Centurion star on day of upsets

Centurion powered over Waterkloof to the 2012 Nu Power title, while Tygerberg and Queen’s picked up big wins over Paul Roos and Grey PE respectively on Saturday.


What a day of upsets! Three big schools in Waterkloof, Paul Roos and Grey PE fell to defeats against unfancied opponents.

The first big result was Centurion’s 49-47 win over Klofies in the Nu Power final. The latter were favourites for the triumph as defending champions, but Centurion scored a late try to clinch the crown. It was a memorable run for the victors, who downed EG Jansen and Kempton Park on route to the title decider.

Centurion celebrate the 2012 Nu Power title

Paul Roos were also beaten 22-20 by Tygerberg in Parow. The Stellenbosch school delivered a strong start to the year, showing impressive form on attack and defence and picking up big wins at the Grey PE Festival and Kearsney Easter Festival. Tygerberg were also thrashed 75-3 by Paarl Gym in late April. However, Paul Roos have become inconsistent in recent weeks, and their mixed form continued as Tygerberg recorded a tight win.

In the major derby in the Eastern Cape, Grey PE suffered their first defeat of 2012 when they were downed 22-19 by Queen’s. The former built a comfortable lead in the first half, but the hosts came back strongly to edge the result. There will be family bragging rights for John Duncan, who coached Queen’s to victory over his brother and former EP Kings lock Rory’s Grey PE outfit.

In other results, Paarl Gym delivered another strong performance as they thrashed Bishops 57-3 at home. Michaelhouse edged Hilton 12-11 in the big KZN derby, while Affies eased to a 34-11 win over Pretoria Boys’ in the Pretoria Derby. KES and Grey Bloem also won convincingly against Maritzburg College (45-25) and Selborne (54-5) respectively.


Paarl Gym 57 Bishops 3
Boland Landbou 43 SACS 21
Tygerberg 22 Paul Roos 20
Brackenfell 10 Rondebosch 46
Bellville 3 Wynberg 24
Drostdy 15 Worcester Gym 15

Queen’s 22 Grey PE 19
Daniel Pienaar 28 Die Brandwag 23
St Andrew’s 10 Graeme 6
Stirling 0 Dale 26
Marlow 21 Jim Fouché 23
Union 41 Muir 17
Kingswood 28 Hudson Park 31

Hilton 11 Michaelhouse 12
Glenwood 20 Northwood 8
Kearsney 27 DHS 21

Centurion 49 Waterkloof 47 (Nu Power final)
EG Jansen 34 Nelspruit 27
Ermelo 3 Monument 27
Affies 34 Pretoria Boys’ 11
Grey Bloem 54 Selborne 5
KES 45 Maritzburg College 25
St Alban’s 26 St Charles 10
John Vorster 26 Jeppe 6
Parktown Boys’ 28 St Stithians 53
St Benedict’s 34 St David’s 14

By Gareth Duncan