Chiefs cane lame Lions

RYAN VREDE watched another ordinary performance from the Lions in their 34-21 defeat to the Chiefs.

It would be remiss not to note an increased intensity from the Lions. Indeed the plethora of fundamental errors that have marked their performances to date were reduced. But those plus points should hardly be comforting if you are a Lions supporter. They are comfortably outweighed by flaws – tactical and technical – that continue to undermine their progress.

Again, much of their play happened well behind the advantage line and when they did attack the gainline they were too easily repelled. Their trademark lateral attacks followed, with flyhalf Elton Jantjies looking every bit as toothless as his mentor Carlos Spencer did when he was playing behind a losing pack. It’s pertinent to remember that this was a largely second-choice Chiefs pack at that.

The hosts’ changes meant they lost some synergy and lacked the fluidity they have exhibited to date. Their attacks were largely disjointed and they profited from their opponents’ defensive and tactical ineptitude.

Defensively they were off-point as well and often looked vulnerable when the Lions earned the right to play expansively through purposeful phase play. Thankfully, from the Chiefs’ perspective, that was an all too rare tactic from the Johannesburg franchise. And herein lies the frustration with these Lions. They look a competent outfit when they play the percentages, indeed appearing to be one capable of seriously testing superior teams. Instead they remain adamant in the belief that they can run teams ragged.

Two of the Chiefs’ four tries came from broken field situations after one of the many rudderless attacks from the Lions resulted in their runners being isolated and turning over possession. The Chiefs had jumped to a 20-0 lead within 25 minutes and then led 34-14 with the final quarter to come, having by that time secured their four-try bonus point.

The Lions bagged their third try (each well constructed) through a powerful rolling maul with just over ten minutes to play to reduce deficit, but they never at any stage looked like they had the capacity to mount a comeback of the magnitude they needed.

And so the Lions’ mediocrity continues and the arguments from those who advocate for their retention in Super Rugby grows weaker by the week.

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

359 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

• 101.theonlylionsfanincapetown: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-91: Did you just see that? Running it out of their 22 and then they knock it on, for about the 10th time in the game, they eventually turn it back over and try to run from inside their in goal again, only to give away a 5 metre scrum. Who in their right mind instructs a team to play like this???

• 102.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-98: Are you trying to suck up to the Lions fans ? You were the one preaching that the Lions don’t deserve to be in Super rugby right ?

• 103.Narutokun: Reply to this comment

Does the chiefs have a bonus point already ????

• 104.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-95: well i’m not in PSJ @ the moment ;)

• 105.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@theonlylionsfanincapetown(Lions)-101: Same guy that instructed them to play like they did in the Currie Cup final ?

• 106.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-104: BWA HA HA HA HA….

• 107.HHS: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-85: Why you trolling here? How did the Sharks do against the Chiefs at the tank? That Springbok laden team of yours couldn’t even cross the whitewash.

• 108.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@theonlylionsfanincapetown(Lions)-101: Hey – just making sure Transformation represents himself to you correctly, considering that he is the consummate two face. Transformation is the lead minister/politician in the cause to remove the Lions from Super rugby. Just thought I would give you the heads up.

• 109.theonlylionsfanincapetown: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-105: Super rugby is a different
    level I’m afraid! The silver lining is that I’ve got the Chiefs by 15 on Superbru!

• 110.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-107: I know – but the Lions still suck. And their fantasy world has fallen to pieces so spectacularly, I just cant help myself. And….this is the last year I will be able to rip them off – so, getting in my time while it lasts.

• 111.Getafix: Reply to this comment

Well done to the Lions For restricting the Chiefs to 5 Log points!!!!!

• 112.ufo: Reply to this comment

tough luck lions…

lucky win for the chiefs…!!!

but well done to them…

• 113.theonlylionsfanincapetown: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-108: Thanks mate, but if they keep
    serving up this rubbish, you can’t argue too much against their exclusion.

• 114.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-112: Pffff….yeah right….flippin ref was in the Lions corner all game.

• 115.Narutokun: Reply to this comment

I must say this chiefs team look really poor !!! Not at all like log leaders !!!

• 116.Dusky: Reply to this comment

The ‘son’ skipped the post match interview. Getting tired of it Josh ? Dont worry – its nearly over. Back to Cape Town with you my buddy.

• 117.Getafix: Reply to this comment

Captain speech…… Still early days… WTF!

• 118.theonlylionsfanincapetown: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-116: What drivel is Mitchel gonna come up with if he does an interview. I wish someone would ask him to properly explain his teams tactics in their own 22!

• 119.viewer: Reply to this comment

Josh Strauss (with a straight face):
    “I’m really proud of my boys tonight. They showed real guts”

• 120.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@theonlylionsfanincapetown(Lions)-113: Yep – credit where its due. Unfortunately, EP Kings are due absolutely no credit either – losing their VODACOM CUP semi-final against the Pumas !?

What a joke !

• 121.theonlylionsfanincapetown: Reply to this comment

@viewer(viewer)-119: F…! It makes me sick! Then Mitchell’s gonna tell us that they weren’t accurate enough and some of the players are still too individualistic!

• 122.ufo: Reply to this comment

Dusky… haven’t found any friends in your new country yet…?

How surprising…

Take your frustrations and hurt out on your old country and ex-brothers… We understand how lonely you are…!!

• 123.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Possession/Territory 50/50.
    Well played lions forwards.

• 124.theonlylionsfanincapetown: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-120: All that’s gonna happen next year is that we’re gonna have lion’s players and has been overseas players migrating to PE. I’m just not sure who’s gonna represent who in next year’s promotion relegation game between the Lions and the Kings!

