Back where he belongs
15 May 2012
Frans Steyn will be given the opportunity to take ownership of the Springbok No 12 jersey upon his return to South Africa.
Steyn has only started in 30 of his 47 Tests. Neither of his previous Test coaches has been sure of his best position, as he’s featured at flyhalf, wing, in the centres and fullback. Neither Jake White nor Peter de Villiers started Steyn in one position for more than five consecutive games.
BUY THE LATEST ISSUE NOW FOR R5.95 (DIGITAL EDITION)
The good news is that the wild ride is over. There will be no roller-coaster, no uncertainty in 2012. No longer will Steyn’s talent go unappreciated or mismanaged. On the contrary, new Bok coach Heyneke Meyer intends to milk it for all its worth.
‘I don’t want to mess him around by playing him in every position, I want him to settle in one position and build some confidence,’ says Meyer. ‘In a crisis he can play elsewhere, but I believe he can perform a leading role at No 12.’
Meyer goes on to explain exactly why Steyn is such an asset to the Boks, while former Bok fullback Percy Montgomery talks about how a player’s ability to kick the ball further than anybody in the game can ultimately fracture even the most well-organised defence.
– Coenie Oosthuizen is a non-conformist who wants to redefine the role of a prop
– Heyeneke Meyer tells SA Rugby magazine why he chose his Bok assistant coaches and what his expectations are of them, while Rassie Erasmus explains his new role as Saru’s high performance general manager
– England restored their pride during the Six Nations but will have to raise their game significantly to beat the Springboks in South Africa, writes Stuart Barnes
– England No 8 Ben Morgan has made the most of his opportunity to play Test rugby
– Owen Farrell‘s path to the top has enabled him to cope with upheaval and stay cool under pressure
– Brad Barritt has turned his attention to the Springboks after making an encouraging start start to his Test career in the Six Nations
– Siya Kolisi could become an important player for the Boks but shouldn’t be rushed into the Test line-up before he’s absolutely ready
– Hurricanes flyhalf Beauden Barrett has made the step up to Super Rugby with consummate ease
– Brumbies openside flank Michael Hooper could become one of the greats of the game
– SA Rugby magazine reviews the top schoolboy Easter rugby festivals held in April
– Having broken their Varsity Cup duck, Tuks want to dominate the tournament for years to come
– The Baby Boks are in a strong position to win the Junior World Championship title on home soil in June
Like SA Rugby mag on Facebook
Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

325 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All
15 May 2012, 14:54 pm
@Skeppie(Skeppie)-246:
he’ll get there… but he and kitshoff are seriously young… most international props are late 20s early 30s…
not saying they aren’t good or old enough… just they aren’t streetwise enough yet… imo… certainly not for this pom tour…
maybe a midweek game though…
15 May 2012, 14:55 pm
@Puma(Puma)-240:
he puts in a tackle every 15 or so minutes…
in the crusaders game he did not put in a single tackle (according to rugbystats)
coenie, brok, kitshoff, malherbe are all putting in tackles every 6 to 7 minutes… if tackling is about attitude I want players who show the attitude and desire to get around the park and get into position to put in those tackles… they don’t just come to you… you’ve gotta go and make them…
imo… we need all our forwards to be putting in good numbers of effective tackles in every game… tackling is one of the cornerstones of rugby…
cilliers really needs to up his game imo…
15 May 2012, 14:55 pm
ek sien hier is al weer n paar lekker marabse hier.
15 May 2012, 14:56 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-249: He works there. Shout “cleaner and a mop to aisle 6″ and see who pops up.
15 May 2012, 14:58 pm
@sparticus(sparticus)-221: I also think Kitshoff would make a great tighthead. Solid, compact build and specialising in scrumming the opponent till he poeps.
15 May 2012, 14:59 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-254:
15 May 2012, 14:59 pm
@stew(stew)-248: Howzit Stew,
Think that would be Mayer’s Bok team.
Look Jannie has not had a great season, but he is a lot better with Beast back and will probably get back to where he was last year in the next couple of games with Beast there. I personally would have Pat Cilliers at th he has been excellent this S15. But Meyer will go with a front row that has played together.
15 May 2012, 15:00 pm
@Puma(Puma)-257: Mayer = Meyer
15 May 2012, 15:00 pm
@trupisero(trupisero)-235:
Guy Kebble was at a young age when he started to destroy opposition props. He was exposed out wide due lack of conditioning but boy he could scrum!!
@>^..^< katman(katman)-243:
agree about Matt Stevens. Exposed at RWC last year. The Pommie front row did well against french this year(minus Domingo though) and that is always litmus test for me.
