaak, all the holier than thou, butter would’nt melt in my teams mouth wa nkers out in force.

All teams (yes all) have had their dirty players so get off your f ucken high horses

and iloveaprickinmymouth, you fu cked your mother yet?

• 31.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-29: What I hate about this sort of stuff, regardless of who is involved, is that the cheating *rick who caused the incident through holding him back will get off completely free. He is in fact incentivised to to it again next week because it worked so well this week. So what should have been a penalty to the Highlanders gets turned into a yellow card plus a multi week ban because a player gets sick of the 3 refs not policing the game well enough. All teams do it, so it is not a Saffa vs Kiwi vs Aussie team thing, just a poor part of the way the rules work. Just imagine if you were allowed free swings until someone illegally obstructing you let go. Might sort out that sort of illegal play quite quickly. When was the last time you saw a ref award a penalty for someone been held back or obstructed around the scrum like that?

• 32.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-31:

You are touching on a different issue now and poor refereeing is harming the game on a totally different level and more than most seem to care…until it is to late.

As for punching, it is a red card offence no matter what. There is no room for cheap shots in the game of rugby.

• 33.whatever: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-31:

Certainly if free swings were permited, Cowan would not have held back Bakkies……. :)

• 34.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-32:

Boet, don’t miss a week on superbru. I got allocated all the home games and I think only 1won (Chiefs). Dropped 19 places, ouch!

• 35.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-34:

Hahaha thats nothing, I dropped 24 spots last week AND I got my tips in :shock:

• 36.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-30:

Im totally spent from ******* your mother up the @rse. She seemed to like it altho said she hoped it was “safe” because she’d “already given birth to 1 too many @rseh0les already” and that Mothers Day only gives her nightmares.

• 37.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-36: That uncalled for ! Its post’s like this that is making this place a drag to come too nowdays. Stick to rugby guys , debate passionately but please for the love of all things rugby lets stay above the belt !

Re the punch , it was a red card offense , the touchies both thought so and Jonker was wrong. I reckon he is getting a little too big for his shoes and thinks he is number 1 , he showed zero trust in his 2 assistants. Having said that , its over and judging by the replay if Haskell dont get at least 8 weeks then its certainly not a fair process. Taken into account what Butch got for his shoulder charge.

• 38.willievz: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-37: Let’s not forget there were TWO punches.

It’s not as if Haskell threw the one, then realised oops I should not have done that.

He threw another.

Jab jab.

• 39.willievz: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-26: All those players you mentioned there have long retired.

I can name countless ABs and Wallabies who are (or should have been) guilty of very dirty play.

As for gouging, consider the Crusaders lucky, yet again.

• 40.aliboy: Reply to this comment

They always consider themselves lucky when they visit SA and don’t get gouged :-)

• 41.willievz: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-40: Lol.

The point is, the other rugby nations are just as guilty of foul play as SA.

But the stigma remains that we are dirtier than the rest.

That is hogwash.

• 42.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-33: I suspect that you are absolutely right :-)

• 43.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-41: SA are in the position where between Bakkies, James, and Burger they have 3 current, or almost current, high profile players who have reputations for some pretty ugly deeds. The impression is made worse by the ‘cult status’ that seems to be given to guys like Bakkies. The rest of the world looks on and figures that the SA public must approve of what he does.

It might just be due to my age, but I have far more tolerance for someone taking a swing at a guy who is messing with him than I do for someone who would eye gouge, head butt, serially ‘stiff arm’, kick someone in the head etc. There were days when cheap shot merchants were ‘dealt with’ on the field and pulled into line. Now the laws say that you can’t do that, but if the refs don’t police the cheap shots/illegal play, the players will always want/need someway to sort it out. One good question is that why can the refs always see the punch, but never see the provocation. In this case they saw the punch, but not the guys arm holding Haskell back???? Hard to believe really.

• 44.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-37:

how odd that you had no problem with the comment I replied to then. The only language a lobotomized loser understands is lobotomizedloserish.

@willievz(willievz)-38:

and youre the loser who reckons “punches are worse than spear tackles”.

opinion = null and void (much like your skull)

• 45.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-41:

Yappie gouging scum are heroes in Yappieland. So indoctrinated are they in folklore that gougers are worthy of worship that they have incorporated the false-gouging-allegation in to matchplay as well. And lobotomized losers like you have bought in to it, because youre a lobotomized Yappie loser.

• 46.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-45: How come the New Zealand Ministry of Protecting Our Fcken Image let you onto the Internet? Surely a redneck twunt like you is worth banning from the web for the sake of the decent folk of Kiwiland. I’m sure a referendum among the literate few would back this up.

• 47.whatever: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-45:

iloveaprickinmymouth, go give your mother a second shot, she coudn’t feel the first

• 48.aliboy: Reply to this comment

Got to say that as a Kiwi I don’t like reading PBgS’s comments either. Still, there have been plenty of others on here just as bad from from SA, and even us peace loving types sometimes see a bit red over the barrage of insults that can flow. PBgS probably thinks of his ‘messages’ as fair retaliation. Just shows that there are some sad and lonely people wherever you are in the world.

I see Haskell got 3 weeks. Some credit given for the provocation and clean record, and most ‘bad’ emphasis on the fact that he threw a 2nd punch. OK, now let’s hear all the conspiracy theories :-) :-(

• 49.whatever: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-48:

Throwing in a smiley does not mean you are not fishing dude.

“Iloveaprickinmymouth’ is not retaliating for anything……… he has just arrived and started throwing the mud. Doos of epic proportions who (not suprisingly) found out that his girlfriend shagged a Saffa and therefore the hatred of all things Saffa.

He ***** his mother on the side too, so has major issues………….

• 50.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-48:

He said, she said arguments never have any winners but plenty of losers…the turkeys just don’t get it though!

3 weeks seems light to me, he put a guy out of the match for holding onto him in a maul! Almost as weak as Jonker not prepared to give a red when all evidence and the touchie pointed towards it.

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.