Lions set for chop?

Saru has confirmed its plan to relegate the last-placed South African franchise at the end of the season.

This proposed solution was made by Saru’s executive council at its special general meeting in January. The top four teams on the SA conference log would therefore join the Kings in 2013. As it stands, the Lions would drop out.

Saru said a promotion-relegation play-off would then take place after the 2013 and 2014 campaigns.

However, the franchises requested that a decision on the mechanism of qualification be postponed to allow them time to make alternative proposals. The officials at the general meeting accepted the request. Saru CEO Jurie Roux asked for it to be recorded that this delay was at the franchises’ request, therefore precluding the franchises from criticism of late decision-making.

A final decision will be made after meetings with the SA Super Rugby franchises on 17 May, the Saru executive committee on 24 May and the Saru general council on 13 July (21 rounds into the 2012 Super Rugby tournament).

‘Rugby has been consistently united in supporting the Kings’ place in Super Rugby in 2013,’ said Roux. ‘Our focus has been on finding a rugby answer to the questions that flow from that that’s fair, transparent in its mechanism and will strengthen South African rugby in the long run. Those discussions continue.

‘Until a final decision is reached, the franchises and the Saru presidency are agreed that it would be unhelpful to the competing teams to publicly debate the pros and cons of different scenarios. When a decision is announced we will be able to report back to rugby supporters in full.’

305 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 1.Staal: Reply to this comment

This will be the end of these Dragons if it’s true.

• 2.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Bye-bye Lions.

Welcome to the Bulls Elton!

• 3.Staal: Reply to this comment

not a bad cut & paste job….

• 4.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-2: you talking of maaaaaaaaaybe Vodacom cup? :lol:

• 5.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-4: lol. I know you dont rate him. What you think of his younger brother?
    And which Lion players, if any, would you welcome into the Bulls fold?

• 6.Staal: Reply to this comment

as they say…

If you want to succeed in politics you must keep your conscience well under control…

imo this is all politics and Zero to do with rugby…

we can honestly only have maybe 4 S15 teams and compete… maybe….

• 7.John Galt: Reply to this comment

I predict a riot.

SARU be prepared to open your wallets and purses because the Lions are going to come at ya for loss of revenue and, well, being a bunch of douche bags basically.

Not that I care either way.

GO SHARKS!

• 8.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

If there is a promotion/relegation playoff the Lions will only be out for one season. After that the Kings will probably just keep losing playoffs and the status quo is unlikely to change unless the Superugby format changes.

• 9.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-5: Elton = turnstile with a bad heirdo… imo. :lol:

Brother = average…imo.

Lions? I rate quite a few of the younger guys and imo Mitchell is doing a great job although they are getting klapped. I mean they have now got 7gazillllion locks injured! :lol:

Naw i rate Mitchell.

• 10.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-5:
    his baby boet should not be playing rugby, because i dont he is really a rugby player. i think he is following his fathers heart and not his own. have watched him enough in vodacom cup to think this is the case.

elton can be better than he is now perhaps but i dont think he will ever supersede lambie, goosen, morne or fouche.

• 11.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Mmmm wouldnt mind braaing chops tonite.

• 12.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-2: Hulle gaan hom bliksem in Hatfield met daai hairdo……

• 13.Staal: Reply to this comment

i’ll rather have a massive player base (3xS15 teams)and win the S15 more times than have 5xS15 teams with a win “now & then”

Less S15 games, more longer tours…. but ya i know it’s all dreams.

• 14.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-12: :)

He does live in Pretoria at the moment though. Valhalla. Dont know whether he ever frequents Hatfield.

• 15.Chris4Lions: Reply to this comment

Ok. So lets say this happens and Lions fall out. Kings WILL get moered next year.
    Then after that they will play relegation matches against the Lions. Lions gets back into Super Rugby, Kings are out! So all this politics just to have the Kings play one season.
    What a waste of time and money!!!

• 16.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-13: Stem staal. Hierdie hele uitgerekte ding het meer die trefkrag soos n S12 gehad het nie. Krag teen krag elke naweek. Die conference ding is ook sommer n klomp rubbish.

