KeoTV: Stormers have X factor, Sharks don’t

AJ VENTER on what the Sharks are missing this year and why the Stormers and Chiefs will contest the Super Rugby final in Cape Town.

224 Comments

• 1.puff: Reply to this comment

“Bring that block out, boys.”
    ?
    Oy vey.

• 2.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

any team but WP in final

• 3.Edmond Dantes: Reply to this comment

If AJ was standing Keo’s head wouldn’t even fit into the frame.

• 4.rangerman: Reply to this comment

keohane looks like he is headed for sopiatown for a jazz concert after snorting speed off a prozzies thigh.

he needs to calm down.

• 5.rangerman: Reply to this comment

marcel coetzee, willem alberts, bizmark and steven sykes lack aggression?

the beast and jannie will now start to hurt other front rows, mark my words.

• 6.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Not to sure what makes AJ the resident expert…….

• 7.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Something about the perspective of that shot is all messed up like an Escher drawing. Keo looks like he’s standing 10m back, yet he’s patting AJ on the back like he’s right there. Trippy sht.

• 8.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

“Last year the Sharks embarrassed me twice”…….. This year I’ll let my jacket do the talking ;)

• 9.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-7: Iets gesnuiwe?

• 10.Transformation: Reply to this comment

where’s HG?…hehehehe

• 11.puff: Reply to this comment

With so many experienced blindsides injured, Alberts apparently out of sorts, and Meyer rating Adriaan Strauss and Chilli, does anyone think…

Meyer may drop a bomb and play the Battlship at 7 with Strauss and Ralepelle as his test twos for the Eng series?

• 12.puff: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-7:

That wasn’t a pat. It was a deep tissue massage.

• 13.Beertjie: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-11: not likely

• 14.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-11: Interesting thought.

• 15.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

At work and watched the whole thing without sound. Really disappointed… ;)

• 16.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-9: Voel so. Ek het met my monitor se setting gespeel, maar die verhoudings is nogsteeds faktap. Soos ‘n Photoshop blapsie.

• 17.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-12: Ja, I wasn’t going to say anything. Thought that AJ was just one of those guys without personal boundary issues.

• 18.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-16: Daai baadjie laat my dink aan daai stront in die middel van die huisgenoot wat jy van naby moet kyk en daan wegtrek en dan sien jy blykbaar n 3D prentjie van n kakkende kangeroo of iets….

• 19.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-11: We have a new generation of quality loosies, the frontrunners of which are Coetzee, Stander and Kolisi. One of them will likely make the squad.

• 20.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Jeeez Keo all that’s missing with that jacket is the leather elbow pads.

The Sharks fans are fickle fans! LOLOLOLOL

• 21.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Whats up with that Jacket Keo?

• 22.puff: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-19:

Yes, but will any of them start – especially the first test?

• 23.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-18: Ja, dis gewoonik iets soos ‘n surfer of ‘n gevleulde perd. 2 uit 3 mense sukkel om dit te sien en dink dan die ander praat stront.

Ek het nou keo se baadjie goed dopgehou en ek dink syne is dalk twee skilpaaie wat mekaar pomp.

• 24.Nikita: Reply to this comment

Enjoy Helen Galiant. With love from me to you.

• 25.ufo: Reply to this comment

Eben X

• 26.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-22: I reckon the starting back row will be:

6. Brussow
    7. Alberts
    8. Spies

• 27.ufo: Reply to this comment

katman & kwagga

funny stuff…!

• 28.Atlas: Reply to this comment

“David Swart has written 8 articles”
    All keo tv.
    written?

• 29.ufo: Reply to this comment

think he’s the vid-ed

• 30.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

Well, you have to say it was a lot more fun than with Percy.

• 31.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-28: You don’t think Monty writes his own opinion, do you?

• 32.ufo: Reply to this comment

AJ’s the most natural presenter of the lot…

(and the most knowledgable…) :wink:

• 33.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-28: Maybe he writes the horrible scripts!

@Nikita(Nikita)-24: Didnt Keo say you have Double D’s when he introduced you?

• 34.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-29: @>^..^< katman(katman)-31: Maybe he is the brain behind all this ****. We were blaming the wrong guys!

• 35.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-32: Agree.

• 36.puff: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-26:

That’s what it should be, given the amount of injuries to the likes of Smith, Burger and Vermeulen.
    But Alberts is far from being on song at the moment.
    So it will be interesting.

Coetzee
    Kolisi
    Stander
    or…
    Bismark Du Plessis?

I know Bismark at 7 sounds like a maverick idea.
    I suppose it depends on a few things, not least of which is who Meyer and co. see as their starting prop-hooker-prop trio.

• 37.Jeez: Reply to this comment

Since when does a team who struggle to score tries have the ‘x factor’???

• 38.Beertjie: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-36: He’ll rather play a lock at 7 than Bismark. We have too many options at 7 to go for a hooker at 7.

