Brittle Bulls edge Rebels
4 May 2012
RYAN VREDE watched a fine attacking performance from the Bulls undermined by a poor defensive one in their 41-35 victory over the Rebels.
From a Bulls perspective this match should be remembered less for the five tries they scored and more for the awful defensive display that allowed the lowly Rebels to run in five of their own. They are undoubtedly South Africa’s best attacking force but if their defensive struggles continue they won’t mount a serious title challenge. A better side would have scored more often and indeed beaten them on the strength of their defensive performance tonight.
They had secured a four-try bonus point by half-time but, tellingly, had allowed the Rebels to do the same. Their gainline fight was weak, allowing the Rebels to consistently run at an unset defensive line. They scored almost every time they entered the Bulls’ red zone and the ease with which they did so should be deeply concerning.
Only a Morne Steyn penalty separated the sides at half-time (31-28). The Springboks have recruited Bulls defence coach John McFarland, who has built a reputation for forging his sides into formidable defensive units. But he’ll have a significant amount of work to do in the weeks ahead. This was expected to be their easiest assignment defensively, with the Waratahs, Chiefs and Highlanders in wait.
They will, however, draw confidence from their potency on attack. Their primary strike runners brutally exposed the Rebels’ own defensive vulnerabilities, bossing the tackle fight, which allowed them to control the flow and tempo of the match when they were in possession.
There will also be renewed optimism about Morne Steyn’s match-winning potential as a goal-kicker. The Springbok flyhalf has been inconsistent with his kicking to date, but tonight his rhythm seemed to have returned, evident by him landing a clutch of touchline conversions.
The match settled down in the second half then exploded into life going into the final quarter. When JJ Engelbrecht touched down and Steyn banked his fifth conversion of the evening you thought the Bulls would close the game out. But just three minutes later the Rebels cut their line once more in a move that culminated in Cooper Vuna grabbing his second try of the match. Kurtley Beale had matched Steyn with the boot and kicked the extras to set up a tense final 10 minutes with the Rebels trailing by three.
Steyn sunk a penalty with eight to play and the Bulls did enough to hold but they will be acutely aware of fundamental flaws that need to be addressed.

411 Comments
4 May 2012, 11:19 am
Bulls Dragons by 17
4 May 2012, 11:21 am
We need the bonus point for 4 tries.
Go BUULLSSSSS !!!!!!
4 May 2012, 11:37 am
any url’s for Bulls game?
4 May 2012, 11:38 am
Damn that pink is uuugly!!!!!
4 May 2012, 11:39 am
Bulls jersey ghastly.
Expect flat track bully Spoes to be very visible in this match. If the the Rebels front however I could very well be mistaken.
4 May 2012, 11:42 am
Sideshow Bob Kirchner with a howler. Awful player.
4 May 2012, 11:42 am
@leonkarstens(leonkarstens)-3: http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/50566/3/bulls-vs-rebels-live-stream-online.html
4 May 2012, 11:43 am
Tipped Bulls, because I got a multi bet with them in it.
4 May 2012, 11:45 am
the bulls are very nice too watch
4 May 2012, 11:46 am
Loved the commentators comment regarding the sales of the pink jerseys in Pretoria.
4 May 2012, 11:49 am
Great Bulls try.
4 May 2012, 11:50 am
Love all the sadsacks here.
Go do some work.
4 May 2012, 11:54 am
Come on Bulls.
4 May 2012, 11:56 am
Props these days are massive, there will be a day when we see two metre props, freakish.
Come on you Bulls! 5 points will be good.
that bloody
binnepoespienk
again
4 May 2012, 11:57 am
O gaats, Lions like defence…!
4 May 2012, 11:57 am
This is not good
4 May 2012, 11:58 am
Always feel a bit ambivalent about these games. I want the SA sides to win, but not at the expense of the Stormers log position.
4 May 2012, 11:59 am
Fork!
4 May 2012, 11:59 am
When the heck did the Rebels have the time to score two tries???
4 May 2012, 12:00 pm
Before thinking about Bonus points, the Pink Bulls have to win this one!!
@Todd W(Todd W)-21: And were the Bulls napping or something? Maybe too busy yaking to one another about their shirts instead of paying attention to the ball?
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-17:
Where was the loosie cover defense?
4 May 2012, 12:02 pm
That’s better
4 May 2012, 12:03 pm
@David(David)-10: Please let me know what they said; I’m busy working & can’t watch.
Flipping knobend.
THe Bulls need to tighten this game up a bit and slow the pace. The Ozzies thrive on a fast game!
What the hell was Flip up to?
Been very impressed with Steyn today, so far.
4 May 2012, 12:04 pm
Hou Flip ver weg van ‘n Bok trui af asb HM
4 May 2012, 12:04 pm
David – Steyn is looking very good. AS JDV said on rugby365 having half year off last year after the RWC has helped alot of players recharge and this year they are all looking fresh again!!
4 May 2012, 12:05 pm
@David(David)-24:
Ja the two ‘fast’ props did not work so well…
4 May 2012, 12:06 pm
@BrumbiesBoy(BrumbiesBoy)-26:
That the pink shirts outsold the Blue ones 8 to 1 in Pretoria., which goes to show what type of people live in Pretoria.
4 May 2012, 12:08 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-30:
Flip is k ak anyway.
Tries to be the hard man in the Bulls but doesnt quite have that edge.
Idiot.
4 May 2012, 12:09 pm
Davo you must have a few pink shirts in your closet.
A know it all man of the world like you?
4 May 2012, 12:10 pm
Flip way too dumb for a new hopefully improved era of Springbok rugby.
@race of tan(race of tan)-31:
He seems to be playing with far more confidence to control the game. I’ve a suspicion it’s because he doesn’t have FdP there to dictate what to do.
Couple weeks rest coming up Luke Jones…
4 May 2012, 12:12 pm
Morné you beaut
Steyn nearly mucked it up there but good try.
Ndungane is such an accurate player. Extremely tidy and makes very few mistakes, pretty underrated..
4 May 2012, 12:14 pm
Hougie looking more and more assured with every game.
Decision making much sharper.
4 May 2012, 12:15 pm
Come on BULLS !!
Man i missed Morne’s try, boss interferring with my Friday morning rugby with an important ad hoc meeting. Who does he think i am!!!! tee hee
@David(David)-33: Good one!!! Thanks
4 May 2012, 12:16 pm
did flip het a yellow or red card?
what are the chances of FdP actually playing for the Boks against England? is it all media talk or will we have Hougaard? i see no reason to have him back over Hougaard…
Rebels are playing well, regrattably
4 May 2012, 12:17 pm
Cipriani was uselss, Berrick Barnes way better!!
4 May 2012, 12:17 pm
@STORMSAAM(BERNARD)-46: Yellow
4 May 2012, 12:18 pm
Bulls game looking really impressive, but the Rebels aren’t exactly a major threat.
4 May 2012, 12:19 pm
Good try, Rebels are playing well. I think THe Bulls will wear them in 2nd half!!
4 May 2012, 12:20 pm
Weak defence again!
Skrew the bonus point, just want the win
Bulls defense has been poor so far, but looking sharp on attack against an equally leaky Rebels side.
4 May 2012, 12:21 pm
sheesh…
what the hell’s going on here…?
c’mon bulls…!!
4 May 2012, 12:21 pm
@race of tan(race of tan)-44:
More importantly, who does he think he is?
4 May 2012, 12:23 pm
@Atlas(Atlas)-54:
As a Stormer, I agree with you.
Too late though.
4 May 2012, 12:23 pm
Guys I can’t watch the game but what is the verdict on
Hougaard
Morne
JJ
Loose trio
4 May 2012, 12:24 pm
Aish een vir my, een vir jou…
That’s more like it…!!
@Atlas(Atlas)-54: Well we got the bonus point now!
