Lambie steers Sharks to victory
5 May 2012
JON CARDINELLI watched Pat Lambie score all of the Sharks’ points in a scrappy but vital 28-16 win against the Highlanders.
The Sharks scored 13 unanswered points in the period between the 50th and 60th minute. It was during this spell where the match was won, and it was ultimately the cool goal-kicking of Lambie that allowed the hosts to edge clear of a determined but woefully inaccurate Highlanders side.
In difficult kicking conditions, Lambie slotted seven penalties and a conversion. It was a flawless goal-kicking performance and it had to be, as the Highlanders threatened to seize the initiative at various intervals. Had Lambie not converted every opportunity on offer, the Sharks may been made to pay for their inconsistency for the umpteenth time this season.
There was plenty of intent during the early stages, as the Sharks managed to boss the collisions. It was also clear that the Sharks had come into this contest with a more structured game plan in mind. They attempted to drive the Highlanders back into their own territory, and it worked to a degree.
The tactic is sound in theory, but a team needs to execute efficiently and consistently to obtain the desired results. The Sharks overplayed the kicking ploy, and at times their halfbacks were guilty of booting possession away aimlessly. The kick-chase wasn’t up to standard either, and this is something they will need to address if they hope to gain full value from these tactics.
The hosts benefited from a sloppy Highlanders performance in the first half. Lambie punished the visitors for their transgressions at the breakdown, and the Sharks were also fortunate not to concede more points at the other end, as flyhalf Mike Delany missed two relatively simple penalty attempts.
There was an almighty scrap at the breakdown, with both teams guilty of indiscipline early on. The Highlanders recovered after their early lapses, and managed to control the ball better as the first half progressed. It was all the Sharks could do to spoil, and eventually Jacques Botes was yellow-carded after a series of Sharks breakdown infringements.
The visitors failed to hammer home the advantage. They scored just three points while Botes was off the field, and while credit should go to a much improved Sharks defence, the Highlanders attack was just too lateral to be effective.
They gained some reward from playing more direct rugby at the start of the second half, depleting the Sharks’ defensive line before eventually crashing over for a try. It was at this point where the momentum was with the Highlanders, and a conversion by Delany took them to a 16-15 lead.
The Sharks were guilty of a spate of handling errors during this period, the type of frustrating mistakes that have become something of a trademark in 2012. But for all their failings, they maintained their composure, and Lambie booted a difficult penalty to regain the lead.
This proved to be the boost they needed, as from that point onward, they played with far more control and belief.
Charl McLeod fielded a high ball in his own half, and avoided two would-be Highlanders defenders. This proved to be the catalyst for a promising counter-attack, and Keegan Daniel eventually found himself with ball in hand just outside the Highlanders 22.
Daniel looked to have butchered a try-scoring opportunity when he chipped the ball into space, but Hosea Gear obliged with an untimely error and the ball spilled loose behind the Highlanders tryline. Lambie, who had followed in support, dotted the ball down and then kicked the conversion to make the Gear gaffe a seven-point mistake.
The weather turned nasty in the final quarter, but the Sharks held out to not only secure the win, but also deny the Highlanders a losing bonus point.
The result may not have propelled the Sharks into the top six, but their strong finish means that they are now only three log points shy of the Highlanders, who are currently fifth in the overall standings.

291 Comments
5 May 2012, 15:38 pm
Highlanders by 1+.
5 May 2012, 15:39 pm
Are the Sharks S15 team gonna choke like the Vodacom Cup team lol
5 May 2012, 15:50 pm
C’mon Sharks, time to shut up the bitterbek Stompie fans!
5 May 2012, 16:03 pm
In the last 3 rounds (including this one) no team has beaten another team with more log points at the start of the game, and I can’t see the force doing it either, so it’s up to the Sahrks for the first “upset” in 3 weeks.
5 May 2012, 16:10 pm
COMMON SHARKS SMASH EM!!!
5 May 2012, 16:20 pm
Yes Woody! That’s the spirit. Keep it up! Win this afternoon and the Sharks can change their season around – lose and its bye bye!
5 May 2012, 16:21 pm
WOODEN SPOON @250 ON ANOTHER THREAD.WHAT WERE YOU
DOING IN THE COOK ISLANDS?YOU DONT STRIKE ME AS A
MISSIONARY.
MOER THEM SHARKS.
5 May 2012, 16:23 pm
@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-7: holiday.
Ja, moer them Sharks!
5 May 2012, 16:28 pm
Highlanders can win this, Sharks are a mid table team at best.
5 May 2012, 16:33 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-3:
bitterbek stormpie fans??
That’s new.
So far I’ve got 4 from 4 this weekend.
And the Sharks by 12 today.
Just hope they don’t stuff up my weekend.
5 May 2012, 16:41 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-10: yes there are a handful of them, see post #2 for one of the worst culprits….. no doubt a few more will pop up on this thread later, especially if the Sharks play poorly at any stage….. watch and wait, wait and see…….
5 May 2012, 16:46 pm
i hear plummo has chummed the energade…
so expecting ruthless rugby from the sharks..!!
go sharks…!
5 May 2012, 16:49 pm
Go Tjarks!
Still my second favourite team despite the wankers on this site.
Definitely a better lineup today although they can only pray Jannie Dup is out
But seriously that guy is terrible.
5 May 2012, 16:50 pm
@ufo(ufo)-12: yeah, plum’s selection is very aggressive today. i predict a try fest by the sharks where they kill off the contest early
5 May 2012, 16:50 pm
What is campese doing in SA?
5 May 2012, 16:53 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-10:
Yeah, hope the Sharks don’t mess up my bru. I did a good job of it myself by mistankenly picking the Lions instead of the Chiefs.
Man, was I angry this morning when I saw what I did.
GO SAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRKKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
5 May 2012, 16:54 pm
Trans @ 14
For sure…
Looking forward to watching Paul Jordaan at last… interesting to see how he and whitehead work together…
Lambie to have a blinder…!!
Bagel @ 13
Just showed shots of Jannie, Biz and Beast practicing scrum engage…
Changed channel to watch the footies when the Sharks went 13 points up today only to change back and see the Bulls captain giving a victory speech.
Wtf happened?
Can never write off those Bulletjies…
Oh and more importantly YNWA GO LIVERPOOL!
@Cambridge(Cambridge)-15:
He did marry a saffa.
He developed decent taste late in life.
5 May 2012, 16:57 pm
@nama1(nama1)-16:
Know the feeling. Check. And then double check.
5 May 2012, 17:10 pm
Anybody got a steaming link for the game?
5 May 2012, 17:17 pm
sharks are moering these landers
5 May 2012, 17:18 pm
beast is boring in at scrum time & getting away with it.
5 May 2012, 17:20 pm
Bismark can be a real ****** at times.
5 May 2012, 17:20 pm
r-e-t-a-r-d
5 May 2012, 17:22 pm
Anybody atball with a link? Would love to be able to catch the game!
5 May 2012, 17:28 pm
Somebody please give a link
5 May 2012, 17:28 pm
Walshie taking pity on the guppies
5 May 2012, 17:32 pm
Both teams look clueless – esp the Landers
5 May 2012, 17:32 pm
Thats it Sharks Smash em!!
5 May 2012, 17:33 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-27: would if i could..
looks like this one is being taxed now, need a password or to donate or something.. http://www.kostatz.webs.com/
5 May 2012, 17:34 pm
Watsup Guns!
