Sloppy Stormers deny Cheetahs
12 May 2012
JON CARDINELLI watched the Stormers win 16-14 at Newlands by virtue of a commanding first-half performance.
The Stormers second-half effort was nothing short of shambolic. After leading 16-0 after 40 minutes, after physically dominating the Cheetahs to an overwhelming degree, they conspired to concede the advantage and very nearly the result.
The platform was there for the four-try bonus point they had been searching for all season. Their lineout was functioning beautifully, as was their rolling maul.
Their physicality at the collisions and scrums was putting the Cheetahs on the back foot, and flyhalf Peter Grant was knocking penalties over from all angles.
The confidence with ball-in-hand was apparent, as Jean de Villiers turned down a kickable penalty in the 23rd minute and instructed Joe Pietersen to boot the ball to touch. The Stormers then powered though the phases with Eben Etzebeth bursting through from close range for the game’s first try.
But instead of capitalising on a commanding lead, the Stormers allowed the Cheetahs to fight their way back. Literally.
The visitors produced a more physical effort in the second stanza, and managed to niggle and unsettle the Stormers forwards. While it was the Cheetahs who were guilty of poor discipline in the first 40, the Stormers were the sloppier of the two teams in the second.
Hennie Daniller crashed over in the left-hand corner after 48 minutes, and a difficult conversion by reserve flyhalf Riaan Smit brought the score to 16-7.
Starting No 10 Sias Ebersohn had struggled in the first half, and Smit seemed to play with more confidence and lend the visitors more direction in the later stages of the game.
The game was stopped in the 54th minute when both teams were involved in a full-scale brawl. Referee Steve Walsh put the entire incident on a white card, and also sent Stormers flank Rynhardt Elstadt to the bin for his role in the scuffle.
But now it was the Cheetahs’ turn to waste a great opportunity. They turned down a shot at goal, and then conceded possession several phases later. It was here that the Stormers’ characteristic defence came into play and denied the Cheetahs what could have been a game-changing score.
Willie le Roux snatched an intercept try in the 67th minute, and another fantastic conversion by Smit reduced the deficit to two points. It set up a dramatic final 13 minutes, and it was here that the Stormers struggled to escape from their own half, a range of poor tactical kicks allowing the Cheetahs to send wave after wave after attack into Stormers territory.
Fortunately for the hosts, the Cheetahs panicked with ball in hand, forcing the pass or taking the wrong option and eventually conceding possession.
The Stormers finally managed to get some territory, and while they battled to control the ball, they remained in the opposition half for the last five minutes of the game.
It will go down as another win for the Stormers, but they will know that they blew a golden opportunity to bank the four-try bonus.
The manner in which they smashed the Cheetahs up front in the first half and bossed territory and possession was encouraging. If they had maintained their concentration for the entire second stanza, they would have racked up four tries quite comfortably.
Because of their inconsistency, they will remain in second place in the South African conference and fourth on the overall log for another week yet.

255 Comments
12 May 2012, 18:31 pm
Stormin’ Dragons…
Not a chance the Cats can win this!
12 May 2012, 18:32 pm
Imagine being in the Cheetahs dressing room before a game like this!
12 May 2012, 18:40 pm
Now for the main show
12 May 2012, 18:49 pm
the cape canadian will be ontrial
so much for stormer depth…
12 May 2012, 18:53 pm
Beast is the TimTebow of rugby.
12 May 2012, 18:58 pm
After the Rebels’ earlier heroics wouldn’t it be a great result for the competition to see the little boys win again?
Go Cheetahs! C’mon the underdog!
S15 is too predictable at the best of times. Let’s see an upset!
12 May 2012, 19:00 pm
go the cheetahs
12 May 2012, 19:09 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-4:
Yeah, like the French 9, 10 as Sharks depth.
12 May 2012, 19:09 pm
Jeez the Stormers are a team full of mercenaries, huh? [where's skopshyte?]
12 May 2012, 19:10 pm
Sounds like Matfield has been drinking.
12 May 2012, 19:11 pm
More crowd than Mr Price Kings Prk
12 May 2012, 19:12 pm
david lets see how the canadian goes
was not signed for a season
bananas anyone?
12 May 2012, 19:12 pm
How many of the locals will be booing the home team?
12 May 2012, 19:16 pm
spooner i saw so many cape crusaders in the last 9 days
sick i tell you.
12 May 2012, 19:18 pm
Ja I wonder if there are any Cape Cheaters today?…..
12 May 2012, 19:19 pm
there are spooner
calling us puth because the front 4 teeth are missing.
12 May 2012, 19:20 pm
Coenie oosthuizen looks a bit pissed tonight.
12 May 2012, 19:21 pm
Go Stormers.!no shark pretensions,bull resurganse,lions bollocks.this is how you play rugga.’daars net een stad,dit is Skinstad.
12 May 2012, 19:24 pm
Pretty damn ordinary match so far. Waste of 15 minutes.
12 May 2012, 19:24 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-15: @Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-16:
Shouldn’t you guys have been at Kings Park to support your team?
12 May 2012, 19:25 pm
sias having a mare so far.
12 May 2012, 19:28 pm
Yellow card coming.
@Robzim(Robzim)-21: Ja, but did you say that when he wrote a lekker English essay in standard eight?
david i am in pta right now
supported the banana boys when they werein the b div and played eric herbert’s “purple people eaters”
ask spooner about the kief vetkoek spot back then
as you were
12 May 2012, 19:34 pm
Looks like we’re going to see the Canadian on the field.
12 May 2012, 19:34 pm
oh fark, there goes another one.
12 May 2012, 19:35 pm
@David(David)-20: pretty far to travel Dave….
12 May 2012, 19:36 pm
Try!my boy!
12 May 2012, 19:37 pm
First one to Mr Biceps
spooner are you gonna hand david the. banana or should i doit?
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-27:
Where are you?
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-24:
He was a damn metronome of a kicker.
12 May 2012, 19:38 pm
Steyn? Bash for Bok!
12 May 2012, 19:39 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-30:
Don’t bother, your girlfriends can probably put it to better use.
12 May 2012, 19:41 pm
@David(David)-31: with Wally.
12 May 2012, 19:42 pm
spooner next he is gonna ask ifwe ever watched the toyota club champs…
or north vs south
12 May 2012, 19:44 pm
I remember watching Natal with my old man in the 80s when Kings Park had hard concrete stands.
