Lambie steers Sharks to victory
5 May 2012
JON CARDINELLI watched Pat Lambie score all of the Sharks’ points in a scrappy but vital 28-16 win against the Highlanders.
The Sharks scored 13 unanswered points in the period between the 50th and 60th minute. It was during this spell where the match was won, and it was ultimately the cool goal-kicking of Lambie that allowed the hosts to edge clear of a determined but woefully inaccurate Highlanders side.
In difficult kicking conditions, Lambie slotted seven penalties and a conversion. It was a flawless goal-kicking performance and it had to be, as the Highlanders threatened to seize the initiative at various intervals. Had Lambie not converted every opportunity on offer, the Sharks may been made to pay for their inconsistency for the umpteenth time this season.
There was plenty of intent during the early stages, as the Sharks managed to boss the collisions. It was also clear that the Sharks had come into this contest with a more structured game plan in mind. They attempted to drive the Highlanders back into their own territory, and it worked to a degree.
The tactic is sound in theory, but a team needs to execute efficiently and consistently to obtain the desired results. The Sharks overplayed the kicking ploy, and at times their halfbacks were guilty of booting possession away aimlessly. The kick-chase wasn’t up to standard either, and this is something they will need to address if they hope to gain full value from these tactics.
The hosts benefited from a sloppy Highlanders performance in the first half. Lambie punished the visitors for their transgressions at the breakdown, and the Sharks were also fortunate not to concede more points at the other end, as flyhalf Mike Delany missed two relatively simple penalty attempts.
There was an almighty scrap at the breakdown, with both teams guilty of indiscipline early on. The Highlanders recovered after their early lapses, and managed to control the ball better as the first half progressed. It was all the Sharks could do to spoil, and eventually Jacques Botes was yellow-carded after a series of Sharks breakdown infringements.
The visitors failed to hammer home the advantage. They scored just three points while Botes was off the field, and while credit should go to a much improved Sharks defence, the Highlanders attack was just too lateral to be effective.
They gained some reward from playing more direct rugby at the start of the second half, depleting the Sharks’ defensive line before eventually crashing over for a try. It was at this point where the momentum was with the Highlanders, and a conversion by Delany took them to a 16-15 lead.
The Sharks were guilty of a spate of handling errors during this period, the type of frustrating mistakes that have become something of a trademark in 2012. But for all their failings, they maintained their composure, and Lambie booted a difficult penalty to regain the lead.
This proved to be the boost they needed, as from that point onward, they played with far more control and belief.
Charl McLeod fielded a high ball in his own half, and avoided two would-be Highlanders defenders. This proved to be the catalyst for a promising counter-attack, and Keegan Daniel eventually found himself with ball in hand just outside the Highlanders 22.
Daniel looked to have butchered a try-scoring opportunity when he chipped the ball into space, but Hosea Gear obliged with an untimely error and the ball spilled loose behind the Highlanders tryline. Lambie, who had followed in support, dotted the ball down and then kicked the conversion to make the Gear gaffe a seven-point mistake.
The weather turned nasty in the final quarter, but the Sharks held out to not only secure the win, but also deny the Highlanders a losing bonus point.
The result may not have propelled the Sharks into the top six, but their strong finish means that they are now only three log points shy of the Highlanders, who are currently fifth in the overall standings.

291 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All
5 May 2012, 18:29 pm
why do they all high five after an error?
5 May 2012, 18:30 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-95: Lambie coward? Please!!! for his size he is one of the more courages players and easily one of the best backs currently in SA. U sir are a clown!
Think I still prefer him at 15 though. Goosen at 10! Franse Steyn 12, Jack Fourie 13. Game Over! Basson and habana on the wings.
5 May 2012, 18:31 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-95:
You’re not much of a word-smith nor very rugby-observant neither by the looks of things today…
5 May 2012, 18:32 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-101:
Painful innit!
5 May 2012, 18:32 pm
Keep Aplon, JDV, JPP, etc on standby. Or Hougaard Wing with Basson and FDP 9 for next year or 2. Get some Solid wins under the Boks. Basson just needs to work on his def..
5 May 2012, 18:35 pm
15 – Lambie
}
14 – Habana
13 – J Fourie
12 – Franse Steyn
11 – Hougaard {he is better on the wing just admit it
10 – Morne Syeyn / Goosen
09 – Fourie Dup / Ruaan Pienaar (on current form for SA 9s)
5 May 2012, 18:36 pm
Highlanders must go home now
They boring me
5 May 2012, 18:38 pm
@Guns(Guns)-106:
Plenty options, would not mind seeing that though..
