Mbalula wants PdV back

Sports Minister Fikile Mbalula is bringing former Springbok coach Peter de Villiers back into rugby to assist with development.

Mbalula told Sowetan that the government wants De Villiers to develop the best model for grassroots rugby in the country.

‘We are engaging him,’ he said. ‘The man has a wealth of knowledge that we need to tap into. Peter has done well for the country, including winning big events with the junior national teams.’

Mbalula believes that De Villiers, who was coach of the 2005 world champion Baby Bok side, could assist with the development of talent in less traditional rugby centres such as townships and villages.

‘There is talent in abundance in the townships and villages in Gugulethu, Khayelitsha and the Eastern Cape. We want to see schools in Seshego, Bloemfontein, Mamelodi and other townships also playing rugby and producing great players for the Springboks.’

However, De Villiers said on Monday that he had no knowledge of Mbalula’s proposal, but said he would be interested in taking up a development post.

‘Let me tell you, if one can give back to your country it is good news,’ De Villiers told SAPA.

83 Comments

• 1.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Pdivvy wise old dragon?

• 2.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

snorra does
    openly
    support the
    ay en see
    so
    it is just
    another
    cadre
    deployment

• 3.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

dumb wants dumber….

• 4.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

You need lots and lots of black Sadtu schoolteachers to make the same unselfish sacrifices of their time and skills to teach the game to the same kids they teach. And not to rush straight home every day at 2pm.

• 5.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

“Current Poll
    What’s the best way to accommodate the Kings in 2013?
    Cheetahs and Lions must play as Cats
    Lions must be relegated”

stupid
    poll
    how about
    most obvious
    option
    kings must
    earn
    their place

• 6.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-4:

You are correct but it’s not all their time

At my daughters school the teachers are not allowed to leave before 4pm (if they have no extramurals running past that time)
    They don’t leave before 4pm and the sports and extra murals have the required teachers.
    It is a private school though with a tough head/vice etc,

The good schools also have teachers that either want to teach sport or have to teach sport.

Lower down the ladder you have a double problem
    a) Not enough teacher discipline
    b) Even if the discipline exists who wants to teach rugby?

• 7.viewer: Reply to this comment

Its ironic that government itself can support a bastard_ised & dead-end secondary stream of youth rugby and call it development
    Rugby in our country is only marginally less exclusive than polo, for all intents &
    purposes

• 8.scrumfan: Reply to this comment

If I had 3 wishes one of them would be to see P Divvy in a debate with George W Bush, on any topic.

• 9.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Well Done PDivvy.

• 10.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

@scrumfan(scrumfan)-8:

or with
    obama’s
    teleprompter

• 11.ufo: Reply to this comment

this is good news…

pdivvie’s passion for the game cannot be doubted… plus he’s had success with the under20 boks…

so think he’d be a perfect fit for such a position…

and yes… i can’t help but like the guy…

good luck to him…

• 12.viewer: Reply to this comment

Some sports are not meant to be widely participated in. The sooner the govt accepts that, the better
    Its a matter of facilities & resources & historical affinity with the game

• 13.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

This is a good move. He has the prestige of being an ex-bok coach plus a lot of knowledge and experience. His inability to take effective charge as Bok coach will not be an issue here.

• 14.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

What a relief for Divvy. The lady at Career Junction was getting sick of him already.

• 15.mushu: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-3: love it

• 16.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-4: the coach at Ithembelihle High School in Zwide township is a great guy called Theo Pieterse. this man coaches for the love of the game and is a beacon of light in our region.

• 17.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Pdivvy will be coaching a varsity team next year. You heard it here first – Slappes has informants everywhere.

• 18.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@viewer(viewer)-12:
    Are you the oldest person in Sa?

• 19.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Slappes(Slappes)-17: UWC?

• 20.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Slappes(Slappes)-17:

which one bud…?

• 21.charo: Reply to this comment

always had a soft spot for divvie.

mainly because he managed to p*ss the kiwis off so much

• 22.ufo: Reply to this comment

does anyone know what happened to the young coach of the wp craven weak team from two years ago…?

just can’t remember his name now…

very good coach… would’ve expected to start seeing him coming through the wp ranks now…

• 23.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-21:
    hehe…..Its weird cos I miss him……a comedic genius.

• 24.Bloues: Reply to this comment

I’m really glad that someone as passionate about rugby as Peter is can get the opportunity to hone the skills of under privileged youngsters. I handled an Under 15 B match this weekend and I enjoyed it very much.

Then I had to endure 70 minute as an AR for the first team. We had to deal with a bunch of katsesnor prima donnas questioning the Ref’s every decision.