5 May 2012, 17:35 pm
Not for me, for the poor guy asking!
5 May 2012, 17:38 pm
jordaan’s first touch and its a bos…
5 May 2012, 17:39 pm
Sharks backline coach doing a pisspoor job over last decade…
5 May 2012, 17:40 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-32: Just trying to chill and watch the game hey, had a lekker gym sesh earlier was good to be back as been out the gym most of last two weeks due to being very busy at work. How things on your side Dawnie?
5 May 2012, 17:41 pm
@Guns(Guns)-35: do the Sharks have a back line coach? What does Bashford actually contribute?
5 May 2012, 17:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-34:
Second **** touch…
@Guns(Guns)-31:
http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/50569/2/highlanders-vs-sharks-live-stream-online.html
5 May 2012, 17:43 pm
Botes koelkas toe
5 May 2012, 17:44 pm
Sharks look extremely pap and uncoached. But worst of all, they don’t look like they want to play.
5 May 2012, 17:46 pm
No worries here, just cape winter and I hate winter!
5 May 2012, 17:48 pm
Why do saffa players pass to a player when there is a defender on top of the receiver?
It does my head in.
5 May 2012, 17:49 pm
http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/50569/2/highlanders-vs-sharks-live-stream-online.html
The Sharks backline is nearly as bad as the Bokkes.
Sharks look very directionless, don’t they? Is there a plan?
5 May 2012, 17:50 pm
@greentea(greentea)-44: Nie hau NZINCHINA. How’s China today?
5 May 2012, 17:51 pm
Pretty safe to assume that the Sharks won’t be winning anything again this year.
5 May 2012, 17:51 pm
Half time. Fortuitous and undeserved lead to the Sharks.
Not going to be a 10 try thriller, this one.
5 May 2012, 17:52 pm
What a try fest by the Sharks! HG must be proud! LOL
5 May 2012, 17:53 pm
@the_winger(the_winger)-26:
No you don’t, you really don’t.
5 May 2012, 17:54 pm
Or the Highlanders.
5 May 2012, 17:55 pm
When does the FA Cup start its got to be better than this rubbish.
5 May 2012, 17:56 pm
Pee Wee – when your Stompies learn how to earn a 4 try bonus then we can talk, bitterbek.
5 May 2012, 17:56 pm
@greentea(greentea)-52: piss off then.
5 May 2012, 17:57 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-53:
why is that, the Sharks will be lucky to score one in this game?
5 May 2012, 17:58 pm
This Sharks thread is really flying.
And then Sharks supporters complain about the lack of articles on their team.
Go figure!
I have found that green tea is an acquired taste.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-54:
Yip I will be, watching the Sharks backline is sending me to sleep.
@Guns(Guns)-35: mind you the sharks backs players are ***** buddy. lambie, mcleod, michallak, viljoen and jpp, mvovo frikin useless hahhahahaa. couldnt frikin do the job under Campese either no excuses here sharks just kak ****.
5 May 2012, 18:00 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-59: another bitterbek gerbil.
5 May 2012, 18:01 pm
Looks like the Sharks will be trying to raid the Cheetahs again for next season.
I wonder what happened to that much boasted about academy.
5 May 2012, 18:02 pm
Geeeeez I hope the sharks can take the points from the Landers today !!
5 May 2012, 18:03 pm
But I drink a cup a day.
Very good for you.
5 May 2012, 18:05 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-60: truth hurts huh? bwahahahahahaha!!!
5 May 2012, 18:05 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-63:
1 cup not enough.
5 May 2012, 18:06 pm
@David(David)-61:
The Sharks academy is located in Bloemfontein.
You know that, I know that.
5 May 2012, 18:06 pm
@David(David)-61: Vermeulen, Leibenberg?…
5 May 2012, 18:07 pm
How many then? It’s unpleasant!
5 May 2012, 18:08 pm
Grant?
Habana?
Ja right gerbils.
5 May 2012, 18:09 pm
@David(David)-61:
Well one of them is keeping them in the lead despite his coach’s poor tactics…
5 May 2012, 18:09 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-67:
Liebenberg was Griquas.
5 May 2012, 18:10 pm
Ben Smith more AB caps this year for him, surely Lambis is not an option at 10 for the Bokke.
5 May 2012, 18:11 pm
Drink it all day, ease off as night approaches.
5 May 2012, 18:11 pm
Ok FA Cup time, go Landers.
5 May 2012, 18:12 pm
1-0
FFS…
Sharks backline & defence coach ffffking piiiis pooor!!! They must all go!!!!
Sharks imploded. Try to Landers.
Commentators slating the Sharks. Good, they deserve it.
Sharks need to play WITH the ball, need to be a bit more CREATIVE with it though. They look clueless with the ball.
5 May 2012, 18:13 pm
@greentea(greentea)-72:
People forget that Lambie is the current Bok fullback.
And I for one reckon that that is his best position. Maybe not his preferred position.
5 May 2012, 18:14 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-59: Dissagree..
Whitehead, Bambie, Mvovo, Viljoen, JPP all capable just fking pisssssss poooor coaching..
Sharks’ hands are terrible. Let them down all season.
Let them down with the try line begging.
I dont think they the bees knees either though so ja.. They need a magician backline coach!
All day. Ugh.
5 May 2012, 18:16 pm
Suddenly Sharks look awaken. It did not take an hour.
5 May 2012, 18:16 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-41: Been a fooooken terrible last 15months of **** weather in UK, we ment to be going into summer just **** muddy pom weather..
5 May 2012, 18:17 pm
sharks should keep it with the forwards, the backs look clueless
5 May 2012, 18:18 pm
@Guns(Guns)-79: nope lambie is a kak 10, mvovo is lazy, mcleod overrated, viljoen ordinary, whitehead okay, jpp a kak done lazy bum. coaching cant change that.
5 May 2012, 18:19 pm
Exactly Campo. Sharks need some enthusiasm. Lift the TEMPO!
5 May 2012, 18:21 pm
Jeez basic skills are lacking, another miss pass which could have been a try. Who is responsible for the Sharks basic drills?
5 May 2012, 18:22 pm
The Sharks are winning this game without playing any rugby.
5 May 2012, 18:23 pm
Lol, watch the Sharks try and defend this 5 point lead for the last 20 mins.
5 May 2012, 18:24 pm
Now what was that about Lambie… Durban wunderkid?
TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lambie Bambie!!!!!! All sharks poins! Well played Daniels!!
Spoke too soon, there’s a try to make event the try starved gerbils smile.
5 May 2012, 18:25 pm
Lambie you legend!
5 May 2012, 18:25 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-91: lambie is a nervy coward a bumbling bafoon. not the only one in that team or in sa like that though.
5 May 2012, 18:26 pm
Well done Lambie. MOTM.
5 May 2012, 18:27 pm
Lol Guns!
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-86: Jy praat baie KUK!
Did you not watch the last 2 season! Lambie was one of highest points scorers and scored plenty trys against the likes of WeePee, Bulls etc…
They need new staff and new coaches period.
With the new staff, new coach will come som new blood too.
5 May 2012, 18:28 pm
Time for last cuppa green tea
5 May 2012, 18:29 pm
why do they all high five after an error?
5 May 2012, 18:30 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-95: Lambie coward? Please!!! for his size he is one of the more courages players and easily one of the best backs currently in SA. U sir are a clown!
