Back where he belongs
15 May 2012
Frans Steyn will be given the opportunity to take ownership of the Springbok No 12 jersey upon his return to South Africa.
Steyn has only started in 30 of his 47 Tests. Neither of his previous Test coaches has been sure of his best position, as he’s featured at flyhalf, wing, in the centres and fullback. Neither Jake White nor Peter de Villiers started Steyn in one position for more than five consecutive games.
BUY THE LATEST ISSUE NOW FOR R5.95 (DIGITAL EDITION)
The good news is that the wild ride is over. There will be no roller-coaster, no uncertainty in 2012. No longer will Steyn’s talent go unappreciated or mismanaged. On the contrary, new Bok coach Heyneke Meyer intends to milk it for all its worth.
‘I don’t want to mess him around by playing him in every position, I want him to settle in one position and build some confidence,’ says Meyer. ‘In a crisis he can play elsewhere, but I believe he can perform a leading role at No 12.’
Meyer goes on to explain exactly why Steyn is such an asset to the Boks, while former Bok fullback Percy Montgomery talks about how a player’s ability to kick the ball further than anybody in the game can ultimately fracture even the most well-organised defence.
– Coenie Oosthuizen is a non-conformist who wants to redefine the role of a prop
– Heyeneke Meyer tells SA Rugby magazine why he chose his Bok assistant coaches and what his expectations are of them, while Rassie Erasmus explains his new role as Saru’s high performance general manager
– England restored their pride during the Six Nations but will have to raise their game significantly to beat the Springboks in South Africa, writes Stuart Barnes
– England No 8 Ben Morgan has made the most of his opportunity to play Test rugby
– Owen Farrell‘s path to the top has enabled him to cope with upheaval and stay cool under pressure
– Brad Barritt has turned his attention to the Springboks after making an encouraging start start to his Test career in the Six Nations
– Siya Kolisi could become an important player for the Boks but shouldn’t be rushed into the Test line-up before he’s absolutely ready
– Hurricanes flyhalf Beauden Barrett has made the step up to Super Rugby with consummate ease
– Brumbies openside flank Michael Hooper could become one of the greats of the game
– SA Rugby magazine reviews the top schoolboy Easter rugby festivals held in April
– Having broken their Varsity Cup duck, Tuks want to dominate the tournament for years to come
– The Baby Boks are in a strong position to win the Junior World Championship title on home soil in June
Like SA Rugby mag on Facebook
Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

325 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All
15 May 2012, 10:21 am
Blitzbok – I think you are a bit wrong. JDV & J Fourie were the best centresin the wrodl at RWC 2007 and JDV had been in awesome form up until then. It was after RWC2007 that his form dipped a bit!! But to say he was **** from 2005 is way harsh, go look at the games he was the man from 2005 – 2007!!
15 May 2012, 10:22 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-47: Coetzee, Kolisi,and CJ Stander have all 3 had fantastic season so far
15 May 2012, 10:22 am
@Superbru(Superbru)-49:
true.
plus theres no point in stripping your moer every so often either.
15 May 2012, 10:25 am
I said he has only played 2 decent games,
He is far too young and inexperienced to put in against the AB’s
I also said with the right grooming he could be the real deal.
But right now there are 6 better players in South Africa and at least 6 better South Africans overseas.
I rate Marcel Coetzee way ahead of him,but I also think he should not be thrown in yet.
Give him time he is only 21,and properly managed and conditioned he can easily play for another 10 years.
15 May 2012, 10:28 am
@sparticus(sparticus)-46: no! meyer must make sure that he is “absolutely ready” before playing him…don’t ask me what will happen if heyneke doesn’t do this…
maybe names like kabamba floors, solly tyibilika, hilton lobberts, chiliboy ralepele, davon raubenheimer will help you make up your own mind
sharks_lover – Great news to hear F Steyn is returning to the Sharks, however i do feel for Bosman!! Another talent that was lost due to mis management,.
However now we get to see F Steyn and Lambie mix it up woah!!
@Superbru(Superbru)-50: Nah i think Plum has learnt his lesson, This is also why he now stays with Lambie at 10, we lost the likes of Ruan because of that too
15 May 2012, 10:33 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-52:
kolisi and stander above coetzee.
stander too much agression at the expense of more technique atm imo.
kolisi just right on agression as well as technique (but can improve even more).
