Baa-Baas call up five Saffas

John Smit, BJ Botha, Pedrie Wannenburg, Schalk Brits and Anton van Zyl have been selected for the Barbarians squad ahead of an upcoming series of games.

A 33-man squad was named on Tuesday for matches against England, Ireland and Wales. Former England captain Mike Tindall is in the mix, as is Stephen Donald, the All Blacks flyhalf that kicked the goal that won New Zealand the 2011 World Cup.

Former All Blacks wing John Kirwan will coach the side. The squad will assemble in London on 22 May.

The first match against England will be played on 27 May at Twickenham. Ireland will tackle the Baa-Baas on 29 May at Kingsholm while Wales will host the composite side at the Millennium Stadium on 2 June.

Backline: Isa Nacewa (Fiji), Mils Muliaina (New Zealand), Ian Balshaw (England), Cedric Heymans (France), Shane Williams (Wales), Paul Sackey (England), Sailosi Tagicakibau (Samoa), Eliota Fuimaono-Sapolu (Samoa), Mike Tindall (England), Damien Traille (France), Felipe Contepomi (Argentine), Stephen Donald (New Zealand), Stephen Jones (Wales), Rory Lawson (Scotland), Jerome Fillol (France)

Forwards: Schalk Brits (South Africa), Benoit August (France), John Smit (South Africa), Aled de Malmanche (New Zealand), John Afoa (New Zealand), Duncan Jones (Wales), BJ Botha (South Africa), Neemia Tialata (New Zealand), Jerome Thion (France), Mick O’Driscoll (Ireland), Anton van Zyl (South Africa), Pelu Taele (Samoa), Raphael Lakafia (France), Antoine Burban (France), Akupusi Qera (Fiji), John Beattie (Scotland), Pedrie Wannenburg (South Africa), Juan Manuel Leguizamon (Argentine)