Coenie is very confused at this stage.
or natal vs the usa back in the day
know who chris buthcer,shaun gage,mort,hefer,and hankinson is to name a few.
12 May 2012, 19:45 pm
myself aswell spooner
12 May 2012, 19:46 pm
sias & coenie doing well for the stormers…
Check after half time the stormers will sit back & defend
12 May 2012, 19:47 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-37:
Now I want to watch this game, wonder if anyone has a live feed!
12 May 2012, 19:47 pm
Coenie is kak
12 May 2012, 19:49 pm
Transformation.dont reckon.we need three more tries.they are coming.
12 May 2012, 19:49 pm
Brussouw adds no value
12 May 2012, 19:50 pm
When are our props going to learn to protect the ball going into the tackle? It’s a problem all SA props seem to have.
12 May 2012, 19:50 pm
@carol(carol)-41: http://www.vipbox.tv/ usuallu has it
12 May 2012, 19:51 pm
spooner ask puma about those names,he will collab.
paul challenor
neil penrose
christie noble
jeremy thompson
shaun payne
tony watson
12 May 2012, 19:52 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-46:
You are a star, thank you
12 May 2012, 19:52 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-47: the only ones I can herken on that list are the last 4.
12 May 2012, 19:53 pm
the Cheetahs are pretty rubbish hey.
12 May 2012, 19:55 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-38: hey Fern I actually played rugby with Mort (Adam) Mortassagne. He was known as the mole for his ability to pilfer the ball on the ground.
12 May 2012, 19:56 pm
Kolisi is stronger than Coenie
12 May 2012, 19:57 pm
spooner it was easy to spot vleis visagie’s house on the blufff.his braai was extra high
we also had
cabous
jouba
lem
wahl
etc
i grew up on kings park my man,still remember the concrete stands
myself and the ballie alwaysparkedbehind the poles.
those vetkoeke were a winner though!
12 May 2012, 19:59 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-51: in fact I go back to the days of Pierre de Lange at centre, Ronnie Kuhn at wing playing against the NZ Cavaliers, Cliffie Brown. Remember watcing Tommy Bedford and the boys at Woodburn.
at 51
mort was and is a legend
i grew upwatching him
send him my respect and gratitude.
AaAaaw the good ol’ days.
12 May 2012, 20:01 pm
banana
woodburn is the hardest field i have played on
12 May 2012, 20:02 pm
Ah good ol’ Woodburn in PMB…..
12 May 2012, 20:03 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-57: Yeah it was a concrete pitch, the roasties were mean afterwards
12 May 2012, 20:04 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-58: Used to give you shin splints running on that ground.
12 May 2012, 20:05 pm
sleepy hollow
do not forget the blakeway brothers
saders third side was loaded
closed side and all the old natal players jol there
b astards
12 May 2012, 20:08 pm
Can’t understand these commentators talking about Coenie’s bind but no mention of the downwards hit by Brock and him going down onto 1 knee regularly before the scrum collapses. Going onto 1 knee gives you an opportunity to reposition yourself for the shove. Also thats why Coenies goes inwards in an effort to try and negate and stay on his feet.
12 May 2012, 20:09 pm
sa egoes for collegians
12 May 2012, 20:10 pm
same goes for collegians
12 May 2012, 20:11 pm
Braai and Bake pies very close to Woodburn…
12 May 2012, 20:12 pm
He just pinged brock man.
Relax
12 May 2012, 20:13 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-65: legendary pies.
12 May 2012, 20:14 pm
spooner we just went to woodburn,got the roasties and went back to the buff asap
12 May 2012, 20:17 pm
There are 3 eating institutions in PMB:
1. Braai and Bake pies
2. Triple chip and cheese roti with salad and mutton curry gray from the Curry Pot at Hayfields Mall
3. Kwagga burger from the Kwikspar at the petrol station just off the highway.
12 May 2012, 20:19 pm
now watch the cheetas claw back
12 May 2012, 20:22 pm
Ashley johnson is so much better than Pierre it’s not even funny. He’s flat out way better across the board except jumping in the lineout.
12 May 2012, 20:23 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-69: Yeah not to mention the milkshakes at the roadhouse on the Durban road on the way out of PMB. There was also the “pie cart” in the centre of PMB near the old bus station with the legendary pie and curried beans called a “cowboy”
12 May 2012, 20:24 pm
Cheetahs playing Ep rugby.cant win.fight..
12 May 2012, 20:26 pm
@Dummy Runner(Dummy Runner)-73: knee in the bcak by Elstadt started it all.
12 May 2012, 20:41 pm
bananaboy those burgers outside the la hotel was good aswell
will never forget the fishbowl of cherry tobacco inside sportsmans and buying quarts there.
slippers boogie palace
12 May 2012, 20:42 pm
What an out of it game..Go hard Cheetahs
12 May 2012, 20:43 pm
bananaboy
nothing beats a cheese a bean roti with triple cheese and mutton curry gravy from johhny’s
I think Sias better get used to sitting on the bench again.
Huh, Rebels – Part 2 looming? Go Cheetahs!
In any case no 5 pointer for Stormers again.
12 May 2012, 20:44 pm
quarter sugar beans bunny for r2,50
saw span of street kids buying it
sonice that they are catered for.
12 May 2012, 20:46 pm
stormers are a first half team, the always allow their opposition to come back, tonight they might not squeek through!
12 May 2012, 20:47 pm
Upset on the cards… Me thinks if Goosen not injured and was on it may have already happened
if but if but only if.. Ahhh..
What’s happening with Juan Smit ankle still not right?
12 May 2012, 20:49 pm
Stormers missing the Grunt & fitness of Vermulin, Burger, Flow etc in this last 20…
12 May 2012, 20:54 pm
no composure really, just hacking it away
12 May 2012, 20:57 pm
Win is a win for Stormers, job done. Shame hooter did not sound a second later.
12 May 2012, 20:58 pm
jebb sinclair will go back to canada & say ‘you okes know nothing about rugby those south africans are crazy!!!’
12 May 2012, 20:58 pm
congrats Stormers, good result in the end… hoping for 3 SA teams in the next round
12 May 2012, 20:59 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-86: despite what everyone was saying pre-match i thought he did alright today
12 May 2012, 21:00 pm
Tough luck Cheetahs.
