KeoTV: Etzebeth rocks, Vic’s vital
9 May 2012
AJ VENTER says Eben Etzebeth is the real deal but adds that Victor Matfield would be a wise pick for the Springboks.
22 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article22 May 2013
Ryno Benjamin brought in ahead of Raymond Rhule for Port Elizabeth clash. Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has kept the rest of his team unchanged, hoping the momentum from the Reds victory will lead them to a win against the Kings. That does mean that Burton Francis remains out of the match 22, Elgar Watts continuing ahead of Riaan Smit, who is on the bench yet again. Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne will use this match to show why they have been included in the Springbok training squad. Both will be pushing hard to be among the final names for the upcoming Incoming tours against Italy, ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article9 May 2012
AJ VENTER says Eben Etzebeth is the real deal but adds that Victor Matfield would be a wise pick for the Springboks.
Ryan has written 4017 articles.
1 Dec 2012
29 Nov 2012
Ryno Benjamin brought in ahead of Raymond Rhule for Port Elizabeth clash. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

108 Comments
9 May 2012, 11:31 am
It takes one to know one.
And AJ is about as tough as they come.
9 May 2012, 11:43 am
agg no man.
everyone was calling aj a legend yesterday for calling “Stormers”
now they’ll call him a puss because he backs vic.
9 May 2012, 11:44 am
Eben X…
The find of the season for me… the only one of the young guns virtually guaranteed to start for the Boks (barring injury)…
9 May 2012, 11:47 am
AJ is fine,
But where is the real deal.
(or the real ruse).
Nikita?
9 May 2012, 11:55 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-2: Vic is a legend and my issue is not that he could have added experience and value, but that he hasn’t played rugby since October and has apparently lost 10kg’s of bulk since he retired,
Oh and I also have an issue with the fact that he officially retired.
But more with point 1.
9 May 2012, 11:59 am
@cane(cane)-4: Was gonna make a joke about blond bimbos.
But realised the e-mail addy I used to register with keo contains my real name.
AJ might find me.
9 May 2012, 12:01 pm
No man leave vic at home with his wife and kids
Starting locks Bekker and Eben
Bench Juandre Kruger
In bigger squad
Flip and Franco
9 May 2012, 12:03 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-6:
I remember when AJ was still playing for the Sharks, they had player profiles on their website which, amongst other things, had listings for “Favourite Food”.
AJ Venter’s favourite food?
“Vleis.”
9 May 2012, 12:08 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-8:
Very Bakkies!
9 May 2012, 12:08 pm
“Victor will never loose any of his skill” I bet you he will!
9 May 2012, 12:09 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-6:
I’m sure AJ has a fine sense of humour Taa.
But you could have something there:
Percy,
AJ,
Nikita.
There is a trend.
9 May 2012, 12:10 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-8: lol He has that in common with JZ!
I remember in the old SA rugby mags he had his own spread where he would give men advice on stuff. Fabio knows his stuff about fashion.
9 May 2012, 12:14 pm
@cane(cane)-11: And you never see those three together. Hmmm…
9 May 2012, 12:15 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-7: That would be my call too. Maybe Elstad in for Franco. Although they both cover lock and blindside very well.
9 May 2012, 12:17 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-12:
Jacob Zuma?
9 May 2012, 12:18 pm
Who is this dude?
Canadian & London Irish no 8/flanker, Jebb Sinclair, joins DHL Stormers
Canadian loose forward, Jebb Sinclair has been loaned by his Aviva Premiership side London Irish to the DHL Stormers as loose forward cover. With Burger, Vermeulen and Koster only due back after the June break, the Canadian International and London Irish player will bring experience and physical presence to the young DHL Stormers loose forward contingent. Sinclair will be available for the next 4 games for the DHL Stormers, will then play for Canada in the June international window, returning to Cape Town for the Stormers remaining 3 league fixtures. In terms of the Sanzar regulations he will not be eligible to play any knock-out games should the DHL Stormers qualify.
