Sloppy Stormers deny Cheetahs

JON CARDINELLI watched the Stormers win 16-14 at Newlands by virtue of a commanding first-half performance.

The Stormers second-half effort was nothing short of shambolic. After leading 16-0 after 40 minutes, after physically dominating the Cheetahs to an overwhelming degree, they conspired to concede the advantage and very nearly the result.

The platform was there for the four-try bonus point they had been searching for all season. Their lineout was functioning beautifully, as was their rolling maul.

Their physicality at the collisions and scrums was putting the Cheetahs on the back foot, and flyhalf Peter Grant was knocking penalties over from all angles.

The confidence with ball-in-hand was apparent, as Jean de Villiers turned down a kickable penalty in the 23rd minute and instructed Joe Pietersen to boot the ball to touch. The Stormers then powered though the phases with Eben Etzebeth bursting through from close range for the game’s first try.

But instead of capitalising on a commanding lead, the Stormers allowed the Cheetahs to fight their way back. Literally.

The visitors produced a more physical effort in the second stanza, and managed to niggle and unsettle the Stormers forwards. While it was the Cheetahs who were guilty of poor discipline in the first 40, the Stormers were the sloppier of the two teams in the second.

Hennie Daniller crashed over in the left-hand corner after 48 minutes, and a difficult conversion by reserve flyhalf Riaan Smit brought the score to 16-7.

Starting No 10 Sias Ebersohn had struggled in the first half, and Smit seemed to play with more confidence and lend the visitors more direction in the later stages of the game.

The game was stopped in the 54th minute when both teams were involved in a full-scale brawl. Referee Steve Walsh put the entire incident on a white card, and also sent Stormers flank Rynhardt Elstadt to the bin for his role in the scuffle.

But now it was the Cheetahs’ turn to waste a great opportunity. They turned down a shot at goal, and then conceded possession several phases later. It was here that the Stormers’ characteristic defence came into play and denied the Cheetahs what could have been a game-changing score.

Willie le Roux snatched an intercept try in the 67th minute, and another fantastic conversion by Smit reduced the deficit to two points. It set up a dramatic final 13 minutes, and it was here that the Stormers struggled to escape from their own half, a range of poor tactical kicks allowing the Cheetahs to send wave after wave after attack into Stormers territory.

Fortunately for the hosts, the Cheetahs panicked with ball in hand, forcing the pass or taking the wrong option and eventually conceding possession.

The Stormers finally managed to get some territory, and while they battled to control the ball, they remained in the opposition half for the last five minutes of the game.

It will go down as another win for the Stormers, but they will know that they blew a golden opportunity to bank the four-try bonus.

The manner in which they smashed the Cheetahs up front in the first half and bossed territory and possession was encouraging. If they had maintained their concentration for the entire second stanza, they would have racked up four tries quite comfortably.

Because of their inconsistency, they will remain in second place in the South African conference and fourth on the overall log for another week yet.

255 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-140:

Expect no marching in Pretoria next week and the week thereafter.
    Landers and Chiefs will make sure of that :)

• 152.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-150:

Not talking the knee incident mate…that was yellow so he was punished already. The neck tackle earlier is what I am referring to!

• 153.Napier: Reply to this comment

The Stormers won! That’s all that matters. Being an Aussie now living in All Black country I cant wait to see Stormers carry off that Super trophy. That will shut up a few Kiwis here.

• 154.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-152:
    Ok yes i forgot that that was worse i agree But there was no white card ?

• 155.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

How good were the Rebels???

Man they made my day.

@Robzim(Robzim)-151:

The Bulls are also winning games they could be losing – pretty much the same as tonight.

• 156.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

klomp vuilgatte ,but we will take the four points.next week we will top the log again.

• 157.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Napier(Napier)-153:

An Aussie living in Kiwi country?
    Is that not a downgrade?

• 158.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-154:

Yeah but he could still be cited… I think…

@Napier(Napier)-153:

Nor can we believe you me… :lol:

• 159.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Napier(Napier)-153:
    Welcome, always nice to have an Aussie Stormer supporter living in Kiwi land

• 160.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-158:
    I am not sure I thought that was the reason for the white card

• 161.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@Napier(Napier)-153: Not on tonight’s performance mate.I would not mind if those self-same Kiwis start doing a hatched job on the Bulls from next week.

• 162.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-160:

Not sure either…

• 163.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Skoppie Maybe Etzebeth at 8? Anyone agree ?

• 164.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-163:

It could be an option.

• 165.Napier: Reply to this comment

@robzim….had to lift the IQ in NZ! I retired here as snik…snik…snik..I married a Kiwi! Maar ek het 25 jaar in Kaapstad gewoon.M y hart is nog daar en my bloed pomp groen and goud.

• 166.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Horing – Johnson,Strauss and Earle are not angels, they’re cheetah vuilgatte and should be banned for the brawl that they started.

• 167.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Etsebeth looked like he needed more game time. Was a bit quiet tonight. Let’s hope they rectify it next week.