4 May 2012, 12:25 pm
Spoes having a shocker in defense.
4 May 2012, 12:26 pm
@Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster(Porra)-16:
Hey prefect UFO – any comments on this post? You know, like you normally do?
4 May 2012, 12:27 pm
@willievz(willievz)-59: Hougaard lethal as always. Brilliant service. Steyn’s distrubtion and goalkicking’s been great. Havent really noticed JJ. Potgieter and Stander doing well to account for the absense of you know who…
4 May 2012, 12:27 pm
Damn, the Rebels courage in going for 7 deserved that.
4 May 2012, 12:28 pm
Bulls forgot to do tackling drills this week?
The Bulls are playing into the Rebels hands. They need to slow this game down a bit. Mind as long as the Bulls stay one try ahead!!
8 tries in the first half
4 May 2012, 12:29 pm
Sheesh…
Bulls…?
Gotta get it together in defense…!!
4 May 2012, 12:29 pm
@David(David)-58: @willievz(willievz)-62:
Now both has a bonus point
This sucks
4 May 2012, 12:31 pm
@willievz(willievz)-59:
Morne actually taking charge.
Hougaard giving a polished 9 performance.
Pottie and Stander good on attack but with Spies poor on defence.
12 missed tackles by the Bulls!
@Atlas(Atlas)-71: Sounds more like a basketball game than a rugby game!
4 May 2012, 12:32 pm
Isn’t the Bulls’ defensive coach now also the Bok defensive coach??
4 May 2012, 12:33 pm
@willievz(willievz)-59: Hougie and Morné are having a cracker. So Potties and CJ. Our verdediging is just kak.
4 May 2012, 12:35 pm
@Craven(Craven)-75: The players seem to take the loss of the coach really hard
4 May 2012, 12:36 pm
@willievz(willievz)-74: It’s a good running game. We just can’t defend@David(David)-72: touche
Bulls’ defence is simply shocking. Maybe someone can tell them now that the Rebels are exploiting gaps around the fringes at will. With this rookie referee the Bulls will have to establish a 14 point lead and keep it, for a change. This game can go either way now if the Bulls don’t start to defend and stop giving away the silliest of penalties. Play like this on the rest of the tour and we won’t win a single game.
Win or lose, at least the Bulls are scoring tries, and that is what rugby is about. Only that.
Isnt that right HeavansGayme?
4 May 2012, 12:37 pm
The Bulls can’t carry on with this one try for me, one try for you game. The travel fatigue will catch up with them in the last 20
4 May 2012, 12:38 pm
Now it’s our time.
4 May 2012, 12:41 pm
Bulls need to slow this game down alot. I guess this is what FDP was good at but Hougie will learn.
However what a great game of rugby to watch!!
4 May 2012, 12:41 pm
Wow first time I have seen Chilli in this game! Was he hiding in Spies’s pocket?
4 May 2012, 12:44 pm
Gotta give credit though…
Rebels playing very well…
Bulls must wake up…!
THe Rebels are going to take this game if the Bulls don’t take control
Both teams are showing considerable disrespect towards the concept of defensive precision.
Man, now we have props taking the gap and running 40 meters! Bulls seem intent to lose this one…
4 May 2012, 12:45 pm
Just had a chance to check the score! Are the Bulls playing badly or are the Rebels playing out of their socks? This is really surprising that the Rebels have scored a four try bonus point.
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-87:
Potskieter gone
4 May 2012, 12:46 pm
Potgieter off injured.
4 May 2012, 12:47 pm
Bulls making the Rebels look good.
4 May 2012, 12:47 pm
@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-77: hehehehe
They also sucked in defending agaisnt the Brumbies, so this is not a once off thing. Either the Bully boys suck at the tackling, or their coach is not all that.
4 May 2012, 12:48 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-89:
bit of both bill…
bulls defending with ‘disrespect’ as WPTID says… and rebels playing with a lot of confidence…
who’da thunk…?
Isn’t this about the time the Bulls start making eye gouging accusations.
Rebels gaining meters at will around the fringes, defence non existant.
4 May 2012, 12:50 pm
C’mon Rebels.
4 May 2012, 12:51 pm
@ufo(ufo)-95:
I had the Bulls by a country mile…
4 May 2012, 12:52 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-99:
didn’t everybody…
‘cept the rebels mums…
4 May 2012, 12:53 pm
Tac must be having a heart attack
@greentea(greentea)-96:
Stop being an idiot!
sterling mortlock getting ready to come on…
4 May 2012, 12:54 pm
Hope the Bulls can pull through here. Come on guys!
@greentea(greentea)-96:
Put a sock in it. We’re trying to enjoy the game and don’t need your puerile humour.
Bulls changed the gameplan and looking better.
Both sets of defences have more holes than a French wh*re.
4 May 2012, 12:56 pm
Bulls defense around the fringes is pitifull.
4 May 2012, 12:56 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-107:
Only French?
Oops, prefect is going to be cross!
4 May 2012, 12:57 pm
what is happening??? Someone please tell…
4 May 2012, 12:57 pm
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-104:
hey bud… haven’t ‘seen’ you since last weekend…
tough game…
but your guys will be back… and sias to step up to the plate like we know he can…!
4 May 2012, 12:58 pm
Unfortunately it wasn’t humour, c’mon Rebels clean these liars up.
4 May 2012, 12:58 pm
Sadie on for Olivier and Mortlock. Old warrior versus young upstart.
4 May 2012, 12:59 pm
@David(David)-108: This has been my main gripe with the current loose trio.
They don’t complete enough tackles per match.
4 May 2012, 13:00 pm
Well done Ludeke,jees, Rebels bring on Mortlock and the Bulls decide to take Olivier off the field. Chilli boy can’t even throw in straight in the lineouts.This is a f..joke
4 May 2012, 13:00 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-110:
Nothing really, poor handling on both sides in the second half. Bulls playing the territory game but no score…
Potgieter busted his knee and Meisiekind replaced by Sadie.
4 May 2012, 13:01 pm
THE BULLS defense has more holes in it than a piece of Swiss Cheese !
4 May 2012, 13:01 pm
morne playing fullback…
only bull playing like one…
4 May 2012, 13:02 pm
Morné you beuat, again
4 May 2012, 13:02 pm
Excellent try. Hougie is such a nice player to watch, great vision and BMT to back it. But hime and Morne Steyn are forming a deadly pivot pair. Have got to be the Bok 9 and 10 hands down!!!
4 May 2012, 13:03 pm
Good try
4 May 2012, 13:03 pm
like i said…
4 May 2012, 13:04 pm
@race of tan(race of tan)-120:
absolutely…
4 May 2012, 13:05 pm
Yes manne! Netjies!!
4 May 2012, 13:07 pm
This game is going down to the wire. THe Bulls just need to keep on scoring. The Rebels backline is very very good. Mortlock is still dangerous and Berrick Barnes brilliant.
Go Bulls. Leaky Defence but you guys can score tries ne. I think i said Bulls by 10 so keep it like this.
Sitting on his backside and playing the ball?
Mortlocks timing of the pass was pure class.
How poor has the bulls defence been!!!!!!
Should have hanged to their defensive coach
Have the Bulls sacked their defense coach?
4 May 2012, 13:08 pm
@David(David)-128:
yeah david… good to see him playing again…
@race of tan(race of tan)-125: Berrick Barnes?!?! BWahahahahhaha You mean Amy Biel?
@greentea(greentea)-130: Not quite. He is the Boks defense coach now.
Ambush…….Ned Kelly lives
4 May 2012, 13:09 pm
@ufo(ufo)-111: Hey bud. Yeah stayed away from here for a while. Would have said things that I would have regretted. We have to win this weekend. Goosen massive blow but Sias will be up for it I’m sure. Given up on 6th place but still hoping for a decent finish.
C’mon Rebs!
