Brumbies put boot into Canes
18 May 2012
JON CARDINELLI writes that great goal-kicking was the difference in the Brumbies’ 37-25 victory over the Hurricanes in Wellington.
How did the Hurricanes conspire to throw this match away? They scored their fourth try in the third quarter and looked to be cruising to an important win, but faded badly in the last 20 minutes and allowed the visitors to score 19 unanswered points.
It will be regarded as an ugly win for Jake White’s team even though they bagged five log points from a difficult visit to Wellington. It was also ironic that some form of kicking would propel the Brumbies to a fantastic result, as their kicking from hand was nothing short of aimless.
They controlled the earlier periods of play and shot to a 10-0 lead, but were subsequently punished for some poor tactical punts. Too often the high balls or tactical probes were too long, allowing a dangerous Hurricanes back three to collect and counter-attack with damaging results.
The Hurricanes forwards also came back strongly, and TJ Perenara scored in the 17th minute after the heavies had set a great platform. Victor Vito added the hosts’ second from a neat set-piece move, and the Hurricanes looked to have seized the initiative right before half-time.
Perenara snatched his second after the break, finishing an opportunity that was rooted again in strong forward play and poor kicking by the Brumbies.
Rookie flyhalf Zack Holmes managed to goal a penalty during this period, but the Canes kept on coming, and another strong drive from the lineout had the Brumbies defence stretched. Reserve prop Jeffrey Toomaga-Allen barrelled over from a subsequent surge, and at 25-16 the Canes were set for a fine finish.
But while the Canes had done well to win the battle for territory and punish Brumbies errors, they had failed to capitalise via an accurate goal-kicking performance. Following Toomaga-Allen’s try, they were nine points ahead, but wayward goal-attempts meant they had left a further nine points out on the field. It was this inaccuracy, as well as an unforgivable lapse in the last quarter, that would result in them losing the game.
The Brumbies were guilty of poor kicking out of hand, but they stuck to their tactics and began to enjoy the benefits in the dying stages. Their forwards also came back strongly, and it was some neat inter-passing between the visiting tight forwards that resulted in a try by lock Sam Carter.
They looked to have botched a scoring opportunity when they knocked on five metres out from the Canes’ tryline, but won a tighthead at the ensuing scrum. Michael Hooper swooped on the loose ball and emerged from a pile of bodies. The accurate goal-kicking boot of Holmes ensured that they made the lead five points instead of three.
The Brumbies flyhalf completed a memorable first start with a seven pointer moments later, and at 37-25, the game was over. The Canes attempted to close the gap in last 10 minutes but coughed up possession at the critical moment. In the end, a determined Brumbies defensive effort denied the Canes a losing bonus point.
The result sees the Brumbies consolidating their place at the top of the Australian conference and keeping the Reds at arm’s length. Following such a gutting loss at home, the Hurricanes should struggle to stay in the play-off race.

364 Comments
18 May 2012, 08:19 am
Big effort needed today, please guys. We didn’t travel all the way across The Ditch for nothing!
18 May 2012, 08:38 am
Go Brumbies!
I hope Zack Holmes can cut it. He has big shows to fill.
18 May 2012, 08:39 am
karl lowe vs michael hooper!
18 May 2012, 08:45 am
the snake is not my biggest fan, and neither am i his.
these 39 point palookas (lest we forget they stole that game against cheetahs) do not deserve to be pissing with the big dogs, but thems the breaks i guess.
so to sum it up, if they gonna get a gimme for free it might s well be them winning in order to limit the kiwi challengers.
18 May 2012, 08:46 am
Well I picked the Brumbies as one of my upsets for the weekend…
18 May 2012, 08:51 am
Key men for Brumbies need to be stopped…Alexander ,Mowen, Hooper, Fotu Auelua who grew up in Island Bay, Wellinton. Go Hurricanes
18 May 2012, 08:55 am
I have my Business Day sport mag
Eben in my face all day long, ripping his clothes off
18 May 2012, 08:58 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-5: Me too but not as an upset. Brumbies have been playing good rugby. They should beat the Hurricanes.
18 May 2012, 08:59 am
Brumbies will suffer without Lilly.
18 May 2012, 09:00 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-7: lol is he on the cover?
18 May 2012, 09:01 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-10:
Indeed!
18 May 2012, 09:02 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-8:
Well I did not think it will be an upset but most on here is not giving them a chance.
18 May 2012, 09:03 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-6: Moore too is having a stormer of a season.
18 May 2012, 09:05 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-12: Yes I saw that on superbru too. The brumbies are coming back from a bye right. They still have a very strong forward pack and they are only missing Lealifiano. The rest of the backline is still class.
18 May 2012, 09:07 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-6: Thanks for teaching Fotu how to play, mate…he sure is one helluva player!
Just a great pity I have to work & won’t be able to watch…Sigh!
18 May 2012, 09:07 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-13:
Yeah…could tun into a forwards game. Moore is a key to this game too.
18 May 2012, 09:12 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-16: Brumbies have the edge in the forwards no?
18 May 2012, 09:14 am
@BrumbiesBoy(BrumbiesBoy)-15:
The type of No8 any team would want…..exciting player
18 May 2012, 09:14 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-18: Plus they have Ita Vaea on the bench!
18 May 2012, 09:15 am
This game will be an upset, whoever wins. Each would only narrowly win the 6N.
18 May 2012, 09:16 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-17:
yep….Hurricanes to move the ball….depends on conditions….cold and windy I suppose.
18 May 2012, 09:25 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-21: Both are missing their star flyhalves…..it depends which team adapts better to their new 10′s.
18 May 2012, 09:31 am
It starts in the forwards.Which pack can secure good ball, give new tens a little more time.
18 May 2012, 09:32 am
Come on jaky, knock these Canes over so the Kiwis only have one team in the play-offs.
18 May 2012, 09:33 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-23: Advantage Brumbies
18 May 2012, 09:34 am
@AiDoc(AiDoc)-20: 6N can’t be that bad, cmon. Both teams look clearly better than Romans and Picts only.
18 May 2012, 09:35 am
Why the Canes still play Super Rugby, no one will know. very overrated.
18 May 2012, 09:36 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-25:
yep…..Those Ab training squad players from Hurricanes need to stand up
18 May 2012, 09:39 am
Savea’s try last week was a thing of beauty
18 May 2012, 09:41 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-28:
That would require Viagra for most of the team.
18 May 2012, 09:44 am
TJ on Reunion was mightely concerned about the performance of NZ sides in the S15 this year. As well he should be….and the All Blacks. The green machine from Ireland is on their way…..
18 May 2012, 09:45 am
The Brumbies good form of late is coz they have a great coach at the helm, which makes JW the real deal after all!!
18 May 2012, 09:48 am
Jake White bliksems the Employment Equity, Quotas and AA for a massive Chris gayle 6!!!!!!!!
18 May 2012, 09:48 am
@viewer(viewer)-29: Yes! The way he accelerated past the landers’ defenders was beautiful.
Yes Go Brumbies!
18 May 2012, 09:49 am
grant10 – Could you translate your comment #33 into englese please
18 May 2012, 09:50 am
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-31: Ireland and Wales are going to be a handful for Nz and Aus. I wasnt impressed with Hansen’s training squad. Is that the final trying squad or is he going to have another before the tests with different players ala Meyer?
18 May 2012, 09:51 am
GO JAKE’S BRUMBIES…
18 May 2012, 09:53 am
@grant10(grant100)-33: imagine if jake was given the cheetahs to coach instead of allowing naka to coast with mediocre results year in year out.
18 May 2012, 09:55 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-36: i think that’s the one he is just going to meet with them for the next three weeks – from sunday to tuesday.
18 May 2012, 09:56 am
Nice Perenara. Fantasy points for me but i still want the Brumbies to win for my superbru.
18 May 2012, 09:58 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-39: oh ok. So those are the players who are in contention for the Ireland series?
18 May 2012, 10:02 am
transformation, jake doesn’t like being told who to pick … in SA you have to pick a few quotas!
18 May 2012, 10:07 am
Has anyone noticed that the game started 21 points ago?
18 May 2012, 10:07 am
knockons ….forward passes being missed by Lawrence…a trait perhaps .
18 May 2012, 10:08 am
Looks like the flood gates maybe opening for the Canes!!