• 39.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this keo, for a bloke who supposedly everyone doesn’t like seems to be on very cordial terms with these ex-boks that grace his youtube clips.

• 40.puff: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-37:

They have the X factor called Gio Aplon.

• 41.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-37: xactly

• 42.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-40: 1Plon doesnt = xfactor

• 43.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Alberts best position is 8

• 44.kfc: Reply to this comment

Mark were you sitting on AJ’s shoulder?

• 45.kfc: Reply to this comment

@kfc(kfc)-44: Oh wait. I see now. You’re actually standing on his lap.

• 46.mad eye: Reply to this comment

Keohane if you are going to get into T.V don’t be such a fucken cheapskate,your mother cannot operate your camera for you .
    I know she needs employment to stop her hustling on the street,but you need a camera operator with the most basic of basic skills.
    Like how to avoid a moyo pattern.
    **** head you cannot wear black and white stripes against a white background ,it sings stupid,sings.
    And for God’s sake get a director who knows that you don’t look straight into the camera,
    Finaly if you have to go in front of the camera,which you actually shouldn’t then take the stocking off your head,you are not robbing the bank today

• 47.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Gio Aplon deserves a starting wing spot at test level.

• 48.Atlas: Reply to this comment

OK, so the final will be between Strormers and Chiefs at Newlands.
    So why bother watching the rest of the tourny
    Congrats Stormers again on a fine season

• 49.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-47:
    No he doesn’t

• 50.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

Percy is Nikita.

• 51.Atlas: Reply to this comment

No one ‘deserve’ anything.
    Not a player, the Kings, no one

• 52.Joffers my cuzzie: Reply to this comment

***** I have seen less garish jackets at the *** Pride Festival!!!!

• 53.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Bok 22 IMHO

1.Beast
    2.Bismark
    3.Du Plessis
    4.Etzebeth
    5.Bekker
    6.Brussow
    7.Alberts
    8.Spies

9.Hougaard
    10.M.Steyn
    11.Habana
    12.F.Steyn
    13.De Jongh
    14.Aplon
    15.Lambie

16.Strauss/Chilli 17.Coenie 18.Elstadt 19.Kolisi/Coetzee/Stander 20.Pienaar/Pretorius 21.Jantjies 22.JP

• 54.Joffers my cuzzie: Reply to this comment

Wow you cant even use the word g-a-y on the sight. No wonder so many homosexual rugby players are afraid to come out.

• 55.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@Joffers my cuzzie(Joffers_my_cuzzie)-52:
    So you have been at the *** pride parade

• 56.RL: Reply to this comment

Stormers do not have the x factor and they do not have the bonus points … which will come back to nail them in the arse … not that many a brokeback would object.

• 57.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-51:

Boo f*ckin hoo. His skillset,form and ability to make things happen in limited space(such are defensive systems) warrants his “deserved” selection for Boks. Much like Bismark last year “deserved” to start ahead of Smit for the Boks-a sentiment shared by many pundits,coaches etc worldwide.

• 58.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-56:

They possess players who have X-factor if UTILIZED properly but instead they rely too much on Nienaber defensive system. Fleck doesnt seem to be as effective in employing a pattern with backs to create an environment where players like Aplon,De Jongh etc can flourish

• 59.RL: Reply to this comment

@Joffers my cuzzie(Joffers_my_cuzzie)-54: Simon is that you … we all know that your two obsessions are Joffers and rugby players who use their mtondos to bat for the wrong team. :razz:

• 60.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Joffers?

As in Graeme Joffe?

• 61.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Butterbean!!!

Joffers has put on 70 pounds since he worked for CNN.

• 62.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Indeed Fleckies time is running out.

Time for Chester.

• 63.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-61:

Maybe he is also trying to get into Broad-Bottomed Empowerment.

• 64.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-63: Brett Kebble, the original Broad-Bottomed Empowerment kingpin.

• 65.thesaint: Reply to this comment

RL you such an arse, Stormers dont have the X-Factor? Maybe not, debatable… But here’s a no-brainer, Lions got f’all…

• 66.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

What’s with all this Keo and co’s ‘Joffer fascination’?

• 67.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@thesaint(thesaint)-65: they dont have the x factor and they have about 20 000 knowlegeable fans and 25 000 drunks who go to newlands to spit at each other.

(cue hysterical laughter in the background)

• 68.RL: Reply to this comment

@thesaint(thesaint)-65: jaja and the brokebacks are into year twelve without any trophies.

• 69.thesaint: Reply to this comment

Rangerman… How’s the season working out for you thusfar? I don’t even need to make a joke, enough of them at Kingspark already…

• 70.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-66: joffe took keo on on twatter and keo had a mincing little pygmy war of words with him.

keo lost but he is too thick to realise it, he went on darren scotts anonymous blog radio (the place where careers go to die) to try and worm his way out of the accusations levelled at him.

it was nauseating listening to darren try to ressurect his career by fawningly “questioning” the noxious little dwarf.

