Taylor boots Saders to victory
6 May 2012
GARETH DUNCAN watched flyhalf Tom Taylor convert five penalties to give the Crusaders a 15-11 win over the Reds in Christchurch.
While Sunday is a day of rest for many, the Crusaders and Reds faced off in physical, close contest. Both teams delivered strong defensive performances in the afternoon brawl, but in the end, the Reds’ ill-discipline proved costly.
The Crusaders capitalised with their superior scrum and smarter approach to the breakdown battle, which saw the Reds concede several penalties in kickable areas. Taylor stepped up and slotted five of his six goal attempts in an impressive kicking display. Two of his three-pointers sailed over during the final 10 minutes of the game and sealed the win.
In the opening moments of the match, the Reds got off to the perfect start as hooker James Hanson crossed the chalk in the first minute of play. Both teams were defensively strong thereafter, but the Crusaders managed to edge ahead through two Taylor penalties.
The visitors had the opportunity to secure the lead, but inside centre Mike Harris missed two goal attempts in the first stanza (a conversion and penalty), which saw the Reds trail 6-5 at half-time.
The kicking contest continued in the second 40 as Taylor and Harris traded a penalty each. Then the Crusaders suffered a massive blow in the 60th minute.
The Reds found space down the left touchline and their attack surged into the hosts’ territory. In an attempt to force play in to touch, reserve prop Wyatt Crockett dived into scrumhalf Will Genia without any arms. His challenge was late and deemed dangerous, and the front rower was sent to the sin bin.
Harris converted the resulting penalty, giving the Reds an 11-9 lead, but they couldn’t add any more points with their one-man advantage.
When restored to 15 men, the Crusaders built momentum and won the ascendancy up front. The Reds leaked two penalties in their red zone at the death – one at the breakdown, while reserve wing Rod Davies was isolated after poor decision to run the ball and was penalised for holding on. Taylor did his job with the boot and the Crusaders clinched their fourth consecutive victory.

169 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All
6 May 2012, 08:32 am
Huh?
Eye gouge & biased ref?
Didn’t see match but it would take a lot of dodgy calls for a team to come back from a 54 second try & a sin bin
Or maybe the ‘saders just play smart rugby. Food for thought
The brumbies (3rd) are still eating at the soup kitchen. There’s two teams with more points than them after this weekend
6 May 2012, 08:43 am
“Suck the joy out of the game”
A perfect description of poor reffing
Case in point – RWC 11 QF SA vs Aus. Left a poor taste in the mouth
6 May 2012, 09:06 am
matt todd got outplayed by liam gill, blackadder had to call on richie in the 45th min already to ‘even’ the playing fields and goodness me did richie pull out his usual bag of tricks.
It’s either richie is the biggest villain rugby or he is the genius that his 3 IRB world player of the year awards suggest, last week he came on & bang he was tackling people from blatant offside positions & todays he comes on & bang he’s running blocking lines ‘gridiron style’ for carter to scythe through.
6 May 2012, 09:07 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-48: very true mate
6 May 2012, 09:13 am
BWAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA , only on Keo???
I type ” very true mate to another blogger and its up for moderation
6 May 2012, 10:50 am
Todays Rapport.
Stormers players & WPRU in pay dispute.
SARPA allegedly negotiated R3000 game fee
and R3000 win bonus.
Being paid R2000 in both instances.Rob Wagner says
no monies owed.Meeting between him & players tomorrow.
6 May 2012, 11:00 am
Is anyone else being moderated for talking rugby? Unbelievable.
6 May 2012, 11:08 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-56: I tested the moderator’s resolve on the new Bulls thread and passed it with flying colours.
6 May 2012, 11:11 am
6 May 2012, 11:28 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-55: as Oscar Wilde said: “everything in moderation. Especially moderation”
6 May 2012, 12:03 pm
wow, it honestly feels like i have stumbled onto an Australian rugby site.
Look at all the little south africans hoping for a reds win and then complain when the ozzies lose.
lol, it honestly makes the saders win so much better.
The reds might not like it being adopted by South Africa though.
