Sinclair set to start

Stormers coach Allister Coetzee is likely to start Jebb Sinclair against the Waratahs while a player from the WP Vodacom Cup side will come onto the bench.

Coetzee has already confirmed that Nizaam Carr will be out for the rest of the season. Nick Koster and Schalk Burger are only expected back from injury when the Stormers host the Lions on 30 June, while Coetzee is hoping Duane Vermeulen will be fit for the 7 July clash against the Cheetahs.

What this means is that the Stormers are likely to make do with what they have until the game against the Lions. Sinclair, a Canadian who has played 25 Tests, was brought into the mix in the middle of last week and subsequently impressed Coetzee with his display against the Cheetahs. Coetzee said Sinclair has proved that he can do a job for the Stormers at No 8.

‘Jebb did well when he came on for Nizaam. He slotted straight in, which as a player with international experience he was expected to do.

‘There were times when that experience was evident. I remember one clear incident when he made a try-saving tackle after reading the Cheetahs’ attack beautifully.’

While Coetzee is confident that Sinclair will continue in the same manner this week, he is still searching for another experienced player who can cover the No 8 position.

He was reluctant to reveal exactly who is on the shopping list, but gave the impression that all further attempts to lure an experienced player to Cape Town for a short spell have been unsuccessful.

What this means is that one of the loose forwards from Western Province’s Vodacom Cup side will come into the match 22. Coetzee said that it would be one of Don Armand or Nick Fenton-Wells, and that the decision would be made on Tuesday.

‘WP are playing in the Vodacom Cup final this week. It’s a bit tough on them to take one of their players, but that’s how it goes.

‘I think people have the wrong idea about why I didn’t select Nick or Don initially. I am looking specifically for a No 8 who can play Super Rugby.

‘A guy like Nick isn’t a lineout option and doesn’t play that ball-carrying game. He is a smaller guy who is great on the ground. He doesn’t play that ball-carrying role at Vodacom Cup level, so I can’t expect him to do it at Super Rugby level.’

There is a chance that Coetzee may have to be more creative should the Stormers suffer further injuries in the coming weeks. If they need to look at another No 8 option, Coetzee said that Siya Kolisi may be shifted to the back of the scrum.

But barring further setbacks, it seems likely that Sinclair will wear the No 8 shirt until the Stormers’ heavy hitters return from injury at the end of June.

By Jon Cardinelli

96 Comments

• 1.guangzhoupoes: Reply to this comment

Canadian dragon better watch out. $tormers loosies cursed this year

• 2.guangzhoupoes: Reply to this comment

Canadian dragon better watch out. Stormers loosies cursed this year

• 3.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

tahs gonna rip him a new one

• 4.CT Shark: Reply to this comment

I find AC’s earlier comment hysterical…..he mentions that he “THINKS” he’ll start with Sinclair at 8……because right now they DON’T HAVE ONE!! hahahahahahahahaha

Almost sounds like something Divvy would say? lol

• 5.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

He’s a good player, so that’s OK.

Bring on the ‘Tahs.

• 6.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Jebb “Mooseballs” Sinclair. There must be other 8s eg Ernst Joubert. WP have always had an open door policy with these overseas players – Laurent Cabannes was a machine!

• 7.Dusky: Reply to this comment

It would be incredibly sad if the Stormers, who have played consistently well all season, are suddenly driven off the rails by injury.

So, I sincerely hope that this doesn’t influence their campaign negatively and that they are able to pull it through. The Stormers deserve their log position – and deserve to be there at the business end.

I have some concerns for them though -

- I think some questions were answered about the Stormers scrum this weekend, thanks to the Cheetahs. Brok Harris is the weak point, and the teams the Stormers still have to face have some serious scrumming power. Once Os briefed the Cheetahs at half time, the Stormers penalty driven points march was immediately halted.

- Getting into a playoff position is one thing – winning a playoff is something completely different. I think the Stormers know this from their last few campaigns. When you get into a Super rugby playoff, the margins get much smaller and to have so many injuries could become a problem in those circumstances.

