Belligerent Bulls steal it late
11 May 2012
RYAN VREDE watched the Bulls score in the closing stages to register an impressive and vital 27-24 victory over the Waratahs in Sydney.
Werner Kruger surged over the tryline with four minutes to play and Morne Steyn, flawless with the boot once more, landed the conversion that gave the Bulls the narrow lead and ultimately the victory.
After trailing for the majority of the match the Bulls summoned the composure and resolve that was the hallmark of their championship sides of 2007, 2009 and 2011. Many thought those qualities would disappear after the mass exodus of senior players last year. But this youthful Bulls side continue to defy expectations.
The Tahs will lament their impotency in light of their possession and territorial dominance. They ticked all the main boxes you need to in order to beat the Bulls: physicality and accuracy at the gainline on attack and defence, an excellent kicking game that counters the Bulls’, and a committed chase that exerts pressure on the receiver. They also once again exposed the Bulls’ Achilles heel, discipline at scrum time (they lead the tournament in scrum penalties conceded). Some fundamental handling errors and missed touch kicks further undermined the Bulls’ cause. But the Tahs lacked a killer instinct and paid for that.
The Bulls trailed 13-10 at the break despite being second best for the better part of the first half. It was a good position considering they spent much of the 40 repelling the Tahs in their 22m.
There was an improvement on the poor defence that had marked their last two matches, but a questionable decision to shift inside from midfielder Johann Sadie saw Rob Horne slice through the line to score the game’s first try.
The Tahs lost Dean Mumm to the sin bin in the 22nd minute and Francois Hougaard hauled the Bulls into the contest shortly thereafter, powering through three tackles en route to the tryline. Steyn converted but Berrick Barnes kicked a penalty just before half-time to give his side a three-point lead going down the tunnel.
Barnes banked three more points after the restart but the Bulls refused to relent and going into the final quarter they scored through Akona Ndungane after a quick-tap move. Steyn added the extras, but, as they had done last week against the Rebels, the Bulls conceded almost immediately, wing Atieli Pakalani finishing in the corner.
You sensed then that the Tahs would close the game out but their visitors made a statement with their ability to call on their reserves in striking the late death blow after being pounded for most of the contest.

297 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All
11 May 2012, 13:53 pm
Didn’t expect them to win but they did. Congrats Bulls. Tough part of tour starts now
11 May 2012, 13:55 pm
Bad luck Tahs.
I do wish 40 or 50 Tahs fans would come on here,
and whinge about the Ref.
Whine, whine and whine some more.
Insult & grumble.
But hey ……………………………………….Aussies are not like that.
11 May 2012, 13:57 pm
Well Done Bulls! That was expected. Now the pressure is off and another win will be fantastic for the SA cause.
11 May 2012, 13:57 pm
It is all going to come down to the game at Loftus. Whoever wins there will probably lead the SA conference.
Because I reckon that by the time the Bulls return to SA, they will be trailing the Stormers by about 4 points – assuming we can win 3 out of 4 and the Stormers lose nothing from here on out.
So the game at Loftus will be the decider. The Kings Park game can be ignored, since both the Bulls and Stormers still need to play there, so that should not be a differentiator between the two teams.
11 May 2012, 13:58 pm
Tac just checked himself out of the emergency room.
11 May 2012, 13:59 pm
Now we have a pic of the whole TV cast in front of us.
11 May 2012, 14:00 pm
It’s those damn pink kits
They cant play properly in them
@Dawn(Dawn)-156: its missing AJ though
From the bit of the second half that I managed to see, it seems the Bulls kick offs were poor, and the Tahs got a number of their scoring chances from the Bulls conceding the ball from the kick off.
This can easily be rectified and probably relates to Juandre not being on the field during the time that I managed to watch.
CJ Stander won that game for us when we had a bad ruck about 8 minutes before the end, and actually turned over the ball, only for him to first tackle the guy, and then win the ball back for us singlehandedly, resulting in us being able to go for a try in the last minute.
That guy is a fantastic player. He, Hougie and Arno Botha will form the backbone of our team in a few years time.
Immensely important win, Bulls. But far from putting us in a dominant spot, it merely keeps the presssure on the Stormers. The decider will only take place once we get back from tour.
11 May 2012, 14:01 pm
well done Bulls supporters, good start to the tour
11 May 2012, 14:01 pm
The Bulls need to beat the Chiefs on tour.