No bonus point for the Stormers……
12 May 2012, 21:00 pm
Phew! My heart! Well done chaps and well done Cheetahs. You guys were all over us second half. You are going to be tough to beat in Bloem for sure. I don’t look forward to the return…
I knew this was going to be the big one and sure it was. Was very nervous. This team plays with heart and deserves a few wins. Well I will be supporting you next week for sure…
12 May 2012, 21:01 pm
Going to be a humdinger in Bloem next week for sure…
12 May 2012, 21:03 pm
jebb meet rugby
rugby meet jebb
nuff said
12 May 2012, 21:05 pm
@Rugbystudent: Coenie is kak ne? You idiot. Never heard of the concept in rugby of first soften your opponent and then strike. Coenie the maestro.
12 May 2012, 21:06 pm
@Guns(Guns)-83:
Yeah missed them badly…especially Vermeulen. He makes a HUGE difference.
12 May 2012, 21:06 pm
Jean de Villiers a true gentleman
12 May 2012, 21:07 pm
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-95:
Yeah he has to be Bok captain! He is so respected by the players but for a few plonkers on this site.
12 May 2012, 21:07 pm
Game is reminiscent of the Bulls game – totally dominated the first half – then fell off badly in the second. Poor game Stormers. Thank God they bagged four points.
12 May 2012, 21:09 pm
te ranged
do you guys get ****** gland sauce?
if not do you know the origins?
12 May 2012, 21:10 pm
m onkey gland sauce
This is worrying though Pee Wee. We are making a habit of going to sleep in the second half. Harsh words and hard work lies ahead. Peaking at the right time is important. We will need to take one game at a time. You right we didn’t play well and got out of jail in this game. Wake up call for sure…
Lucky Stormers, but we’ll take the 4. These vuilgat cheetahs are gonna stun other teams, who do they play next?
12 May 2012, 21:11 pm
hey wow hey
skweeky burm time
as they say in caype town
12 May 2012, 21:11 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-101:
Sharks in Bloem on Saturday
12 May 2012, 21:12 pm
Well I will take the win but not a great performance.
Need to score more tries at home but credit to Cheetahs
12 May 2012, 21:13 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-104:
Howzit Coach. Yeah as long as we keep on winning…the bonus points may just be important as the competition goes on.
12 May 2012, 21:13 pm
Kuk game
12 May 2012, 21:15 pm
Well it will be interesting which Stormers backrow will be picked againt the Sharks ( I will pick Alberts, Deysel and Coetzee) with Kolisi and some no names playing. After that train smash they will be heading to Loftus where the Bulls may be without some of their loose forwards.
12 May 2012, 21:15 pm
Jebb Sinclair way off the pace. Shows the gulf between the north and the south.
12 May 2012, 21:16 pm
@Horings(Horings)-107:
Yeah injuries taking its toll for all teams now… Sharks are not out of it.
12 May 2012, 21:16 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-105:
Howzit Bill
Yeah it could mean the difference where we play in the playoff rounds
12 May 2012, 21:17 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-106: Never its the stormers never a kuk game
12 May 2012, 21:17 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-110:
This was the one game I was very worried about. The Sharks in Durbs is the next one that is going to be really hard… Can’t slip up against the Tahs next week either…
12 May 2012, 21:18 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-101: Vuilgat Cheetahs? Elstadt, Etzebeth and Liebenberg is die vuilgatte! Elstadt having
Andries Strauss in a head lock in the first half and then doing a neck break manouvre, then he got a knee in the back of Jacobs and he was definitely not innocent in the fight.
12 May 2012, 21:19 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-112:
No but i think Tahs are cooked and done long travel should be a easy Stormer win
12 May 2012, 21:20 pm
Coach someone should tell them to play for 80 mins not 20.
12 May 2012, 21:21 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-114:
Sjoe I hope you are right. Our boys should really be feeling the pains this week, escpecially having to play with 14 men and defend the way they did.
12 May 2012, 21:22 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-115:
For sure Dawn. It is becoming a habit.
Well to be honest those Cheetahs really surprised me here!!
What fired them up?
@Dawn(Dawn)-115:
You know its a long season and sometimes the intensity drops, they have had a lot of injuries and changes in pack and its eventually effects a team
i am proud that they still defended well against a very determined Cheetahs
12 May 2012, 21:23 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-114:
Hiya Coach, has spring sprung with you yet?
Your Stormers have a win though….!
12 May 2012, 21:23 pm
There is no easy win for stormers. They look like it’s such an effort
12 May 2012, 21:24 pm
@carol(carol)-120:
hello beautiful
Yes its sprung long time ago getting warm here Nice day to day
Yes a lucky win but a win
12 May 2012, 21:26 pm
Stupid bloody stormers
12 May 2012, 21:27 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-121:
Team dynamics are interesting at this point in the season, do the boys hit the town and have a beer together, a bit of back slapping and a bit of a laugh or do they all just pack their kit bags and slink off home?
12 May 2012, 21:27 pm
The Cheetahs really gave the Stormers a work out tonight, sorry Cheetahs would loved to see you win this one, just keep Ebersohn away from the no.10 yersey
12 May 2012, 21:28 pm
I’ll take the 4 points.
Really hope that Nizaam’s injury isn’t too bad.
4 years ago we would have tanked that game.
That’s really all I have to say about it.
12 May 2012, 21:29 pm
Sias Ebersohn should be permanently benched…
12 May 2012, 21:29 pm
I still maintain that AC is a k@k coach. Nienaber the real hero. AC has always been k@k. Quota of note.
12 May 2012, 21:30 pm
Good wake-up call for the Stormers coming off a bye
Next week will be better
12 May 2012, 21:30 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-122:
I am flipping astonished at the 2 point margin. Pathetic really….were they sitting on their arses a bit? I mean, 2 point win playing at home in Newland versus the Cheetahs!
Spring in the air again here today……In Britain hottest March on record followed by the coldest wettest April….. Holding thumbs as you lot say for May!!
12 May 2012, 21:31 pm
@daydreamer(daydreamer)-127:
His confidence was down from the word go. That one kick that he missed in front of the poles has played with his confidence…
12 May 2012, 21:31 pm
@daydreamer(daydreamer)-127:
Nah, he is still a good player needs to get his confidence back
I hope he does soon
12 May 2012, 21:32 pm
soon as Cheetahs took off their liability Sias Ebersohn they immediately looked dangerous. They should ditch Sias as a lost cause with Smit and Le Roux alternating between wing and fly half they got one hell of a lot more momentum going. Ebersohn’s confidence is shot to ribbons I doubt he ever becomes a force at this level again.