• 8.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Sinclair will do a fabulous job.

• 9.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Sorry Allister I don’t buy it.

So you lose a line out option but with ‘the best lock in SA’ is that really such a loss? How many line out balls did Jebb take?

Picking Nick would have meant you adjust your game plan to allow for a player that plays to the ball – not a train smash.

Also, JJ Gagiano is in Cape Town, also has international experience and more importantly, familiar with structures in SA and WP.

It is this reluctance to put trust in your youngsters and structures that has fans question these very structures.

I am yet to see SA’s most successful Super Rugby team ‘import’ players from around the globe when the **** hits the fan – yet the Stormers and Sharks are always more than happy to go that route and go have a look where all the trophies have been stacked in the last 10 years…

• 10.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@7

Who is this and what have you done with the real Dusky.

• 11.Jeez: Reply to this comment

THe stormers look tired…. My bet is that they are gonna lose this weekend… Ive got a superbru pick to prove it!

• 12.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-7: The scrums were not as good you are 100% right.

Liebenberg is a key member of that front row though and his absence was felt on Saturday. But you can’t play him every week, so rotation is required, with the result that we were not always on top of things.

I’m happy with the way they toughed out the game and bagged the win, this team is so much stronger mentally than the teams of days gone by. A very nice attribute that has been lacking in years gone by.

• 13.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

I agree with PissAnt, this Sinclair signing is odd. This guy comes from nowhere and just walks into Stormers starting 22.

I would play Deon Fourie or even Etzebeth on flank. Steenkamp can then cover lock.

• 14.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Saracens season is over, bring Schalk Brits in for couple of games. He should provide much needed attacking firepower.

• 15.Michael: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-9: Duane provided an option at the back of the lineout, giving us 4 options. It keeps the opposition guessing which in turns lets us win more ball.

AC has trusted the youngsters when needed so I don’t buy that criticism.

Yes the game plan could be adjusted but yes, having some experience in the loose-forwards is required too. To have three rookie flankers & 8th man is not an ideal position to be in; one of them needs to have experience.

• 16.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-15:

My first problem is how much of a disadvantage is having 3 options instead of 4 at line out in a game?

Considering the Cheetahs sometimes use Brussow as an option and Sharks Daniel?

If experience is what he was after why ignore Gagiano? Nick plays 8 in the VC team lots of times too!

And before last week what did we know about the Canadian? Have you actually seen him play (I have not)?

Just what does Canadian ‘international’ experience count?

• 17.ufo: Reply to this comment

PA

didn’t gagiano join the lions…?

i remember a report to that effect earlier in the season…

• 18.Michael: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-16: We in SA have an isolationist knowledge of many rugby players outside of the southern hemisphere. I didn’t know about the guy either. I trust AC’s judgement on the player until the player proves me wrong.

It sounds like the VC team has different assigned roles. It’s always preferable to keep existing strategies if they are working then altering them. AC will alter if he has to but understandably would rather not at such a crunch time in the competition.

• 19.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Geez – there are so many promising youngsters that could easily perform at Sinclair’s level. Come on AC – you could take your pick. I am sure any province would loan out one of their youngsters to you – if not for anything else – to get the experience. Surely there is something around in SA.

• 20.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

“Just what does Canadian ‘international’ experience count?”

handy in a fight.

• 21.ufo: Reply to this comment

?from rugbymag.com

Gagiano Suiting Up for Golden Lions

The Golden Lions of Johannesburg, South Africa have brought in USA loose forward JJ Gagiano on a short-term contract.

Gagiano took a trial and has joined the Golden Lions for the rest of the season.??He suited up at No. 8 for the Lions in last weekend’s Vodacom Cup match with Valke, won by the Lions 59-29. He is the second USA player, following Todd Clever, to have played for the Lions.

Gagiano, who qualified for the Eagles through his mother, has been capped 14 times by the USA and scored the USA’s only try in their 67-5 loss to Australia at the World Cup.

