Brumbies put boot into Canes

JON CARDINELLI writes that great goal-kicking was the difference in the Brumbies’ 37-25 victory over the Hurricanes in Wellington.

How did the Hurricanes conspire to throw this match away? They scored their fourth try in the third quarter and looked to be cruising to an important win, but faded badly in the last 20 minutes and allowed the visitors to score 19 unanswered points.

It will be regarded as an ugly win for Jake White’s team even though they bagged five log points from a difficult visit to Wellington. It was also ironic that some form of kicking would propel the Brumbies to a fantastic result, as their kicking from hand was nothing short of aimless.

They controlled the earlier periods of play and shot to a 10-0 lead, but were subsequently punished for some poor tactical punts. Too often the high balls or tactical probes were too long, allowing a dangerous Hurricanes back three to collect and counter-attack with damaging results.

The Hurricanes forwards also came back strongly, and TJ Perenara scored in the 17th minute after the heavies had set a great platform. Victor Vito added the hosts’ second from a neat set-piece move, and the Hurricanes looked to have seized the initiative right before half-time.

Perenara snatched his second after the break, finishing an opportunity that was rooted again in strong forward play and poor kicking by the Brumbies.

Rookie flyhalf Zack Holmes managed to goal a penalty during this period, but the Canes kept on coming, and another strong drive from the lineout had the Brumbies defence stretched. Reserve prop Jeffrey Toomaga-Allen barrelled over from a subsequent surge, and at 25-16 the Canes were set for a fine finish.

But while the Canes had done well to win the battle for territory and punish Brumbies errors, they had failed to capitalise via an accurate goal-kicking performance. Following Toomaga-Allen’s try, they were nine points ahead, but wayward goal-attempts meant they had left a further nine points out on the field. It was this inaccuracy, as well as an unforgivable lapse in the last quarter, that would result in them losing the game.

The Brumbies were guilty of poor kicking out of hand, but they stuck to their tactics and began to enjoy the benefits in the dying stages. Their forwards also came back strongly, and it was some neat inter-passing between the visiting tight forwards that resulted in a try by lock Sam Carter.

They looked to have botched a scoring opportunity when they knocked on five metres out from the Canes’ tryline, but won a tighthead at the ensuing scrum. Michael Hooper swooped on the loose ball and emerged from a pile of bodies. The accurate goal-kicking boot of Holmes ensured that they made the lead five points instead of three.

The Brumbies flyhalf completed a memorable first start with a seven pointer moments later, and at 37-25, the game was over. The Canes attempted to close the gap in last 10 minutes but coughed up possession at the critical moment. In the end, a determined Brumbies defensive effort denied the Canes a losing bonus point.

The result sees the Brumbies consolidating their place at the top of the Australian conference and keeping the Reds at arm’s length. Following such a gutting loss at home, the Hurricanes should struggle to stay in the play-off race.

364 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All

• 251.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-246: yeah, their game against my team still makes me cry :)

• 252.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-244: What… now its funny, sheepshagger…

“How many times do we have to hear about you and shemales, honestly. You really have a problem and lack respect when it comes to kathoeys…” :lol:

• 253.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-247:
    we have a sense of humour
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5g2f5XV-5hk

• 254.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-241:
    and a hat tip to you too.

and to think the divvy aced his interview with the saru appointments panel….bliksem, we are our worst enemy at times.

dont know who’d screw the boks harder in wc final… the ab’s, the ref or saru..?…

• 255.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-249: Ja, would be good…

• 256.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-250: I know, I know… Wait until you have to work with the fckers… I have… Hellsbells its Keo Blog Kiwi x 10 :lol:

They also a lot more chicken in real life… :wink:

• 257.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-249:

The Durbs ones too.

• 258.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

I think my truce with Pooper is off
    HG did the part of the crocodile death roll with the duvet do it for you?

• 259.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-253: Fark off man… You okes are about as funny as a brick wall… Sheezus, no sense of irony at all… :lol:

• 260.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Ja for sure GWS.

• 261.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-258: Lol… Nearly choked, chap…

• 262.stew: Reply to this comment

Well done Brumbies – in shock – i bet all Saffas are so glad they let Jake White go what a coach

• 263.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-250:
    Was there tears in that post?
    Its alright princess, the big bad Kiwi wont pick on you.
    What i find funny here is that you call us all the names on a forum and then call us cowards.

• 264.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Hectic mental pic esp if it is a curly haired ginger kiwi.

• 265.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-254:
    You would never know would you

• 266.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-240: Yeah, Im sure they are… :lol:

• 267.Peter Devilears: Reply to this comment

INTERESTING READ Guarantee to make you blink!
    THE KEO CONNECTION
    Posted: 06 May 2012 at 7:11pm
    Highbury Safika Media (HSM) is a publishing house boasting a portfolio of over 30 magazine titles and numerous online publications. Amongst these are SA Rugby Magazine and Keo.co.za – the website of Mark Keohane and other SA Rugby writers such as Ryan Vrede and Jon Cardinelli.