The Rebels may just take this game!!! Blast. Both teams have played very well.
wtf
4 May 2012, 13:10 pm
Kirchner is just rubbish, just hope he doesn’t get selected for the boks
Mortlock still got it?
Nienaber for the Boks…
4 May 2012, 13:11 pm
@willievz(willievz)-133:
great news!
4 May 2012, 13:11 pm
@ Race of Tan: berrick barnes…i didnt know the NSW tahs is playing……
4 May 2012, 13:12 pm
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-135:
yeah, i thought as much…
still a long way to go… and you can still make a couple of places… goosen was indeed a massive blow… but sias is still a very good player… still good things going to happen for the cheetahs this season…
@kingcorn(kingcorn)-139: Horrible player for any team to have.
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-140:
Mortlock the greatest since Gerber
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-140:
Yep.
4 May 2012, 13:14 pm
Wow,the Bulls get their 1st penalty of the 2nd half after 30 minutes.Rebels must be the most dissiplined team in the S15 this year.
4 May 2012, 13:14 pm
O, hi…last commented before the 2011 WC…I’m back now…and havent changed my view on Pee-er Spy-s
4 May 2012, 13:16 pm
Bulls cant defend
@Loftus(Loftus)-148:
The refs a cheat? that will depend on whether the Bulls win or not.
Rebels are not going to win this one unless they pull a moment of brilliance and converts a try. Bulls I think have won this match.
4 May 2012, 13:17 pm
@OUToftheBOKS(OUToftheBOKS)-149:
cool nic…
who do you support…?
4 May 2012, 13:18 pm
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-146:
Almost, but still a legend.
4 May 2012, 13:18 pm
@ufo(ufo)-144: Sias must just find the form of last year. That miss was horrible but it should never have come down to that kick. Some of the commitment from players on defence was shocking.
Stormers did well though. Massive respect for their performance last week.
4 May 2012, 13:21 pm
Sasuke – Sorry not Berrick Barnes, i meant Kurtley Beale, brilliant player
4 May 2012, 13:23 pm
Rebels kick any chance of a score away.
4 May 2012, 13:25 pm
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-155:
yeah… wasn’t sias’ fault… the whole team let in those three tries…
but he will step up… don’t worry about that…
4 May 2012, 13:25 pm
@Getafix(phil72)-150: But we score tries to win, with lots of bonus points to proof it. And your team?
4 May 2012, 13:26 pm
@ UFO. Thanks. 1. Boks. 2. Cheetahs. 3. Team with the most “ex Cheetahs” players (think currently the Sharks…but might be wrong. Bis, jdp, Paul Jordaan. Stormers: Liebenberg, Pietersen. Lions: CJ, Hollenbach. Bulls: Flip, Stegman, Venter, Morne Steyn, Bjorn (Griquas)….nah….there goes that theory…it has to be the sharks then!)
4 May 2012, 13:26 pm
Referee has had a great game, his assistants are of the usual IRB crappolla. Fair game rebels. Nice one Bulls, I’m a game closer to winning $17000
4 May 2012, 13:28 pm
Well done Bulls.
4 May 2012, 13:30 pm
well done bulls…
top of sa log…!!
@OUToftheBOKS(OUToftheBOKS)-160:
cool…
thanks
4 May 2012, 13:33 pm
I see Jessica Simpson in her pink boots singing
“these boots are made for walking
Walk all over you”
Top of the log boys, top of the log
4 May 2012, 13:34 pm
@OUToftheBOKS(OUToftheBOKS)-160:
Kirchner also griquas.
4 May 2012, 13:35 pm
M.Steyn is back!
4 May 2012, 13:38 pm
also well played to the rebels…
best game i’ve seen them play…
4 May 2012, 13:38 pm
And the Rebels had a great game.
Well done
4 May 2012, 13:42 pm
Does anyone think Spies didn’t have a terrible game? Another completely anonymous performance in a close game. Potgieter and Stander where in the trenches by themselves throughout.
4 May 2012, 13:42 pm
@Atlas(Atlas)-164: enjoy it….it will be short lived though.
4 May 2012, 13:44 pm
@ufo(ufo)-158: Sias is the least of my worries. The commitment and chatacter is what I am worried about. We also need a new coach next season. I know a lot of people do not agree but that’s my thoughts.
4 May 2012, 13:45 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-170: Top of the log maybe.
But not Simpson and I
4 May 2012, 13:48 pm
So Bullies held on for a win.
That’s a shame.
4 May 2012, 13:49 pm
i dont know where to begin or what to say about this bulls squads year so far….
4 May 2012, 13:50 pm
@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-161:
Good luck.
4 May 2012, 13:54 pm
@cane(cane)-173:
They nearly lost their pink bits……..
4 May 2012, 13:55 pm
Job done.
Tahs game next week will make or break this tour for us.
4 May 2012, 13:55 pm
Well done Bulls. Don’t care who you play… winning overseas is never easy. Great start!
4 May 2012, 13:59 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-174: Well to be fair the Rebels played extremely well tonight (by their usual standards) and have a couple of very talented players. They controlled the game for large parts in terms of dominating territory and possession. Bulls stupidly again kick kick and kick away posession against a team which was fairly dangerous on counterattack and not giving the ball up easily. Think the centres played awfully. Wynand Olivier as one dimensional as ever, JJ Engelbrecht was k@k. Bad defensively and clueless on attack. Kirchener also not a great game and Spies was anonymous as usual. That guy has so much potential and does so little. Its time he gets his butt kicked out of the Springboks but with Heyneke Meyer at the helm I doubt thats going to happen.
Flip vd Merwe also proving he´s way down in the Bok lock pecking order.
But to be fair Bulls did fairly well with so little posession and territory to win that one.
From a spectators point of view, this was a great game to watch. The Bullsdefence though, needs to get its act together. 6 and 7 are great going forward but the trio as a whole just aren’t doing their defensive jobs around the fringes or as backline cover.
@cane(cane)-173:
true, they should never have needed to hold on for nuthin.
this should have been 60+ to zip.
4 May 2012, 14:01 pm
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-171:
i think they just took their foot off the pedal as the stormers and bulls have done before them… i don;t think there’s anything wrong with their commitment at all… just one of those things south african sports teams seem to do…
4 May 2012, 14:04 pm
Congrats Bulls – HG got a draw for this game I see. Five tries apiece…
4 May 2012, 14:05 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-179: Jeez, but the Bulls are kak! No wonder we are were we are on the log
4 May 2012, 14:06 pm
@Atlas(Atlas)-184: That is just bad
4 May 2012, 14:07 pm
Top of the log Bulls.
Great stuff!
4 May 2012, 14:08 pm
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-178:
Never a truer word said C27.
Take any away win you get, bank the points and be glad.
Come Semi-Finals, it will not be how………………………………………….it will be how many.
4 May 2012, 14:09 pm
@Atlas(Atlas)-184: Dont be a dikhed man – at no point did I say the Bulls were kak. Theyve been playing great rugby this super 14 but there are a number of things they didnt execute well today that they wil need to tighten up. I picked out the underperfformers in the squad. Grow up.
4 May 2012, 14:10 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-181:
I had the Bulls to win by 13 plus.
4 May 2012, 14:10 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-179:
true, agreed on just about all of what you said.
it somehow just does not feel right when a five pointer by your team has such a sour taste in the mouth.
i’m even inclined to think they could have lost this if o’conner played.
@David(David)-180:
from a supporters point of view…. frustrating…very frustrating…. hierdie is nie n blou masjien nie…where’s the juggernaut of old..?…
4 May 2012, 14:11 pm
This website is so slow it is just like the bulls defence is anyone else having trouble with it being slow or is it just me.What are the positives from that game for the bulls they won with a bonus point and scored five tries,our two loosies potties and stander get better with every game the bulls do not miss steggman at the moment as stander is playing superbly and he does not give away penalties like steggman does,we scrummed reasonably well and our discipline was the best it has been for a while,apart from flip`s yellow card.He is nowhere near the form he showed when he got capped for the boks anybody got any ideas what the problem is.A win is a win but their defence will have to improve a lot to win more games.