Sinclair has 25 Canadian international caps (2008-2011), the last being the Rugby World Cup game against New Zealand in Wellington, on Oct 2, 2011. Sinclair took up a contract with London Irish after the World Cup.
9 May 2012, 12:21 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-15: Yes in an interview with the Sunday Times a few weeks back. His favourite chocolate is One-Bar. (sic)
@>^..^< katman(katman)-14: Yes maybe Elstadt for Franco but i am envisioning Elstadt to start at 7 for the Boks vs England.
9 May 2012, 12:23 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-16: Atleast he has International experience.
Whats his physical stats? 6, 7 or 8?
9 May 2012, 12:25 pm
everyone in SA rugby is so kak scared of change that they are willing to entertain the thought of bringing back someone who hasn’t played a second of rugby since October on the sole rationale that they know what he’s like, justifying this bizarre selection with some vague intangible quality like he will “bring the guys together”. just play the new guys already, we all know how it’s goes; they will be okay at first and make some mistakes but then get better, lets just get on with it ffs
9 May 2012, 12:25 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-16: Quite young too 25 years of age. He is the bloke with the Geo Cronje beard in the World Cup! This oke is decent. His beard will scare the Aus and Nz pansies!
9 May 2012, 12:26 pm
@Stiff-arm(Stiff-arm)-10: AJ lost plenty of skill when he left the Sharks,was never the same player after that imo.
9 May 2012, 12:26 pm
Wikipedia has him at 191 cm and 103 kg
He can play lock/flank/no.8
9 May 2012, 12:28 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-19: Agree buddy we have the talent at our disposal, lets use it.
9 May 2012, 12:29 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-16: He’s not the Canuck flanker with the epic beard? That guy was pretty damn good.
9 May 2012, 12:36 pm
Ah, the flanker I’m thinking of is Adam Kleeberger.
9 May 2012, 12:37 pm
@19
Its something uniquely SAfrican. The new young players will find themselves over time. But I wouldn’t like to see a ± 10 year bok starter with 100+ Tests who announced his exit (of his own accord), stand in the way of the next young 2 or 3 prospects who can gain experience now
9 May 2012, 12:40 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-24: @>^..^< katman(katman)-25: Are you sure? because the pics of him on Google he does have quite a beard. Might be a different guy though.
9 May 2012, 12:45 pm
Robbie Deans has overhauled the Wallaby squad (decisively) and sacked two captains in the process (mortlock + elsom). Along the way they’ve won a 3N and WC bronze medal. Food for thought
We (SA) have a different culture
9 May 2012, 12:48 pm
@viewer(viewer)-28: What has his overall win/loss record been with the Wallabies?
9 May 2012, 12:48 pm
Here we go again with Aura based selections! Where is Grant 10 now.
9 May 2012, 12:49 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-29: Worse than PDV?
9 May 2012, 12:50 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-13:
9 May 2012, 12:51 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-31: Yes.
9 May 2012, 12:54 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-27: Different guy. Check out Kleeberger’s beard. It’s has its own seat on the team bus.
9 May 2012, 12:58 pm
@viewer(viewer)-28: Amen.
9 May 2012, 13:08 pm
@29
I remember seeing the exact figure. Its surprisingly low, 50 something percent.
But no one can deny Aus are on an upward trajectory. The clear out featured the likes of matt dunning, mortlock, tuqiri, giteau, baxter, gerrard, waugh, smith, timana tahu (a disastrous attempt at a code switch), brendan cannon and a few others
9 May 2012, 14:01 pm
What I think the Springbok side should look like for the first test.
(Mixing experience with youth and new comers)
15. Francious Steyn: would rather have like to see him in the centre, but with JdV in the mix and Steyn not renowned for playing 13 it is crucial to have him in the side, he is a solid Fullback with a good boot. If he joins the back line on attack and utilise his attacking ability from the back, he could be a threat.
