Back where he belongs

Frans Steyn will be given the opportunity to take ownership of the Springbok No 12 jersey upon his return to South Africa.

Steyn has only started in 30 of his 47 Tests. Neither of his previous Test coaches has been sure of his best position, as he’s featured at flyhalf, wing, in the centres and fullback. Neither Jake White nor Peter de Villiers started Steyn in one position for more than five consecutive games.

BUY THE LATEST ISSUE NOW FOR R5.95 (DIGITAL EDITION)

The good news is that the wild ride is over. There will be no roller-coaster, no uncertainty in 2012. No longer will Steyn’s talent go unappreciated or mismanaged. On the contrary, new Bok coach Heyneke Meyer intends to milk it for all its worth.

‘I don’t want to mess him around by playing him in every position, I want him to settle in one position and build some confidence,’ says Meyer. ‘In a crisis he can play elsewhere, but I believe he can perform a leading role at No 12.’

Meyer goes on to explain exactly why Steyn is such an asset to the Boks, while former Bok fullback Percy Montgomery talks about how a player’s ability to kick the ball further than anybody in the game can ultimately fracture even the most well-organised defence.

Coenie Oosthuizen (page 54)

Coenie Oosthuizen is a non-conformist who wants to redefine the role of a prop

– Heyeneke Meyer tells SA Rugby magazine why he chose his Bok assistant coaches and what his expectations are of them, while Rassie Erasmus explains his new role as Saru’s high performance general manager

England restored their pride during the Six Nations but will have to raise their game significantly to beat the Springboks in South Africa, writes Stuart Barnes

– England No 8 Ben Morgan has made the most of his opportunity to play Test rugby

Owen Farrell‘s path to the top has enabled him to cope with upheaval and stay cool under pressure

Brad Barritt has turned his attention to the Springboks after making an encouraging start start to his Test career in the Six Nations

Brad Barritt (page 72)

Siya Kolisi could become an important player for the Boks but shouldn’t be rushed into the Test line-up before he’s absolutely ready

– Hurricanes flyhalf Beauden Barrett has made the step up to Super Rugby with consummate ease

– Brumbies openside flank Michael Hooper could become one of the greats of the game

SA Rugby magazine reviews the top schoolboy Easter rugby festivals held in April

– Having broken their Varsity Cup duck, Tuks want to dominate the tournament for years to come

– The Baby Boks are in a strong position to win the Junior World Championship title on home soil in June

Like SA Rugby mag on Facebook
Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

325 Comments

• 1.Guns: Reply to this comment

Home coming Dragon!

The sharks will welcome you back at 12!! Things will be nice and competitive!

• 2.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Frans Steyn is the key factor for the Boks. He was our most outstanding player in the RWC before he was injured.

This kid is going to take the Boks to the top again.

• 3.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Happy to have him back and even happier to see the Meyer wants him at 12!

For the punters, put your money where your mouth is…got 42 keolings signed up so far…

• Winter Tours- SuperBru!

http://www.superbru.com/wintertours/pool.asp?p=281628

Pool name: The Meyer’s first test
    Pool code: gullrent

• 4.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

while i agree he is an automatic pick i think its also important not to make him start to believe he’s entitled. you must earn your place in the bok team and to do that you must fight for it.

• 5.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-4:

You mean like saying Morne WILL be there for the next 4 years? Hehehe he will have to earn it and Lambie and Goosen will make it very hard!

• 6.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-5:
    i wouldn’t want it any other way… :grin:

• 7.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-4: fransie os one of the biggest competitors in the team he always fights hard and gives his best. that why jean must go too passive and doesnt offer very much.

• 8.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-4: you mean like the Bulls players think they all entitled??

• 9.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-2: he should have played 12 from the first test in 2008 ou divvy went wp crazy that year though and jean was one of his favs and it cost us badly.

• 10.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

kak keo fransie played 12 all through the world cup in 2007 more tha 5 games. difference is that nobody knew much about fransie in 2006 and 2007 he was so new. peter had the benefit of seeing him in action at 12 but was too kak stupid to select him there. hell he rated that freak adi jacobs better and bobo for a while! laughable stupid here folks.

• 11.Transformation: Reply to this comment

quite right, siya is not the “real deal” like say, nick koster who was born to be a bok or say jaque potgieter – who was at the kings last year – and is at this point being mentioned in bok talk.

meyer, before picking ANY of the up and coming player – marcell coetzee, johan sadie, cj stander, johan goosen etc must make sure they’re “absolutely ready”

• 12.whatever: Reply to this comment

His no is 12, never ever play him at 10. He was super kak at 10

• 13.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-9: yes, jean the SA Player of Year in 2008 cost us badly :roll:

go rewind your vhs boet :D

• 14.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-7:
    @sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-8:
    we are in agreement, there is no argument here.

@Transformation(Transformation)-11:
    notable exception transie,
    etzebeth is a springbok…end of…

• 15.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-13: yeah in 2008 jean floated a pass that killed the game for us against nz. they scored an intercept try as he threw it wildly on his goaline. he was run over by mortlock for a try and every time he made a break he got turned over. so yeah jean was kak. he did make breaks but that was in a couple of games. sa player of the year means bugger all.

• 16.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-12: fransie is great at 12, he’s played against england, samoa, fiji, tonga, wales, argentina and looked fantastic!

• 17.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-11: sadie is the worst centre in super rugby right now.

• 18.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-16: fransie is ten times the player jean is. jean is kak outright against anyone. 2010 eoyt? 2005? 2007? 2009 was a doozy. against everyone he played.. italy, scotland, wales, ireland, samoa, england… yep nice perspective from you once again.

• 19.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-17: even worse than jordaan?

• 20.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-16: also look at how fransie lifts our entire backline. he adds length to out attack with his passing and is very quick in spotting opportunities. faster more mobile than all our other 12s but rock on defence. has that kicking game and can step his defenders as well as run right over them. he offloads awesomely in contact and very assured in everything he does unlike bumble jean.

• 21.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-18: what is a “doozy”?

• 22.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-19: sadie akes by far the least ground and is weak on defence. he does literally nothing. i think he averages something like 5m run per game and maybe 1 out of 3 tackles. why not just start with 14? at least the bulls wouldnt be kidding themselves that they have another centre on the field.

• 23.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-20: he has never done all of this against new zealand, australia & france.

• 24.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-21:

• 25.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-21: sarcastically saying it was great. he did nothing all year ball in hand and was weak in defending his channel. thanfully habana was the assigned cleaner and drove over jean as he hit the deck so they could actually win the ball back unlike 2008! jean loves to hit an brick wall and flop to ground except when playing really kak 12s which only happened once in the last five years… mccabe but he looks pretty hot right now so he wont have that again.

• 26.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-16:

Even Olivier would look great against those teams… :lol:

• 27.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-19: So tell me JOrdaan is now ****?? bwahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, so typical

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-10: Boet, Jacobs was a decent center and pray tell why is he a freak??? I can tell you Adriaan is one of the most decent guys you could wish to meet in your life, dont get personal because you didnt rate the player, and did he choose himself for the boks??

• 28.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-23: he has nothing to prove. he has played against new zealand and australia once each at 13 and upstaged Jean. but the fact is he is far better than jean end of story. youll be eating your words yet again if you want to argue against this very real fact. you play down his opponents but you dont take into account the strength of them. samoa had jean smashed in 2007 and he had no answer, fransie came on a changed that whole game instantly!! argentina were a revelation in 2007 and tonga gave a frikin hard fight as well as fiji. england are a team that have seriously shown up jean every time hes played them so dont bring that one up. thankfully meyer is not so stupid that he would doubt frans.

• 29.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-27: jacobs was kak and thats pretty funny coming from a guppie. you guys tossed out your three best centres and had jacobs moered! hahahha. adi coulda just refused selection like floors did. floors didnt want to be a quota so rejected jakes invitation. he did play well when convinced further adi has never had a good test eva!

• 30.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-11:
    I concur Trans…..
    I think in Kolisi’s case, is there is a clutch of up and coming flankers.
    We have heavy hitters in Elstadt and Jacques Potgieter.
    The hybrid class of CJ Stander, Marcel Coetsee and Siya Kolisi.
    Out-and-out fetchers in Brussouw and Stegman.

You’d think that Etsebeth is a shoe-in for national duty, simply because he is the best no.4 lock going around in Saffa. That makes him ready.

Is Siya ready – hell yeah..!!
    He is however amongst a clutch of decent flankers.
    So should Heyneke select hin, it will be on merit, and nothing else. He would have convinced the Heineken that he’s the front runner of the class, and I for one would have no squables ’bout it :wink:

• 31.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-26: if he did then hed be better than jean coz jean hasnt looked good against them at all.

• 32.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar(Pot Blou Gevaar)-30: kolisi is better than schalk so i say he deserves a bench spot at least. why not?

• 33.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-9:

Donkey de Villiers is too one dimensional. Runs straight and that’s his one and only trick. Fourie was the real deal in the centre pairing.

• 34.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I reckon both Marcel Coetzee and Siya Kolisi will be included in the squad for the England tests. And I reckon both of them are ready to start their Bok careers. As is Etsebeth, as is Kitshoff, and as would Goosen have been had he not got himself injured. If you’re good enough, you’re old enough.

• 35.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-29: again your view, and yes i am a guppy supporter as you call them , atleast i dont let my maturity levels drop to ground zero to try make a point, even though i agree 100% with you re Fransie being our best 12 i dont have to insult other people to make or trash a player that is not in here to defend himself

Pretty much sums you up huh??

• 36.mad eye: Reply to this comment

Did anyone watch the Boks/British Lions 1997 game on ESPN Classic last night?
    Henry Honnibal was a monster,he changed the way flyhalves played for a while.
    He made the game unpredictable and exciting,for awhile.
    So where did it all go wrong again.
    When Heynekke Meyer introduced our rugby to the Morne Steyn model no 1,Hougaard.,or was it old ginger drop kicks, can’t remember his name,was brought in to play the boring safe Bok/Bulls kick it to death game Meyer so likes.

• 37.mad eye: Reply to this comment

Frans Steyn with the proper mentoring could have been the best 10 we ever had.
    If you look at what the Crusader’s/Allblacks are doing with that kid flyhalf playing inside the world’s greatest 10,now that’s how you blood a youngster.
    Play him at the highest level give him a chance to shine,but if it doesn’t come off don’t risk everything by throwing him to the wolves.
    At any time Carter can step in with the kicking or the 10 duties,but everytime he doesn’t have to that kid grows 10 metres.
    You can already see the pressure telling on Jantjies,he will be the next Gaffie/Earl Rose.
    Maybe Goosen’s injury was a godsend,he was almost at the point of being expected to rescue the Cheetahs entire season on his own

• 38.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-34:
    siya kolisi deserves to be a springbok imo and i hope he will never be a political pawn or labelled as such.

• 39.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Is there any confirmation that Steyn will be joining the Sharks???

• 40.mad eye: Reply to this comment

Katman
    Why does he deserve to be a Sprinbok,on what evidence 2 games for the Stormers.
    Maybe at some stage yes,but now ,your statement is laughable.
    Ashley Johnson,now he deserves to be a Bok,chosen on merit.
    To even include Kollisi now could only be a token gesture.

