Cheetahs edge feeble Force

GARETH DUNCAN reports on the Cheetahs’ unconvincing 17-13 win over the Force in Bloemfontein.

A win is a win, but head coach Naka Drotske won’t be raving about his team’s performance against the errant Force.

They should’ve cruised to victory as the visitors’ were ill-disciplined, starved of possession and played in their own territory for most parts of the match. However, the men from Bloemfontein uncharacteristically lacked accuracy and composure on attack. They showed flashes of elusiveness and broke the Force defence on numerous occasions, but their poor finishing cost them.

Flyhalf Sias Ebersohn also disappointed from the kicking tee, missing three of his six goal attempts. It’s clear that injured pivot Johan Goosen is a major loss as he spearheaded the team effectively and provided a reliable boot. Drotske will be hoping that Ebersohn rediscovers the magic that he showcased in 2011 as the player is struggling with form and confidence.

With an evenly-contested battle between the heavies up front, the first half was a kicking contest as all the points were scored via penalties. Ebersohn and flyhalf David Harvey traded goal kicks before scrumhalf Tewis de Bruyn added a late three-pointer to give the Cheetahs a 9-6 half-time lead.

The Force did cross the chalk during the opening 40 through wing Napolioni Nalaga, but the try was disallowed after referee Stu Berry was informed by his assistant about foul play from tighthead prop Salesi Ma’afu on eighthman Philip van der Walt earlier in the move.

Shortly after the restart, the Force grabbed a try against the run of play. Centre Winston Stanley charged down fullback Hennie Daniller’s clearance and collected the loose ball for an easy run to the whitewash.

It wasn’t long before the Cheetahs regained the lead as they camped inside the tourist’s red zone thereafter. After being frustrated by their own poor decision-making and the Force’s disobedience on defence, the home side finally scored their try when skipper Adriaan Strauss dived over in the corner. Ebersohn missed the following conversion, but nailed a long-range penalty to secure his side a four-point buffer.

Both teams had scoring opportunities in the final quarter, but untidy play saw them fail to add to their tallies. The Cheetahs were able to hold on for a much-needed win, but one they won’t be proud of. The Stormers will beat them in Cape Town next weekend if they deliver a similar display.

132 Comments

• 51.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Rye no need for caps I can see

• 52.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Jeez if the Cheetahs lose at home to the Force they are kak!

• 53.IAAS: Reply to this comment

That was pathetic.

The Cheetahs and Lions should be on the phone right now to save both their arses. Just reform the Cats. It’s that simple.

• 54.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-48:

Yeah, lets go surfing,and get rid of this stress
    Just do not drop in on me, then there is big kak :)

• 55.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-46:
    But sorry your team lost

• 56.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-54:
    Hey i was in the Navy surf team We were given 2 weeks off to practice
    i think I surfed once in those 2 weeks :)

• 57.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-55:

Oh well, at least there is still the amazing stormers.

• 58.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Epic fail bieber movie on mnet

• 59.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-56:

I was also in the navy
    Remember “Sportparade”
    It gave another meaning to “Big Wednesday”

• 60.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Village people

• 61.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-59:
    Yeah the movie or the heading off to muzzies to surf :)

• 62.Dawn: Reply to this comment

In the navy

• 63.viewer: Reply to this comment

Meerkat; dawn

Is the local team & the refs SAfrican?
    That answers the question @38

• 64.Winesy83: Reply to this comment

Sias is one of the best passers in s.a Needs to be playing. Stormers next year?

• 65.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Winesy83(Winesy83)-64:
    I think he will go to the sharks maybe

• 66.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-61:

Sitting in the movies on wednesday afternoons while we were supposed to let rip at Longbeach and then payed for our sins by having to run up Red Hill a thousand times even before breakfast, lol

• 67.Papoose: Reply to this comment

Can u guys not update us on what’s going on in the game?I mean YOU the bloggers watching

• 68.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

The Force having to make far more tackles and doing their best to spoil everything. Coenie and co need to hand out a few poesklaps because the ref isn’t taking control.

• 69.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Force lineout just inside Cheetah’s half. They win it.

• 70.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs hold Sharpe up, maul, ball doesn’t emerge, Cheetahs’ ball.

• 71.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs are a whole different team without Goosen, and not in a good way. I went with them for this one because I figured home advantage plus travel factor, but really, they’re not convincing, or even reassuring anyone with this performance.

• 72.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs scum just inside their half. Penalty to the Cheetahs just inside Force half.

• 73.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Low level rugby on display here.
    No wonder the Bloem locals prefer the spur or the drive in to this rubbish.
    Ref is also clueless and break downs are russian roulette.

• 74.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Scum should be scrum, though they are playing against scum.

• 75.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Penalty just wide. Kak game, but Cheetahs should win.

• 76.Papoose: Reply to this comment

Thx for the updates

• 77.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Last chance for Force: lineout near Cheetahs’ line, but Cheetahs’ ball.

• 78.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Scrum to the Force.

• 79.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Maybe 7m out. Free kick to Force.

• 80.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Force on attack but knock it on. Brussow kicks down field.

• 81.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Force lineout on half way.

• 82.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Stolen by Cheetahs. Siren sounds. Ball out. Cheetahs win.

• 83.Papoose: Reply to this comment

Thx for all the updates kaksioek! @a 50th so couldn’t watch

• 84.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Well done Cheetahs. Take the win. Winning ugly is still winning.

• 85.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Papoose(papaown)-83: No problem. You didn’t miss much!

• 86.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Dawn@51.I can,t.

• 87.Papoose: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-85: lmao, cool stuff, how was Sharks game?

• 88.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

What a terrible game, strong contender for worst game of the season… Zzzzz

• 89.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Super(k@k) Rugby …

• 90.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

Much better than last week. I don’t need to see great running rugby! I want to see 4 points. That’s all that matters.

• 91.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

Some strange decisions by refs. today.Foul play by Force prop had absolutely no influence on try scored by Force winger.

• 92.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Papoose(papaown)-87: Not that much better, to be honest. Lambie’s kicking was the difference, and he also scored the Sharks’ only try.

• 93.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

The Force players reminded me of soccer players, back chatting and shouting at the ref and linesmen – that has no place in Union.

• 94.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Reds made 90 tackles to the Cheetahs 45!

That’s a huge discrepancy.

There will be some stiff force players tomorrow,

Well done Cheetahs, way to guts it out!

6/6 on the Bru so far,

If the Saders win it’ll be my first full house for the season.

• 95.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-94: That was the difference this week. We never got the game flowing as we did last week but much more guts this week and look at the result.

• 96.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-94: this was an easy round to predict, wasn’t it? I mean, even the Keo minions managed to get them all right.

The Sharks really should bag 5 points against this Force mob next weekend.

• 97.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Rye don’t milk it.

• 98.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-95: Ja respected the ball much more, and so the Force had to do much more work.

Still, it was close, but nice to see one go your way for a change. Goodness knows you’ve had your share of bad luck this season.

• 99.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-96: easy except for the Sharks game. They’ve so inconsistent that I just wasn’t sure.

If Vrede and JC are also 100% for the weekend then I feel a lot less clever suddenly. :)

• 100.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-96: Also, I’m up 7 places in the Keo log so there must be some okes out there that didn’t choose the same picks.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.