14. Lwazi Mvovo: Arguably the fastest man in SA rugby, he has not had many chances this season, but thats because the Sharks play a flawed game and limit the outside backs opportunities, but has proved what he is capable of when he is given half a chance. Hopefully Heineke will bring a game where he can utilise him.
13. Juan de Jongh: Actually hard to single out a 13 this season so far, but de Jongh is the most consistent player and combines well with JdV on attack. He is also solid on defence.
12. Jean De Villiers: May not be the same player he was a few seasons ago, but he has regained some of that form this season, before getting injured. He led the Stormers brilliantly at the start of this season. With his leadership and experience, and playing some of his best rugby again, he is the best bet at 12 for the Boks.
11. Bryan Habana: Same time last year, i would not even consider adding him to my dream squad, but with the Stormers playing as well as they are, it seems Bryan has found some confidence, and is playing some good rugby. He may not have the speed of seasons past, but he proved on a few occasions this season that he is no slouch. Defensively he is good as well.
10. Patrick Lambie: Now this is where i will probably get ripped apart, for not going with Morne Steyn on this one.And the No.10 spot is probably the biggest debate among Bok supporters. While the Sharks has been seriously inconsistent, he is one of few guys that has performed no matter what. Had his best game of the season last week scoring all 28 points, and with a swirling wind in the Shark tank, proved that he can slot the goals from anywhere. (that is most peoples reason for wanting Morne).Lambie has a solid defensive game and never backs down from the big guys and rarely misses a tackle. But his biggest weapon is his attack, with the ability to rip through some of the best defences. Morne lacks in both these departments. Poor defensively and no real threat on attack. There is no doubt that Morne is probably still the best goal kicker in the country with a solid tactical kicking game. Lambie’s tactical kicking has also been brilliant and to me the far more all round flyhalf.
9. Francious Hougaardt: I know du Preez has made himself available for selection. But Hougaardt has got what it takes to step up to the No. 9 spot. He is just a brilliant player with huge talent, will be unfair to keep him of the field, due to du Preez presence. du Preez had his chance and was rated one of the best at one stage. Its time for hougaardt to shine, and he gave us a glimpse at the world cup last year of what he can do, on the wing or at 9. Personally i feel he is our best bet at Scrumhalf.
8. Piere Spies. Yet another player who i was sceptical about last year. But he has led the Bulls quite brilliantly and is in some good form. Always threatening with ball in hand, and has improved allot on defence. His leadership will be crucial.
7. Schalck Burger: Need i say more, Schalck has been around for a while, but always reliable and still playing some of his best rugby. For the England test and in the short term, he is my pick to captain the side, maybe even till RWC2015.
6. Heinrich Brussow: The best open side Flanker since Schalck was still a youngster. He is probably the only guy who can compete with the likes of Mcaw and Pocock. He may be a smallish guy, but will never take a step back.
5. Victor Matfield. Let the man have another go at this, his presence in the squad will inspire the youngsters, he still has allot to offer in the line outs and with his leadership. Definitely in the short term only though, while some of the youngsters learn some valuable lessons from him.
4. Andries bekker: Definitely the man to take over the charge of the Line outs when Victor finally retires for real. He has proven himself time and again at the highest level. With him and Etzebeth, combining in the near future, we have our new Victor, bakkies combo. Andries and Eben will rule the line outs in world rugby.
3. Coenie Oosthuizen: he can play both side of the scrum, but this guy has been brilliant for the Cheetahs so far, not only at scrum time but in the loose as well, making tackles and creating turn overs like a flanker. I feel he needs a chance.
2. Bismark Du Plessis: Chiliboy hot on his heals, i feel Bismark still edges him. He does give away allot of penalties, but at the same time creates turn over ball at crucial times, he gets over the advantage line more often than not. Still one of the best hookers in world rugby.
1. Tandai Beast Mtwarira. There are many that would disagree, even though he has not played allot of rugby this season, he is still solid in the scrums and gets around the park. If the game against the Highlanders were anything to go by, he scrummed excellently. I think the beast still has it in him to be a great prop.