15 May 2012, 10:34 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-57:
yeah,history tells us that the most talented players seem to get shunted around the most,hopefully the lessons of the past have been learned,and the bok coach should also have a real say in which position he wants a certain player played in for international purposes.
15 May 2012, 10:36 am
@race of tan(race of tan)-56:
tsk tsk…two bricks a castle does not make…
15 May 2012, 10:39 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-58: wrong, go look at the overall stats for loose forwards, Coetzee far ahead of any other SA loosie
15 May 2012, 10:40 am
@Superbru(Superbru)-59: agreed
15 May 2012, 10:43 am
@mad eye(mad eye)-54: I’m sorry, but that’s clearly just uninformed waffle. He’s shone in every single game he’s played for the Stormers, including the warm-ups. He’s been the most consistent performer for them this season, along with Eben Etsebeth. Where you pulled this “two game” fact from is pretty baffling, to say the least. Stick to what you know, and this isn’t it.
15 May 2012, 10:43 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-61:
Yep,I rate this guy highly and he is bound to improve in leaps and bounds throughout the rest of the comp.
15 May 2012, 10:52 am
Has Fran Styen announced his returning to SA to play Super Rugby?
Just asking,
Why should he do that, Saracens, Toulouse or Toulon will offer him top rate up to €800,000 per years plus expences, apartment, car etc
He won’t return to the Sharks to share the ball with Ndungane, JP or Mvovo, he surely will not join AC at the quota abided the Stormers, so what has left?
The Boks will play him regardless
15 May 2012, 10:56 am
Katman what is it that you know,as a player as a coach as a rugby writer.
Which of these is it that YOU KNOW that you have superior credentials than I have.
**** head stick to the things YOU KNOW ,not one of them is above.
Keep the personal **** out of the conversation.
Maybe this kid will be good but he isn’t yet.
In fact if Burger,Vermullen and Flo Louw were available for the Stormers, he wouldn’t get on the bench,and you want to make him an immediate Bok.
Fucken amateur arm chair warrior,bet you you played linesman at school
15 May 2012, 11:02 am
now katters is in die kak, mal oor has got him in his peroscope!
15 May 2012, 11:05 am
@mad eye(mad eye)-66: “bet you you played linesman at school”
15 May 2012, 11:08 am
Vrede /Tranny,don’t recall seeing you on the rugby field what was you did,tennis,hockey ,soccer or was it netball.
15 May 2012, 11:13 am
@mad eye(mad eye)-66:
careful katman…
just now he’ll be calling you simon or percy… or aj…
15 May 2012, 11:14 am
@mad eye(mad eye)-66: Well if you could resist the urge to publish reams of utter rubbish masquerading as informed rugby opinion, perhaps people would refrain from calling you out as a major fcken bullshitter. Which you are, of course.
15 May 2012, 11:15 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-67:
you’re stirring again ryan…
i’ll reverse your posting privileges if you continue to play with our members…??
15 May 2012, 11:18 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-55: Well then you might as well not play a guy like Johan Goosen cos Gaffie failed.
@ mad eye , put your money where your mouth is , name this so called 6 better players in SA and overseas. Name me at least the SA ones that are better than Kollisi on current form.
15 May 2012, 11:20 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-71:
i think you’re safe though katman…
with a clever nic like katMAN… madeye will never guess you’re really lucy ann…
but on second thoughts… he is a clever one our tall friend… so maybe he’ll notice the rhyming last syllable… which is a dead giveaway…
15 May 2012, 11:21 am
How About this for the first England test. But different but could maybe work.
15. Joe Peterson
14. Lwazi Mvovo
13. Jean de Villiers
12. Francious Steyn
11. Bryan Habana
10. Patrick Lambie
9. Francious Hougaardt
8. Duane Vermeulen
7. Marchell Coetzee
6. Heinrich Brussow
5. Andries Bekker
4. Eben Etzebeth
3. Coenie Oosthuizen
2. Bismark du Plessis
1. Tandai “Beast” Mtwarira
16. Chilliboy Ralapele
17. Steven Kitshoff
18. Steven Sykes
19. Piere Spies
20. Charl Mcleod
21. Morne Steyn
22. JP Peterson
Maybe a little unconventional but looks a good side. I know it is not ideal to play guys out of position, like i did with JdV, but F.Steyn is a great 12 and so is JdV but to accommodate both, i think JdV can make the switch.