• 17.scrumfan: Reply to this comment

So we are going to have 5 super rugby teams next year, 3 of which will be coached by kiwis!

• 18.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Very unfair. Its not as if teams were given warning of this a year or 2 ago. I can’t bring myself to be supportive of the kings.

• 19.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-11:
    fark yes!

• 20.Bloues: Reply to this comment

So SARU excuses themselves by saying that the latest delay was caused by the franchises.

What were they thinking. They told the franchises a month before the competition starts that one of them will not be there next year and they expect the franchises to just accept this and move on.

The franchises are the real money spinners in SA Rugby. They are not the lesser provinces who didn’t really have a choice when SARU chopped the Currie Cup’s numbers and just had to go with it.

I hope the Lions gets the job, but not because I don’t want them in the comp. I just think they have a better chance at taking SARU to the cleaners than the Cheetahs have.

• 21.Vegas: Reply to this comment

Can’t wait for the Kings’ frst match against the Saders!!! I predict 3 digit scores next year :)

• 22.Bloues: Reply to this comment

*job = chop

• 23.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

15@ Chris….. I think you have a good point there.

• 24.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Chris4Lions(Chris4Lions)-15:
    no, the point is for your teams to fight harder to prove you deserve participation…every season…

we are tired of the free lunch spread you put on for the kiwis year after year.

• 25.PieterJordaan: Reply to this comment

Lions to get chop? And its not their f*****n fire-skin! SARU must get ready for a lengthy court-battle over lost revenues…

• 26.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Interresting. I read this on News 24 earlier this morning. So if that’s the case and the Lions get the chop, do they actually have a case against SARU?

From all I’ve read the Super Rugby contacts all expire at the end of this year and SARU is under no contractual obligation to renew specifically with the GLRU.

This has gone on for the year so the Lions can hardly say that there hasn’t been a consultative process.

“Jurie Roux asked for it to be recorded that this delay was at the franchises’ request, therefore precluding the franchises from criticism of late decision-making.”

That’s legalese for CYA. Big time.

What they should also have recorded was that the whole process was agreed upon based on the premise that there would be an additional team, not that someone would have to be relegated. There’s no way that the Cheetahs and Lions (the only real candidates for relegation at the beginning of the season) would have voted for that if they were going to be in the relegation firing line.

That, if anything, is the most likely basis for court action at a later stage if you ask me.

Makes no difference though.

In the words of the great Status Quo:

Get down deeper and down
    Down down deeper and down
    Get down deeper and down

I want all the world to see
    To see you’re laughing
    And you’re laughing at me
    I can take it all from you
    Again again again again again again again
    Deeper and down
    Get down deeper and down

I have all the ways you see
    To keep you guessing
    Stop your messing with me
    You’ll be back to find your way
    Again again again again again again again
    Deeper and down
    Get down

• 27.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Vegas(Vegas)-21: Does Superbru make provision for three digit scores……..They better sort it out……

• 28.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@PieterJordaan(PieterJordaan)-25: I see you watched Snatch!!!

• 29.PieterJordaan: Reply to this comment

@PieterJordaan(PieterJordaan)-25: fore-skin..

• 30.PieterJordaan: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-28: And you know it!! thought about it when I saw the heading. You know why they call him franky four fingers…?

• 31.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@PieterJordaan(PieterJordaan)-30: Classic movie that one!! Lock stock and two smoking barrels, throw in a bit of Tarentino and you got a serias big movie night.

• 32.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-26:
    well thats pretty much it then.
    besides, its not as iff they dont deserve it.

i dont believe the kings do, but neither do they.

• 33.RL: Reply to this comment

A question mark at the end of the title.

SARUs “proposed” solution revealed.

Watson rejecting a playing a promotion relegation match end of 2013 season.

Franchises telling SARU to get stuffed.

Weee dwarf man spinning like crazy.

Interesting indeed!

• 34.Bouts: Reply to this comment

Hehe. Politics indeed. Typical top management decision to throw the problem to the franchises and ‘wash their hands’ of anything.

I expect the Lions will now start a media campaign to get public sympathy… all typical politics.