Think I still prefer him at 15 though. Goosen at 10! Franse Steyn 12, Jack Fourie 13. Game Over! Basson and habana on the wings.
5 May 2012, 18:31 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-95:
You’re not much of a word-smith nor very rugby-observant neither by the looks of things today…
5 May 2012, 18:32 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-101:
Painful innit!
5 May 2012, 18:32 pm
Keep Aplon, JDV, JPP, etc on standby. Or Hougaard Wing with Basson and FDP 9 for next year or 2. Get some Solid wins under the Boks. Basson just needs to work on his def..
5 May 2012, 18:35 pm
15 – Lambie
}
14 – Habana
13 – J Fourie
12 – Franse Steyn
11 – Hougaard {he is better on the wing just admit it
10 – Morne Syeyn / Goosen
09 – Fourie Dup / Ruaan Pienaar (on current form for SA 9s)
5 May 2012, 18:36 pm
Highlanders must go home now
They boring me
5 May 2012, 18:38 pm
@Guns(Guns)-106:
Plenty options, would not mind seeing that though..
5 May 2012, 18:38 pm
Lambiekins showed all his class today. Where is skopshyte?
5 May 2012, 18:40 pm
@Guns(Guns)-106:
J deV will be your captain and Jaq Fourie is no longer interested. Hougaardt will be 9.Goosen is injured so Morne will be no 10.
5 May 2012, 18:41 pm
Highlanders mistakes plus Lambie 28… Highlanders 16…
5 May 2012, 18:42 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-110:
Yes that is more likely and def bassed on current players abroad/injurys. Goosens Injury a real F shame! Am sure he will bounce back stronger!
5 May 2012, 18:42 pm
What the fark is that greasy haired kno.b doing watching roundball at the rugby?
5 May 2012, 18:43 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-109:
Spent the day either cutting himself again or sjambokking his workers after another excellent JW’s Brumbies performance…
Well done Sharks, now Hurricanes do have a chance.
Top Class steal from Bizzy ha ha
5 May 2012, 18:44 pm
Sharks must be sweating with the Stormers and Bulls in waiting. This victory was built on long range penalties. At least something to smile about for their supporters. HG will be on very soon.
5 May 2012, 18:44 pm
@Guns(Guns)-112:
Yip, Goosen is going to be the next superstar – by far the most talented no 10 in SA since………… Naas Botha I think.
5 May 2012, 18:45 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-114:
Ha ha ha
The Sharks win. The world is normal again.
Bambie gna be popular with the ladies tonight!
Spot on. Sharks by 12.
Well done sharkies.
@Guns(Guns)-98: nah lambie was kak last year for shark and bok alike and year before that too. had a good currie cup in 2010 but we all know how much that means in the big picture… not a lot.
5 May 2012, 18:46 pm
Ugly win, but I’ll take it.
5 May 2012, 18:47 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-120:
I am quite chuffed for them and very happy they did not get a bonuspoint.
5 May 2012, 18:49 pm
More popular than you, Guns!
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-95:
Hey Blitzbok, are you aware that I enjoy crapping in your moms mouth?
Frans Steyn has done nothing to warrant inclusion in the Bok team. What an utterly useless, overrated pieca guppie rubbish. Crash, kick, long cut out pass, missed tackle………….that Steyn in a nutshell!
5 May 2012, 18:50 pm
@127 yay!
Onnodig!
5 May 2012, 18:51 pm
6th straight win for the Sharks over the Highlanders.
5 May 2012, 18:52 pm
HG
You can show your face now.
On a Sharks thread, for a change.
5 May 2012, 18:54 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-123: ya right, go brush your teeth after that bout of **** spoken
5 May 2012, 18:54 pm
Well done to the Sharks.
Well played Pat.
5 May 2012, 18:55 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-129: i agree
5 May 2012, 18:55 pm
131 @ IAAS
He was waiting for this moment for the last couple of weeks. Poor, pitiful soul hahahahahahaha
5 May 2012, 18:56 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-133: hello brudda from anudda mudda lol
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-123: More **** from some1 who obviously knows fokall about rugby! Chump! Think Ill take a dump in ur momies mouth too!
Great that Sharks won, but I don’t see too much room for improvement with the current setup.
And Storming up the ‘Bru this weekend.
9 places so far.
5/5 so far
5 May 2012, 18:57 pm
@Guns(Guns)-137: Better eat some chomps, peanut butter and sea-food make it extra crunchy and full of flavour!!
You can have some too & can freeze for later, some frozen delights!!
5 May 2012, 18:58 pm
@Guns(Guns)-137: he does not have a mother bvut 2 fathers
5 May 2012, 18:59 pm
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-128: Absolute Rubbish PeeWeePeePee, well maybe not too recently but his showing during the RWC at 12 was more than enough to prove how capable he can be at 12.
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-136: Howzit matey congratulations!
You must be pleased
Good performance from Lambie tonight or what! ?
What did you think of Paul Jordaan?
Some good runs I thought.
He does need to get his *** back in SA and coaches need to play him at 12 though for it to work.
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-132:
Who is this aggressive little ****?
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-143: Agree.
5 May 2012, 19:00 pm
Guns you fool!
Distasteful!
Beast was huge, the Sharks scrum was the best Sharks thing all night.
Beast a clear Bok starter (as usual).
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-141: lol true! Ill leave the dumping to you then!
5 May 2012, 19:01 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-143: tghanks boet, yeah lambie was greatrdaan quiet, i thought whitehead was very good on the night
5 May 2012, 19:02 pm
Well done sharks very good win
5 May 2012, 19:02 pm
142 @ Guns
Against Namibia and Samoa? You got you panties wet after those two games? You need to set your standards higher boet!
5 May 2012, 19:03 pm
Good games by Lambie Bismark and Daniels
wow what did i just type
(M) JOrdaan was ok for first outing, Tim was very good again
With Goosen injured Lambie just reminded Heineken Lager just what he can do.
Ludik had his best game of the season.
5 May 2012, 19:05 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-156:
Yes he played well
Sharks centers need to straighten the line more
5 May 2012, 19:05 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-156: Hiyasss Spooner, i am waiting for Transie to come tell us how useless Lambie was
5 May 2012, 19:06 pm
Ludik 7
Pietersen 6
Jordaan 5
Whitehead 6
Mvovo 6
Lambie 7
McLeod 6
Daniel 6
Botes 5
Coetzee 6
Sykes 6
Bresler 5
Du Plessis J 5
Bismark 7
Beast 7
5 May 2012, 19:07 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-157: Campo doing the commentary was going crazy saying how predictable the and lateral the backs run.
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-158: screw Transie, what about skopshyte?
5 May 2012, 19:07 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-158: i’m glad i own your thoughts
5 May 2012, 19:09 pm
Stormersboy @133
Thank you.
How good was Bismarck.?Only 2 players apart from him who could/can
rip the ball from an All Black props arms.The legendary Reuben Kruger
and….I forget
5 May 2012, 19:09 pm
McLeod takes too many steps side ways before he passes forcing Lambie across and centers are basically running sideways when they get the ball not giving outside players any room
But otherwise good win Nice to see the bok front row back in action together
5 May 2012, 19:10 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-160:
Starts at nine easy to defend someone needs to come in at angle or some inside passes
5 May 2012, 19:12 pm
Lambie is a solid 10 but Morne our best bet for now. Goosen must definitely be made first choice once he returns from injury.
