Infighting could cost Lions
18 May 2012
The Lions will be ‘automatically relegated’ if they do not resolve a long standing dispute with franchise partners the Pumas and Leopards.
This was decided by Saru at its last executive council meeting, according to an article in the The New Age.
Official documentation in possession of the newspaper says the Lions have until the end of this season to come to an agreement with their partners (the Golden Lions, Pumas and Leopards make up the Lions franchise), who this week confirmed that negotiations relating to the repayment of outstanding broadcasting fees have failed.
‘Our endeavours to resolve this matter out of court have been unsuccessful and we have been left with no choice but to arbitrate,’ Leopards president Andre May told The New Age.
According to the official documentation, until the matter is resolved:
a) Broadcast revenue payments are to be withheld from the Lions
b) Payments of R750,000 each be made to the Pumas and Leopards
c) Automatic relegation from Super Rugby at the end of 2012 Super Rugby competition for the Lions.

277 Comments
18 May 2012, 13:05 pm
Thin pretext.
18 May 2012, 13:15 pm
honestly,
in its entirety i dont think any tretexts are needed or necessary.
there is a long history of shameful actions across the board at the lions. be it on the field or in the boardroom, management, admin, partnerships, sponsors…you name it…
18 May 2012, 13:23 pm
Almost starting to feel sorry for the Lions.
As if they didn`t have enough problems on the field . . .
18 May 2012, 13:26 pm
They should do the honorable thing and just go
18 May 2012, 13:28 pm
and quietly at that…
into the good night
John Mitchell regretting coaching the Lions??
18 May 2012, 13:32 pm
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-7: Hmmm we`ve got a
temporary job for Mitchell as Sharks backline coach if he`s interested . . .
18 May 2012, 13:38 pm
In other news, Gumede’s Gijima is financially fcked now that e-tolling is kaput. Explains why they tried to squeeze the Lions.
18 May 2012, 13:40 pm
are these the darkest times for a once powerful and proud test union????
How can you not have a joburg side in S15?????
Louis Luyt come back
18 May 2012, 13:41 pm
This weak cut and paste job first appeared in the press more than 4 months ago. Why is the midget spinning his little legs off?
18 May 2012, 13:41 pm
Was it not a former Lions CEO that went on to SARU and then created this Kings debacle?
18 May 2012, 13:45 pm
Don’t worry Gumede will find another tender katters.
Although it won’t be at Home Affairs after his abortive delivery on a 2 billion rand IT tender.
Lekker.
18 May 2012, 13:47 pm
Stacking the deck. How are the players suppose to focus on a game. !
18 May 2012, 13:48 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-13: It’s all nicely documented in this piece on the Daily Maverick today.
http://www2.dailymaverick.co.za/article/2012-05-18-analysis-gijimas-groundhog-years
18 May 2012, 13:55 pm
Maybe its time for the public protector to have a lookie loo at him.
18 May 2012, 13:58 pm
I have it on good authority that she’s been told to stay away from the feeding trough. The trough is a safe zone, like holy ground in Highlander.
18 May 2012, 14:07 pm
The amount of coaching reputations which this Lions franchise has totally destroyed is frightening:
Frans Ludecke (current Champion coach, redeemed)
Chester Williams (former Sevens wonder coach)
**** Muir (former Sharks wonder coach)
Tim Lane (formerly highly rated)
John Mitchell (formerly highly rated)
Kind of makes you wonder what in the Lions system is really responsible.
18 May 2012, 14:08 pm
Thuli has enough on her hands at the moment, what with her scrap with the DA.
18 May 2012, 14:21 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-19: TBWA Hunt Lascaris tender should be scrapped
18 May 2012, 14:33 pm
please just someone dont paint zille’s likeness with no pants on.
we have suffered enough manje.
18 May 2012, 14:42 pm
Zille beneath the frille? Have mercy.
18 May 2012, 14:52 pm
@ali(ali)-18:
Frightning
xcept Ludeke
18 May 2012, 14:55 pm
Don’t let this poisoned lot anywhere near my Cheetahs
18 May 2012, 14:55 pm
@ali(ali)-18: how can you forget Loffie “drie jaar plan” Eloff?
18 May 2012, 14:56 pm
genoeg om n man die rillings te gee.
18 May 2012, 14:57 pm
isn’t the New Age the ANC’s own newspaper?
18 May 2012, 14:58 pm
the Lions must also take full responsibilty for Jorrie (wont pass if my life depended on it) Muller.
i’d relegate them just for that.
18 May 2012, 15:06 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-27:
I must admit I’ve been pleasantly surprised by its lack of bias. Probably because Pahad is an Mbeki supporter.
18 May 2012, 15:09 pm
By any means necessary hey ?
When I was in Durban to watch the test vs. Australia last year, there was a big article in the Natal Mercury.
The Sharks had previously declined on discussions regarding them relocating to Joseph Mabida stadium (for those of you who don’t know – that’s the government constructed white elephant built across the road from Kings Park). I am sure the grass in that stadium is about hip high already. There is probably a squatter camp in there already.
So – what do the red faced, corrupt government do ? Pass new laws on stadium safety standards which they know the 120 year old Kings Park does not conform to. I cant remember the exact figure but if I recall correctly it was hundreds of millions that would be needed to upgrade Kings Park.
As far as I know – the Sharks told government they would move – for R 92 Million and they would fight the new laws passed in court for 5 to 10 years. I haven’t heard anything further so I assume the ‘cleva’ government backed off.
So – Lions – stand up for yourself ! But sort out this kak with the Pumas and Leopards man ! These tsotsi’s are going to use this nonsense as a reason to get rid of you.
18 May 2012, 15:14 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-30: MOSES mabhida dusky, MOSES!!!
poor dusky
18 May 2012, 15:19 pm
Actually this is happening at the right time for the Lions.
The whole skabanga ANC are writhing around trying to slime their way out of this eToll corruption debacle. Zuma has been taking frequent toilet breaks for nervous stomach for the last week after SAAB was re-linked with eToll (eish man Zuma – it just dont go away ne….). He knows as soon as he isn’t president any more – he will be taking over Shabir’s prison cell.
Malema owes the tax man R 15 Million, and has to figure out how he is going to pay this without exposing the fact that he doesn’t earn R 30 000 a month. Pssstt……dooskop….we knew you were lying all along…..
There are a bunch of other ‘cover ups’ underway at the moment so this whole thing will get sparse political attention. Its a good opportunity for the Lions to fight and win this thing.
18 May 2012, 15:19 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-30: Orlando Pirates & Golden Arrows are playing their last fixtures of the PSL season at MMS, if Pirates wins they retain their league title. ‘
so much for your “squatter camp”
R1 billion for Chief & Pirates
WHAT IS believed to be the biggest sponsorship in South African sports history was announced yesterday.