• 168.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Cheers guys…

• 169.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-168:
    Cheers Bill

• 170.Napier: Reply to this comment

@coachpete. thanks for the welcome. nice to be on here. Love the comments and wisecracks. Going back to bed.Upsince 3am watching rugby. hey! What about the Rebels ! Talk back radio will go into meltdown today., Saders with Carter ande cheat McCaw back getting slammed by the Aussies. Wow! That wont go down well here. Lekker slaap mense. Go WEEEE PEEEE

• 171.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Etsebeth at 8 could be a very good option under circumstances start Bekker and Steenkamp at second row, play Rohan Kitchoff open side, Kolisi blind side, Etsebeth at 8 if Elstadt is suspended, play Fenton Wells or Sinclair or Armand off bench.

I would still start Fourie at 2 and perhaps switch him to loosie 2nd half with Liebenberg off bench, and then perhaps switch Etsebeth back to 2nd row second half if Bekker or Steenkamp need to come off.

• 172.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Well done Stormers, even though you had a few calls that went your way that were iffish?? a win stays a win,

Cheetahs shpwed heart tp come back as they did

Sias?? eish this oke is bleeding bad and his confidence is down the tubes

• 173.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Napier(Napier)-165:

Where do you live in NZ?

• 174.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

i cant believe some in hewre just called the cheeytahs the vuilgatte???

Hell the boxing match was started by Deon Fourie, now he is a vuilgat, as for Elstadt??? seriously a yellow? was an iffish penalty at worst

• 175.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(skopskiet)-171:
    maybe utilize both Fourie and Liebenberg Fourie at open side Kolisi at blind side
    Etsebeth at 8 Steenkamp and Bekker locks
    and the other two on bench since Sinclair is a lock too

• 176.optiplay: Reply to this comment

JC. Where the Stormers ever going to score 4 tries.????We were not watching the same game. Maybe you wrote the script before the match. Had Steve Walsh not got it wrong in the first halve where Coenie was all over Brok, the Cheetahs would have been the team with four tries.The Stormers forwards fantastic in the first halve though. Etsebeth and Kolisi standing out IMO.

• 177.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-62: Steve Walsh got it right in the second half .Coenie all over Brok.

• 178.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Dummy Runner(Dummy Runner)-73: Dummer Runner .For real?The Stormers were the fighters in this game. Elstadt (as much as I like him) should be cited for his neck grab on Andries Strauss.

• 179.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-83: No 9 is their problem.He is a 10,not a 9.

• 180.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-94: @Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-96: @Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-96: I agree with you on both posts.Shocking second half for the Stormers but they still won. Good leadership.

• 181.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Horings(Horings)-113: Agree

• 182.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@optiplay(optiplay)-178: very true

• 183.Pietie: Reply to this comment

As much as it is nice to see the Stormers defend so well, it is sad to see the flair in their approach having gone awol. Low risk appraoch of coach Allister…..

• 184.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-130: How is it that you think the Cheetahs are pushovers?With better locks they would beat most teams ,if not all.

• 185.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-156: WHY??

• 186.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Optiplay if you don’t bind properly and “collapse” first as Coenie did then how can the calls be wrong. Coenie came back strongly in the second half though.

• 187.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-150:
    “to me it did not look as bad as Kaplan made it out to be” ?
    Kaplan????

• 188.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Pietie(Pietie)-183: Good question,. Where is the old WP flair? I somehow think there defensive pattern in someway has an influence on their attacking play. Their no 9 is a big problem. Asking no questions from defence.I would love to see their wings in action. Aplon is a great player.

• 189.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-187:
    yeah the knee in the back . Walsh wanted red :)
    His neck grab on Strauss may be the issue but maybe not if no white card

• 190.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-186: Somehow they will have to change the laws. Loosehead at a great disadvantage at the moment.Get something on the tightheads yersey to hold on may be the answer.To many penalties to both sides.
    Bring back the old system where the packs engage and only push when the ball is put in straight.The “hit” is what is causing the bind to brake. Poor looseheads!

• 191.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-189:
    That was a brain explosion which warranted a drug test if you ask me
    That guy is looking to maim opposition players coming from their blind side, it reminded me that lock from the Auckland Blues few years ago or Bakkie at his best?

• 192.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-186: Also have to say ,Kittshoff lost his bind a few times at the end but was not penalized.To many rules which leaves to much for different inrterpretations. Thus opposing teams will always feel done in by.TOO MANY RULES!!!

• 193.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Duwenhage must be the k@kkest scrummie in the comp. Poor decision making and slow service. He shy’s away from contact too. Piss poor.

• 194.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@optiplay(optiplay)-190:
    I think they need to change the jerseys for the props so they can at least keep their binds
    Add something to the side of the jersey for the props to grab

• 195.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Pathetic briesies. you showing your true colours once again. Wannabe champs and always will be….

• 196.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@optiplay(optiplay)-188:
    Aplon and habana are usually well ahead of the passers, it makes the catch difficult and they are becoming a target for hospital passes, making it a waste of good ball

• 197.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

The confidence with ball-in-hand was apparent, as Jean de Villiers turned down a kickable penalty in the 23rd minute and instructed Joe Pietersen to boot the ball to touch. The Stormers then powered though the phases with Eben Etzebeth bursting through from close range for the game’s first try.

Confidence is one thing, ability another.

• 198.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-191: Even if he is not cited , his coach should take action.That might prevent him from the same action again.He could have caused a serious injury on Strauss.The Aussies and AB’s take care of these infringements before they become a habit and before their players are branded as dirty. We should take a leaf out of their books.

• 199.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-194: Absolutely agree.They have to help the loosehead.

• 200.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-196: And that is a pity. Do you think it has something to do with their defensive pattern?

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.