Otherwise I reckon the Chiefs will win the competition.
11 May 2012, 14:02 pm
I TOLD YOU THEY WILL WIN.!!! See my comment @106. They are a well coached side. Believe me, when a game gets this close and you lungs are screaming for air and you can’t think anymore, all you can do is fall back to what you have practiced over an over again. Something the Lions can’t do.
11 May 2012, 14:03 pm
@willievz(willievz)-161: not if they have to go to Loftus to play the final. 2010 comes to mind…..
11 May 2012, 14:04 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-163:
If they beat the Bulls they will finish 1st overall.
11 May 2012, 14:04 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-155:
You said it, Dawn.
From the emotional equivalent of the Mariana Trench to the summit of Everest in less than 5 minutes.
That’s why I hate rugby. That’s why I love rugby. Today was love. Next week may be hate.
Or maybe the week after.
Gotta wean myself off this addiction. Like a political career, it can only end in tears. No team wins all the time.
The question is, are the good times good enough to compensate for the bad ones?
I don’t have the answer to that yet.
11 May 2012, 14:05 pm
sjoe..!….
moving on…
11 May 2012, 14:07 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-165:
Rugby is in our blood Tac, its a passion that grips us to the core.
We’ll never stop watching.
11 May 2012, 14:09 pm
congratulations to the bulls and their fans…
didn’t see the game but any win’s a win… and a win in sydney is a great win!!
well done…!!
11 May 2012, 14:10 pm
@willievz(willievz)-167:
I realised last week that I actually enjoyed watching the recorded Rebels game more than I do watching live games where I don’t know if we’re gonna win or not.
That’s why I loved Heyneke’s predictable systematic Bulls game more than the more expansive game we’re employing now. I like being able to predict that with 15 minutes to go we will bring in the Demolition men in the form of Jacques Cronje, Danie Rossouw, Danie Coetzee, Andries Human etc. and that the opposition WILL crumble then. As it dit 9 times out of 10 when Heyneke was at the height of his Bulls dynasty.
I don’t like an emotional rollercoaster. I like savouring a lead as it is systematically and gradually being extended, and the game is controlled by my team with a methodical iron fist.
11 May 2012, 14:10 pm
Waratahs out of the competition!
11 May 2012, 14:11 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-157:
How are Mum and Dad?
11 May 2012, 14:17 pm
@cane(cane)-152: Well done Bulls, we’ll take the win and move on.Hopefully Greyling is back next week because we missed his ball carrying skills. Stander and Hougaard outshined the rest of the Bulls. Steyn was also good,except his line kicks. Very messy game and the Bulls never actually got into 2nd gear. What to do about Kirchner? How any player can go hot and cold by the minute as he does,is a mystery. Bulls will have to sort out the center combinations and work on receiving kick offs as well. And again scrum penalties and free kicks given away to give the Warathas momentum. Jees,there’s a lot of work waiting for us.
11 May 2012, 14:18 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-165:
The Answer is yes Tac.
A big YES.
The more pain you suffer,
the more you enjoy even the smallest of Victories.
11 May 2012, 14:24 pm
@Loftus(Loftus)-172:
You Okes are right in there now.
This years Competition is looming as one of the best ever.
TriNations also looking very interesting, if National Coaches select on form.
11 May 2012, 14:26 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-170: Yep, tickets for them.
11 May 2012, 14:27 pm
I hear Haskell has had his ban extended for a further four weeks because he neglected to tell the citing commission that he’d been in trouble previously…?
Does anyone know about this and how it will affect his inclusion in the SA tour…?
11 May 2012, 14:31 pm
Well played Bulls!
Playing badly and still pipping it at the end shows a class team.
Now I have something to watch tonight.
11 May 2012, 14:35 pm
@ufo(ufo)-176: Haskell is filth.
Has overtaken SBW as my LEAST favourite rugby player.
Let’s not forget his antics in NZ with the hotel staff, and go on youtube and look for an interview where he strips his moer and starts swearing. Classic footage.
11 May 2012, 14:37 pm
Well done Bulls, now hopefully the Stormers can smash the Cheetahs (with a heavy heart)
11 May 2012, 14:37 pm
@willievz(willievz)-178:
yeah bud… he does seem like a class act…. (not…)
will have a look…
so does this write him out of the tour…?
