Lambie steers Sharks to victory

JON CARDINELLI watched Pat Lambie score all of the Sharks’ points in a scrappy but vital 28-16 win against the Highlanders.

The Sharks scored 13 unanswered points in the period between the 50th and 60th minute. It was during this spell where the match was won, and it was ultimately the cool goal-kicking of Lambie that allowed the hosts to edge clear of a determined but woefully inaccurate Highlanders side.

In difficult kicking conditions, Lambie slotted seven penalties and a conversion. It was a flawless goal-kicking performance and it had to be, as the Highlanders threatened to seize the initiative at various intervals. Had Lambie not converted every opportunity on offer, the Sharks may been made to pay for their inconsistency for the umpteenth time this season.

There was plenty of intent during the early stages, as the Sharks managed to boss the collisions. It was also clear that the Sharks had come into this contest with a more structured game plan in mind. They attempted to drive the Highlanders back into their own territory, and it worked to a degree.

The tactic is sound in theory, but a team needs to execute efficiently and consistently to obtain the desired results. The Sharks overplayed the kicking ploy, and at times their halfbacks were guilty of booting possession away aimlessly. The kick-chase wasn’t up to standard either, and this is something they will need to address if they hope to gain full value from these tactics.

The hosts benefited from a sloppy Highlanders performance in the first half. Lambie punished the visitors for their transgressions at the breakdown, and the Sharks were also fortunate not to concede more points at the other end, as flyhalf Mike Delany missed two relatively simple penalty attempts.

There was an almighty scrap at the breakdown, with both teams guilty of indiscipline early on. The Highlanders recovered after their early lapses, and managed to control the ball better as the first half progressed. It was all the Sharks could do to spoil, and eventually Jacques Botes was yellow-carded after a series of Sharks breakdown infringements.

The visitors failed to hammer home the advantage. They scored just three points while Botes was off the field, and while credit should go to a much improved Sharks defence, the Highlanders attack was just too lateral to be effective.

They gained some reward from playing more direct rugby at the start of the second half, depleting the Sharks’ defensive line before eventually crashing over for a try. It was at this point where the momentum was with the Highlanders, and a conversion by Delany took them to a 16-15 lead.

The Sharks were guilty of a spate of handling errors during this period, the type of frustrating mistakes that have become something of a trademark in 2012. But for all their failings, they maintained their composure, and Lambie booted a difficult penalty to regain the lead.

This proved to be the boost they needed, as from that point onward, they played with far more control and belief.

Charl McLeod fielded a high ball in his own half, and avoided two would-be Highlanders defenders. This proved to be the catalyst for a promising counter-attack, and Keegan Daniel eventually found himself with ball in hand just outside the Highlanders 22.

Daniel looked to have butchered a try-scoring opportunity when he chipped the ball into space, but Hosea Gear obliged with an untimely error and the ball spilled loose behind the Highlanders tryline. Lambie, who had followed in support, dotted the ball down and then kicked the conversion to make the Gear gaffe a seven-point mistake.

The weather turned nasty in the final quarter, but the Sharks held out to not only secure the win, but also deny the Highlanders a losing bonus point.

The result may not have propelled the Sharks into the top six, but their strong finish means that they are now only three log points shy of the Highlanders, who are currently fifth in the overall standings.

291 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Well done sharks very good win

• 152.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

142 @ Guns

Against Namibia and Samoa? You got you panties wet after those two games? You need to set your standards higher boet!

• 153.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Good games by Lambie Bismark and Daniels

• 154.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

wow what did i just type :lol:
    (M) JOrdaan was ok for first outing, Tim was very good again

• 155.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

With Goosen injured Lambie just reminded Heineken Lager just what he can do.

• 156.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Ludik had his best game of the season.

• 157.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-156:
    Yes he played well
    Sharks centers need to straighten the line more

• 158.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-156: Hiyasss Spooner, i am waiting for Transie to come tell us how useless Lambie was

• 159.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Ludik 7
    Pietersen 6
    Jordaan 5
    Whitehead 6
    Mvovo 6
    Lambie 7
    McLeod 6
    Daniel 6
    Botes 5
    Coetzee 6
    Sykes 6
    Bresler 5
    Du Plessis J 5
    Bismark 7
    Beast 7

• 160.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-157: Campo doing the commentary was going crazy saying how predictable the and lateral the backs run.