The Le Roux intercept try was a 14 point swing around, if the Duvenhage pass had found Aplon was likely a try at other end, but second half belonged to Cheetahs, Smit and Le Roux both showing class at pivot beyond their experience.
@Robzim(Robzim)-129:
Hey Robster! Yeah it was for sure. That final whistle couldn’t sound fast enough. It showed ten seconds left on the clock and then the kick out to touch. I though oh no a lineout and a possible penalty… Far too close for comfort.
@carol(carol)-130: I thought you were a Bulls meisie? Why so bothered by the Stormers winning margin???
12 May 2012, 21:33 pm
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-128:
His team lost only one match this year.
Please explain why do you say he is so kak?
12 May 2012, 21:33 pm
@carol(carol)-130:
I just think Cheetahs came to play in 2nd half and credit to them
Stormers defended well just one of those games with the momentum change.
12 May 2012, 21:34 pm
The mercenaries came close to losing to the Cheetahs today, very close.
12 May 2012, 21:35 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-138:
Your team is going to need all the luck next week mate. It is going to be tough in Bloem…
12 May 2012, 21:35 pm
Ol Brok spent half the game on one knee.
Not sure if he was praying or waiting to be knighted like McCheat.
Well done brokebacks.
Full value for second spot on the log.
12 May 2012, 21:36 pm
129 @ Robzim
We’ll put it down to the bye they had lol
If they do it next week there’s no excuses
12 May 2012, 21:37 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-134:
It was by the skin of their teeth, fark, my nerves are shot.
Not many loose forwards left, the Canadian was a bit off pace but taking into consideration he came here from Canada via England during the week it was perhaps to be expected.
We should beat the Tahs next week though, and then the 2 away games against the Sharks and Bulls will probably define our season.
12 May 2012, 21:39 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-142:
Two huge games mate! Yes the two games that will determine where we end on the log… Nerves were finished mate.
@Robzim(Robzim)-142:
yeah he played ok considering
He made his tackles and carried the ball well protected it and was ok at 8 which is not his position
Elstadt probably get a citation then we fckd if he gets a suspension all our loosies are klaar, Kolisi is last man standing, then it Kolisi battling it out solo, probably have to play Fourie at open side and Kolisi at 8 unless Elstadt is suspended then we got a big problem coming up.
12 May 2012, 21:42 pm
@skopskiet(skopskiet)-145:
That tackle was not necessary…
12 May 2012, 21:42 pm
@skopskiet(skopskiet)-145:
Fenton-Wells???
12 May 2012, 21:44 pm
Carol they should slink off with their tails between their legs.
12 May 2012, 21:44 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-144:
He will probably have to start at no 8 next week.
The next in line 8 is Fenton Jones of the Vodacom side who is actually a short arsed fetcher in the Brussow mould.
If Elstadt ios to be suspended we are in real trouble.
Dont be surprised if you receive a call from Alister early next week.
12 May 2012, 21:46 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-146: to me it did not look as bad as Kaplan made it out to be I think yellow was enough
But not a smart thing to do
12 May 2012, 21:47 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-140:
Expect no marching in Pretoria next week and the week thereafter.
Landers and Chiefs will make sure of that
12 May 2012, 21:47 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-150:
Not talking the knee incident mate…that was yellow so he was punished already. The neck tackle earlier is what I am referring to!
12 May 2012, 21:48 pm
The Stormers won! That’s all that matters. Being an Aussie now living in All Black country I cant wait to see Stormers carry off that Super trophy. That will shut up a few Kiwis here.
12 May 2012, 21:49 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-152:
Ok yes i forgot that that was worse i agree But there was no white card ?
How good were the Rebels???
Man they made my day.
@Robzim(Robzim)-151:
The Bulls are also winning games they could be losing – pretty much the same as tonight.
klomp vuilgatte ,but we will take the four points.next week we will top the log again.
12 May 2012, 21:50 pm
@Napier(Napier)-153:
An Aussie living in Kiwi country?
Is that not a downgrade?
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-154:
Yeah but he could still be cited… I think…
@Napier(Napier)-153:
Nor can we believe you me…
@Napier(Napier)-153:
Welcome, always nice to have an Aussie Stormer supporter living in Kiwi land
12 May 2012, 21:52 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-158:
I am not sure I thought that was the reason for the white card
12 May 2012, 21:52 pm
@Napier(Napier)-153: Not on tonight’s performance mate.I would not mind if those self-same Kiwis start doing a hatched job on the Bulls from next week.
12 May 2012, 21:53 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-160:
Not sure either…
12 May 2012, 21:54 pm
Skoppie Maybe Etzebeth at 8? Anyone agree ?
12 May 2012, 21:56 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-163:
It could be an option.
12 May 2012, 21:57 pm
@robzim….had to lift the IQ in NZ! I retired here as snik…snik…snik..I married a Kiwi! Maar ek het 25 jaar in Kaapstad gewoon.M y hart is nog daar en my bloed pomp groen and goud.
12 May 2012, 21:57 pm
@Horing – Johnson,Strauss and Earle are not angels, they’re cheetah vuilgatte and should be banned for the brawl that they started.
12 May 2012, 22:01 pm
Etsebeth looked like he needed more game time. Was a bit quiet tonight. Let’s hope they rectify it next week.
12 May 2012, 22:01 pm
Cheers guys…
12 May 2012, 22:02 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-168:
Cheers Bill
12 May 2012, 22:05 pm
@coachpete. thanks for the welcome. nice to be on here. Love the comments and wisecracks. Going back to bed.Upsince 3am watching rugby. hey! What about the Rebels ! Talk back radio will go into meltdown today., Saders with Carter ande cheat McCaw back getting slammed by the Aussies. Wow! That wont go down well here. Lekker slaap mense. Go WEEEE PEEEE
12 May 2012, 22:10 pm
Etsebeth at 8 could be a very good option under circumstances start Bekker and Steenkamp at second row, play Rohan Kitchoff open side, Kolisi blind side, Etsebeth at 8 if Elstadt is suspended, play Fenton Wells or Sinclair or Armand off bench.
I would still start Fourie at 2 and perhaps switch him to loosie 2nd half with Liebenberg off bench, and then perhaps switch Etsebeth back to 2nd row second half if Bekker or Steenkamp need to come off.