These boys are only eighteen and all of them have already forgotten what rugby is about.

• 25.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Let him coach the Sowetan school team.

• 26.charo: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-22:

freudian slip?

• 27.charo: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-23:

he even got john keys in a lather when he delayed the boks arrival at hamilton(?) as “there was nothing to do there”

funny oke.

• 28.ufo: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-26:

sharp today bud…

progressing…

• 29.Falken: Reply to this comment

“the government wants De Villiers to develop the best model for grassroots rugby in the country”
    He can be responsible for watering the grass at all the stadiums. Thats a perfect job for Div.

• 30.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

At least at Soweto High he doesn’t need to be understood as he speaks pidgin english anyway.

• 31.mad eye: Reply to this comment

How sad for this pathetic puppet,to go from coaching the World Champions,to having to rely on government handouts..
    Poor man should never have been given the job in the first place,the fact that he cannot even get a high school coaching job now shows exactly how useless he always was.
    If he had any credentials to the top rugby job in the world in the first place,teams
    Should be queing up fpr his services.

• 32.charo: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-28:

i hang on to every word you type…………

• 33.ufo: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-32:

that’s more than i deserve… :wink:

i’m afraid i’ve been letting you down recently… :lol:

• 34.cane: Reply to this comment

Crusty,
    not the Worlds best Coach,
    but,
    perhaps the most entertaining.

I wish him well.

• 35.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Never saw him fighting for JW?

• 36.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-34:
    Think the guy is actually a decent coach, all things considered. His biggest failures IMO was the employment of Dickie and Gold as assistant.
    Dickie – 0 from 12 at the Lions before Mitchell took charge at the Coke tin.
    Gold – the last WP forwards coach, when the Breezers pack was still known as the light five. Step in Proudfoot.
    How these boys bamboozled SARU @ interview time is beyond me :lol:

• 37.Sir Watson: Reply to this comment

All of u dummies,

its fine when Straueli is given a chance after the Bokke most entered the most embarassing era with kamp Staaldraad to join Sharks as their Commercial Manager,

its okay for Frans Ludeke to be fired by Lions for winning two out of 14 games and finish second last then be given a new chance by the Bulls,

its yet fine for Eugene Eloff to be given a chance as Director of coaching at Boland after coaching the Lions to wooden spoon in Super 14,

YET its not fine for Pieter De Villiers to be given a chance to assist in youth development because he failed to win World Cup for Boks yet had so much success in the youth rugby.

His blackness is his crime and I guess there is no redemption for a black man in SA

• 38.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Sir Watson,
    Good of you to bring race into the equation.

• 39.The_Don: Reply to this comment

He wasn’t very good at senior international level but has a good record at youth level. Best place for him IMO…

• 40.mad eye: Reply to this comment

@ 37.Sir Watson
    That is exactly the point all those other coaches were offered jobs ,because they were appointed soley on their ability to coach.
    PedV was never appointed to anything on his coaching ability,that is why when there is no political pressure there is no job for him.

• 41.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Sir Watson(rugbinho)-37:
    Share your sentiments re ‘the Div’…
    Would like to see him @ The Lions. I feel that he’ll be able to lure quite a bit of talent from Boland to the tin. Let’s face it, the Lions may need affordable, yet talented players with their current financial whoes.
    PDiv has extensive rugby knowledge, he’ll need a PR man and probably similar course to polish up on his media relations. The guy is not really known for his command of the queen’s language.

• 42.Baylion: Reply to this comment

@viewer(viewer)-12:

“Some sports are not meant to be widely participated in. The sooner the govt accepts that, the better”

Surely you’re not talking about rugby.

“Its a matter of facilities & resources & historical affinity with the game”

Historical affinity? What’s that?

• 43.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Katman, yip.

• 44.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Baylion(Baylion)-42:

He means that rugby is only for white people

• 45.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar(Pot Blou Gevaar)-41:

Like Reyhan, he needs some electrocution

• 46.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

deserves to have a job…keep him away from media and he be ok

• 47.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-46: Agreed, He’s a good coach with good experience.

• 48.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Baylion(Baylion)-42: don’t worry, in his mind the fact that the genesis of afrikaners playing rugby was the sport being taught to them by the english in Boer War concentration camps is immaterial. :roll:

• 49.Hondo: Reply to this comment

For once I agreed with a quota lord :(
    PdV was a sound rugby coach who was thrusted into the Boks’ coach position despite never dealing with players older than 21 years old, his allies Smit , PdF and Matfield saw to his downfall but he had no choice in that matter really.
    He won me over by keeping The Beast and Chiliboi out of the match 22 in the QF against the Wallabies, it takes a lot of courage and integrity to do that

• 50.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-45:
    agreed…, BUT JA :sad:

• 51.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

all rugby supporters should be forced to drive through the eastern cape on saturdays, especilly the townships, and see how many rugby games are being played, vs soccer games, and the conditions that these people play in.