4 May 2012, 14:11 pm
A win is a win – the bonus point just that. Any team will take that any day and any game.
4 May 2012, 14:12 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-188: I’m sorry, read your comment again. No way did you say we were kak. My bad
4 May 2012, 14:12 pm
@blueboy(blueboy)-191:
Very slow! Took me about ten minutes just to log on.
4 May 2012, 14:14 pm
@ufo(ufo)-182: The way guys were falling off tackles I’m not sure. The way Willie le Roux fell off the tackle for that last try was disgusting. And I see people putting him in their Bok team on this blog. I wonder if Ashley Johnson knows how the inside of a ruck looks? I watch the way the Stormers played last week and I wish Cheetahs would have that character. Injuries to senior players, very bad weather, last week of a long tour and they put in a performance like they did. Not a great performance but the youngsters stood up and won the game.
But enough of last week. Time to look forward. I get really bleak when I think of last week. Must win this week. Stormers have a bye so will get their 4 points. Then next week is the big one!!! lol
@Atlas(Atlas)-193:
Don’t be so sensitive mate! 5 points is
for the Bulls.
So my team is down to fourth. Eish!
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-176:
I see you are a Blues man Rangi.
I feel for Pat, as I believe he is a good Coach.
A Very good coach actually.
Just some of his Team not functioning as they should.
I hope Pat gets another year.
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-190: My main gripe is for every try they scored they coneded one in the next 5 minutes. Thats inexcusable.
You cant demoralise a team when you let them catch up all the time.
4 May 2012, 14:15 pm
With what the Bulls have to offer on attack they should never look back and try hold on to games. How difficult can it be to just put some effort into the defense? Oh yes, every other team’s #8 can defend. That’s the difference. Steyn having to do cover tackles. Where was Spies? Potties and CJ playing out of their skins. Carrying that entire forward pack on their own. Juandre I think needs a rest. Chili ditto. Major defensive organizational problems in the midfield. Olivier and JJ not gelling nicely as a combo on defense. Way too many holes there. Yes Beale is a great player, but surely…
4 May 2012, 14:15 pm
@blueboy(blueboy)-191: @Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-194:
I thought it was laptop.
But no so it seems.
4 May 2012, 14:16 pm
Well played Bulls.Could & should have won by far more,
but first time tackling by loosies
and backline centres almost non existent.
Conference points system is ludicrous.Stormers and Bulls
10 points more than an Oz..side yet one of them will not make
it to finals
4 May 2012, 14:17 pm
@cane(cane)-189:
only 13 plus…?…
honestly cane…. must you always be so insulting..?…
4 May 2012, 14:17 pm
@cane(cane)-200:
Must be Keo TV slowing things down
4 May 2012, 14:19 pm
I always look forward to Tac’s unbiased take on a Bulls performance…
4 May 2012, 14:20 pm
@cane(cane)-197:
Pat is a goner, no sympathy for him……. not enough of you Irish/Scots in the team…..need stayers
@cane(cane)-187: Exactly. Away win is never a given. Unless you playing the Lions. Even the Cheetahs lately… given 2 NZ teams (Chiefs and Landers) points in SA. Not good.
Nice win for you today… I’m assuming you support the Hurricanes.
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-196: Now you know how I felt all season. But it will be back to normal soon
4 May 2012, 14:21 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(The baastard formerly known as bakkies.)-202:
Options were:
- Draw
- Win by less than 13.
- Win by 13 or more.
Best I could do Bakkies.
4 May 2012, 14:22 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-204:
4 May 2012, 14:22 pm
@Atlas(Atlas)-207:
Yeah can only be good for SA rugby mate. That is what really counts after all.
4 May 2012, 14:23 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-209:
I guess you can’t wait either…
4 May 2012, 14:25 pm
Been waiting all day to see what Nikita will be up to on Keo TV. I guess Keo is punishing us…
4 May 2012, 14:25 pm
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-206:
You assume right.
Cheats became my favourite non-nz Team last year, for their enterprising and attractive rugby.
Great to see them lift themselves and their long suffering fans.
4 May 2012, 14:26 pm
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-195:
yip… notwithstanding your performance on saturday… i’m very nervous for out match-up…
yes, their tackling wasn’t the best that’s for sure…
agree with you about the stormers… i really like the obvious camaraderie and ‘playing for each other’ that is so evident amongst them… their really is a great team spirit that has evolved their over the last couple of years and is really good right now… attitude is so important in rugby and i was also very impressed with our guys against the force… really thought we may lose that one… but the heart the guys put into the match was awesome…
the 12th is gonna be a humdinger…!!
4 May 2012, 14:27 pm
The Bulls defence coach is going to be the ‘Boks defence coach?? Hopefully we get some Stormer’s defence tactics rather than what the Bulls have shown. Perhaps Jean de Villiers will make a difference, because the Bulls organisation on defence is just not right.
4 May 2012, 14:28 pm
@ufo(ufo)-214:
Me too mate! They are so unpredictable and many a SA team has ruined our chances, not withstanding the Lions.
4 May 2012, 14:31 pm
@cane(cane)-213: I think that is half the problem though. We give people wonderful entertainment but for us supporters it is not very entertaining when we 11th on the log. Yes we play great running rugby but everyone knows we not really a threat. We often underestimated and then get good wins against top teams but there is no consistency.
But this year has somehow seemed better. Hopefully we will take 5 vs the Force this week.
4 May 2012, 14:31 pm
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-205:
I thing you are right, Pat is a goner.
But if I was on the Blues Board, I’d vote for him to continue.
Auckland should cut all their “mercenaries” and stick to Northland, NH and Auckland boys.
If they cannot get a decent team out of that lot, something is wrong.
4 May 2012, 14:32 pm
Why was this so close
Thought it was going to be a pinkwash
4 May 2012, 14:32 pm
@cane(cane)-218:
P.S.
With the odd pinched Counties boy.
4 May 2012, 14:33 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-216:
they all seem to reserve their special performances for us hey…?
anyway… outta here…
good luck to the saffa teams tomorrow…
cheers all…
4 May 2012, 14:33 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-219:
Hi sugar.
4 May 2012, 14:35 pm
@ufo(ufo)-221:
Goodnight from the Pacific Rim UFO.
4 May 2012, 14:35 pm
What the Bulls are showing is that it takes a while to move to a different attacking approach and maintain the same defensive structures. The Stormers have the opposite problem. I think we’re seeing what HM envisages as the way he wants the Boks to play but McFarlane still needs to come to grips with creating a system that provides defence from attack as opposed to the Stormers problem of maintaining a defensive structure that can quickly change to attack.
4 May 2012, 14:36 pm
@ufo(ufo)-214: The 12th will be huge. Even with Goosen out, Sias is still a very good goal kicker. Just does not get the same kind of distance.
Really believe the Stormers can pull it off this year. Hope they do (after losing to us twice obviously) lol. But if the Stormers do fail I will be just as happy if the Bulls do it. Sharks not playing great but if they get a run going they could make top 6.
4 May 2012, 14:36 pm
@cane(cane)-223:
sleep tight bud…!!
4 May 2012, 14:37 pm
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-225:
from your lips top the almighty’s heart…!!
yeah, if we don’t will back the bulls 100%…
\
cheers mate
4 May 2012, 14:38 pm
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-225:
Such a breath of fresh air! I concur. We need to lift the Super 15, as no team ever has…
top = to…
sorry… rushing here…
The bulls would be sitting pretty now if i was not for that loss against the blues i still don`t know how they managed to beat us at loftus,i hope that defeat does not come back to bite us.