12 May 2012, 22:16 pm
Well done Stormers, even though you had a few calls that went your way that were iffish?? a win stays a win,
Cheetahs shpwed heart tp come back as they did
Sias?? eish this oke is bleeding bad and his confidence is down the tubes
12 May 2012, 22:18 pm
@Napier(Napier)-165:
Where do you live in NZ?
12 May 2012, 22:20 pm
i cant believe some in hewre just called the cheeytahs the vuilgatte???
Hell the boxing match was started by Deon Fourie, now he is a vuilgat, as for Elstadt??? seriously a yellow? was an iffish penalty at worst
12 May 2012, 22:20 pm
@skopskiet(skopskiet)-171:
maybe utilize both Fourie and Liebenberg Fourie at open side Kolisi at blind side
Etsebeth at 8 Steenkamp and Bekker locks
and the other two on bench since Sinclair is a lock too
12 May 2012, 22:27 pm
JC. Where the Stormers ever going to score 4 tries.????We were not watching the same game. Maybe you wrote the script before the match. Had Steve Walsh not got it wrong in the first halve where Coenie was all over Brok, the Cheetahs would have been the team with four tries.The Stormers forwards fantastic in the first halve though. Etsebeth and Kolisi standing out IMO.
12 May 2012, 22:29 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-62: Steve Walsh got it right in the second half .Coenie all over Brok.
12 May 2012, 22:33 pm
@Dummy Runner(Dummy Runner)-73: Dummer Runner .For real?The Stormers were the fighters in this game. Elstadt (as much as I like him) should be cited for his neck grab on Andries Strauss.
12 May 2012, 22:35 pm
@Guns(Guns)-83: No 9 is their problem.He is a 10,not a 9.
12 May 2012, 22:38 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-94: @Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-96: @Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-96: I agree with you on both posts.Shocking second half for the Stormers but they still won. Good leadership.
12 May 2012, 22:40 pm
@Horings(Horings)-113: Agree
12 May 2012, 22:41 pm
@optiplay(optiplay)-178: very true
12 May 2012, 22:41 pm
As much as it is nice to see the Stormers defend so well, it is sad to see the flair in their approach having gone awol. Low risk appraoch of coach Allister…..
12 May 2012, 22:43 pm
@carol(carol)-130: How is it that you think the Cheetahs are pushovers?With better locks they would beat most teams ,if not all.
12 May 2012, 22:46 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-156: WHY??
12 May 2012, 22:46 pm
Optiplay if you don’t bind properly and “collapse” first as Coenie did then how can the calls be wrong. Coenie came back strongly in the second half though.
12 May 2012, 22:50 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-150:
“to me it did not look as bad as Kaplan made it out to be” ?
Kaplan????
12 May 2012, 22:52 pm
@Pietie(Pietie)-183: Good question,. Where is the old WP flair? I somehow think there defensive pattern in someway has an influence on their attacking play. Their no 9 is a big problem. Asking no questions from defence.I would love to see their wings in action. Aplon is a great player.
12 May 2012, 22:54 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-187:
yeah the knee in the back . Walsh wanted red
His neck grab on Strauss may be the issue but maybe not if no white card
12 May 2012, 22:56 pm
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-186: Somehow they will have to change the laws. Loosehead at a great disadvantage at the moment.Get something on the tightheads yersey to hold on may be the answer.To many penalties to both sides.
Bring back the old system where the packs engage and only push when the ball is put in straight.The “hit” is what is causing the bind to brake. Poor looseheads!
12 May 2012, 22:59 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-189:
That was a brain explosion which warranted a drug test if you ask me
That guy is looking to maim opposition players coming from their blind side, it reminded me that lock from the Auckland Blues few years ago or Bakkie at his best?
12 May 2012, 23:01 pm
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-186: Also have to say ,Kittshoff lost his bind a few times at the end but was not penalized.To many rules which leaves to much for different inrterpretations. Thus opposing teams will always feel done in by.TOO MANY RULES!!!
12 May 2012, 23:01 pm
Duwenhage must be the k@kkest scrummie in the comp. Poor decision making and slow service. He shy’s away from contact too. Piss poor.
12 May 2012, 23:02 pm
@optiplay(optiplay)-190:
I think they need to change the jerseys for the props so they can at least keep their binds
Add something to the side of the jersey for the props to grab
12 May 2012, 23:04 pm
Pathetic briesies. you showing your true colours once again. Wannabe champs and always will be….
12 May 2012, 23:04 pm
@optiplay(optiplay)-188:
Aplon and habana are usually well ahead of the passers, it makes the catch difficult and they are becoming a target for hospital passes, making it a waste of good ball
12 May 2012, 23:05 pm
The confidence with ball-in-hand was apparent, as Jean de Villiers turned down a kickable penalty in the 23rd minute and instructed Joe Pietersen to boot the ball to touch. The Stormers then powered though the phases with Eben Etzebeth bursting through from close range for the game’s first try.
Confidence is one thing, ability another.
12 May 2012, 23:06 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-191: Even if he is not cited , his coach should take action.That might prevent him from the same action again.He could have caused a serious injury on Strauss.The Aussies and AB’s take care of these infringements before they become a habit and before their players are branded as dirty. We should take a leaf out of their books.
12 May 2012, 23:07 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-194: Absolutely agree.They have to help the loosehead.
12 May 2012, 23:08 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-196: And that is a pity. Do you think it has something to do with their defensive pattern?
12 May 2012, 23:09 pm
@optiplay(optiplay)-198:
His coach is not going to bench him when he is so short on loosies
What action do you suppose he take besides talking to him about it?
12 May 2012, 23:14 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-201: I don’t necessary say he should be benched.Let him write out a thousand times”I will not tackle around the neck”Heck I dont know what he should do. All I know is Elstadt is a classy player and his management team should come up with a plan.Different players will respond to different approaches.(I am not serious re the 1000 times)
12 May 2012, 23:18 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-201: Dont label a player as an “enforcer” for starters. He might want to live up to that label, or even think he has to.Most supporters of rugby loves a good physical loose forward.Just slow him down a bit.
12 May 2012, 23:21 pm
@optiplay(optiplay)-203:
yeah i would have a tough talk with him and actually get him to call Strauss and apologize
12 May 2012, 23:22 pm
Unless he did after the game I hope he did
12 May 2012, 23:30 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-205: In any case ,your team did well to win this one. They are a good team, but I sure would like to see them score more tries.Quite frankly, If they did not lose both their locks against the Crusaders early in the game, I think they would still be undefeated.