16. Chiliboy Ralapela: He is really hot on Bismark’s heals, what a great guy to have coming off the bench. He is brilliant for the Bulls. SA is blessed to have two hookers of this calibre in the country.
17. Steven Kitshoff. Why not start blooding a youngster at Prop. He is quite brilliant for the Stormers. For a young chap, he really made a statement. Big future for this guy. Give him a chance.
18. Eben Etzebeth. Same reason as for kitshoff, start blooding this chap and believe me, this guy will become a legend of the game, following in Victors steps.
19. Keagan Daniel. Shoot me for picking him. But Keagan is one of the most underrated players in South Africa. If you have been following the Sharks season, you would know what i am talking about. As captain for the sharks, he leads from the front and by example, even if the rest of the team has given up, he will never stop trying. He is dangerous in open play, and a menace at the break down. He is a small guy but hard as nails and has a big heart. There are many other brilliant loose forwards in the country, but if there is one man that deserves to have a chance in the green and gold, its Keagan.
20. Fourie du Preez : He has come out of retirement, so lets see if he still has something to offer. Definitely not the player he use to be though, but may have something to offer with his experience.
21. Morne Steyn: Still valuable to have in the squad. But by no means better than Lambie. With Goosen making his way up, Morne’s time is counted.
22. JP Pieterson: Good guy to have on the bench, as he can slot in at centre, wing and fullback.
There are many other good players that i never mentioned here, guys like Alberts, Vermeulen, Juan smith, kanko, Deysel Grant, Viljoen, ludik, Ndungane brothers. Kirchner, basson, Goosen, Elton Janjies, Olivier, and many more guys that are putting their hands up. Its just impossible to name everyone in the suad.
9 May 2012, 14:03 pm
I still believe AJ should have gone to the WC and white was a idiot to leave him behind, anyways Eben and kruger should be our locks, bekker has been off, in the bigger squad you can include sykes, bekker and even someone like bresler who i think will be a real talent one day, keep flip away from the bok jersey he is way over rated and does nothin but concede yellow cards, such a plank, i feel for franco vd merve, in a bok set up he might shine but im not too sure
9 May 2012, 14:06 pm
This thing about FdP and VM being a must for the Boks for the series against England just does not fly with me. We don’t need their experience since Meyer can put together a team with more than enough experience without them.
1. Beast (32)
2. Bismarck (42)
3. Jannie (30)
4. Etzebeth (0)
5. Bekker (21)
6. Brussow (20)
7. Alberts (9)
8. Spies (47)
9. Hougaard (15)
10. M. Steyn (34)
11. Habana (74)
12. F. Steyn (47)
13. Wynand Olivier (32)
14. JPP (42)
15. Aplon (16) or Lambie (11)
This gives you a total of 461 (456) international caps depending whether he selects Aplon or Lambie. Before or during the RWC last year, JW made a comment that you need an experience team with around 480 test caps to win the tournament, if I’m not mistaken.
Now this is a series of three tests against England… AT home nogal. Are the experience that FdP and VM will bring to the team really going to be the difference between winning the series or losing it?
Sorry AJ. I know you played the game at the highest level and that you know more than most what you are talking about but I really can’t see WHY Matfield is so vital for the Boks to win the series against England.
I also hope that you didn’t just say that to preserve the Bok Brotherhood, where one Bok does not speak badly about another Bok in public.
PS: Please, this does not resemble the team of my choice. Just an exercise to prove that there is enough experience overall without FdP and VM.
9 May 2012, 14:13 pm
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-37:
brilliant backline, but plz, britney spies has been useless the whole season, no vic either plz as well as no FDP, but otherwise a seriously good squad, but you do lack a genuine tight head, coenie night be ok in CC at 3 but against the english he will be torn to pieces
9 May 2012, 14:15 pm
BTW, i am so stocked u didnt pick jannie 2+3 ( du plessis ) hahaha
9 May 2012, 14:16 pm
Etzebeth does indeed rock
9 May 2012, 14:23 pm
Sorry i see Burger will miss the England Tests. Will then give Marcel Coetzee a chance in the 7 jumper. Still with Keagan on the bench. reason why i don’t pull him up from the bench, we still need a big physical guy at 7. It might just be a problem having two small flankers on the field in Brussow and Daniel. Marcel is a good young player and should be givin a chance.