Obviously allot of other good form players to choose from tho. Makes it hard.
15 May 2012, 11:22 am
@ufo(ufo)-70: katman will be jon cardinelli
15 May 2012, 11:23 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-76:
sheesh…!!
i was dragging some leafy branches across his trail…
@sparticus(sparticus)-73:
The goose should certainly be let loose,but only in the last 20 when the game has opened up,and handled with kid gloves,this one for sure,and so he will mature into an eventual starting 10.
@Transformation(Transformation)-76:
That one eye looking through a periscope is a fearsome sight!
15 May 2012, 11:26 am
Personally, I see Kolisi being the glue in the stormers backrow. Fantastic workrate allowing the other 2 backrowers to do what they do well.
It’s all about balance in my opinion.
Much like the bulls just being better when steggman is there.to be fair, stander looks to be growing into his 6 role better.
I’m not sure in this regard how kolisi would fit into a bokback row. As a Brussow backup probably, doubt he’d make the bench as the bench backrower needs to cover 8 as well as being a lineout option depending on other bench selections? he’s a very specific player.
Basically, either kolisi starts or he doesn’t play kind of situation.
Marcel Coetzee has been okay, no more than that. Only in sharkland is he considered more than that, in my opinion, only because all the other forwards have been so ordinary for most of the season. the fact that bismark and beest had big games last weekend makes a hell of a lot of difference.
my bok backrow would still currently be,
6.brussow
7.elstadt
8.spies
15 May 2012, 11:27 am
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-75:
It’s a good team,make no mistake,but the stamp of approval from the bok coach will not be handed out to this one,he is bound to come up with a team with a blue/pink hue to it.
15 May 2012, 11:30 am
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-75: That’s not a bad team. Although Coenie is actually a loosehead. And I’d have Juandre in ahead of Sykes. Many other talking points, but that team should be too good for England.
15 May 2012, 11:30 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-79:
Yep,a deranged mad cow one eye is fearsome to behold indeed.
15 May 2012, 11:31 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-80: Ja that would be my backrow too.
Only because Vermeulen is injured though.
Elstadt is the best 7 in SA at the moment, by some margin. Alberts is in poor form or he would have been the guy I went for.
15 May 2012, 11:34 am
What is current form,2 games, half a season,a whole season.
The 4 years in a world cup cycle.
In S.A at the moment most would rate and not in order injured and uninjured,
the top 6 loosies as being
Burger ,Brussouw,Spies,Alberts,Vermullen,Stander,
Followed by in no particular order,Straus,Daniel,Minnie,Potgieter, Johnson. Kankowski,van Heerden,
Only Then up and coming,Coetzee,Carr,Kollisi,Rhodes,
Playing overseas,Van Niekerk,Sowerby,Louw,Rossouw,Saracens captain for the life of me cannot remember his name,Straus,
Is that enough????
15 May 2012, 11:34 am
Coetzee only rated in Sharkland?? Seriously? Tell that to the NZers and Aussies punting him… Kolisi has also been brilliant!
15 May 2012, 11:37 am
based on Form and partly on “class” my Bok 222 would be:
1. Beast
2. Bismarl
3. Jannie
4. Etsebeth
5. Bekker
6. Brussow
7. Elstadt
8. Spies
9. Hougaard
10. Morne Steyn
11. Habana
12. Frankie Steyn
13 Jean De Villiers (c)
14. Aplon
15. Lambie.
16. Coenie Doodpoes
17. Strauss
18. Juandre Kruger
19. Siya Kolisi
20. Jano vermaak
21. Juan De Jongh
22. Joe Pieterson
15 May 2012, 11:39 am
Dawn don’t take the white pills in the morning those are for the evening and its frowned upon to wash them down with gin before12 o’clock ,even in Bellville you old laconic soak
15 May 2012, 11:39 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-82:
come now Katman….that’s a bloody shite team.
on what basis would would sykes,coetzee,joe pietserson ,mvovo and charl mccloud start becoming Bok Calibre…..if we are serious about winning 80% of our test matches,that is.
hell, it’s debatable weather those names are even serious superrugby calibre yet. none of those okes have shown that they can do the business at the business end.