12 May 2012, 23:33 pm
@robzim. In Napier
12 May 2012, 23:34 pm
@optiplay(optiplay)-206:
Yes thanks
What worries me a bit is the lack of bonus points (scoring tries)
its not a problem in playoff because games are usually won at that stage with good defense and are not high scoring games.
The worry is where they finish due to lack of bonus points and then having to travel to NZ or Loftus for play offs.
12 May 2012, 23:35 pm
jeez, expected more from the stormers. when will they click? big games coming up against in form sharks and bulls. will have a big say in final league positions.
well done cheetahs for the fightback. must be lowest scoring game cheetahs have been involved in!
12 May 2012, 23:40 pm
It started……. Talk back radio is in full swing regarding the Crusaders. Blaming ref etc. Just as well the All Black flag is black!!!!!! The country is in mourning.
12 May 2012, 23:51 pm
@Napier(Napier)-210:
Strange, i live here and in Christchurch as well.
Didnt see too many mourning.
Talk back radio is excatly that. A lot of people venting there frustration even to the point where it clouds there minds.
Ref played ok, missed a knock on with one of the rebels tries and a forward pass buit
how many times the Saders had the calls go there way.
Need to calm down and you need not listen to talk back.
12 May 2012, 23:53 pm
brok owned coenie tonight… sent coenie to the pet semetry…
to get all the “deadcats” he could find…
in in the second half coenie had to resort to scrumming in and/or scrumming upwards or standing… and begging the ref for some relief…
coenie was literally having to adjust his neck after most scrums… was holding his head in his hands trying to adjust his neck.. he got stuffed up tonight good and proper…
and frans continued where brok left off…
instead of gabbing his mouth off ollie le roux should chuck another burger in it…
12 May 2012, 23:54 pm
@Napier(Napier)-153:
Hang on.
An Ozzie living in NZ and your team is the stormers?
Thats like a Kiwi living in Pretoria supporting the Reds, you would be shot over there.
12 May 2012, 23:55 pm
Damn,wanted to see the Cheetahs take this, just to shut a few cocky stormer supporters.
12 May 2012, 23:57 pm
Always going to be close – probably cursing their season sayibg it but stormers should win it – they got 3 problems 1 chiefs 2 saders (maybe) and 3. Their natural poeftigheid
13 May 2012, 00:07 am
Would loved to have been in the Keo newsroom while this game was on,
Must have been some soiled underwear in there.
Just goes to show what could have been if an unbiased ref had reffed a few more of their games.
Somebody at SARU cocked it up and sent Mark Lawrence to Durban and Steve Walsh to Cape Town..
So not that many penalties went the Stormers way as would normally have been given by Lawrence or Kaplan,anfd the Cheetahs outscored them 2 tries to1.
I am sure that this oversight will be rectified next week and old W.P 23 Lawrence will be back in the saddle.
13 May 2012, 00:11 am
Well done on the four points Stormers, but you are going to have to get out of the habit of taking the foot off the gas.
13 May 2012, 01:14 am
@ufo(ufo)-212: Yeah.Right!!Where is your guide dog when you watch rugby?Come on!! Coenie destroyed him.His only problem was the bind. Have a pocket on the jersey of the tighthead to hold on to , and Brok plays Vodacom .
13 May 2012, 01:22 am
@optiplay(optiplay)-218:
so your defense of coenie is to insult me…
typical…
the fact that you admit coenie needs the assistance of an extra “pocket” to hang onto says all that needs be said…
every other loosehead manages without an extra something to hang onto…
13 May 2012, 01:25 am
Could see Stormers limping into playoffs with their casualty list….but they have the game plan and structure in the forwards to take out any side….only thing will they have the players necessary to execute.
13 May 2012, 01:37 am
@ufo(ufo)-212: Great post.Have to add that Kolisie moered Coenie in the tackle as well.
13 May 2012, 01:42 am
shot man… yeah kolisi was big in contact…
have to say when we have kolisi on… we get a kolision of note…
kolisi the mobile kolision…
13 May 2012, 01:43 am
cheetahs played very well though… credit to them…
nearly pulled off the win…
13 May 2012, 02:14 am
@ufo(ufo)-219: Just had a dig at you. Don’t be so sensitive.Most commentators and most of the guys on this site agree that the loosehead is at a disadvantage. The reason some of them don’t get blown up is in the interpretation of the law.When Walsh changed the way he blew the game , Brok got hammered with penalties. Having your hand on the ground is not being overwhelmed by the tighthead.Just as Kiita had his hand on the ground a few times at the end of the match . He was not overshadowed by Nel . But was also not blown up. It is just a stupid law. Anyway I agree with you on Kolisi.Great game!!And well done to your team.
13 May 2012, 05:35 am
Great game, Elstadt. Make all comers pasop when they come to Newlands. Take no prisoners, boet.
13 May 2012, 07:30 am
@ 93Dwarslat(Dwarslat)
Coenie is so kak, wanneer hy die toilet deur oopmaak dan flush dit vanself #kakcoenie
13 May 2012, 07:46 am
Coenie is so kak, sy kat wil hom begrawe wahaha #kakcoenie
13 May 2012, 07:46 am
@RugbyStudent(RugbyStudent)-226: Can see why you are a student.
13 May 2012, 07:57 am
@optiplay(optiplay)-224:
not being sensitive at all… but interesting that you should suggest that just because i call you for not sticking to the facts…
ah ha… so it’s so because most of the other people say so…? Good argument…
why is this suddenly an issue…? 11 weeks into the comp and now we should have extra things sewn onto the tighthead’s jersey’s because coenie couldn’t bind…?
before the game ollie le roux said on news24… “I don’t rate Harris highly. It’s an opportunity for Coenie to show what everyone knows he’s capable of.”
so from coenie going to klap harris… suddenly coenie needs a little extra sewn onto harris jersey…? hahaha… gotta make excuses for coenie when he get’s his *** handed to him…
for sure, as you acknowledge, things changed in the second half… and the ref blew it differently… mmmmm?? guess all coenie’s begging and pleading tugged at steve’s heart-strings…
harris only had two scrum penalties against him… in the first it was for pulling down… now why would he pull down if he’d had the upper hand all game till that point…? ref got it wrong…
coenie was always asking the ref to make harris engage higher because he couldn’t get under harris… law states props backs must be straight… which harris was… when he was forced to stand higher, coenie was able to get under him and scrum up… which is illegal… ref got it wrong… again…
but don’t take my word for it… go and ask coenie himself why after several of the scrums he walked behind the play trying to adjust his neck…?
will say again.. cheetahs played very we’ll… stormers played very badly and were lucky to win… but win they did…
13 May 2012, 08:00 am
Of the 2 loosehead props playing last night Kitshoff was streets ahead of Coenie,
Was more impressive in the scrums, carried the ball better, tackled well.