5 May 2012, 19:12 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-154: Enjoy the drinks Mate!
You’ve earned it!
@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-162: He’s a great player for sure.
5 May 2012, 19:13 pm
Coetzee needs to learn to pass. Good in all other aspects but very predictable with ball in hand.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-159:
Ludik 7
Pietersen 6
Jordaan 6
Whitehead 7
Mvovo 5
Lambie 9
McLeod 6
Daniel 7
Botes 5
Coetzee 7
Sykes 6
Bresler 5
Du Plessis J 5
Bismark 8
Beast 7
5 May 2012, 19:15 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-169: SL the win masked a pretty poor performance by the Sharks. The Sharks look very uncoached.
I don’t think any player was up at 8 and 9 level.
5 May 2012, 19:15 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-161: lol only ion ur thoughts mate lol
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-160: ewwwwwwwwwwwwww i dont do men lol , na with transie i still joke , skopclown is a 2 year old ****** lol i ignore it
5 May 2012, 19:17 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-166: lol, thanks bro , the rain spoilt it some what
5 May 2012, 19:18 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-170: boet with that rain pounding down?? not to bad, handling was not easy
5 May 2012, 19:20 pm
Sharks denying the Landers a bonus point was also a good thing
5 May 2012, 19:22 pm
Shew what a difference Beast has made to our scrum!!! Jannie wasn’t too bad either tonight. Well done Sharks but not a convincing win by any means
5 May 2012, 19:25 pm
Haha sjyewalkee and norugby guru you looosers lol
5 May 2012, 19:27 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-176: don’t forget Pee Wee and skopshyte!
5 May 2012, 19:29 pm
Sharks backline is simply the worst coached backline in superrugby.
No question.
I wanted to punch mcleod in the head for kicking possesion away all night.
5 May 2012, 19:31 pm
@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-175: Howdy M you good lady you, hope ur doing well???
Yeah Beast was very good tonight
5 May 2012, 19:33 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-178:
and the players aren’t much better
5 May 2012, 19:34 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-178: hiyas forrest dweller lol you well??
5 May 2012, 19:38 pm
Too many journeymen in the Sharks backline, very convenient to blame the coach though as it was with the hopeless Bokke backline that was PDVs fault as well, face facts your backs are very average.
5 May 2012, 19:39 pm
Howdy sl.in sodwana for a spearo comp.
Gotta duck bud have a goodie.
5 May 2012, 19:40 pm
@greentea(greentea)-182: Nie hau NZINCHINA. How’s things your side of the wall?
5 May 2012, 19:41 pm
@greentea(greentea)-182: p.s. why did you change your nick from NZINCHINA?
5 May 2012, 19:44 pm
Wins a win though Spooner so good on your boys.
5 May 2012, 19:53 pm
Hsha then the highlanders backline must be vodacom cup level china you fool lol.
5 May 2012, 20:07 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-187:
Ranger your backs are shite, don’t blame the coach.
5 May 2012, 21:10 pm
Seems like greentea doesn’t want to talk about his NZINCHINA past.
5 May 2012, 21:12 pm
“In the land of Paarl, the one-eyed referee is King”
Let me preface what I am about to write by saying that I am undoubtedly biased and probably one-eyed myself at times (Hell, I’m the grandfather of one of the Bishops’ players AND a Shark’s supporter …… that must tell you something !!)
Anyway, earlier today I attended a schools rugby match, played at Paarl Gymnasium, between the Under 14A teams of Paarl Gym and Bishops. There were large crowds spread throughout the Paarl Gym campus watching the many rugby matches taking place simultaneously between different teams from these two rugby-rich schools. The atmosphere was electric and wonderful to experience. So far, so good.
And the Under 14A match was a particular highlight…… Regrettably (and here I admit to potential bias), in my considered opinion, the match was ruined by the performance of the referee. Let’s examine the “facts”. The ref openly wore the exact colours (different design) of the Paarl team; the penalty count at the end of the match was 19 – 6 in favour of the Paarl team; at one stage in this frustrating match where only Bishops (a well-coached and knowledgeable rugby team) seemed not to know the rules of the sport, the ref stopped the game , came to side of the field and ordered a Bishops father to stop coaching/commenting so loudly from the sidelines and to step back 10 metres from the touchline; and finally towards the end of the match (4/5 minutes to play), with Bishops leading 20 – 17, the ref awarded two successive penalties against the Bishops’ team well inside the Bishops 22….the first came to nought; the second, quickly taken was spread to the Paarl wing who dropped the ball, the Bishops’ wing and centre recovered it and two passes later, the wing dotted down under the Paarl posts ! Game. Set and Match to Bishops !!. But, no….well after the ball had been dropped by the Paarl backline, 30/40 metres across the field after the quick tap, the ref ran back, blew his whistle and awarded another penalty to Paarl Gym waving his arms and indicating that the Bishops team had not retreated 10 metres…….Funny that, considering how far the ball had been allowed to spread. After this 3rd close-in penalty, Paarl scored and converted, 2 minutes later were awarded another penalty straight out in front, converted it, and the final whistle went, 27 – 20 to Paarl Gym. The boys shook hands and left the field, Bishops feeling no doubt that they had been robbed and wondering if the ref was any relation to one Bryce Lawrence…..
Oh, and by the way, that father who was so vocal and told he didn’t know what he was talking about…….a gentleman by the name of Francois Pienaar who’s son happened to be playing for the Bishops team. Obviously out of touch with the rules of rugby since his heyday in 1995….or so the ref determined.
5 May 2012, 21:34 pm
@yank(yank)-190: c’mon Mr Mike Millard, you’ve posted this on the appropriate “schoolboy” thread. No need to repeat it here again.
5 May 2012, 21:47 pm
@yank(yank)-190:
Lol, it spounds terrible… my full sympaty… it is never easy against Gym or Boys high even without the ref helping them.
What went wrong during the first team match? I saw they beat Bishops by about 50. How much damage did no 10 Pollard do? I heard he is the next big thing.
5 May 2012, 22:48 pm
rugby becoming static and uninspiring
laws becoming stale and spoiling
ref’s becoming whistle blowing belladonna’s
not one decent game so far this weekend perhaps Sunday morning game sees a change to that..
5 May 2012, 22:49 pm
@yank(yank)-190:
Francois must behave better then. Just because he’s a WC winning captain, doesn’t mean he can act like a fool and gets away with it.
5 May 2012, 22:53 pm
hey Ella, why dont you take a break from rugby? you seem to not enjoy it very much. or maybe you just like moaning?
5 May 2012, 23:00 pm
I wonder if HG regards this game as a draw.
I mean, both teams scored one try apiece.
5 May 2012, 23:04 pm
@nama1(nama1)-196:
5 May 2012, 23:11 pm
Great to see these legends of South African sport settling into the Cape lifestyle,hell,even Jonty Rhodes left his wife behind in Kzn to see what the fuss was all about in the Cape.
5 May 2012, 23:25 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-197: @stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-198:
So, what do you guys think about the game against the Cheetahs next week?
No doubt they won’t play as kak as they did tonight. It is a derby after all. Fortunately it is in Cape Town. when last did they beat us there?
5 May 2012, 23:31 pm
Bulls scored 5 .. and let in 5 .. against Melbourne .. how ‘professional’ is that?