“JJ is a physical player and counts among two or three that really stood out for America in the World Cup,” Ruben Moggee, the Golden Lions Rugby Union’s CEO, said.

• 22.David: Reply to this comment

AC has admitted that his statement at the start of the season, about going with 3 ball carriers, a la Jake, wasn’t dictated by the current non availabilty of a “fetcher” as he inferred, but is his preferred game plan for the whole season.

• 23.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-16:

His international experience includes starts against New Zeeland, France and Tonga during the 2011 world cup. He in fact scored Canada’s first try in the match against Tonga which they won.

Gagiano is also an overseas player for all practical purposes as he has played test rugby for the USA.

• 24.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-9: so he won the game PA. What’s to criticize? With the benefit of hindsight, it might have happened that he picked young Nick and lost the game for one reason or another. Then what?

• 25.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-22: and its worked when I last looked at the log.

• 26.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-23: howzit Rob. Will we be seeing you in Knysna this July? Or are we getting lazy?

• 27.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-22: as much as I questioned the practicality of this plan, it has worked better than I and other gave it credit. The only negative consequence is the dire lack of tries. But tries don’t necessarily win the trophy.

• 28.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

I think; where we’re going with this is: AC has to think on his feet. Clearly he has a game-plan formula in his head and he’s going to stick with it. If it bombs he can always site injury as a valid reason for the demise of his campaign. IF it happens. So far so good.

• 29.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

If there is one thing that I hate worse it is chatting to myself. Count to 5 and I’m outta here.

• 30.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

hate worse…… than the Stormers losing(a telling omission) from the post above

• 31.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-26:

Hi, I hope you are well. I have not yet decided whether to do it or not- a mate of mine is “pressurising” me to go- did it a few years ago and the mud was so terrible I swore i never do it again. The most enjoyable one to do in that area is the karoo to coast which is held in September when it is usually a bit drier. Are you going?

• 32.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

must be the ginger and lemon tea I’m being forced to drink before bed. Far better..a good Calitzdorp port.

• 33.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-31: booked and bought the t-shirt. No, I think that’s free, if you make it. I’m going to do the 50 and then planning to head up to Sodwana for a bit of RnR. Handbreak going overseas so can do this thing. Braai>read>dive>read>cycle>>>>>. Bliss

• 34.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-17:

Gagiano is back in CPT, played for UCT this weekend.

@Michael(mikeybrass)-18:

But surely bringing a guy in who has no experience within Super Rugby or SA ranks let alone team structure will be a disruption more than a local guy?

It is clear to me that with 90+ clubs WP rugby has no faith in their structures (that supports the union directly), and that to me is a problem.

I have no issues with Jebb, don’t know the guy. I find it disappointing that with all WP’s resources they cannot bring players through.

@David(David)-22:

I had a chat with Allister personally. He bemoaned the fact that he does not have a ground player….

@Robzim(Robzim)-23:

With RWC experience (JJ) and played for UCT for a couple of years

• 35.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-31: Had tickets for Newlands this past saturday. Thank god couldn’t make it. What a **** game. Luckily we pulled through. By a skin.

• 36.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-33:

Sounds magic- why not taking the longboard along?
    Surfing, mtb,ing diving and some drinking– then you can leave the reading for later :)

• 37.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-34: but PA he won out. Doesn’t that count as a good call at least. Had he lost……then?

• 38.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-36: good question? Youngster using it more than I. Lazy paddler. Well that’s my story anyway.

• 39.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-24:

Winning the battle (a game) does not mean you win the war.

I have been very impressed with the youngsters that WP managed to bring through in the last 2 years with Rassie’s guidance – this for me is a step back

I mentioned in my first post – our most successful Super Rugby (and CC union) in the country in the last decade has never, to my knowledge, imported some foreigner even as a stop gap solution.

Success comes from investing in your structures.

• 40.carol: Reply to this comment

Good evening gents…!

• 41.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

who put a cracker up the Sharks’ bum last saturday? Anybody know?