9 May 2012, 14:26 pm
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-41: Jannie is done….he has been awful for the Sharks. I think he needs to go back to his docters practice.
9 May 2012, 14:33 pm
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-40: Thanks. I agree to a certain extent. FdP and VM can easily be replaced. But if these guys still believe they have what it takes, than let them prove it. if they fail in the first test, Heineke should be man enough to admit his mistake and bring in the young guns. Will keep victor as part of the squad in someway, either as consultant or line out coach. His knowledge is valuable. FdP, on the other hand, no real use for him, but i am unsure of who to give a shot at SH of the bench. Spies, has improved a quite a bit since last year, but in someway you are right, i dont really rate him. But can easily be replaced by the likes of vermeulen, Alberts, Coetzee
9 May 2012, 14:35 pm
With Burger out…I will give the skipper duties to JdV
9 May 2012, 14:45 pm
I just wish everyone can get this Victor Matfield fantacy out of their head.
The man is retired. We have loads of talent in the country. George Gregan was also a legend, did they continue to spend valuable article space on a guy that has retired.
He is not GOD, he WAS an international player. That’s it!! Talk about living in the past. Move on!!!
9 May 2012, 14:49 pm
@brian WP(brian WP)-47:
Hip, hip, hooray
From your mouth to Meyer’s ears.
9 May 2012, 15:01 pm
bresler ??
9 May 2012, 15:05 pm
@brian WP(brian WP)-47: The third exclamation mark convinced me.
Id never have changed my mind had your last sentence ended with only one or two exclamation marks.
Compelling stuff.
9 May 2012, 15:06 pm
Bekker
Matfield
Etzebeth
Kruger
quite adament these be the locks selected.
9 May 2012, 15:12 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-51: Leave Matfield. Rather take Franco, Elstadt, Flip or that young kid from the Sharks Piet-Steph Du Toit.
9 May 2012, 15:15 pm
@viewer(viewer)-36: They look the worse off squad was this year with the least amount of quality youngsters coming through and their Star player is still missing in action.
9 May 2012, 15:15 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-51: Matfield is an old man now whose head is no longer in the game.
Etsebeth
Bekker
Kruger
v/d Merwe
Those are the four, with either Elstad or Franco added to the greater squad.
9 May 2012, 15:24 pm
1. Beast
2. Bismarck
3. Greyling
4. Etsebeth
5. Bekker
6. Brussouw
7. Elstadt
8. Spies
9. Hougaard
10. Steyn
11. Habana
12. F Steyn
13. De Villiers
14. Aplon
15. Lambie
16. Chilliboy
17. Coenie
18. J Kruger
19. Kolisi
20. FDP
21. De Jongh
22. Mvovo
9 May 2012, 15:26 pm
@scrumfan(scrumfan)-55: and De Villiers as captain.
9 May 2012, 15:34 pm
While the whole coming out of retirement is such a popular thing these days, why not bring Smit, back, Im sure everyone would love that!! Besides the Sarcasm.
My problem with VM and FdP is the fact that they are Bulls and they admitted that if it were any other coach that asked them to come back besides Meyer, they wouldnt even have considered it. Its obvious where these to players loyalty lies. Not have another chance to play for their country but becuase of an influence of a coach. And Meyer showing a somewhat loyalty to his Bulls players is a concern. It seems if he had it his way. His side would look like this.