4 May 2012, 14:39 pm
@greentea(greentea)-151: No,I didn’t say he was a cheat,I said the Rebels have the best dissipline in the S15 this year – something I wasn’t aware of before the game
Should read no SA team ever has lifted the Super 15. Eish…
RYAN VREDE watched a fine attacking performance from the Bulls undermined by a poor defensive one in their 41-35 victory over the Rebels.
This headline doesnt make sense. Undermined by a poor defensive one would mean that they lost because of their poor defensive performance. They won Ryan.
And where is Keo TV its late!
4 May 2012, 14:41 pm
@cane(cane)-222:
The only sugar I will abide is Sir Alan Sugar
For the money
@ufo(ufo)-227: Yeah cheers mate. Have a good 1.
Da Fence was down for Rebels….
Problem around the scrum and with centres, I also don’t like the holding up of a players ala Stomers , the Strompies just does it better.
I prefur that they, tackle a player low , and steal the ball.
Interesting how, now , we are talking about the Bulls attack and Strompie defence, how things have changed
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-233:
Hell I’ve been on and off all day checking to see when it airs… Beyond late mate… Irritatingly late…
4 May 2012, 14:42 pm
No big worries as far as Bulls defence are concerned. Its a matter of making sure when a player commits to a channel he stays in that channel.
Three of the Rebel tries were scored in the same channel. Straight forward pillar and post at the breakdown point not being done. Easy to fix. Another problem is guys not commiting to the channel where they start the defensive line from. Once again, not that hard to fix.
What does concern me is that we do allow a guy like Beale to run freely…..Sarel Balsak Willemse and the likes will slaughter them if they continue in that vein.
4 May 2012, 14:43 pm
Dawn @ 219.Very clever
Keep well
4 May 2012, 14:44 pm
@cane(cane)-218:
Thankfully your not. Whoever are the talent scouts for Blues should be gone too. Counties got heaps of good talent, just waiting to be poached,….there maybe another Carlos down Horowhenua to.
I see the salivating for Joanne has started
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-238: Same thing twice in one post……farket I need to learn how to multitask……
4 May 2012, 14:45 pm
@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-239:
I am that clever
4 May 2012, 14:46 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-212:
There is theory Bill,
that Nikita is a ruse.
And Keo is playing with our emotions.
And/or,
Keo is desperate to generate more hits, so wheels out the Gorgeous Nikita.
Either way, I’m with you………………………………………..more Nikita please.
4 May 2012, 14:46 pm
@cane(cane)-208:
oh ok, thanks for clearing it up, cane.
4 May 2012, 14:47 pm
@cane(cane)-244:
Shame
You sound desperate
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-228: Just wish the Cheetahs could have made top 6 this year. Will always back SA teams. Strong Super 15 from most franchises means strong Boks. Lets hope so at least.
Hope the Sharks can pull it off vs Landers. So kind of payback for last week. lol
Daswn I am 73.Dont salivate,only dribble.
4 May 2012, 14:48 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-241: You think Keo will allow input from our side with regards to her outfit?
4 May 2012, 14:48 pm
@cane(cane)-244:
4 May 2012, 14:49 pm
@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-248:
Good grief shame man.
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-249:
Should I enquire? What would you like to see her wearing.
4 May 2012, 14:50 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-249:
Less boot and more – ah well…
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-225: Where do you think it will leave the Stormers if they do not make it this year?
@Dawn(Dawn)-251: A Bulls jersey
4 May 2012, 14:51 pm
@capebull(capebull)-253:
hmmm…. trying again next year I guess
4 May 2012, 14:51 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-254:
Pink?
4 May 2012, 14:52 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-251:
….body paint
4 May 2012, 14:54 pm
@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-248:
Are you Keo’s oldest blogger?
Bulls have won, Strompies won , now for Sharks , Cheetas and LIONS
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-255: That’s so 2001
4 May 2012, 14:55 pm
@capebull(capebull)-260:
Rub it in mate!
4 May 2012, 14:56 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-256: Ok
4 May 2012, 14:57 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-241: No I want to laugh at Ryan.
4 May 2012, 14:57 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-258:
I would guess the Gerber13 bloke! He talks about games played in the 30′s…
4 May 2012, 14:58 pm
@capebull(capebull)-253: Well the Stormers have some really good youngsters coming through atm as do the Bulls. If they don’t make it I can’t see much changing. Might make 1 or 2 signings but who knows. Hopefully everyone just leaves the Cheetahs players alone. lol.
Lets just hope they do take it though. Or the Bulls. I really don’t care what people say about the brand of rugby being played by the Stormers. They winning and that is what matters.
4 May 2012, 14:59 pm
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-240:
Carlos,
Now there was a man who loved to play rugby.
What Einstein was to fuzzy hair,
What Paul Hogan was to Aussie self esteem,
What Kim.com is to Weight Watchers.
What Houston We Have A Problem stands for, in the field of reasoned and sound debate.
Carlos was rugby joy personified.
4 May 2012, 15:00 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-249:
well thats an easy one… fark the outfit… i’d prefer to judge ‘that’ book without the cover….
4 May 2012, 15:00 pm
Didn’t see the game, but 5 points in the bag.
Now if by some stroke of fortune we are able to get a win from the next game, we will suddenly be sitting very pretty going into the NZ leg of the tour.
4 May 2012, 15:02 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-246:
A little bit of fun never hurt anyone Dear.
4 May 2012, 15:03 pm
Forgot to set the PVR to record, so I called home this morning, trying to explain to the maid how to work the PVR remote using the “Information” button, then the arrow button to scroll down past “Rugby Chat” until it said Vodacom Super Rugby – Bulls vs Rebels.
And then had to remember where the record button is to get her to press it.
I’m hoping for the best, but I have a strong suspicion that the operation was a failure – valiant as the attempt was.
So I’ll just have to hope there is a rebroadcast sometime, like in the pre-PVR days.
4 May 2012, 15:03 pm
Cheers all. Got 2 go. All the best to all SA teams and once again… Well done BULLS. 5 points in the bag.
4 May 2012, 15:06 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-270:
The maid?????
@Dawn(Dawn)-272:
What?
@cane(cane)-266:
why thanks cane… is that a compliment..?.. i’m a bit slow to understand it..fok ..?..
either way, carlos spencer is one kiwi i will always have a soft spot for…always thrilled me to watch him at play… just the guile and classiness of his moves…he’s right up there imo.
quade clearly grew up wishing he could be like carlos when he grows up.
4 May 2012, 15:07 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-270:
Magtag
If it means that much to you set the frigging thing last night already
Instead of asking your “maid” to do it and terrifying the living daylights out of the poor woman.
4 May 2012, 15:07 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-257:
Naked from from the waist up.
4 May 2012, 15:08 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-273:
The new term is “domestic worker”
Like Artist’s Maevis.
4 May 2012, 15:08 pm
@cane(cane)-276:
Waist down?
4 May 2012, 15:09 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-270: Usually Monday mornings they show the full game.
4 May 2012, 15:10 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-275:
Sorry. I was busy, and forgot.
Must admit, halfway through the phone call the realisation dawned on me that I had made a big mistake. But to just say “never mind” at that point have hurt her feelings, so I had to push through.
Let’s see whether there is a recording waiting for me when I get home.
Didn’t mean to make her life difficult.
4 May 2012, 15:10 pm
Tries for:
Canes 34
Bulls 33-21
Brumbies 27-17
Chiefs 24-9
Strompies 16-9
Lions 12- plenty
I thought Chiefs scored more.
4 May 2012, 15:11 pm
Dawn @ 251. Probably the worlds.But you
guys help in keeping
geriatric dementia at bay.(Still have most of my teeth.)No ,thats a lie.Stay terse & laconic and lets remember Charlie Chaplin
who amazingly became a father in his 90,s
Bulls leaked 21 tries , 10 in last 2 games
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-280:
What is her name?