• 71.RL: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-67: and about 260000 youngsters born since the last time a trophy was in the WP cabinet.

• 72.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@thesaint(thesaint)-69: the season?

see thats how you fools think.

its not about the season sonny, its about the trophy.

how have the last 11 “seasons” been for you?

• 73.thesaint: Reply to this comment

RL, trophies, no, spot in the Super 15 come 2013? Definitely… Now I wonder, which would the cubs prefer?

• 74.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-71: some of those youngsters probably have junior contracts with wp :lol:

• 75.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@thesaint(thesaint)-73: you stormers fans know about relegation, you tell us how it feels?

• 76.rangerman: Reply to this comment

i will give it to keo, he knows how to pander to the mob.

the problem begins when a challenger arrives on the scene and all the bridges that were burnt would have been the only way out.

• 77.rangerman: Reply to this comment

either the saint is self flagellating or he is yping a moerse long post :lol:

• 78.thesaint: Reply to this comment

Ranger, no, its the way YOU and RL think, like the CurrieCup matters, at least the Stormers are making strides towards, instead of leaps from…

• 79.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@thesaint(thesaint)-78: ah, the old “we dont care” gambit eh?

haha, cant wait to see how much you care when you finally win one :lol:

• 80.thesaint: Reply to this comment

Cheers, im out should’ve taken a cue when all other bloggers stopped responding, enjoy yourselves, I know your teams aren’t…

• 81.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-70:

Hahaha… got it…

• 82.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@thesaint(thesaint)-80: ag dont take it so seriously mate.

its just banter.

i am sure you were having a good chuckle at keos poison so why are you so sensitive now?

• 83.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-81: ja, he did actually go on joffes radio show too.

on 702 i think.

funnily enough there were no links to that interview posted here :lol:

• 84.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Sharks “tries” have been drying up lately lol. At least the Stormers have scored more tries than the opposition they’ve played in all games bar one. A nice home stretch now awaits the Stormers to put an even bigger gap on the poor sods at Kings Park. How can a Springbok laden team be so piss poor?

• 85.rangerman: Reply to this comment

sadly i must agree with the content of this edition of dwarftv.

the sharks dont look like title contenders at the moment.

but imo the problem lies at captaincy and backline coaching more than anywhere else.

keegan will hopefully grow into the role.

• 86.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

He will need to change his name then.

Ujoffers

His bottom will need to be very broad to fit around the zuma dinner table

• 87.COBRA: Reply to this comment

AJ VENTER EK HET GELEES WAT JY GESKRYF HET ,EKS N GROOT WP FAN ,TRUSY MY MA EK DINK SADERS GAAN DIE FINAL WEN ,PASOP VIR DIE REDS

• 88.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-84: how many bonus pts do the stormers have for tries scored?

in fact how many bonus pts do the stormers have full stop?

• 89.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Percy is Nikita!

Best comment yet.

• 90.rangerman: Reply to this comment

if the stormers lose to the bulls and the sharks in the next series of derbies, where does that leave them?

• 91.ufo: Reply to this comment

hehehehe

so…here we are chatting about the S15 season… and AJ offers his opinion..

a comment or six later we have…

@rangerman(rangerman)-72:

“its not about the season sonny, its about the trophy.”

@rangerman(rangerman)-79:

“haha, cant wait to see how much you care when you finally win one :lol:

so bud… please remind us when the sharks won THE Super Rugby trophy…?

and how did it feel when you could say you finally won one…? :lol:

sheesh… we know you live a fantastical life there ranger…

but don’t you actually have to win THE trophy before acting like you have…

no…?

sounds like a case of premature articulation to me…

Bulls are the only Biz with bragging rights…

• 92.David: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-88:
    Well, we got one for losing by less than one against the Crusaders. How many points did the Sharks get for their losses? I mean they’ve had more chances to gain losing bonus points than we have?

• 93.RL: Reply to this comment

LOL just watched that kak keotv video and man-o-man Keo is a dwarf next to AJ.

• 94.David: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-92:
    Forgot the smiley. :lol:

• 95.RL: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-92: look at the table man, the bullies lost one more match than the brokebacks but are ahead of them on points …. bonus points count … It’s the difference between earning a bye week and a home semi vs an extra match no bye week and an away semi.

• 96.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ai

Doppies is leaving Lions end June

• 97.Saffex: Reply to this comment

@mishin………….Alberts has done stuff all and does not deserve a Bok spot, hell the Sharks have even dropped him. Elstadt at 7 would be my call.