Sharks scored 1 … and let in 1.. the fly hack ahead did the tricky dicky deed.. and the kicking tee did the rest .. Sharks backs went sideways for 80 minutes and so did Highlanders .. until they discovered kick chase.. oh what a beautifully inspiring past time is kick chase rugby.
Blues dropped every ball they got
Cheetahs and Force did much the same.. trading penalty kicks per the jaundiced views on how the breakdown possession rule is decided by one individual carrying an agenda
Lions are pisspoor outfit not S15 quality
Waratahs are down and out
The refs are getting worse as the ‘professional’ game progresses into an officiating nightmare of breakdown litany of lottery ticket results and shrill blasts on the penny whistle
So where’s the magic gone.. up shitcreek.. that’s where
Maybe Crusaders – Reds stops the rot this weekend.
5 May 2012, 23:35 pm
If Stormers can’t beat this dysfunctional Cheetahs outfit next week then I dunno where rugby is heading .. perhaps down the sewer into the gutter .. cause there been very little champagne to toast the dismal stuff on display so far the past 40 or so hours.
5 May 2012, 23:40 pm
@ella fitzy(fritz ellenbogen)-200:
Well, last time out, the Bulls scored TWO and let in five. They just even it out yesterday.
Agree with your summation.
The quality of rugby so far this weekend, was kak. Probably because the Stormers did not play.
5 May 2012, 23:51 pm
haha
Check it out all.
I asid this the yesterday.
182.Hurricane said:
5 May 2012, 13:38 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-180:
Yep, big game Wooden.
I think the Sharks will come through. Highlanders somehow have been doing well but this is where i think the wheels may start to fall off.
Sharks by 12
Now i know going on that you all want me to tell you your future, i wont, only for a price
6 May 2012, 10:15 am
And so, the Dynamite begin their march to the knockouts.
Against one of the better Kiwi packs it was gratifying to see the Sharks pack shunt forward.
Beautiful to see Beast concertina their tighthead… repeatedly. Nothing better than to see sheepshaggers bent or in fullblown retreat.
Rain and difficult KP conditions prevented a tryfest but the Sharks D has improved significantly and I reckon this has to do more with attitude than personnel.
Lambie has laid his claim. I wonder if Heynecke had his Bull blinkers off just long enough to see the future…. the future is baby faced and curly haired… His future is to be Sharks and Bok Captain.
Any Bok 8 quandary can also be laid to rest if in Keegan Boks trust… He breaks the advantage line everytime he picks up from the back of the scrum… Actually he breaks the advantage line everytime he touches the ball. His handling skills are better than most SA backs and he has that one important attribute missing in other 8 contenders: Ballas.
A well deserved 4 points this week. Next week 5.
6 May 2012, 10:23 am
Unless Meyer is totally Bull blinkered or has suddenly been injected with Cape metrosexual mamparradom the following Sharks should be 1st choice Boks
Beast
Bissy
JdP
Keegan
Lambie
JPP
Bok Squad:
Coetzee
Whitehead
Mvovo
If not then Meyer will be shooting himself in his Blue and Pink hoof.
6 May 2012, 10:27 am
Well done Sharks! A win is a win and not only scoring of tries makes the win sweat.
Lambie looking like a good back-up to Steyn now. Still a lot of improvement but at least the game plan was a winning plan.
6 May 2012, 10:36 am
Lol, HG respect to your gerbil squashing ways but your views on the state of the Sharks is rosily parochial.
They were cr.ap yesterday. Totally clueless and lateral on attack. They are looking very uncoached and the team seems to lack the desire – no passion or guts or team unity on display.
Against a better team than the Highlanders yesterday, the result may well have been very different. And clearly better teams at this very moment are the Crusaders, Bulls, Stormers and Chiefs. Sadly.
They should bat aside the Force easily but one can’t help thinking the swift chop of the season ending guillotine is only being delayed for the Sharks. They are just not good enough this season and merely saying that of a Sharks team shows how far they have fallen – we need a new broom. Van Zyl must catch a wake or vokkof too.
6 May 2012, 10:37 am
So if Meyer knew what was good for him he would pick this side:
1. Beast
2 Bissy
3 JdP
4. Etsebeth
5. Bekker
6 Kolisi (Ratels era may be coming to an end)
7. Potgieter
8. Daniel
9 FdP
10. Steyn
11. Habana
12 Steyn
13 JPP
14 Hougaard
15 Lambie (Also going to standoff when needed)
Bench: Greyling Chilli WP Nel Alberts Kruger Whitehead Kirchner
6 May 2012, 10:43 am
Also, I don’t think Daniel is starting Bok material.
6 May 2012, 10:46 am
Lambie
JPP
JdV
JdJ
Habs
Steyn
Hougie
Coenie
Strauss
WP Nel
Bekker
Etsebeth
Ratel
Stander
Bench: Bissie; Dupie; Kitshoff; Elstadt; FSteyn, FdP
6 May 2012, 10:50 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-207: 1. Did you see the weather.
2. How many tries did the Highlanders score?
3. Those same Highlanders have beaten the Saders and the Chiefs.
4. The Highlanders before yesterday were sitting at 2 on the NZ conference.
5. Sharks lost to the Chiefs, yes, but only just and the operative word here is “just”. Same against the Bulls and Stormers. A few parochial reffing decisions the Sharks way instead of to the teams of the “moment” and Pop goes 3 extra wins instead of the bonus point losses.
6. I dont buy this Shark supporter negativity at the moment. Especially the likes of which you see on that gangbanging clique of a fcked up site that professes support to the Mighty Sharks called Sharksworld. What those fuckwits don’t know about the Sharks and rugby in general is scary.
Nope I dont buy the whining all fall down and give up theory. There are still many Sharks supporters with ballas who know what Plum and his team of Black and White Dynamite can still do. We are behind them fully.
Watch and see.
6 May 2012, 10:52 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-207: 1. Did you see the weather.
2. How many tries did the Highlanders score?
3. Those same Highlanders have beaten the Saders and the Chiefs.
4. The Highlanders before yesterday were sitting at 2 on the NZ conference.
5. Sharks lost to the Chiefs, yes, but only just and the operative word here is “just”. Same against the Bulls and Stormers. A few parochial reffing decisions the Sharks way instead of to the teams of the “moment” and Pop goes 3 extra wins instead of the bonus point losses.
6. I dont buy this Shark supporter negativity at the moment. Especially the likes of which you see on that gangbanging clique of a fcked up site that professes support to the Mighty Sharks called Sharksworld. What those fuckwits don’t know about the Sharks and rugby in general is scary.
Nope I dont buy the whining all fall down and give up theory. There are still many Sharks supporters with ballas who know what Plum and his team of Black and White Dynamite can still do. We are behind them fully.
Watch and see. Its not over until the Fat Maori Sings.
6 May 2012, 11:09 am
The Highlanders are not a “full season” team [note: it is arguable that the Sharks have recently played themselves into the same category]. It was inevitable that the Highlanders would experience a slump, and you could say that none of the Chiefs, Crusaders, Bulls or Stormers would ever allow themselves to be 21 points down on the Cheetahs. Nah, the Highlanders are mid slump and I predict they may struggle to keep their top 6 place.
It only started raining in the 2nd half? Conditions were perfect by the looks of things before that. Conversely, this is the period when the Sharks looked most clueless.