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-158: screw Transie, what about skopshyte?

• 161.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-158: i’m glad i own your thoughts :mrgreen:

• 162.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Stormersboy @133
    Thank you.
    How good was Bismarck.?Only 2 players apart from him who could/can
    rip the ball from an All Black props arms.The legendary Reuben Kruger
    and….I forget

• 163.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

McLeod takes too many steps side ways before he passes forcing Lambie across and centers are basically running sideways when they get the ball not giving outside players any room
    But otherwise good win Nice to see the bok front row back in action together

• 164.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-160:
    Starts at nine easy to defend someone needs to come in at angle or some inside passes

• 165.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Lambie is a solid 10 but Morne our best bet for now. Goosen must definitely be made first choice once he returns from injury.

• 166.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-154: Enjoy the drinks Mate! :D

You’ve earned it!

@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-162: He’s a great player for sure.

• 167.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Coetzee needs to learn to pass. Good in all other aspects but very predictable with ball in hand.

• 168.Dawn: Reply to this comment

:lol: ryecatcher!

• 169.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-159:

Ludik 7
    Pietersen 6
    Jordaan 6
    Whitehead 7
    Mvovo 5
    Lambie 9
    McLeod 6
    Daniel 7
    Botes 5
    Coetzee 7
    Sykes 6
    Bresler 5
    Du Plessis J 5
    Bismark 8
    Beast 7

• 170.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-169: SL the win masked a pretty poor performance by the Sharks. The Sharks look very uncoached.

I don’t think any player was up at 8 and 9 level.

• 171.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-161: lol only ion ur thoughts mate lol

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-160: ewwwwwwwwwwwwww i dont do men lol , na with transie i still joke , skopclown is a 2 year old ****** lol i ignore it

• 172.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-166: lol, thanks bro , the rain spoilt it some what

• 173.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-170: boet with that rain pounding down?? not to bad, handling was not easy

• 174.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Sharks denying the Landers a bonus point was also a good thing

• 175.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

Shew what a difference Beast has made to our scrum!!! Jannie wasn’t too bad either tonight. Well done Sharks but not a convincing win by any means :(

• 176.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Haha sjyewalkee and norugby guru you looosers lol

• 177.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-176: don’t forget Pee Wee and skopshyte!

• 178.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Sharks backline is simply the worst coached backline in superrugby.

No question.

I wanted to punch mcleod in the head for kicking possesion away all night.

• 179.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-175: Howdy M you good lady you, hope ur doing well???

Yeah Beast was very good tonight

• 180.greentea: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-178:

and the players aren’t much better

• 181.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-178: hiyas forrest dweller lol you well??

• 182.greentea: Reply to this comment

Too many journeymen in the Sharks backline, very convenient to blame the coach though as it was with the hopeless Bokke backline that was PDVs fault as well, face facts your backs are very average.

• 183.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Howdy sl.in sodwana for a spearo comp.

Gotta duck bud have a goodie.

• 184.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-182: Nie hau NZINCHINA. How’s things your side of the wall?

• 185.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-182: p.s. why did you change your nick from NZINCHINA?

• 186.greentea: Reply to this comment

Wins a win though Spooner so good on your boys.

• 187.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Hsha then the highlanders backline must be vodacom cup level china you fool lol.

• 188.greentea: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-187:

Ranger your backs are shite, don’t blame the coach.

• 189.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Seems like greentea doesn’t want to talk about his NZINCHINA past.