I’d play Jantjies at 10 as we need to move on from the ponderous plodder Morne at 10. de Jongh is too small for a test 13, play Taute at 13 or JP. JP ahead of Aplon on the wing

• 98.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ok ok ok will everyone stop losing their fecking heads the Stormers are kuk and the Sharks are fabulous we get it already

• 99.RL: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-98: you are missing the brawl in the other thread … the pricks are ganging up on me :smile:

• 100.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What does AJ know about x factor anyway what is this x factor supposed to be

• 101.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

90 @ Rangerman

Your scenarios are based on “what ifs”. What if the Stormers win all their remaining games?

• 102.ufo: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-77:

sheesh bud… you must be writing a book… :wink:

• 103.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-91: no no no.

i didnt come out swinging ‘fo :lol:

i was simply returning keo serve to show us sharks fans stick by our team :lol:

p.s. i was alluding to a trophy, any trophy lol.

• 104.ufo: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-103:

oh… the old ‘returning serve’ routine…

but surely you should be playing tennis with sharks fan AJ…? :lol:

i know what you were alluding to… but that’s not what you said… :wink:

just pulling your socks bud…

nothing wrong with sticking by your team…

of course you’ll afford us the same privilege with ours…?

• 105.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-102: haha was looking after the peanut lol.

• 106.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-104: indeed.

and you will notice i agreed with aj?

i am just trying to keep you guys grounded :lol;

• 107.ufo: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-106:

ditto…

• 108.Dawn: Reply to this comment

You two are now officially boring me to tears

• 109.ufo: Reply to this comment

switch channels then…

• 110.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-108: sorry Dawnie but i will always give respect where it is due, as i do with you.

• 111.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

I thought for second I just logged onto a man-on-man dating site :-)

• 112.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-111: tell us what those are like as you seem to be an expert :lol:

• 113.ufo: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-111:

we don’t want to know about your dating life…!!

• 114.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ pink power ranger,

Read the last 20 or so post :-)

• 115.ufo: Reply to this comment

dawn… if we’re your only entertainment, now wonder you’re officially in tears…

• 116.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

You ga’ys, I mean guys even respond the same :-)

• 117.rangerman: Reply to this comment

haha, nazi ali joumase….!

you wont get away you slimey toad, trying to rip off an entire country as brazenly as you did.

you will be the fall guy but i hope you let the piggys out the bag.

• 118.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ pink power ranger,

Masterchef calls, I will be back. Try not to be too friendly with one another ;-)

• 119.ufo: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-116:

major deflection there…

you’re all upset because you thought you’d logged onto your favorite man-on-man site…

all that anticipation…

and then…?

so don’t stress… we know you need to channel all that nervous energy…

just mind your keyboard…

• 120.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-116: sweet, homophobia is all you have?

then again maybe we are seeing your internal struggle made visible?

shame man :lol:

• 121.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-118: yes yes, run along and watch your cooking show :lol:

• 122.rangerman: Reply to this comment

haha, the ancyl ripping itself apart.

where is mpundulu ffs!

i wanna discuss the dynamic :lol:

• 123.Dawn: Reply to this comment

That’s more like it

• 124.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-123: :lol:

• 125.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

Lekker tweed jacket Keo …. and you got pretty excited about seeing AJ’s c ock in a block!

• 126.rangerman: Reply to this comment

the whole country is watching people cook?

• 127.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Indeed. Masterchef is very popular.

• 128.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I’m watching Iron Chef

• 129.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-39: Ex Bok Communications Manager…

• 130.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-128: any good?

• 131.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Bit more intense than Masterchef.

American.

• 132.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Am now on Masterchef.

The aus version was way better.

• 133.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Keo in tweed?

What next?

The Queen in a tracksuit?

• 134.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Keohane needs a makeover

• 135.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Keo……….sit and spin IMP

• 136.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

I see the g’ay parade is at least over, those two broke backers probably crawling in with their wives feeling guilty after the love session they had on here :-)

• 137.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

I wish huggsy would sit and spin on me.

• 138.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Rude!

• 139.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Who’s huggsy?

• 140.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Treehugger, fool

• 141.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ dawn,

Don’t be so girly ;-)

• 142.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Lololololol…….. That all read like something out of a comedy routine.

• 143.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-136: pick up any yips cookie? :lol:

• 144.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ ranger,

Yips?

• 145.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

If you meant ‘tips’ then no and if you’re referring to me as ‘cookie’ then you will be shot with your own harpoon :-)

• 146.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Speargun not harpoon

Eedjit

• 147.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-146: :lol:

• 148.cab: Reply to this comment

thats a v funny clip, poor old AJ, listen to the man, spot on – unfortunately sharks pack went about downhill when he and ackerman retired now they have to rebuild.