18 May 2012, 10:09 am
@32
I beg to differ. Disingenuous Jake is assisted by men who’ve been associatef with the brumbies for years. Do you suggest he can even spot Australian talent that he knows f_uck all about & recruited them for this season
18 May 2012, 10:09 am
Oooo getting interesting now.
18 May 2012, 10:10 am
I wonder how the Useless Jake Whites team is doing???? i mean he has never achieved a thing
18 May 2012, 10:10 am
there must be something the in air in NZ! alll refs in NZ are k@k! and if Aussie & SA refs go there, they also make mistakes. Must be the sh!tty country having an effect on them!
18 May 2012, 10:13 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-44: kia ora.. its only NZ refs that are bad, didnt you know this?
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-41: you will see a squad in the first Irish test close to that from the WC final (minus those gone overseas..e,g Thorn etc).. the young guys n the squad are there to see what the AB environment is all about… out of the new guys, only really Savea and one of the halfbacks will probably get a run..
if NZ win the first test, then expect that one or two more may get a go..
18 May 2012, 10:14 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-50: ok cool. Hansen doesnt need to reinvent the wheel.
18 May 2012, 10:16 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-50:
Kia ora….e pehea ana koe? Yes…..Cheats
18 May 2012, 10:18 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-51: exactly… but I think the inclusion of so many young guys (a lot from the U20s champs from the past few years) signals that he does have an eye to the future too…
18 May 2012, 10:19 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-50: @Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-52: Is it not amazing how a few in here have turned most Kiwi supporters into Sour Krauts??? ***** teeth, surely you guys are bigger then that,
18 May 2012, 10:20 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-52: all good here bro..enjoying the rugby, Canes have actually done well, after first 10/15 minutes thought it may have been a long day for them.. .
18 May 2012, 10:21 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-52: and if it helps any?? most sharks supporters think lawrence is rubbish, the Kiwi version and the SA one
18 May 2012, 10:22 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-36: Naah, they’ll reduce the squad but they won’t add to it though. I wasn’t that impressed either. Too be honest, I think Aus and SA have more talent coming through the ranks than NZ at this stage.
18 May 2012, 10:22 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-54:
Ae…your right….Interesting half…Go Hurricanes
18 May 2012, 10:24 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-54: us sour? you mean with all the constant NZ cheat calls? the references to domestic abuse (when SA has far worse stats), the whole anti-SA conspiracy angle that many cite, often?
do you like it when Kiwis constantly degrade your country? two way street mate… we kiwis wont back down to the bully saffa…
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-58: good on ya mate
@poppa69(poppa69)-55:
50/50 this game…Brumbies fatiguing possibly.
18 May 2012, 10:26 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-59: hell dude, some of the peeps in here have gotten under ur skin bad
18 May 2012, 10:27 am
Poppa i reckon you must be having nightmares of HG and skoppie etc at night
18 May 2012, 10:29 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-63: Morning T howzit?
18 May 2012, 10:29 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-62: good on them… if it means I have to continue to post stats on SA rape, murder and the like for them to stop, then I will continue..
no skin off my nose, I can post rubbish about SA forever…
18 May 2012, 10:32 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-63: lmfao? Skop Ive never had a problem with..
HG is scum of the earth, and if he is indicative of SA people, then it explains why your country is in such a complete mess..
once he decided that family wasnt off limits, especially when one had just died, that was it for me.,.. now, I HATE SA with a passion..and will never ever assist a SA in any walk of life…
18 May 2012, 10:33 am
poppa maybe this will tell you something, and help ease your stress levels,
I know you might not agree and you may,
SA won the WC with Jake as Coach, and no it is not about why NZ were robbed or not, Boks won it same as last year, Kiwi’s won it,
Does Jake get the respect he deserves in SA?? for the most NOT
You think he will get the acalades for his change around of this Brumbie team? again not i tell you it will be said someone else did the job.
Thus learn to take a lot of what you read in here with a pinch of salt
18 May 2012, 10:34 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-66: Dont you get tired of being a perpetual victim, sweetie?
18 May 2012, 10:35 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-66: I just mentioned some, i have no clue as to all those you have mares about lol
18 May 2012, 10:35 am
Hurricanes very dangerous side…Most improved side
18 May 2012, 10:36 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-64: GOOD MORNING YOUNG MAN, THE COFFEE IS READY LOL
18 May 2012, 10:37 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-67: whose stressed? I just return the hate with equal levels of hate..
apparently SA’s are great hosts? wouldnt think so if you visit this site…
lol the reaction I get and the number of people who cant wait to jump in means I get under the skin of quite a few as well..
18 May 2012, 10:37 am
Jake’s teams hit a deep slide at some point. He’s a first two seasons type of coach
18 May 2012, 10:41 am
Heres some quotes on Victimhood, Poops69.
“If it’s never our fault, we can’t take responsibility for it. If we can’t take responsibility for it, we’ll always be its victim.”
Richard Bach
“Self-pity is easily the most destructive of the nonpharmaceutical narcotics; it is addictive, gives momentary pleasure and separates the victim from reality.”
John W. Gardner
Dont say I dont care…
18 May 2012, 10:42 am
@viewer(viewer)-73: Well that normall is a great coach as he is taking over a team in *****
18 May 2012, 10:44 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-74: I dont, just like you dont with your bad Aids..
Im surprised youve lived this long mate? has the Banshee been told shes probably infected too?
@poppa69(poppa69)-72: Just leave this site already? Seriously your bitching an moaning is beyond irritating when all you have to do is not enter the site.
We all know Heavens Game is a doos, get over it? It’s an anonymous blog what do you expect?
Awesome try
18 May 2012, 10:45 am
Hurricanes are the biggest threat to the Sharks at the moment…
18 May 2012, 10:46 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-76: Hehehe Definition of a victim: a person to whom life happens… :podgywink:
18 May 2012, 10:47 am
C’mon boys, I know u can do it.
Make us proud again.
18 May 2012, 10:47 am
How many kicks has Taylor missed?
18 May 2012, 10:50 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-80: hehehe definition of a victim? any person living in SA
*dutchnaziwink*
18 May 2012, 10:50 am
@Bagel(Bagel)-77: Farken hole with a bit of bread around it…Whosyourfarkendoos?
18 May 2012, 10:51 am
Poppa hate only poisons the hater
HG is a champ at the kinghit
18 May 2012, 10:52 am
what is kia ora? part of the NZ atnhem??
kia ora atupa, kia tapu atu wa! jamblikke visbikke drie by drie, ons is, ons is weet julle wie, ons is ons is kan julle raai, ons is ons is New Zeeland!!!
18 May 2012, 10:53 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-83: Yeah right…
“Don’t become a victim of yourself. Forget about the thief waiting in the alley; what about the thief in your mind?”
:fatmaorismiley:
18 May 2012, 10:53 am
This is a good game so far.
Very close at the moment. Both team look dangerous from anywhere on the field.
18 May 2012, 10:54 am
HG is not a d oos.
I will buy him a beer any day.
18 May 2012, 10:56 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-87: mate, perhaps you could try some of the local cures for your bad aids…
*infectedsmiley*
Retraction
HG is a d oos as am I
You are what you eat.
Go Brumbies!!!!!
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-89:
Well there we go.
If ferny says then…….. phhhht
18 May 2012, 10:57 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-89: Good man…two against two thousand… overwhelming odds… theyre shitting themselves
Many underestimated the Brumbies for todays match. White’s Winning Ways…
This Brumbies team is a really good outfit.
Jake’s got them working well, considering there are very few big names in this team.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-89: If HG isd A Doos?? the he is good as a DOOS is usefull
18 May 2012, 10:58 am
Hurricanes seem to be trying to hand the Brumbies the game.
18 May 2012, 10:59 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-76:
You are a very sad, sad person. In fact, you should be locked away in a tiny cage and the key thrown away. You have no idea what AIDS does to families especially to households where children are left behind to fend for themselves. This is a rugby site and not the appropriate forum to vent your inept garbage on. Get a life.
@poppa69(poppa69)-90: Apparently one of the cures is to make some jiggy with a cadaver…
:cocosmiley:
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-95:
Your kidding right?
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-98: Seems your kicking is letting you down.
@viewer(viewer)-73:
Your view is one eyed and lacking rugby nous.
18 May 2012, 11:00 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-97: three against three thousand… now they fcked…
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-101:
How’s that?
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-100:
@Soxsi(Soxsi)-99: since death by cancer is a funny topic on this forum, then anything goes chump…
18 May 2012, 11:01 am
Hahaha Sharkslover
I think the dynamic of HG is just not understood.