I agree what others say here – Meyer will go with combos and tried and tested due to short timeframe he be working with.
Pat Cilliers is worth a mention. in better company he do well.
15 May 2012, 15:02 pm
Katman obviously soil yourself in ailse 6 quite often
15 May 2012, 15:03 pm
@ufo(ufo)-252:Howzit bud,
I never watched the Lions play against the Saders. Missed that game. Just going by earlier games.
15 May 2012, 15:06 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-259: Yip that is what I am thinking. If Cilliers could have Bissie next to him with Beast on the other side, think he would pull his weight quite well.
15 May 2012, 15:06 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-259: Ja, but the French front row is also about 2 or 3 seasons beyond its best.
15 May 2012, 15:07 pm
@Puma(Puma)-261:
always good thanks puma… you…?
yeah… i’ve been keeping the stats the whole season and he and jannie just don’t put the work in around the park that the others do… sad but true… so imo they don’t exhibit the desire and attitude required to wear the mighty springbok jersey…
but as G13G says… i agree he should do better in better company… although he could still be tackling his heart out in a losing team… but i’d want to see him do that before picking him…
15 May 2012, 15:08 pm
@mad eye(mad eye)-260: I accept that “aisle” is a rather tricky word, but I’ve already spelt it for you, for crying in a mop bucket.
15 May 2012, 15:08 pm
meyer has no time to experiment.
he will have to go with current boks and/or provincial combos.
front row – sharks
second row – stormers
6&7 – brussouw and alberts
8,9,10 – bulls
11,12,13 – stormers
14,15 – sharks
15 May 2012, 15:11 pm
@charo(charo)-266: I reckon you’ve got it spot-on there. This was almost my starting 15 too, except I had Aplon at 15 with Lambie on the bench, and I dabbled with the idea of Kruger instead of Jannie (out of desperation more than anything else).
15 May 2012, 15:16 pm
@charo(charo)-266: Howzit Charo,
Meyer will select Frans Steyn at 12 though and probably Jean at 13. From what he said about Fransie at 12 during the wc is anything to go by. He was very impressed with Steyn there.
Alberts has had a off season so far, also not sure if he is over that shoulder op he had. Probably the reason Plum has left him out for 2 games. Marcell has been sublime this season and deserves a call up. Though not sure who Meyer will go with if Alberts does not get it together before June.
15 May 2012, 15:17 pm
@charo(charo)-266:
hey charo…
yip… nail on the head…!!
15 May 2012, 15:18 pm
I am so gratefull for the ship that beached on Clifton.
Atleast the capetonians have something else to talk about besides wine and table mountain.
15 May 2012, 15:20 pm
@ufo(ufo)-264: Very well as always.
Pity Sharks lost Cilliers to Lions. I think if you stand out in a team that is not doing well you are playing great rugby. It takes a super effort for any player to stand out in a team that is struggling. Cilliers has stood out.
I don’t keep stats or even look at them…hahaha. So not sure there just going by what I have seen of him this season.
Coenie too if he could move over might be great there. Not for the England tests though will need to play there first. But he is going really superb at LH for Cheetahs.
15 May 2012, 15:23 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-267:
think he might spring a few left field surprises for the bench – blokes like ruan pienaar, siya kolisi etc
15 May 2012, 15:23 pm
Does anyone know if Frans Steyn is even available for the first test v England?
Racing Metro Paris plays Toulon in the Top 14 playoff on 25th May and I know England have not considered Stefon Armitage in their touring squad for this reason.
15 May 2012, 15:24 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-263:
thats true. Servant is still my top hooker in world.
@charo(charo)-266:
you are absolutely correct. Meyer, Hansen, Deans are all in same boat. Deans will likely go with Genia, Lucas, Hobbs reds combo for his first test. Meyer will go with establish comboninations
15 May 2012, 15:24 pm
Okay out of here.
Cheers everyone.
15 May 2012, 15:27 pm
@charo(charo)-272: See my match 22 in post no.103.
15 May 2012, 15:30 pm
@Puma(Puma)-271:
yeah… gotta feel for the guy… but we all make our own beds hey…
i like coenie too… he’s always giving it everything and his attitude and desire is great… imo… but wouldn’t start him at tight head against the poms… let him play a season there first… although he and brok are the best options for the bench as they both cover both sides…
i didn’t see the sharks game this weekend so can’t say how beast went… but the props to me the demonstrate the desire game after game and never coast for a minute are the two cheetahs and three stormers props…
but as said by several of us now… expect and understand heyneke going with his tired and trusted for this tour…
15 May 2012, 15:32 pm
@Puma(Puma)-275:
cheers bud…
15 May 2012, 15:48 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-276:
yep, not too different from what i’m expecting.