• 42.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-35:

Lol, it was indeed a terrible match- luckily i was also not there.
    I watched a replay of the WP versus Griquas curtainraiser yesterday- it was much more enjoyable then the main game.
    I wish they change the competition- too many local derbies = warfare= injuries.

• 43.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-40:

Goeienaand.

• 44.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-39: I can buy that PA but the union you are referring to does throw a net south from time to time. Maybe not foreign but certainly not home-grown is the strict sense of that word. But I get your drift. I think AC is simply trying to win the damn thing at this point. The nursery thing comes later I suspect.

• 45.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Can’t wait for the England series. The blog is way more interesting when the Boks are in focus.

• 46.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-40: hullo Carol. How’s the corn doing in the Cotswolds? June=warm=Wimbledon=rain :)

• 47.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-43:
    Julle is sulke lekker vrende.
    Ek is doen taal vandag!!
    Hopeloos? :-)

• 48.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-42: the second stanza was particularly **** to watch unless you’re into ringside

• 49.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-47: shoo Carol. My but ek is impressed.

• 50.Michael: Reply to this comment

Pissant, there is a discrepancy between saying you are impressed with the youngsters coming through with WP and saying that AC doesn’t give youngsters a chance when he clearly does.

• 51.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Stormers game compared to reds chiefs was chalk and cheese.

Our rugby is tripe.

• 52.carol: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-46:

Hi Tassies…..Monumental rainfall in April = Corn green and high!! :-)

Actually rather fed up of rain right now!

How is Cape Town and how are you?

• 53.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-47:

Not too bad at all, lol.
    Now if you could only pronounce it- that is the real trick.

• 54.carol: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-49:
    Probeer to verbeter!!

• 55.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-53:

I saw then look on your face when I tried talking Afrikaans, then I heard you snigger!!

That is quite offputting! :roll:

• 56.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-50: its what I was thinking Mr D. Etsebeth, Kolisi, Malherbe, Kitshoff, Carr to name a few who spring to mind. How old are they or are these guys considered old these days when they pass 20? No, I can’t agree PA. We have plenty of youngsters coming through the ranks who are given a chance and performing.

• 57.David: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-51:
    By “our”, I assume you mean the Bulls? :lol:

• 58.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-52: Cape Town is as good as ever. Stunning day yesterday. Mtb’d up to rock above Chappies. Could see C Point, Hangklip and South America all in one sweep. Almost.

• 59.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-55:

A woman got to know her limitations :)

How is the holiday going? Ducking hail instead of skiing in the Alps?

• 60.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-52: I read you had a few drops in April. I guess you got to dust off your water-wings then?

• 61.Dawn: Reply to this comment

All our teams suck

That game yesterday morning was a pleasure to watch

• 62.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-44:

Yup – and its this desperation to win a trophy which is working against him more than anything.

@Michael(mikeybrass)-50:

No discrepancy – I am questioning his decision to go abroad all of a sudden when the norm was investing in youngsters for the last 18 months.

I simply cannot see the justification.

• 63.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

I’m outta here girls. Enjoyed the chat(brief tho it was). Reading about what went wrong with the Rainbow Nation. Very interesting. Gotta love than man Max.

• 64.carol: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-58:
    I realise my mountain bike has never seen a mountain!
    The furthest point I can see is Stow on the Wold…. Hardly noteworthy!

South America – Heheheh! Bionic eyes?

• 65.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-56:

Obviously ‘we’ don’t (invest in youngsters) since ‘we’ have to go to Canada to fill our stocks in a union with 90+ clubs!

• 66.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-62: cummon PA. You can’t blame the man. His job is to win the trophy. Not play nurseryman. That was Rassie’s job and a good job he did too. I’m all for giving the youngsters opportunities(and I also had question marks over the Cannuck) but in hindsight, AC made the right call I think.

• 67.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-63:

Mad Max du Preez is a legend .

cheers.

• 68.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Max du preez? What you reading tassies

• 69.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-59:

Language is not my strong point! I have other talents! :-)

Trying out a ‘staycation’…… Humm, have decided I prefer sun, sea sand or snow!! :-)

• 70.carol: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-63:
    Night Tassies, enjoy your evening!