• 41.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-39: Nope

• 42.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-39: Steyn according to what i have heard will be discused on thursday as his asking rate is way above the norm

• 43.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Thanks Sharks lover… I reckon the Stormers might try break the bank for him then…

• 44.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-32:
    That’s I suppose a nice dillema to have as Boks coach.
    Kolisi, Stander and Coetsee has all put their hands up, and has done admirably. We’re blessed to have these youngsters.

In Kolisi’s case – the bloke has been a near constant 80mins player over the last 10 or so weeks, one of the finds no doubt.

• 45.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-40: Two games? Have you been hiding under your bed since February?

Pay your DSTV so that your contribution here can be meaningful, or stick to read-only.

• 46.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-40: **** , Joe Van Niekerk played for the Boks without playing super rugby ! Many will choose Johan Goosen without a blink on the basis of last years CC and half a season super rugby. Yet pick Kollisi who also played CC last year and even more Super rugby than Goosen by the way and its tokenism ? LOL jaa right !

Kollisi on current form is the best loosie in South Africa in the absence and form of the like of Burger,Duane,Juan Smit,Alberts etc

• 47.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar(Pot Blou Gevaar)-44: Exactly. 10 weeks or so. Old Mal-oog here thinks he’s played two games.

• 48.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-43: they cant afford him either,

no union can, however it depends on SARU, as his asking rate would then be split between SARU and for example the Sharks

This was also said to be the case by B van Zyl when he announced some time ago that they were in negotiations with Fransie

Frnaise has however indicated he would want to return to the Sharks, it does hang in the balance however as per what is negotiated on Thursday with Saru and i suppose the Sharks and fransies agent

• 49.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-40:
    Kolisi far more consistant than Johnson who blows hot and cold,whichever way the wind blows his afro locks imo.

• 50.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-48:
    Thing is,is that if he does go back to the sharks he is bound to be shunted around between 12,15 and 10 wherever plum makes his pick of the week.

• 51.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Blitzbok – I think you are a bit wrong. JDV & J Fourie were the best centresin the wrodl at RWC 2007 and JDV had been in awesome form up until then. It was after RWC2007 that his form dipped a bit!! But to say he was **** from 2005 is way harsh, go look at the games he was the man from 2005 – 2007!!

• 52.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-47: Coetzee, Kolisi,and CJ Stander have all 3 had fantastic season so far

• 53.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Superbru(Superbru)-49:
    true.
    plus theres no point in stripping your moer every so often either.

• 54.mad eye: Reply to this comment

I said he has only played 2 decent games,
    He is far too young and inexperienced to put in against the AB’s
    I also said with the right grooming he could be the real deal.
    But right now there are 6 better players in South Africa and at least 6 better South Africans overseas.
    I rate Marcel Coetzee way ahead of him,but I also think he should not be thrown in yet.
    Give him time he is only 21,and properly managed and conditioned he can easily play for another 10 years.

• 55.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-46: no! meyer must make sure that he is “absolutely ready” before playing him…don’t ask me what will happen if heyneke doesn’t do this…

maybe names like kabamba floors, solly tyibilika, hilton lobberts, chiliboy ralepele, davon raubenheimer will help you make up your own mind :D

• 56.race of tan: Reply to this comment

sharks_lover – Great news to hear F Steyn is returning to the Sharks, however i do feel for Bosman!! Another talent that was lost due to mis management,.
    However now we get to see F Steyn and Lambie mix it up woah!!

• 57.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Superbru(Superbru)-50: Nah i think Plum has learnt his lesson, This is also why he now stays with Lambie at 10, we lost the likes of Ruan because of that too

• 58.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-52:
    kolisi and stander above coetzee.
    stander too much agression at the expense of more technique atm imo.
    kolisi just right on agression as well as technique (but can improve even more).

• 59.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-57:
    yeah,history tells us that the most talented players seem to get shunted around the most,hopefully the lessons of the past have been learned,and the bok coach should also have a real say in which position he wants a certain player played in for international purposes.

• 60.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@race of tan(race of tan)-56:
    tsk tsk…two bricks a castle does not make…

• 61.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-58: wrong, go look at the overall stats for loose forwards, Coetzee far ahead of any other SA loosie

• 62.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Superbru(Superbru)-59: agreed

• 63.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-54: I’m sorry, but that’s clearly just uninformed waffle. He’s shone in every single game he’s played for the Stormers, including the warm-ups. He’s been the most consistent performer for them this season, along with Eben Etsebeth. Where you pulled this “two game” fact from is pretty baffling, to say the least. Stick to what you know, and this isn’t it.

• 64.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-61:
    Yep,I rate this guy highly and he is bound to improve in leaps and bounds throughout the rest of the comp.

• 65.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Has Fran Styen announced his returning to SA to play Super Rugby?
    Just asking,
    Why should he do that, Saracens, Toulouse or Toulon will offer him top rate up to €800,000 per years plus expences, apartment, car etc
    He won’t return to the Sharks to share the ball with Ndungane, JP or Mvovo, he surely will not join AC at the quota abided the Stormers, so what has left?
    The Boks will play him regardless

• 66.mad eye: Reply to this comment

Katman what is it that you know,as a player as a coach as a rugby writer.
    Which of these is it that YOU KNOW that you have superior credentials than I have.
    **** head stick to the things YOU KNOW ,not one of them is above.
    Keep the personal **** out of the conversation.
    Maybe this kid will be good but he isn’t yet.
    In fact if Burger,Vermullen and Flo Louw were available for the Stormers, he wouldn’t get on the bench,and you want to make him an immediate Bok.
    Fucken amateur arm chair warrior,bet you you played linesman at school

• 67.Transformation: Reply to this comment

now katters is in die kak, mal oor has got him in his peroscope! :D

• 68.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-66: “bet you you played linesman at school” :mrgreen:

• 69.mad eye: Reply to this comment

Vrede /Tranny,don’t recall seeing you on the rugby field what was you did,tennis,hockey ,soccer or was it netball.

• 70.ufo: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-66:

careful katman…

just now he’ll be calling you simon or percy… or aj…

• 71.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-66: Well if you could resist the urge to publish reams of utter rubbish masquerading as informed rugby opinion, perhaps people would refrain from calling you out as a major fcken bullshitter. Which you are, of course.

• 72.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-67:

you’re stirring again ryan…

i’ll reverse your posting privileges if you continue to play with our members…??

• 73.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-55: Well then you might as well not play a guy like Johan Goosen cos Gaffie failed.

@ mad eye , put your money where your mouth is , name this so called 6 better players in SA and overseas. Name me at least the SA ones that are better than Kollisi on current form.

• 74.ufo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-71:

i think you’re safe though katman…

with a clever nic like katMAN… madeye will never guess you’re really lucy ann…

but on second thoughts… he is a clever one our tall friend… so maybe he’ll notice the rhyming last syllable… which is a dead giveaway…

• 75.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

How About this for the first England test. But different but could maybe work.

15. Joe Peterson
    14. Lwazi Mvovo
    13. Jean de Villiers
    12. Francious Steyn
    11. Bryan Habana
    10. Patrick Lambie
    9. Francious Hougaardt
    8. Duane Vermeulen
    7. Marchell Coetzee
    6. Heinrich Brussow
    5. Andries Bekker
    4. Eben Etzebeth
    3. Coenie Oosthuizen
    2. Bismark du Plessis
    1. Tandai “Beast” Mtwarira

16. Chilliboy Ralapele
    17. Steven Kitshoff
    18. Steven Sykes
    19. Piere Spies
    20. Charl Mcleod
    21. Morne Steyn
    22. JP Peterson

Maybe a little unconventional but looks a good side. I know it is not ideal to play guys out of position, like i did with JdV, but F.Steyn is a great 12 and so is JdV but to accommodate both, i think JdV can make the switch.

Obviously allot of other good form players to choose from tho. Makes it hard.

• 76.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-70: katman will be jon cardinelli :lol:

• 77.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-76:

sheesh…!!

i was dragging some leafy branches across his trail… :wink: :wink:

• 78.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-73:
    The goose should certainly be let loose,but only in the last 20 when the game has opened up,and handled with kid gloves,this one for sure,and so he will mature into an eventual starting 10.

• 79.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-76:

That one eye looking through a periscope is a fearsome sight!

• 80.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Personally, I see Kolisi being the glue in the stormers backrow. Fantastic workrate allowing the other 2 backrowers to do what they do well.

It’s all about balance in my opinion.
    Much like the bulls just being better when steggman is there.to be fair, stander looks to be growing into his 6 role better.
    I’m not sure in this regard how kolisi would fit into a bokback row. As a Brussow backup probably, doubt he’d make the bench as the bench backrower needs to cover 8 as well as being a lineout option depending on other bench selections? he’s a very specific player.

Basically, either kolisi starts or he doesn’t play kind of situation.

Marcel Coetzee has been okay, no more than that. Only in sharkland is he considered more than that, in my opinion, only because all the other forwards have been so ordinary for most of the season. the fact that bismark and beest had big games last weekend makes a hell of a lot of difference.

my bok backrow would still currently be,

6.brussow
    7.elstadt
    8.spies

• 81.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-75:
    It’s a good team,make no mistake,but the stamp of approval from the bok coach will not be handed out to this one,he is bound to come up with a team with a blue/pink hue to it.

• 82.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-75: That’s not a bad team. Although Coenie is actually a loosehead. And I’d have Juandre in ahead of Sykes. Many other talking points, but that team should be too good for England.

• 83.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-79:
    Yep,a deranged mad cow one eye is fearsome to behold indeed.

• 84.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-80: Ja that would be my backrow too.

Only because Vermeulen is injured though.

Elstadt is the best 7 in SA at the moment, by some margin. Alberts is in poor form or he would have been the guy I went for.

• 85.mad eye: Reply to this comment

What is current form,2 games, half a season,a whole season.
    The 4 years in a world cup cycle.
    In S.A at the moment most would rate and not in order injured and uninjured,
    the top 6 loosies as being
    Burger ,Brussouw,Spies,Alberts,Vermullen,Stander,
    Followed by in no particular order,Straus,Daniel,Minnie,Potgieter, Johnson. Kankowski,van Heerden,
    Only Then up and coming,Coetzee,Carr,Kollisi,Rhodes,
    Playing overseas,Van Niekerk,Sowerby,Louw,Rossouw,Saracens captain for the life of me cannot remember his name,Straus,
    Is that enough????

• 86.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Coetzee only rated in Sharkland?? Seriously? Tell that to the NZers and Aussies punting him… Kolisi has also been brilliant!

• 87.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

based on Form and partly on “class” my Bok 222 would be:

1. Beast
    2. Bismarl
    3. Jannie
    4. Etsebeth
    5. Bekker
    6. Brussow
    7. Elstadt
    8. Spies
    9. Hougaard
    10. Morne Steyn
    11. Habana
    12. Frankie Steyn
    13 Jean De Villiers (c)
    14. Aplon
    15. Lambie.