18 May 2012, 11:01 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-66: Hate is a strong word buddy. But if you decide to HATE a country based on a handful of people giving you a hard time on some insignificant rugby blog (in terms of the bigger picture) … well then I don’t think anybody can change that about you. But I do feel sorry for you that you allow yourself to be ruled by it and judge 47 million people by it.
I’ve met some ignorant dumb Kiwi’s. But I’ve met a heck of a lot more nice great Kiwi’s too and some really good friends. Far more nice Kiwi’s than bad. I’d like to think the same about SA’s and Aussie’s. Perception is ignorance.
Anyway who am I???… Just another random guy on an internet site.
Have a great day.. or evening?
18 May 2012, 11:02 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-104:
Hurricane?
Reds ain’t happy at all.
18 May 2012, 11:03 am
Brumbies turn defence into attack,good job.
18 May 2012, 11:04 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-108: I agree
One of my best mates is Stormersboy, now i know he loves to try wind up HG as Hg does him , but me and M sit and laugh over a cupper coffee, and we laugh about how most dont understand HG in here
18 May 2012, 11:04 am
So those Holmes guy hey? How is playing? I must say I’m pretty scared of these Brumbies…
18 May 2012, 11:05 am
Poppa you say HG is scum etc
You are sounding just like him lately
You dropped to his in your opinion lower standard
You have lost
Don’t become what you despise
I think you are cut from the same cloth as him.
@Charging Rhino(Charging Rhino)-109:
It all boils down to individual maturity. I still think Kiwis are good people but then that’s my opinion.
@poppa69(poppa69)-107: You been making fun of AIDS long before your Mum’s unfortunate passing… Thats of course if the story is true…Not to say it isnt… But your constant craving for victimhood makes many an anecdote seem slightly unbelievable at best :ShagaBlueSmiley:
@Charging Rhino(Charging Rhino)-109: well said
18 May 2012, 11:06 am
I knew the Brumbies were way better than everyone thought, should have bet more than $10 on them. Oh well, still happy!!
@poppa69(poppa69)-107:
Chump = speak for yourself……BLIMP!!!
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-111:
I said your kidding.
Who i there right mind would underestimate this Brumbies side. They are 5 points
ahead of the Canes on the log.
18 May 2012, 11:07 am
@Soxsi(Soxsi)-121: run along boy. not your fight is it? so fck off..
18 May 2012, 11:07 am
lol HG dayum you have him in tatters mate
18 May 2012, 11:08 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-118:
Talking about parent’s passing on, two of my wife’s mates have lost their dads within weeks of one another. Heavy ekse.
Bloomin heck i switched off the game as i thought the canes were goin gto cane the Brumbies, How wrong i was!! Good for the Brumbies, good job Jake White
Typically TJ Perenara scores 2 tries the week after I take him out of my Fantasy team ! !! Bloody hell !!!!
PS – Brumbies playing dam well rugby this year , looks well coached as well , the anti Jake brigade must be having a ball lol
@Bagel(Bagel)-102:
yeah you are right.
Bad kicking and stupid penalties are letting us down.
so far so good….
niiiiiiice…….
18 May 2012, 11:09 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-122:
Aha I get ya now.
@Todd W(Todd W)-120: yup , shows what a great coach Jake is, He has taken this nothing side and is making them a very good outfit
Just like he took the Boks that had reached bottom of the heap levels
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-114: Ah so you hanging with Cape Captains of Industry now… Fark careful you dont get brainwashed… Signs are a liking for Pink Feather Boas… Collecting gerbils… Using DHL for any mail… idolising Donkey De Villiers… wearing Blue and white…
Any 2 of the above then fark off to Kings Park as soon as possible before its too late
18 May 2012, 11:10 am
Jake the snake is a damn good coach. Way better than Plod and way better than Divvy.
Skoppy must be going mal with every victory the snake takes.
18 May 2012, 11:11 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-131:
Still gobsmacked as to why bloggers here hate the man so much.
18 May 2012, 11:11 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-116: Yoh! Sheezus… Et tu Brutus
18 May 2012, 11:12 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-125: Very… Not good.
18 May 2012, 11:12 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-123:
It is my fight when you slander my country and its people. I have 3 words for you…..dumb dof d…s
18 May 2012, 11:13 am
@RL(RL)-133: LOL… Wetting his pants with JaketheSnake as you speak…
18 May 2012, 11:15 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-138: his jakethesnake that is
NZ have to many teams. Look at the Canes and Blues – pathetic rugby! maybe drop 1 NZ team and have 6 SA teams!
@Soxsi(Soxsi)-137: really? hahaha people should slander your country, it is a cesspool of violence and hatred…
I have 4 words for you
jou ma se p.oes
18 May 2012, 11:16 am
Goes to show once again that skopshyte knows less than farkall about rugby and is a bad judge of character. Dumb as a stump moron.
Well i am still happy with my Hurricanes team. Plyed really well and had the game for the taking but lost their way and let the Brumbies back in.
Good game over all.
Well done to the people of Brumbies land
@Soxsi(Soxsi)-137: LOL
18 May 2012, 11:17 am
@grant10(grant100)-140:
Like too many Grant10s at Keo, one has to go, hopefully its you
18 May 2012, 11:18 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-141: And your Mum’s…?
Brumbies aye…Good win….Hurricanes disappointing…
@Soxsi(Soxsi)-137:
Were you standing up, hand on heart listening to the South African National Anthem when you wrote that?
18 May 2012, 11:19 am
Jaysus.
18 May 2012, 11:20 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-128:Bad Luck
18 May 2012, 11:22 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-132: Lol HG nope i can never be brainwashed, but Stormerboy is a decent bloke, trust me he not like the Skoppies of this world
18 May 2012, 11:23 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-141:
Nou verstaan ek, you are one of those wannabes who ran away because you were to vrek bang to stay in SA. You are nothing but a spineless coward and by the way same words to your mother – A HOLE!
@poppa69(poppa69)-90: how old are you? are you finished school yet? Have you actually seen someone die of aids? if you had you would not be joking about it! I have seriously always liked the Kiwis and NZ is on my wish list to visit, but you are giving me serious second thoughts mate! Normally I would ignore abusive mail but this constant trivialising of a terrible disease like aids cannot go without comment! I am thoroughly disgusted!
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-131:
Well lets compare.
Jake, has a new team with a few good player with experience but majority of his team is new and young. He has coached for years. Internationally and winning a RWC, with the help of EJ, we all know this.
His Brumbies team is against the Hurricanes, with just as many new players, new coach Hammett. Difference is comparing the record between Hammett and White.
Really makes you think.
18 May 2012, 11:24 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-143: Happy for the Brumbies… but they proved me wrong… Thought your team would win. But I suppose Brumbies have done the Sharks a bit of a favour by keeping some of the chasing pack at bay…
18 May 2012, 11:25 am
@Soxsi(Soxsi)-152:
You have just shown how ***** clueless you are.
Just keep out of it.
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-151: I know… but psst… Dont tell him
Hurricanes actually played well..which shows how dangerous this Brumbies team has become.
18 May 2012, 11:26 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-149:
18 May 2012, 11:27 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-157: hehehe
18 May 2012, 11:28 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-154:
That’s like saying that Grumpy Henry took the All Blacks to the RWC final win through the help of his assistants. Kinda states the obvious as assistants are there to help, are they not?
18 May 2012, 11:29 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-154: exactly mate, JW is a damn good coach.
anthows tough luck on the loss, it did however suit my Sharks as the Canes are just beneath them
18 May 2012, 11:30 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-155:
Yeah HG.
I thought we could win this one as well but we let ourselves down.
You must be happy it went this way.
I am being serious here, i hope the Sharks win.
I believe my Canes team have done their dash this year, still very proud of them,. Really out done themselves from being written off beggining of season to earning a bit of respect.
18 May 2012, 11:31 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-160: Have to say I quite enjoy the mad midget from springs now and again… The late night Punch (Skop) and Judy (Cab) show is always a classic read… Farken laughed myself to sleep many a time…
18 May 2012, 11:31 am
@Soxsi(Soxsi)-152:
OK.
Just to put you in the picture
Pops’ mom is off limits. She died of cancer.
There were some unfortunate comments at the time.
Dont join that club, or you will start him off on the Aids again.
18 May 2012, 11:32 am
Did i just see an Aussie side playing through the fazes and showing patience?? Gee it’s like the aussie teams of old. And it took an African to get them there.
