Carr’s season is done

Allister Coetzee confirmed on Sunday that Stormers No 8 Nizaam Carr has torn his ACL and has been ruled out for the rest of the campaign.

The Stormers have already lost Schalk Burger, Duane Vermeulen and Nick Koster for extensive periods due to injury. They brought in Canadian loose forward Jebb Sinclair during the week to bolster their back-row ranks, but suffered another blow during Saturday’s game against the Cheetahs when Carr went down with a serious knee injury.

After the game, Coetzee said that he expected Carr’s lay-off to be a lengthy one. It was confirmed following further tests on Sunday that Carr has sustained serious damage and will miss the rest of the season.

Coetzee added that he may have to promote one of the Vodacom Cup forwards for next week’s clash against the Waratahs. There is also the possibility that a forward from outside of the region may be recruited.

Coetzee did say he was impressed with the way Sinclair performed when asked to replace Carr during Saturday’s match.

Sinclair only arrived in South Africa on Wednesday, and has had minimal time to adapt to the Stormers’ structures.

139 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

• 1.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Vuilgat Cheetahs!!First the Bulls came to Cape Town trying to beat us with vuilgat tactics and now these scum from Bloem.Both times they lost ,so what next now boys?

• 2.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Yip, vuilgat Cheetahs but thanks for the win, and next week they gonna klap those guppies.

• 3.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Luke Watson?

• 4.saru1983: Reply to this comment

sinclair didnt know what the fcuc to do on the field today

• 5.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@saru1983(saru1983)-4:
    Disagree
    He had to fly in from N hemispehere had little time to practice with Stormers
    And had to come in an play 8, with hardly any practice time or game time
    He defended well, made a number of tackles including a few defending the line down to 14 men, and carried the ball well and protected it
    he was fine at the base of the scrum and never gave away a turn over or a penalty

So explain why he was so Kuk?

• 6.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

thats pretty bad luck! hurry back schalkie we need you!

• 7.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

Rynhardt Elstadt is a vuilgat as well.

• 8.ufo: Reply to this comment

tough luck nizaam…

but time’s on your side… you will be back…

• 9.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Vuilgat Stormers. Vulgar fans.

• 10.ufo: Reply to this comment

don’t be surprised if bekker is also sidelined….

• 11.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

And dom, very dom.

• 12.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

And now for the Kiwi teams to moer that other vuilgat team from next week.They will probably nee only to moer 14 bulletjies because Spies is a useless PU SSY.

• 13.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

How many weeks is Fourie going to get off for punching?

At least he will be able to keep Elstadt company at the “high-performance centre”.

• 14.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@saru1983(saru1983)-4:
    K@k stories, w@nker. Sinclair was solid on defence, and crossed the gain line four times. Voets#k!

• 15.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-9:

Hello Tea party, to$$er.

• 16.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Seems like a lot of big mouths on here today!

• 17.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I see Saracens have been knocked out so their season is over now,

This means that we can possibly get someone like Ernst Joubert or Schalk Britz if we need too,

• 18.lepel: Reply to this comment

@saru1983(saru1983)-4: Completely baseless idiotic statement. Same as all the people complaining about him being flown in.

Considering the circumstances, he did really well. Given another week to get used to the structures he might turn out to be a very good cover until some of the others recover.

And, while I’m a Stormers fan, that whole thing was started by Elstadt, who is a renowned vuilgat. Stormers were the guilty party.

• 19.saru1983: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-5: I never said he is a kak player all i said is he did not know what to do on the field.Be it that the reason could be everything you mentioned.If you were at the game u could see he looked a little bit more than unsure of where he should be
    @lepel(lepel)-18: Im trying to think of a reply for u but people who start sentences the way you do dont usually warrant one

• 20.saru1983: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark(KeurboomPark)-14: ur are u his girlfriend.

• 21.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Luke Watson would be a good option. He knows the players and managment and also has plenty of experience and leadership qualities.

• 22.David: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7(Rhys7)-21:
    I agree and he’d provide a nice balance for Elstadt and Kolisi.

• 23.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

just like Jake the fake snake Coetsee will be far too chicken to touch Luke Watson with a barge pole., just imagine Stormers had to go on and win the gdamn competition with Watson at 8 or 6, the Burger clan and their hero worship contingent of arse licker claptrap confederation of supporters wouldn’t live it down in a month of blue moons let alone Sundays.., they far rather import some foreign alien from Calgary or some far off colloquial colony of convenience than stoop to the ultimate obvious solution and pick one of our own sons from next door coz its a far more ‘safe’ non contentious option.

• 24.David: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(skopskiet)-23:
    I think Watson would be subject to the rule that bars players signed after April 1 from competing in playoffs and semis/final.

• 25.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Stormers are no angels, but those cheetahs are filthy conniving vuilgatte. Anyway, they’re the sharks problem on saturday…:D

• 26.Uncle Oswald: Reply to this comment

Vuilgatte: Both teams were guilty of niggle with the Strompies (and Fourie & Elstadt in particular) certainly the worst offenders.

Jeb: There is no player on this planet who would shine on debut in a pressure cooker like that. I think he deserves a little more respect than what he’s getting.

• 27.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I may say something controversial now, but in the bigger scheme of things – if you look at overall value added to a team over the course of a career – I think I actually prefer players that incorporate an element of self preservation into their game,

Yes, a guy like Spies may not engage in suicidal collisions like Schalk Burger does, and may well display a sense of “picking his collisions carefully”, but here he is so far uninjured and fulfilling an invaluable role in our team.