THEN come tell me about historical f#cking affinity. most kids in model C schools, (not to even mention the elite private schools) would simply stop playing if they had to contend with those conditions. and that is not a swipe at the model C schools, its simply a indication of the passion for rugby round here.

if that can be nurtured, and developed properly we are sitting on a potential goldmine of talent. problem is the development money is squandered year after year through inefficient administrators, and the local unions either are too weak, or too complicit to do anything about it.

that leads to a situation where all the talent from this area are running out for other franchises, and there are people the say the Kings dont deserve a chance to improve on the Lions horrible record.

• 52.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-11: Good post bud, agree totally.

• 53.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

a strong person to properly run development is the best idea i have heard for a long time, but that person would have to be independent and not have to answer to the PC. PdV is a strong indeoendent character, but they should appoint a 2ic for him, someone with a very strong corporate management background.

a retired CEO, or a retired judge for instance. a lot fo money is being pumped into development, but the leaks need to be plugged.

• 54.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2(roobarb2)-51:

Another problem is the dwindling amount of male teachers that teaches rugby in schools. Some previously strong rugby schools in my area (primary) hardly completes any more.

Very worrying!

• 55.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-54:

Competes

• 56.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

here in east london the traditional rugby schools like Selborne and Dale also have a challenge where the boys want to start playing soccer, and sports like hockey are seriously competing for talent. there is a lot of resistance to that but i feel you must let the kids play what they want to. I want my kids to be happy and they play waterpolo, and thats where their passion is. so they like practicing and they do well.

you cant force situations on people. just like i would rather try and find a outside coach than force a teacher to coach rugby, as his team will be spending a LOT of time bickering behind the poles.

• 57.Bloues: Reply to this comment

@Sir Watson(rugbinho)-37:

No, it wasn’t fine when those people were given their current jobs. There was an outcry on this site when Straully got the job at the Sharks as well as when Ludeke got the job at the Bulls.

Since then, Ludeke proved himself and Strually stayed quiet, so we just forget about their failures.

The way Peter’s skin color can play a role here is because it did play a role in his appointment. This lead to him getting a job he wasn’t ready to take. Not because he was black, but because he was inexperienced. A term under an experienced coach like Meyer would have done wonders for his development as an international coach.

Instead, he was given a job he wasn’t qualified for and he was relatively unsuccessful given the talent he had at his disposal.

We Saffa’s are an emotional lot and we don’t like losing. So Pete is being made a culprit while the real one who is supposed to be looking for a job is the sods who appointed him, but I have a feeling those guys are still doing their jobs.

Div’s a decent guy and I think he is at a place where he can add value to SA Rugby. Someone as passionate about the game as him must give that passion to our schoolboy players.

• 58.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Positive move for the development of South African rugby and I wish him well.

• 59.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Everybody wins, really.
    Hope his mandate includes club rugby and not only schools.

• 60.ufo: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2(roobarb2)-51:

great post bluebarb…!!

you need to repeat it whenever this debate comes up…

@Puma(Puma)-52:

shot bud…

• 61.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Bloues(Grootdrink)-57:
    Did he not do a term under Nick Mallet as assistent coach? Why was that not enough?

• 62.Uncle Oswald: Reply to this comment

I like this idea. Divvy has great rugby enthusiasm. I think he’s the perfect guy to drive a meaningful effort like this. I’d absolutely support it.

• 63.Uncle Oswald: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2(roobarb2)-51: This man speaks the truth.

• 64.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Ufo, late reply mate but yes hes going to U-dubz. You see Slappes was visiting at his parents in paarl for the wknd and guess who rang the frontdoor bell… (he came to see Slappes’ dad)

• 65.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-61:
    Hey Nama
    No idea where that one came from?
    1997 – Amature Club in Tyeberg
    1998-2000 – assistant coach for Western Province in the Currie Cup
    1999-2002 – South Africa national under-19 side
    2002-2003 – Falcons through the 2002 and 2003 Currie Cup
    2004-2006 SA national under-21

PdV never served under Mallett as far as the record tells me, please enlighten us

• 66.guangzhoupoes: Reply to this comment

ANC should focus on stamping out corruption and stay the f$&) away from rugby

• 67.guangzhoupoes: Reply to this comment

ANC should focus on stamping out corruption and stay the fark away from rugby

• 68.Bloues: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-65:

I also checked that up. Who coached WP between 98 and 2000?