18 May 2012, 11:32 am
Great Scot! This is getting boring how some of you can insult each other ad nauseam. You would never make these comments face to face, so you are basically inflicting a cheap shot and as we all know a cheap shot is normally dished out by a coward, so what we have here is a bunch of cowardly human beings trying to make up for their inferiority complexes by boosting their own ego’s on an anonymous blog, you know who you are
18 May 2012, 11:33 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-164:
he does have his moments
18 May 2012, 11:34 am
does anyone know when Heyneke announces the Bok squad?
18 May 2012, 11:35 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-164:
The two of them MIA
I also miss the late night debate
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-156: No Hurricant… Pooper the podgypolynesian must realise that having a little chortle about HIV AIDS in SA is not quite the same a calling a Kiwi a sheepshagger… It takes things to a very different level… There is actually nothing more offensive… NOTHING… Not even family… But since you think its also good for a laugh, hellsteeth, anything goes they, eh?
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-169:
2 June apparently
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-161:
Difference is GH assistants were with him for 8 years.
EJ came into the Boks side to help JW sort out the Boks.
Jake already had his assistants but needed more help.
Take your hat off to JW for actually seeing that he needed the help to better his side.
Sure as hell paid off.
18 May 2012, 11:36 am
Hey Poeps, you really are a sad sack of poop. What kind of man makes jokes about the devastation caused by AIDS? What kind of man, in this day and age, continues to entrench the stigma attached to the disease? What kind of man are you? And don’t give me the rubbish about how some people were insensitive towards you. What does that mean anyway? That you have complete carte blanch to be a fcken jerk? You need a serious dose of soul searching, bud. Starting now.
@Dawn(Dawn)-172: thanks…
I dont care what anyone says I wouldn’t live anywhere else.
18 May 2012, 11:37 am
@jeest(jeest)-166:
Did you miss the 3 nations latst year?
@Dawn(Dawn)-165:
Thanks for the heads-up.
@Dawn(Dawn)-165: No Dawn… The podgy car guard has been trolling and whining about being a victim… Some are now just giving him what he wants… To his next breakdown… A bit of an addict I reckon… I will just do my duty and give him what he wants… Victimhood…
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-175:
Apparently after the Bulls Stormers game
18 May 2012, 11:38 am
Well this suits the Sharks but killed my SB selections . . .
@>^..^< katman(katman)-174: An ignorant man living in an insular and ignorant country
@Dawn(Dawn)-176: this is true, Nothing beats SA
18 May 2012, 11:39 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-176:
Here here – Viva SA!!!
@Dawn(Dawn)-176:
Damn, Lower Hutt would embrace someone as classy as you Dawn
well played Brumbies, must admit i thought the canes would have the beating of you today…farked up my superbru from game 1!
@Dawn(Dawn)-170: Yup… Wait till full moon… or walpurgisnacht… then full steam ahead again
@Original-Pierre(Original-Pierre)-181: LOL Pierre, well i for one am happy that it went the way of the Sharks and not the way of your SB
18 May 2012, 11:40 am
@BuckT(BuckTrendy)-186: I thought the Brumbies were gone at 25-16 but they showed good fight.
18 May 2012, 11:41 am
This Brumby team is no push over
@jeest(jeest)-182:
Ignorant country?
What country are you talking about?
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-173:
Unfortunately in South Africa, national coaches have a very short shelf life so White basically performed a four year miracle. Politics got in the way and he was ambushed from year one. Many forget that and many would never have stuck around to take that kind of treatment for four continous years. He is no sissy and he is clearly a mentally tough character.
@Dawn(Dawn)-176: I have lived elsewhere… But nothing beats Mzansi as the full package…
18 May 2012, 11:42 am
How good is new Hooper bloke? Not easy to put down and seems to be able to run also.
18 May 2012, 11:43 am
Old Jake the White’s Curriculum Vitae is puffing out nicely.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-171:
Waste of time taking the high ground there HG.
We all know nothing is really below you when it comes to an argument.
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-147: Thanks for the wishes, guys.
I wear my jersey with pride, it’s the old one…very old…it still has “Milk” on the front!!!!!! It only has two small holes in it…but plenty of beer & brandy stains…guess it’s gonna get a few more this weekend!!!
Just wish we could restart the Super 15 next weekend…the only SA team I’d be scared of is the Kings!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Bwahaha…
18 May 2012, 11:44 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-191: By many of you fools comments on here… farken insular and farken ignorant…
Not to mention my own experiences of being “stunned” by sheepshagger “intellect” in real life
18 May 2012, 11:44 am
whatever your feelings on Jake, it cannot be denied that we had a long period of very ordinary results under him, prior to the RWC… if Jake can continue this current performance into year 2 with the Bumbies then I will officially stand corrected on the matter.
18 May 2012, 11:45 am
Never was any fan of him but credit where it is due – well done Jake. And well done Brumbies.
18 May 2012, 11:46 am
@jeest(jeest)-189: Canes made a lot of crucial handling errors and never protected the ball well enough at the breakdown, Brumbies spoilt a lot of their attack by disrupting their possession.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-196: On the contrary…4 letters in any argument are very below me… AIDS
Unfortunately for you sheepshagging sickos I reckon I very much have the “high” ground here…
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-199:
He had to pick up the pieces after the Strooligate debacle remember. No mean feat.
18 May 2012, 11:47 am
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-199: Good comment
18 May 2012, 11:50 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-198:
So you proud of your own comments on here?
You think your comments do your country any good?
18 May 2012, 11:52 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-202:
OK so show me where i make a joke of AIDS?
I will show you where you make a joke of someones loss in a family.
Which ever way you look at it, you are just as wrong as the next person joking about AIDs etc.
Grow up.
18 May 2012, 11:54 am
I smaak Mzansi and will not live anywhere else.
Yes I am aware of the problems and challenges.
Republic of C unt du Fernley is a awesome place.
Wake up and catch a bass for breakfeast when I am there
18 May 2012, 11:54 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-205: Your only problem hurricane is that you appear to share a homeland with guys like Poppa – who is a certified fuckwit.
I haven’t seen any issue what what you have written on this thread.
18 May 2012, 11:56 am
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-199:
exactly.
RWC was the savior for White as his record is ordinary.
He is a good coach, no one is doubting that but the Bok team he had should have won alot more games than they did, surely a true blooded Bok fan would not be happy with his record if the RWC 2007 was a fail.
18 May 2012, 11:57 am
this would be so much more of an instructive exercise if we could just get divvy coaching an anzac team also.
that would be awesome.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-205: There is no comparison here Hurricant… No matter how much you try and justify the unjustifiable through some fcked up insular and ignorant sense of “sticking up for one of your own”… Play with fire you get burnt and your Podgy little pooping fellow countryman has burnt himself more than a few time here and as a consequence you fools have exposed yourself as being not quite the “friendly”, “decent” Kiwis you try and make out to be…
Fuckyouverymuch… twat
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-206:
Jets at half throttle.
The only person making fun of Aids here is Pops.
Barbarians squad to face Wales, England and Ireland. Grant10 will be glad to see John Smit is in the squad!!
BACKS – Isa Nacewa (Fiji), Mils Muliaina (New Zealand), Ian Balshaw (England), Cedric Heymans (France), Shane Williams (Wales), Paul Sackey (England), Sailosi Tagicakibau (Samoa), Eliota Fuimaono-Sapolu (Samoa), Mike Tindall (England), Damien Traille (France), Felipe Contepomi (Argentine), Stephen Donald (New Zealand), Stephen Jones (Wales), Rory Lawson (Scotland), Jerome Fillol (France).
FORWARDS – Schalk Brits (South Africa), Benoit August (France), John Smit (South Africa), Aled de Malmanche (New Zealand), John Afoa (New Zealand), Duncan Jones (Wales), B J Botha (South Africa), Neemia Tialata (New Zealand), Jerome Thion (France), Mick O’Driscoll (Ireland), Anton van Zyl (South Africa), Pelu Taele (Samoa), Raphael Lakafia (France), Antoine Burban (France), Akupusi Qera (Fiji), John Beattie (Scotland), Pedrie Wannenburg (South Africa), Juan Manuel Leguizamon (Argentine).
i do not like the snake, but whatever he’s doing for ‘em seems to be working.
18 May 2012, 11:59 am
I have picked up a trait in NZ woman and would like a explanation,I don’t want this to turn into a returning serve scenario
What to do?