I believe the “negativity” [or reality?] is justified. For the last 3 or 4 years the Sharks have played clear 2nd fiddle to the Bulls and usual mid-tablers, the Stormers. Not good enough for the Sharks. Plumtree and minions have had their chance – delivered nothing but mediocrity at Super level – and are clearly not up to the job. Time for them to go so that a fresh start can be made. The Sharks are a team that should be up there competing for 1st place on the log, not trying to annually scrape into the [now expanded] six team play offs. Finishing 6th is mediocre.
Time for reality to take over. Time for a change.
Nothing wrong with the fans pointing this out. They deserve more.
6 May 2012, 11:12 am
yeah HG, the Sharks are on the ‘march up to the top of the log’
6 May 2012, 11:22 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-213: “last 3 or 4 years the Sharks have played clear 2nd fiddle to the Bulls and usual mid-tablers, the Stormers” – Speak for yourself Shark “supporter”… You dont speak for the fans who appreciate a CC win in 2010, a final in 2011 and another win to come in 2012… You also dont speak for supporters of a side who made the playoffs last year – at least as good as the other side who made the playoffs, the Stormers and better than the so called other “superior” side that didn’t.
You may think the Stormers and Bulls are “superior” to the Sharks – heck, you’ve even stated it – but I and many other of the Sharks army DO NOT think the same way. AT ALL
6 May 2012, 11:23 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-212:
We are well known for our vocal abilities…Blame it on the rain…. yeah yeah.
6 May 2012, 11:23 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-214: I guess so.He throws the word ‘ballas’ around as if we would really challenge or doubt his gender now.
6 May 2012, 11:25 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-214: Yeah laugh you little sycophantic faux fawning weazel…. WTF do you know?
Who made you an expert… Sharksworld?
6 May 2012, 11:27 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-216: Sharks won, cuzzie… No excuses needed.
5 in a row coming.
6 May 2012, 11:30 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-219:
Go Hard….Sharks timing their run.
6 May 2012, 11:37 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-220: Thats it… The Dynamite Steamtrain picking up momentum…
6 May 2012, 11:38 am
Oh here we go with the “but we won the Currie Cup” defence.
The Currie Cup means squat all when compared with Super rugby. Ask the Lions.
In the past 3 Super rugby seasons, the Bulls have won it twice! The Stormers have finished 2nd on the table and made a final!
You can question my “support” but I am clearly more of a realist and I clearly demand more from my team. Without change, how do YOU expect the results to change?
And need I remind you what you Plumtree’s Super rugby results have been?
2009: 6th
2010: 9th
2011: 6th
2012??? Lucky to make the play offs. What victory is there in finishing 6th anyway?
Nah, what the Sharks need is fewer “fans” willing to accept mediocrity, with their tired old “it was the weather” or “it was the ref” excuses at the ready. Next thing you know finishing 6th will be seen as an achievement ffs.
Lol, I don’t get these types who think no questions can be asked of their team when they are failing to produce the goods.
6 May 2012, 11:39 am
But enough. Not good to see two Sharks supporters at each others’ throats, especially not on this site. Peace.
6 May 2012, 11:49 am
TBH the Sharks should win at least 3 of their next 4 games.
Force (H)
Cheetahs (A)
Stormers (H)
Lions (A)
Lovely if they can win all 4, but the Cheetahs away and the Stormers at home will be tough fixtures.
A run up the table may indeed be on the cards.
6 May 2012, 11:53 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-222: You forget, the season is not over… That’s real.
Because the Sharks haven’t charged out of the blocks like those other two “superior” teams suddenly its all over before the Cup has even been contested… Thats real.
Some of the key Sharks players have been injured and now have returned making a significant difference to the side… Thats real.
I have no problem anyone asking questions of the Sharks but I do have a problem when a Sharks “supporter” states that the Stormers and the Bulls are “Superior” when the Sharks made playoffs just last year.
6 May 2012, 11:58 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-208:
Unrealistic, the forwards in that squad are to light and inexperienced itll look more like:
Beast
Bissy
Wp Nel
Bekker
Etzebeth
Heinrich
Marcell (Meyer already mentioned he was impressed with him and schalk is out so it makes sense)
Spies (unfortunate but he looks like meyers favourite)
Hougie
M. Steyn
Habana
F. Steyn
JdV (c)
Basson
Lambie
6 May 2012, 12:08 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-215:
You know what Im sick of? That Sharks supporters are loyal too their side AND support the other South African teams. Whereas the Stormers and Bulls fans only care for their team and would rather a New Zealand or Australian team win instead of another SA side other than their own… Why not be supportive of all Sa teams? I for one would love to see the Sharks win, however since its more likely I would be more than happy to see another Sa team win.
6 May 2012, 12:09 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-225: Good on ya for being so positive, even myself included has not been the most positive.
While their is breath its alive…..
6 May 2012, 12:14 pm
There is only going to be one winner of the Super 15 competition, so 14 teams are going to walk away empty handed, with nothing to show for their blood, sweat
and tears and no trophy in their cupboard.
Can the Sharks make it a home semi,? It is possible but probably not.If the Sharks don’t make all their purchases were in vain.The only consolation is that they may try again next year.
6 May 2012, 12:16 pm
HG, it appears that this statement has got up your nose:
“For the last 3 or 4 years the Sharks have played clear 2nd fiddle to the Bulls and usual mid-tablers, the Stormers.”
I suggest you will have a hard time controverting it.
To get better, one need to accept the problems and weaknesses. That’s the only way the Sharks will improve. Not burying heads in the sand and blindly hoping things will get better.
Last season is a near carbon copy of this season too, lest you forget…. and remember what happened? Were you happy with last year’s result? Finishing 6th and getting pumped in an away play off qualifier means fokkol, seriously. Does it look like we learned from last year’s hard lessons?
Your problem is that you appear to “hate” the Stormers more than you “like” your own team so you have difficulties in accepting that the Stormers have been a better side than the Sharks for this season and the past 2. Simply put, they have.
Nothing ‘traitorous’ in admitting this. Indeed, once this truth sinks in you may wish a lot more from your Sharks team….
6 May 2012, 12:19 pm
@Butthead(Bradenel)-227: Wrong fella to jump into bed with here now Butthead.He ,not only hate the Stormers,you can add the people as well as the city into that mix.Your new-found bedmate is the reason why supporters of other teams take the mickey out of the Sharks on this forum.
6 May 2012, 12:19 pm
@Butthead(Bradenel)-226: JdV Captain??? What is it with you DOnkey lovers who will even have the Munster reject at 13 to just keep him in the team… any team whether the STormers or the Boks. Fck this is the second year STormers have persisted with him at 12 while keeping a fcking good 12 who proved himself in 2010 for a whole season either out of position or sitting on the bench…. Donkey gets injured and, bang, suddenly the Stormers backline looks even half dangerous with JdJ at 12. Donkey gets injured and Steyn wins a world cup in 2007 at 12 and shows what the Bok backs could do, however fleetingly, at RWC 2012…
And now fools want to make this guy Captain!!! WTF?
I know I can be a one eyed Dynamite supporter but hellsteeth in this Keo/Breezer worshipping land of the BLIND – the one eyed man truly is KING.
JdV will NOT be Bok Captain… If he is then the Boks will be more fcked than they ever were. I cannot think Meyer is that farken stupid.