Vodacom will give Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates “plus-minus R1-billion” over the next five years, according to Pirates chairman Irvin Khoza.
The money will be split evenly, with each club getting about R100-million a year.
The new deal would dwarf even that between Absa and Castle for Bafana Bafana, which was made five years ago.
The beer company and the bank jointly gave the SA Football Association R500-million (R250-million from each company) which is up for renewal this year.
Yesterday’s announcement was the renewal of a previous sponsorship agreement between the company and the two football clubs, which began 13 years ago.
The two clubs and the sponsor also jointly stage the Vodacom Challenge, an annual tournament to which an English Premier League team is usually invited.
Khoza said they wanted to invite top teams from Africa to the tournament again.
18 May 2012, 15:20 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-31: Ah…could just as well have been Sipho Sithole as far as I care.
18 May 2012, 15:21 pm
@Atlas(Atlas)-23: He had to achieve a helluva lot at the bulls for to get his reputation back!
@Transformation(Transformation)-25: As an age group coach, I reckon Loffie was more of a development coach. Arguably, he didn’t have much of a reputation before his lions stint (as opposed to, say, the international coaches who’ve fell in this occupational quagmire)
18 May 2012, 15:21 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-33: I could care less about our banana republic soccer either. Do Chiefs and Pirates play at Daniel Sibanda stadium ?
18 May 2012, 15:26 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-33: R 500 Million per club ? That’s around GBP 38 Million. They could get Lionel Messi for one year ! WOW ! Amazing…..impressive…..what can I say ?
18 May 2012, 15:29 pm
@ali(ali)-35: a “development coach” allowed to faf around for that long with a super rugby franchise?
18 May 2012, 15:31 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-37: which rugby franchise do you know that commands that kind of money?
18 May 2012, 15:31 pm
So why are the pk lions fighting relegation again? Bankrupt, no name players, k@k management and 15 wins in 10yrs. Wtf… Woza Kings!
18 May 2012, 15:32 pm
@ali(ali)-35:
I don’t know much about Ludeke before his Lions stint
I do know HM rates him and they are good friends (talking allot apparently)
He is a good coach, but most people will credit HM for his structures
IMOI
18 May 2012, 15:33 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-30: Moses Mabhida!!!!, Moses Mabhida, where the PSL Final game between Golden Arrows and Pirates will be played and the stadium is sold out!!!!!!, SOLD OUT!!!!,
18 May 2012, 15:33 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-38: I’m trying to phrase his inadequacy in a nice way.
Although looking at his successors, its become patently obvious that Loffie had no chance in hell.Even Mitchell seems to be replicating his 3 year plan!
18 May 2012, 15:36 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-39: What’s the point ? That soccer makes more money than rugby ? Are you brain injured ? Did your Norwegian friends try to drown you and now you suffer from cerebral suffocation ?
I am flippin glad if the government finds a use for Piet Dhlamini stadium – even if it is the occasional ‘pity’ soccer game or celebrating indians in South Africa for 100 years concert….good for them – and they can shove their R 500 Million as far up their corrupt backsides as the sharp end of a broomstick will allow. I am also pleased that soccer wont be played at Kings Park any more. I recall all the trouble with stadium damage, littering etc.
Sharks don’t want it. Take the James Tshabalala stadium and keep it !
18 May 2012, 15:39 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-42: For what ? R 20 a ticket ?
18 May 2012, 15:41 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-34: You are the slime that is holding South Africa from the shackles of the past, I hope you die a painful death very soon.
18 May 2012, 15:41 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-42: Wow… One event a year deal… they may be able to pay their electricity bill for January…
18 May 2012, 15:42 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-45: When was the last time the Sharks filled up Kings Park
18 May 2012, 15:43 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-48: Ja – the tickets are a bit more than ’20 rant’ though…
18 May 2012, 15:44 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-44: for someone who hates SA you are still to concerned about, move on Dusky!
do they play rugby in Norway?
18 May 2012, 15:45 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-46: Eish…..is that always the first response ? ‘I hope you die ?’
What’s wrong with you ? Poorly developed frontal cortex syndrome ?
18 May 2012, 15:45 pm
@Rum And Maple(Rum And Maple)-47: Why don’t you visit the Stadium website and read yourself, rather than me telling you about all the events at the stadium
http://www.mmstadium.com/
18 May 2012, 15:48 pm
Dusky Dusky Dusky! No need to get too heated up. Wonder why everything always needs to be black and white! Do they have to be corrupt since they are black? Hasty Dusky!
18 May 2012, 15:49 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-49: FYI, tomorrow’s game cost the same R60 for Currie Cup game
18 May 2012, 15:50 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-50: People like you would love that wouldn’t you ? Unfortunately it isn’t going to happen. I, like so many other expats will preach the gospel to all those who will listen. Not because I am one bit concerned about South Africa, but because I am concerned about all the good people I know that live there.
The only way to fight the unfairness and corruption is to persuade as many economically active, educated people to leave as possible. Its still works – application for work permits abroad is at an all time high. I think articles in the newspaper about possible sanctions because of South Africa’s affair with Iran is very possibly a good driver. We use what you guys throw at us.
Pen is more powerful than the sword ? Don’t know – lets see….
Whats your point about Norway not playing rugby ? Was that the suffocated part of your brain adding a comment ?
18 May 2012, 15:50 pm
@Mr Incredible(siphamade)-53: You were the first one to mention the word ‘black’ or ‘white’ Sipha.
18 May 2012, 15:51 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-54: Eish…marra ma ! 60 rant ? ee…e…hawa….
Congrats ! Hope the soccer hooligans leave the stadium intact.
18 May 2012, 15:53 pm
What to do of a quiet Friday afternoon in chilly Norway.
18 May 2012, 15:53 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-57: If you are really in Norway, lively country by the way, really had a good time there, would you kindly send me your address, I’m sure Anders Breivik’s mates would love to know you there.
18 May 2012, 15:54 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-52: I am glad they found a way to use the stadium. It means they can leave the Sharks alone now.
18 May 2012, 15:54 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-52: Ja boet, I did check it out… it’s a hive of activity that makes no money… no wonder they tried to force the Sharks to move… need some cash for those floodlight bills…
18 May 2012, 15:56 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-46: no, champ…no need for that!
18 May 2012, 15:56 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-59: No – I don’t resort to killing, throwing bricks with intent to severely injure, or hoping people will die. I am civilized in that way. I am more advanced than that.
Norway is a great country. Thanks.
18 May 2012, 15:58 pm
@Rum And Maple(Rum And Maple)-61: Sharks wont move – well they might eventually, but they have have made it clear that whoever wants to force them is staring down the barrel of a 10 year law suit. I think the idea has been pretty much backed off….