• 149.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

Only in SA is the X factor considered to be related or synonomous with something other than skills i.e. Brute force. Sharks must persist with the changes in approach i.e. Attack minded rugby in order to be able to consistently beat the overseas sides and forget about AJ,s x factor – its the old SA psyche and needs to change

• 150.cab: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-149:
    bb mate i reckon u got it wrong, that was what harry viljoen and all stormers been advocating before rassie arrives, all flat out attack running rugby, dont work u need the grunt upfront – look at teh stormers, they totally revamped their style and are virtually unbeatable – sharks tight 5 used to be a thing to fear, now they not far off how wp were.

rule no 1, first get your pack right, after that your backs can pull bollemekiesie backflips met dubbel scissors switches too boot

• 151.carol: Reply to this comment

Keo, bring back Percy..

Have to say this new ‘Young Man’ does have very nice crisp white shirt on though!!

Night All :-)

• 152.son of kumara: Reply to this comment

me thinks the man doth snort too much.

• 153.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Helll he´s the same height as Keo sitting down! lol Hectic.

• 154.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-53: pretty impressive 22 there Mshini – I may differ on a point or two but by and large thats pretty spot on I reckon. I think Juandre Kruger adds more grunt as a lock but hwo knows we may very well see the return of Bakkies. Its an open question.

Agree with the Kolisi, Coetzee, Stander possibilities – real pity Vermeulen is injured as well as Jacques Potgieter. I would have liked to find some space in there for Ashley Johnson but thats near impossible with Spies always being included. Though I doubt his current form I´d probably also have him there due to his senior status but if Vermeulen was fit he´d definitely be on the bench at the very least.

Jantjes I dont feel is ready for this level yet. Goosen it would have been but with Lambie in the team I´m not sure it makes much sense to have an additionaly flyhalf on the bench – i´d rather add in another dynamic player or fullback – Joe Pietersen comes to mind.
    That backline looks deadly. Exactly as i´d pick it at the moment.
    Good job as usual Mr wam!

• 155.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

AJ making Keo look like a dwarf there…lol

• 156.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-53:

That Natal front row will get decimated by the Pommies. But it is certain Meyer will select them.Backline looks likely to be the one Meyer will pick.

Alberts is best at 8 IMO.

• 157.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

This Keo must be a tiny **** hey.

AJ sitting on his arse is bigger than Keo.

I think we should call him Ou Plattes.

Want hy is so Plat

• 158.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

where **** = t u r d

• 159.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

Plattes does have a nice grade 6 jacket on though..

• 160.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

1 minute the shaven gimp is putting both thumbs in his pockets, next minute its both his index fingers.

Ive seen chimp@nzees using their digits with more dexterity, next thing he’ll be eating his own sh*t.

• 161.gretep: Reply to this comment

@Johannes Expatinus(hanneslom)-157:
    They don’t call Keo “The Mayor of Tiny Town” for nothing…

• 162.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

you mean Keo is the GOVENOR OR HOBBITVILLE

• 163.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Cold,grey,misty miserable day in p oofterville.
    Setting the gerbil stuffers here up nicely before the POP on Sat when the bubble bursts.

• 164.Jeez: Reply to this comment

UNDER-PRESSURE Lions coach John Mitchell has lashed out at the South African Rugby Union’s handling of the Southern Kings’ entry into Super Rugby next year.

SAVE & SHARE

EMAILPRINT
    RELATED NEWS
    Saru and unions to meet to try to resolve issues
    Whitehead relishes attacking freedom
    Mitchell issues warning to Chiefs
    Plum dangles a Bok carrot

The Kings were guaranteed a place in next year’s tournament after a unanimous vote by Saru’s general council to include them was taken in January.

The Golden Lions Rugby Union was one of the 14 unions that voted for the Kings.

But at the same meeting no solution on a mechanism for the relegation of a team to make way for the Kings was reached.

And more than halfway through this year’s tournament, it is still unclear who would drop out, and how it would happen.

The obvious solution would be to relegate the bottom team in the South African conference.

Each country, including Australia and New Zealand, is only allowed five teams in the tournament.

The Lions are last in the South African standings with 14 points after eight losses in nine matches.

“Nothing has been defined in terms of the future,” Mitchell said.

“But the Lions have been around for 120 years and it is up to Saru to stop blackmailing people and hanging a noose out there and to rather allow them to get on with things.”

He said South African rugby had created a “ridiculous situation for itself”.

Mitchell believes a good solution to fitting six franchises into five would be for the Lions and Cheetahs to merge again. Between 1998 and 2006 the Lions and the Cheetahs played as the Cats, but when the tournament expanded to 14 teams the Cheetahs and the Lions became separate entities.

“If you want to be the best team a merger with the Cheetahs is the way to go,” Mitchell said.

He said the status quo could be maintained, with the Lions developing very good young players.

“But if you want to create a team that is going to be better and you want to become a serious challenger, a merger is a decent decision.

“It depends whether you want to continue to accept mediocrity and just hang in there and be part of the competition, or if you want to win.

