Cheetahs edge feeble Force
5 May 2012
GARETH DUNCAN reports on the Cheetahs’ unconvincing 17-13 win over the Force in Bloemfontein.
A win is a win, but head coach Naka Drotske won’t be raving about his team’s performance against the errant Force.
They should’ve cruised to victory as the visitors’ were ill-disciplined, starved of possession and played in their own territory for most parts of the match. However, the men from Bloemfontein uncharacteristically lacked accuracy and composure on attack. They showed flashes of elusiveness and broke the Force defence on numerous occasions, but their poor finishing cost them.
Flyhalf Sias Ebersohn also disappointed from the kicking tee, missing three of his six goal attempts. It’s clear that injured pivot Johan Goosen is a major loss as he spearheaded the team effectively and provided a reliable boot. Drotske will be hoping that Ebersohn rediscovers the magic that he showcased in 2011 as the player is struggling with form and confidence.
With an evenly-contested battle between the heavies up front, the first half was a kicking contest as all the points were scored via penalties. Ebersohn and flyhalf David Harvey traded goal kicks before scrumhalf Tewis de Bruyn added a late three-pointer to give the Cheetahs a 9-6 half-time lead.
The Force did cross the chalk during the opening 40 through wing Napolioni Nalaga, but the try was disallowed after referee Stu Berry was informed by his assistant about foul play from tighthead prop Salesi Ma’afu on eighthman Philip van der Walt earlier in the move.
Shortly after the restart, the Force grabbed a try against the run of play. Centre Winston Stanley charged down fullback Hennie Daniller’s clearance and collected the loose ball for an easy run to the whitewash.
It wasn’t long before the Cheetahs regained the lead as they camped inside the tourist’s red zone thereafter. After being frustrated by their own poor decision-making and the Force’s disobedience on defence, the home side finally scored their try when skipper Adriaan Strauss dived over in the corner. Ebersohn missed the following conversion, but nailed a long-range penalty to secure his side a four-point buffer.
Both teams had scoring opportunities in the final quarter, but untidy play saw them fail to add to their tallies. The Cheetahs were able to hold on for a much-needed win, but one they won’t be proud of. The Stormers will beat them in Cape Town next weekend if they deliver a similar display.

132 Comments
5 May 2012, 18:40 pm
Cheetahs!!!
5 May 2012, 18:49 pm
go cheetahs…!!!!
5 May 2012, 18:56 pm
@ufo(ufo)-2:
Yip, my second favourite SA team.
Poco ck versus Brussow should be good- personally I think Po **** is the better of the two but lets see how they go tonight.
I hope Elvis (Force no 16 ) gets a chance tonight to show off his blue suede shoes
5 May 2012, 19:00 pm
Rob @ 3
yeah… and they are playing good rugby… they must forget last week and just stick to what they do best…
DP is having a very good season… heinrich not as great as in the past but still very good to… their battle perhaps the highlight of the game to come..
5 May 2012, 19:04 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-3:
Pocock is a more complete player, in my opinion.
5 May 2012, 19:06 pm
The stadium looks less than half full. What’s up with their supporters?
5 May 2012, 19:06 pm
Go Cheetahs.
Got them by 10. They’re a great attacking team to watch. But the D will have to be huge tonight.
5 May 2012, 19:10 pm
“Lots of talk about Adriaan Strauss for Bok captain”…. Interesting..
5 May 2012, 19:11 pm
@David(David)-6: Many of them started supporting other teams a couple years back..
5 May 2012, 19:13 pm
@Guns(Guns)-8:
That’s commentators talk.
Jean seems to be favoured right now.
5 May 2012, 19:13 pm
Come on witkoppe….
5 May 2012, 19:14 pm
@Guns(Guns)-8: Lots of talk about that where ? Weskoppies ?
5 May 2012, 19:15 pm
@David(David)-6: It’s half price on ribs night at the Spur. In Bloemfontein, the Spur is like the biggest attraction. When I used to go there on business, I would stand and wait for a table – even in the week….prime attraction….Spur…
5 May 2012, 19:17 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-10:
Yeah, can you imagine the bissie fit?