15. Kirchner (Bulls)
14. Basson (Bulls)
13. Juan de Jong (Stormers)
12. Wynand Olivier (Bulls)
11. Bryan Habana (Stormers/former Bull under meyer)
10. Morne Steyn (Bulls)
9. Fourie du Preez (Bulls)
8. Piere Spies (c) (Bulls)
7. Dewald Potgieter( Bulls)
6. Heinrich Brussow (Cheetahs)
5. Victor Matfield (Bulls)
4. Andries Bekker ( Stormers)
3. Dean Greyling (Bulls)
2. Chilliboy Ralapela (Bulls)
1. Tandai Mtwarira ( Sharks)
Imagine something like that. Not a good thought!!!
9 May 2012, 15:49 pm
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-57: Strong side! You’d have to question Beast’s inclusion though as he just came back from injury. Dean Greyling a better fit with Coenie Oosthuizen running him close.
Otherwise, really good stuff my man,
Keep it up!
9 May 2012, 15:53 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-58: Thanks but i was sort of being sarcastic…Notice all the BULLS players in there. Read above the squad, you will see what i am talking about.
9 May 2012, 16:09 pm
@57 S10
“It seems if he had it his way. His side would look like this.”
Classic!
9 May 2012, 16:15 pm
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-59: lol.
I know, thats why I replaced the only Sharks player.
9 May 2012, 16:16 pm
Dean Greyling is not a tighthead! It won’t happen.
I rate him as loosehead but he is just not cut out for a tighthead. Too tall.
Jannie and Werner are thr best bet at this stage with Frans Malherbe as an outside chance.
9 May 2012, 16:26 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-54:
I agree with those four. Matfield as a mentor to those four would be better.
Paul Williamse is 19 and has protential as well.
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-58:
Coenie Oosthuizen deserves a test start. He is complete loosehead. We have to be mindful that the Pommies will bring a more powerful scrummaging unit.
9 May 2012, 16:28 pm
@iceman(iceman)-62:
Jannie and Werner would be easy pickings for the Pommie front row. Shame about WP Nel, who is best scrummaging TH we have playing in S15.
9 May 2012, 16:30 pm
I hear Duvenhage is heading to Europe??
9 May 2012, 16:32 pm
dood p oes deserves a call up?
9 May 2012, 16:40 pm
@scrumfan(scrumfan)-55:
Strauss is the form hooker in S15
Chillyboy does not deserve to be on bench
9 May 2012, 17:02 pm
Keo,
no story on Jake Whites thinking to ask Stephan Larkham to fill in at 10????
9 May 2012, 17:54 pm
Why you say shame about WP Nel, he is playing this weekend no??
9 May 2012, 17:55 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-64: Why you say shame about WP Nel, he is playing this weekend no??
9 May 2012, 18:12 pm
Check Keo TV tomorrow.
Joanne speaks.
9 May 2012, 19:12 pm
Big Vic…, please not. I’m a big fan of the guy (the best no.5 lock in the pro era) IMO. But he’s lost quite a bit of bulk and conditioning, and with no rugby for about nine months, not close to match sharp even for Currie Cup rugby standards.
4. Etsebeth
5. Juandre
with Bekker on the bench.
The ‘new’ senior guys in the pack ie., Bissie, Spies, Beast, etc. should steer the newbies through this series.
9 May 2012, 19:34 pm
I have never seen a man wear a white T-shirt quite like Percy does….
9 May 2012, 19:35 pm
I have got no idea what AJ said, as I was mesmorised by Percys forearms!
You lot can keep Nikita!
I have had my Percy fix!!
9 May 2012, 19:41 pm
Tomorrow, Joanne speaks.
9 May 2012, 19:42 pm
Will she be wearing a white shirt too?
9 May 2012, 19:55 pm
No idea!
9 May 2012, 20:12 pm
wtf is Joanne?
9 May 2012, 20:18 pm
Moist in here
9 May 2012, 20:39 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-78:
keo’s squeezer
9 May 2012, 22:11 pm
Rugby players should stick to playing rugby and let those with a little grey matter filtering between the lobes in their brain cavities do the talking and the surmising and the coaching for that matter…
Funny little irony I been noticing
wonder why it is that all these Ex Sharkievarkie rugger players … like AJ.., and Bob,., and Luke., and Stransky.., and Percy.., and .., and .., and…, etc.. etc.. etc..