16. Coenie Doodpoes
    17. Strauss
    18. Juandre Kruger
    19. Siya Kolisi
    20. Jano vermaak
    21. Juan De Jongh
    22. Joe Pieterson

• 88.mad eye: Reply to this comment

Dawn don’t take the white pills in the morning those are for the evening and its frowned upon to wash them down with gin before12 o’clock ,even in Bellville you old laconic soak

• 89.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-82:

come now Katman….that’s a bloody shite team.

on what basis would would sykes,coetzee,joe pietserson ,mvovo and charl mccloud start becoming Bok Calibre…..if we are serious about winning 80% of our test matches,that is.

hell, it’s debatable weather those names are even serious superrugby calibre yet. none of those okes have shown that they can do the business at the business end.

Joe pieterson, maybe but he will be up against Lambie and Kirchener for the 15 jersey and they are both better option. Hell, 2 years ago already Hougie made Pieterson look 100 years old when he ran around him in the final.

Coetzee maybe, but there are many more ahead of him in the backrow pecking order in my opinion.

mvovo maybe but I have yet to see anything special from him apart from the fact that he obviously can score a try…much in the Kabous mould maybe?

mccloud and sykes never again, half the problem with the sharks is that their locks give them nothing and mccloud is the epitomy of “average”.

• 90.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-87:

your bok 222?

holy cow…well prepared this season are we?

• 91.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-85: Bro.

You are showing your ignorance now. Maybe it’s Bias.

Don’t try and weasel your way out of it,

Kolisi has played 10 games and shone in every single one of them. Not 2.

Alberts is nowhere near the form he needs to be to be considered as one of the top 6 loose forwards in SA. The Sharks even dropped him.

Siya is the real deal and with all the injuries he may just get his chance.

He’ll certainly be in the greater squad, not sure of he’ll make the match day 22.

• 92.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-89:

Come on Brig, you lost all credibility when you said Kirschner is better than Pieterson.

“Hell, 2 years ago already Hougie made Pieterson look 100 years old when he ran around him in the final.”

Juan De Jongh did the exact same thing against Curtley Beale but that doesn’t make him shite now does it?? All it means is that he stepped someone who was defending flat footed and front on. Any attacking runner worth his salt should be able to do that.

• 93.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-86:

what nzers?

i think those blokes on reunion are bloody retarded. They managed to find the only coherent english speaker and gave him the mike in charge of the floor….and he’s the only one worth listening to, agree or not.

the guests every week are frikken morons as is that fat donkey Nesbitt. I’m more and more embarrassed that we actuaslly lose games to those sort of fck wits. But we don’t lose as much anymore and the cycle is coming to an end.

• 94.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-76: Fok U.

• 95.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-91: boet , we always agree, but i dont agree that any other loosie has been better then Coetzee , this oke is dominating the stas, even in a time when the Sharks as a team was not playing well, Elstad also happens to be one of the dirtiest players around, Go check out all the stats and see what loosies are performing on the super 15 stage

oh and GM brudda lol

• 96.rabooby: Reply to this comment

Stormboy, how can you have Spies in there on form… Wow..
    Kiegan Daniels has outplayed him by miles, and I still dont think Kiegan Daniels is Boks material.
    If I was HM I would seriously be looking at bringing Sarel Pretorius back he is to good, and Hougaard can play on the wing, as I think he is the best we have for wing options. And would definately have Pienaar on the bench for backup, as he knows how the english will play.. so please pray that HM does not go down the Bulls picking order…

• 97.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Brigadier you are entitled to your opinion… But mark my words… Coetzee will be a Bok soon… And so will Kolisi…

• 98.ufo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-94:

no offense katman…

just that if you disagree with mad eye he accuses you of being one of the incognito keo crew deliberately stirring to get the hits up…

• 99.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rabooby(rabooby)-96: I’m not Spies fan per se but think that on current form and given the loss of Vermeulen and poor form of Strauss and Alberts he’s the right guy.

I wouldn’t pick Keegan.

Sorry. Not even close. But that’s my opinion. I’d pick Ashley Johnson before Keegan and the Cheetahs 8 before him.

• 100.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-92:

dude, for my money, Pieterson is a decent superplayer. Kirchener is a good superplayer who makes the boks by default because Steyn was away. But Lambie will take that jersey the same way Steyn.f will now take the 12 jersey from devilliers.

basically, unless something else happens, kirchener will be in the greater squad but will not make a match 22 unless lambie is injured.

I can’t help but feel that pieterson is now getting kudos because of his goal kicking but he will not be required to kick at goal for the boks. Outside of that, he doesn’t have the out of hand kicking range of kirchener, or the defence or attack the line as well, I doubt pieterson is as quick in a foot race as well. In fact, for my money, kirchener and danillier are the best fullbacks in the country at joining the line. Danillier could well be called up by the way.

so there you go, kirchener is not my first choice but probably would be my second.

• 101.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

@Superbru(Superbru)-81: I have to share you concern on the blue/pink thing. Concerned that Meyer will have a bit of bulls favouritism. We will have to wait and see. I posted a 67% Springbull side before. Something Like this.

15. Kirchner (Bulls)
    14. Akona Ndungane (Bulls)
    13. De Jongh (Stormers)
    12. Olivier (Bulls)
    11. Habana ( Stormers, but former Bull under Meyer)
    10. M. Steyn (Bulls)
    9. Hougaardt (Bulls)
    8. Spies (Bulls) (C)
    7. Stegman (Bulls)
    6. Brussow ( Cheetahs)
    5. Victor Matfield (Bulls, he did ask him to make a return)
    4. Bekker. (Stormers)
    3. Dean Greyling (Bulls)
    2. Chilliboy (Bulls)
    1. Beast. (Sharks)

Something like that. But i really hope not…

• 102.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rabooby(rabooby)-96: Also Sarel is a revolving door on defence (one of the reasons he can’t command a regular starting place at the Tahs) and you just can’t have that at international level. I’d have Vermaak before Pretorius every time.

• 103.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Here’s my Bok 22 for the first England game, taking injuries into consideration.

1. Mtwarira
    2. Du Plessis
    3. Kruger, W
    4. Etsebeth
    5. Bekker
    6. Brussow
    7. Alberts
    8. Spies
    9. Hougaard
    10. Steyn, M
    11. Habana
    12. Steyn, F
    13. De Villiers (c)
    14. Petersen
    15. Aplon
    16. Ralepele
    17. Kitshoff
    18. Kruger
    19. Kolisi
    20. Pienaar
    21. Lambie
    22. De Jongh

I know Alberts is a big call, but he is class and will perform in the green and gold.

Same goes for Habana.

I’d bring Ruan back to cover Hougaard.

I’d move Jean out to 13 to accommodate Steyn at 12. He’s also be my captain.

I’m still a little undecided about Kitshoff or Coenie on the bench.

And I’d give Kolisi a start from the bench, as he can cover all three backrow spots.

Sadly no place for Basson, Taute, Mvovo.

• 104.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-97:

he may well make the side seeing as how our backrowers are going down but for my money when all fully fit he is up against elstadt and j.potgieter for the 7 jersey at the moment. Throw in alberts who is addmittedly playing kak and i just do not see it for the next couple of seasons.

• 105.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Frans Steyn. Kan fokkol doen teen die Ozzies en NZ. Ek hoop hulle pick hom 12 vir die Bokke in die Tri Nations. The quicker everyone can see how overrated he is the better. Hondkak!

• 106.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-95: He’s been playing well for sure, but he is more of a 6 than a 7 and Brussow is the man in that jersey for me.

Also, I think Kolisi is better than him at the moment, I think Coetzee looks better because he has to shoulder the majority of the workload some games.

I’d go with Siya but maybe that’s my own provincial bias coming out. :)

• 107.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

good lawd!

its times like these that fools will learn to live again,
    its times like these you learn these fools above will never be given coaching jobs again and again…

• 108.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-103: Ja i could go with that team no problem.

I thought of Ruan as a utility back allowing us to play 5 forwards on the bench, but went for a 4-3 split.

I’d be reluctant to play Alberts at 7 because he just doesn’t seem to be able to shake his shoulder injury and that has shaken his confidence and affected his game too much IMO.

I could also go with either Kitshoff or Coenie much of a much-ness there.

• 109.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

This from News 24:

London – Star names from 10 countries, including three Test centurions, feature in a 33-strong Barbarians’ squad for their three-match tour.

According to the official Barbarians website, the tour opener against England on May 27 will be followed by assignments against Ireland in Gloucester and Wales at the Millennium Stadium.

Latest additions to the squad announced include New Zealand’s most-capped fullback Mils Muliaina, South Africa’s Rugby World Cup-winning captain John Smit, Argentine points’ machine Felipe Contepomi and supercharged Leinster utility back Isa Nacewa.

Among the Barbarian debutants behind the scrum are Samoan duo Sailosi Tagicakibau and Eliota Fuimaono-Sapolu and a home nations’ trio of Mike Tindall, Stephen Jones and Rory Lawson. Shane Williams is set to take his final curtain on the international stage when the Barbarians face Wales on June 2.

In an experienced pack Duncan Jones, John Afoa, John Beattie, Juan Manuel Leguizamon and Mick O’Driscoll also become BaaBaas for the first time.

The squad, which will be coached by All Blacks’ legend John Kirwan assisted by Grant Doorey, assembles in London on May 22.

• 110.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-107: Foo Fighters for the WIN!!!!

• 111.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-93: have you watched Boots ‘b All lately? just KAK no other words describe that show, absolute s(hit. no objective analysis of anything.

i’m waiting to see if they’ll invite andre watson to discuss marius jonker’s putrid refereeing, seeing that he is always consulted when SA teams take the brunt of overseas officials!

• 112.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

The forwards picked (only forwards) from SA are Schalk Britz, Pedrie Wannenberg, Anton Van Zyl, BJ Botha and John Smit.

• 113.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

A friend of mine mentioned that the Sharks couldn’t offer Steyn what he is asking for thus he has not signed with them, but may be negotiating with another franchise. Any news?

• 114.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-106: amen to that provincial bias comming out, as Coetzz is no 6 boet , he is actually an 8

right now on form this is your best loose trio

8 Coetzee
    7 Kolisi
    6 CJ Stander

that is also according to stats

And i purposfully left out Keegan as i know you dont like him,

He is leading the stats at the MO lol

• 115.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-103: Just for interest sake, and i’m not being mean, why Start M.Steyn @ 10 and not Lambie?

• 116.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-115:

Get used to a BlueBoks team initially mate. It is going to happen.

• 117.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-106: eish boet he looks that good because he is playing that good, one can say the same for Kolisi as per the injuries Kolisi is sholdering more? :wink:

nee boet also between all the countries, kiwi, aussie and us, Coetzee the highest ranked loose forward

• 118.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-102: sarel has shored up his defence, he is nowhere to be seen in the missed tackled column, plus mckibbin is the de facto Tahs kicker. not that sarel is rubbish.

• 119.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-114: Stander ahead of Brussow, you freaken crazy dude.

• 120.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-116: this is true bill

• 121.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-116: Against all fears, i am pretty sure you are right!! Sad, but true.