5 May 2012, 19:19 pm
Oooooo Dusky’s here
5 May 2012, 19:21 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-13:
hehe- when i did national service many years ago I once went there to take part in a defence force-cricket tournament. At that stage the biggest attraction was the local putt-putt course, the whole bloem used to hang out there, lol.
5 May 2012, 19:22 pm
@Guns(Guns)-8:
never
How can you leave out Bismark
Pick the team then the captain
5 May 2012, 19:24 pm
Everyone outta da water!
5 May 2012, 19:24 pm
Chelsea 2-0 wtf.
5 May 2012, 19:30 pm
good stuff sias…!!!!
5 May 2012, 19:30 pm
Anyone got a streaming link? None of my links are working!!!
5 May 2012, 19:31 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-19:
Why are you surprised? It’s only Liverpool.
5 May 2012, 19:32 pm
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-21:
yes Vipbox.tv
5 May 2012, 19:33 pm
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-21:
Click the buzzin tv link
5 May 2012, 19:33 pm
@David(David)-22:
Do not rub it in
5 May 2012, 19:35 pm
27 @ 21
try http://www.vipbox.tv
5 May 2012, 19:37 pm
Caroll !! 1- 2
5 May 2012, 19:37 pm
@David(David)-14:
Jean will be in the Bok team. Whether at 12 or 13 because HM is going to go for experience. And very possibly as captain. that is my choice.
And Bissie must look after Bissie. He has competition this year despite John Smit being off the scene.
5 May 2012, 19:46 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-28:
I agree. HM needs his experience for this tour.
5 May 2012, 19:47 pm
Thanks guys. Got it…
5 May 2012, 19:51 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-28:
Yes agreed too
Possibly at 13 if lambie is at 15 and F steyn at 12
Seems headed that way
5 May 2012, 19:52 pm
@ufo(ufo)-4: Brussow has been very good, plays the laws much better than pocock who was outclassed badly by hooper.
5 May 2012, 19:54 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-28: bissie has been pretty awful and jean passed it time to look to the future and blood some new players i reckon ebersohn at 13 is a pretty good option. fransie should take 12 and lambie on the bench covering 12 and 15. im not sure who our best 15 is but i dont think its lambie. pietersen or kirchner maybe?? wish we had a dagg in the ranks.
5 May 2012, 19:57 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-33:
Please not Kirchner
Taute or lambie or for the future Coetzee (Lions)
5 May 2012, 19:59 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-34: hmmm taute? not so sure. lambie is too scared and nervy looks a lot like ruan when he played 15. he screwed up that try against australia as well kirchner would have timed his run perfectly and scored that one for certain. kirchner is our best attacking fullback and joe a tactical master like monty was. id go for another monty at test level.
5 May 2012, 19:59 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-31:
I prefer Frans Steyn at 12. And there has to be a place for Jean – even at 13.. And people forget that Lambie is the current Bok 15.
They haven’t all played together in that set-up but that is one I would favour. With any choice of wings outside whether Aplon, Habana, JJ engelbrecht, Joe Petersen, JP Pietersen.
5 May 2012, 20:00 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-31:
I think 15 is still open for a number of players for this tour. Apart from Frans if HM keeps Jean at 12, there’s also Gio and Kirchner’s been playing well this year. I reckon Lambie may end up as bench cover for a number of positions.
5 May 2012, 20:00 pm
Guys help me out here. the try of the Force was disallowed because of foul play beforehand, The ref ask the touchie if the foul play influence the play leading to the try. Surely that is irrelevant as the foul play occur before the try was scored ?
5 May 2012, 20:01 pm
Liverpool have been robbed by the ref
Shocking
5 May 2012, 20:03 pm
@viewer(viewer)-39:
For sure- it was clearly over the line.
5 May 2012, 20:03 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-35:
There’s an option from Iaas Joe Peietersen at 15
Tuate is big and solid and has guts and plays hard got a great boot too
Wings I think Habana and JP because he is going for experience
5 May 2012, 20:04 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-40:
Hey Rob I think the whole ball must go over the line
We don’t see fair sporting contests anymore in most teams sports
Rugby is a major culprit too
What a kaka game so far. Cheetahs ready to capitulate?