18 May 2012, 15:59 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-64: And good for them…
@Dusky(Dusky)-57: yes R60 rand for one ticket versus R30 rand to watch the Lions vs Stormers
Lions slash ticket prices
2012-03-20 14:08
Johannesburg – Coca-Cola Park will be the place to be on Saturday, March 24 when the Lions take on the Stormers in their Vodacom Super Rugby clash at 19:10.
Tickets have been priced as follows for the North and South stands:
Adults: Two-for-one special. Buy one ticket for R60 and get one free
Students: Two-for-one special. Buy one ticket for R30 and get one free
Scholars: Tickets cost R10 each
Tickets are available at the Coca-Cola Park Ticket Office between 08:00 and 16:00 from Monday to Friday.
On Saturday at the stadium, scholars will pay just R10 and students R15 each behind the poles.
For those who prefer to sit higher up in the stands, tickets are priced at just R35 each – a 50% discount per ticket for tickets in the East Upper stand.
@Dawn(Dawn)-58: Work.
18 May 2012, 16:00 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-63:
Yeah, the odd racially inspired killings there are just a protest against the government.
18 May 2012, 16:00 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-63:
Some good crime writers
(Or am I thinkng of Sweden??)
18 May 2012, 16:02 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-66: Ja dude…Lions…you really like to hunt facts that suit your needs hey ? Have you seen the 300 people that pitch up to watch the Lions play ?
What are the ticket prices at Kings Park for a Super rugby match ? Not to prove a point – I genuinely don’t know. The last few times I went to Kings Park, I didn’t pay for the ticket.
18 May 2012, 16:02 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-55: who is “you guys throw at us”? hahahahahahaha
18 May 2012, 16:04 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-64: Are you sure that the Sharks have the necessary financial resources for such a legal battle? 10 year long legal proceedings can be quite costly.
18 May 2012, 16:05 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-71: Heh ? Djy kannie verstaan ?
18 May 2012, 16:06 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-70: what joy do you derive deriding the amounts people pay to watch football?
with every post you make it easier to live with the fact that you f(ucked off
18 May 2012, 16:09 pm
@John1976(John1976)-72: I don’t know that John. I would assume that if they made that promise – that they might.
Certainly the whole idea just faded after that, so someone must believe there is some solidity to their word.
Remember these corrupt blue flies already benefited from the building of the white elephant. Now they want to have continued income. So be sure you understand that the Sharks move across the road would not be for free. They would be expected to pay rent. By contrast The Sharks own Kings Park.
So its probably a playoff between paying rent and possible match fees for stadium use vs. a law suit…costs probably similar….
18 May 2012, 16:10 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-74: I am glad you’ve come to terms with it.
18 May 2012, 16:11 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-60:
You’re not being objective about this Dusky.
I go to gym at the Virgin Active in the MMS and let me tell you, she is a thing of beauty. And then on weekends I have breakfast at one of the coffee shops underneath the stadium before a run along the beachfront.
I would be more than glad to move if it suited the Sharks financially.
(may have to get used to not being ‘on top’ of the players come game time as at Kings Park but that would be the least of the worries.)
MMS is fully operational with restuarants and retail etc within the stadium itself. It does runs at a loss, amazingly not a huge loss considering the size and upkeep bill but then again how many stadiums in SA wash their own face as it were.
Oh and its currently being organised for the Top Gear team who are comeing here in July. Full race track inside where the Stig will be doing its thing.
18 May 2012, 16:11 pm
Wish we would be happy that football do not need to pester rugby now about the use of their stadiums. Wish we could all also just get along! Sharks to get to the final of the Super 15! Great city Great Team!
18 May 2012, 16:12 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-74: You also had to choose the kakkest Super rugby side in the country vs. two of the best banana ball teams to make your point. That doesn’t give me joy – it just confirms my pattern of thought.
18 May 2012, 16:14 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-77: You know what John – I completely agree with you. But I imagine the Sharks feel similarly to me. It was more about the way it was done. Don’t you agree ?
18 May 2012, 16:15 pm
This is gonna be good.
18 May 2012, 16:16 pm
@John1976(John1976)-72: Especially when the other party in the lawsuit is using taxpayers unlimited budget, clearly Dusky’s limited thing is not really cerebral after all…
18 May 2012, 16:17 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-77: I also hear that these guys want exorbitant match fees etc. for the use of MMS. That too is fine for a world class stadium, but knowing the money is getting used to put petrol in the black S63 AMG Mercedes that were bought from the building of the stadium probably leaves a sour taste. I know some of the senior management at the Sharks dude – they aren’t going to take nonsense. Why else would this move not have happened ?
18 May 2012, 16:18 pm
Major point is ‘if it suited the Sharks financially’.
Unfortunately it doesnt because of the piss poor initial project management undertaken by the Durban municipality. Mike Sutcliffe to be exact.
@Dusky(Dusky)-64:
There was an issue on the potential cost of improving safety and security of KP but that was very quickly blown out of the water when consultants came and did a check up.
Apparently the immediate issues were extremely minor(an exit sign here and there etc) Will try and find the article.
18 May 2012, 16:18 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-82: You think what SARS collects is unlimited ? Want to talk about cerebral ?
18 May 2012, 16:19 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-80:
Agree 100%. Ready my post 84.
18 May 2012, 16:21 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-82:
Dont be sure of that unlimited budget pal.
You’re talking about the Durban Municipality here.
I can tell you they are extremely limited.
Both financlally and cerebrally.
18 May 2012, 16:22 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-69:
Yup, that’s Sweden.
18 May 2012, 16:23 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-84: Yeah – I know or rather ‘knew’ Mike some years back. Never got along. He and I had a solid go at each other on another issue.
Well good. I don’t have an issue with MMS – It clearly is a more modern, world class stadium. I did have a problem with the methods used to try and ‘force’ the Sharks to move. And I actually think they may have considered it – if the issue was approached like civilized people do business.
18 May 2012, 16:24 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-85: After a R1o year legal battle, the City of Durban will still collect rates and taxes, failing which National Treasury will pay and what about Sharks?, will they still exist?
18 May 2012, 16:30 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-90: leave it chap..Dusky is a european citizen now – or praying to be, alles is honky dory in Norway.
18 May 2012, 16:31 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-87: the PFMA and the MFMA prescribe how Municipalities are protected from bankruptcy, fact, the City of Durban will not stop to exist whether you guys pay rates or taxes.
18 May 2012, 16:34 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-90: Wait – hang on – I think you have run out of big words…and its getting a bit difficult for you now. Maybe take a break.
After a R 10 year battle ? What is that ? R10 a year ? It will be more than that. I can assure you. Even though that is about the wage for a lawn mow – that’s not really a lot of money. I assume you mean after a 10 year battle.