“If the Lions were at full strength and playing with the same team that won the Currie Cup last year, we would have been more competitive in this year’s competition, but we still don’t have the depth to maintain and sustain performances to win the title – and neither do the Cheetahs.

“If you amalgamated the best players from both franchises you would have a serious group, and with strong leadership and a good team culture, they could achieve anything.”

The Cats were an unsuccessful merger, with players based in Bloemfontein unhappy when they were forced to spend months in Johannesburg.

It’s an option that poses many operational and logistical challenges.

• 165.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

AJ speaks more eloquently than Percy and Victor put together.

• 166.skyewalker: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-165:
    He sure seems to know what he’s talking about.

• 167.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-164:

John Mitchell trying to wrangle himself and his union out of the mess they have created for THEMSELVES for the last decade. Lions have been around for 120 years blah blah who gives a sh*t if they have been churning out putrid performances for years,reak of mismanagement, maladministration and nepotism for same amount of time. The union is a pale shadow of the once proud union it once was, and has been for a while now.

Their existence for over a century should make those running organisation for last decade fel ashamed. And Lions not being in superrugby doesnt men they shall cease to exist,just means they have to step their game up.On all fronts from upper echelons of management(president’s council) to the pitch itself.

People lambast Kings for so called sense of “entitlement”….Lions have been “entitled” for years.

• 168.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-167: neither should be in a competition that has the words “Super” in it.

• 169.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-154:

Thank u sir

Pity about Vermuelen,would have liked to see him have a run.Picked Spies because I know its inevitable especially under Meyer,same with Morne to a large extent.Wit Du Preez now having made himself available for selection-one will see him feature at very LEAST of the wood ahead of Pienaar/Pretorius.

Have to disagree about Jantjies,I realy do feel that he can contribute with better players around him at Test level. He possibly has the best skillset for a 10 in this country and only 10 that really threatens the gain line consistently.And now with Goosen injured I think it would apt to bring him into fold at least for England series. Lambie should be given time to settle a bit at 15 come Test season because he hasnt played there since WC2011.JP Pietersen covers 11/13/14/15. The bench split will be interesting,likely to be a 5-2 split with England so strong upfront so full frontrow on bench possibly. Elstadt brings harder edge than Juandre Kruger who is more of the athletic 5 lock.

• 170.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@skyewalker(skyewalker)-166:

He has a bit of character and seems intelligent..also missing from Matfield’s dour monotonous commentary. Percy is just a giggling happy moron.

• 171.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-168:

Fair enough.

But since there has to be a 5th team and that the Lions have bungled it for over a decade I would rather see the Kings get their chance to see what they can do. All the better if the issue of relegation is resolved early so they can start recruitment early because the entire procurement process, marketing as well sponsorship dynamic changes altogether with the affirmation of “Superrugby status” especially for the EC region.Lions havent managed to do jacksh*t with any of that nor entice their region.

• 172.race of tan: Reply to this comment

My wife and i went to see the sharks play at the Stoop years ago, harlequins homeground, and we could not believe the size of AJ Venter. Everytime he came near the stands are jaws dropped at the sheer size of the man, Russel was also playing that day.

• 173.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-169:
    No hiding in Test Matches Mshini.
    The way in which the Chiefs backs ran over him on the weekend was way too easy. Wouldnt have mattered who was around him.
    Test teams would mark him as a target and run at his channel all day.

Happened last year against the Hurricanes as well, Jack Lam who isnt the largest flanker, ran straght over him.
    This after Elton almost single handedly demolished the Brumbies the week before.

He seems to do really well against smaller Aussie sides, attacks the gainline, tackles well, more or less but is conspicuous in his absence against bigger sides.

• 174.race of tan: Reply to this comment

mshiniwami – I guess during the year the Lions are relugated SARU should organise that the players can be used by the other franchises as well!!!

• 175.skyewalker: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-171:
    Yeah,but realistically speaking everybody knows that Kings will be by far the worst team to have ever entered the super rugby circuit,a walking 5 points for any opposition,and an embarrassment to sa rugby,that said,so are the Lions.Logical move would be to unite the Cheetahs and Lions again for talent and depth,at least they should then avoid the wooden spoon,that will be reserved exclusively for Kings.

• 176.race of tan: Reply to this comment

skyewalker – The Cats were a disaster last time. They had no game plan and played like a team that had never played together. I think relugation is the only option with the clause that the top Lions players can be used by the other franchises, even ozzie franchises if they wish!!

• 177.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-167:
    I agree with you that the Lions probably dont deserve to be in the comp… But I do feel that they can play a big role to help form a formidable team, be it the Cats or whatever.

The Kings will play and I wish them well, but theyll probably take the Lions’ place as SAs new bottom-feeders. Luckily a merger between the LIons and Cheetahs will ensure that for once SA will have 4 competitive teams and not just 3. Not only will the Cats have good depth, they will have a awesome starting 15…

Its good to hear it from Mitchell, even though such a merger might cost him his job.