5 May 2012, 20:07 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-42:
They need to make use of modern technology- i mean it is the biggest game in the world and they do not want to use technology? – i think the whole ball went over the line but I am a liverpool supporter
5 May 2012, 20:09 pm
All over, fark.
Dalgish now under real pressure- why did he wait so long before he brought Andy Carroll on?
5 May 2012, 20:09 pm
HELLO DAWN.TIME FOR WRINKLIES TO SLEEP.
HOWEVER IN LIGHT OF SHARKS WIN WILL FIRST HAVE A LIBATION
(OR 2)
MARCEL & BISSIE & KEEGAN VERY GOOD.
GOODNIGHT
5 May 2012, 20:10 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-45:
its the wrong shaped ball
I dont care either way
5 May 2012, 20:10 pm
Stop with this football twaddle and answer Meerkat’s question!!!!!
5 May 2012, 20:11 pm
Rob
I feel for ‘pool fans. Just like in rugby, the replay tech is available but they’ve never introduced it. A simple referral (maybe 2 mins in duration) is all it takes
5 May 2012, 20:12 pm
Rye no need for caps I can see
5 May 2012, 20:12 pm
Jeez if the Cheetahs lose at home to the Force they are kak!
5 May 2012, 20:13 pm
That was pathetic.
The Cheetahs and Lions should be on the phone right now to save both their arses. Just reform the Cats. It’s that simple.
5 May 2012, 20:13 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-48:
Yeah, lets go surfing,and get rid of this stress
Just do not drop in on me, then there is big kak
5 May 2012, 20:14 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-46:
But sorry your team lost
5 May 2012, 20:15 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-54:
Hey i was in the Navy surf team We were given 2 weeks off to practice
i think I surfed once in those 2 weeks
5 May 2012, 20:16 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-55:
Oh well, at least there is still the amazing stormers.
5 May 2012, 20:18 pm
Epic fail bieber movie on mnet
5 May 2012, 20:19 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-56:
I was also in the navy
Remember “Sportparade”
It gave another meaning to “Big Wednesday”
5 May 2012, 20:21 pm
Village people
5 May 2012, 20:22 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-59:
Yeah the movie or the heading off to muzzies to surf
In the navy
Meerkat; dawn
Is the local team & the refs SAfrican?
That answers the question @38
5 May 2012, 20:23 pm
Sias is one of the best passers in s.a Needs to be playing. Stormers next year?
5 May 2012, 20:24 pm
@Winesy83(Winesy83)-64:
I think he will go to the sharks maybe
5 May 2012, 20:29 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-61:
Sitting in the movies on wednesday afternoons while we were supposed to let rip at Longbeach and then payed for our sins by having to run up Red Hill a thousand times even before breakfast, lol
5 May 2012, 20:32 pm
Can u guys not update us on what’s going on in the game?I mean YOU the bloggers watching
5 May 2012, 20:38 pm
The Force having to make far more tackles and doing their best to spoil everything. Coenie and co need to hand out a few poesklaps because the ref isn’t taking control.
5 May 2012, 20:43 pm
Force lineout just inside Cheetah’s half. They win it.
5 May 2012, 20:44 pm
Cheetahs hold Sharpe up, maul, ball doesn’t emerge, Cheetahs’ ball.
5 May 2012, 20:46 pm
Cheetahs are a whole different team without Goosen, and not in a good way. I went with them for this one because I figured home advantage plus travel factor, but really, they’re not convincing, or even reassuring anyone with this performance.
Cheetahs scum just inside their half. Penalty to the Cheetahs just inside Force half.
Low level rugby on display here.
No wonder the Bloem locals prefer the spur or the drive in to this rubbish.
Ref is also clueless and break downs are russian roulette.
5 May 2012, 20:47 pm
Scum should be scrum, though they are playing against scum.
5 May 2012, 20:48 pm
Penalty just wide. Kak game, but Cheetahs should win.
5 May 2012, 20:49 pm
Thx for the updates
5 May 2012, 20:50 pm
Last chance for Force: lineout near Cheetahs’ line, but Cheetahs’ ball.