• 122.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-103:

that is definately closer to my preffered side and admittedly i forgot about aplon as a 15 option. But for me he is an impact player off the bench.

I question the selections of werner kruger and alberts. Werner is playing well enough but there is no denying his scrum penalty count. So that is something that needs to get sorted but for my money definately the hardest working 3 in openfield. Alberts is playing pants. everyone knows it,even him. Bekker seems to pick himself these days and I am not sure why. He is not matfield and his performances are nowhere near Matfields. Basically, bekker has been avergae but seems to make everyone starting lineup anyway.

your bench is interesting but dodgy.
    Would Kruger be covering 7 as well?
    What happens if bekker goes down which is very likely and kruger comes in at lock. Your backrow is then brussow,kolisi,spies (because alberts can’t last more than 60 minutes at the most)…..and that is positively disasterous in my opinion. You are also left with 3 lineout options one of which (etsbeth) is in his first season of senior rugby? very risky. Basically, you are left play 30% of the game with an accident job selection criteria.

• 123.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-119: read what i said on form

i never said that would be my team

or loose trio, but the fact is those 3 dominate the stats, stats are for performance on the field of play :wink:

• 124.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-88:

Best you can do?

• 125.mad eye: Reply to this comment

If the Sharks can’t afford him then nobody can,certainly not the Stormers,they can’t even raise the tin to bring back Jan Picard’s grandson.

• 126.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

The Bok team could look like this:

15. Kirschner (Lambie)
    14. JPP
    13. JdV
    12. FSteyn
    11. Habanna
    10. MSteyn
    9. Hougaard
    8. Spies (c)
    7. Potgieter
    6. Brussouw
    5. Bekker
    4. Etsebeth
    3. Kruger
    2. Bissie
    1. Beast

• 127.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-114: You’ll have to allow me my provincial bias then ;)

Elstadt at 7.

I’d personally be surpised if either Coetzee or Kolisi get picked.

• 128.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-120:

A pity mate! I think he needs to return and having played for the Sharks would have been a huge acquisition.

• 129.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-120:

Sorry! Yeah it is sad indeed…

• 130.mad eye: Reply to this comment

Willem Alberts is fit and ready to go,Plumtree has rested him for 2 weeks now,and he will fire either this weekend or the next.
    Hope he leaves him out for the Cheetahs game, we can win that without him,and brings him on hungry for the Stormers.
    That is the day we can really see how good Kollisi is.

• 131.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Steyn must stay faaaaaaaaaaaaar away from CPT.

• 132.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-110:

• 133.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

basson will start in the bok team. meyer likes a kicking 10 and plays percentage rugby and basson leads the stats in kick-recoveries.

is the best man for the position? i dont know. but them’s the facts.

• 134.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-111:

boots and all is kak….but so is reunion. lets just acknowlege that.

for some reason everyone thinks that reunion is really insightful. I’d much rather get feedback from our franchise coaches than the kiwis.

we should start acknowleging that we have some excellent coaches in our country and the kiwi franchises are not all geniuses…some are bonafide morons. just look at pat lam and blackadder. Hell, listen to robbie deans? how on earth does he communicate with the ozzies, with grunts and sign language?

• 135.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-131:

Well rumour has it that he is negotiating in Blue Bull country.

• 136.mad eye: Reply to this comment

I suggest you go down to the shop where you bought your Mnet decoder and ask the nice man to show you very slowly how to change channels,back to Kyknett.
    There you can watch all the reruns of Noot vir Noot and not have to watch those nasty New Zealand programs

• 137.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-134:

Oooo Brig

Mad eye got you too?

• 138.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-126:

that could very well be the starting lineup except that potgieter is out injured so elstadt would be my 7.

Eben Etsbeth could well be lock cover from the bench for his first tests meaning juandre kruger to start, not exactly the lock combo we have been used to for the past 110 tests but talented nonetheless.

jannie will still keep his spot ahead of w.kruger with coenie on the bench as he is able to play both sides.

lambie would start ahead of kirchener.

in all honesty….can you name a better starting 15 for a coaches first tests that ticks all the boxes, (setpiece,experience,dynasim,mobility,etc)

• 139.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

135 @ Bill Reyts

Yes – that part of the backwoods is more appropriate for him – he’ll look good in pink!

• 140.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-139:

He would too…

• 141.Dawn: Reply to this comment

For goodness sake when is F Steyn gonna grow out of his babyface.

• 142.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

I didn’t know anything about Kolisi until I saw him play against Hurricanes…first game of the season….was really impressed…..continued to watch him in Stormers matches to see if he was a flash in the plan….he continued to impress…..excellent in contact…virtually mistake free…composed on defense….makes telling tackles….good support player….works hard for 80 minutes….presents quick clean ball…intelligent player who runs good lines…cleans up loose ball……The best blindside in Super Rugby.
    Will he make Bok starting side? I would pick him for Abs if he was a Nzer.

• 143.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-134:
    have been calling blackadder out for the grey haired mongoloid he is for ages now.

• 144.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Brigadier… Potgieter is in no way better than Marcell and CJ is by far better than Potgieter!

• 145.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

he looks exactly like maggie thatcher in that photo.

• 146.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-134: hahahahahaha you are losing the plot a bit there boet :D

look around the world, there’s no rugby playing country that doesn’t have a NZ coaching in their premier league – just this weekend rob penney (canterbury coach & understudy to deans) has just been appointed at Munster. there’ll be three in our country with Matt Sexton – another cantabrian – taking over at the Kings.

they might be fukwits in your opinion, but i reckon they know their rugby….

2011 Rugby World Cup Semi-Finalist: 3 out of 4 coached by Kiwis…coincidence?

• 147.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Agh man boo f*ckin hoo!

All this talk of players “being shunted around” and it impeding their development blah blah blah. Its largely a South African phenomenon period.Namely: Brent Russell,Frans Steyn,Ruan Pienaar. At the beginning of Test career especially many a player from Aus,NZ have switched roles and positions multiple times and made a success of it.

Australia case in point:

Adam Ashley Cooper
    James O’Connor
    Elton Flatley
    Mat Rogers
    Quade Cooper
    Berrick Barnes
    Kurtley Beale
    Steve Larkham
    Mathew Burke
    Joe Roff

And many more

NZ same thing:

Richard Kahui
    Mils Muliaina
    Isia Toeava
    Ma’a Nonu
    Ben Smith
    Piri Weepu
    Jeff Wilson
    Alama Ieriemia
    Christian Culen

Above there are many fine players with the utility tag. James Oconnor has been playing Test rugby for 3-4 years now and he still hasnt found a position but he is a superb player in all the positions he plays.

At some point they must settle yes but all this talk of mismanagement etc is a load of horsesh*t. If you have more than 50 Test caps like Pienaar-and STILL not good enough,youre just not good enough to be world class. Hougaard has also been a utility for a couple years now but he bided his time and has produced whenever hes been on field. Pienaar’s best games were when e play 10 for Bok in EOYT 2008.At 9 he has always been erratic,smae with Steyn -until recently

• 148.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-142:

but your blindsider is a 6 in nz, in sa it is a 7.

kolisi is an opensider to us. he competes with brussow to us.
    nz is a little short of blindsiders at the minute with kaiano injured from what i see and if richie goes down you are short of opensiders as well. Well, of the same calibre anyway.

thompson,messam…..can’t be serious?

• 149.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

Imagine if all players were to be available.

15. Frans Steyn
    14. Lwazi Mvovo
    13. Jaque Fourie
    12. Jean De Villiers
    11. Bryan Habana
    10. Patrick Lambie
    9. Francious Hougaardt
    8. Marchell Coetzee
    7. Schalck Burger
    6. Heinrich Brussow
    5. Andries Bekker
    4. Eben Etzebeth
    3. Coenie Oosthuizen
    2. Bismark du Plessis
    1. Tandai beast Mtwarira

16. Chilliboy
    17. Steven Kitshoff
    18. Juandre Kruger
    19. Juan Smith
    20. Ruan Pienaar
    21. Morne Steyn
    22. Juan de Jongh

How is that for a Backline and loose trio…

I just wish Meyer could somehow convince J. Fourie to come back. He just balances that back line so perfectly, and the look deadly.

As for that loose trio, i know Coetzee may still be a little you. But he is the stand out Loose forward in the whole Super Rugby and there are stats that can prove that. Along with Burger and Brussow it make for a mean combo.

• 150.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-122: I’m no Jannie fan. I don’t think he scrums particularly well, and he offers even less in open play. I’m not a big Kruger fan either, but we’re seriously short on tightheads at the moment. First prize, for me, would be Brian Mujati, but I think that ship has sailed.

Regarding the back row, you’re making assumptions about Alberts and how long he will last. Also, between Bekker, Etsebeth, Kruger, Spies and Alberts there are 5 capable line-out jumpers in the match 22. More than most teams can say.

Kruger can cover 7 (he played there in the UK from time to time), but he’s mainly a lock cover. Kolisi can cover all three positions in the back row. Between him and Kruger we’ll have plenty of options off the bench.

And I think Aplon is far more than just an impact player. He’s a match winner from minute one, and I can’t think of a better option at 15, except for Steyn who I’m picking at 12.

I stand by my selection.

• 151.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-144:

thats your sharkey bias talking. Jaque Potgieter has been in awesome form.

• 152.rabooby: Reply to this comment

If Boks start with Spies then we are in trouble, put anyone else in that position before spies.. I would still put Daniels in before Spies, sure Daniels is not a Test player but Spies is not even a Super league player.. he never hits the pack, he is scared to tackle.. he is all front and no desire..Daniels will run all day and tackle.. Spies should not even be a thought…

• 153.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-131: Wake the hell up boet, Steyn is a class apart from every back we have in SA, he is a match winner.

• 154.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Actually it is your Bulls bias…

• 155.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-142:

Thank you mate,clear and insightful analysis.His most impressive facet of play is his low to non existant error rate.It remarkable.#Siya Kolisi

• 156.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-134: reunion looks like a bunch of hobos sitting in a cornfield.

very 1980′s and all the Tony Jackass led false grinning and backslapping is nauseating.

useless show.

havent watched boots and all since the racist left, how i miss him.

• 157.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-151: Against the stormers he didn’t even feature in the least, tough teams are what fills our test calendar not pushover reds with a list of injuries.

• 158.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-146:

my only answer to that is kiwis work for cheep.

pieter devilliers coached the boks to a 3-0 over the kiwis in 2009. has that ever happened before? Does that make devilliers a genius?

the boks were the last side to beat the kiwis with devilliers at the helm as well.
    there are no doubt some excellent nz coaches, my point is that there excellent sa ones as well. For the record I think hanson is shite and will be canned in 24 months.Gatland can’t buy a win over the boks even when we are playing shite.

best kiwi coach has been Ted who funnily enough, got slated by the british lions setup in 2001. go figure….

• 159.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-148:
    Still play him at blindside…As for Abs prospects at no6 (Nz styles) have to wait and see come Championship.. Kaino left big hole.

• 160.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-156:
    that tony johnson disgusts me, i could easily spit on him.
    ja, i miss the racist too. he has the goods, hope they bringhim back in from the cold at some point once rehabilitated.