My point was that Meyer was an assistant coach for the Boks and JW was one as well. There’s no doubt that much of their coaching skills were honed in that period.

Div’s resume before he got the Bok job wasn’t that impressive, and he spent the whole of 2008 learning the ropes, with his players peaking in 2009 and then he had to do a hospital job in the following two seasons.

We all knew that some changes had to be made after 2009, Div knew it as well. But any changes he would have made would be trial and error with no time before the World Cup and a very impatient rugby public.

• 69.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Can imagine his wife will be relieved to have him out the house for a while.

• 70.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Slappes(Slappes)-64:

and missed yours too bud…

cool story…

and chuffed for PDivvy… hope he’s stoked… great thats he’s got a chance to prove his detractors wrong…

all the best to him…

• 71.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

P Divvy cannot do anything. a quota failed coached in charge on grass roots rugby is frikin asking for serious kak and you ******** know it! and also on development,. your ******* ANC doesnt do development they just force blavks through the system thats where your problem begins and ends. they create a culture of self-pity and handouts. and most of these black players are not cut out for test rugby or high level rugby if they were such a gold mine these unions would have got them because it would have taken pressure off of themselves with these stupid cleft politicians on their backs. how many successes we had? far less than the failures.

• 72.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-70: @Bloues(Grootdrink)-68: no excuses peter made MANY changes in 2008 through to 2009 rotating between 7 fullbacks and many loose forward combos and trying out many centres and all his tinkering failed. he failed because he cant identify talent and doesnt understand the real value of a player and is too arrogant to learn blaming virtually everything else but himself. he never did a hospital job either… that was nienaber and rassie in 2010 while peter showed us what he couldnt do with a fairly strong group of new blood in the opening rounds of the TNs! peter is an idiot who knows jack **** about rugby, is too proud and arrogant to learn, has a massive chip on his shoulder and loves to play the race card to deflect criticism. he has no sense of responsibility, poor leadership is completely unprofessional and is ridiculously unintelligent. sure, put him at grassroots where he can feck the whole system up at its heart. the man is a disease and he only ran back to saru because nobody else in their right minds would hire him anywhere else on the planet.

• 73.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-16: Good on Pieterse. But you know as I do that in every old Model C school there’d be five or six Pieterse equivalents right there in the staffroom, coaching and reffing as best they can even if it was just for the skinnies and fatties in the Under 14E team scraping the 8am Saturday morning dew off the muddy cabbage patch. They’d put in the hours and weekends for free and for zero glory. Out of that comes the proper “culture” out of which excellence springs and is sustained year after year, decade after decade. Mbalula needs to get his Sadtu comrades to adopt that attitude. If they all shoot off home at 2pm every day, there won’t be any transformation as there just aren’t enough selfless Pieterses around to gather up all the slack.

• 74.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Good job Mr Minister!

Divvy certainly has skills and most importantly, enthusiasm, to impart to the youngsters. the guy breathes rugby.

i wish him well!

• 75.nicsm: Reply to this comment

If he can do anything at all to uplift grassroots rugby in disadvantaged areas then god speed to him. There’ll never be enough talent for the voracious South African ‘rugby machine’.

• 76.ossewa: Reply to this comment

It would be great if there was a bigger pool to draw players from. Screw soccer

• 77.ossewa: Reply to this comment

Screw soccer these boys should learn to play rugby, it is the only team sport where SA has won anything significant….imagine how strong SA would be if rugby was the no. 1 sport….

• 78.willievz: Reply to this comment

It’s a no-brainer.

Of course he should be involved in rugby development, at the minimum.

• 79.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-72: How did it fail? Despite those changes, 2008 and 2009 was his best years with the Boks.

It was in 2010 with injuries to many key players, and 2011 where his wheels came off.

One of our most successful national coaches ever, certainly regarding his record against the Kiwis.

• 80.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

with a translator who speaks snor, and a good admin person to back him up, he would be great. at the very least we would get some value for the money we spent on him for 4 years.

i like him despite myself. i saw him at a practice here n East London, and almost felt sorry for him, he seemed isolated. he was off to the side by himself most of the time.

• 81.willievz: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2(roobarb2)-80:

If the German football coach may speak German at press conferences, and the Lithuanian softball coach speaks Lithuanian to the media, why couldn’t PDV speak Afrikaans to the media?

• 82.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-81: goeie vraag. hoekom vra jy hom nie self nie?

• 83.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

He’s shy.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.