You are living in a dream world buddy. The department of transport (or whoever controls what we call ‘roads’ in South Africa) already have hundreds of millions (might be billions by now) law suits that they cant take care of. The police have even more than that…..and the department of health even more than that. In fact – there is not a department or division of the government that does not currently have huge issues with court cases….
You think the government is going to sponsor City of Durban’s fight against the Sharks ?
18 May 2012, 16:36 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-92: I am hearing that song in my head ‘Dreeaaaammm weaver…..’
18 May 2012, 16:41 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-92: I wanted to sue the Joburg municipality for two rims on my car that got damaged in a pot hole. The second time I had to haul out my own ‘after tax’ cash to pay for their inability to keep the roads in a decent condition – something I already paid for in the 40% or so that is robbed from my pay cheque. It was a matter of principle.
I was told by my attorney, I would win but I would wait 10 years for my money. In that time they could issue warrants of execution, warrants of arrest etc. against the Mayor for non-payment…..nothing would happen…..
Eish….unlimited budget ?
18 May 2012, 16:42 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-94: it must be the echo in between your ears….
18 May 2012, 16:44 pm
there is no point arguing with someone who is completely convinced of his or her correctness.
it will make you both mad.
18 May 2012, 16:45 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-96: If I were the opposition parties in South Africa – I would withdraw from the elections. Imagine if you actually unseat the ANC ? All you will take over is law suits…..they have squandered everything else.
18 May 2012, 16:45 pm
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-97:
Too true actually.
18 May 2012, 16:50 pm
Off to Benmore Gardens to have my Lagas and a Montecristo Special with my corrupt tenderpreneurs, peace!!! Good Luck to the STORMERS!!!!!
18 May 2012, 16:54 pm
Its like reading the blogging version of dumb & dumber
18 May 2012, 16:58 pm
Comparing ticket prices for soccer finals to lion vs stormers rugby matches?
Someone has been drinking since early this morning. Ts ts ts
18 May 2012, 17:00 pm
I wonder who’s more racist Dusky or Xhosacunt?
18 May 2012, 17:05 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-46:
Nee Umfaantjie
this is who holds SA back and how we are perceived:
INEPTOCRACY
by David Hill
Much like inheriting a billion pounds only to die broke or forfeiting a three goal half time lead; ineptocracy is one’s failure to succeed from a position of strength.
A political example of ineptocracy would be South Africa’s ruling party the ANC; who after 18 years of leading one of the most fertile and resource rich countries in the world hasn’t developed any sustainable solutions to generating wealth for its people beyond affirmative action, land redistribution and the nationalization of assets.
After almost two decades of rule, the ANC’s sole solution to endowing its people is still to merely take wealth away from others. Surely this is their failure?
Consider that South Africa is the only country in the world whose affirmative action policy favours a majority who also happens to have complete political control. In the rest of the world affirmative action is designed to favour the politically un-represented minority, not the politically strong majority.
South Africa now appears to have a system of government whereby the ruling party is elected by the non- contributing majority, who in turn are then rewarded with subsidies, goods and services paid for from the earnings of the contributing minority.
The flaw with this system is that nowhere does there exist a plan, nor an incentive, for this impoverished majority to actually start contributing to the economy and hence they continue to demand more from their elected leaders who in turn continue to deflect the wealth generation burden onto the contributing minority.
Clearly this cycle of diminishing returns is not sustainable as eventually the expectation of the non-contributing majority will become too high and the burden on the contributing minority will become too great. In the end something has got to give as no economy can bear 20 million people supporting 50 million people.
To further illustrate just how poorly the ANC has done at generating wealth solutions for its people over the past 18 years, consider Germany and Japan who at the end of World War II were completely decimated by the Allied bombings and were thus economically distraught. Neither had any industry, agriculture nor natural resources to generate wealth from, yet within 20 years both countries had uplifted themselves to being highly employed, economic powerhouses. Clearly both these governments achieved vastly more for their people with significantly less over a similar period of time and without disadvantaging any demographic.
So the fact that after two decades of complete political control the ANC has failed to secure wealth generation systems for its people beyond affirmative action and nationalisation, well is that not the very definition of ineptocracy?
SOUTH AFRICA IS THE ONLY COUNTRY IN THE WORLD WHOSE AFFIRMATIVE ACTION POLICY FAVOURS A MAJORITY WHO ALSO HAPPENS TO HAVE COMPLETE POLITICAL CONTROL
13 February2012
© Times Newspapers Limited 2012 | Version 1.32.0.13 (49261)
Registered in England No. 894646 Registered office:3 Thomas More Square, London, E98 1XY
18 May 2012, 17:06 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-103: Dusky hands down. And Im surprized. I always thought he just liked a lekker fight at the mall, not all this drama.
18 May 2012, 18:01 pm
JZ Shake Spear
18 May 2012, 18:11 pm
@Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP)-104:
The author obviously forgot about the Marshal plan, and the fact that both German and Japanese economies had a highly skilled and educated workforce in place. There was never the problem of integrating 40 million people who had been excluded from from the economy, other than as underpaid, manual labour.
Whilst I agree the ANC has screwed up in many areas, they were stuck with a problem that the Nats had avoided for 40 years. Which was how to create enough wealth and growth to sustain and accomodate all the population.
18 May 2012, 18:19 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-105: Not the mall man….parking lot…get it right
I am no racist – just a realist.
18 May 2012, 18:23 pm
Well this thread has gone for a ball of kak at the speed of light.
18 May 2012, 18:26 pm
@David(David)-107: There is no solution for that in South Africa at this stage, but I can tell you that purposely excluding those most qualified to drive the economy in favor of an affirmative action candidate is completely counterproductive and is certainly not the answer to South Africa’s problems.
Trust me the ques at foreign embassy’s for residence/work permits has never been longer. Some of the people standing in those ques are highly qualified, earning specialty degrees that South Africa cannot afford to lose.
Unfortunately, those looking at things through the haze of the bushveld braaivleis smoke, the throat lump from singing the national anthem at a Bok test match or the beauty of Table Mountain are either completely blind, or skirting the long list of ways their rights as South Africans and also members of the global community are being robbed of them.
But hey – I am just a negative expat – who wants to hear from me right ?
18 May 2012, 18:27 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-109: Sorry – that’s my fault. I am though not going to keep quiet. So – sorry about that.
18 May 2012, 18:39 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-109: Hey dude – Sharks or Cheetahs ? Going to be a tough one ! I always get nervous for these Bloem games. Flippin Cheetahs are capable of beating anyone on the day if they are in the mood.
18 May 2012, 18:42 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-111:
There is a massive amount of xenophobia toward expats on this site. Let’s hope that rugby will bring us all together. Let’s celebrate the Springbok brand, no matter where we are.
18 May 2012, 18:42 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-111:
Haha, no worries, I find it entertaining even though I don’t comment on those issues.
