Chiefs cane lame Lions
5 May 2012
RYAN VREDE watched another ordinary performance from the Lions in their 34-21 defeat to the Chiefs.
It would be remiss not to note an increased intensity from the Lions. Indeed the plethora of fundamental errors that have marked their performances to date were reduced. But those plus points should hardly be comforting if you are a Lions supporter. They are comfortably outweighed by flaws – tactical and technical – that continue to undermine their progress.
Again, much of their play happened well behind the advantage line and when they did attack the gainline they were too easily repelled. Their trademark lateral attacks followed, with flyhalf Elton Jantjies looking every bit as toothless as his mentor Carlos Spencer did when he was playing behind a losing pack. It’s pertinent to remember that this was a largely second-choice Chiefs pack at that.
The hosts’ changes meant they lost some synergy and lacked the fluidity they have exhibited to date. Their attacks were largely disjointed and they profited from their opponents’ defensive and tactical ineptitude.
Defensively they were off-point as well and often looked vulnerable when the Lions earned the right to play expansively through purposeful phase play. Thankfully, from the Chiefs’ perspective, that was an all too rare tactic from the Johannesburg franchise. And herein lies the frustration with these Lions. They look a competent outfit when they play the percentages, indeed appearing to be one capable of seriously testing superior teams. Instead they remain adamant in the belief that they can run teams ragged.
Two of the Chiefs’ four tries came from broken field situations after one of the many rudderless attacks from the Lions resulted in their runners being isolated and turning over possession. The Chiefs had jumped to a 20-0 lead within 25 minutes and then led 34-14 with the final quarter to come, having by that time secured their four-try bonus point.
The Lions bagged their third try (each well constructed) through a powerful rolling maul with just over ten minutes to play to reduce deficit, but they never at any stage looked like they had the capacity to mount a comeback of the magnitude they needed.
And so the Lions’ mediocrity continues and the arguments from those who advocate for their retention in Super Rugby grows weaker by the week.

359 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All
5 May 2012, 08:37 am
How big a rout? 20+ 30+?
5 May 2012, 08:41 am
In dry weather 30+
5 May 2012, 08:42 am
How’s the weather in wellington tickles.
Are you busy drinking hot chocolate and brushing your mothers hair?
5 May 2012, 08:45 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-3: LMFAO
Chiefs by 20
5 May 2012, 08:45 am
Ha ha ha!
Pre match banter
5 May 2012, 08:48 am
This is going to be ugly.
5 May 2012, 08:48 am
He lives with his mom.Hails from Epping.He is a real mofo some say…
5 May 2012, 08:50 am
Why doesnt Mitch play Kamana or even Killian ahead of Deon van Rensburg. Killian was one of there stand out players last year.
5 May 2012, 09:12 am
Go Lions…!!
Join the RebeLION and show everyone you can do it…
5 May 2012, 09:18 am
I’ve got a thousand dollars riding on the Chiefs to win this. Please please please let them win!!!
5 May 2012, 09:28 am
Josh must cut that mess on his face & then attend trials for their vodacom cup team
5 May 2012, 09:29 am
@Todd W(Todd W)-10: what odds did you get for that?
5 May 2012, 09:34 am
@viewer(viewer)-11: Ja,talk about samson,the dude has never shown the same super captaincy as in the currie cup since he shaved/was shaven,and it’s the lack of leadership up front that is gonna ensure the lions the wooden spoon 2012 and probably the loss of their place in super rugby 2013.
5 May 2012, 09:34 am
ROOOAAAAAARR!!!!!!
5 May 2012, 09:35 am
Welcome to the jungle just take it game by game
If you want it you’re gonna bleed but it’s the price you pay
And you’re a very good guys playing very hard to please
You can taste the rugby highs but you won’t get them for free
In the jungle, welcome to the jungle
You gotta bring them to their knees
I, I wanna hear you scream
Welcome to the jungle it gets worse here everyday
You learn to live like an animal in the jungle where we play
If you got a hunger for what you see, you’ll take it eventually
You can have anything you want but you better not take it from me
In the jungle, welcome to the jungle
You gotta knock them back with ease
I wanna watch them bleed
C’mon Lions…!
Show them it’s cool to be a cat
It’s Cool for Cats
5 May 2012, 09:40 am
lions will disrupt these chiefs…
5 May 2012, 09:40 am
hahahah Dodd just said ARSE
then said”Jeesh i dunno if i can say that on television”
5 May 2012, 09:42 am
Good to see Carlos Spencer in that interview
5 May 2012, 09:44 am
@Papoose(papaown)-17: What’s more amazing to me is that keo allowed you to spell ARSE on this site?wtf?