• 125.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@theonlylionsfanincapetown(Lions)-121: This is very bad news for the Lions. Their exclusion from Super rugby is also very bad news. I am not sure if you supporters have put the pieces together in your heads yet of what this means, but basically the Lions chances of securing a decent sponsor is further diminished through the fact that they wont play Super rugby which compounds their financial problems – add the two together and you get player exodus.

I will make this prediction. Lions can expect to lose 4 or 5 (maybe more) of their top flight players before next years season rolls around. The players that were touted for immediate Springbok inclusion like Derick Minnie has a problem, because this Super rugby season has confirmed just how average he is. There are a few others like him and they must maar hope to get contracts overseas.

Sharks, Bulls and Stormers will feast off the spoils….

• 126.theonlylionsfanincapetown: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-123: In what part of the field did the Lions have their 50% territory and 50% posession???

• 127.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@Getafix(phil72)-111: How about that Puma and Kings game yesterday. Dingbat.

@theonlylionsfanincapetown(Lions)-124: No use talking to this donkey. He’s still bitter about the CC final. I’m trying to figure out if is the scoreline or the pre match banter that made him look like a d00s.

• 128.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@theonlylionsfanincapetown(Lions)-124: There is no promotion/relegation match buddy….Lions are out – Kings are in. End of story.

And if you think the Lions players are automatically going to gravitate to Port Elizabeth, you are horribly mistaken. Firstly, have you ever been to PE ? Secondly, do you think players with genuine talent like Jaco Taute and Josh Strauss want to play for the punching bag team again ?

Nah – the ‘overrated average’ players like Minnie, Jantjes, Daisy Fountain, Doppies….they will all end up in PE, yes….

• 129.theonlylionsfanincapetown: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-125: Agreed! Given that there is so much to lose, you’d expect them to employ a lower risk and slightly more intelligent game plan!

• 130.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Did anyone spot the Chiefs player knock the ball on while he was sliding forward on the ground before they scored? If the try had been disallowed the Lions would have been in there with a chance and hopefully gained momentum.

• 131.theonlylionsfanincapetown: Reply to this comment

a href=”#comment-2119361″>Dusky(Dusky)-128: I’m not talking about the end of this season, buddy! I’m talking about the end of next season when the Kings finish bottom!

• 132.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Tuna(Tuna)-127: You dont look like a doos – you are one.

• 133.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-102: i’m not the ‘sucking up’ type china…look next door :-)

• 134.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@theonlylionsfanincapetown(Lions)-129: I expected better of them. I mean, they did win a Currie Cup in a world cup year – granted, but they did play against a team full of Springboks in the final. I really thought the Lions would at least lift it one notch….

I actually think they have worsened from last year…..

• 135.theonlylionsfanincapetown: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-130: Nice thought, but it would only be papering over the gaping cracks of what was a tactically inept performance.

• 136.David: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-130:
    I mentioned it at the time. It’s difficult though, to see who did push it forward/back.

• 137.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-133: I didn’t say you were a suck up – I said you were two faced. I just want to make sure that Lions supporters understand that you are very eager to develop any kind of evidence that they shouldn’t be included next year. At the expense of your ultra kak development side that lost their Vodacom Cup semi-final…..against the Pumas….Die ****** Witbank Pumas pappa….

• 138.theonlylionsfanincapetown: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-134: Ja, me too. I’m really not sure how they’ve managed to go so far backwards, so fast. Hence my original comment, “bloody agents”!

• 139.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@theonlylionsfanincapetown(Lions)-135:

Quite sad mate. They have moments of brilliance but can’t seem to get the basics down.

• 140.David: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-128:
    There’s always, Plet, Knysna or Fancourt to live in the EC.

• 141.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-136:

Yeah and the ref didn’t seem too perturbed but then they do miss a lot when the home team plays.

• 142.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Tough luck Lions! Still they did show some spirit and the Chiefs did not run away with it,

As for this arguement re the LIons must drop out is total rubbish as far as i am concerned.

If replaced by a better team by all means, but hell the KINGS??????????????????

Losing week in and week out to, Sharks B team beat them, last night the Pumas kicked their asses, and i have no doubt this self same Lions team will whip them big time.

So how does a weaker team gain entry have any justification?????

• 143.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-141: Dont you find it strange that90 of the Sharks matches are reffed by KIWI refs??

I tell ya they sure know how to look after their own!!!

• 144.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-140: And travel to PE for practice every day ? On the perfectly surfaced N2 ?

• 145.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-143: 90% that is

• 146.David: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-141:
    The problem is that they can’t call for a TMO to review the lead up. The linesman was probably in the best position to see who touched it last.

• 147.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-137: go on then, whatever you have to do to nake yourself feel relevant :-)

• 148.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-142: Your argument is the logical one, used by logical people without unfair political agendas. Of course the Lions should not have to stand back for the Kings. Its a joke of note – just like South Africa is a joke.

• 149.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-132: Nice comeback big boy…… don’t worry being made a d00s feels like the norm for boys like you.

@Dusky(Dusky)-134: Use your brain for a change. Look at the Lions team these past few weeks. You do see that the team sheet looks a bit different each week? When you look at the Sharks where they struggle (midfield) there is also no consistency.

Combinations that change all the time will fail you. I’m not defending these Lions but if the Bulls/Sharks/Stormers teams also change week in and week out because of injuries etc etc. They will not perform.

Also when the Cheetahs won the CC did that form replicate to Super Rugby success? No…. but they are doing much better now. CC cannot be compare to SR. Same for VC to CC, SR to Tests and First Division to SR. Some adjustments needs to be made.

• 150.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@theonlylionsfanincapetown(Lions)-138: BAd luck boet, big problem in JHB is the Rugby culture is non existant, 90% of Gauteng folk support the Sharks, Bulls, Stormers,

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.