18 May 2012, 18:53 pm
Here is a great piece to lighten the mood and remind us all what rugby and sport is all about – via Rugby365
In the midst of so much unpleasantness on and next to rugby fields where schoolboys are playing, it is worth reading a letter sent to his school’s community by Keith Richardson, the headmaster of Wynberg Boys’ High.
Of all Mankind’s great inventions, few have succeeded in capturing the imagination more that sport. Soon we are about to witness the greatest sporting pageant of all, the spectacular Summer Olympic games. Sport has a fascination for all of us. It has the power to inspire, to enthuse, to entertain.
It is ironic on the eve of the greatest sporting show on earth, that the local newspapers have been filled with the shenanigans on school rugby fields. Referees have been denigrated, player behaviour condemned and parental and coach over-reaction censured. The notion that ‘sport’ is a pleasurable pastime has been sidelined. The camaraderie, the fellowship of sport, triumph over adversity, the lessons of defeat, the hard work in accomplishing victory have been forgotten in the heat of recrimination.
Somehow in it all, we have forgotten that in the hierarchy of values of a school, sportsmanship must be ranked only marginally below scholarship. Adults, including coaches, parents and referees, should be unified in ensuring the time-honoured ethics of sport are maintained on our school sports fields – to play hard, but fairly; to accept defeat and smile when shaking the hand of an opponent; to be competitive but at the same time co-operative because, without your opponent, there is no game.
A few years back, a local journalist, disillusioned after a disappointing Stormers game wrote that from now on he would be only watching school rugby. ‘It has a youthful innocence,“ he said, “unsullied by cups, leagues and points.”
And he is correct. Schoolboy rugby teams tend to play with enthusiasm and passion and, when well-coached, with an absence of fear. Coaches of schoolboy rugby sides who release their players from negative and safety first tactics soon find their players revelling in the positive enjoyment of displaying their talent.
It is these coaches who have realised the true reason why we play sport at school. It is not played for the benefit or the glory of the school or the egos of the coaches, or the ambitions of the parents – it is played for the benefit of the players.
Whatever the level of the schoolboy player, we want him to learn the lessons of sport – because they are lessons of life. In the end, these lessons will develop confidence and self esteem in the player and he will learn, as a young sportsman, that bitterness and sweetness are opposite sides of the same coin.
As he advances through high school, the young sportsman soon realizes that the natural ability which carried him through Junior School is no longer enough. As the competition becomes keener, those players start coming to the fore who were lucky enough to learn the lessons early in their school lives that only commitment to hard work and the ability to fight back from disappointments, are the foundations for a successful sporting life.
Sometimes these lessons are learnt more effectively after losing a match or being dropped to a C or D team. Schoolboys do not easily learn messages from winning because they fail to examine their performance as they bask in the congratulatory glow of parents and friends.
On the other hand, losing really does say something about a young sportsman. His reaction to a loss is important. Does he blame others? Does he complain about bad luck? Does he analyze his failure? Does it increase his determination?
In the book, ‘The Hansie Cronje Story’ by Garth King, the author remarks that Hansie never lost a rugby game in his career at Grey College. One can only wonder what lessons Hansie missed because of that.
The role of parents in the development of any sportsman is vital. In my career as a sports coach and schoolmaster, I have seldom come across a truly successful schoolboy sportsman who was not well parented. Parental support, as opposed to parental pressure, invariably determines whether a young player will learn the proper lessons. Some time ago, I sent the following advice to parents:
• Support your son and attend the matches, whatever side he is in.
• Always be there for him, especially in the ‘down times’.
• By all means set the bar for him – but always praise his achievements especially when he has tried hard to reach this bar.
• Praise effort and commitment – much more than results.
• Never criticise the Coach as it will confuse the players. It not only divides loyalty, but offers and excuse. Don’t fall for the common South African sporting curse of blaming the coach or referee.
• Never over-emphasize winning as it will only lead to a fear of failure. One of the curses of schoolboy sport is an unbeaten season.
• Do not relive your own sporting career (or lack of it!) through your son. This leads to frustration and disappointment on both sides.
• Be a true sporting spectator. Let the referee handle the game and let your son make his own mistakes. He will learn more that way.
All parents want what is best for their sons – but then so does every coach and every school. If we expect our players to behave like sportsman on the field, then it is important for adults not to behave like children on the sidelines.
Some years ago in America, the authorities imposed a noise ban on parents and coaches in the Northern Ohio Girls Soccer league. Spectators were instructed to keep their cheers and criticism to themselves.
Some parents waved signs; others put duct tape over their mouths to stay quiet. Goals and saves were met by smiles and nods of approval from parents and coaches. This was an effort to put sport back into perspective after rowdy parents disrupted games and frustrated players. Presumably the point was made – but it was not reported whether these measures had a lasting impact!
There is no doubt that sport can play a pivotal role in education and it is our job as parents and teachers to help our children cope with the pressures of today’s highly competitive world.
As we marvel at the proficiency and expertise of the athletes at the upcoming Olympics, let us at the same time applaud the commitment which saw them reach the pinnacle of sporting success. Yet, somewhere in their past, I hope they too, had a coach like I had, who once said to me: “The next sixty minutes you are about to play will never be repeated. Make the most of every minute.”
KC RICHARDSON
HEADMASTER
WYNBERG
18 May 2012, 18:54 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-112:
Pre-game prediction has to be Sharks unless they fluff badly or Cheetahs play the game of their lives.
As far as predictions goes – has to be Sharks.
18 May 2012, 19:05 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-115:
Bravo Mr Richardson!
18 May 2012, 19:09 pm
I would put my head on the block that the ‘pre’ in the word “prediction” conclusively says that it is a call before the game(“pre-game”) takes place, not so? Does redundancy come to mind?
Rank bad language used then. Must be a cultural thing hence the utter butchering of the language on this site, daily.
18 May 2012, 19:14 pm
@Jinx2(Jinx2)-113: The only reason people hate hearing from the expats is because people hate hearing the truth. I am actually thinking of writing a book – called ‘The South African conundrum – A view from a distance’
It will probably be banned in South Africa (considering how quickly the South Africa Sucks website was shut down) – so, I will send you a copy of the manuscript
We have gotten so used to it, South Africans have become completely blind to what the situation in South Africa takes away from their lives. Forget the crime, forget the potholes, forget the poor service delivery, the corruption, the petrol price….forget all that…there is a MUCH bigger picture !
For example – Gareth Cliff preaches the gospel about being positive which is great – but Gareth Cliff doesn’t tell his listeners that since 2008 South Africa has lost more than 1000 specialist physicians. And of those 1000, several were internationally recognized as the best in their field. So – that expertise is lost to South Africa.
One day, when you need a neurosurgeon because your child has been in a motor car accident or your dad has had a serious stroke – how happy are you to know that the best in this field is actually South African, but unfortunately now lives in North Carolina – in the USA ? Sorry…..