11 May 2012, 14:39 pm
Another win on the road it is a pity we never got the bonus point,still i am happy with the 4 we got.there is a few things to be taken from that game the bulls really missed greyling and kirsten at scrumtime, and JP at No7,it was better for the bulls when arno botha came on at 7 and let stander get back to 6,botha is another terriffic youngster,the bulls are blessed with brilliant youngsters in the loose forwards.I also personally think spies is playing well and i do not care what anybody says about him,i would not swop him for any of the other No8`s playing in sa rugby.Hougaard is getting better at No9 every game he plays and his try was brilliant.I also think at the moment engelbrecht is a better prospect than sadie and olivier is still better than venter at this moment.Our back three ndungane kirschener and basson are are playing consistently well and i have no complaints there,the locks are all playing well flip had a better game today.All in all i think the bulls are doing well to have lost so many experienced boks and they are in a good position for the play-offsTo all the anti bulls fans out there who thought the bulls would collapse after losing their boks all i can say is hahahahahahahahahahaha.GO BULLS.
11 May 2012, 14:41 pm
@ufo(ufo)-180: Not sure at all.
If England lose him they’ll have a slight crisis in the backrow.
11 May 2012, 14:47 pm
@willievz(willievz)-178:
had a look… classic wind up… very funny…
he really is a prat…
liked the interviewer… don’t know who the heck he is… but makes a refreshing change to the usual tame crowd who interview players…
11 May 2012, 14:47 pm
The Bulls will be amazing when they wipe the errors out….unfortunately a few unsportsman like acts in the game….Go Bulls!!!!
11 May 2012, 14:48 pm
@willievz(willievz)-182:
will have to wait and see what the english management say about this…
11 May 2012, 14:48 pm
The poor Lions , they don’t seem to wanna play.
Bulls played badly , and won thats good. Front row without Kirsten and Dean. Potgieter Dewald will bring lot of energy. Now its up to youngsters
Maybe Cheetsters can pull of something
11 May 2012, 14:49 pm
I am having a ice cold Black label draught at Blue Peter.Nice view and some very nice houses here I have to admitt.Stil could not live here
11 May 2012, 14:53 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-187:
Thank goodness not everyone wants to live on the beach, someone has to hold the fort inland.
11 May 2012, 14:53 pm
Rayno Gerber back in the mix and did well at tight head.
11 May 2012, 14:54 pm
@blueboy(blueboy)-181: Sadie has really taken a knock on his confidence – looks almost out of his depth
11 May 2012, 14:56 pm
#184 Ossewa i agree 100% with you the commentators mentioned the bulls were the second worse team in the log for giviing penalties away 11 per game,so it is a worrying part of there game.
11 May 2012, 14:57 pm
@Bismarck Burger(Bismarck Burger)-190:
Once could say the Bulls have done to Sadie what the Stormers did to Habana when he moved to Cape Town.
11 May 2012, 14:59 pm
@Stawm(Stawm)-192: ONE could say…..
11 May 2012, 15:04 pm
This Vrede is such a kak journalist,the Bulls squeaked a win here,lets face it they were bloody lucky.
”Impressive and vital victory”my arse.
”This youthful Bulls side continued to defy expectations,”
wasn’t this up until today the only side beaten by the Blues and at home to.
Bulls were mediocre and in my opinion lucky to win.
Apart from one great beating of a really bad Reds team,the Bulls have looked anything but impressive the who;e year.
aThey have benefitted from a very favourable draw and some really shocking home town refreeing and are really very ordinary this year.
11 May 2012, 15:05 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-187:
I doubt they would tolerate a knunt like you anyway.
11 May 2012, 15:06 pm
@cane(cane)-152:
but you lot hold the record for ref whinging.
from about 1976 if i recall…..
only to be redoubled in 2007?
11 May 2012, 15:07 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-187: skop is on his way there as i type, enjoy the brewskies!
11 May 2012, 15:08 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-187: Those tacky Blouberg/Big Bay mansions are perfect examples of why people with lots of money should be banned from having a hand in their own house design.
11 May 2012, 15:10 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-198:
Been at that Blue Peter place.
Personally don’t get the attraction of lazing around on that lawn there as if it’s some major achievement.
What’s up with that?
11 May 2012, 15:14 pm
@mad eye(mad eye)-194: We are all so sorry that the Bulls spoiled your day again by winning a rugby match. But surely you must be used to it by now? Cheer up, or did you put your salary on a Bulls loss?
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All