Red tide consumes Chiefs

JON CARDINELLI watched a physically superior Reds outfit overcome the Chiefs in an important 42-27 win in Brisbane.

There was a period between the 30th and 38th minute where the Chiefs scored three unanswered tries and threatened to run away with the game. But the plucky Reds remained composed despite the 22-8 deficit, and struck back either side after half-time.

The Reds scored five tries in all against a side that up until this match had boasted the best defence in the tournament. Sunday’s match marked the first four-try bonus point of the season for the Reds, and the first time the Chiefs had conceded four or more tries.

The Chiefs were guilty of complacency in last week’s match against the Lions, and were made to pay for their mental lapses on this occasion. They stopped working at the collisions and breakdowns following that three-try burst as they probably felt the win was in the bag.

But the Reds kept on coming, and a brave piece of captaincy by James Horwill got the hosts back into the game right before the break.

Horwill turned down a kickable penalty and the Reds forwards controlled the ball well before it flew to Ben Lucas for a game-changing score.

The Reds built on this momentum after the break, keeping the ball close and punishing some slack Chiefs defending. Scott Higginbotham crashed over from close range and the cool goal-kicking of Mike Harris levelled the scores.

A piece of individual brilliance by Will Genia earned the hosts the lead, as the Wallabies scrumhalf first darted from the base and then outstripped the cover defence. It was a try not unlike the cracker Genia scored in last year’s final, and importantly in the context of the current season it earned the Reds a bonus point.

The Chiefs continued to battle at the breakdowns and collisions, with openside flank Liam Gill causing the visitors’ plenty of problems. Referee Marius Jonker missed a lot of infringements on both sides, but ultimately the Chiefs will regret not protecting the ball. Turnovers compromised their defence on this occasion.

Their lineout also had a forgettable outing. Conversely, the Reds were in fine form at this set piece, and it was from a lineout where they set a powerful and unstoppable maul. Saia Faingaa burrowed over to score the Reds’ fifth try, and from this point the game was Queensland’s to lose.

The Chiefs managed to score one more try through Asaeli Tikoirotuma, a score that earned them a bonus point. But there was just no stopping the Reds juggernaut, and Harris added a further drop goal and penalty to put the result beyond doubt.

197 Comments

• 1.thesaint: Reply to this comment

Why in Kimberly? WP never lost a match?

• 2.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Saint? Jy gedrink…?! Wat praat jy van?

• 3.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Go Chiefs….Tino Rangatiratanga

• 4.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Flippin intercepts….

• 5.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

nice try,go the Reds!

• 6.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

echo….echo…echo…Wilson..

• 7.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Harris is a very good player. To think the Blues thought he wasn’t good enough for them :roll:

• 8.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

lots of turn overs so far

• 9.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

sanette bin dollarbill pushing a tackled players head into the ground
    karma is gonna get you

• 10.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Oooo jinne it’s Marius

• 11.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

SBW karmalising Harris

• 12.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Interesting, if the Sharks beat the Bulls and the Stormers at King’s Park, and the Bulls beat the Stormers at Loftus, then the Sharks will end above the Stormers in the SA conference.

Things are still gonna get interesting.

• 13.viewer: Reply to this comment

Earth to thesaint. . .Do you copy? Over

• 14.viewer: Reply to this comment

Replied to a phantom article, our friend :grin:

• 15.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Need to fillet and gill Reds flanker

• 16.Dawn: Reply to this comment

The saint just invented a new “dragons”

• 17.Transformation: Reply to this comment

marius is s(hit! Just utter s(hit the scrums are a lottery with him.

• 18.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Magtag Sunni Bin looks fit!

• 19.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

good try
    good running game so far

• 20.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Chiefs just sublime.

• 21.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Sonny Bin Laden and the Chiefs looking good.

• 22.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-18:

Don’t say anything good about that oke. It doesn’t fit with my worldview.

• 23.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Fabulous.

Our rugby is trash compared to this.

• 24.Transformation: Reply to this comment

kahui is soo fragile.

• 25.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Kahui broken again.

• 26.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-23:

That doesn’t fit with my worldview either. What’s wrong with you today?

• 27.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

kahui off injured
    looks serious

• 28.Dawn: Reply to this comment

He’s hot, he’s fit, he’s good.