18 May 2012, 12:01 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-206: As I said Fuckyouverymuch… You are not quite forthcoming in any criticism… Actually your silence suggests condonation…
Typical farken sheepshagging hypocrite… Always after the “high ground” and “returning serve”…. Oh well you chaps have been trolling for this and its time for a few Saffas to damn well hold serve to you illiterate little hobbits
18 May 2012, 12:03 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-215: Lol… Lets hear it… Please tell… This is obviously the forum and the moment
18 May 2012, 12:05 pm
HG there is a dynamic in majority of NZ woman I do not understand.
They go ballistic if you refuse to give the a nal s ex.
They lose it completely,they just stop short of grabbing the duvet and doing a couple of crocodile death rolls.
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-210: A proper experiment. Maybe he can coach the Force and then we’ll see who is really who out of Snake and Dippy
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-211:
Waste of time HG.
I did not stick up for anyone.
You need to get those voices in your head looked at.
And do we need to do the name calling thing?
Settle down
Zac Holmes should have a nice points conversion into the fantasy leagues today…
18 May 2012, 12:07 pm
go superbru!
18 May 2012, 12:07 pm
@Guns(Guns)-221:
Watsup Guns
18 May 2012, 12:08 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-216:
What i am trying to do is settle this cr@p down. Its becoming boring and you are not helping at all. In fact you seem to thrive in it.
18 May 2012, 12:08 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-217: Stop masturbating.
18 May 2012, 12:09 pm
Later all,work to do.
Keep well all.
Poppa I am sending you a shearing shed full of light and love.
Embrace it my brother,let the sunshine in.
18 May 2012, 12:10 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-218:
Well Fern, i think you are talking out your own an@l.
How many times do we have to hear about you and Kiwi Chicks, honestly. You really have a problem and lack respect when it comes to women.
18 May 2012, 12:10 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-218: ROFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Chrissakes that is the funniest comment I have seen in weeks here… Had to laugh myself silly before I could post this….
That should just about do it for the Hobbits…
Your timing is immaculate
18 May 2012, 12:12 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-227:
I agree
18 May 2012, 12:13 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-220: Wind your snivelling, whiny, neck in and reap the whirlwind, Hurrycunt… Come on take your hallow “high ground”
18 May 2012, 12:14 pm
Hurricane I disarm woman with my smile
My real sincere interest in them wins them over.
It is a Bluff thing
You will not understand the dynamic
Just be yourself,everyone else is taken.
18 May 2012, 12:14 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-228:
You found that funny?
Just shows the maturity level you and your friend fern are at.
Takes more than something like that for me to leave, unlike you, one loss and you go missing.
Seen it many times, infact your new name in HGM ( Heaven Goes Missing )
18 May 2012, 12:16 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-227: Ag get a sense of humour you precious little prat… If you dont like it then go do something useful when not mutilating Silver Surfer on your 4 string… like shearing a sheep or something
18 May 2012, 12:16 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-219:
divvy at the force, that would be cool.
havn’t they lost their coach recently..?..
am searching the interwebs for divvy’s cv as we ‘speak’.
fark!
typed it into google and my computer screen went momentarily blank and then the words: ‘DOES NOT COMPUTE’ came up all across the screen….
18 May 2012, 12:17 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-232: go to 233 and dont pass go…
18 May 2012, 12:17 pm
I see my little chocolate girl Dawn had to enter the fray aswell.
18 May 2012, 12:19 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-234: lol….Fark, when I do that, Google farks out with Pink Ballerinas dancing across the page… and an animation of a couple of black mechanics working furiously on some valiant on the bottom right… Hellsbells
18 May 2012, 12:21 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-230:
You have yet to show me where i made a laugh about AIDS.
You did say us Kiwis therefore you must mean me.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-233:
I have a sense of humour but does not mean i need to laugh at everything.
I found what fern said pathetic.
No problem at all is it?
18 May 2012, 12:22 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-218: it’s easily explained, look for the adams apple, if there is one, then this trend will persist….expect a lot of oral foreplay
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-237:
Mechanics are coloured
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-234:
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-227: totally agree!
Hardluck Hurricane and Te Rengata Brumbies boy welldone to your team!
Nothing is sacred to HG
Not even kinghitting a Quins boy on the Bluff
That act gained respect for him from me.
18 May 2012, 12:25 pm
@BuckT(BuckTrendy)-239:
lol, now thats funny.
Looks like Fern was visiting the wrong streets in NZ.
Boy oh boy we all should have read between the lines of fernys posts.
Its alright ferny.
18 May 2012, 12:26 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-237:
18 May 2012, 12:28 pm
@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-242:
Thanks Sharksgirl, Brumbies took the chances well and won.
But i am still happy with my Hurricane team, done me proud this year so far.
18 May 2012, 12:28 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-238: Typical Kiwi… No sense of humour at all…. Farken go find a funnybone man
18 May 2012, 12:29 pm
@BuckT(BuckTrendy)-239: FarkLol
18 May 2012, 12:30 pm
HG I think all the Pta based Sharks supporters must go for dops at a stage.
18 May 2012, 12:31 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-247: kiwis are arrogant puffed up little sh!twads you know that right? coming over here an expecting us to fall over ourselves to worship them. join their forums and see how cowardly they are and how soft they are any critique and they cry but play the big men elsewhere. the hole lot shold feck off the better everything would be then.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-246: yeah, their game against my team still makes me cry
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-244: What… now its funny, sheepshagger…
“How many times do we have to hear about you and shemales, honestly. You really have a problem and lack respect when it comes to kathoeys…”
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-247:
we have a sense of humour
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5g2f5XV-5hk
18 May 2012, 12:32 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-241:
and a hat tip to you too.
and to think the divvy aced his interview with the saru appointments panel….bliksem, we are our worst enemy at times.
dont know who’d screw the boks harder in wc final… the ab’s, the ref or saru..?…
18 May 2012, 12:32 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-249: Ja, would be good…
18 May 2012, 12:34 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-250: I know, I know… Wait until you have to work with the fckers… I have… Hellsbells its Keo Blog Kiwi x 10
They also a lot more chicken in real life…
18 May 2012, 12:35 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-249:
The Durbs ones too.
I think my truce with Pooper is off
HG did the part of the crocodile death roll with the duvet do it for you?
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-253: Fark off man… You okes are about as funny as a brick wall… Sheezus, no sense of irony at all…
18 May 2012, 12:37 pm
Ja for sure GWS.
18 May 2012, 12:37 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-258: Lol… Nearly choked, chap…
18 May 2012, 12:38 pm
Well done Brumbies – in shock – i bet all Saffas are so glad they let Jake White go what a coach
18 May 2012, 12:38 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-250:
Was there tears in that post?
Its alright princess, the big bad Kiwi wont pick on you.
What i find funny here is that you call us all the names on a forum and then call us cowards.
18 May 2012, 12:39 pm
Hectic mental pic esp if it is a curly haired ginger kiwi.
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-254:

You would never know would you
@Dawn(Dawn)-240: Yeah, Im sure they are…
INTERESTING READ Guarantee to make you blink!
THE KEO CONNECTION
Posted: 06 May 2012 at 7:11pm
Highbury Safika Media (HSM) is a publishing house boasting a portfolio of over 30 magazine titles and numerous online publications. Amongst these are SA Rugby Magazine and Keo.co.za – the website of Mark Keohane and other SA Rugby writers such as Ryan Vrede and Jon Cardinelli.
Keohane has been a public figure since his days as Springbok Communications Manager under the ill-fated reigns of both Harry Viljoen and Rudolph Streauli, until he resigned in protest over SARFU’s handling of the Geo Cronjé racism debacle involving Quinton Davids. Keohane went on to publish a book about the episode and the state of the Springboks in general, and was widely criticized by Springbok players (most notably Corné Krige) as deliberately attempting to sow division within their ranks and to undermine SA Rugby in general.
In recent times Keohane has been busying himself in the extensive business interests of HSM, as well as media relations of other entities, such as Jake White’s Winning Ways – a business partnership which ended in a heated law suit, kept hushed away out of the public sphere. Even more recently, however, HSM -and Mark Keohane in particular – were awarded the contract to manage the media, marketing and public relations of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC). The awarding of this contract was never put up for tender, as is standard government procedure, but was rather awarded directly to HSM (although Keohane states that normal application took place, the fact remains it should have gone to tender).
And this is where the Keo connection begins to reveal itself.