Keohane has been a public figure since his days as Springbok Communications Manager under the ill-fated reigns of both Harry Viljoen and Rudolph Streauli, until he resigned in protest over SARFU’s handling of the Geo Cronjé racism debacle involving Quinton Davids. Keohane went on to publish a book about the episode and the state of the Springboks in general, and was widely criticized by Springbok players (most notably Corné Krige) as deliberately attempting to sow division within their ranks and to undermine SA Rugby in general.

In recent times Keohane has been busying himself in the extensive business interests of HSM, as well as media relations of other entities, such as Jake White’s Winning Ways – a business partnership which ended in a heated law suit, kept hushed away out of the public sphere. Even more recently, however, HSM -and Mark Keohane in particular – were awarded the contract to manage the media, marketing and public relations of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC). The awarding of this contract was never put up for tender, as is standard government procedure, but was rather awarded directly to HSM (although Keohane states that normal application took place, the fact remains it should have gone to tender).

And this is where the Keo connection begins to reveal itself.

During his time at SA Rugby, Mark Keohane worked alongside the likes of Rian Oberholzer (President of SARFU), Songezo Nayo (Managing Director), Gary Grant (Marketing Director) and the current president of SASCOC – Gideon Sam (Springbok Team Manager).

All four names mentioned above are currently directors of sports marketing company Accelerate Sports, with Gideon Sam being appointed as Chairman. Gideon Sam also serves on the Lotto Distribution Board, but excused himself when dealing with the funding grant to SA Cycling, a grant from which Accelerate Sport received commission to the tune of R 26 million – a blatant conflict of interest.

Accelerate Sport, through their subsidiary Access Facilities and Leisure Management (AFLM), were also awarded the contract as operations manager of the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium. It is reported that this contract brings in a whopping R 600 000 a month to the coffers of Accelerate. It is the duty of AFLM to source events to be staged at the stadium to generate revenue and keep the stadium sustainable.

And here the connection between rugby and Accelerate begins to become clear.

The contract between AFLM and the Nelson Mandela Bay Metro states that, above the R 600 000 a month, AFLM are to be awarded performance bonuses based on the revenue they generate, providing this amount exceeds R 12,5 million a year. The structure of this bonus is as follows:

The Operator will be paid 10% of any amount above R12.5 million but less than R15 million, and then:

• 12.5% of any amount in excess of R15 million but less than R20 million;

• 15% of any amount in excess of R20 million but less than R25 million; and

• 20% of any amount in excess of R25 million.

It is thus blatantly clear that it is in the best interests of Accelerate to find events which will draw spectators, such as concerts etc.

But what better way to ensure constant revenue, week after week, than playing host to a top tier sports team. If only the Eastern Cape had one.

But wait, Accelerate have strong ties to SARU, they do after all boast an ex-president in their ranks. Would it at this point seem ludicrous to suggest that Oberholzer, Sam, Grant and Nayo used their previous connections to SARU to, excuse the pun, accelerate the Kings’ inclusion in Super Rugby so as to ensure that their business interest was being looked after, leading to SARU’s shock announcement at the Heyneke Meyer press conference about the Kings’ guaranteed inclusion in Super Rugby for 2013? Surely not.

So where does Mark Keohane fit into all this?

Keohane has recently stepped up his anti – Lions rhetoric in his articles, and while not directly naming the Kings in his most recent one, it is clear where his views emanate from. The vested interest he has in servicing his ex-colleagues at SARU (SASCOC contracts etc.) has clearly skewed the views of an already overly opinionated man.

But wait, there’s more.

After the establishment of the Kings, the son of Cheeky Watson – president of the Eastern Province Rugby Union (under which the Kings operate) – Luke, was brought back from Bath to play for the Kings. In May 2011 HSM (with Mark Keohane again at the forefront) announced that it had decided to enter into the field of player management, a first for the publishing company. Furthermore it was announced that their first client would be none other than Luke Watson. Queue the Mark Keohane propaganda machine.

The cover of the very next SA Rugby magazine was adorned by – yes, you guessed it – Luke Watson, with the rather flattering caption “Return of the King”. This was to be only the start of the Keohane marketing hype surrounding Watson and the Kings.

At the same press conference where SARU dropped the Kings bombshell on an unsuspecting audience, Ryan Vrede, a HSM journalist, asked Heyneke Meyer if Luke Watson – a player languishing in the second tier of SA Rugby and who hasn’t been in Bok contention since mid-2008 – was a contender for the position of Springbok captain. These blatant attempts by Keohane to force the name of Luke Watson into mainstream media while he has done nothing to get it there serves to illustrate the hidden agenda and inherent corrupt nature of a man who has lived off the rise and fall of others for far too long.