• 29.Dawn: Reply to this comment

That arm looks broken

• 30.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Taumalolo try scoring ace

• 31.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Tacitus. Check out your opposition for next week.

• 32.Transformation: Reply to this comment

reds are lus for a comeback!

• 33.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Oops wrong team it’s Highlanders!

It’s early

• 34.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-12:
    Interesting indeed this game of rugby.Say for instance the Stormers beat the Bulls and the Sharks I guess that would propel them back up to the top of the leaderboard.

• 35.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Well done by little Lucas.

• 36.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Gonna be a brill 2nd half

• 37.spartan: Reply to this comment

cheating ****** ref

• 38.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Superbru do you bet like that

Stormers will never beat the Bulls and Sharks

• 39.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Too easy.

• 40.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Good start Reds…..reflection on first half me hopes

• 41.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I have to start saying things that fit Tac’s worldview.

• 42.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-41: Maak die Bulle almal Bokke.

• 43.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

brilliant try
    magic game to watch

• 44.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Wow Genia!!!!!!!

• 45.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

First bonus point try by any Aussie team this year, I think.

• 46.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

What was Masaga doing? Made Genia look like Jesse Owens

• 47.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I love this game!

We are rubbish!

• 48.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

try!
    reds are on fire

• 49.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

What a game!

• 50.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

the reds are playing like the sharks

• 51.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Cue deadeye Harris!

• 52.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Not looking good…..momentum is a bittch..

• 53.spartan: Reply to this comment

chiefs will struggle to beat this ref

• 54.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@50 the kukkest comment ever.

• 55.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

sanette bin williams shot his load early
    how is karma working for you now?

• 56.Transformation: Reply to this comment

basketball score!

• 57.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

At least you and Sonny have something in common….

• 58.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

the game seem to have turned when the chiefs centre went off injured
    this is the sharp rnd of the tournament and he may well be out for lo

• 59.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@57 rangi!

• 60.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Harris is class.

• 61.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

good drop
    you have to get away with points if you are in that area of the fieldfor so many phases

• 62.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Deadeye Harris! Mom here.

• 63.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I mean MOM!

• 64.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

that was not a tip tackle
    no number
  • 65.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this is bullshit, morahan still plays just because the rules say you can’t ask the tmo to identify the culprit

• 66.Dawn: Reply to this comment

White card

• 67.spartan: Reply to this comment

almost looks like the ref is making sure the reds win

• 68.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Chiefs need to lift now……Reds winning contact battle around fringes

• 69.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ooooo close!

• 70.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

left over braaivleis from the previous night is the best breakfeast in the world
    serious
    steak with pepper sauce

• 71.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Chiefs losing their own lineouts watsupwiththat

• 72.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

cynical offside play by the chiefs

• 73.Transformation: Reply to this comment

well done reds! What a game

• 74.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

So Bulls top of the log now?

• 75.Falken: Reply to this comment

SBW probably the slowest backline player in the competition. Even JDV showed some decent pace last night!

• 76.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Good on the Reds….. playing good rugby……Chiefs need bonus point

• 77.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

12 @ Tacticus

Interesting,

If the Bulls lose to the Highlanders and Chiefs and get knocked by either the Stormers or Sharks…………………………you should be more worried about the Bulls as they need to win all their remaining tour games

• 78.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Gill is causing havoc.

• 79.RL: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-74: thanks to the “Bulls” ref.

• 80.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-79:

Didn’t see the game, so don’t know what you’re talking about.

Off to church.

• 81.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-76:
    Oh they’ve got one…..good

• 82.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Well Played Reds. Rescued my Superbru for the weekend.

• 83.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Nando’s Pepper Sauce is the best,has a nice little hint of peri peri aswell.

• 84.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Tac didn’t see the game

Hmmmm

• 85.Transformation: Reply to this comment

david pocock, michael hooper, liam gill…

Advantage Australia in the opensider stakes, quality all around!

• 86.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Chiefs not too bad….. but too many handling errors….

• 87.David: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-80:
    Is Loftus open today?

• 88.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-84: Maybe he doesn’t allow himself to watch rugby on Sundays. Too exciting.

• 89.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

church starting at 10…
    someone is telling porky pies

• 90.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

The Ab tactic of eliminating superior Aussie fetchers not being adhered to by Super teams. Have to run at them and force them to be the first up tackler.

