Chiefs cane lame Lions

RYAN VREDE watched another ordinary performance from the Lions in their 34-21 defeat to the Chiefs.

It would be remiss not to note an increased intensity from the Lions. Indeed the plethora of fundamental errors that have marked their performances to date were reduced. But those plus points should hardly be comforting if you are a Lions supporter. They are comfortably outweighed by flaws – tactical and technical – that continue to undermine their progress.

Again, much of their play happened well behind the advantage line and when they did attack the gainline they were too easily repelled. Their trademark lateral attacks followed, with flyhalf Elton Jantjies looking every bit as toothless as his mentor Carlos Spencer did when he was playing behind a losing pack. It’s pertinent to remember that this was a largely second-choice Chiefs pack at that.

The hosts’ changes meant they lost some synergy and lacked the fluidity they have exhibited to date. Their attacks were largely disjointed and they profited from their opponents’ defensive and tactical ineptitude.

Defensively they were off-point as well and often looked vulnerable when the Lions earned the right to play expansively through purposeful phase play. Thankfully, from the Chiefs’ perspective, that was an all too rare tactic from the Johannesburg franchise. And herein lies the frustration with these Lions. They look a competent outfit when they play the percentages, indeed appearing to be one capable of seriously testing superior teams. Instead they remain adamant in the belief that they can run teams ragged.

Two of the Chiefs’ four tries came from broken field situations after one of the many rudderless attacks from the Lions resulted in their runners being isolated and turning over possession. The Chiefs had jumped to a 20-0 lead within 25 minutes and then led 34-14 with the final quarter to come, having by that time secured their four-try bonus point.

The Lions bagged their third try (each well constructed) through a powerful rolling maul with just over ten minutes to play to reduce deficit, but they never at any stage looked like they had the capacity to mount a comeback of the magnitude they needed.

And so the Lions’ mediocrity continues and the arguments from those who advocate for their retention in Super Rugby grows weaker by the week.

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

359 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All

• 301.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-298: And you, like Poopa69 are a coward…

A hypocrite par excellence (Psst I don’t see you pull up Popper69 as Joe has me)…

it could be a cultural thing :lol:

• 302.cane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-299:

We must leave the women folk out of this Popps. We should not stoop to the level of HG and his defenders.

• 303.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

waiting waiting waiting….
    for the breakdown…

• 304.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Joe Maher(Joe Maher)-300: thank you, and I will retract my earlier statement on the issue. i do apologise to you,..

• 305.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-302: Another little lie… A kiwi trait?

• 306.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-302: but HG has made it abundantly clear that family are not off limits, its all open slather in that regard… he made that quite crystal for me some time ago..

oh I see, shes not family anymore so it really is a moot point, I understand your meaning…

• 307.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Bwaaaaa! Is that it? That all?

• 308.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-304:
    Thank you.

• 309.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

won’t stop Poopy using the “white supremacist” card in the future. Used it in the past, will use again, despite his education today.

• 310.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

the arguments from those who advocate for their retention in Super Rugby grows weaker by the week.

I agree but on the other hand can you honestly tell me the Kings are going to give a better display? If they took all the best players and cash from Kings, Lions and Cheetahs then we´d be talking about a team worthy of inclusion. Leaving the Lions out in favour of the Kings is folly of the highest order in my opinion. Ok they want to improve the game in the Easter Cape but surely they have to prove themselves first against the teams theyre currently playing as well as in the Currie Cup? Why push them ahead of Boland or Griquas for instance? This should be earnt not given away.

• 311.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Must be gone… Rugger time

Had a great time shagging the rabid dachsie and exposing Kiwi fibs and general hypocrisy…

Poppers69, just dont run away and have yet another sobbing breakdown before yours truly gets back

Alright?

Ps… posting pics are in poor taste :lol:

• 312.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-296:

But it’s irrelevant, it has nothing to do with the way poppa behaves, it’s not the reason why he’s “short, fat, incestuous and has a reading problem”.

• 313.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-304: Softcock :lol:

• 314.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-309: hey, you still havent explained why you waded into me without even reading the comment I responded to?

strange, for one who professe to be above it all… couldnt help yourself when you seen me refer to SA’s domestic problems, btu didnt take the time to see why I responded liek that..

says it all little man..