Somebody mentioned that the income generated should still be divided by 6 to ensure that the Lions dont go under. That way the Cheetahs just gain a bunch of quality players and the Lions still get to keep their top players to play currie cup etc.

• 178.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-173: amazing how most try and tell us Lambie is not a !) to suit their own agenda’s

Yet Lambie keeps producing, last weekends stats again prove this and just his tackle stats?? 17 made missed 0 and the list goes on

• 179.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Mark Keohane’s argument on Ballz Radio was that everyone is under the mistaken belief that the Queens Vodacom Cup side will be the Super Rugby side. Apparently they will be two different teams…

• 180.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

there is a simple solution, let the lions and kings play each other in a best out of 3, lets see who comes up trumps,

If the Kings are to be in the Super 15 next year i dont see why the Lions should have to help them with players etc, Lions should regroup and prepare for a play off the following year

Unless play on the field does not count in this country???

• 181.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-172:

I went to all of those games. I was amazed at the size of Butch James and John Smit. Smit was taller than what I expected. I towered over Brent Russell of course…

• 182.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-179: GWS seriously there should not be a problem if the Kings play super15, it should however be because they are strong enough to compete at that level and for no other reason

CAN THEY??

• 183.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-182:

We should all be used to elitism in modern day South Africa by now. We experience it daily by the actions of the new regime. It’s in our faces.

Why would anyone be surprised when it happens in sport?

• 184.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-180: I think you answered your own question there matey.

• 185.skyewalker: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-176:
    Maybe with Mitchell at the helm they will be better,their is no denying there is talent,biggest problem with both teams is depth,combining the two teams will sort it out.Would be very sad to see ex-cats playing for ozzie sides. :cry:

• 186.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Maybe stormers and kings should join, name them kings and queens, :lol:

• 187.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-184: trust me bro i know

• 188.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-173:

Fair enough but defense isnt only skillset criteria used to select a Test 10. Morne Steyn also very frail on D and you can add Goosen to that as well who is also not the best defende-also in Jantjies standard but he is more injury prone-had mutliple periods out since his debut last year…Why arent the same reservations held about him or Steyn? Andre Pretorius fell into that category of defensively average 10′s yet he had over 30 Test caps,reservations??? And mate Jack Lam has made a fool of plenty of players on defence,last season saw him run straight through Higginbotham(reputable defender) and a few others.Neither here nor there.

Here is one of Lam running straight thru Morne Steyn…Bok current Test 10…Nowhere to hide huh? Enjoy

• 189.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-173:

Here is the Morne-Jack Lam clip

http://youtu.be/JzTEi4PoNlg

• 190.skyewalker: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-186:
    Judging by the log it only makes sense to join sharks and kings,call them bottom feeders :lol:

• 191.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

John Galt, Jack Lam is no joke-size or otherwise.

Watch the clip in post 189

See what he does to Morne,Greyling,Potgieter,Stegman.

• 192.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-191: hiyas Sbali, truth be told there is only 1 defensively strong 10 in SA and that is Lambie, all the others struggle with defense at times

• 193.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-192:

Goosen is a mamba in all facets. He just lacks muscle and is too doff to know how to fall properly.

• 194.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-193: lol GWS i like the kid too but Mshini is correct , Goosen is not strong defensively, i have seen him miss many a tackle

• 195.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@skyewalker(skyewalker)-190:

Wasn’t the Eastern Cape originally part of the Sharks franchise area?

It would make sense for them to merge again, call them the Great White Sharks.

Or not.

• 196.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Great White Shark – Yes Andre Snyman was there, fris chris. I was surprised to see Justin Swart was quite a well set chappie, thought he was skinny. Yes Butch is a big chap.

One of most well built back row players i have ever seen was Tim Horan at Watford(Sarries), built like a tank, now i know why he broke so many tackles!

Another big player at Sarries was Adriaan Richter. The size of that mans legs were scary, he looked like one of those men from the worlds strongest men compeitions. I have never seen a rugby player with those size legs!!

• 197.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Great White Shark – Sorry it wasn’t Adriaan Richter it Gary Pagel!!

• 198.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-195: Sharks join the CAPE CRUSADERS again?? hell no lol

• 199.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-192:

Exactly. I just dont the notion that Jantjies is a liability on D,especially looking at other 10 options baring Lambie…”Reservations” pppfffftttt yeah right and using Jack Lam as yardstick nogal…..

• 200.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-196:

I remember my one mate saying that when he met Andre Snyman he remarked that Snyman even had muscle on his cheekbones! Aich! There was a newspaper article many seasons back in some Aussie newspaper about the Aussie chicks drooling over Snyman while he was practicing shirtless during The Sharks Super 12 tour Down Under.

Bru have you seen Strooli? The oke is a walking tree trunk.

• 201.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-195:

I smaak that name.