• 91.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

Can anyone explain to me how any team can benefit from a yellow card infringement because Assistant.referee could not get the number of the player.
    Is it too much to involve the TV-Ref.Chiefs were hard done by as the same player, who should not have been on the field rescued the Reds on at least three occasions and stopped the Chiefs from scoring.

• 92.RL: Reply to this comment

@Brentie1(Brentie1)-91: Jonker realised the danger and let it go by unpunished!

• 93.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Maybe it is against his religion to watch rugby on a Sunday. Quite possible.

• 94.RL: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-93: happy mothers day old lady.

• 95.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Thank you, but I’m not a mother

• 96.RL: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-95: are you sure :razz:

• 97.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Yes.

• 98.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

best reffed game i have seen all season.

• 99.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Oh dear this new name above is going to cause a lot of “returning serves”…………

• 100.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Amyonf with Prick in their nic has signaled their trolling intentions.

• 101.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-100: Yep. But obvious troll or not some of our kiwi friends will “return serve” nonetheless. I think they see it as their moral duty to defend their Queen and country against all manner of perceived slight. Either that, or they are an extremely sensitive bunch……….

• 102.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Good victory for the Reds.

• 103.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

This victory by the Reds makes the top half of the table very interesting.

Well done to the Rebels and the Reds for bringing some much needed upset excitement to Super rugby.

• 104.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

blitzbokke vs nz sevens at 11:59
    hope itis a cracker

• 105.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Who could have foreseen the Crusaders, Chiefs and Hurricanes all losing this weekend?

What a pity the Cheetahs couldn’t follow through either, they deserved a win too.

• 106.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Hurricanes = Highlanders

• 107.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-104: won’t be, NZ will murder them. SA 7s has gone to pot.

• 108.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Liam Gill and Will Genia dominated this game

• 109.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

So after 12 rounds Sa´s loose forward stocks are dwindlingat an insane pace. We dont have many outstanding centres to speak off and fullback remains a question mark. If you had to pick a side now based on form/ experience (cos lets face ti people liek Spies will be in the 22 no matter what) who will it be?

Heres my take on it:
    1 Beast
    2 Bismarck
    3 Jannie dup (dont like him but how the hell else?)
    4 Etzebeth
    5 Becker
    6 Brussouw
    7 CJ Stander (toss up between him and Marcell Coetzee – alberts not impressing at the moment)
    8 Spies (cant see any other 8 making the grade now Vermeuelen is out)
    9 Francois Houghaard
    10 M Steyn
    11 Habana
    12 Frans Steyn
    13 Juan de Jongh
    14 Gio Aplon
    15 Patrick Lambie

16 Coenie Oosthuisen or Cj van der Linde (due to versatility not form)
    17 Adriaan Strauss
    18 Bakkies Botha or Juandre Kruger (open to debate)
    19 Johnson (most dynamic option off the bench though Kolisi and Marcell Coetzee deserve to be there too)
    20 Fourie du Preez (no-one is relaly impressing at 9 apart from Houghaard)
    21 Lwazi Mvovo
    22 Jean de Villiers

• 110.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Drop Habana for Hougaard, put Pietersen at the other wing, du Preez at 9, someone else at 13 and your backline will start to take shape.

• 111.David: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-109:
    Your lock backup shouldn’t be open for debate. It has to be Juandre as Bekker is injury prone and he can also play 7.
    Alberts should be there instead of Johnson, not because he’s a better player, but because he provides more options to cover 4, 7 and 8 in case of injuries.

• 112.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-109:

Nice side. personally I go for WP Nel and CJ vd Linder time is over.
    Marcell Coetzee deserves be there. Has being one of the most consistent loose forwards in S15 do far.

• 113.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-109:

Kolisi
    Marcell Coetzee
    CJ Stander

all deserve selection but no room for all against England

• 114.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-113:

Marcell Coetzee is powerful, but his skill levels let him down at times.

• 115.macshark: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-109:

Ruan Pienaar has been playing very well at 9 for Ulster and looks to have shaken off his previous inconsistency. I would put him on the bench as he is versatile and has been kicking very well too this year and kicked a monster penalty last year a Frans Steyn would have been proud of (check it out on Youtube at “Ruan Pienaar – Monster penalty-goal – Leinster v Ulster”)

• 116.David: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-114:
    Agree, he needs a bit more experience at S15 level. Personally with all the injuries, I’d seriously consider Juandre at 7, which is where he was playing before returning to SA.