You underestimate her. Would it surprise you to know they all have DSTV.
4 May 2012, 15:12 pm
@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-282:
Terse and laconic.
Willdo
4 May 2012, 15:12 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-274:
Quade is a natural player of unspeakable potential.
If he can stay free of major injuries and is not Coached out of his natural game.
Aussie have a gem to polish.
4 May 2012, 15:16 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-278:
No that would be crude and vulgar.
so would waist up…………………………………………………but slightly less so.
4 May 2012, 15:18 pm
Welcome to the top of the log Bulls.
It’s rarefied air up there.
Don’t get too used to it
We’ll be claiming it back soon
Oh, and congratulations.
4 May 2012, 15:19 pm
@cane(cane)-286:
yip.
thankfully for him, and perhaps for our enjoyment as fans of the game too, if theres one country that wont coach hom out of his natural game, its oz.
winning at all costs is not the be all and end all for the wallabies in the way it is for sa and nz as much maybe.
4 May 2012, 15:20 pm
Aaagg Quade blows hot and cold
4 May 2012, 15:21 pm
Where is Tacitus now
I get the feeling Mark couldn’t afford to keep her!
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-288:
the airs always thin up at loftus…. nothing new there…
4 May 2012, 15:22 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-292:
Shame man
You really are disappointed
She was here last night and had to rush off.
@Dawn(Dawn)-290:
like the wallabies…?…
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-293: Touche.
Hands off.
It’s our turn.
4 May 2012, 15:23 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-294:
Yeah! A tad but at least you are here.
Rush off???
4 May 2012, 15:24 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-295:
Nothing wrong with the way the Wallabies play
They are better than us
4 May 2012, 15:24 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-288: For your sake I hope they don’t choke again come crunch time but I reckon by now there should be more than enough ‘old heads’ in the mix to keep things together.
Stormers and Bulls to fly the flag high for SA. The rest, well………
4 May 2012, 15:25 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-296:
Howzit Buddy! Such a boring weekend without the Stormers…
4 May 2012, 15:28 pm
Any serious injuries today?
I hear Potgieter and Olivier left the field. Did it look serious?
4 May 2012, 15:28 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-297:
“275.Nikita:
3 May 2012, 21:22 pm Sorry guys and girls I have been ordered to leave. Speak tomorrow.”
4 May 2012, 15:29 pm
Joanne was ordered to leave.
They mustn’t try that with me.
4 May 2012, 15:30 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-302:
4 May 2012, 15:31 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-298:
better?
like a 52% ratio better?
4 May 2012, 15:32 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-300: All I’m glad about is not having to sit through 80 min of Habana’s attempts at an Oscar……Fark he irretates me with his bloody sideshows. Plays a lot better this year and seems to have some form but his acting skills really go for a ball of sh it.
4 May 2012, 15:34 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-306:
Agree! He would have been a great soccer player. His form has been good this year.
4 May 2012, 15:35 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-301: Olivier, no but Potgieter looked like his knee was seriously buggered
4 May 2012, 15:36 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-297: keo told her to stop whoring herself out to the bloggers…..they need to crave you
4 May 2012, 15:36 pm
Tacitus @ @301.Pogieter was down for a long time with what
looks like a knee injury.Aussie commentators very complimentary
about him.
4 May 2012, 15:37 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-301: Potgieter might be injured but he seemed better after the match when the players shook hands.
Flip vdM was carded and could get a few weeks though.
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-309:
@Dawn(Dawn)-302:
ag the women use those sort of excuses all the time.
she probably wanted to get to her boyfriend or some camps bay eatery so just used a sheap excuse.
4 May 2012, 15:38 pm
@Beertjie(Beertjie)-311:
Was it a punch or just handbags?
4 May 2012, 15:39 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-313:
Is that a NZ excuse of a cheap excuse?
4 May 2012, 15:39 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-305:
I dont deal in numbers
I deal in what I see
4 May 2012, 15:40 pm
Sheep or cheap – vingers werk nie lekker nie.
4 May 2012, 15:41 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-314: It looked like nothing to me but you never know with these things. Once a guy gets carded then it automatically gets reviewed and then it is really a lottery from there. Also, i think after three cards you’re automatically in trouble and old Flip had a few cards already.
4 May 2012, 15:41 pm
I guess we should all down tools and go slow…
4 May 2012, 15:43 pm
@Beertjie(Beertjie)-318:
Yeah and the Ozzie pannel don’t take too lightly to SAFAS
4 May 2012, 15:43 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-315:

thats funny on a few levels.
cos everybody knows the kiwis ‘order’ their sheep.
4 May 2012, 15:44 pm
@Beertjie(Beertjie)-318:
Proper uppercut my man. Clear as day on the replay.
Considering his history he’ll get a week or two at least.
@Beertjie(Beertjie)-318:
Thanks.
I’d rather have him get a card against the Force than against the Highlanders or Chiefs, and it was bound to happen, with his disciplinary record.
Just think we need an additional lock option as backup, and I’m not talking about Gerrit jan van Velze.
Maybe time for Vic to fly over as cover?… …
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-321:
Exactly
4 May 2012, 15:45 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-315: lol
4 May 2012, 15:46 pm
what is Fireman’s like on a Friday?
4 May 2012, 15:47 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-320:
ag look, it is my firm view that the ozzie panels dont take lightly to saffas only cos they’d rather illtreat us than have to put up with the kiwi side of the panel whining and bitching to them about ‘dirty saffa’ transgressions.
4 May 2012, 15:48 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-323: Now that would be interesting…
4 May 2012, 15:48 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-326:
Like it is from Sunday through to Thursday I guess!
4 May 2012, 15:49 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-323: Lock is a big concern for us. We have been very lucky so far.
I think the Victor Matfield comeback is over.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-326:
Hey, I drove past that Fireman’s place when I was in Cape Town a few weeks ago – unless there’s more than one of them.
Immediately thought of the Keo locals hanging out there.
never been there bill,more info please
4 May 2012, 15:50 pm
@Beertjie(Beertjie)-330:
Rob Houwing isn’t an authority on anything.
Victor’s comeback may or may not be over, but Houwing’s opinion doesn’t make it more or less likely, as his opinion isn’t worth *****.
4 May 2012, 15:51 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-327:
before you go befok pops, i forgot the
(smiley face)
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-332: @Tacitus(Deucalion)-331:
It is right opposite the Keo Mansions.
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-329: lol
4 May 2012, 15:54 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-333: I saw his opinion on it, but i thought the same earlier already. Time is running out for Vic. There is only a few games left for him to make a comeback. I cannot see Meyer selecting him with no game time under the belt.
4 May 2012, 15:55 pm
Cheers peeps I am outta here. Enjoy the rest of this rugby weekend. Pity my Stormers are not playing.
4 May 2012, 15:56 pm
@Beertjie(Beertjie)-337:
That was HM’s red herring! Wanted people to get distracted. I think the JdV comment may be one too. I think he is eyeing the chosen who runs through walls… I hope I’m wrong…
i am here by n1 city,any good spots in the area
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-338:
Cheers Bud! Yeah the weekend is not the same if the Stormers aren’t playing…
4 May 2012, 15:57 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-340:
The N1 North about now. A hive of activity.
4 May 2012, 15:57 pm
Who do the Stormers play next?
4 May 2012, 15:58 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-339: Injuries will make most of his selections for him.
@Beertjie(Beertjie)-330:
well, his comeback was never really about the bulls and was rather about the boks. he would have played himself back to match fitness for the boks by playing a few games for the bulls at super level, i suppose.
the problem with regard to his comeback has to do with irb regulation issues that govern a players retirement from international rugby apparently. it would seem that if a player officially announces his retirement he is obliged to wait a minimum number of months (i dont know how many) before being allowed to ‘come out of retirement’. theres also paperwork and bearuacratic issues too perhaps.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-343:
Cheaters at Newlands.