• 161.Puma: Reply to this comment

Great can’t wait to see Fransie wearing the 12 jersey, should had it all along after 2007 world cup. He is with out a doubt our best inside centre. He was magnificent during the wc was probably our best player there. Once he got injured just knew our chances would drop.

Wish him all the best on his return home. Also hope he comes back to the Sharks.

• 162.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-156: Indeed. I always expect there to be some little sponsorship flash upfront that says this episode of Reunion was brought to you by Ned’s Panelbeaters or Butchery or Pest Control etc.

• 163.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-157:

wow, you pick out one game?
    how did coetzee go against the stormers….I didn’t even see.

look, bottom line is that every couple season the sharks have a half decent loose forward who must be a bok because he is so much better than all your other loose forwards who are all shite. Think Jean Deysel,Kankowski, Warren Brosnihan,etc….

• 164.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-159:

you can’t do that because we would be short of a lineout option with brussow and kolisi both at 5ft odd.We’d also lack serious weight at the scrum and physicality at the ruck and maul

• 165.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-163:
    fck, even daniel got a bok start that way.

• 166.carol: Reply to this comment

It’s Frans hair that is such a worry to me!

What is he thinking?

• 167.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-85:

First we talking about flanks not 8th man. Secondly how can you have Stander in there and not kollisi if you say Kollisi only played a handful of games ? Lekka one rule for the one player but different rule for another. Lastly overseas players dont really count now do they ? The comp they play is way below Super rugby standard , look how well Ricky Januarie is doing over there ! Having said that I will indulge with my feedback below.

Burger – Injured – Not available
    Brussouw – I agree
    Spies – 8th Man , heck and some even doubt that , not eligible
    Alberts – 8th man , also out of form !
    Vermullen – 8th Man – also injured so not avaialble
    Stander – seriously ? he is not really a openside flank to start off and also played less than Kollisi , how come he gets to start ahead on the basis of having played
    “only a handful of games” ?
    Straus – ? Who ?
    Daniel – 8th Man
    Minnie – Bwaa haa haa haa
    Potgieter – Just coming back from injury and has not played enough to prove he is in from.
    Johnson – blows hot and cold and at best a bench player , also primary a 8th man anyways.
    Kankowski – 8th man and injured anyways , not available
    van Heerden – who wickus ?? really ? Too old to play flank for a Lions team , playing lock where he is better suited nowdays and in anyways injured

Only Then up and coming,Coetzee,Carr,Kollisi,Rhodes,
    Why is Stander not part of this list ? Are you a Bulls supporter by any chance ?

Playing overseas,

Van Niekerk – primary a 8th man and showed the last time that UK form is far from SA form
    Sowerby – Who ? Why not Francois Pienaar while you at it ?
    Louw – Francois ? Maybe at best , but we don’t know what form he is in again
    Rossouw – Danie ? No man we moved away from the slow guys , besides is he not older that Bakkies ?
    Saracens captain for the life of me cannot remember his name,Straus, – I think you taking about Ernest Joubert who could not command a regular start at the Lions ! The same Lions that has been the poorest SA team in super rugby for the last few years now. Yup he is def Bok material.

So I ask once again , who is the 6 players that are better than Kollisi on current form ?

FYI – current form is simply where a player has played more than a handful of games this season , he played the majority of the games in his position.

• 168.carol: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-161:
    Hi Puma….Let me dash you off a quick mail!! ;-)

I keep missing you on the blogs

• 169.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-151: jaque potgieter is dom soos ‘n klip…i watched him at the Kings for 2 years!!

he is very active but is a penalty magnet, loses the ball in contact – error rate, still too naive to be Test quality…will get there though.

• 170.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-164: Actually, Kolisi is 6ft2 and has been used as a line-out jumper before. Hell, even Brussow was used once on the weekend (and won his ball).

Not every single forward has to be 7ft tall.

• 171.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-167:

wait a minute, I’m a bull and I don’t have stander anywhere near a bok start. We haven’t even found his best position yet. Maybe he can become a great 6 which would be good because he has even more physicality to your normal 5ft groundhog but not yet.

that doesn’t mean i’d have kolisi near a bok start either and definately not coetzee or alberts.

• 172.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-170:

is kolisi that tall?

he looks short on the field? Yes, I saw brussow take a ball the other night but that is only because johnson is to heavy to get off the ground.

in a test match, unless a player is completely unique,like brussow, I want them all very big especially in the forwards.

the bok lineout dominated for years because not only wasd matfield the master but everyone was 6ft+. skalk,jean smith,vic,bakkies,spies,dannie,etc..

• 173.mad eye: Reply to this comment

Sparticus shut up ****,we have put this to bed a long time ago.
    Lets see if Kollisi is ready in 2weeks time against decent opposition.
    He might be ,but I think not.
    Marcel Coetzee,who I have watched since he was at primary school at Port Natal,is the most exciting and complete flank I have seen since Jan Ellis,google that name because I can almost guarentee you haven’t a clue who he was.
    Now even with what I said above ,I would like to see Marcel play one more seson of super rugby,before he is thrown onto the Bok stage.
    The provincialism in this country is so bitter that to suceed at National level takes a lot more than abilty.
    Ask guys like John Smit and Gary Tech

• 174.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-158:
    I doubt he is a genius, but he knows his rugby
    The Boks’ 2009 success was cheifly enabled by the likes of Bryce Lawarence, Berdo, Allain Rolland and Nigel Ownen the referees, but then what goes around comes around.

• 175.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Fark just by looking at the pic of Frans I can see his over weight.

Hope his not into bunnychows, if he goes back to the Sharks.

• 176.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-172:
    Numbers are faked on purpose
    I have a 2008 game programme from Newland where Aplon was stated 1.69m and 70kg and I was not too sure about the 1.69
    He now stands tall at 1.75m and 78kg ;)

• 177.rabooby: Reply to this comment

I really think we could be in for a big wake up call. This English side are hungry and determined and are young.. Boks have a new manager and new players – and HM is looking in the caves to bring bakc Matfield from Hibernation…. Why not go the same way as the English and pick players in form, so what if they have little experience. He needs to give the youngsters a chance. I agree that he should have some old heads in there to balance it out, but everyone is injured… so go with your gut feeling… lancashire took that chance and look how well they have done…

• 178.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-171: I was talking to mad eye when he said there are at least 6 players ahead of kollisi in SA and named Stander as one of them , he reckons Kollisi only played a handful of good games which is not good enough , appareantly its good enough to rate Stander though.

PS – On a previous post you said you wont pick Joe Pietersen on the basis that he is not test match material , I agree 100% on that. Just like meisiekind he is a excellent super rugby player but not test match material.

• 179.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-176:

i think aplon wears high-heeled boots.

• 180.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-178:

I’d agree with that, pieterson shouldn’t even get a look in because there are better performing options in our superrugby.

olivier deserved a look in because he was the standout superrugby performing 12 for seasons. Personally, I think he got the shaft in the bok setup.Was selected to fail for a better choice of explanation…

• 181.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-172: 6 foot one and a half, if you want to be precise (which is the same height as CJ Stander).

• 182.mad eye: Reply to this comment

I think Apolon is proof that Wickus in district 9 definately shagged one of those prawns

• 183.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-179:
    His survival is a miracle really, even with all the ducking and slipping he makes to avoid direct contacts, the mass ratio is imperative at rugby, so how come a 70kg waif survived a test match is beyond me

• 184.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-181:

i would never have guessed that, do these okes wear different padding or what? Stander looks way bigger than kolisi. I’m sticking with my high heeled boots explanation.

• 185.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-182:

• 186.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-183:

I think on defence he hides behind the ref only to ambush the opposing ball carrier from behind when he runs past.?

• 187.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-173:

Okaaaay , so you cannot justify what you say and now resort to name calling and throwing your toys out of the cot. Nice. Jan Ellis way before my time , all I know is that he played flank if momeory serves me right and he was from TVL ?

Its useless comparing players of today to yesterdays players , different era , different ball game , todays players are much more athletic and will probably beat any team from the 70′s hands down. I know its a romantic veiw that the previous hero’s are gods answers to rugby but the truth is today’s players are simply better athletes and stronger. The game has changed way to much to compare.

Its not about throwing the player to the Lions so to say , its not about playing him too early. On current form who should play flank for the boks ? Who is fit and in form ? You cannot base your argument on what if’s. Use facts.

As for this sentence ? “The provincialism in this country is so bitter that to suceed at National level takes a lot more than abilty.Ask guys like John Smit and Gary Tech”

I dunno what you trying to say here , both the above players were stalwarts for the boks and Smit played his first Springbok game in 2000 at the age of 22.

• 188.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Coenie Oosthuizen and WP nel at 3 are far more effective then Jannie.

• 189.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-184: Stander isn’t tall at all, when compared with the likes of Spies, Alberts, Vermeulen etc. He and Kolisi are 1.88 and 1.87 respectively, which is only about an inch taller than Luke Watson, and just over 2 inches taller than Brussow.

• 190.willievz: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-188: WP got owned against the Chiefs.

Brok Harris deserves a look in.

• 191.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-189:

you will never see a Bok side with two small flank forwards. Traditional we gone with big 7 or 8 – or both.

• 192.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

In other news, I see Alistair Coetzee is moaning about not being able to field new recruits in the play-off stages The rule, which has been around for a few years, says players who weren’t part of the squad by 1 April can’t play in the knock-outs. Now Coetzee wants this changed for the Stormers to accommodate his latest spending spree. Boo-fcken-hoo. Not going to happen.

• 193.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-191: Which is why my team (posted somewhere above) has Brussow, Alberts and Spies starting, and Kruger (4, 5, 7) and Kolisi (6, 7, 8) covering on the bench.

• 194.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-190:

true. Brok Harris – No.

I wish Meyer bring back BJ Botha -

• 195.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-192:

He should have thought of that before he gave the nearly 2 meter tall loosie Grant Hatting to your team – apparently for next to nothing.

• 196.mad eye: Reply to this comment

To you could call Jan Ellis a flank,and you could call Elvis a singer,Ali a boxer and Tiger a golfer.But if thats all you could say about them,rather don’t say anything.
    No he didn’t come from N.Tvl nice try though.
    What I was saying about J.S and G.T.is that because of provincalism in this country,Gary had to captain the longest winning streak in test match history,and John had to win a World Cup outside of the country to be rated.
    Why because they came from Natal.
    Even though they achieved that there are many on this page that will now begin to tell you that they were overated
    Coetzee also comes from Natal

• 197.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-103:

1. Mtwarira – 100% will be selected
    2. Du Plessis
    3. Kruger, W – He will be screwed against England frontrow.
    4. Etsebeth
    5. Bekker
    6. Brussow – this is likely Meyer picks for start
    7. Alberts- a fit Potgieter would be here. Grant Hattingth bolter????
    8. Spies – Alberts deserves a start in his fav position.
    9. Hougaard – nop standout backup. Am picking Du Preez as backup.
    10. Steyn, M
    11. Habana- could be shock non selection?? I said it first
    12. Steyn, F
    13. De Villiers (c) – My pick as well for Capt.
    14. Petersen – Aplon here.
    15. Aplon – Lambie will be selected.
    16. Ralepele – Strauss has being form hooker. should be here.
    17. Kitshoff – No Coenie???, offers more then Kitschoff
    18. Kruger
    19. Kolisi – yep. will be in mix. good impact
    20. Pienaar – Has being tried and tested. Have du Preez here
    21. Lambie
    22. De Jongh

• 198.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

If there is one loose forward that has been really underrated and not mentioned enough in my opinion is, Keagan Daniel, to be brutally honest, on current form, the best No. 8 in the SA conference. Many will disagree, but this is one guy, that has performed week in and week out even when his side was on the losing end.
    Then there are the guys who believe he is to small to be a Bok No.8.