• 117.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-114:

valid point.

sadly. as stated here. Meyer will rely heavy on experience so I dont expect many new faces.

• 118.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-117:

Loose trio will be interesting, given all the injuries.

Brussouw is underperforming this season – although that could just be due to the poor team he is playing in at the moment.

Schalk is injured, as is Juan Smith.

Ironically, that leaves only Spies as a certain starter in my book, with an in-form Brussouw a must, but the current Brussouw, not so sure.

I’d just go Spies, Alberts and Brussouw for the first test and see how they go.

With CJ Stander on the bench.

• 119.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Lambie’s starting to impress me at flyhalf, hasn’t played at fullback this season so shouldn’t be considered in the position.
    But against the Poms this will definately be HM 1st choice backline:

Du Preez, Steyn, Habana, Steyn, De Jong, Hougaard, Kirchner

Will put money on this.

• 120.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Jeraldjay

Incorrect. Meyer rates Lambie – at fullback and will pick him there ahead of Kirchner.

And I reckon Hougaard will be a straight swap for Habana. Also don’t think Meyer will pick de Jong ahead od De villiers.

• 121.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-118:

agree. I believe meyer wont care too much about S15 form for his first hit out.

Spies, Alberts and Brussouw – and I would go for Deysel in mix as well.

• 122.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-120:

Only problem is, that team will be a bit light on Transformers.

Especially if Hougaard is on the wing and Lambie at fullback.

• 123.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Transformers.:D

• 124.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-122: I seriously thing Fourie is now past it, it is unfair to make Hougaard play another position for Fourie.

Also Ruan has been in brilliant form, why should he have to sit out?? When last has anyone even seen Fourie Dup?? we have no idea if he is in good shape or not, he should not be chosen purely because he is HM’s buddy

Hougaard should start 9 with Ruan on the bench

• 125.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-124:

To me it’s about Hougaard being worth more to the team at wing than at no.9.

The extra space just makes him more devestating with ball in hand.

And if it’s a choice between Ruan Pienaar and Du Preez, I’d pick Du Preez any day.

• 126.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

this would be my backline and reserves

9 Hougaard
    10 Lambie
    11 Habana/Mvovo
    12 F Steyn
    13 JDiv
    14 JPP
    15 Aplon

22 Ruan
    21 JDJ
    20 M Steyn

Pity Goosen is Injured

• 127.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-125: I hear ya Tac but I think thats the good thing about having our own views

And i aint a anti Fourie person , i just think its Hougaards time and his form is brilliant

• 128.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-126:

Your team exposes the Boks to great danger.

Namely the danger of utter ridicule should either half of the Dodgy Dancing Duo happen to score a try in a Bok jersey while in the team together.

• 129.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-128: who is the dancing duo??

• 130.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-129:

You mean you haven’t had the misfortune of seeing the Aplon/De Jongh two step when one of them scores a try?

Makes you want to bury your head in shame.

• 131.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-130: nope to be honest

• 132.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-131: with goosen injured the only other option to would be then to play morne at 10 and lambie 15

Jacques Fourie left a big hole by not wanting to play bok rugby right now

• 133.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-132:

That’s who they will run out, barring injury.

• 134.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-130:

You are so old school its is scary.
    For fark sakes, if the players want to celebrate in a different way then what you are used to let them do it.
    After a while they will get bored of it and then there might be something new again.
    Things change all the time and thank goodness for that.

• 135.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-134:

should not be doing it in a BOk jersey – respect jersey

• 136.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-120:
    Irrespective of HM rating Lambie or not he hasn’t played at fullback this season.

I also think your perceived team selection is naïve, in terms of transformation which HM has to adhere to.
    He cannot select, Du Preez, Steyn, Hougaard,De Villiers, JPP, Lambie.
    The numbers just don’t add up which is a reality.

• 137.RL: Reply to this comment

Why is that windgatcprick Philip Burger playing for the pygmies?

• 138.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-136: Well Lambie has not played a full game this S15 at fb BUT he has played there a few times for 20min or so.

Tac is right Meyer does rate Lambie plenty. He said so during the wc that Lambie was a terrific talant and can’t be left out the team. Well now is a new year of course, but I think the same as Tac that Meyer will select Lambie and he will select him at fb.