• 202.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-200: :lol:

• 203.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-195:

Remember the Coastal Sharks? They wore those red, white and black striped rugger jerseys. I think it was the Super 10 days.

• 204.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-201:

Of course you would.

In hindsight, maybe the only way for Natal supporters to experience the joys of winning a Super Rugby trophy would be if the Sharks merge with the Bulls.

The Bull Sharks.

• 205.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-204:

I thought up that one already. Another name for that team in the past was the Springboks.

• 206.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-203:

Nah it was Super 12 days..Shocking kit.

But nothing was worse than Stormers multicoloured abomination around same time…

• 207.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-203:

I think they were the Coastal Sharks from 1998 to about 2006, when the Southern Spears was formed.

• 208.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Great White Shark – Just checked Gary Pagel’s stats he was a wopping 119 kgs. I do wonder if the Boks were just as big before proffessionlism as they are now!! No wonder they steam rollered everybody during the amatuer days!!!!

Have never seen Strauli, he was also 109kg in his day according to genslin.us.

I saw Japie Mulder and Dalton out once at Foxies in Sandton joburg, man i am giving away my age here a bit!!! Dalton was huge, Japies legs were huge!! Met Hennie Le Roux at seventies(MidRand), little tank.

I also was the french blondie player at sarries, Castaignède, built like a small tank!!

• 209.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Great White Shark – Yes Andre Snyman one of my favourite Bok players but he never regained his of 98 after breaking both his ankles. He was also a wopping 100kg very big for a centre. Pieter Muller must have been some size too!!

• 210.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-206: remember the non white folk all supporting the canes in EL?? one of the reason the Sharks left that fold is no support there??

and of course the financial losses etc

• 211.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-208: Gary Pagel comes from a family of Circus Strongmen. A beast of a man and probably one of our best and strongest props ever. Too bad he developed a rep for dirty play (not always undeserved) and went overseas.

Struck fear into many a LH prop over the years, but a decent bloke off the field.

• 212.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-209:

One of the biggest players I’ve seen is Richard Metcalfe, ex Scottish lock, 7 feet tall and about 130kg, absolute giant of a man.

• 213.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Jonah Lomu was also no slouch in the gym, extremely strong.

I believe he was able to squat over 300kg.

• 214.cane: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-212:
    Ever see Olivier Merle?

• 215.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-213: He was, I believe 118kg’s. That’s a lot of wing.

• 216.RedMan: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-214: I saw Merle in Pretoria during the WC in ’95.

Scary looking dude

• 217.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-214:

Merle was a thug.

A big one.

• 218.cane: Reply to this comment

@RedMan(RedMan)-216: @WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-217:

Merle was an Angel in White compared to Bakkies.

• 219.nama1: Reply to this comment

So, the Stormers players probably also use AXE, hence the X-factor, while the Saarkies are still using up their stockpiles of EGO.

Following some of the Saark supporters on Keo, they probably also into EGO. Big time

• 220.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-219: Oh BS the Stormer own the EGO factory

• 221.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-150: Interesting point Cab and I agree that you need to dominate in terms of possession, however the concern I have as always with SA rugby is the overemphasis on brute strenght rather than technique or skill. Physically SA sides tend to be bigger than our Antipodean counterparts yet we tend to play rugby without the ball. Our opponents are not only masters at retrieving the ball but also keeping hold of it.

Our sides tend to rely on putting pressure on through brute force and thereby scoring off the mistakes of the opponents. I would like to see more creativity and technique being used combined with the already present brute force and this is where I think the Sharks are trying to take their game. Develop an attacking mindset based on a good skillset presupposing that everything starts with the need to gain and retain possession.

An example in question is when Bismarck gets stripped of the ball in contact by a flyhalf simply because of poor technique and lack of support play. By the way this also happened to Pedrie when playing for Ulster against Edinburgh in the semi final of the Heineken cup.

• 222.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-169: Yeah I also think Jantjes threatens the gain line the best of the lot but to be fair he often makes bad decisions and gets isolated and turns over ball. Tackling also a little light in my opinion. I would definitely have him around as an option but maybe he needs some time with good players to bring out the best in him. Sometimes he does wonderful things and other times makes some silly mistakes. Time will tell. If you insist in Elstadt I would then simply keep him on the flank and move Alberts in to lock. I´m not sold on Alberts – he´s dropped off the pace a lot. I know what he´s capable of but he seems to have lost the hunger. Somethings not right with him. I maintain the loose combo is becoming a problem and should we continiue with this insane run of knee injuries on loosies we may well be scrambling come June tests. I pray for no more injuries.

• 223.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-222: Alberts still carrying the effect of his shoulder injury in my opinion. He should have had a longer time to rest to be honest, but he will be bcak.

• 224.Neilster: Reply to this comment

What an absolute twaddle, Sharks don’t lack X-factor they lack accuracy in the basics!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.