Some of the farmers turning out the biggest food yields in our country have been ‘poached’ by eastern European countries to bring their expertise to their countries.
I know of South African electronic engineers that have worked for major telecommunications companies, developing novel technologies that could revolutionize communication – the axle of the drive toward a more global approach to business that have been purposely courted and acquired by companies in other countries.
It affects all South Africans – but shhhhhh….you dare not say anything. The attitude is ‘good riddance’ – a stupid attitude, as I say anesthetized by all the emotive stuff. Lets rather remember the sound of a crackling bushveld braaivleis – the taste of a Klippies and some freshly cut biltong….the rest doesn’t matter to us or our kids does it ?
18 May 2012, 19:16 pm
@Jokerstotheright(Mostofyou)-118: Geez, and I thought I was a pack of party balloons today !
18 May 2012, 19:18 pm
Fark, Kevin Pietersen can’t even score against a kak Windies attack.
Hope he can keep his place in the team till we reach their shores.
By the way, howzit ET…..
18 May 2012, 19:20 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-116: Yes – I would go with Sharks too. But these Cheetahs you know….and in Bloem there is no team they love to beat more than the Sharks…so be sure the Cheetahs will come with all guns blazing. But the Sharks have beaten better Cheetahs teams than this one.
18 May 2012, 19:21 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-121: England does seem to have reversed back up its own backside after the Ashes ? I really thought after watching those games that South Africa stood no chance. But its gone a bit pear shaped since then ? What’s up with them ? Not enough Pork Pies ?
18 May 2012, 19:23 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-121:
He is always up for a challenge- so you can be sure he will be at the top of his game when the Proteas arrive
18 May 2012, 19:24 pm
No thread for the WP/Griquas vodacom final?
Griquas up 7-0 and all over wp at the moment.
18 May 2012, 19:26 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-125: Can you update us please ?
18 May 2012, 19:26 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-123:
I still rate their team very highly and was surprised when they lost to Pakistan away.
The Proteas will do well to win the series in England.
18 May 2012, 19:27 pm
Griquas 10-0 after 15 min. Wp seems nervous- hope it’s not another choke.
18 May 2012, 19:27 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-127: I agree. Playing England at home will be tough.
18 May 2012, 19:29 pm
Poolman in the corner after good backline move – 5-10
18 May 2012, 19:30 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-124:
Rob, I love it when KP fails.
But I know his pure class and will step up to the plate when Steyn or Morkel is clocking 145 – 150.
18 May 2012, 19:30 pm
The Greek converted from corner 7-10
18 May 2012, 19:31 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-128: Griquas deserve a trophy. I hope they win this. Nothing to do with WP.
18 May 2012, 19:34 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-132: Did he stop and get a fish and chips first ? Did his dad set up a shop on the corner ?
18 May 2012, 19:35 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-132:
Evening Rob, there is a thread for this game on Rugby Talk!!
18 May 2012, 19:35 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-131:
He is an arrogant #%- but I sort of like him for some or other reason. Not when he plays against us though.Interesting to see that Vaugn rates their bowling attack as best in world and reckons the spin of Swann will be the difference between the 2 teams.
18 May 2012, 19:36 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-134:
Lol, he walked over after great hands by both centres
18 May 2012, 19:36 pm
Yep, we Brits are knocking his Saffa accent out of him and ruining his game too!!
For you a win/win situation!
18 May 2012, 19:38 pm
@carol(carol)-135:
Hi,
Rugby Talk? What is that?
Kudu’s to the bloke though.
18 May 2012, 19:38 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-119:
The people you’re offering as examples are experts in their fields and not threatened by BEE. Britain suffered from a similar brain drain to the US due to better salaries, as have numerous countries. The best brains will always be courted by the organisations with the money to attract them.
The reality is that SA is not a rich country, and never was. Unfortunately the lifestyle of most whites under apartheid led them to believe this was the land of milk and honey. Which it was for the minority who were isolated and enjoyed the benefit of a privileged and protected position.
18 May 2012, 19:40 pm
Miss….no halloumi for you tonight….
@Robzim(Robzim)-139:
Some Lil ole’ Blog that I like.
‘Kudu’s to the bloke’ Do you want to give him a gazelle or something?
Ohhhh Kudos, I get it now!!
Down the slippery slope we go.
Oh well. At least I have DSTV.
I can watch it while Rome burns.
18 May 2012, 19:42 pm
KPs weakness is against spin.
@carol(carol)-135:
The latest Sushi bar in Clifton has been removed btw.
Beach clean again.
Dammit…
18 May 2012, 19:43 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-115:
Supera Moras, baby….
18 May 2012, 19:44 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-143:
Oh no, is Italy going down like Spain?
Have I missed something?
18 May 2012, 19:44 pm
@carol(carol)-138:
Strauss, Trott, Pietersen, Prior, Kiesweter… all born in SA.
The ECB saves alot of money on accomodation when the English tour SA because half the team go straight home.
18 May 2012, 19:46 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-145:
Did they get the 50 tonnes of tuna off the wreck?
Or did they take the chopsticks on board and eat it raw!
18 May 2012, 19:46 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-149:
Was it in Bloem where Pietersen walked out to bat and the scoreboard said ‘welcome to South Africa, have a nice day’
18 May 2012, 19:47 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-147:
Hey Jock, howzit going?
Where are you now?
18 May 2012, 19:47 pm
Griq 10 WP 7 after 28 mins…
18 May 2012, 19:49 pm
13 – 7. Nice Boshoff.
18 May 2012, 19:49 pm
@carol(carol)-152:
Hi Carol. In Senegal now. Gotta fly now but catch up later
18 May 2012, 19:50 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-149:
Great those boys still appreciate their ‘real’ roots!
The lure of Mud Island and the mighty Pound!
18 May 2012, 19:50 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-155:
I hasten to add it’s dinner time and then off to the pub after. It’s an Aussie site so lots of beer to consume
Bye for now.
Hi D, bye D as well
18 May 2012, 19:51 pm
Griquas – 13. WP – 10
18 May 2012, 19:51 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-145:
Please concentrate, you are supposed to be doing commentary on this game and posting the scores!!
18 May 2012, 19:52 pm
@ 149 jeraldjay
Wasnt Jade Dernbach born here too?
@JockBok(JockBok)-155:
Enjoy.
“I feel like a Tui’s or two” remember that Aussie ‘strap line’?
Another time
Dusky has depressed me
No way out
18 May 2012, 19:53 pm
Carol @ 150
Hehehe- not sure but you can be sure they did not tag and release it.
18 May 2012, 19:54 pm
What happens in Senegal?
Time to Wikipedia!