• 315.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-306: Pooper? lol Hows it going mate? Hope youre having a better year than last. Be positive mate. Only way forward.

• 316.cane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-301:

And you HG are not worth pissing on.

Popps ain’t no saint………………………………….we all agree on that.
    Actually he has a bit of mongrel in him.

But he is Our Mongrel.

And for what it’s worth, I remember a young Popps going 3 rounds with my younger brother in 83.

He ain’t no coward.

He was not exactly scientific either. but he won.

If you ever meet Popps face to face…………………………………………guard your nose and throat.

• 317.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

I, too, head off to watch rugby.

Viva the Lions, viva!!!

• 318.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-314: talking of hypocrisy…

http://emigratetonewzealand.wordpress.com/whats-it-like-to-live-in-nz/vox-pop/chapter-1/new-zealand-is-turning-into-a-really-racist-country/

• 319.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-313: so hello to the banshee for me, do you have GBS’s telephone number?

loser…

• 320.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Me too I’m out.

• 321.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-314: BTW the Chiefs were doing some filthy stuff at the breakdown. I dont mind a bit of a thing here and there – all teams do it but when the Lions were attacking they were just breaking every law in the book. Great respect for their team this year but I really dont care to see that kind f behaviour on field. Taumalolo´s push in the face of Strauss on the ground was just as filthy. Unprovoked.

• 322.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-318: you really want to post links about racism? hahahahahahahaha

how very stupid are you, considering ALL the ammo there is on racism in SA, you want to highlight certain sections of NZ society that have probably been exposed to the many thousands of Saffa expats living in NZ who have brought it over with them?

eish, not very smart are you?

• 323.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Joe Maher @300 Thank you.

Poppa69 @ 304 Well done.

• 324.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

what’s all this mention of GBS? He hasn’t been part of this site for some years now.

• 325.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-322: glass houses and all that.

• 326.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Lol, the small-minded security guard boasting of his intelligence… :lol:

• 327.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-315: hey boet… Im good thanks, hope you are too… getting through the year best as one can…

I didnt get to see the game unfortunately, will have to watch a replay tomorrow or the next day… I have read on a few forums that the chiefs were cynical, but I also read that the ref gave the lions a fair bit of leeway? so i dont know what to believe now :)

• 328.cane: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-323:

And well done to you also ryeman.

for acknowledging the small allowances we make for one another.

• 329.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-325: precisely, but do try to read the WHOLE conversation before embroiling yourself in it and taking sides…

is that too much to ask?

• 330.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-322:

Now come on, poppa, there you go again. How can you apologise and, before the ink has dried, fire off another wholly unsubstantiated racist comment?

You’re bloody incorrigible.

Racism has existed the world over for centuries – and New Zealand is no exception.

To suggest that “certain sections of NZ society have probably been exposed to the many thousands of Saffa expats living in NZ who have brought it over with them” as the reason for any racism in NZ is seriously disingenous.

NZ has probably benefitted for some seriously good SA brains (no first world nation allows others in unless they see benefit to the receiving nation…refugee quotas aside, but then that’s largely a conscience-easing exercise which, sadly, seems to have brought with it another volley of racism from locals), not to mention half an NZ cricket team and a pretty decent netballer or two.

• 331.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-326: yawn.. the whole security guard angle sure is funny…

• 332.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Joe Maher(Joe Maher)-330: its called sarcasm Joe, a little joke if you will… thats all it was mate..

• 333.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-327: Was a fairly even contest – dont think the ref favoured the Lions radically – its usually a bit of both but the Chiefs were a bit over cynical when Lions approached their line. Just would like to see guys play fair and make it a proper armwrestle and not use dirty tricks. it really leaves a bit of a sour taste in the mouth. From both sides. Having said that the Chiefs didnt look like losing ever.

• 334.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-331: your racism has again been pointed out.

You told us here a few years ago that you do the night shift as a security guard. You can’t deny that one. Have you moved up in the world? Street cleaner in Sydney perhaps?

• 335.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-332:

I take it back…but then I’m never quite sure with you.