ALL seem to far prefer to back Stormers than their Sharkievarkie brethren over in the last bastion of degenerate halo happenings in KZN
Its a fact.. all these ex Sharkies are FAR more prone to backing Stormers than Sharks.. it seems there gotta be something in the psyche that KNOWS that Stormers are the REAL DEAL rugby fraternity that trade in honest rugby principles and Sharks are simply a conglomeration of mercenaries slapped together for a cause that don’t really have the nitty gritty true heart of the players backing it up..
That just gotta be the reason behind AJ.. and Skinstadt, and Stranskey and others preference for Stormer support than for a Sharkievarkie pseudo one.
9 May 2012, 22:37 pm
@skopskiet(skopskiet)-81: yes yes, keep eating those greens buddy, the lack of lekker vleis has clearly damaged you.
ate a lekker mature (semi rotten) steak tonight.
delicious moooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!
9 May 2012, 22:42 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-82: you better start counting all the maggots eating out your guts that been breeding inside that dead rotten hell hole of a dead cows flesh for how long already in Uncle Raymond Ackerman’s Butchery on ice..
poor pathetic dumbass idiot supreme..
9 May 2012, 22:45 pm
@skopskiet(skopskiet)-83: are you saying uncle raymond threw the maggots in for free???????????????????
thats why he is so successful!
well that and the fact that meat is delicious, aged steak, mature rump, fish fillet or chicken breast.
9 May 2012, 22:50 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-84: just CHECK how deluded this cannibal is.. he reckons dead rotten putrid flesh is actually his staple diet he’s been born and bred to consume.. how fcking STUPID can any these f”ng carnivorous Neanderthals BE..!! ??
10 May 2012, 01:12 am
I’m really lovin’ Etzebeth
10 May 2012, 01:14 am
@skopskiet(skopskiet)-83:
My god, won;t you go away please.
Please use your bedroom wall as a blog, we don’t want to read this drivel
10 May 2012, 01:55 am
@skepskop(skepskop)-70:
shame that WP Nel will be playing his rugby overseas.
Should be wearing the number 3 test jersey against England.
Dan Cole and company will destroy our scrum if Jannie du Plessis is playing.
10 May 2012, 02:14 am
England name thei 42!! man tour squad today I think
10 May 2012, 04:54 am
@Pot Blou Gevaar(Pot Blou Gevaar)-72: I’m with you here on the starting lock pairing, Pottie.
But, on the assumption Vic doesn’t return, me thinks HM will opt for Bekker and Kruger to start, with Eben on the bench.
10 May 2012, 05:32 am
@brian WP(brian WP)-47: Hey my man I couldnt agree with you more…Old Vic will come out in his Bok jersey either on crutches, or a wheelchair…just how we ANZACs will like it…yes he is retired, if he had half a brain he would stay retired, but I cant see that with the current Bok coach wanting him….so feed him to the young ANZAC lions…just salivating at the prospect and waiting for him….
10 May 2012, 05:33 am
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-88: and whats more…the Hurricanes have this really wonderful 20 year old prop who was born in SA…soon he will be an AB and dishing it out to his former homeland plods…
10 May 2012, 05:40 am
@JohnPaul(JohnPaul)-92:
Name?
10 May 2012, 06:17 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-93:
Reggie Goodes I think. Said to be an up and comer for future Abs
10 May 2012, 06:27 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-94:
Thanks, will look out for him.
10 May 2012, 06:31 am
HM and Hansen in the same boat, desperately in need of a win first up. The differences are that Hansen has inherited a settled side while HM has been left a mixture, that we know if managed correctly with the right selections, could be the team to beat.
10 May 2012, 07:13 am
@RedMan(RedMan)-90:
Agreed…
I get the sense that Bekker is playing with an injury. He has not been in the dominant form we’ve became accustomed to over the last two years.