During his time at SA Rugby, Mark Keohane worked alongside the likes of Rian Oberholzer (President of SARFU), Songezo Nayo (Managing Director), Gary Grant (Marketing Director) and the current president of SASCOC – Gideon Sam (Springbok Team Manager).
All four names mentioned above are currently directors of sports marketing company Accelerate Sports, with Gideon Sam being appointed as Chairman. Gideon Sam also serves on the Lotto Distribution Board, but excused himself when dealing with the funding grant to SA Cycling, a grant from which Accelerate Sport received commission to the tune of R 26 million – a blatant conflict of interest.
Accelerate Sport, through their subsidiary Access Facilities and Leisure Management (AFLM), were also awarded the contract as operations manager of the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium. It is reported that this contract brings in a whopping R 600 000 a month to the coffers of Accelerate. It is the duty of AFLM to source events to be staged at the stadium to generate revenue and keep the stadium sustainable.
And here the connection between rugby and Accelerate begins to become clear.
The contract between AFLM and the Nelson Mandela Bay Metro states that, above the R 600 000 a month, AFLM are to be awarded performance bonuses based on the revenue they generate, providing this amount exceeds R 12,5 million a year. The structure of this bonus is as follows:
The Operator will be paid 10% of any amount above R12.5 million but less than R15 million, and then:
• 12.5% of any amount in excess of R15 million but less than R20 million;
• 15% of any amount in excess of R20 million but less than R25 million; and
• 20% of any amount in excess of R25 million.
It is thus blatantly clear that it is in the best interests of Accelerate to find events which will draw spectators, such as concerts etc.
But what better way to ensure constant revenue, week after week, than playing host to a top tier sports team. If only the Eastern Cape had one.
But wait, Accelerate have strong ties to SARU, they do after all boast an ex-president in their ranks. Would it at this point seem ludicrous to suggest that Oberholzer, Sam, Grant and Nayo used their previous connections to SARU to, excuse the pun, accelerate the Kings’ inclusion in Super Rugby so as to ensure that their business interest was being looked after, leading to SARU’s shock announcement at the Heyneke Meyer press conference about the Kings’ guaranteed inclusion in Super Rugby for 2013? Surely not.
So where does Mark Keohane fit into all this?
Keohane has recently stepped up his anti – Lions rhetoric in his articles, and while not directly naming the Kings in his most recent one, it is clear where his views emanate from. The vested interest he has in servicing his ex-colleagues at SARU (SASCOC contracts etc.) has clearly skewed the views of an already overly opinionated man.
But wait, there’s more.
After the establishment of the Kings, the son of Cheeky Watson – president of the Eastern Province Rugby Union (under which the Kings operate) – Luke, was brought back from Bath to play for the Kings. In May 2011 HSM (with Mark Keohane again at the forefront) announced that it had decided to enter into the field of player management, a first for the publishing company. Furthermore it was announced that their first client would be none other than Luke Watson. Queue the Mark Keohane propaganda machine.
The cover of the very next SA Rugby magazine was adorned by – yes, you guessed it – Luke Watson, with the rather flattering caption “Return of the King”. This was to be only the start of the Keohane marketing hype surrounding Watson and the Kings.
At the same press conference where SARU dropped the Kings bombshell on an unsuspecting audience, Ryan Vrede, a HSM journalist, asked Heyneke Meyer if Luke Watson – a player languishing in the second tier of SA Rugby and who hasn’t been in Bok contention since mid-2008 – was a contender for the position of Springbok captain. These blatant attempts by Keohane to force the name of Luke Watson into mainstream media while he has done nothing to get it there serves to illustrate the hidden agenda and inherent corrupt nature of a man who has lived off the rise and fall of others for far too long.
Not only has the media machine being rolling for Luke Watson, but others being managed under yet another Accelerate Sport company – In-Site Athlete Management – have been enjoying a rise in publicity in SA Rugby magazine as well. Willem Alberts received some ego stroking in May 2011, as did another In-Site managed player -Joe van Niekerk – in March 2012, with the article stating that he is playing the best rugby of his career at Toulon. Buttering him up for a big money move back to SA perhaps?
It is clear that Keo’s connection into Accelerate stretches deep, with an “I’ll scratch your back you scratch mine” policy which benefits both sides. Gideon Sam made sure he looked after Mark with the awarding of the SASCOC account, Mark in turn ensures that the business interests of Accelerate Sport and its stakeholders remains in the mainstream media, and they all walk away happy.
The reason why Keo has gone on a Lions bashing campaign of late should come as no surprise when taking the above into account. Mark Keohane is no longer a journalist; he hasn’t been for quite a while. He is a businessman with a platform to promote his interests and those of others close to him, a platform which he uses selflessly and without shame.
He is a wolf in sheep’s clothing. He is the worm in the apple, and the rot starts with him.
defdisc
18 May 2012, 12:40 pm
What is it with all this hate today? You know that rugby may be a huge part of all our lives but its only a game! I’ve been to many a game of the Boks vs ABs and met with the players afterwards, I assure you the players all go out for drinks and braai together after the game why can we as fans do the same? This is becoming really unentertaining!
18 May 2012, 12:40 pm
@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-242: Thanks, I’m very chuffed!
18 May 2012, 12:41 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-264: Lol… I reckon you on a roll now…
But come now, what Kiwi chick isnt a curly haired ginger…
18 May 2012, 12:42 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-252:
Ummm i believe you found the same post funny.
You seem to be getting your knickers in a twist over nothing really.
Again you accused me at laughing about AIDS and i asked for the proof.
HGM living up to his normal self
18 May 2012, 12:42 pm
sharksgirl, leave the rugby to the men … stick with netball
18 May 2012, 12:43 pm
@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-268:
Agree
18 May 2012, 12:44 pm
@grant10(grant100)-272:
Oh, cya Grantie
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-271: Keep up fckwit… You two posts short of a blog at this point…
My bad HG
Grant 10 f ark off.
18 May 2012, 12:45 pm
@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-251:
I bet it does……Sorry
18 May 2012, 12:46 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-275:
Show me the post. Thats all i ask.
18 May 2012, 12:46 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-264:
She was trying to get away from you.
18 May 2012, 12:48 pm
@Peter Devilears(Peter Devilears)-267:
This article is six weeks old.
Keep up
@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-268:
Some days you can have a real laugh here with ‘friends’ who all enjoy the same sport!
Sometimes the ‘Synthetic Tertosterone’ becomes a bit wearing!!
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-278: Still up on that fantastical Middle Earthian high ground of yours… Whats the view like? A coupla knobbly knees here and there, yeah?
18 May 2012, 12:49 pm
@carol(carol)-281: Lol
18 May 2012, 12:49 pm
No Keo TV, I was hoping to ask Lucy where she got her sweater from last week!!
18 May 2012, 12:50 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-259:
How about this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xWAoRdhrRs&feature=related
@grant10(grant100)-272:
I see you haven’t learnt your lesson yet
Dawn you had yor chance to witness the fitness when I was in the cape.Foolish pride got in the way.
Stop being bitter
18 May 2012, 12:51 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-287:
Hell will freeze over first
18 May 2012, 12:53 pm
“Witness the Fitness” !
18 May 2012, 12:54 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-287:
Were you going to take the beef train to Tuna City?
18 May 2012, 12:55 pm
Talking of fitness…
Percy, hurry up and finnish your Keo TV report, I have not got all day!
18 May 2012, 12:57 pm
@carol(carol)-281: chees today must be such a day
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-285: Fark me, you getting like that Lieutenant in Good Morning Vietnam…
Lieutenant Steven Hauk: I understand you’re pretty funny [to Cronauer] as a dee-jay and, well, comedy is kind of a hobby of mine. Well, actually, it’s a little more than just a hobby, Reader’s Digest is considering publishing two of my jokes.
GWS
Tuned a girl I know that yesterday and she just lagged.
Smaaked it big time,cause it is funny
Not all woman are bra burning feminists.
18 May 2012, 12:58 pm
@carol(carol)-284: liar, you just want to perve pervy some more.
18 May 2012, 12:59 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-294:
Hehehe!
18 May 2012, 13:00 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-293:
Sorry what did you say?
Was that Bok bok bok bok? Or did you say Bok Bok bok ?
18 May 2012, 13:03 pm
GWS
She has leukemia and 4 years max left,so she is not a angst ridden feminist and can take a joke for what it is.
These emo captains of piety can learn from her.