4 May 2012, 16:00 pm
bearuacratic = bureaucratic
4 May 2012, 16:01 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-340:
Are you still here
4 May 2012, 16:02 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-346:
Damn. Couldn’t Goosen have waited until AFTER the Stormers game to get injured..
4 May 2012, 16:03 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-349:
What is your maid’s name
4 May 2012, 16:06 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-350:
No Dawn, I don’t give out personal details on the interweb.
Call her Florence. It’s as good a name as any.
4 May 2012, 16:08 pm
Okay
4 May 2012, 16:11 pm
florence the domestic executive.
4 May 2012, 16:12 pm
Imagine Florence with Tac on the other end of the line frantically talking her through PVR recording!
Shame man!
4 May 2012, 16:16 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-354:
Ja, it’s strange how you can use a remote daily without thinking, but when you have to try and remember where the record button or the information button is located and explain it to someone, then you have to resort to using muscle memory in your thumb to try and mimic the action to jog your memory.
Was quite a story.
4 May 2012, 16:16 pm
too close for comfort! Missed the game, and no time to read through the entire thread: would be very much appreciated if someone can let me know performance of the following guys:
Spies
Chilli
Stander
Engelbrecht
PLEASE HELP!
4 May 2012, 16:20 pm
The Goose is the future.The way Morne played today(master class) he
remains the present.
4 May 2012, 16:25 pm
Outof the Boks. Chili his usual steady game.Except for one break out
nothing spectacular.
Engelbrecht played fairly well.
Spies invisible.
Stander awesome.Would not let Boks down
4 May 2012, 16:25 pm
@OUToftheBOKS(OUToftheBOKS)-356: Spies: Absolutely outstanding (Man of the Match)
Chilli: Magnificent. Scored 17 tries.
Stander: Fantastic. Scored only one try but had a hand in at least 24 others, including some of the Rebels’ tries.
Engelbrecht: He booked himself a place in the Bok team – totally smashing display.
4 May 2012, 16:28 pm
Now there’re two different views
4 May 2012, 16:29 pm
Dont help outtheboks at all.
4 May 2012, 16:31 pm
Wait until Monday
Tacitus will give you the objective version
4 May 2012, 16:31 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-361: He is new here. He should get used to widely differing views. The only rule here is to never be objective or factual.
4 May 2012, 16:32 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-359:
You left out Spies 57 destructive tackles.
4 May 2012, 16:39 pm
funny. not so new…been here for quite a while actually…don’t comment often…last comment probably sometime before the 2011 WC. someone upset me so badly, i just lost it and shut the H e ll up…until now.
Thanks for the info. will check the re-runs.
Thus, Chilli solid. as always. will watch bis with some interest tomorrow then (along with Adriaan). JJ…up to date, been solid (but hype not warranted my humble opion…same as Sadie). Spies – lets just say last before the WC, I had a massive argument with someone: but still it appears that supporters of him (his play) should lift their heads from spies’ lap and remove the blinkers (great person though). Overrated. And Stander: one for the future it appears. But some distance to go.
4 May 2012, 16:40 pm
@David(David)-364: Tacitus will provide the finer detail. I forgot to mention that he cleaned out 722 rucks and made 68 line breaks. He said during the post match interview that he was “proud of the boys”. Based on his high standards, all of them must’ve been great.
4 May 2012, 16:41 pm
has grant10 been active today? Want to find out if he will be going to watch the Barney’s Army game in Dirtbin…he’s a huge fan I remember
4 May 2012, 16:42 pm
O, and he LOVE’s spies!
4 May 2012, 16:44 pm
@OUToftheBOKS(OUToftheBOKS)-365: Are you Grant10 in disguise? (I hope you are not too upset with my analysis.)
By the way, Adriaan Strauss is not in the same league as Bismarck and Chilli. He should learn to pass the ball. Frustrates me endlessly.
4 May 2012, 16:46 pm
has anyone else noticed how the Bulls are playing “WP rugby” lately and the Stormers are playing “Bulls Rugby”?
4 May 2012, 16:47 pm
Back in the day, when Spies started his Super Ruggas career, he was out at wing. Think they went on tour. They were absolutely smashed by a NZ team (think it was the Blues, but not sure). Apparently, after the game, coach asked who was intimidated by the big running backs. Spies did a “pick me, pick me”…didn’t play for the bulls for a while after that.
He is getting lost in a loose game then…invisible…a game his tremendous and powerful running game should thrive in. And yet….ai. COME ON! I’ll just leave it there. But when he is appointed as Bok captain, we will poooo our pants again. I seriously think he is going to be the captain….but ja….such is life.
4 May 2012, 16:47 pm
and how good was stander, he had a belter.
4 May 2012, 16:49 pm
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-370: I think the Bulls pink jerseys confused you.
4 May 2012, 16:52 pm
also Beale was the difference in the Rebels, he was awesome, and it gave the 9 more confidence,and it will help Mortlock wreak havoc.
this team is no longer a bunch of easybeats, mark my words.
4 May 2012, 16:52 pm
nope…but I loved the analysis. Pretty entertaining. Just enjoyed Grant10′s rants!
To be completely honest…Strauss is a completely different player than the Bis, but definitely in the league of Chilli. Bis a step ahead.
Adriaan is a clever player. And a good leader. The players at the Cheetahs have the utmost respect for him. Apparently they prefer playing with him as cappie rather than Juan…and that I was told by some of the players. In fat, I have played with Adriaan some moons ago. He is a bloody good oke to have around when times get tough!
4 May 2012, 16:54 pm
S h i t s…been on here so long ago: please explain to me how to comment on someone’s comment (you know, the @whoever the poep h o l thingy at the beginning of a comment)?
@OUToftheBOKS(OUToftheBOKS)-371: Meyer hasn’t mentioned Spies as a possible captain – yet.
One thing that worries me about Meyer is the way he discusses individual players in the media. Unprofessional and dangerous.
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-370:
You know, for a while, the Bulls resembled the Crusaders on attack and Morne, Carter.
4 May 2012, 16:56 pm
but then again…what the h e ll happened against the Highlanders…that completely contradicts my comment @375!
I just know tomorrow is going to be goooood! got a bloody good feeling about the Sharks. Think its going to be a cracker!
4 May 2012, 16:59 pm
@OUToftheBOKS(OUToftheBOKS)-376: Click on the top right arrow next to a comment.
Not to many bloggers around at the moment so it is actually not necessary to use the arrows. (I don’t know why, but when I decide to join in, I seem to kill off threads.)
4 May 2012, 17:03 pm
@ 377 Finfan (please let me know how to blerrie do the reply to a comment thing – for the life of me, I cant remember!). Correct, he hasn’t mentioned spies as a possible captain….but I really think Spies is going to be his man. Unfortunately. Again, captain chosen before team…ala John Smit. Make team, then be captain! But I have been holding my breath since 2007 for Spies to deliver on potential…non existent. Remember a game against the Irish…think he was handed of 3 times…one game…or something like that…and then, the next game in tri nations agains the AB’s (think it was in Rustenburg…) he had a blinder…and all previous forgotton (not by me though). Since then, nothing to write home about.
Agree. Should not be discussing individuals with the media. That will surely come back to bite him. But at least his one on one’s with the players are very well received by the players themselves.
4 May 2012, 17:04 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-380: !!! YES! Thanks.
4 May 2012, 17:09 pm
Thanks lads! I need to bolt! But, we can discuss this next week: players I think to watch this weekend – and will be good:
SHARKS:
Bis
Coetzee
Jordaan
Cheetahs (my team):
NO GOOSEN – will be interesting to see how Sias goes – but I do rate him though)
Coenie
Brussouw (going to be huge against Poc o c k)
Lions:
Bleh, not bothering watching this one!
Have a good weekend!