6 May 2012, 12:27 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-61: I guess you don’t have any other choice but to jump on the Saders bandwagon seeing that your team are ‘hondkak’ to say the least.
6 May 2012, 12:33 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-61: what happened to good old fashioned supporting the underdog? Do you wish to take that away from people?
6 May 2012, 12:41 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-62:
wouldnt say that.
Hurricanes have done really well this year.
Everything about the team was written of here. We were called the easy beats on here.
As for you stormer, the wheels are slowly falling off, just watch.
A bit to cocky are these stormer fans.
6 May 2012, 12:42 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-63:
If the saders were the underdogs there would be no way you all would act like this, we know this dont we
6 May 2012, 12:48 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-64: Yeah you right. Considering what was said about the Canes before the season kicked off.
6 May 2012, 12:50 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-64: Now,don’t pull an Hg on us too !
6 May 2012, 12:53 pm
@ Hurricane,
The sun…
The sun resolves around the earth.
Not the All blacks or any NZ team.
We can support who we want to support.
6 May 2012, 12:57 pm
blatant knock-on by Ellis close to tryline Reds leading 9-8 not called,Crusaders penalty.Richie knocks on from kick off not called and then ofcourse the gridiron block………@least Ref of the year Bryce is consistent!
6 May 2012, 13:05 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-68:
shame you seem to hate other South Africans supporting the Saders, suppose its ok now?
6 May 2012, 13:08 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-67:
lol, try not to.
Canes have scored more tries than anyone
6 May 2012, 13:12 pm
@ hurricane,
You’re delusional, how do you get to that conclusion?
I in fact support the chiefs against any other team except SAFA teams.
6 May 2012, 13:17 pm
I did not see the game but when a good half of the posts are whinges, I guess Saders did pretty well.
6 May 2012, 13:24 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-72:
and so?
I see on here people wanting to take out hits on some of the South African people that cheer for NZ teams. Are you saying this does not happen?
6 May 2012, 13:27 pm
@Nils(Nils)-73:
yep, everytime a kiwi team wins, its the refs fault.
When a kiwi teams loses its ok.
Been like it since i have posted on here.
6 May 2012, 13:28 pm
@ Hurricane,
It does happen… Everywhere in any sport.
“wow, it honestly feels like i have stumbled onto an Australian rugby site.
Look at all the little south africans hoping for a reds win and then complain when the ozzies lose.
lol, it honestly makes the saders win so much better.
The reds might not like it being adopted by South Africa though”
No one wants to here you bi@tch and moan for SAFAS hoping Saders lose.
They’re a good team and not the team i want my team to go up against in knockouts.
6 May 2012, 13:30 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-72:
By the way, if you want to post,please learn how to reply correctly, you looking like an amateur
6 May 2012, 13:31 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-76:
If you dont want to hear bitching and moaning you really have come to the wrong site.
6 May 2012, 13:33 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-76:
but understand what you are saying.
It is obvious the saders are a huge threat to all teams.
6 May 2012, 13:34 pm
@ Hurricane,
I’m blogging from my Blackberry, it doesn’t allow me to reply to specific post.
I don’t sit in front of PC the entire day old man, change your nappy you big baby
You made big poo poo here now, its very stinky
6 May 2012, 14:24 pm
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-47:
Are you flirting with me ? Again ?!
Im struggling to understand you tho. I dont speak pigeon-Yap.
6 May 2012, 14:32 pm
Crusaders peaking again at the right time.
6 May 2012, 14:55 pm
There’s a village in hobbitsville missing its filthy idiot.
6 May 2012, 15:34 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-61: Yes, agreed my kiwi brother,these bitter Safwits are hilarious. I guess 20 years or so of mainly getting battered by kiwi sides have taken their toll on the Safwit psych.
All those thousands of South African Allblack and Crusaders fans must also rile your average white supremisist Safwit
Praying for a defeat by any team over a kiwi side is all they have left.
In conclusion Safwits,wake up and smell the biltong,a world champ has spoken
6 May 2012, 15:39 pm
Another inbred mongrel looking for attention, probably doesn’t own a sheep which he can shag to relieve some frustration
6 May 2012, 15:49 pm
“I guess 20 years or so of mainly getting battered by kiwi sides”
Aaah If it wasn’t for the movie “Lord of the Rings” then majority of people would never have heard of NZ.