I would back Keagan to beat, step hand off Spies or any other No. 8 any day. One of SA’s quickest loosies and best defenders, rarely slipping tackles, to top it off he plays like a fetcher.

Maybe it is just me, but i rate this guy!!

• 199.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-192:

typical arrogant CT attitude. Rules are rules.

• 200.mad eye: Reply to this comment

What happened to Brok’s dumber twin Blaauw,
    Remember a game last year where Blaauw passed a ball straight into Brok’s face.
    Both looked like they went to special school.

• 201.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-198:

I agree. But much like Andy Aitkin, Daniel should being fecther out and out and stayed at 6. he would be great backup to Heinrich

• 202.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-199: Coetzee also wanted the rule bent last time round when he drafted Schalk Brits late in the season. Funny how it’s only a problem rule when it affects you. Why didn’t he petition for it’s change when they were putting together squads in November? Everything is always an “exceptional circumstance” for the Stormers.

• 203.vasteses: Reply to this comment

ek stem saam met jou oor Daniel sy skakeling tussen voor en agterspelers en sy gevoel vir die spel is baie goed. hy Isdie beste 8 op die oomblik en op die koop toe ook n goeie lyer

15. Lambie

14. Petersen
    13. daar is nie goed genoeg nie
    12. Steyn F

11. Habs

10. Steyn M
    9. Hougie

8 Daniel
    7 niemand staan uit nie behalwe potgieter
    6 Steggies

5 Bekker/ Kruger
    4 etsebet

3. coenie / kruger
    2. Du plesis
    1. greyling/beast

• 204.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-182:

bloody racist

• 205.ufo: Reply to this comment

brok harris more than holds his own in the tight… just ask coenie… harris has gone up against the best in the comp and come out on top….

and guys speak about offerings in the loose… well harris offers way more there than any other tighthead in the country…

he also plays loosehead more regularly than other ambidextrous props… so would be excellent cover on the bunch if not a starter…

either way… i agree with willie… he deserves a look in…

cilliers and jannie are both just plain lazy… seriously so… they pout in fewer tackles than all other props… for every tackle they don’t put in, they increase the workload on the rest of the team… werner has been lazy but upped his game in the last couple of matches… but over the season harris has way better stats…

but of course he won’t get picked…

KD ‘rarely slips tackles’… yet he is 15th on the Tackles Missed list with 21…

• 206.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-202:

True. But then Graham Henry and like have tried change rules in past suit them. And then there is trying change the 5 to 6 teams Kings fiasco :D

• 207.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-197: Who would you select at tighthead if not Kruger?

And I also prefer Alberts at 8, but given the injuries to Juan Smith and Schalk Burger (either of whom would have been my blindside starters), I’ve moved him to the side of the scrum.

I think Habana will start, and am willing to wager on that.

Ditto for Ralepele on the bench ahead of Strauss.

For me it was a complete toss-up between Kitshoff and Coenie on the bench. Kitshoff is a better scrummager, but Coenie has a better goose step. I’m happy either way.

And I’ve watched some of Ruan Pienaar recently, and he’s playing superb rugby. I’d select him on the bench any day. Du Preez has been discontinued, along with Matfield, Bakkies and Rossouw.

• 208.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@vasteses(vasteses)-203: Daniel sou ‘n goeie Sewes speler gemaak het. Maar nie ‘n Bok nommer 8 nie.

• 209.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What’s it with some of these Sharks supporters

Are they all befuck.

• 210.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Or should I say NATAL

• 211.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@vasteses(vasteses)-203: agreed, just said as much on another thread. As for 7 – my pick would be Elstadt

• 212.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

Personally, although he is a superb inside centre, I prefer Frans at fullback for numerous reasons – he has the potential for greatness at that position, possessiing in quantity an arsenal of skills – kicking, drop kicking, attacking, tackling, safest hands in the world under the high ball, uncanny positional anticipation on both defence and attack … that’s where I would put him and keep J de V at inside until we can find another top rate inside centre.

At inside centre I suppose Frans is the new one – bloody good there as well.

• 213.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-196: erm – Jan Hendrik Ellis (born 5 January 1942 in Brakpan, Gauteng, South Africa) is a South African former rugby union rugby player, who played flanker. He played 38 times for the Springboks, which at that time was a record.

Last time I checked Brakpan Gauteng was also known as TVL ? I said TVL not N-TVL by the way.

I am still waiting in the so called 6 better flanks than Kollisi in SA from you. I think I am just wasting my time.

• 214.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-208:

wel dan moet hy maar 7 speel want op 7 is die pickings maar “slim” op 7 vir bokke. ek sien al ons stmrs maatjies wil nou sommer vir elstad daar speel LOL. ons het ook nie n Danie pakslae nie. en dan is daar ook nie n 13 wat werklik vertroue inboesem nie. nee jong /HM het n moerse uitdaging.

• 215.mad eye: Reply to this comment

Guys have short memories here,they forget all too quickly how the Bok front row of Greyling,Straus and Kruger was owned totally by Scotland in the very recent past.
    Scotland who finished stone last in the six nations.
    They also forget how England shunted the Irish scrum in the last six nations game.
    Nothing short of our best will do,
    Currently its Beast,Bismark and i would like to see Coennie moved to that side, but Bismark has a habit of making sure its Jannie.
    Drotske is going to move Coennie over he said so on Boots,good thing to.
    That could be a massive front row, all very strong athletic and hungry workers

• 216.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-212:

Fine. Now can he do something about that baby face.

• 217.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

@vasteses(vasteses)-203: Dit lyk na n oraait span. Sou tog Met Lambie op 10 begin. F. Steyn op 15. Jean de Villier 12 en De Jongh. 13. (jammer J. Fourie is ni beskikbaar ni, mis die ou) en defenitief Mvovo op 14 in plaas van JP.. Jou oplossing vir 7 is Coetzee.

Net n vriendelike vraag…Hukm M. Steyn op 10 voor Lambie…ek verstaan ni.

• 218.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-217:

Miskien is hy ‘n bul? (vasteses)

• 219.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-215: Hell yes, Kruger will never be a bok tighthead and Greyling has a way to go yet he is promising but not in the Beast/Gurthro class just yet.

• 220.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-218: Miskien…

• 221.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-207: Coenie should start but if its Kitschoff I wont be worried , We have way too much looseheads , someone has to convert ! There is also the beast !

I know Coenie is gonna play tighthead soon but I would also like the Stormers to try Kitschoff at 3 , then again we do have solid options there with Harris and Malherbe whom I also feel could potentially reach higher honours one day , then there is another 18 year old Kebble who is also a loosehead , watch this laaitie also.

Re the flank , I really really rate Keegan Daniels , excellent player and in my book underated , I would like to see him play at 6 though where I feel he belongs. As it is a loose trio of

8 – Daniels
    7 – Kollisi
    6 – Broussouw

That would be great but lacks serious height. Elkstad for Kollisi then and Kollisi covers for Broussouw.

Sorry no Spies. Just not good enough but maybe with Broussouw and Elkstad doing the donkey work Spies will shine again ?

• 222.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-207:

on what grounds do you select Ralepele over Strauss???

Ruan Pienaar – I take Keo argument, apply here too about European form.

• 223.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-184: Kolisi is one seriously big dude. Not height although he is tall enough, but on meeting him I was really surprised at how chunky he was, it’s not obvious on the field by looking at him. Watching him play absolutely.

• 224.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-221:

18 year old Kebble??? – any relation to Guy Kebble? the powerful scrum destroyer????

• 225.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-217:

vir die eenvoudige feit dat frans moet 12 speel. lambie was goed in die WB op 15 , en steyn is nog goed genoeg op 10, as Goosen reg was was hy my keuse op die bank om later by morne oor te neem. maar die ondervinding van aldrie die spelers gaan deurslagewend wees as ons teen engeland wil wen. Ek is nie oortuig van de jong nie hy is net nie goed genoeg nie, mvovo is nie veel beter as enige van die ander vleuls wat ons het nie, ek gaan maar vir JP agv sy ondervinding.
    @Dawn(Dawn)-218: ja ek is n bull maar nie n dom bull.

• 226.Puma: Reply to this comment

Meyer’s Bok side possibly this:

Beast
    Bissie
    Jannie
    Etzebeth
    Bekker
    Brussow
    Elstadt
    Spies
    Hougaard
    Morne
    Habs
    Frans Steyn
    Jean De Villiers
    JPP
    Pat Lambie

Not my team but think that is who Meyer will select.

I would have Marcell at 8 with Pat Cilliers at th and Lambie at 10. Not sure about Elstadt at 7 either. So if Alberts is ready rather Alberts to start there.

• 227.ufo: Reply to this comment

my props would be tendai and coenie/brok… either starting or on the bench… both cover both sides…. rotate to suit… these are the three best scrummagers at the moment and all are very mobile with high work and tackle rates…

but would have a serious word to coenie about discipline… he’s everyone’s favorite at the moment… but when his penalties cost the boks a game the same everyone’s will roast him…

i wouldn’t use steven against the poms… he’s not streetwise enough yet… they will target him big time… save him for the EoY…

• 228.vasteses: Reply to this comment

kolietjie is n 6 nie n 7 speel dan eerder vir KD 7

• 229.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-226: Keegan is have a superb S15. Don’t rate him as captain, but as a player he is playing very well.

So the Bok loosies could also be:

Brussow
    Marcell
    Keegan

• 230.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-229: have = having

• 231.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-226:

agree. Meyer side will exactly be that side give or take couple names.

Pat Cilliers beside Bismack and beast I can see.

• 232.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@vasteses(vasteses)-214: Nee, ek het bedoel Sewes, soos in Sevens Rugby. Ek dink Kegan Daniel sou ‘n uitstekende Sewes speler wees, maar ek kan nie plek vir hom vind in a Bok 15-man span nie.

• 233.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-227:

agree. The poms are strong if not dominent in front role. I think Dan Cole will have edge over Beast or Kitschoff or Oosthuizen

• 234.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-226: Pat is just not strong enough at 3 to be a test tighthead.

• 235.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-224: The very same one’s son

@vasteses(vasteses)-228: Keegan op 8, Kolisi to cover for Brussouw. Sal Elsdtadt op 7 speel met Marcell op bank. Elstadt can cover op slot ook.