Anyway, I’m now going, no turning back for a last peek.

Bye.

• 336.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-334: I never told anyone any such thing, but if you can believe Whatever who started calling me a security guard, then i suggest its best you dont try to belittle someone elses intelligence… do you believe everything you hear on a blog? LMFAO…

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-333: yeah, i generally think the refs tend to even themselves out over the context of a game, from all accounts the Lions had an improved showing in this game then from previous weeks.. I would really like to see Strauss playing in a stronger forward pack, always gives it his all.. .

• 337.cane: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-334:

What has Poops occupation got to with the debate.

Why these personal attacks.

Can only those with a Masters Degree post ?

• 338.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Joe Maher(Joe Maher)-335: honestly mate, I abhor racism anywhere, and NZ has its own fair share of radicals that like to push the envelope… my supposed, overt “racism” on this blog is to get a reaction, plain and simple… cheers..

• 339.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Ah. Unemployed then.

• 340.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-337: come now Cane, its only when I do stuff like that iits a problem, dont you knwo this by now? :lol:

let them believe Im a security guard, it makes them feel better about the dead end job they are doing…

• 341.cane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-336:

Hey Popps,
    Lets agree Joe is a pretty cool guy.

He is not entrenched like others.

• 342.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-339: yep, unemployed and on the dole in Sydney, living the dream…

remember, dont believe everything you read on a blog though ok?

• 343.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-341: no argument there mate, there are a few here who probably get caught in my crosshairs that shouldnt… but sometimes you have to make a point and suffer collateral damage..

• 344.Wanderer: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-198: Prick you should lay off the sheep for a while and stop smoking the wallaby droppings.
    You would be my last choice off having as a friend.
    I think you are one of the expats that moved from SA because Africa is to tough, do us the favour and stay away from this site, we have enough @ssholes that work for the biggest one of all namely keo.

• 345.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-336: Yeah definitely better than last weeks attempt. They play with a lot of heart. Just as Ryan says – not respecting the percentage game by attacking loosely from all over the park, isoalting players and getting turned over. Alos would like to see Strauss playing for a better team as he would be a possible candidate for Bok 8th man in my opinion. Spies and Kanko are show ponies who fail to deliver time and again. Vermeulen is down and out for now, leaving only possibles as Ashley Johnson (who is great but not sure he can hold up a full 80 min – i´d defintely have him on the bench. Apart from that who can play 8th man succesfully? No-one at Stromers, No-one at Cheetahs, Daniel isnt a proper 8th man to me – too small. I´d consider him more a SA 6. and thats it.

• 346.carol: Reply to this comment

Give me a decent Keo fight rather than this pedantic bickering!! ;-)

• 347.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Joe Maher(Joe Maher)-300:
    “Quotas, unfortunately, are a political creation, to satisfy politicians more interested in counting heads and being satisfied that the ‘rep[resentation’ meetins thier political agendas.”

Sorry, have to disagree with you there.

Quotas were a creation of the sports fraternity in order to keep the politicians of their back and pretend that they are busy with transformation in sport.

As I’ve mentioned a 1 000 times before on this site, quotas in rugby was introduced by Danie Craven in 1980 already. That’s 14 years before the current lot got into power in SA.

OK, off to watch the Sharks. GO SHARRRRRRRRRKKKSSSSSSS. Don’t feck up my bru now.

• 348.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-345: they just seem to be missing one or two players that can guide them successfully and provide that added mongrel around the field… I know theyve suffered from a horrific injury toll this season… mitchell being a forward himself thought he would have that Lions 8 working as a solid unit by now, even with injury disruptions

Real shame that Vermeulen went down, out and out your best 8th man this year for me. Alberts has failed to deliver to, not sure why though? Do you think he could be the answer, even allowing for his poor form? Ashleys off to Europe at the end of the season too isnt he? agree he is more an impact sub. I think 8 is a real weakness for the boks and hence Spies will get it by default…

• 349.nama1: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-337:
    Yeah.

You also have to have two houses, a farm, a holiday home at the beach, a couple millions in the bank and a “skelmpie” set up in her own apartment. :lol:

• 350.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Moving right along …

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.