5 May 2012, 09:46 am
Lions looking quite good here.
5 May 2012, 09:48 am
@Superbru(Superbru)-19: filters are down i guess
5 May 2012, 09:49 am
why the Lions chose a lineout from the penalty is beyond me, lineouts are the weakest point in their game, and they have MANY weak points
5 May 2012, 09:50 am
And what about the “male enhancement” ad on here but we can’t say S E X
5 May 2012, 09:51 am
houston, we have a problem… was talking about putting some money on the Lions for this game. I thought he was mad, but you never know …
5 May 2012, 09:51 am
@viewer(viewer)-23: i dont see any male enhancement ad?
sometimes ads that are seen on one’s screen are linked to what one searches the most on the internet…something you want to tell the rest of us buddy?
5 May 2012, 09:52 am
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-24: @kaksioek(kaksioek)-24: yeah, ummm, no! 6-0 down already
5 May 2012, 09:52 am
Lions should’ve kicked for poles.
5 May 2012, 09:53 am
Filters are you there?
**** Muir
5 May 2012, 09:54 am
Hey man,sort of like every body chill man,smoke a fat one and sort of like just watch the game man , these ,like humans are entertaining us man. While we all ,sort of like sit around getting stoned these humans are out there man ,doing physical things man,so we can sit in front of our boxes going ohhhhh and ahhhhhh man. Man these humans are amazing man I love these guys man. The NZ guys are freakin amazing man and like the the SA guys are freakin amazing too man. Ohhhhh man. Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Oh man,some dude almost scored a try man. Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha. Love this s**t man
5 May 2012, 09:55 am
Ha ha Papoose
I’m 32 y.o. Don’t need pills yet
5 May 2012, 09:57 am
@Papoose(papaown)-25:
@viewer(viewer)-30: Busted
5 May 2012, 09:58 am
These okes are not Cats they are pussies.
Chiefs onto a 5 pointer here.
5 May 2012, 09:59 am
Ross Cronje’s clearing and passing is pathetic for a 9 at this level.
5 May 2012, 09:59 am
@JA-JA(JA-JA)-31: heheheheheheh, *evil laugh*
5 May 2012, 10:05 am
HAHAHA
Commentator” They just keep breeding big forwards these South Africans…*dramatic pause* What do they put in their Biltong”
5 May 2012, 10:06 am
Die begin van die einde.. Go Chiefs!!!!!
5 May 2012, 10:06 am
houston, you have a problem…
5 May 2012, 10:07 am
Lions first time tackles eish!
5 May 2012, 10:07 am
@the_winger(the_winger)-12:
Sorry for the late reply.
I would have gotten $1.07 odds on a Chiefs win, but I did a multibet with both this game and the Crusaders vs Reds (I bet on the Crusaders to win). The odds for that was $1.25 on the Wednesday morning. So both the Chiefs and Crusaders have to win, but providing they do I get $1.07 * $1.25 = $1.3375 back on every dollar spent.
I’m really pissed off at myself because I didn’t bet on the Hurricanes to beat the Blues. That would have given me a $1.60 return. Too risky I thought. Hah! Given the way this Blues side is playing I needn’t have bothered worrying.
Anyway, really glad the Chiefs are winning, I feared they might get too complacent.
5 May 2012, 10:08 am
hier kom groot slae.
5 May 2012, 10:09 am
The Lions need a Kamp Staaldraad. This is pathetic
5 May 2012, 10:11 am
Elton Jaintjies far too weak in the tackle.
Not Bok material. These are the blokes who will be running at him in test matches.
5 May 2012, 10:11 am
The ref protecting the Lions
5 May 2012, 10:13 am
Die begin van die einde.. of the Chiefs!!!!!
5 May 2012, 10:14 am
The Lions should’ve rested their squad this season…
5 May 2012, 10:16 am
On elton, ya last week I didn’t mention that for him & lionel its a case of genetics. They have to work incredibly hard to gain muscle mass. Elton rugby wise has potential. If only he wasn’t playing against 6 foot 220 pound inside backs
5 May 2012, 10:17 am
come on LIONS!!!!
5 May 2012, 10:18 am
@scrumfan(scrumfan)-45:
so mean
5 May 2012, 10:18 am
@John Galt(John Galt)-42:
He is better with his head butts
Ya, just another quota who was propped by a sensless media hype regardless of the essence
The Kings will be his next stop apparently
5 May 2012, 10:21 am
@viewer(viewer)-46:
So what is Spies’ problem against them?
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All