• 236.Puma: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-215: Yes that would be a awesome front row if Coenie could move over to th. What you think of Pat Cilliers? He has been superb this S15.

Beast
    Bissie
    Cilliers

That would also be a great front row.

• 237.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-224: His son.

• 238.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-234: Well I think he has looked our best this season to be fair.

• 239.ufo: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-233:

yeah… these poms are not gonna be pushovers at scrum time… and they are always wily buggers who will use plenty of gamesmanship too…

but heyneke knows this… hence his caution and wanting to play his tried and trusted…

i believe he will make the right selections…

• 240.Puma: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-231: Yip, agree think that will be Meyer’s Boks side.

Think he will want players that have played together. Only 1 week don’t give him much time. So think that will be the team.

Cilliers has had a great season so far.

• 241.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-222: I’m not a big Strauss fan. I agree, he has a lot of heart, but for all his bluster he’s not as effective as people try to make him out. He’s not the strongest scrummager, and I think Ralepele does the basics of hooker play better. Plus he’s becoming a serious ball stealer at rucks too.

For me, Strauss and Liebenberg are in the same mold.

• 242.ufo: Reply to this comment

agree…. malherbe will reach higher honors too imo…

him and kitshoff long-term…

• 243.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-233: Dan Cole is overrated. If they still had Julian White and Andy Sheridan either side of a decent hooker (not this George Shuter rubbish), then I’d be worried. But the likes of Cole and Stevens don’t scare me.

• 244.ufo: Reply to this comment

oliver kebble too a long-term prospect by the sounds of it…

but haven’t seen him play…

• 245.mad eye: Reply to this comment

I don’t even think Daniel should play for the Sharks,too light in the pants,should have been retreaded as a centre.
    Plumtree’s bigest mistake making him Shark’s captain.
    That should have been Bismark.
    Best Sharks 6,7,8,Coetzee,Alberts.Kanko.
    With Deysel coming back to form at 5 and Sykes playing at his best at 4,stage is set for Kanko to play his own game again.
    He is a great player ,just been used wrong.

• 246.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-242: With what we have at tighthead at the moment it would be great is Malherbe had had a bit more exposure to top flight rugby…he does look like a great prospect.

• 247.mad eye: Reply to this comment

Hey Dawne good news tomorrow it’s pensioner’s day at Checkers,
    Half price on the dog food.
    Hang in there

• 248.stew: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-226: looks like the team – think Jannie Du Plessis should stick to being a doctor

• 249.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-247:

How would you know about pensioners day at Checkers

• 250.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I wonder ……

• 251.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-246:

he’ll get there… but he and kitshoff are seriously young… most international props are late 20s early 30s…

not saying they aren’t good or old enough… just they aren’t streetwise enough yet… imo… certainly not for this pom tour…

maybe a midweek game though…

• 252.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-240:

he puts in a tackle every 15 or so minutes…

in the crusaders game he did not put in a single tackle (according to rugbystats)

coenie, brok, kitshoff, malherbe are all putting in tackles every 6 to 7 minutes… if tackling is about attitude I want players who show the attitude and desire to get around the park and get into position to put in those tackles… they don’t just come to you… you’ve gotta go and make them…

imo… we need all our forwards to be putting in good numbers of effective tackles in every game… tackling is one of the cornerstones of rugby…

cilliers really needs to up his game imo…

• 253.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

ek sien hier is al weer n paar lekker marabse hier.

• 254.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-249: He works there. Shout “cleaner and a mop to aisle 6″ and see who pops up.

• 255.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-221: I also think Kitshoff would make a great tighthead. Solid, compact build and specialising in scrumming the opponent till he poeps.

• 256.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-254:

• 257.Puma: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-248: Howzit Stew,

Think that would be Mayer’s Bok team.

Look Jannie has not had a great season, but he is a lot better with Beast back and will probably get back to where he was last year in the next couple of games with Beast there. I personally would have Pat Cilliers at th he has been excellent this S15. But Meyer will go with a front row that has played together.

• 258.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-257: Mayer = Meyer

• 259.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-235:

Guy Kebble was at a young age when he started to destroy opposition props. He was exposed out wide due lack of conditioning but boy he could scrum!!

@>^..^< katman(katman)-243:

agree about Matt Stevens. Exposed at RWC last year. The Pommie front row did well against french this year(minus Domingo though) and that is always litmus test for me.

I agree what others say here – Meyer will go with combos and tried and tested due to short timeframe he be working with.

Pat Cilliers is worth a mention. in better company he do well.

• 260.mad eye: Reply to this comment

Katman obviously soil yourself in ailse 6 quite often

• 261.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-252:Howzit bud,

I never watched the Lions play against the Saders. Missed that game. Just going by earlier games.

• 262.Puma: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-259: Yip that is what I am thinking. If Cilliers could have Bissie next to him with Beast on the other side, think he would pull his weight quite well.

• 263.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-259: Ja, but the French front row is also about 2 or 3 seasons beyond its best.

• 264.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-261:

always good thanks puma… you…?

yeah… i’ve been keeping the stats the whole season and he and jannie just don’t put the work in around the park that the others do… sad but true… so imo they don’t exhibit the desire and attitude required to wear the mighty springbok jersey…

but as G13G says… i agree he should do better in better company… although he could still be tackling his heart out in a losing team… but i’d want to see him do that before picking him…

• 265.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-260: I accept that “aisle” is a rather tricky word, but I’ve already spelt it for you, for crying in a mop bucket.

• 266.charo: Reply to this comment

meyer has no time to experiment.
    he will have to go with current boks and/or provincial combos.

front row – sharks
    second row – stormers
    6&7 – brussouw and alberts
    8,9,10 – bulls
    11,12,13 – stormers
    14,15 – sharks

• 267.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-266: I reckon you’ve got it spot-on there. This was almost my starting 15 too, except I had Aplon at 15 with Lambie on the bench, and I dabbled with the idea of Kruger instead of Jannie (out of desperation more than anything else).

• 268.Puma: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-266: Howzit Charo,

Meyer will select Frans Steyn at 12 though and probably Jean at 13. From what he said about Fransie at 12 during the wc is anything to go by. He was very impressed with Steyn there.

Alberts has had a off season so far, also not sure if he is over that shoulder op he had. Probably the reason Plum has left him out for 2 games. Marcell has been sublime this season and deserves a call up. Though not sure who Meyer will go with if Alberts does not get it together before June.

• 269.ufo: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-266:

hey charo…

yip… nail on the head…!!

• 270.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

I am so gratefull for the ship that beached on Clifton.
    Atleast the capetonians have something else to talk about besides wine and table mountain.

• 271.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-264: Very well as always.

Pity Sharks lost Cilliers to Lions. I think if you stand out in a team that is not doing well you are playing great rugby. It takes a super effort for any player to stand out in a team that is struggling. Cilliers has stood out.

I don’t keep stats or even look at them…hahaha. So not sure there just going by what I have seen of him this season.

Coenie too if he could move over might be great there. Not for the England tests though will need to play there first. But he is going really superb at LH for Cheetahs.

• 272.charo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-267:

think he might spring a few left field surprises for the bench – blokes like ruan pienaar, siya kolisi etc

• 273.Saint Shark: Reply to this comment

Does anyone know if Frans Steyn is even available for the first test v England?
    Racing Metro Paris plays Toulon in the Top 14 playoff on 25th May and I know England have not considered Stefon Armitage in their touring squad for this reason.

• 274.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-263:

thats true. Servant is still my top hooker in world.

@charo(charo)-266:

you are absolutely correct. Meyer, Hansen, Deans are all in same boat. Deans will likely go with Genia, Lucas, Hobbs reds combo for his first test. Meyer will go with establish comboninations

• 275.Puma: Reply to this comment

Okay out of here.

Cheers everyone.

• 276.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-272: See my match 22 in post no.103.

• 277.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-271:

yeah… gotta feel for the guy… but we all make our own beds hey…

i like coenie too… he’s always giving it everything and his attitude and desire is great… imo… but wouldn’t start him at tight head against the poms… let him play a season there first… although he and brok are the best options for the bench as they both cover both sides…

i didn’t see the sharks game this weekend so can’t say how beast went… but the props to me the demonstrate the desire game after game and never coast for a minute are the two cheetahs and three stormers props…

but as said by several of us now… expect and understand heyneke going with his tired and trusted for this tour…

• 278.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-275:

cheers bud…

• 279.charo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-276:

yep, not too different from what i’m expecting.

• 280.Sydney Shark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-16: Jassus you’re a negative oke!

• 281.Sydney Shark: Reply to this comment

What a kak biased issue this month! All about Kolisi but nothing about Marcel Coetzee. Let me guess SA Rugby is run by Keo?

• 282.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Sydney Shark(JayDaFiveOh)-281:

shourd of politics and personal agendas clouds SA media!

• 283.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Sydney Shark(JayDaFiveOh)-281: remember Sharks players raely get rated in SA or by SA public, their ratings or appreciating of their standard of play comes more from the Kiwi’s and Aussies

• 284.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sydney Shark(JayDaFiveOh)-280: (in this case) negative = objective :D yes

• 285.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Sydney Shark(JayDaFiveOh)-281: Infact i can just about guarentee you at Coetzee wont smell a Bok jersey

• 286.mad eye: Reply to this comment

UFO/KEO
    Don’t you think your statement sucks,didn’t watch the Beast,so can’t comment,well don’t then.
    For your imformation he was awesome,and lets hope you watch him this week,because he will be better.
    But as I said the acid test will be the week after when he puts Brok’s head as far up his arse as,that Crusaders prop did in the loosing semi at Newlands last year.
    One thing the next 2 weeks will bring is a Bok frontrow trial.

• 287.SuperStirrer: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-270: Have you noticed how all salvage operations around Cape Town start off as “relatively simple” procedures and become more complicated by the day and all the time sending the cost and (profits) skyrocketing.

• 288.mad eye: Reply to this comment

It’s like this site half the posters here are Keo and his staff,they write crud then comment on it,.
    Obviously they make money on the number of hits they get,but some of these guys are super suspect.
    Post anything that touches a nerve as to the credibilty of the journalism,and in one or two post,Transformation or UFO will be there bristling with indignation.
    What wankers,**** KEO is so arrogant he post as UFO, thats cute.
    Vrede who even next Keo is a a real dumbass,post as Transformation,a not so subtle cover for his bitter rascism.

• 289.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-285: Howzit boet. I looked at the stats for Coetzee, he leads the way with 168, with Kolisi second at 150, but he’s also on the list for most tackles missed at 21. Kolisi doesn’t feature on the list. He must have missed some but they are both effective tacklers and very busy guys it seems.

• 290.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-288:

dont turn into hulk my friend!

• 291.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Brown- eye(brown eye)-288:

Chillax bro.

Some anger management classes perhaps.

• 292.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-288: Cute as your little conspiracy theories are, mopman, I’m bored with them already. Can we have something else from you?

• 293.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-290: @stormersboy(stormersboy)-291: you okes are killing me :mrgreen:

• 294.mad eye: Reply to this comment

Bit close to the bone for you as well,***** boy,
    also part of the Keo cavalry??