She says she is planning to stick around for much longer.
18 May 2012, 13:03 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-297: Oh dear… outtahere…
18 May 2012, 13:06 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-298:
I hope she does too boet. My ex wife had lung cancer and she survived but it was two years of hell.
18 May 2012, 13:08 pm
GWS she is very strong and positive plus her daughter is only 17 so giving up is not a option.
18 May 2012, 13:10 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-299:
well seem like you will not show me the post where you accused me of laughing at AIDS……cos it never happened. Shows the type of person you really are.
18 May 2012, 13:12 pm
OK Hurricane,go and sleep now in your damp mouldy bedroom.
18 May 2012, 13:15 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-303:
House is new. I have air con throughout as well as a Home ventilation system in every room.
But thanks for the concern.
18 May 2012, 13:18 pm
Pity you cannot buy sunshine Sunshine.
18 May 2012, 13:20 pm
Hurricanes made one big f’up today by playing Pisi at 10 and not Barrett .. that is what did them in absolutely and eventually.. dunno what the fck Hammett was thinking.. also the fact that they don’t have the temperamental toughness of say a Crusaders or even a Highlanders side to kill the game off when they in front.
They let Jake the Snakes boytjies back in when they were easily on top.. they took their foot off the gas pedal and next thing the 2 locks found huge open sesame holes in the back line and scored a gimme pisseasy try from nothing.. next was that new fetching wunderkind Hooper combining with hooker Moore (the 2 most devastating to the ball players the Brumbies have got – who lead the charge from the front game by game)
Hurricanes don’t have the right mentality to take the fight to the finish.. plenty individual talents but way too many fumbles knock on’s and let downs and insignificant non tackles cost them.
Jake the snake hasn’t changed his spots.. always will be a person of dubious character, but knows how to milk a situation to his benefit.. make no mistake about that.. watch the ball of expectation unwind same as it did when he led boks to a 49-0 disaster in 2006 after 2 decent years to kick off his career.. and then by 2007 he was so devoid of any ideas he turned to somebody who did have and turned his entire fortunes around.
The JW of today is a far better and mature coach than the fumbling fool who fluked a non contested WC in 2007 by way of a hand up by Eddy Jones and a capitulation by NZ…
By now he realizes he HAS to play a to the ball live wire open side fetcher in Hooper to be competitive in modern rugby.. Hooper of 2012 = Watson of 2006.. so what has changed in the JW coaching manual.. he has learned by way of trial and error that individual vendettas don’t count.. and that a fetcher to the ball grafter – same as Watson offered in 2005-06 .. is paramount to your side’s success. And hence the lesson of 49-0 might be well learned by now.
18 May 2012, 13:21 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-305:
Sunshine isnt everything….. sunshine.
18 May 2012, 13:23 pm
@skopskiet(skopskiet)-306:
there we have it.
I saw the same game Skop.
JW post is spot on as well.
18 May 2012, 13:24 pm
So you prefer grey skies and rain?
Each to their own,I grew up with sunshine and braai,beer was added later.
18 May 2012, 13:29 pm
thems the breaks,
you make your luck.
18 May 2012, 13:29 pm
Brumbies and Aussie in particular can have JWWW with cherries on top.. that snakey fits in just perfectly over there in goolongwanaland country .. he don’t have to answer to no politicians and he can cherry pick his players just the way he prefers .. least he knows by now a fetching open sider is a MUST in modern day rugby.. something he couldn’t quite figure out even when his nose was rubbed in a 49-0 slug bath
wasn’t so much a case of Brumbies running riot over Canes in last 20 it was Canes losing the plot BAD and letting Brumbies back in through the back door.. that was poor control by Hurricanes.. you don’t take your foot off the gas soon as you break open a small 8 point cushion..
18 May 2012, 13:30 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-309:
Didnt say that about sunshine.
But i grew up in a safe place. I could walk to the shops any hour of the day or night.
Even now my kids can walk to the park, school without any hassles.
As stated, sunshine isnt everything
18 May 2012, 13:31 pm
Jake White has been and always will be an astute coach. Only the gormless and arrogant will see fault with him and his obvious coaching skills. He took over a team that had been put through the Rudolph Strooli mincer and he set about moulding that Bok team into a RWC winning outfit…in just four years. It usually takes some teams four RWC’s to eventually win the trophy.
18 May 2012, 13:38 pm
you can buy sunshine. UV lamps.
but you need a really fkucing long extention cord to take it to be the beach
18 May 2012, 13:42 pm
Jake White is a one or two season wonder coach.. watch.. in 2004 he turned Boks around from the shambles Streauli left them in by bringing in youth and vigor but not much tactically sound or astute brains…. by 2006 he had lost the plot so bad he lost almost every test he played against top rate teams and lost by biggest loss factor EVER by Boks getting nilled to the tune of 49-0 .. by 2007 he didn’t know where the fck to turn losing 3N twice in succession and totally devoid of any ideas how to turn his sinking ship around till EJ put his hand up and saved his overrated arse…
He entered WC 2007 rated 4th behind NZ, France, Aus and only just ahead of Ireland and then Argentina… he met NOBODY of consequence apart from 6th rank Argy and 7th rank England.. that’s how he fluked a gimme pisseasy lucky packet WC..
Since then he has grown by way of experience and putting similar principles to use as he did in 2004.. only this time he don’t have to skirt around Watson like he was the veritable plague.. and therefore 49-0 remains a lesson he has learned and learned WELL in his dubious history.
Now he got Hooper who provides him what Watson could have done in 2005-06.. wonder whats changed if not the snake has shed his skin and grown a few new uncharacteristic spots.
18 May 2012, 13:43 pm
Good by Hurricnaes
have history of inconsistent tight 5 which has left them down over seasons.
Stephen Moore and Michael Hooper again showing their class.
18 May 2012, 13:43 pm
is it just coincidence that the worlds best coach’s surname is White?
18 May 2012, 13:44 pm
@skopskiet(skopskiet)-311:
Rugby in 2007 and pre did not require a specialised fetcher as Teams benefitted from giving possession away. Had to make sure that it was kicked into the right place. Today the laws have been changed so that possession is king and the benefits go to the attacking side.
18 May 2012, 13:46 pm
Moore and Hooper lead the Brumbies fight every single game..
a fetching flank and a fighting fetching ball carrying hooker..
Seems the dumb klutz clown White has FINALLY learned what actually WORKS in modern day rugby and what DON’T..
18 May 2012, 13:48 pm
@skopskiet(skopskiet)-315: Bollocks you are not giving credit were credit is due – well done Jake , excellent coach
18 May 2012, 13:51 pm
@skopskiet(skopskiet)-319: Are my eyes deceiving me, or did you just compliment Jake White? You finally seem to be growing up, old Skoppie. Better late than never.
18 May 2012, 13:52 pm
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-318:
If White would have enlisted Watson who was FETCHING and carrying the ball and contesting breakdown better than anybody and everybody else as early as 2005-2006.. then he would NOT have lost 49-0 – absolutely without a doubt.
Even till recently it was only by DEFAULT that Brussow took over the Bok open side jersey when Burger got suspended for eye gouging vs BIL’s. otherwise we likely would have lost that series and lost the 2009 3N as well even with the reality staring EVERYONE in the face.
Now its less paramount to have a fetcher in the Brussow – Hooper – Pocock mold.. although such contribution remains important because the laws of 2009 compared to latest interpretations recent have swung back around again to favor big bashing ball carriers and offloading before going to ground.
18 May 2012, 13:57 pm
Well done brumbies well done jake.
18 May 2012, 14:02 pm
WELL DONE JAKE’S BRUMBIES.
18 May 2012, 14:04 pm
all the JW arselickers in unison… pity they can’t smell sh’t when its so close to their nostrils.
18 May 2012, 14:09 pm
First time Jake coaching after the world cup 2007 and he is doing it again. WINNING with a very young team. Great coach makes a difference. How saru never kept Jake on after wc 2007 was absolutely crazy. Saru must have looked like fools for letting a wc winning coach go.
Good luck to Jake and the Brumbies for the rest of the S15.
18 May 2012, 14:16 pm
good thing he’s in Aussie where he fits in perfectly .. where like attracts like … over here he don’t fit in at all.. also a pity Saru didn’t keep him after his fluke so that everyone would see what a flukety fluke coach he actually is… set up th JWWW circus with Keohane and how far did that little self infatuated grandiose scheme get anyone.. put Lions into a flat spin with Muir as DOR.. and what else he turn his hand to which was such a great astutely incorporated success.?
