Ruthless Sharks flay Force

RYAN VREDE watched the Sharks reignite their play-off challenge with a 53-11 bonus-point victory over the Force.

Despite the emphatic scoreline, the slick performance the Sharks have been in search of continues to elude them, but in the context of their play-off charge they did what was required.

While they bagged the all-important four-try bonus point, their attacking play generally lacked variety, innovation and precision. Instead they relied too heavily on individuals to inspire or fed off the Force’s numerous mistakes. A better team would not have been as defensively generous as the Force were this evening and the Sharks will know they have work to do in this facet of play in the coming weeks.

However, there was certainly plenty for them to be pleased about. Defensively they were outstanding, exhibiting good structure and bossing the gainline through brutal hits that never allowed the Force the opportunity to build attacking momentum. There are attacking concerns from structured play, but they remain a side capable of crossing the whitewash and if they can marry that with a high defensive standard they will advance their play-off cause and be very difficult to beat.

Then there were the individual contributions from key players. Beast Mtawarira was industrious in attack and defence, Bismarck du Plessis carried powerfully and was a force on defence, Paul Jordaan looks a good fit in the Sharks’ problem position of outside centre and there was a strong showing from lock Anton Bresler.

But the most lavish praise must be reserved for the brilliant young Marcell Coetzee. Coetzee, who turned 21 this week, is a Springbok in the making and is likely to be one within the year. His attacking work-rate is phenomenal and he rarely doesn’t make yards at the gainline. His tackle fight is equally efficient and he appears to possess a degree of mongrel that you can’t coach. The South African loose forward factory regularly churns out gems, but he was made in the luxury division and boasts performance specs well beyond the ordinary.

The Sharks effectively sealed the result five minutes after half time, Louis Ludik crossing on 41 minutes and Lwazi Mvovo intercepting twice to score and add to Steven Sykes and Jordaan’s first half scores, the latter crafted by a sublime Pat Lambie break. The Force’s resistance crumbled thereafter and they became a soft target for the Sharks, who added to their try tally through Craig Burden and Jacques Botes.

The conference title is probably beyond them, but with two matches against the Cheetahs and one against the Lions remaining you have to fancy the Sharks’ chances of making the play-offs. Consistency has eluded them and that needs to change. This performance was flawed but can certainly be the catalyst for their final surge in the league phase.

168 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

• 51.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Force by 15

• 52.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ai gerber.

• 53.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

Come on Force.

• 54.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

a guy whose first name is Phoenix ???

• 55.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-52:

I must think of the best result for my team – this determine my support

• 56.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Salesi Manu

biggest gut in Super rugby

• 57.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Watsup guns.

Better now?

• 58.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Force is strong…come on!

• 59.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

17-6 to the gold fish

• 60.Dwarslat: Reply to this comment

Dames en here – kan ek julle voorstel aan die nuwe Springbok losskakel: Patrick Lambie.

• 61.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Dwarslat(Dwarslat)-60: Is jy seker?

• 62.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Patrick Lambie – closest thing we have to Dan Carter

• 63.David: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-62:
    Why, is he also a Hobbit? :lol:

• 64.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

62 @ greatest13gerber

Imagine a team made up of Bulls and Sharks. Sure to give you wet dreams ne

• 65.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Joel Stransky thinks that he is endearing himself to foreign viewers by always backing the opposing side, but he is really just being a chop.

• 66.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-64: Lucky that will never happen

Sharks have Jannie, Bissy, JP and Lambie that will be in a Bok squad and maybe Alberts if he gets his form back

I am very glad the Kanko debate has subsided, even Plum knows that Kanko is average

• 67.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-63:

lol..total disgrace to professional athletes everywhere.

@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-64:

I would renouce my SA citizenship if that ever happen

• 68.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-66:

Kanko should have being a centre

Spies should have stay on wing or gone to centre

• 69.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

time watch game

come on Force! many no names but backing them to continue weekend of upsets

• 70.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

get the bonus points sharks!
    just made the fire,after the game the steak,boerewors and toasted cheese,tomato and onion with biltong added hits the braai.

• 71.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-31:

7 July.

• 72.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

oh feck,lambie off maybe concussed.freddie on.nice try!

• 73.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Ja. We all know the Sharks need the bonus.

So why the fark did Owen Nkumane ask Plumtree if the Sharks are going to kick more in the second half?

Jeez, Plumtree was a bit stumped.

Owen wants to see more kicking every game…. :roll:

• 74.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

bonus point try!

• 75.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Bonus point Sharks!

• 76.Guns: Reply to this comment

Yebo!! Bonus!! Point!!

• 77.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Joel making apologies for Force like a doos …

• 78.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Tryfest gerber!

• 79.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

the beast is laying down the hurtin tacklesbig time.

• 80.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-77:

That”s his normal style. Always commentating with the overseas audience in mind.

Newslflash: You’re not supposed to be a neutral commentator. You don’t see Phil Kearns or Grant Nisbett making apologies for the Bulls or Sharks when we’re playing there.

Idiot.

• 81.Nils: Reply to this comment

Now that’s a race for 2 tickets! Saders 37, Sharks 36, Landers 35, Canes 34 all with even number of games to play. Interesting times ahead.

• 82.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

It’s raining tries!

• 83.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

mvovo magic !

• 84.Guns: Reply to this comment

Dear Dawn,

30+ minimum acquired!

• 85.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Joel thinks even the locals admire his neutrality. He’s wrong. There’s a difference between being neutral and questioning any decision that goes against the visiting team. He’s trying too hard.

• 86.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-85:

He’s a plonker.

• 87.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

Come on the Force.

• 88.Nils: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-85: No, even non-locals don’t. Give me reasonably biased homie commentator any day.

• 89.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-86: Glad I’m not the only one thinking it. We need some decent commentators.

• 90.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Toldja Guns

• 91.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-86:

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-89:

Did you guys also call him an “idiot” or “plonker” when he won us the world cup as player.

• 92.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-91: Funnily enough, no, I didn’t. But I’ll happily call you one. Being able to score three points doesn’t make you a good commentator.

• 93.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-91:

No.

What’s your point?

• 94.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

tac is a bulls stroker ignore him
    joel started off at ntvl…

• 95.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-92:

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-93:

My point is give him some respect. A commentator does not have to be a cheerleader.

• 96.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-95: Jammer, oom, I didn’t realize how much Joel means to you :roll:

• 97.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-91: Some of those guys overstay their welcome. I like Joel and think he’s a good commentator, but don’t really enjoy the likes of Monty and Matfield hanging around trying to impose themselves on us as pundits.

• 98.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

That could be a penalty try, really.

• 99.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

try time!

• 100.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Oh Joel, you’re so neutral. In a cool, edgy way.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.