He’s a dark horse for the June tests IMO.
13 May 2012, 08:03 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-230:
absolutely stormersboy…
was far more solid… and more effective in the loose too…
13 May 2012, 08:05 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-230:
but he’ll be playing for the junior boks… to ‘rest’…
13 May 2012, 08:46 am
@ufo(ufo)-232: Unless he gets a call up.
But that’s probably unlikely.
13 May 2012, 08:57 am
Harriet not a patch on Malherbe, much rather start with Malherbe and let Harriet come on later
Stormers last hopes rest with Elstadt and De Villiers, and of course Kolisi. Long as those 3 stay un injured or not sanctioned or suspended we stand a good chance this year.
Long as De Villiers has captaincy and Elstadt and Kolisi stay on the park no team gonna out muscle or out psyche us. Lose either those 3 and we deep in die kak..
I said in the beginning that without Burger this team can go all the way, so far its only one loss vs Crusaders, under Burger would have been a few losses already just like last year and year before that.
13 May 2012, 09:24 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-233:
i agree with you that he’s good enough… and wouldn’t be at all surprised if he got the call up… has been perhaps the most consistent of our looseheads…
i’m coming a bit from left field though…
he has played just about every minute of the season…and just believe he needs some time off… and playing for the juniors shouldn’t be as physically demanding as for the boks…
if he doesn’t get a ‘softer’ time then… then when will he…? we need him for the final part of the season…
13 May 2012, 09:28 am
@ufo(ufo)-235: You are 100% on the money there. It happened with Elstadt last year. Player every minute and the got injured for the rest of the year.
13 May 2012, 09:56 am
just loved seeing coenie struggling like a madman chasing nothing when etsebeth had him in the one hand grip of death.
coenie got owned big time and baby brok had to save hime haahahaha.
13 May 2012, 10:10 am
the sad thing is when the stormers lose in the semis they will blame it on their loose foward crisis.When the crisis is really at 9 and to a lesser extent flyhalf
The vodacom cup scrummie Nic Groom seems better than duvenhage.
Doesnt it make more sense to give the ball to your strongest kicker in your own 22.Pietersen and aplon kicks further than granny grant use them AC you stubborn mule
13 May 2012, 16:08 pm
@mad eye(mad eye)-216:
Sad enough, but an old story nonetheless by now
@skopskiet(skopskiet)-234:
I hardly counted 3 tackles made between Kolisi and Carr, the amount of work done by the Stormers’ tight five was enormous
@saru1983(saru1983)-238:
I thought both were outstanding in managing the game to a pre determined plan?
13 May 2012, 16:47 pm
Siyamthanda Kolisi: 80 minutes, 21 tackles, 1 miss, 6 runs, 6 rucks/mauls, 1 pen
Most tackles in match: Siyamthanda Kolisi – 21
13 May 2012, 16:48 pm
Steyn: 68 minutes, 11 tackles, 0 miss, 3 runs, 3 rucks/mauls, 1 pen
Chilli: 55 minutes, 13 tackles, 1 miss, 3 runs, 3 rucks/mauls, 3 pen
Werner: 81 minutes, 12 tackles, 2 miss, 3 runs, 2 rucks/mauls, 1 pen
Coenie: 80 minutes, 6 tackles, 0 miss, 15 runs, 14 rucks/mauls, 3 pen
Adriaan: 80 minutes, 4 tackles, 0 miss, 12 runs, 11 rucks/mauls, 0 pen
WP: 80 minutes, 5 tackles, 0 miss, 6 runs, 7 rucks/mauls, 0 pen
V Rensberg: 71 minutes, 5 tackles, 2 miss, 0 runs, 0 rucks/mauls, 0 pen
Visagie: 57 minutes, 2 tackles, 1 miss, 1 runs, 1 rucks/mauls, 0 pens
Cilliers: 67 minutes, 9 tackles, 1 miss, 0 runs, 0 rucks/mauls, 1 pen
Bezuidenhout: 25 minutes, 3 tackles, 1 miss, 1 runs, 1 rucks/mauls, 0 pen
vd Linde: 25 minutes, 1 tackles, 1 miss, 0 runs, 0 rucks/mauls, 1 pen
Beast: 81 minutes, 10 tackles, 1 miss, 3 runs, 3 ruck maul, 1 pen
Bismarck: 62 minutes, 8 tackles, 1 miss, 6 runs, 4 rucks/mauls, 0 pen
Jannie: 58 minutes, 7 tackles, 1 miss, 0 runs, 0 rucks/mauls, 0 pen
Kitshoff: 80 minutes, 14 tackles, 3 miss, 4 runs, 3 ruck maul, 0 pen
Fourie: 68 minutes, 14 tackles, 2 miss, 6 runs, 7 rucks/mauls, 0 pen
Harris: 59 minutes, 13 tackles, 1 miss, 2 runs, 0 rucks/mauls, 2 pen
Liebenberg: 12 minutes, 1 tackles, 0 miss, 2 runs, 2 rucks/mauls, 1 pen
Malherbe: 21 minutes, 3 tackles, 1 miss, 0 runs, 0 rucks/mauls, 0 pen
13 May 2012, 16:58 pm
Siyamthanda: 80 minutes, 21 tackles, 1 miss, 6 runs, 6 rucks/mauls, 1 pen
Jacques Botes: 81 minutes, 19 tackles, 2 miss, 4 runs, 4 rucks/mauls, 0 pen
Rynhardt Elstadt: 71 minutes, 17 tackles, 0 miss, 3 runs, 0 rucks/mauls, 3 pen
Philip vd Walt: 80 minutes, 17 tackles, 1 miss, 7 runs, 7 rucks/mauls, 0 pen
CJ Stander: 81 minutes, 16 tackles, 0 miss, 8 runs, 8 rucks/mauls, 1 pen
Marcell Coetzee: 65 minutes, 16 tackles, 1 miss, 7 runs, 6 rucks/mauls, 1 pen
13 May 2012, 17:01 pm
Most tackles by a South African: Siyamthanda Kolisi – 21
so now we know hondo doesn’t actually watch any rugby…
13 May 2012, 17:03 pm
@saru1983(saru1983)-238: Fully agree with . Their problem is at 9.Your stand-in 9 is also not that good.Unfortunately.Stormers should not have allowed Hougaard to go to the Bulls. He was in Paul Roos if I am not mistaken.