5 May 2012, 18:38 pm
Lambiekins showed all his class today. Where is skopshyte?
5 May 2012, 18:40 pm
@Guns(Guns)-106:
J deV will be your captain and Jaq Fourie is no longer interested. Hougaardt will be 9.Goosen is injured so Morne will be no 10.
5 May 2012, 18:41 pm
Highlanders mistakes plus Lambie 28… Highlanders 16…
5 May 2012, 18:42 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-110:
Yes that is more likely and def bassed on current players abroad/injurys. Goosens Injury a real F shame! Am sure he will bounce back stronger!
5 May 2012, 18:42 pm
What the fark is that greasy haired kno.b doing watching roundball at the rugby?
5 May 2012, 18:43 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-109:
Spent the day either cutting himself again or sjambokking his workers after another excellent JW’s Brumbies performance…
Well done Sharks, now Hurricanes do have a chance.
Top Class steal from Bizzy ha ha
5 May 2012, 18:44 pm
Sharks must be sweating with the Stormers and Bulls in waiting. This victory was built on long range penalties. At least something to smile about for their supporters. HG will be on very soon.
5 May 2012, 18:44 pm
@Guns(Guns)-112:
Yip, Goosen is going to be the next superstar – by far the most talented no 10 in SA since………… Naas Botha I think.
5 May 2012, 18:45 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-114:
Ha ha ha
The Sharks win. The world is normal again.
Bambie gna be popular with the ladies tonight!
Spot on. Sharks by 12.
Well done sharkies.
@Guns(Guns)-98: nah lambie was kak last year for shark and bok alike and year before that too. had a good currie cup in 2010 but we all know how much that means in the big picture… not a lot.
5 May 2012, 18:46 pm
Ugly win, but I’ll take it.
5 May 2012, 18:47 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-120:
I am quite chuffed for them and very happy they did not get a bonuspoint.
5 May 2012, 18:49 pm
More popular than you, Guns!
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-95:
Hey Blitzbok, are you aware that I enjoy crapping in your moms mouth?
Frans Steyn has done nothing to warrant inclusion in the Bok team. What an utterly useless, overrated pieca guppie rubbish. Crash, kick, long cut out pass, missed tackle………….that Steyn in a nutshell!
5 May 2012, 18:50 pm
@127 yay!
Onnodig!
5 May 2012, 18:51 pm
6th straight win for the Sharks over the Highlanders.
5 May 2012, 18:52 pm
HG
You can show your face now.
On a Sharks thread, for a change.
5 May 2012, 18:54 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-123: ya right, go brush your teeth after that bout of **** spoken
5 May 2012, 18:54 pm
Well done to the Sharks.
Well played Pat.
5 May 2012, 18:55 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-129: i agree
5 May 2012, 18:55 pm
131 @ IAAS
He was waiting for this moment for the last couple of weeks. Poor, pitiful soul hahahahahahaha
5 May 2012, 18:56 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-133: hello brudda from anudda mudda lol
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-123: More **** from some1 who obviously knows fokall about rugby! Chump! Think Ill take a dump in ur momies mouth too!
Great that Sharks won, but I don’t see too much room for improvement with the current setup.
And Storming up the ‘Bru this weekend.
9 places so far.
5/5 so far
5 May 2012, 18:57 pm
@Guns(Guns)-137: Better eat some chomps, peanut butter and sea-food make it extra crunchy and full of flavour!!
You can have some too & can freeze for later, some frozen delights!!
5 May 2012, 18:58 pm
@Guns(Guns)-137: he does not have a mother bvut 2 fathers
5 May 2012, 18:59 pm
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-128: Absolute Rubbish PeeWeePeePee, well maybe not too recently but his showing during the RWC at 12 was more than enough to prove how capable he can be at 12.
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-136: Howzit matey congratulations!
You must be pleased
Good performance from Lambie tonight or what! ?
What did you think of Paul Jordaan?
Some good runs I thought.
He does need to get his *** back in SA and coaches need to play him at 12 though for it to work.
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-132:
Who is this aggressive little ****?
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-143: Agree.
5 May 2012, 19:00 pm
Guns you fool!
Distasteful!
Beast was huge, the Sharks scrum was the best Sharks thing all night.
Beast a clear Bok starter (as usual).
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-141: lol true! Ill leave the dumping to you then!
5 May 2012, 19:01 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-143: tghanks boet, yeah lambie was greatrdaan quiet, i thought whitehead was very good on the night
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All