• 139.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-135:

I do not see how this can in any way be disrespectful towards the jersey.
    Nowadays you see sponsors names on the bok jersey, players wearing multicoloured togs, heavily tattood players (read Hougaardt) wearing the jersey,etc …
    The times they are a changin , i reckon people must just “lighten” up a bit.

• 140.Puma: Reply to this comment

Think this might be the team that Meyer will select:

Beast
    Bissie
    Jannie
    Etsebeth
    Bekker
    Brussow
    Marcell (this position not sure as quite a few injuries)
    Spies
    Hougaard
    M. Steyn
    Habs
    Frans Steyn
    J. De Villiers
    JPP
    Lambie

• 141.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-138: meant – talent

• 142.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What are Transformers?

Besides the movie of course

• 143.RL: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-142: ask transformer, he will tell you.

• 144.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-142: well you get transformers in electronic or electrical equipment lol

• 145.RL: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-140: not a chance, too many guppies in there.

Jannie dup not Bok quality, JDV will feature at 12 with de Jongh at 13. Steyn will play fullback and Elstad is the best blindside flank around.

• 146.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-138:
    Puma don’t get me wrong, I rate Lambie but I believe in playing players in the position that best suites their game. In my opinion Lambie’s best position is flyhalf.

The other FB contenders are (1). Riaan Viljoen (sorry but I don’t rate the guy). (2). Joe Pietersen (I rate this guy but he is inexperienced at international level). (3) Kirchner (his one dimensional but has some international experience and has played under HM )

But Lambie will be in pole position at FB. Hope he doesn’t become another Brent Russel or Ruan Pienaar.

• 147.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

RL and his anti Shark rants… Just love it… Marcell is one of the finds of the season and will be a bok…

• 148.RL: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-147: not big enough to be part of a loose tri featuring light weights in Brossow and Spies, admit it.

Tell me why the Lamb is a better option at 15 than Steyn and why de Jongh is not the automatic first choice 13?

• 149.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

I love how the Sharks folks select a Springbok team with 7 Sharks players LOFL. Jannie Du Plessis……………are you for real? Biggest disgrace to wear a SB jersey. JPP??? Hahahahahaahaha. Francois “knock on” Steyn? Then in the Bulls camp………………..Zane Kirchner and FDP……………..hilarious! Keep it coming guys.

• 150.RL: Reply to this comment

@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-149: guppies will soon circle you and accuse you of being anti guppy … but you are spot on 7 guppies is ridiculous when you consider that the top players are all playing for the Stormers and Bulls.

• 151.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Kitschof has been the find of the season but I guess the blinkers are on

• 152.David: Reply to this comment

@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-151:
    You just don’t understand. The Guppies fans reckon that they have the best players in the country, and it’s only their coaches that prevent them from winning every game. :lol:

• 153.RL: Reply to this comment

Did Mauler cower away? Does he and other guppies not get it. Lambie is no fullback. His lack of pace compliments his lack of a kicking game. Now we all know that Meyer likes his fullbacks to have a big boot to play his accurate kicking game. Having pace does not hurt either. Yet disenfranchised guppies will punt Lamb chops as the best fullback option around … simply because he is black and white.

This reminds me how the guppies punted for that coward Hargreaves. Everyone else called him useless. But guppies called him the real deal and turned a blind eye to his kakness and cowardice

• 154.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I wouldn’t mind seeing a coupla transformers on the field

• 155.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-145:

“Elstad is the best blindside flank around.”

around Disneyland

• 156.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-151:

I think that title belnongs to CJ Stander or Marcell Coetzee

WP Nel bendt him over as well

• 157.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Liam Gill
    Michael Hooper
    David Pocock

Wallabies well stocked with quality out and out fetchers

• 158.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Brussouw needs to dominate against Poms who dont have a fetcher in Robshaw

• 159.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

I to do not rate Jannie duP very highhly

scrummaging inconsistent and WP nel is far stronger and has being form SA TH

• 160.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Hargreaves goes in my worst Boks ever list

• 161.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Reds just missing a solid front row…play smart rugby to compensate

• 162.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Meyer squad will be very predictatable

• 163.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-153:

How is it possible to win a watered down Currie Cup and then get moered by every team and the blind school?