• 190.yank: Reply to this comment

“In the land of Paarl, the one-eyed referee is King”
    Let me preface what I am about to write by saying that I am undoubtedly biased and probably one-eyed myself at times (Hell, I’m the grandfather of one of the Bishops’ players AND a Shark’s supporter …… that must tell you something !!)
    Anyway, earlier today I attended a schools rugby match, played at Paarl Gymnasium, between the Under 14A teams of Paarl Gym and Bishops. There were large crowds spread throughout the Paarl Gym campus watching the many rugby matches taking place simultaneously between different teams from these two rugby-rich schools. The atmosphere was electric and wonderful to experience. So far, so good.
    And the Under 14A match was a particular highlight…… Regrettably (and here I admit to potential bias), in my considered opinion, the match was ruined by the performance of the referee. Let’s examine the “facts”. The ref openly wore the exact colours (different design) of the Paarl team; the penalty count at the end of the match was 19 – 6 in favour of the Paarl team; at one stage in this frustrating match where only Bishops (a well-coached and knowledgeable rugby team) seemed not to know the rules of the sport, the ref stopped the game , came to side of the field and ordered a Bishops father to stop coaching/commenting so loudly from the sidelines and to step back 10 metres from the touchline; and finally towards the end of the match (4/5 minutes to play), with Bishops leading 20 – 17, the ref awarded two successive penalties against the Bishops’ team well inside the Bishops 22….the first came to nought; the second, quickly taken was spread to the Paarl wing who dropped the ball, the Bishops’ wing and centre recovered it and two passes later, the wing dotted down under the Paarl posts ! Game. Set and Match to Bishops !!. But, no….well after the ball had been dropped by the Paarl backline, 30/40 metres across the field after the quick tap, the ref ran back, blew his whistle and awarded another penalty to Paarl Gym waving his arms and indicating that the Bishops team had not retreated 10 metres…….Funny that, considering how far the ball had been allowed to spread. After this 3rd close-in penalty, Paarl scored and converted, 2 minutes later were awarded another penalty straight out in front, converted it, and the final whistle went, 27 – 20 to Paarl Gym. The boys shook hands and left the field, Bishops feeling no doubt that they had been robbed and wondering if the ref was any relation to one Bryce Lawrence…..

Oh, and by the way, that father who was so vocal and told he didn’t know what he was talking about…….a gentleman by the name of Francois Pienaar who’s son happened to be playing for the Bishops team. Obviously out of touch with the rules of rugby since his heyday in 1995….or so the ref determined.

• 191.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@yank(yank)-190: c’mon Mr Mike Millard, you’ve posted this on the appropriate “schoolboy” thread. No need to repeat it here again.

• 192.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@yank(yank)-190:

Lol, it spounds terrible… my full sympaty… it is never easy against Gym or Boys high even without the ref helping them.

What went wrong during the first team match? I saw they beat Bishops by about 50. How much damage did no 10 Pollard do? I heard he is the next big thing.

• 193.ella fitzy: Reply to this comment

rugby becoming static and uninspiring

laws becoming stale and spoiling

ref’s becoming whistle blowing belladonna’s

not one decent game so far this weekend perhaps Sunday morning game sees a change to that..

• 194.nama1: Reply to this comment

@yank(yank)-190:
    Francois must behave better then. Just because he’s a WC winning captain, doesn’t mean he can act like a fool and gets away with it.

• 195.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

hey Ella, why dont you take a break from rugby? you seem to not enjoy it very much. or maybe you just like moaning?

• 196.nama1: Reply to this comment

I wonder if HG regards this game as a draw.

I mean, both teams scored one try apiece. :lol:

• 197.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-196: :D

• 198.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Great to see these legends of South African sport settling into the Cape lifestyle,hell,even Jonty Rhodes left his wife behind in Kzn to see what the fuss was all about in the Cape. :D

• 199.nama1: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-197: @stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-198:
    So, what do you guys think about the game against the Cheetahs next week?

No doubt they won’t play as kak as they did tonight. It is a derby after all. Fortunately it is in Cape Town. when last did they beat us there?

• 200.ella fitzy: Reply to this comment

Bulls scored 5 .. and let in 5 .. against Melbourne .. how ‘professional’ is that?

Sharks scored 1 … and let in 1.. the fly hack ahead did the tricky dicky deed.. and the kicking tee did the rest .. Sharks backs went sideways for 80 minutes and so did Highlanders .. until they discovered kick chase.. oh what a beautifully inspiring past time is kick chase rugby.

Blues dropped every ball they got
    Cheetahs and Force did much the same.. trading penalty kicks per the jaundiced views on how the breakdown possession rule is decided by one individual carrying an agenda

Lions are pisspoor outfit not S15 quality
    Waratahs are down and out

The refs are getting worse as the ‘professional’ game progresses into an officiating nightmare of breakdown litany of lottery ticket results and shrill blasts on the penny whistle

So where’s the magic gone.. up shitcreek.. that’s where

Maybe Crusaders – Reds stops the rot this weekend.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.