5 May 2012, 20:51 pm
Scrum to the Force.
5 May 2012, 20:51 pm
Maybe 7m out. Free kick to Force.
5 May 2012, 20:52 pm
Force on attack but knock it on. Brussow kicks down field.
5 May 2012, 20:53 pm
Force lineout on half way.
5 May 2012, 20:53 pm
Stolen by Cheetahs. Siren sounds. Ball out. Cheetahs win.
5 May 2012, 20:55 pm
Thx for all the updates kaksioek! @a 50th so couldn’t watch
5 May 2012, 20:56 pm
Well done Cheetahs. Take the win. Winning ugly is still winning.
5 May 2012, 20:56 pm
@Papoose(papaown)-83: No problem. You didn’t miss much!
5 May 2012, 20:59 pm
Dawn@51.I can,t.
5 May 2012, 21:00 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-85: lmao, cool stuff, how was Sharks game?
5 May 2012, 21:00 pm
What a terrible game, strong contender for worst game of the season… Zzzzz
5 May 2012, 21:01 pm
Super(k@k) Rugby …
5 May 2012, 21:03 pm
Much better than last week. I don’t need to see great running rugby! I want to see 4 points. That’s all that matters.
5 May 2012, 21:04 pm
Some strange decisions by refs. today.Foul play by Force prop had absolutely no influence on try scored by Force winger.
5 May 2012, 21:05 pm
@Papoose(papaown)-87: Not that much better, to be honest. Lambie’s kicking was the difference, and he also scored the Sharks’ only try.
The Force players reminded me of soccer players, back chatting and shouting at the ref and linesmen – that has no place in Union.
Reds made 90 tackles to the Cheetahs 45!
That’s a huge discrepancy.
There will be some stiff force players tomorrow,
Well done Cheetahs, way to guts it out!
6/6 on the Bru so far,
If the Saders win it’ll be my first full house for the season.
5 May 2012, 21:08 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-94: That was the difference this week. We never got the game flowing as we did last week but much more guts this week and look at the result.
5 May 2012, 21:08 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-94: this was an easy round to predict, wasn’t it? I mean, even the Keo minions managed to get them all right.
The Sharks really should bag 5 points against this Force mob next weekend.
5 May 2012, 21:11 pm
Rye don’t milk it.
5 May 2012, 21:11 pm
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-95: Ja respected the ball much more, and so the Force had to do much more work.
Still, it was close, but nice to see one go your way for a change. Goodness knows you’ve had your share of bad luck this season.
5 May 2012, 21:13 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-96: easy except for the Sharks game. They’ve so inconsistent that I just wasn’t sure.
If Vrede and JC are also 100% for the weekend then I feel a lot less clever suddenly.
5 May 2012, 21:14 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-96: Also, I’m up 7 places in the Keo log so there must be some okes out there that didn’t choose the same picks.
Reds? They only playing tomorrow
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-98: Yeah we have had some bad luck. Mostly down to our own errors however. Last week was a pathetic excuse for defence. This week much better.
Next week we will have to be at the top of our game. Stormers will be well rested. Still think it will be close.
5 May 2012, 21:21 pm
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-102: I don’t
5 May 2012, 21:21 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-99: Yes Keo’s two underlings are both on 100% at the moment. Must be, like, the first time ever in history.
Re the Sharks, this was their 6th straight win over the Highlanders. Methinks your nerves may just have been a little misplaced.
5 May 2012, 21:24 pm
Next week I will be cheering on the Bloem boys!
5 May 2012, 21:25 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-103: Haha. Well I guess we will see. Can’t wait for game. Tickets in the pocket. Now this week will drag.
5 May 2012, 22:02 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-105:
No surprise there.
Well done Cheetahs. You made it difficult for yourself, didn’t you or were you just lucky to come away with a win.
Guess you spared yourself for the derbies coming up.
5 May 2012, 22:35 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-105: Who gives a flying ****.
5 May 2012, 22:37 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-108: bitterbek gerbil.
5 May 2012, 22:42 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-109: We don’t need guppy idiots supporting the Stormers.Thank you very much.