Actually, even Meisiekind will be a better 13 than JdV for the Boks…
6 May 2012, 12:33 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-230: I expect much from the Sharks – THE premier side in SA rugby… My comments were about the Sharks, not the Stormers.
My point was, just in case you missed it, about the negativity of Sharks supporters this season.
I am sick and tired of this negative, cowardly mentality shown by a lot of Sharks supporters this season – many who have thrown in the towel before the halfway mark. I can guarantee you that the Sharks, unlike many of their snivelling fair weather supporters, havent thrown in the towel yet.
Another point is that Plum isnt as bad a coach as he is being made out to be, especially by the fair weather supporters.
No I refuse to accept this capitulation mentality and that it is just a “need to accept the problems and weaknesses.” or ” Not burying heads in the sand and blindly hoping things will get better”… No, I say it is cowardly and it is jumping the gun barely after the halfway mark has been reached in Super rugby…
A lot can happen in the next 8 games or so… Many teams are having players that are dropping like flies… The Sharks however looking in great health.
Nope, this is not blind stupidity – I just see and know things other supporters, especially the fairweather ones, may not…. That if the Sharks win the next 4 games – they will be in a great position. And they farken well can.
6 May 2012, 12:39 pm
@Butthead(Bradenel)-227: so true, i sat at a restaurant 2 weeks ago where a bunch of us went to watch the Sharks – Chiefs match in cape town
well some in here like to brand the coloured fold the cape crusaders???
well at this place there was a lot of white stormer supporters even wearing the Chiefs jersey supporting them like craz\y against a fellow saffa team
Talking to them at the time confirmed they hardly knew where NZ was as they were as afrikaans as could come.
Sickening to be honest as i cant get myself to support against my fellow South Africans
I lived in PTA before and you seldom saw a man there support the foreighners, in CPT it seesm to be the way it is
6 May 2012, 12:42 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-233: well I hope they win every game from here on in too. That’s what fans do. Wins are sweeter than losses. To win all their games they will need to improve significantly though.
Just like I hoped last year, and the year before, and the 15 super rugby seasons before that.
It seems hoping is what us Sharks supporters do best. Year after year after year. I wonder when all the hoping will eventually translate into tangible [read hands on trophy] success in Super rugby?
[p.s. the Sharks were the premier SA side in Super rugby until the Bulls improved and won 3 Super rugby titles. There is a case study in improving which all Sharks fans can be hopeful of achieving. If the Bulls can do it, there is no reason why the Sharks can't.]
The Sharks are in desperate need of improvement. A record of played 10 won 5 lost 5 confirms that.
6 May 2012, 12:46 pm
Hg,when your own fellow sharks supporters are getting fed up with your idiotic statements on this forum i believe it’s time for you to shut the fark up and go for a long,very long walk.
6 May 2012, 12:46 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-234:
I live in Pretoria and you are so wrong. The cheers coming from the houses around me when the Force scored was quite embarrassing. Generalizing is not clever. You get it here. I see HG always hoping the Stormers and the Bulls lose, so it goes all ways.
6 May 2012, 12:48 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-235:
As a Stormer there is only one premier side and that is the Bulls. They have the silverware that counts to prove it. The real one is the Super Trophy. The Currie Cup has devalued and means very little, especially when the bottom of the Super Log is the Currie Cup champions. Nuff said.
6 May 2012, 12:50 pm
@Butthead(Bradenel)-227: in the context of this site – you have GOT to be farken JOKING!
Nevertheless, when the Sharkies aren’t playing I do support the Cheetahs and Bulls…
Heck I have even ventured into the hallowed (well nearly as hallowed as Kings Park) field of Loftus… Twice this year already.
And no I dont buy that you MUST support any other Saffer side against all and Sundry… Fuckthat.
First and foremost I am a Sharks man through and through. This is always the point of departure…
6 May 2012, 12:55 pm
A supporter only supports their team. Mine is the Stormers and then of course the Boks. I don’t support the Sharks, Bulls, Lions or Cheetahs. I hope they win at times though. This hypocrisy is hilarious.
6 May 2012, 12:56 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-235: Woody, it is not hope… It is realism… Sharks have a pretty decent run into the knockouts… Meyer with his Blue blinkers might not select that many Sharks either for the 3N… That leaves the Dynamite in pretty good shape for the business end of this comp.
They win the next 4 and its all systems go.
Wake up and smell the farken Shark scented roses, Man
6 May 2012, 13:00 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-234:’ Talking to them at the time confirmed they hardly knew where NZ was as they were as afrikaans as could come.’
You seriously think that we are believing your emotional ramblings?Check out the sicko bulls supporters from Pretoria on news24 degrading the Stormers,city and people…very similar to hg’s daily idiotic ramblings on here.
6 May 2012, 13:02 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-240: Billy you the only hypocrite with a statement like that… You might be nice oke, but still a farken hypocrite.
6 May 2012, 13:06 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-242: Chrissakes, you are one dumbfuck… A Breezer supporter to boot… You personally go a long way proving the generalisations and observations of supporters of teams other than the Streeptrui Gerbils of the Stormers, their supporters and their City on News24 and many other blogs too… A gift that keeps on giving to Refugees all over SA outside the Cape Mountain bubble….
6 May 2012, 13:07 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-240: Absolutely correct.It’s far safer for me to support only one team.I wouldn’t now like to support the Sharks and for an idiot like Hg to come along and throw a 2010 cc victory right back into my face.
6 May 2012, 13:09 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-243:
Thanks mate! I support the Stormers so I”m a hypocrite.
I can live with that.
6 May 2012, 13:11 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-242: DUDE?? I care not whether you want to believe what i said or not, like i give a ***** what you think????????????
It is however a fact and in fact rassie erasmus was in our group as he frequents this place on a REGULAR basis
I am not saying it is only Stormer supporters that do this, i did however say i have seen it here in the cape in big volumes
As for HG?? what he has to say is his business and i do not answer for him, i do however know that his hatred of the Stormers was never always the case, when he forst came in here he was pretty normal, but the continuos hatred towards the Sharks fromStormer supporgters in here has in some ways made him the blogger he is
But them of course you would deny this as a stormer supporter you will gladly over look your own kinds trashing of others
6 May 2012, 13:11 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-245:
The Currie Cup has no value and will fade away gradually. There is only one trophy to be won and that the Super Rugby trophy and then the Franchise trophy which has more value than the Currie Cup as you are continually playing high quality SA sides. WP has won the most silverware in the history, but we are at the present 2012, the past has no reference now. Let’s hope we can win the conference again and then go one further at one or other stage.
6 May 2012, 13:12 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-237: HI Bill, boet i too lived in the east of PTA for many years and never saw that , but i also cant say you are wrong?? i will take your word as fact and again say it goes against what i believe in
but each to their own
6 May 2012, 13:13 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-246: Stormers before Boks eh? And then saying it is hypocrisy to support other SA teams… Maybe not hypocrisy of the highest order but farken confused… But knowing you little gerbils and your swings, slings and roundabouts you will probably change your mind come the next post…
6 May 2012, 13:14 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-247: Lol
6 May 2012, 13:14 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-247:
Just like I’m living in Pta and see what happens here. There is no time for the Sharkies in this part of the world, if you like it or not. Fact is they still see the Stormers are their true enemy, which means the one they really want to win.