Griquas leading 13-10 at halftime
Province in trouble here
My balcony awaits
Am gonna jump
18 May 2012, 19:55 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-162:
Not nice of Dusky to be so honest on a Friday….. Keo is a place of fantasy and escape!
18 May 2012, 19:56 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-151:
He scored a hundred that day.
Agree with the surprise at lack of VC final thread
Anyone know where ronnie cooke plays now? A talented griqua 13, once linked with a move to WP but left SA about 4-5 yrs ago
@Dawn(Dawn)-166:
What floor is your flat?
18 May 2012, 19:57 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-166:
You have a balcony…don’t jump, open a bottle of wine and enjoy the sunset!
18 May 2012, 19:57 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-170:
Outta here, catch you later.
18 May 2012, 19:58 pm
@carol(carol)-171:
I agree- balconies are not made for jumping
18 May 2012, 19:59 pm
Not a bad night to be watching rugby in the cold, big Bay area. Pretty chilly out there in the dark of the night.
By the way this is very unfair competition for the lowly Griquas Vodacom team.
Many of our Province players have much exposure to a higher quality game, even up to ‘Superugby’ level.
What has happened to “strength versus strength” rugby? Not fair at all.
Also unfair some Stellies school wins the bus? Surely Kimberley area needs it more.
18 May 2012, 20:00 pm
@Rage(Rage)-160:
Yes, forgot about him. He also represented England.
His great, great, grand mothers aunties friend was probably born in England.
18 May 2012, 20:06 pm
6th floor
Will it kill me?
18 May 2012, 20:07 pm
@Jokerstotheright(Mostofyou)-174:
About 70% of the Griquas team is also from Stellies and WP.
18 May 2012, 20:09 pm
Extraball is back
Now I’m really gonna jump
18 May 2012, 20:09 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-176:
You might survive but could be badly hurt and “booked off” from posting on keo for a long time. We do not want that to happen so rather don’t jump.
18 May 2012, 20:10 pm
Penalty by karlkakillis 13 each
18 May 2012, 20:11 pm
Only because the area’s population is mostly Afrikaans speaking and there is no university in their Cape regional area that takes their needs into consideration.
18 May 2012, 20:12 pm
Griquas over TMO
18 May 2012, 20:14 pm
Have the underdogs scored another try against the super team?
Try 18- 13 to kwas
They were camping on that line so deserve the try.
18 May 2012, 20:15 pm
Oom Bushy going ballistic- he must be about 120 years old by now, his knees seem farked.
18 May 2012, 20:16 pm
@118
I have a post-game prediction
18 May 2012, 20:16 pm
@Jokerstotheright(Mostofyou)-185:
Jip, they doing well- real “in your face” rugby
18 May 2012, 20:18 pm
What if I go head first?
18 May 2012, 20:19 pm
That will make sure the 10 years on the knees comes to an abrupt and timely end.
18 May 2012, 20:19 pm
Ag no man Griquas !
18 May 2012, 20:21 pm
Even this Griqua,s crowd is much bigger than at Ellis Park at S15 games.
18 May 2012, 20:21 pm
Ja extraball. Ja.
18 May 2012, 20:23 pm
@Jokerstotheright(Mostofyou)-190: Clowns to the left of me….
18 May 2012, 20:27 pm
Stuck in the middle we are
One in the USA other in Norway
18 May 2012, 20:28 pm
Good break by the Greek Kat.
18 May 2012, 20:28 pm
Several in keeweeland
18 May 2012, 20:30 pm
Province looking better now- should have scored
18 May 2012, 20:30 pm
Are some of the opinion that this lowly vodacom game is seen outside S.A.?
18 May 2012, 20:31 pm
Fark
18 May 2012, 20:33 pm
@Jokerstotheright(Mostofyou)-199: It certainly is. I am watching it.
18 May 2012, 20:33 pm
Flippin miss again….dammit !
18 May 2012, 20:36 pm
f
18 May 2012, 20:36 pm
Take heart. Most, as you said earlier, are from Stellies which is just down the road even for me. In fact I need to go into that area soon for some good grape juice.
The colour of the jersey means too much for too many. After all it is still blue even if peacock blue and the province is still Cape for lowly Kimberley..
18 May 2012, 20:37 pm
“Are some of the opinion that”!
How frightfully frightfully!
18 May 2012, 20:39 pm
Well good for you as I am sitting in front of my tv on a cold Bay night(5 C).
18 May 2012, 20:40 pm
Province throwing it away- 2 pathetic lineouts in a row
18 May 2012, 20:41 pm
I was going to say – that was a skew throw if I have ever seen one.
18 May 2012, 20:42 pm
Just about all over baby blue.
18 May 2012, 20:43 pm
Kick through this time son…
18 May 2012, 20:43 pm
Watsup Dusky can we all be friends
18 May 2012, 20:44 pm
Rudi Vogt looks like the Hulk
18 May 2012, 20:48 pm
Kom Griquas !
18 May 2012, 20:49 pm
Obstruction before the knock on – should be a Griquas penalty.
18 May 2012, 20:51 pm
The Kimberley boys actually own this tournament. So many cups already.
18 May 2012, 20:53 pm
Shame – I suppose WP would also like to have something in their trophy cabinet for once.
18 May 2012, 20:54 pm
Well done WP
18 May 2012, 20:55 pm
O vok
Now dusky gonna catch more snakes
@Dawn(Dawn)-212:
Glad to see you are still with us!
All hangs on that kick now and the Kat is good at this.
18 May 2012, 20:57 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-218: Ag nee wat – the outcome really not that important to me. I would have liked to see Griquas win it though.
Too cold to jump!
fARKIT, FIRST SILVERWARE FOR A wp SENIOR TEAM IN ABOUT 10 YEARS
18 May 2012, 20:58 pm
@carol(carol)-219:
I am over the moon !!!!
18 May 2012, 20:58 pm
The Vodacom guys are better than their seniors and win despite the Stormers denuding their ranks week after week and with injuries.
The real hoops do it again, as of old.
18 May 2012, 20:59 pm
Good.
There’s enough irritability on this site.
18 May 2012, 20:59 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-223:
Have just opened a bottle of SA SB, wish I had a balcony to sip it on!
18 May 2012, 21:00 pm
Besides it dark already
18 May 2012, 21:01 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-222:
You can’t do that as I have not met you yet!
Hec I have been to CT 3 times now, still have not even met Percy!
18 May 2012, 21:02 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-223:
” SENIOR ”
Surely a distortion? This is the lowly W.P. vodacom team in different jerseys, for sure. It is mainly an opportunity team for the “quotas”.
18 May 2012, 21:03 pm
And the Ikey, John Dobson, does it for them.
18 May 2012, 21:03 pm
@carol(carol)-227:
My second one here already – too cold for balcony in CT tonight.
What’s the weather like early Sept over there?