Its true
6 May 2012, 16:00 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-86: So while kiwis were busy splitting the atom and being the first to climb Mt Everest,what were Safwits doing to further the advancement of the human race……biting ears and gouging eyes dos’nt count, although you’ve probably improved the worlds understanding of steroid abuse……junkies
6 May 2012, 16:26 pm
@ baiter,
The only thing kiwis split is the two halfs of the sheep arse and mounting that sheep like a mountain
6 May 2012, 16:27 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-86:
I partially agree with that!
I cant wait see the table aafter another 2 rounds..
Saders
NTvl
Brumbies (dark horse???)
Cheifs
Blues vs Lions – if Lions cause an upset?
6 May 2012, 16:29 pm
@ gerber,
Blues vs lions will probably result in a draw, both teams are equally k@k.
The semi’s will be Stormers, Bulls, Chiefs and Saders.
6 May 2012, 16:30 pm
Buona Sera Man City. Almost there but do not take your foot off the pedal. Well done with your 2 – 0 win.
6 May 2012, 16:30 pm
Crusaders pack at full strength is an All Black Pack
Crockett
Flynn
Franks
Donnelly
Whitelock
Whitelock
McCaw
Reid
6 May 2012, 16:41 pm
Liam Gill was my man of the match
this lightweight fetcher come on leaps and bounds in short time. The Wallabies are really well served at 7 today. David Pocock, Michael Hooper, Liam Gill.
we have no decent backup for Heinrich in the fetching mold. Maybe Keegan Daniel comes close with his alround game. CJ Stander as well but lacks real fetching turnover ability.
6 May 2012, 16:48 pm
@bokke baiter(bokke baiter)-87: A serious question, is your sister your mother as well. You are pretty stupid. You are posting at 4pm, so more than likely some crack head from the flats
6 May 2012, 16:50 pm
@ gerber,
I watch a lot of rugby, I sometimes watch the same game 4 times. I can tell you without a doubt that Keegan Daniel is not good enough for Sharks or Boks.
He doesn’t dominate tackle.
He cannot clear opposition players from rucks.
He’s not tall enough for lineout jumper or strong enough to quickly lift the jumper.
Keegan knows the above that’s the reason you see him at scrumhalf and flyhalf most of the time.
Why do you think he’s better than Burger, Brussouw, Minnie, stander or any other “non fetcher” loose forward for that matter?
We don’t need a true out and out fetcher if bissie, chillie, strauss or even coenie plays, because all of them plays too the ball very well.
6 May 2012, 16:52 pm
@heboric(heboric)-94: He’s a bergie not a real New Zealander, and doesn’t dignify a response as a rival. Same as the Zimbo “Wallabie”.
6 May 2012, 16:56 pm
@Nikita(Nikita)-91:
I guess ManU will just have to score 8 goals (at least) against swansea now and not concede any.
The 2nd task is probably a bit easier.
6 May 2012, 17:14 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-95:
Valid points about Keegan – he is more like an extra centre then loosie. But I feel he has in general being playing well. Yes. Lacks the fetching skill sets.
“We don’t need a true out and out fetcher if bissie, chillie, strauss or even coenie plays, because all of them plays too the ball very well.”
Very good Point – especially against an Pommie pack that will not have an out and out fetcher. The likely test trio for them most likely be:
8.Morgan
7.Robshaw
6.Haskell
8.Spies/Alberts
7.Kyolisi/Hattingh/Coetzee
6.Brussouw/Deysel?/Adonga?
6 May 2012, 17:43 pm
@ gerber,
Its going to be interesting who HM picks, rumour was that Spies, vermeulen and burger would be picked but vermeulen out injured and burger coming back from injury.
At the end of the day, we can pick a few loose forward combinations and still beat ENG.
I just don’t want to see Matfield, Rossouw, Du preez or Bakkies. Their time is up and its time to give Hougie, Etzebeth, Bekker and Kruger opportunity.
6 May 2012, 18:01 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-99:
I agree. regardless of form. I see Spies being picked at 8.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All