Lambie steers Sharks to victory

JON CARDINELLI watched Pat Lambie score all of the Sharks’ points in a scrappy but vital 28-16 win against the Highlanders.

The Sharks scored 13 unanswered points in the period between the 50th and 60th minute. It was during this spell where the match was won, and it was ultimately the cool goal-kicking of Lambie that allowed the hosts to edge clear of a determined but woefully inaccurate Highlanders side.

In difficult kicking conditions, Lambie slotted seven penalties and a conversion. It was a flawless goal-kicking performance and it had to be, as the Highlanders threatened to seize the initiative at various intervals. Had Lambie not converted every opportunity on offer, the Sharks may been made to pay for their inconsistency for the umpteenth time this season.

There was plenty of intent during the early stages, as the Sharks managed to boss the collisions. It was also clear that the Sharks had come into this contest with a more structured game plan in mind. They attempted to drive the Highlanders back into their own territory, and it worked to a degree.

The tactic is sound in theory, but a team needs to execute efficiently and consistently to obtain the desired results. The Sharks overplayed the kicking ploy, and at times their halfbacks were guilty of booting possession away aimlessly. The kick-chase wasn’t up to standard either, and this is something they will need to address if they hope to gain full value from these tactics.

The hosts benefited from a sloppy Highlanders performance in the first half. Lambie punished the visitors for their transgressions at the breakdown, and the Sharks were also fortunate not to concede more points at the other end, as flyhalf Mike Delany missed two relatively simple penalty attempts.

There was an almighty scrap at the breakdown, with both teams guilty of indiscipline early on. The Highlanders recovered after their early lapses, and managed to control the ball better as the first half progressed. It was all the Sharks could do to spoil, and eventually Jacques Botes was yellow-carded after a series of Sharks breakdown infringements.

The visitors failed to hammer home the advantage. They scored just three points while Botes was off the field, and while credit should go to a much improved Sharks defence, the Highlanders attack was just too lateral to be effective.

They gained some reward from playing more direct rugby at the start of the second half, depleting the Sharks’ defensive line before eventually crashing over for a try. It was at this point where the momentum was with the Highlanders, and a conversion by Delany took them to a 16-15 lead.

The Sharks were guilty of a spate of handling errors during this period, the type of frustrating mistakes that have become something of a trademark in 2012. But for all their failings, they maintained their composure, and Lambie booted a difficult penalty to regain the lead.

This proved to be the boost they needed, as from that point onward, they played with far more control and belief.

Charl McLeod fielded a high ball in his own half, and avoided two would-be Highlanders defenders. This proved to be the catalyst for a promising counter-attack, and Keegan Daniel eventually found himself with ball in hand just outside the Highlanders 22.

Daniel looked to have butchered a try-scoring opportunity when he chipped the ball into space, but Hosea Gear obliged with an untimely error and the ball spilled loose behind the Highlanders tryline. Lambie, who had followed in support, dotted the ball down and then kicked the conversion to make the Gear gaffe a seven-point mistake.

The weather turned nasty in the final quarter, but the Sharks held out to not only secure the win, but also deny the Highlanders a losing bonus point.

The result may not have propelled the Sharks into the top six, but their strong finish means that they are now only three log points shy of the Highlanders, who are currently fifth in the overall standings.

291 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All

• 251.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-247: Lol :wink:

• 252.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-247:

Just like I’m living in Pta and see what happens here. There is no time for the Sharkies in this part of the world, if you like it or not. Fact is they still see the Stormers are their true enemy, which means the one they really want to win.

• 253.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-248: for the most thats true, But i hope the CC does not fade away, every year one still see’s the love for it in SA and the quality of rugby thats played

even our VC matches are for the most of a very good standard

• 254.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-250:

:lol: Play with my words mate. Enjoy. The reason I said it like that is that we are not playing internationals at the moment, but Franchise rugby. But yes I support the Stormers and then the Boks. I don’t support Oz or AB’s if that is what you want to hear.

• 255.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-252: thats they do and trust me the Sharks are also hated in PTA, i know this, but you seldonm see okes in the streets and pubs openly supporting the foreigners, if they do?? its equaly disgusting

• 256.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-253:

Yeah it is sad, but can you see the guys being able to play so much rugby all the time? The Currie Cup will need to be incorporated into the Super Rugby programme some or other way. We see the semi’s and final of Currie Cup with full strength teams but the rest is like the Vodacom Cup.

• 257.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-252: Wrong. I have experienced an element of respect here for the Sharks that certainly is not there for the Stormers… Stormer supporters are generally seen as a bunchocunts… and their team is seen as Windgat… I reckon Pretorians are spot on. You delude yourself otherwise…

• 258.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-255:

They are hated mate! There is only one team here and that is the Pink Cows. If they are losing Loftus is empty, but when they are winning, then difficult to get tickets. LOL. I have mine for 2 June though.

• 259.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-257:

As you are. Live in your dream world, but one day you will wake up and smell the roses. :lol:

You are right. They do respect the Sharks as they are not seen as such a threat. You are spot on.

• 260.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-257:

There is no respect for the Stormers mate. Only fear… ;)

• 261.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Congrats to the SA men’s hockey team. They beat Japan and are off to the Olympic Games…

• 262.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-257: LOL HG eish boet

• 263.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Lol. Ask Tacitus. He said himself about a year ago that he views the Bulls v Sharks as the big one.