Sure, other players are less cautious, and like to put their bodies on the line, but see the result of that:

Jacques Potgieter – bust knee
    Stegman – bust arm
    Schalk Burger – bust knee
    Alberts – never healing shoulder and now half the player he used to be
    Dewald Potgieter – only now recovering from an injury cause by throwing it all into the game when he wasn’t properly matchfit yet.
    Vermeulend – loves the collissions and now worth squat to the Stormers as a result of injury

The list goes on and on.

The point is, in terms of value for money, the Stormers are paying a salary to Vermeulen and Burger just like the Bulls are to Spies, but so far we have gotten 10 games worth of value for that money.

Sure, he could get injured in the next game, but I do think that a more cautious approach to protecting your body pays off in the end.

Both for the player and for the team.

• 28.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Brilliant Tacitus! Brilliant, what a curve ball to support Spies. ‘Picking his moments’ Excellent!
    This from a supporter of the quintissential physical team in SA. That’s what flyhalves do! Left Field indeed!

On another point concerning physicallity,, Vuilgat James Haskell had his suspension increased to 4 weeks as the brilliant men on the citing cvommision neglected to look at hais long record outside of the Super 15. Turns out he was banned for a week for headbutting when he was playing for WASPS. Haskell said he did not think this information was ‘important’.

I am astounded. I supose at some point Haskel had to inform the comitee of any previous scrapes with the law. Mkae of this what you will.

Astounding!

• 29.jondood: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7(Rhys7)-21:

He will kots on that siff jersey.

Deservedly so.

• 30.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-28:

All I’m saying is that it is obvious that Spies doesn’t just “bliksem head first into opposition players” like Schalk or Jacques Potgieter does.

And while it’s nice to have such players in your team, it’s also nice to have guys playing for extended periods without injuries.

• 31.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

The xenophobia of some here is disturbing.

Welcome to SA Sinclair. You played well on Saturday. Next thing stormers supporters will be waving cards at their games saying ‘auslanders raus!’

• 32.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Point taken Tacitus, but that would mean somebody else in the backrow needs to be doing the hard, injury risk work. The injury toll on players is getting worse every year though.

Not a good trend at all.

• 33.Papoose: Reply to this comment

@Hens, Xenophobia?? Watch the words you use mate

• 34.cab: Reply to this comment

some of those canucks are tough rednecks make no mistake if he’s good enough play him, but the obvious selection would have seen fourie go to 6, elstadt at 7, kolisi at 8 and liebenberg at 2 – that would still be championship team – but if fourie is banned for punching and sinclair being unknown commodity gaps may be starting to appear, luckily enough they’ve won so many that they probably qualify, but they want a home semi and final to win it.

• 35.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Papoose.

Xenophobia means the resentment or fear of foreigners. If a line of thought exists that foreigners are not welcome ahead of locals, that is xenophobia.

The Stormers management are not, some supporters are though.

Why must I watch my words? Am I not allowed to express my opinion. You are not my mate as far as I know.

• 36.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

I hope that the Stormers fans who are going on about the Cheetahs on this thread realize that none of them had anything to do with Carr’s injury. It was just a freak accident, with no tackle involved, as he was rushing into a ruck. Watching it I knew immediately he had torn his ACL.

• 37.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Also, Sinclair looked pretty good to me. Some of you guys are blind.

• 38.cab: Reply to this comment

they normally do the acl if skiing, thats a really bad injury, i think its probably worst than a fracture – things always weak – poor bugger, young talent.

• 39.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-38: @cab(cab)-38:

Isn’t the cruciate ligament the really bad one?

• 40.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-39:

Unless the “C” in ACL stands for cruciate.

As you can see, I’m no medical expert.

• 41.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-40: Yes, that’s what the C stands for.

• 42.mettie: Reply to this comment

Luke Watson would be an inspirational choice. If not available, what about Kitshof. He has been a very good loosie.

• 43.super_pippo: Reply to this comment

Minimum 6 months, usually more.

• 44.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I don’t think Watson is eligible. But even if he could play, I wouldn’t pick him. Partly to spite keo and HSM, but mostly because he’s an egotist. Let him learn that there is no “god” in “team”.

• 45.cab: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-39:
    I think there are 2 or 3 of them, the anterior (A) and medial ligaments, but the anterior one is the one snow-skiers after get when you drop forward onto it from a height, the knee is pretty much kaput and they got problems rehabilitating it.

• 46.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-44:

In any case, don’t think the Stormers pay as well as the Kings. There’s no sense in Luke downgrading from a salary perspective…

• 47.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-46: Particularly when you consider he hasn’t played for a while (at least not the Kings games I saw). I think daddy’s paying him a tidy sum for little to no results.

• 48.cab: Reply to this comment

after = often, think anterior runs down centre of knee, medial on the sides.

they probably should use Watson if Fourie is out and he’s elligible.

• 49.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

This is sad news, some ACL injuries never come right.

I really hope Nizaam is one of those who do get back to full fitness.

• 50.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Since they’re poaching Canucks anyway, I reckon they should ship Kleeberger over here. I know he’s more of an openside flank, but he’s damn good.

But if it’s a straight replacement at 8 they’re after, Ernst Joubert or Joe van Niekerk would be my next phone call.

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.