5 May 2012, 22:57 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-109:
You actually know what “gerbil” mean or are you so deep into HG’s gat that you lap up everything he spews on this blog.
Come on man, you don’t need to be his main groupie! Be your own man.
You can at least come up with your own denigrating description of Stormers supporters, can’t you?
5 May 2012, 23:25 pm
Nah gerbil fits too nicely. A Cape Town hobby.
I just added the bitterbek.
Bitterbek gerbils.
Naaice.
5 May 2012, 23:40 pm
some sense of humor is hardly funny .. its almost as painful as witnessing a rattle snake swallowing an ostrich egg.
6 May 2012, 05:00 am
Even though the Cheetahs did not play their best they still had to hold on at the end. Thats something they have been particularly poor at. Nice to see some commitment to their defence.
The game was pretty boring by standards but it keeps them in within the teams competing for 5-6th spot. Also two more wins and its their best season so far. Plus makes it less likely they will be relegated.
So will take it
6 May 2012, 05:06 am
Once again a ref comes to a saffa sides aid!
Cant win without the refs help!
6 May 2012, 06:02 am
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-115: Something tells me the refs wont be able to help any of the Australian teams… apart from the one coached by a saffa….
6 May 2012, 06:23 am
Another week and another Saffa Ref Decision which is diabolical, I wouldn’t trust the Saffa Refs as far as I could throw them, what a joke
6 May 2012, 06:31 am
of course the crusaders NEVER gouge.. even by mistake…
it was quite unintentional to lead his tackle with an extended thumb into the eye…!!
it is after all a well known tackling technique to leave your extended thumb to bear the brunt of the tackle…
6 May 2012, 06:37 am
so pooper has been shown up as a racist.
wow big surprise
huge fckn belly wobble
6 May 2012, 06:54 am
Woody Smallpecker is very nervous about the Stormers coming to Kings Park. Can smell his fear. Relax my boy. You’re obviously gonna get farked on your homeground but its just a game. Also why are you sounding more like HG? Be more original man. You okes up in that talentless province are just so unoriginal. Doesn’t it bother you lol?
6 May 2012, 06:56 am
Fark these Crusaders have no regard for the laws of the ruck – then again Bryce wouldn’t have it any other way isn’t it!
6 May 2012, 07:01 am
Knock on in the tackle and Crusaders get penalty.
6 May 2012, 07:02 am
pee wee ek het amper een van jou soort laas nag n pk gegee.hou jou bek
6 May 2012, 07:07 am
Geez how much times do the Saders props hands go on the ground scrumtime? No binding!
6 May 2012, 07:08 am
McCheat obstructing again! What a cheat!
6 May 2012, 07:20 am
Fern, jy sit agter ‘n keyboard en kak praat, stiek uit jou bang ding.
6 May 2012, 07:26 am
Brycie trying his best
6 May 2012, 07:30 am
OMG what the fark! That should have been penalty Reds
6 May 2012, 09:59 am
The ref asked his assistant if the Force prop’s foul play influenced the play and subsequent try.
‘Yes’ the assistant ref. replied.The ref. did not ask his assistant how play was influenced.
Now perhaps some clever commentator should put his thoughts on
paper.Both players are on the ground between others, near the touchline.No way the defender, in my opinion could have gotten up got and prevented a try on the
the far side ,even if no foul play had occurred unless he was fired up by Red Bull and got some wings.
6 May 2012, 10:30 am
Well done Cheaters… Great to see your team grinding out a win and not just entertain the viewers.
HM should seriously start looking at Adriaan Straus at 2. He is playing fantastic rugby. The whole front row wouldn’t disappoint either.
6 May 2012, 11:49 am
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-115: blah, blah, blah. Against the Brumbies the ref disallowed 2 Cheetahs tries because of things that supposedly happened before that. About time luck came to the Cheetahs side.
6 May 2012, 11:53 am
… and it is seriously ironic for Australians to blame other people of cheating!!! ROFLMAO!!! Never in the history of sport did Ozzies win anything fairly! Whether it’s on the cricket, rugby field or even in the pool!!!!