Joe pieterson, maybe but he will be up against Lambie and Kirchener for the 15 jersey and they are both better option. Hell, 2 years ago already Hougie made Pieterson look 100 years old when he ran around him in the final.
Coetzee maybe, but there are many more ahead of him in the backrow pecking order in my opinion.
mvovo maybe but I have yet to see anything special from him apart from the fact that he obviously can score a try…much in the Kabous mould maybe?
mccloud and sykes never again, half the problem with the sharks is that their locks give them nothing and mccloud is the epitomy of “average”.
15 May 2012, 11:40 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-87:
your bok 222?
holy cow…well prepared this season are we?
15 May 2012, 11:40 am
@mad eye(mad eye)-85: Bro.
You are showing your ignorance now. Maybe it’s Bias.
Don’t try and weasel your way out of it,
Kolisi has played 10 games and shone in every single one of them. Not 2.
Alberts is nowhere near the form he needs to be to be considered as one of the top 6 loose forwards in SA. The Sharks even dropped him.
Siya is the real deal and with all the injuries he may just get his chance.
He’ll certainly be in the greater squad, not sure of he’ll make the match day 22.
15 May 2012, 11:43 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-89:
Come on Brig, you lost all credibility when you said Kirschner is better than Pieterson.
“Hell, 2 years ago already Hougie made Pieterson look 100 years old when he ran around him in the final.”
Juan De Jongh did the exact same thing against Curtley Beale but that doesn’t make him shite now does it?? All it means is that he stepped someone who was defending flat footed and front on. Any attacking runner worth his salt should be able to do that.
15 May 2012, 11:45 am
@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-86:
what nzers?
i think those blokes on reunion are bloody retarded. They managed to find the only coherent english speaker and gave him the mike in charge of the floor….and he’s the only one worth listening to, agree or not.
the guests every week are frikken morons as is that fat donkey Nesbitt. I’m more and more embarrassed that we actuaslly lose games to those sort of fck wits. But we don’t lose as much anymore and the cycle is coming to an end.
15 May 2012, 11:46 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-76: Fok U.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-91: boet , we always agree, but i dont agree that any other loosie has been better then Coetzee , this oke is dominating the stas, even in a time when the Sharks as a team was not playing well, Elstad also happens to be one of the dirtiest players around, Go check out all the stats and see what loosies are performing on the super 15 stage
oh and GM brudda lol
Stormboy, how can you have Spies in there on form… Wow..
Kiegan Daniels has outplayed him by miles, and I still dont think Kiegan Daniels is Boks material.
If I was HM I would seriously be looking at bringing Sarel Pretorius back he is to good, and Hougaard can play on the wing, as I think he is the best we have for wing options. And would definately have Pienaar on the bench for backup, as he knows how the english will play.. so please pray that HM does not go down the Bulls picking order…
15 May 2012, 11:48 am
Brigadier you are entitled to your opinion… But mark my words… Coetzee will be a Bok soon… And so will Kolisi…
15 May 2012, 11:54 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-94:
no offense katman…
just that if you disagree with mad eye he accuses you of being one of the incognito keo crew deliberately stirring to get the hits up…
15 May 2012, 11:58 am
@rabooby(rabooby)-96: I’m not Spies fan per se but think that on current form and given the loss of Vermeulen and poor form of Strauss and Alberts he’s the right guy.
I wouldn’t pick Keegan.
Sorry. Not even close. But that’s my opinion. I’d pick Ashley Johnson before Keegan and the Cheetahs 8 before him.
15 May 2012, 11:59 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-92:
dude, for my money, Pieterson is a decent superplayer. Kirchener is a good superplayer who makes the boks by default because Steyn was away. But Lambie will take that jersey the same way Steyn.f will now take the 12 jersey from devilliers.
basically, unless something else happens, kirchener will be in the greater squad but will not make a match 22 unless lambie is injured.
I can’t help but feel that pieterson is now getting kudos because of his goal kicking but he will not be required to kick at goal for the boks. Outside of that, he doesn’t have the out of hand kicking range of kirchener, or the defence or attack the line as well, I doubt pieterson is as quick in a foot race as well. In fact, for my money, kirchener and danillier are the best fullbacks in the country at joining the line. Danillier could well be called up by the way.
so there you go, kirchener is not my first choice but probably would be my second.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All