• 295.mad eye: Reply to this comment

P U S S Y BOY

• 296.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-288: @<a @mad eye(mad eye)-286: Straight up the Dutpipe… Luvving it.

Schweet!!! :lol:

• 297.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-288: you say you have been in the communication industry for 30 years,what have you won?

The 2008 full line up of overall
    winners and sub-category
    winners:

Print and internet:
    Sports Journalist of the Year: Mark Keohane (writing in Independent
    Newspapers and the IOL website)

Sports Columnist of the Year: Neil
    Manthorp (www.supersport.co.za)
    Sports Feature Writer of the Year:
    Mark Keohane (Independent
    Newspapers and the IOL website)
    Sports Event/Live Match Reporter
    of the Year: Mark Keohane
    (Independent Newspapers); merit
    Mike Greenaway (Independent
    Newspapers)

• 298.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-294: Maybe SB is one of the blond crossdressers they show in Keo TV nowadays… Post like a girl, act like a girl, not quite a girl though…Makes sense to me… :wink:

• 299.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Where is small wanger with lice!

He should be taking notes!

• 300.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-297: Fck me… Those okes are the best of “best” in sports journalism in SA???

Farken hell… Makes me long for Stephen Jones… And that says everything.

• 301.mad eye: Reply to this comment

http://www.news24.com/Columnists/DavidMoseley/Time-to-euthanise-Newlands-20120515
    Now this is the type of journalism that should win awards.
    Tranny at least you have,come out the cupboard and shown your true colours.
    The communication industry is vast and trust me I have a fair amount of awards,
    Most of them International,not in the pure journalism sense but in a very aligned industry.
    But I am not here to blow my own trumpet or solicit.
    You know who I am from the address that I signed up to this site with and I ‘ll gladly share that imformation with you in a private EMail.
    Now if only good old KFO would come out of the cupboard too

• 302.YoMama: Reply to this comment

1 Tendai mTwarira
    2 Bismarck Du Plessis
    3 Jannie Du Plessis
    4 Eben Etsebeth
    5 Andries Bekker
    6 Heinrich Brussouw
    7 Josh Strauss (Because there is no-one else)
    8 Pierre Spies
    9 Fourie Du Preez (Capt)
    10 Morne Steyn
    11 Bryan Habana
    12 Francois Steyn
    13 Jean De Villiers
    14 JP Pieterson
    15 Patrick Lambie

16 Coenie Oosthuizen
    17 Adriaan Strauss
    18 Pat Cilliers (Because there is no-one else)
    19 Juandre Kruger
    20 Ashley Johnson (Because there is no-one else)
    21 Francois Hougaard
    22 Bjorn Basson

Blazer Boys:
    Lwazi mVovo
    Elton Jantjies
    Peter Grant
    Gio Aplon
    Jaco Taute
    Robert Ebersohn
    Rynhard Elstad (even though he is a doos)
    Flip Van Der Merwe (even though he is a doos)
    Derrick Minnie
    Chilliboy Rallepelle
    Joe Pieterson
    Dean Greyling
    Steven Kitshoff

Please return from injury:
    Schalk Burger
    Johan Goosen
    Duane Vermeulen
    Jacques Potgieter
    Juan Smith (Doubt he ever will)
    Fudge Mabeta
    Willem Alberts (it might just be mental)

• 303.mad eye: Reply to this comment

Tranny can’t beleive you are so dumb and easy to unmask,
    Like you just had all those stats on hand from 2008,
    that was an eternity ago Stormers had only been trophy less for 8 years then.

• 304.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-301: Do share please , faiekg@gmail.com

• 305.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-301: oh, good on ya maddie :D

were you part of the hordes at Kings Park that booed Francois Steyn? or were you the leader of the draught swilling crew that threw beer-filled mugs at stephen donald? :???:

• 306.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-303: who did you unmask, maddie?

• 307.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-289: hey boet here is an article from the Aussie press

Steyn leads at 10

Loose forward??/ Coetzee heads the stats

Steyn bossing the kicking stats
    2012-05-15 12:19Email | Print

Morne Steyn (Gallo)
    Related Links
    Five SA stars in BaaBaas squad
    Henry endorses All Blacks team
    Trio back to bolster Bulls
    Rob Houwing, Sport24 chief writer

Cape Town – If Super Rugby statistics are going to carry any weight in Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer’s deliberations over the flyhalf spot against England next month, then incumbent Morne Steyn is only entrenching his position.

The Bulls No 10 rules the roost in just about every boot-related category in the competition after Week 12.

According to latest figures in the Sydney Morning Herald, the 27-year-old heads up five departments.

For starters, his 12-point haul in the latest victory (27-24) over the Waratahs on tour last Friday boosted him to 161 overall points in 2012, nine clear of next-placed counterpart Aaron Cruden of the Chiefs (152).

These prolific scorers are due to lock horns very shortly: the Bulls, who first play the Highlanders this Saturday, meet the Chiefs in Hamilton on May 25 in a match which may go a long way to determining who tops the overall table at the end of ordinary season.

The men from Pretoria presently head the standings, one point ahead of the Waikato outfit.

Steyn also hogs top spot for most penalty goals (32), conversions (27) and dropped goals (2).

Just as significantly, the out-of-hand authority of his kicking is reflected in the fact that he sports the most kicking metres, according to the latest stats: an impressive 4,294m.

That places him fairly narrowly ahead of compatriot Joe Pietersen (3,914m), the diminutive Stormers fullback who gets surprisingly strong distance himself on touch-finders and in-field kicks – both players are a long way ahead of anyone else in Super Rugby in that regard.

And if anyone is tempted to suggest that the figures only confirm a “robotic” characteristic to Steyn, they should bear in mind that he is clearly not doing a shabby job in mixing up his game.

That is because the Bulls currently boast 36 tries – an average of just under four per game. It is a tally matched only by the Hurricanes.

The flyhalf is obviously regarded as a vital conduit in attacking play, so it suggests Steyn is back playing more adventurously out of the “pocket” he has often been accused of occupying a little too stubbornly in the past.

Adding further to the rosy picture surrounding his current form, he has the distinction of making his 100th Super Rugby appearance when the Bulls tackle the Highlanders in Dunedin on Saturday.

Another South African featuring especially prominently in the various Super Rugby stats right now is the Sharks’ dynamic No 7 Marcell Coetzee: he heads up the category for most tackles (168) – three more than Zimbabwean-born Force captain and fellow loose-forward David Pocock.

Considering that he is also a confident runner with the ball tucked beneath an arm, Coetzee could just force himself into Bok contention at blindside flank, where the national side has a problem with several injured customers at present.

Bulls wing Bjorn Basson has just slipped to second for most tries (7), behind Andre Taylor of the Hurricanes and the Chiefs’ amazing pick-and-go phenomenon near the tryline, shiny-domed loosehead Sona Taumalolo – they both boast eight.

• 308.mad eye: Reply to this comment

No but I can see you Trannie
    ,shouting for Suunnny Beeeeeelllll,everytime the Crusaders come to town.

• 309.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-303: get off it and show us your awards maddie! is this recent enough for you?

SAB Sports Media Awards
    SAB has announced the winners of its SAB Sports Media Awards 2011.

The winners of the SAB Sports Media Awards 2011 are:
    PRINT:
    · SAB Sports Column of the Year:
    § Mark Keohane (Business Day Sports Monthly)

· SAB Sports Feature of the Year:
    § Angus Powers (Sports Illustrated)

· SAB Sports Media Award 2011 for PRINT:
    § 2nd Runner-up: Mark Keohane (Business Day Sports Monthly)
    § 1st Runner-up: Gary Lemke (Business Day Sports Monthly)

o Winner of the SAB Sports Media Award 2011 for PRINT:
    § Angus Powers (Sports Illustrated)

PHOTOGRAPHY:
    · SAB Sports Action Shot of the Year:
    o Winner of the SAB Sports Action Shot of the Year:
    § Anne Laing

· SAB Sports Moment of the Year:
    o Winner of the SAB Sports Moment of the Year:
    § Herman Verwey (Beeld)

· SAB Sports Media Award 2011 for PHOTOGRAPHY:
    o 2nd Runner-up: Herman Verwey (City Press)
    o 1st Runner-up: Adrian de Kock

· Winner of the SAB Sports Media Award 2011 for PHOTOGRAPHY:
    § Anne Laing

NEW MEDIA:
    · SAB Sports Web Contributor of the Year: Ben Karpinski (thebounce.co.za)

· SAB Sports Blog of the Year: Mark Keohane (KEO.co.za)

· SAB Sports Media Award 2011 for NEW MEDIA:
    o 2nd Runner-up: Johan Coetzee (Supersport.com)
    o 1st Runner-up: Ben Karpinski (thebounce.co.za)

o Winner of the SAB Sports Media Award 2011 for NEW MEDIA:
    § Mark Keohane (KEO.co.za)

• 310.ufo: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-286:

you are a wound up little bundle of sunshine aren’t you… :lol:

but you still throw punches like preteen girls throw feather boas…

• 311.ufo: Reply to this comment

so mad-I…

what do think of all our keo awards…?

cool stuff hey…?

the team and i would just like to thank all our members for your contributions… but especially you…

you are the sharpest cookie cutter in the baking draw…

we’re honoured to have such a luminary aboard…

maybe we should invite you to our next awards evening so that i can thank you in person…

would you like that…? will fly you in and put you up a a swank hotel…

• 312.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-311: :lol:

• 313.ufo: Reply to this comment

anyway…

have to run now…

i know they’re several months old… but what the heck… got lots of celebrating to do…

think i’ll stuff my awards into my top pocket next to my pens, colored pencils, ruler and solar-powered pencil sharpener… then go and have a drink with joffers… do you think that will impress him…?

i know one shouldn’t blow one’s own trumpet… but feel that the circumstances warrant one popping one’s own champers cork…

what say you…?

have a brill evening my tall friend…!!

• 314.ufo: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-312:

• 315.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-313: cheers boss! :lol:

• 316.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Heeltemal bevok.

If he’s in the communications industry then I’m fecking Jane Austen.

• 317.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-316: Good evening miss Austen :lol:

• 318.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Good evening sir

• 319.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Loving this mad eye dude!

Viva la shark!

• 320.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

this mad eye idiot is fck’d in the head.. like most other sharkievarkies parading around this website thinking they the f’ng bees knees. ..

if people get awards for writing absolute cr@p then I should already have a Nobel prize for literature.

• 321.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-316: Sharks pride & Stormers prejudice :D

• 322.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-319: it’s not polite to make fun of the mentally disturbed ;)

• 323.Dawn: Reply to this comment

He totally insane

• 324.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-301: Bud, I have read your posts on this site and the only award I believe you will ever qualify for is the Darwin Award and you will have to wait for that one. This article is one person’s opinion about a trend towards poor sportsmanship that has crept into a lot of sports. The same fans will be at whatever stadium the Stormers play in.
    On the point of atmosphere several international players over the years have rated Newlands as the best atmosphere of any SH ground.
    Nothing worthy of any awards in this article that’s for sure.

• 325.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-302: You forgot to put Do o s next to Bismark and Jannie.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.