10 May 2012, 07:15 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-96:
That’s the hope…
In your opinion, how does a strong Saffa team stack up 1-15?
10 May 2012, 07:19 am
@scrumfan(scrumfan)-55: Hey Guys, i’m new and do not have nearly as much knowledge as you guys have, as I have been following all the threads for months, but what about FLO at 7? I thought he did great at WC when he came on.
10 May 2012, 07:24 am
@WPStormer Shadow(WPStormer Shadow)-99:
Stormers could not land their man.., red tape, etc
10 May 2012, 07:24 am
FLO at 7 a good ideal, compliment Brussouw.
10 May 2012, 07:32 am
Welcome Shadow…
Don’t worry you have just as much (if not more) knowledge as most of the people posting here… Just go for it…
Flo has been injured and not playing for Bath recently…
10 May 2012, 07:51 am
@Pot Blou Gevaar(Pot Blou Gevaar)-98:
I don’t really know all the names of the players, but I will try to give an overview. Firstly Goosen is a huge loss, he and Hougard would be deadly in my opinion. The key is to put the opposition into two minds and these guys can create that, so probably Steyn will be there, but he is too predictable. JDV will be the lynchpin in the backs on defense so will have to play him at 2nd five, which is the key position in backs on D. Centre is a mystery to me, probably JDJ. Habana on one wing with Mvovo on the other. Pietersen has impressed me with his positional play, so go with him.Forgot Frans Steyn, start him off the bench depending on what type of condition he is in when he returns from France. Forwards, I like Bismark because he gives you that fear factor,Estebeth and Becker to lock. Props -the Beast and whoever but not that other Du Plesis fella. Kolisi at blindside is a special player. Brussow of course for openside, The big debate is at eight …undecided. JDV for captain with Brussow as vc.
10 May 2012, 08:43 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-103:
thanks dude….
I agree with on most points.
What’s the feeling among NZ followers re their team?
You guys looking a bit thin in the lock stocks, and maybe looose forwards. But the remainder looks pretty solid as always.
IMO, I’d like to see Kahui owning the no.13, with Nonu @ second five-eight. With Carter seemingly not over the groin injury, I’d be tempted to have Cruden as starting 10.
Reid probably captaining the side in the June window, giving Reechee more recouperating time.
10 May 2012, 08:59 am
@Pot Blou Gevaar(Pot Blou Gevaar)-104:
The Abs always struggle in their first test of the season, so probably have to go with our most experienced side available… A loss to Ireland would be close to catastrophic for new coaching staff…Carter being unable to kick is a worry..would probably start Cruden at first five with Carter on bench.Basically all those who played in WC Final with Donnelly on for Brad Thorn and Sam Whitelock replacing Ali Williams,with Retallick on bench. Kaino’s unavailability leaves a huge hole would go with Messam, his final chance. Ritchie to definitely start and captain side.
10 May 2012, 09:16 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-105:
Have to agree…
I’m out for now guy, sitting with some issues to our mail server. Cheers bud
10 May 2012, 14:59 pm
@ UFO, thanks for the welcome. I did not know FLO was injured, even stranger then that AC wanted to loan him and was denied. On another matter, is there anyone else worried about Stormers lack of Bonus Point tries? I saw JDV on tv saying “as long as we keep on winning we might get a play off spot” with this comment I have 2 problems. Firstly if the bulls lose and still get a 4 try bonus point and lose within 7 points for another bonus point and win the rest up untill the june test window, they will still be ahead of us. And secondly, we need bonus point to get a home play off game. How many play offs have we won away from home? Doubt we won any. We are not doing ourselves any favours with this “bonus point tries is an unnecessary disstraction” attitude. IMO
10 May 2012, 15:03 pm
And I do like JDV, I went to school with the guy, and believe he has another season left in the tank. But why leave a play off spot to chance? Just secure it with bonus point tries.