• 71.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-65: Elstadt, Schreuder, Groom? I’m running out of names now but I can think of seven off the top of my head. If that isn’t grooming young talent for the bigtime then I don’t know what is?
    I forgot Poolman. And Brache. There might be more I’d forgotten.

• 72.carol: Reply to this comment

What did go wrong with the ‘Rainbow Nation’?

• 73.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-68:

What book is on your bedside table at present?

• 74.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-68: Opinion Pieces by South African Thought Leaders. Its new. 1st published 2011. Probably relatively unknown.

• 75.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-72: lots. But its complex. Perhaps it starts with unrealistic expectations and moves onto greed.

• 76.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-70: night Carol. Don’t pray for rain then.

• 77.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-69:

Talking about your many talents…., I must do the flippin dishes now and that is NOT on of my talents . laters..

• 78.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@ Carol

Hakan Nesser, Woman with a Birthmark

• 79.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-66:

Allister is the poster child for blame but obviously it goes much deeper than him. But then again, when he negotiated his contract he wanted full control and got it (after Rassie left).

My point is if it is ‘his job to win trophies’ he is going the wrong way in achieving it.

I will say it again, winning a battle through a stop gap solution will not win you the war – and if WP supporters are looking for the difference between them and the Bulls look no further than that…

I am out, thanks for the chat.

• 80.carol: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-75:

It was never going to be an easy ride! See you.

• 81.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-78:

Has to be better than a book I was given the other day…… ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ – a new genre known as ‘Mommy Porn’!

I am debating if I should burn it or send it straight to the charity book shop!! :-)

Can’t quite bring myself to open it!!

• 82.carol: Reply to this comment

Fark, I’m not even a ‘Mommy’ !!

btw Fark is not considered swearing in England!

• 83.carol: Reply to this comment

Anyway…Does anyone know if Percy is going to play rugby in Japan?

• 84.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Mommy porn???????????

This is a swedish author

• 85.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-84:

Think she is probably American…!!

Swedes are very cool, Yanks somehow not!

• 86.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i can just see AC playing siya into the ground, the boy has been dishing out solid pereformance after solid performance! He’ll need a rest if he’s to keep up the 22 tackles he made over the weekend!

Siya owned Doodpoes, twice! :D

• 87.lepel: Reply to this comment

Siya has been the revelation for the Stormers so far this season. I think he has had an even bigger impact than Etsebeth.

• 88.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-86:

Seriously Kolisi needs a rest. And especially with his game based on attriction he needs some downtime.And is only 20…His tackle stats are phenominal and add to that the fact that he is a DESTRUCTIVE tackler,hits guys back behind advantage line.Very very strong. I hope in the next 18 months they add to his skillset to play more towards the ball because as a carrier and tackler he is top class-still playing on instinct. If he adds ground game and lineout option he will be a Bok starter for years to come.

• 89.Dawn: Reply to this comment

That’s why stormers gonna burn themselves out

• 90.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Kolisi
    CJ Stander
    Marcel Coetzee
    Nizaam Carr
    Jacques Potgieter

SA continues churning them out…loosies

• 91.Dawn: Reply to this comment

And stormers continue to crock them.

• 92.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Mshini #90: don’t forget Arno Botha, that is also another strong lad, even though he’s had mininal opportunities. AC will certainly be spooked by wat happened to the saders when they rested keiran reid, ellis & dagg. The team lacked direction &floundered to an EMBARRASSING loss. AC is too conservative to take any chances like that.

• 93.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-92:

Ya Botha also good,Lubabalo Mthembu,Reuben Johannes…good stuff

• 94.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

whats with all the WP injury crisis articles lately??

• 95.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Siya Kolisi – I am expecting to be one of new faces in Meyer first sqiad not that I see many.

I hear talk that Paul Jordaan maybe bolter to fill utility role.

• 96.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-90:

Jacques Potgieter has really come leaps and bound. I would like see Alberts play more at his favourite position . 8

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.