Not only has the media machine being rolling for Luke Watson, but others being managed under yet another Accelerate Sport company – In-Site Athlete Management – have been enjoying a rise in publicity in SA Rugby magazine as well. Willem Alberts received some ego stroking in May 2011, as did another In-Site managed player -Joe van Niekerk – in March 2012, with the article stating that he is playing the best rugby of his career at Toulon. Buttering him up for a big money move back to SA perhaps?

It is clear that Keo’s connection into Accelerate stretches deep, with an “I’ll scratch your back you scratch mine” policy which benefits both sides. Gideon Sam made sure he looked after Mark with the awarding of the SASCOC account, Mark in turn ensures that the business interests of Accelerate Sport and its stakeholders remains in the mainstream media, and they all walk away happy.

The reason why Keo has gone on a Lions bashing campaign of late should come as no surprise when taking the above into account. Mark Keohane is no longer a journalist; he hasn’t been for quite a while. He is a businessman with a platform to promote his interests and those of others close to him, a platform which he uses selflessly and without shame.

He is a wolf in sheep’s clothing. He is the worm in the apple, and the rot starts with him.
    defdisc

• 268.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

What is it with all this hate today? You know that rugby may be a huge part of all our lives but its only a game! I’ve been to many a game of the Boks vs ABs and met with the players afterwards, I assure you the players all go out for drinks and braai together after the game why can we as fans do the same? This is becoming really unentertaining!

• 269.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-242: Thanks, I’m very chuffed!

• 270.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-264: Lol… I reckon you on a roll now…

But come now, what Kiwi chick isnt a curly haired ginger…

• 271.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-252:
    Ummm i believe you found the same post funny.
    You seem to be getting your knickers in a twist over nothing really.
    Again you accused me at laughing about AIDS and i asked for the proof.
    HGM living up to his normal self

• 272.grant10: Reply to this comment

sharksgirl, leave the rugby to the men … stick with netball

• 273.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-268:
    Agree

• 274.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant100)-272:
    Oh, cya Grantie

• 275.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-271: Keep up fckwit… You two posts short of a blog at this point…

• 276.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

My bad HG
    Grant 10 f ark off.

• 277.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-251:
    I bet it does……Sorry :-)

• 278.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-275:
    Show me the post. Thats all i ask.

• 279.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-264:

She was trying to get away from you.

• 280.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Peter Devilears(Peter Devilears)-267:

This article is six weeks old.

Keep up

• 281.carol: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-268:

Some days you can have a real laugh here with ‘friends’ who all enjoy the same sport!

Sometimes the ‘Synthetic Tertosterone’ becomes a bit wearing!!

• 282.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-278: Still up on that fantastical Middle Earthian high ground of yours… Whats the view like? A coupla knobbly knees here and there, yeah?

• 283.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-281: Lol

• 284.carol: Reply to this comment

No Keo TV, I was hoping to ask Lucy where she got her sweater from last week!!

• 285.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-259:

How about this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xWAoRdhrRs&feature=related

• 286.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant100)-272:

I see you haven’t learnt your lesson yet

• 287.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Dawn you had yor chance to witness the fitness when I was in the cape.Foolish pride got in the way.
    Stop being bitter

• 288.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-287:

Hell will freeze over first

• 289.carol: Reply to this comment

“Witness the Fitness” !

• 290.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-287:

Were you going to take the beef train to Tuna City?

• 291.carol: Reply to this comment

Talking of fitness…

Percy, hurry up and finnish your Keo TV report, I have not got all day! ;-)

• 292.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-281: chees today must be such a day :(

• 293.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-285: Fark me, you getting like that Lieutenant in Good Morning Vietnam…

Lieutenant Steven Hauk: I understand you’re pretty funny [to Cronauer] as a dee-jay and, well, comedy is kind of a hobby of mine. Well, actually, it’s a little more than just a hobby, Reader’s Digest is considering publishing two of my jokes.

• 294.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

GWS
    Tuned a girl I know that yesterday and she just lagged.
    Smaaked it big time,cause it is funny
    Not all woman are bra burning feminists.

• 295.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-284: liar, you just want to perve pervy some more.

• 296.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-294:

Hehehe!

• 297.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-293:
    Sorry what did you say?
    Was that Bok bok bok bok? Or did you say Bok Bok bok ?

• 298.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

GWS
    She has leukemia and 4 years max left,so she is not a angst ridden feminist and can take a joke for what it is.
    These emo captains of piety can learn from her.
    She says she is planning to stick around for much longer.

• 299.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-297: Oh dear… outtahere…

• 300.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-298:

I hope she does too boet. My ex wife had lung cancer and she survived but it was two years of hell.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.