15 May 2012, 15:49 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-16: Jassus you’re a negative oke!
15 May 2012, 15:51 pm
What a kak biased issue this month! All about Kolisi but nothing about Marcel Coetzee. Let me guess SA Rugby is run by Keo?
15 May 2012, 15:53 pm
@Sydney Shark(JayDaFiveOh)-281:
shourd of politics and personal agendas clouds SA media!
15 May 2012, 15:57 pm
@Sydney Shark(JayDaFiveOh)-281: remember Sharks players raely get rated in SA or by SA public, their ratings or appreciating of their standard of play comes more from the Kiwi’s and Aussies
15 May 2012, 15:57 pm
@Sydney Shark(JayDaFiveOh)-280: (in this case) negative = objective
yes
15 May 2012, 15:58 pm
@Sydney Shark(JayDaFiveOh)-281: Infact i can just about guarentee you at Coetzee wont smell a Bok jersey
15 May 2012, 15:58 pm
UFO/KEO
Don’t you think your statement sucks,didn’t watch the Beast,so can’t comment,well don’t then.
For your imformation he was awesome,and lets hope you watch him this week,because he will be better.
But as I said the acid test will be the week after when he puts Brok’s head as far up his arse as,that Crusaders prop did in the loosing semi at Newlands last year.
One thing the next 2 weeks will bring is a Bok frontrow trial.
15 May 2012, 16:02 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-270: Have you noticed how all salvage operations around Cape Town start off as “relatively simple” procedures and become more complicated by the day and all the time sending the cost and (profits) skyrocketing.
15 May 2012, 16:09 pm
It’s like this site half the posters here are Keo and his staff,they write crud then comment on it,.
Obviously they make money on the number of hits they get,but some of these guys are super suspect.
Post anything that touches a nerve as to the credibilty of the journalism,and in one or two post,Transformation or UFO will be there bristling with indignation.
What wankers,**** KEO is so arrogant he post as UFO, thats cute.
Vrede who even next Keo is a a real dumbass,post as Transformation,a not so subtle cover for his bitter rascism.
15 May 2012, 16:11 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-285: Howzit boet. I looked at the stats for Coetzee, he leads the way with 168, with Kolisi second at 150, but he’s also on the list for most tackles missed at 21. Kolisi doesn’t feature on the list. He must have missed some but they are both effective tacklers and very busy guys it seems.
15 May 2012, 16:13 pm
@mad eye(mad eye)-288:
dont turn into hulk my friend!
15 May 2012, 16:17 pm
@Brown- eye(brown eye)-288:
Chillax bro.
Some anger management classes perhaps.
15 May 2012, 16:25 pm
@mad eye(mad eye)-288: Cute as your little conspiracy theories are, mopman, I’m bored with them already. Can we have something else from you?
15 May 2012, 16:25 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-290: @stormersboy(stormersboy)-291: you okes are killing me
15 May 2012, 16:32 pm
Bit close to the bone for you as well,***** boy,
also part of the Keo cavalry??
15 May 2012, 16:33 pm
P U S S Y BOY
15 May 2012, 16:36 pm
@mad eye(mad eye)-288: @<a @mad eye(mad eye)-286: Straight up the Dutpipe… Luvving it.
Schweet!!!
15 May 2012, 16:37 pm
@mad eye(mad eye)-288: you say you have been in the communication industry for 30 years,what have you won?
The 2008 full line up of overall
winners and sub-category
winners:
Print and internet:
Sports Journalist of the Year: Mark Keohane (writing in Independent
Newspapers and the IOL website)
Sports Columnist of the Year: Neil
Manthorp (www.supersport.co.za)
Sports Feature Writer of the Year:
Mark Keohane (Independent
Newspapers and the IOL website)
Sports Event/Live Match Reporter
of the Year: Mark Keohane
(Independent Newspapers); merit
Mike Greenaway (Independent
Newspapers)
15 May 2012, 16:38 pm
@mad eye(mad eye)-294: Maybe SB is one of the blond crossdressers they show in Keo TV nowadays… Post like a girl, act like a girl, not quite a girl though…Makes sense to me…
15 May 2012, 16:41 pm
Where is small wanger with lice!
He should be taking notes!
15 May 2012, 16:44 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-297: Fck me… Those okes are the best of “best” in sports journalism in SA???
Farken hell… Makes me long for Stephen Jones… And that says everything.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All