Sign of the times mate. The Sharks eclipsed the Stormers in the 90s and that still holds true.

My boet is a Sharks supporter living in Snor City and trust me, there is no love lost between Sharks and Bulls supporters. Stormers hardly even come into the equation.

• 264.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-248: Very true mate.They mocked us for winning the conference trophy but at the end of the day it’s more important than winning the cc…just ask the Lions. :D We,however,need to step up and bring the bacon home.I followed the NHL a bit last year and there the winning captains don’t touch or lift the conference trophy as a sign of bad luck.Maybe Schalk or Jean should keep their hands of the trophy this year. lol

• 265.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-263:

LOL: He hates the Stormers and taking his word for anything would be very silly. He only likes one team the Bulls. Don’t let him confuse you mate.

• 266.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Lol is there even a “conference trophy”?! Doubt it. It’s lack of existence shows how important “winning” the conference is viewed.

• 267.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-264:

They don’t have the BMT that the Bulls have mate. They have to get over that. We don’t win the games that really count. It is a mind thing – similar to the chokers label a certain team developed. ;)

• 268.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-265: all the big contests over the recent years have been between the Sharks and Bulls.

2007 was an epic example.

These games create massive rivalry.

By contrast the 2010 final was a bit of a walkover.

• 269.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-266:

Actually a very nice trophy mate. It looks really good next to the other great one we have – the Plascon Wall and All. The only team to have ever won it… :lol:

• 270.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Stormers preaching about choking and not winning. Now I have heard it all!

• 271.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Outtahere. Lunch calls. Had enough of eating Cape Mountain Gerbils for breakfast… Need something substantial… Real food

• 272.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-266: There is a trophy for all conference winners.I know that you normally lose interest halfway through the season,so all is forgiven Woody. :D

• 273.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-268:

Jeez you guys are in awe of the Bulls. No wonder they see you as their non consequential brother. Not a label we would want mate…

The Sharks are a great team mate. The third best in SA at the moment and for a few years now…

• 274.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-271:

Cheers bud! Enjoy.

• 275.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-270:

Yeah BMT problem mate. All can see it. Not preaching, just realistic.

We have never won a Super Title so yeah we choke when it counts. Ah then again nor has your team, I forgot… ;)

• 276.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Anyway guys! Play nicely and enjoy the rest of the Sabbath.

Outta here…

• 277.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-273: sleeping with the enemy is a no no for us stormers supporters. :D We don’t need to jump into bed with the Bulls to give credibility to our rugby existence.

• 278.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-276: Cheers Bill.

• 279.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

All I can see here is a bunch of Stormer fans trying to claim not to be the uglier sister. No prizes for coming second chaps.

The Sharks are in awe of no team.

We don’t wan.k over finishing second or being some other team’s main rival.

We walk our own illustrious path. Love them or fear them.

• 280.Butthead: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-250:
    How come everytime I read an article your having a turf war with people?

• 281.Stormers + Bulls= <3: Reply to this comment

Sharks need to start again, get rid of Plumtree. Get someone new.. A saffa not a kiwi, and a defensive specialist, it makes a huge difference watching the stormers an bulls defence makes our defence look kak. It breaks my heart to see my beloved sharks play with such shaky defence

• 282.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

sharks supporters should try listen to CSNY a little more it may help with all the anxiety creeping through their ill-begotten under achieving psyches

helplessly hoping her harlequin hovers nearby
    gasping at glimpses of true spirit she runs wishing she could fly
    only to trip at the sound of goodbye

or

Its been a long time coming… gonna be a long time gone…

• 283.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

yeah waddaya know.. skoppies been born again.. hoorah says the joker to the thief.

• 284.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

there just gotta be some relief.. somewhere around about here.

• 285.nama1: Reply to this comment

Shark-fight. NAAICE!!!

Great White vs a Bullshark :lol:

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-211:
    “Sharks lost to the Chiefs, yes, but only just and the operative word here is “just”.”

The Sharks lost to the Chiefs… AT HOME.

Your operative phrase should be, “AT HOME.”

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-225:
    “Some of the key Sharks players have been injured and now have returned making a significant difference to the side… ”

Beast and… who else?

• 286.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-268:

What makes the Bulls supporters hate The Sharks so much is that we often beat them. The last game between the two was won by the boot of Morne Steyn as The Sharks were the only team to score a try.

• 287.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-285:

“Beast and… who else?”

Kanko is back cos he makes the best Oros at half time.

• 288.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-287:
    That’s moerse funny. :lol: :lol:

There must be something else in that Oros if it makes that much difference. :wink:

• 289.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-218: you must be posting on this forum because you’re “expert” too :-)

• 290.Manona: Reply to this comment

Can’t be arsed trawling through all the pages of Flaming, so I will just say:

Well done sharks. Never thought Lambie would do it all by himself.

3 more injuries for us…

Beginning of the end for us fullahs I reckon :-(

• 291.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(skopskiet)-284: “No reason to get excited”, the thief he kindly spoke
    There are many here among us who feel that life is but a joke.

Good to see you choose your reincarnation re-entry on a Dynamite thread.

This be the Watchtower.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.