• 35.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-33:
    not so confident anymore?

• 36.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-32: Ja looks like it hey?

As you say. the Kings don’t deserve it either.

• 37.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

This is going to affect the Bulls extremely negatively!

Our Super Rugby record winning margin of 92-3 is going to be broken!

Thankfully, our record winning margin in a final will be safe, as these Kings won’t smell second last spot in the comp, nevermind ever getting a chance to lose by a record margin in a final..

• 38.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-37: Well your team will have a crack at beating it.

• 39.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

Good news for the South African teams next year. This means 10 points they don’t even have to break sweat for!

• 40.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-38:

True. Never thought of that.

• 41.SamM: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs could do well by securing 2or 3 good lions players for next season – not Mapoe thou -good player -too much bad history and injuries .
    Mabe that big you g lock that rattled Ashley’s cage a bit .
    Feel sorry for the lions thou

• 42.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

As I’ve said before, as much as this sucks for the Lions and I disagree with the whole thing, this is actually good news for the other 4 SA teams in the Comp for next year, as they will be practically guaranteed a 10 point haul (home and away) against the Kings, something that the lions have never guaranteed (at least not against local teams, overseas teams is another matter entirely).

The fact that the Lions love to roll over and play dead for the Australasians on a regular basis and then suddenly wake up and do something stupid at the end of the season like beat a fancied local team to deny them home ground advantage in the playoffs or something like that is enough reason to boot them from the competition alone.

Bladdy agents.

• 43.PieterJordaan: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-32: talking like a true Keo supporter…

• 44.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

This entire situation can be solved with money.

If the Lions get compensated for not participating in the Super 15 – say with a R15m payout or something, then they can retain their players, and just loan them out to other franchises during the S15 – thus giving the players the Super Rugby exposure they will require.

Then, when it comes to promotion relegation play-off time, they get all their players back and smack the Kings six love, and they’re back in the comp in 2014.

Then the Kings get compensation to do the same in the year that they’re out, and try their luck at promotion relegation again for 2015.

Bottomline is, if SARU want the Kings in, they got to pay the team that has to sit out. Nothing is for free in this world.

• 45.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-37: Come on, PE is like traveling overseas for the Bulls. And we all know what that entails.

• 46.viewer: Reply to this comment

Interesting times
    Wonder how Cheeky Watson manages to pull strings at SARU

• 47.Chris4Lions: Reply to this comment

Maybe this is all a blessing in disguis for the Lions.
    I will admit that we have been playing kak rugby for the last 10 years, so if a team must be relegated it then it must be the Lions. (Feels kak saying that)

The Lions can now build on the future and take nothing for granted. The previous management were apaling. Coaches were Ludeke, Eloff – They couldnt do anything worth remembering. The blame has to be with the management. Why did the Lions not keep theyre good contracted players? Why didnt they sign star players? Everyone knows that average players will get you only that far. hence the reason that there is almost no springboks in the Lions squad. If a team cant develop/retain Springbok quality players then you wont survive against other teams.

The Lions has been scrapping above theyre weight for many years now. The cc last year was just a fluke to get our hopes high, but alas after this years performances so far, the Lions are dying a slow death.

Lions has an excellent coach in Mitchell, new management. All we need now are some new sponsers willing to fight it out and get some exciting players onboard. So come 2013, rebuild the team and come back in 2014 as title contenders

• 48.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-42:

As much as it’s always “Bulls first” for me, I totally disagree with your approach in this case.

If the Big 5 don’t stay united on this issue, what’s to stop SARU using similar authoritarian methods against the Bulls in future, or the Stormers?

It reminds me of that old story where the guy says when they came to take all the Gypsies away, he said nothing. When they came to take all the Jews away, he said nothing. When they came to take all the intellectuals away, he said nothing.

Then when they came to take him away, there was no one left to say anything.

Point is, once SARU succeed in isolating one of the Big 5, they have won. And will be able to win again in future.

• 49.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-45:

There are more Bulls supporters in PE than Kings supporters.

• 50.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-49:

Unless you include those bused in from the Township with freebie tickets.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.