4 May 2012, 17:22 pm
@Finfan(Finfan)-380:
I doubt whether there are many bloggers still glued to their computers at 5.00pm on a Friday.
4 May 2012, 17:47 pm
GO SHARKS.
4 May 2012, 18:04 pm
We got our 5 points. Now its going to get tough. Still very pleased. Morne had a hell of a game, so did Hougie, Potties ( hope his OK ) and CJ.
4 May 2012, 18:21 pm
Stupid phone. Won’t refresh. And no its not a Nokia like Skops’
4 May 2012, 18:26 pm
Atleast my backlight still work on this ****
4 May 2012, 18:28 pm
Why the concern about Morne Steyns kicking form? He also kicked brilliantly last game.
4 May 2012, 18:36 pm
Not great but 5 points in the bag…
4 May 2012, 19:27 pm
5 tries each and 2 penalties extra for the bullieboys
was this a safrican ref by any chance?
sieves and leaks comes to my mind.. oh where have all the harde baarde gone?
4 May 2012, 21:21 pm
pink bulls was lucky ,rebels speel sonder 4 van hulle top spelers en staan 5 driee af ag asb ,spies het nou en dan aan die bal gevat maar doen nog nie sy werk as n 8ste man ,hulle laaste 3 games op toer hulle gaan nie 1 game verder wen nie ,en die kings lol moet eers currie cup speel dan ja kan sarfu besluit ja of nee ,go stormers ,
4 May 2012, 21:32 pm
eish now the bulls were lucky??
hell people they won over there after just having travelled and with a bonus point? surely thats the aim?
Congrats to the Bulls and their supporters, Morne Steyn was brilliant on the day
4 May 2012, 22:24 pm
Watching the Kings/Puma’s match and i struggle to find a reason why the Kings should plaay Super rugby???? Surely they should have to prove themselves first???
Last week they lost to the Sharks B team? this week the Puma’s etc,
4 May 2012, 22:26 pm
The Bulls scraped home against the weakest Ozzie team – who are missing a couple of first choice players. That was the easiest game of their tour. For their sake I hope they just had an off day.
4 May 2012, 22:39 pm
Not many teams concede over 100 points in three games win them all… Congrats to the Bulls but their defence needs to improve if they are to have a good tour.
Also wtf why was that rebel player not given a red card for his tip tackle!
4 May 2012, 22:52 pm
@OUToftheBOKS(OUToftheBOKS)-365: Actually Engelbrecht was pretty k@k and his combination with Wynand Olivier in midfield was responsible for some serious defensive lapses – he knocked ona few times and didnt do anything special at all. Not a centre by a mile.
4 May 2012, 22:55 pm
@Atlas(Atlas)-193: Nice one – appreciate the apology.
4 May 2012, 23:18 pm
I was there….great atmosphere and a good game to introduce ausie mates to rugby amazing how many Bulls supporters there were…The Carlton drafts went down lekker an i got an even lekkerder headache this morning!!! Hou die blou al lyk hy pienk!!!!
4 May 2012, 23:23 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-397:
I agree,Engelbrecht at 13 is weak link. Not a 13,hands also let him down badly.Got handled vs Brumbies as well. Whats happened to wunderkind Sadie? Not seeming like he is the epic talent he was made out to be especially with the hefty purse hes being paid at Bulls….Return on investment…..
CJ stander is a stud at 6…superb,so is J.Potgieter. Flip vd Merwe is below par,lacks any polish in any of the things h does..plus his discipline is poor.Where is Cornell Hess?
Dean Greyling has been a man mountain all season, developing into a fine loosehead.
5 May 2012, 01:16 am
congrats bulls.we can all bleat and lament about your defense but at the end of the day you got the five points that matters.
5 May 2012, 02:10 am
Why wasnt the bulls player not given a red for that punch!
5 May 2012, 03:52 am
The ugly – Pierre spies. this guy is absolute rubbish. he was no where in this game. hardly ran the ball, cant give a decent hand off and his tackling technique is worse than morne steyn and thats saying something. Spies disappearance from the game led to houggie making 21 tackles!!!! no scrumhalf should never make that many tackles but it shows how he had to cover for spies the whole game.
DEFENCE was shiiiiittte. Is the bulls defence coach the new boks coach? this guy is terrible. Where was the ruck and close defence. There were holes everywhere! why no bring in Stormers defence coach for the BOks?
Bulls NEED Deon Steggman back. This guy needs to replace Spies. The bulls seriously lack a fetcher and therefore are not able to slow the ball down at the breakdown. This is exactly the type of play that Beale loved.
Why the hell is JJ playing centre. why is he playing instead of Sadie. SADIE IS A CENTRE AND JJ IS A WING SO PLAY THEM IN THEIR PROPER POSITIONS!!!!!!!! JJ is not able to create space for his team and does not pass. He is a GREAT winger but not a great centre. PLUS his defence today was shocking.
THe good – Fransois Hougaard – great game my man. 21 tackles!!!!! must be a super rugby record for a back! HOwever, it would be nice to see u snipe around the ruck a bit more or go blindside as u have the speed. but GREAT game overall. First player i would name on the teamsheat.
The brilliant – CJ STANDER. this guy is GREAT. hard as nails. tackles like crazy and has a strong, low running technique (unlike the Pierre “the wimp” spies). When Stegman returns, Stander better not be relegated to the bench. Spies needs to leave the 22 entirely. I have heard that Bulls Kenyan flanker is rather good, Danial Adongo. Why not give him a shot on the bench?
Summing up my rant, yes we got the 5 pointer. However, we were playing the rebels. this sort of terrible defence will be destoryed by the like of Kahui, SBW and Cruden ( as JJ and olivier cant communicate). Tamalolo will power past the gain line on every run and Spies will be no where to be seen.
Best bulls team for the rest of the season and PLayoffs (hopefully):
1. Greyling
2. Ralapelle
3. Kruger
4. Flip (this guy was also terrible. didnt see him the whole game)
5. Kruger (needs to control disapline)
6. Stegman
7. Potgeiter
8. Stander
9. Hougie
10. Steyn
11. Basson
12. Olivier
13. Sadie
14. JJ
15. Kircher
5 May 2012, 07:36 am
@ wallabie………you call that a punch? it was a little poke in the ribs FFS. Harden TFU dude
5 May 2012, 08:17 am
@jackbill(jackbill)-403:
Danial Adongo will be a Springbok. Reminds me of a young Jerry Collins.
Any news on Adongo? if fit, should be getting gametime. VERY disappointed with Spies lack of influence in games recently. NOT imposing himself as much as I would like.
CJ Stander – a young Wahl Bartmann in the making. Improvement in his fetching skills and be good coming off the bench. BOks not much depth at 6 or backup for Heinrich.
5 May 2012, 08:23 am
@jackbill(jackbill)-403:
As a Stormer I can honestly say that most teams want to play against Spies. He adds no value.
Saying that as a Bok I don’t want him near the Bok team as he adds no value and his game has deteriorated from a once up and coming player, to one who never reached those heights.
The Bulls can play him week in and week out, but please nowhere near the Bok team. Pretty please.
5 May 2012, 08:24 am
CJ Stander is superb. Watch the Bulls coach drop him for Steggman and keep Spies.
5 May 2012, 08:29 am
I also think VdMerwe might get some time off. Just watched his punch.
5 May 2012, 09:12 am
He was lifted and forced into the ground on his shoulder. Dangerous.
He should get a few more weeks off.
Now there seems to a bit of silence on here about the punch that was thrown and connected.
Last week i believe it was the end of the world, now it seems you guys missed the yellow card for the punch.
He will also get at least 3 weeks. And dont cry either.
5 May 2012, 22:55 pm
a few weeks off for Flip may be the best thing for him. he must get his head together.
that punch was just stupid and deserves a punishment.
6 May 2012, 20:12 pm
“Why wasnt the bulls player not given a red for that punch!”
heh