Maybe White should shack up with Cheeky at Kings .. instead of his old arch nemesis Solly .. then see how quick he turn that little empire into a roaring success story
18 May 2012, 14:16 pm
Thanks guys, I’m chuffed!!!
18 May 2012, 14:23 pm
A solid tight Five combo and a robust pair of centres are some of JW coaching signature, while Zack Holmes is a far better FH IMO than the faltering Lealiifano
18 May 2012, 14:23 pm
@Puma(Puma)-326:
Hi Puma, sorry I missed your comment on ‘The Other Side’ earlier, have been flitting about a bit!
18 May 2012, 14:25 pm
@Puma(Puma)-326:
Wasn’t SARU decision to ditch JW, wasn’t SARU decision to appoint PdV either.
18 May 2012, 14:25 pm
@BrumbiesBoy(BrumbiesBoy)-328:
And you still got the MILK shirt!
18 May 2012, 14:26 pm
@carol(carol)-330: No problems, how you doing?
18 May 2012, 14:27 pm
@BrumbiesBoy(BrumbiesBoy)-328: Congrats to your team.
18 May 2012, 14:39 pm
@Puma(Puma)-333:
All good thanks. Getting geared up firstly for the Queens Jubliee Celebrations….. Great reason to have another party here.
Then the Olyimpics, I was in London yesterday and the city is gearing up now, it is noticable. Should be a good summer in Britain!!
18 May 2012, 14:46 pm
@carol(carol)-335: Queen’s Jubilee? Sounds like a hoot. Will you be collecting the commemorative tea spoons?
18 May 2012, 14:48 pm
I wonder how much influence Laurie Fischer has had as Jakes assistant? As the Brumbies seem to have returned to their old phased play rythmn.
18 May 2012, 14:58 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-332: Absolutely!!! Bought it @ Ellis Park for about 120 bucks about 14 years ago…best R120 I’ve ever spent!!!
Was wearing if a few years ago when I bumped into George Gregan & Clyde Rathbone having coffee at a Sandton Hotel the morning of an Ellis Park game…George was especially amazed & said: “Gee mate, that’s an original, so you’ve been in the trenches with us a long time, hey?” It was only a short meeting but I remember it like it was yesterday.
@Puma(Puma)-334: Thanks, mate!
18 May 2012, 15:41 pm
@David(David)-337:
Jake said today that he was using a South African/Brumbies of old recipe, plus he had called in the influences of cross codes to add to the mix. He had even spoken with some Olympic coaches for their help. This man is a revelation for the game of RU. A genius alongside Heyneke Meyer and others that can read the game and mould it into a brilliant winning formula.
18 May 2012, 15:54 pm
7 out of 11.
marvellous.
not good enough for a Bok or a kiwi team.
but best of the wallabie lot.
good win, still.
18 May 2012, 15:55 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-339: i think it must have been pap and potjiekos
18 May 2012, 16:01 pm
@shooter(shooter)-340:
They’re Kiwi slayers.
18 May 2012, 16:03 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-336:
Teaspoons!!!
18 May 2012, 16:17 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-339:
I wouldn’t call him a genius. Australia, NZ and the UK have long tapped the League for training and tactical ideas.
I do believe he’s probably grown a lot since 2007, when it comes to coaching.
18 May 2012, 16:53 pm
Stephen Moore married a Durban girl last month.
Instant improvement.
Poppa Truly sorry.about your wife Horrible way to go.
However this is a rugby site.Not one for mental masturbation.
Regards.
18 May 2012, 16:54 pm
Hello UFO.Good luck stormers & SHARKS.
18 May 2012, 17:00 pm
ryecatcher it was his mom
lets close the subject here
18 May 2012, 18:31 pm
@David(David)-344:
” probably grown a lot since 2007″,
Grown doing what?
JW did no coaching until end of 2011, it means he remains a good coach, it happened too that NZ and Aus were picking in 2006/7 while the Boks were on the decline so his Test record at these years is abysmal, something like 2:6 in the TriNations
18 May 2012, 19:13 pm
@David(David)-337: That is exactly why I am still not completely sold on the “genius” called JW.
What he did well was go out of his way to secure able “assistants”….
Assistant coach – coached the Brumbies with great success
Larkham & Gregan – WC winners who are probably the best halfback pairing for Australia in the Pro era…
We can go on and on…
18 May 2012, 19:56 pm
Watson was not a fetcher that played to the ball, never ever.
White’s position on Watson was that he was too small – he preferred rangey athletic looseforwards.
White’s position on fetchers, was that every player should play to the ball, which is what alot of teams are doing nowadays, hore and bismarck and coenie are all frontrowers, and they are best pilferers and to-the-ball players in the modern game, none of them are opensiders.
JW’s real problem season started in 2006 when he had a massive spate of injuries, same as PdV’s had problems in 2010 almost exactly the same. Unless you maybe the ABs you simply cannot compete against the top teams in the world if half your best players are out due to injury.
18 May 2012, 20:33 pm
@cab(cab)-350: exactly cabby
18 May 2012, 20:44 pm
@skopskiet(skopskiet)-327:
Skoppie: Crush your mother – She’s a White.
18 May 2012, 21:48 pm
What a surprise. A Jake White thread with skopshyte all over it like a rabid dog on heat.
Even more surprising, he’s repeating the same things ad nauseam as he repeated in 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, and 2004. Uber yawn.
19 May 2012, 00:27 am
@skopskiet(skopskiet)-327:
I think your issue with Jake is purely in his surname…WHITE!
19 May 2012, 00:36 am
@skopskiet(skopskiet)-322:
I disagree. if the game is giving advantage to the attacking team. more rucks are looser due to attacking teams trying to recycle the ball quickly to ensure slick flow and the defending team on the back foot more. have a fetcher he will slow the ball and has more chances during the game at the the ruck to pilfer.
before it was skip and donner…kick the ball onto a player deep in opposition territory and chase him…usually these players are in the backline isolate him and get the ball back from a penalty due to the player not releasing. the tackler could get up without letting go the tackled ball carrier and go for the ball. with these laws the fetcher was more a player in the backline.
19 May 2012, 02:08 am
@cab(cab)-350:
injuries hampered the team in 2006 and SARU were trying desperately to get rid of white because he refused to budge on whio he’d pick and play. the week of the 49-0 result against Aussie the team knew what was going on. SARU, the team and the coach collectively own that result, not just jake.
19 May 2012, 02:11 am
@cab(cab)-350:
even the ABs have bad years though. remember 2009. richie and danny injured for parts of that year and they were awful (for their high standards) at times. boks clean swweeped them 3-0 in 3N and bok laden baabaas also knocked them over at end of year. Many of our boks beat them 4 times that year!
19 May 2012, 02:13 am
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-354:
he has many many unresolved issues on white. but mostly it has to do with white not rating luke watson and rating schalk burger.
19 May 2012, 03:47 am
@grant10(grant100)-33:
Jake White fan are we now Grantie
19 May 2012, 03:48 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-353:
HHAHAHAH yes yawn – I’m still waiting for him to use his bedroom wall to blog on and leave us alone.
19 May 2012, 03:52 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-313:
Couldn;t have said it better myself.
Being defending the guy since 2004 on here because idiots like Skopskiet couldn’t see a good thing if they walked right into it
19 May 2012, 04:08 am
@cab(cab)-350:
Well said as well. Trolling a bit but spent too many years writing the same thing to defend Jake. The guy took SA rugby from the mess of Staaldraad to a WC winning number 1 team in the world, and some ungrateful morons don;t appreciate it.
Saying things like Eddie Jones saved us – lol – what a joke. He helped have helped, for sur
19 May 2012, 04:09 am
Well said as well. Trolling a bit but spent too many years writing the same thing to defend Jake. The guy took SA rugby from the mess of Staaldraad to a WC winning number 1 team in the world, and some ungrateful morons don;t appreciate it.
Saying things like Eddie Jones saved us – lol – what a joke. He helped have helped, for sure. But a good coach isn’t always the one that thinks they know everything. They call on others to add value.
A head coach needs good assistants
19 May 2012, 14:48 pm
Mark Lawrence, the Ref in this Game,
gave a great display, of what positive Refereeing is, and should always be.
(Now: that is not a Post you see from the average Saffa).
We lost, but I’d be happy for Mark to do all Canes games.