6 May 2012, 13:15 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-248: for the most thats true, But i hope the CC does not fade away, every year one still see’s the love for it in SA and the quality of rugby thats played
even our VC matches are for the most of a very good standard
6 May 2012, 13:17 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-250:
6 May 2012, 13:17 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-252: thats they do and trust me the Sharks are also hated in PTA, i know this, but you seldonm see okes in the streets and pubs openly supporting the foreigners, if they do?? its equaly disgusting
6 May 2012, 13:19 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-253:
Yeah it is sad, but can you see the guys being able to play so much rugby all the time? The Currie Cup will need to be incorporated into the Super Rugby programme some or other way. We see the semi’s and final of Currie Cup with full strength teams but the rest is like the Vodacom Cup.
6 May 2012, 13:20 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-252: Wrong. I have experienced an element of respect here for the Sharks that certainly is not there for the Stormers… Stormer supporters are generally seen as a bunchocunts… and their team is seen as Windgat… I reckon Pretorians are spot on. You delude yourself otherwise…
6 May 2012, 13:21 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-255:
They are hated mate! There is only one team here and that is the Pink Cows. If they are losing Loftus is empty, but when they are winning, then difficult to get tickets. LOL. I have mine for 2 June though.
6 May 2012, 13:23 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-257:
As you are. Live in your dream world, but one day you will wake up and smell the roses.
You are right. They do respect the Sharks as they are not seen as such a threat. You are spot on.
6 May 2012, 13:24 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-257:
There is no respect for the Stormers mate. Only fear…
6 May 2012, 13:26 pm
Congrats to the SA men’s hockey team. They beat Japan and are off to the Olympic Games…
6 May 2012, 13:26 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-257: LOL HG eish boet
6 May 2012, 13:27 pm
Lol. Ask Tacitus. He said himself about a year ago that he views the Bulls v Sharks as the big one.
Sign of the times mate. The Sharks eclipsed the Stormers in the 90s and that still holds true.
My boet is a Sharks supporter living in Snor City and trust me, there is no love lost between Sharks and Bulls supporters. Stormers hardly even come into the equation.
6 May 2012, 13:27 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-248: Very true mate.They mocked us for winning the conference trophy but at the end of the day it’s more important than winning the cc…just ask the Lions.
We,however,need to step up and bring the bacon home.I followed the NHL a bit last year and there the winning captains don’t touch or lift the conference trophy as a sign of bad luck.Maybe Schalk or Jean should keep their hands of the trophy this year. lol
6 May 2012, 13:29 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-263:
LOL: He hates the Stormers and taking his word for anything would be very silly. He only likes one team the Bulls. Don’t let him confuse you mate.
6 May 2012, 13:31 pm
Lol is there even a “conference trophy”?! Doubt it. It’s lack of existence shows how important “winning” the conference is viewed.
6 May 2012, 13:32 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-264:
They don’t have the BMT that the Bulls have mate. They have to get over that. We don’t win the games that really count. It is a mind thing – similar to the chokers label a certain team developed.
6 May 2012, 13:32 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-265: all the big contests over the recent years have been between the Sharks and Bulls.
2007 was an epic example.
These games create massive rivalry.
By contrast the 2010 final was a bit of a walkover.
6 May 2012, 13:33 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-266:
Actually a very nice trophy mate. It looks really good next to the other great one we have – the Plascon Wall and All. The only team to have ever won it…
6 May 2012, 13:33 pm
Stormers preaching about choking and not winning. Now I have heard it all!
6 May 2012, 13:34 pm
Outtahere. Lunch calls. Had enough of eating Cape Mountain Gerbils for breakfast… Need something substantial… Real food
6 May 2012, 13:34 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-266: There is a trophy for all conference winners.I know that you normally lose interest halfway through the season,so all is forgiven Woody.
6 May 2012, 13:36 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-268:
Jeez you guys are in awe of the Bulls. No wonder they see you as their non consequential brother. Not a label we would want mate…
The Sharks are a great team mate. The third best in SA at the moment and for a few years now…
6 May 2012, 13:36 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-271:
Cheers bud! Enjoy.
6 May 2012, 13:38 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-270:
Yeah BMT problem mate. All can see it. Not preaching, just realistic.
We have never won a Super Title so yeah we choke when it counts. Ah then again nor has your team, I forgot…
6 May 2012, 13:40 pm
Anyway guys! Play nicely and enjoy the rest of the Sabbath.
Outta here…
6 May 2012, 13:42 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-273: sleeping with the enemy is a no no for us stormers supporters.
We don’t need to jump into bed with the Bulls to give credibility to our rugby existence.
6 May 2012, 13:43 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-276: Cheers Bill.
6 May 2012, 13:55 pm
All I can see here is a bunch of Stormer fans trying to claim not to be the uglier sister. No prizes for coming second chaps.
The Sharks are in awe of no team.
We don’t wan.k over finishing second or being some other team’s main rival.
We walk our own illustrious path. Love them or fear them.
6 May 2012, 14:33 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-250:
How come everytime I read an article your having a turf war with people?
6 May 2012, 14:51 pm
Sharks need to start again, get rid of Plumtree. Get someone new.. A saffa not a kiwi, and a defensive specialist, it makes a huge difference watching the stormers an bulls defence makes our defence look kak. It breaks my heart to see my beloved sharks play with such shaky defence
6 May 2012, 16:08 pm
sharks supporters should try listen to CSNY a little more it may help with all the anxiety creeping through their ill-begotten under achieving psyches
helplessly hoping her harlequin hovers nearby
gasping at glimpses of true spirit she runs wishing she could fly
only to trip at the sound of goodbye
or
Its been a long time coming… gonna be a long time gone…
6 May 2012, 16:09 pm
yeah waddaya know.. skoppies been born again.. hoorah says the joker to the thief.
6 May 2012, 16:10 pm
there just gotta be some relief.. somewhere around about here.
6 May 2012, 16:45 pm
Shark-fight. NAAICE!!!
Great White vs a Bullshark
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-211:
“Sharks lost to the Chiefs, yes, but only just and the operative word here is “just”.”
The Sharks lost to the Chiefs… AT HOME.
Your operative phrase should be, “AT HOME.”
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-225:
“Some of the key Sharks players have been injured and now have returned making a significant difference to the side… ”
Beast and… who else?
6 May 2012, 17:15 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-268:
What makes the Bulls supporters hate The Sharks so much is that we often beat them. The last game between the two was won by the boot of Morne Steyn as The Sharks were the only team to score a try.
6 May 2012, 17:19 pm
@nama1(nama1)-285:
“Beast and… who else?”
Kanko is back cos he makes the best Oros at half time.
6 May 2012, 17:32 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-287:
That’s moerse funny.
There must be something else in that Oros if it makes that much difference.
6 May 2012, 20:15 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-218: you must be posting on this forum because you’re “expert” too
7 May 2012, 07:38 am
Can’t be arsed trawling through all the pages of Flaming, so I will just say:
Well done sharks. Never thought Lambie would do it all by himself.
3 more injuries for us…
Beginning of the end for us fullahs I reckon
7 May 2012, 09:13 am
@skopskiet(skopskiet)-284: “No reason to get excited”, the thief he kindly spoke
There are many here among us who feel that life is but a joke.
Good to see you choose your reincarnation re-entry on a Dynamite thread.
This be the Watchtower.