Clearly it’s not the fault of the coach otherwise he’d not have taken you Lazy Lions to a CC final so who can it be. I have a strange feeling that even Clive Woodward and Grumpy Henry would be tearing out their last strands of hair with that lot.

Useless and dumb comes to mind. The most colossal one hit wonder team in living memory and STILL an everlasting embarrassment to South African rugby.

• 164.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Man City the Champs….

Well done boys…

United must be gutted – two goals in last five minutes for Man City…

• 165.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Gerber say it all in one post why don’t you

• 166.Jokerstotheright: Reply to this comment

There is nothing more passionate and dramatic as English football at most levels.

The proudest Skyblues of old have to be Colin Bell, Ian Ball and fatty Frannie Lee
    I am so proud of them and my Skyblues. It has been 44years of agony that has come to a glorious end. The Scum on the other side of the city are now just the bums.

• 167.Jokerstotheright: Reply to this comment

Those boys of ’68 have just hugged the crazy Italian,Roberto Mancini. Despite him City will lift the cup of the toughest club competition on this planet.

• 168.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Jokerstotheright(Mostofyou)-167:

Yeah so happy for the guys…man how was that last second goal… Well deserved and would have been injustice had it gone the other way…

• 169.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

159 @ Gerber

Funny I didn’t see it. WP Nel has been around for a long time. Was demolished on an EOYT a few seasons ago. Real deal? I think not.

• 170.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

Du Plessis is solid enough, but a yellow card liability. of note.

• 171.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

Kitshoff is def the prop find of the season, but he is only 20. he has a lot of time to get to the Bok team. last thing you need is to have his confidence smashed by picking him too early.

• 172.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Jannie is not strong in the scrum or with ball in hand. I really cannot understand his continued selection.

• 173.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

RL I dont cower away… Do have a life… Lambie will be FB live with it!! You cant take it Lambie is showing up your flowerboy Jantjies!! The only Lion worth a mention is Taute and he wont be selected!

• 174.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Pee Wee the find of the season is Etsebeth hands down!! Kitshoff is great but give him a little more time…

• 175.Papoose: Reply to this comment

Kitshoff is too young, put him on the bench and allow him to develop!

• 176.Papoose: Reply to this comment

Lambie @15 for me is fine for me. Solid boot, tactically astute, can take pressure off 10 channel

• 177.Jokerstotheright: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-168:

Incredible stuff this, all of it.

Sorry , was on the phone to San. Fran., U.S. and just read this now. That winning stunner, in the most dramatic fashion was scored by the coolest, calmest, sanest Latino, Aguero, as opposed to the mad, insane latino trio of Mancini, Balotelli and Tevez who did their damnest to bring it all down with their seasonal actions.

That was surely the craziest end to the craziest season at the Skyblues.

I have never seen so many wives, mothers,girlfriends, fathers, boys, old men cry before the end when they thought that had lost it all and then again at the final whistle when they realised that they won it.

Nothing provided more pleasure than the look of dismay on the faces of the Man. U. players who for about 60 secs. thought they had won it until they suddenly heard the roar of the Sunderland fans which said otherwise.

• 178.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-110: Personally I agree Houghaard at 11 is always a good option with FDP at 9, Pietersen has shown nothing this season to warrant inclusion in my team. No x factor of any kind. I relaly dont know about him. he seems to step up for the Bok games a bit but in general he is a bit anonymous. Aplon has the x factor and his defence is impeccable so I´ll take him over JP any day. Juan de Jongh at 13 is still one of our best options. Who would you put at 13? Engelbrecht? nowhere. Sadie – lost form. Bosman – useless. Whitehead – not there yet. Ebersohn – definite option but size a factor. Andries Strauss – one dimensional and a liabilty penalty wise. Allywyn Hollenbach – blows hot and cold. I mean relaly – we have a big problem at centre at present. otherwise it will have to be 12 Jdv 13 F Steyn or vice versa. Personally I still think de Jongh is a good option.
    Thanks for the input!

• 179.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-111: Basically if you have adequate lock cover be it Bakkies or Juandre then your loose option only needs to cover 7 and 8 – Johsnon provides both and he is far more dynamic off the bench. A year ago I would have said Alberts without a doubt but the guy is slower and slower and seems to be not quite present anymore in matches – he isnt the destructive force he used to. May be due to injuries in the past – not sure – he has it in him to get there again but on present form i´m not convinced.