13 May 2012, 17:26 pm
Stormers tacklig to much.
They need to put more emphasis on attack imo.
13 May 2012, 17:27 pm
@Mr Black(Mr Black)-245: Tackling
13 May 2012, 17:30 pm
@saru1983(saru1983)-238:
Sounds like you enjoyed your tossed salad this evening
13 May 2012, 17:33 pm
@ufo(ufo)-229: So you pointed out that I insult you to make a point.Yet you try to ridicule me to make your point.
Firstly I am neither a Stormer nor Cheettah supporter.
I am not a Coenie fan. There are better looseheads in SA.(Kitta is a great prospect but not this year yet. He will be a Bok one day)
Having actually played,coached and reffed at a good level,I dont follow other peoples opinions ,but can agree with them. I merely pointed out to you that I am not the only one seeing the problem with the present law which puts the loosehead at a disadvantage.Brok carries a fair amount of weight around his chest(as good tightheads often do),which makes binding on tight jersey difficult.
I watch rugby because I love the game.I can see from your posts that you follow the game ardently. I would like your opinion on the present law regarding engaging and arm going to ground.
If on the other hand you prefer not to have a discussion re rugby, merely say so and will be out of your hair.
13 May 2012, 18:07 pm
@optiplay(optiplay)-248:
was simply returning serve as they say… trying to find out why people were saying before the game that coenie would destroy brok then made excuses for him afterwards… and why the destruction was not qualified with “depending on the bind”…
but cool… great to talk rugby and leave the bs out…
yeah… of course i have similar issues about the engage and the bind…
as far as the actual engage is concerned… andre watson said at the beginning of the season that “if a prop’s hand, arm or elbow touches the ground he WILL be penalized…”
so the scrum coaches and props go away and practice and some get it right and some don’t…
then some refs penalize this ‘must penalize’ offense and some don’t… my argument is… by not penalizing the guys who touch the ground the refs are in fact penalizing by omission the guys who don’t get it wrong… these are the guys who have put in the time and effort and perfected their technique so why shouldn’t they benefit…?
in a world that ‘says’ they want perfection we are very quick to settle for mediocrity when our favorites don’t measure up…
short of it is… if the refs committee say it must be penalized then they must penalize it… to make it fair for those who do get it right… or change the law…
in the highlanders game jamie mackintosh was so stuffed he was simply resting his hand on his thigh…? and not penalized for it… so what’s the point of making technical laws if they’re not going to be enforced…?
as far as the grip is concerned… i agree with you… except that it normally is harder for the tight head as he has to bind over and outside the loosie’s arm…
have actually discussed a flap to bind onto before… but that would count against the props in general play… but yeah… maybe the props wearing slightly less tight jerseys would be an idea…
13 May 2012, 19:18 pm
@ufo(ufo)-249: I think we agree on most points. Mine sometimes gets lost in translation.(also not good at taking cracks at other people. I should stick to rugby)The ” pocket” would also not be fair to tightheads as that will give the defence an additional tag to hold on. I feel they should change the law to a simpler one.
By the way You seem to be very good at stats . Is it possible to see how many neck injuries actually occurred with the old techniques vs today?I am not sure there is any difference.Only far more headaches for the spectators.
13 May 2012, 19:33 pm
@optiplay(optiplay)-250:
cool man… we do…
i do try to stick to the facts… which is why i also like to use stats… to get away from the emotional debate which just goes round and round… sure stats only tell “so much” of the story… and, if possible, should be used in context, which is not always the case…
i wish i could claim to be good at stats… but no i’m not… i use rugbystats (mainly)… and also look at verusco…
both thanks to bryce_in_aus for telling me about them…
so not sure about the injury then and now stats you mention… but just guessing don’t think there’ll be much difference… when you consider the numbers of people who play rugby every weekend… the neck injuries are not bad statistically… although devastating for the players concerned…
but totally agree with you about a simpler law… think they should go through the law book and simplify whatever needs to be…
may i ask what level you played, coached and reffed at… always respect the people who do so… and certainly take their opinions a lot more seriously… no prob if you’d rather not say…
13 May 2012, 20:32 pm
@ufo(ufo)-251: Mostly first devision and university level.Not good enough to have made it to provincials.But that was longgg ago.You know the saying”the older we get the better we were”.I am an old guy but never lost the love for the game.Like most of your posts. Keep it up .
By the way, get a new 9, and you will win the competition .Awesome young talent at the Stormers.Etsebeth,Elstadt,Kolisi ,Kitta to name a few.I love to see a new young player making it.
Cheers for now.
13 May 2012, 21:04 pm
@optiplay(optiplay)-252:
kudos to you… that’s way more than most of us on this site…
the love of rugby is what’s important… but people like yourself who have had to put it into practice as far as coaching and reffing are concerned tend to be a lot more realistic, pragmatic and insightful in your comments…
yeah… feelings on duvenage are split… divan certainly had some insightful comments… hope duvenage works on those points…
but good or bad… he’s there unless something dramatic happens, so will back the guy 100%… i’d describe him as solid though unspectacular… although he has had some very good games… especially last year when he had to play flyhalf…
so i like the guy and respect the player… but don’t think he’ll make it at international level… but would be very happy for him to prove me wrong…
13 May 2012, 21:05 pm
cheers till next time…
14 May 2012, 09:16 am
I love how uninformative this article is, maybe we were watching two different games but if the Cheetahs had a better flyhalf in the first half they would have won this game with a bonus point and not to mention the three kickable penalties Adriaan opted not to take because of Sias’ poor kicking which of course the guys at Keo, seeing they are all stormer supporters, failed to mention and the so-called next “Os” was given a scrumming lesson by WP Nel, maybe he should be called the next “Brok Harris” seeing that Brok was also taken to school by Coenie. Wonder what Keo is going to say when the Cheetahs beat the stormers in Bloem with a comfortable margin.