• 180.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-112: Agree on WP Nel – only added CJ in for versatility – Coenie could be another option but he got bliksemd yesterday so i´m not so convinced about him scrum wise anymore. Wp Nel – good but also hasnt totally convinced me – i´ll be honest – so far there isnt one tighthead I would say is an absolute MUST.

• 181.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-113: yes thats a conundrum and I agree all deserving – and before injury so were Jacques Potgieter and Duane Vermeulen. With the current spate of injuries they may well end up being the loose trio. Who knows? All I know is we are running out of options fast. Its the curse of the loosies at present – and all out with long term knee injuries. Brussouw must be getting nervous. Even Stegmann who I dont rate is out again.

• 182.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-114: Ja I also have blown hot and cold on him – and sometimes I feel he appears more dynamic than he is. Time will tell but he certainly looks like he could make the step up.

• 183.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@macshark(macshark)-115: Yeah – must sya Ive never been a huge Pienaar fan but he does seem to have hit some consistent form – question is can he bring that into the test arena? People were saying the same of him last year – he played on test and it all went hideously wrong. In case I would still go with the FDP option – at least I know what i´m getting and he is apparently also hitting some new form – but yeah Pienaar may just be the man – one will only know if he´s thrown in the deep end again.

• 184.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-117: He may have no choice if you ask me and I think some of the young guys are bashing down the door at present. Meyer seemed to be fairly open to trying new talent out.

• 185.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-118: I agree with you – Brussouw has also lost his edge – but so has Alberts. using 2 out of form players as well as Spies (who I also agree is strangely the only sure starter) I would have to say you have to roll the dice and play at least one of the new guys to inject something into that rather limp loose trio. That someone would be either CJ Stander, Kolisi or Marcell Coetzee in my opinion. I would personally choose Stander or Kolisi with Johnson on the bench – he´splaying more dynamically than the others.

• 186.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-130: key words in that sentence – scores a try.. by your own admission they are scoring them hehe I would still have both in my team. Dancing or not – if they danced like Danny Cipriani I would totally agree with you. The dancing thing is getting a bit ludicrous though – have to agree – I see a bit of football jump onto a guy gayness has also hit rugby. Its a bit too intimate for my liking – hugging your little kanters up against the hevaing chest of the try scorer and clinging on like a little nagapie. Its just a bit wrong – as wrong as the fall on top of the try scorer in a loving embrace on the ground thing lol.

• 187.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-151: Ja but then who is he going to replace? Beast, Gurthro or Greyling? Secondly he wont be available due to playing in the Junior Bok team

• 188.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-153: I´m no Sharks fan and Lambie has been one of the outstanding backline players in Sa in the Super 15 this year. not sure where they will fit him in but he deserves to be in any Bok team.

• 189.spartan: Reply to this comment

The Chiefs smashed the Reds scrum
    and where immediately penalised for ******** the scrum
    thus turning the Chiefs strength into a weakness
    that one ruling ended the game as a contest
    South African refs
    the more things change the more they stay the same

• 190.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

we are RED !!!

• 191.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

Referee was a complete and utter numpty, whistling by guesswork. Which rugby-sh*t nation of lobotomized losers produced him ?

• 192.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

nice one reds….

• 193.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

Wow, the wooden spooners of Australia really helped out SA this weekend, thanks mates.

• 194.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-187: Like the man said in the thread later, he (Kitshof) is only 20 years old. He has lots of time to mature, let him get coached and at 21 or 22 let him take his spot.

You have to admit, he has been bosing some of the older boys (J Du Plessis) and held his own against some of the best (Franks) at scrum time and his defence is great, not better than beast but a very good second choice come next year.

• 195.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-193:

More like the wooden spooners of RSA always lend a hand to the bulls and stormers. The bulls will always take between 16 – 20 points from the cheetahs and lions i.e. 10 more points as a gift compared to the other conferences.

Cheetahs and lions have been perenially the worst super teams.

• 196.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-194: most definitely – not disputing that at all – but I think in his case it would definitley be wise to give him a year more to develop. He has been bossing some of the senior props no doubt – very tempting to shove him into the Boks now but I also think we have a welath of depth at 1 so he will have to bide his time for the next year – when the time is right he will be there no doubt about it.

• 197.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-183:

total agree about Pienaar – has really faded at test level with all his opportunities. Anyone can be a star in Europe IMO

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.