18 May 2012, 21:04 pm
@Jokerstotheright(Mostofyou)-230:
Oh great, a ‘quota’ discussion on a Friday night!!
Happy Days!!
18 May 2012, 21:05 pm
Is ‘Pisshier’ Sledge not already dead?
18 May 2012, 21:05 pm
Watup extraball
18 May 2012, 21:06 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-232:
September can be an ‘Indian Summer’, beautiful days followed by warm evenings.
It can be a bummer if it turns cold tho!
Planning a trip?
18 May 2012, 21:07 pm
@Jokerstotheright(Mostofyou)-230:
By senior i mean not “age group”.
John Dobson is the man for sure- he had a lot of bad luck at UCT and deserve this very much
18 May 2012, 21:07 pm
Right, off into the cold night to celebrate with a beer or two.
18 May 2012, 21:08 pm
Your insults are not thought out and rather meaningless.
18 May 2012, 21:10 pm
Teabreak over?
18 May 2012, 21:11 pm
@carol(carol)-236:
Must go to Bergin in Norway and as I will be in Europe i am contemplating…
What are you doing in Septemeber ?
18 May 2012, 21:12 pm
Only the Stormers and the full Currie Cup W.P. team when the nationals are not playing are “SENIOR” teams.
But enjoy the cup as I will now too, at the local. Ever been to a pub in Gordon’s Bay? Always a pleasant experience even now.
18 May 2012, 21:12 pm
You gotta visit dusky
18 May 2012, 21:14 pm
Yes well done wp great win. We needed this! Hopefully some of this championship feeling can rub off on the stormers. Some of these players will join the stormers squad. Kitshoff very emotional on his last game for wp.
18 May 2012, 21:15 pm
Mooi manne.
The WP boys never gave up. They gave it the kitchen sink in the last 10 minutes and came out trumps. Proud of you.
18 May 2012, 21:15 pm
@Jokerstotheright(Mostofyou)-238:
Cold night, it is probably only 2pm in Philly right now and anyway you like red wine not beer!!
18 May 2012, 21:17 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-241:
If you are in Europe you simply have to come to Great Britain, see the Olyimpic and Jubilee fallout!
Bring your bike!
18 May 2012, 21:18 pm
@Jokerstotheright(Mostofyou)-242:
GB is a cool place.I did many triathlons there and even spent a few days there while doing national service in the Navy. The wind can be a bummer though . Koellbay just around the cornerfrom GB also provides a good wave occasionally.
18 May 2012, 21:18 pm
Gordons Bay my eye
18 May 2012, 21:21 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-249:
I do like Gordons Gin
18 May 2012, 21:21 pm
Why not come to Walter’s Basin Pub to confirm how cold it is? Not many pubs in this area, probably not more than 6, if I leave that one too soon for you to confirm.
18 May 2012, 21:24 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-249: what about gordons bay
18 May 2012, 21:25 pm
@carol(carol)-247:
It will be too late for the olympics so I am thinking about going to the cotswolds instead- I heard it is very pretty there and that the place is good for some celebrity spotting
18 May 2012, 21:25 pm
@Jokerstotheright(Mostofyou)-251:
Not another one who does not use the ‘reply’ button!
Walters Basin, sounds like something out of the Wild West! Where is Walters Basin?
What beers are on tap there?
18 May 2012, 21:28 pm
248:
The wind is all over False Bay surely and never a deterring factor?
If you work at AECI what better place is there to live in than GB and that scenic ocean/bay?
The sea at Koel Baai and Koggels are always dangerous too. had the fright and fight for my life in those waters.
OK I am really off now to have that celebratory drink/s.
18 May 2012, 21:28 pm
@Sasuke
Extraball would have us believe he is in gordons bay
It’s a lie
18 May 2012, 21:29 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-253:
That would be great, I am the best guide for the Cotswolds.
Forget our ‘celebs’ and Royalty they are 10 a penny here, I prefer real people!
Can’t wait for tomorrow’s games. Bulls to narrowly lose.
254:
Read the posts if you want to participate accurately, G.Bay
18 May 2012, 21:32 pm
@Jokerstotheright(Mostofyou)-259:
If you want to ‘participate accurately’ use the farkin reply arrow numb skull!
Oooo! Snippy!
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-258:
Nahhh Bulls by 5…..
18 May 2012, 21:33 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-261:
Someone needs their red wine!
18 May 2012, 21:33 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-256: what’s happening there? Opening of a new spur?
18 May 2012, 21:34 pm
Carol it’s ET
Ignore
18 May 2012, 21:34 pm
@carol(carol)-257:
Great stuff! Seems like my lucky day- Its a deal then.
Who needs Shane, Liz and Jeremy after all, lol.
18 May 2012, 21:35 pm
When you are on your knees for more than 10 years you would not know your arse from your elbow but you may know about “extraball”s from that specific position.
GONE!
18 May 2012, 21:37 pm
@Jokerstotheright(Mostofyou)-255: my father use to work at aeci back in the day. Is kogel bay the venue of the latest shark killing?
18 May 2012, 21:40 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-265:
So once he pretended he could see Table Mountain and tonight he pretends to be in Gordons Gin, what is ET thnking?
That is why he did not know the beers they have on tap in his ‘local!!!
18 May 2012, 21:43 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-266:
Shane Warne is the only one from that trio I have not seen, how many points do I get for Liz Hurleys first husband the Indian bloke? I have seen him!!
18 May 2012, 21:45 pm
GONE!
18 May 2012, 21:47 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-268:
Yes, thats where the unfortunate attack took place.
Lots of controversy including people blaming the permits issued to the filmmakers/researchers.
Its bull of course as the fishing vessels do chumming on a daily basis.
18 May 2012, 21:49 pm
@carol(carol)-270:
I am not interested in her ex husband- i want to see her.
18 May 2012, 22:07 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-273:
Sadly Liz Hurley is no head turner in every day life, she even has a muddy Audi!
I wonder how Shane Warne will cope!
18 May 2012, 22:36 pm
this poor dusky dooby doodle dumpling doos
he’s already so f’ng homesick he only been in that perfect Norwegian Valhalla for a month and already his heart is palpitating with homesickness.. he cannot get enough of the dreaded disenfranchised disease from out his system even though he thinks he chucked it all up for a shot at the perfect apple pie in the Aurora lit sky
19 May 2012, 06:00 am
As a Kiwi living in Australia that follows the Blues I find the thought of no S15 side from Joberg extraordinary.
Like not having in the S15 from Auckland. Oh yes that’s right we do… The Blues …& what a joke they are. Perhaps we can have the Lions instead of the Blues.
19 May 2012, 07:56 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-115: Thanks for this… A great piece of wisdom from a very insightful Headmaster. Back to the future. Makes you think why Willy Webb Ellis picked up the ball in the first instance – to run with the ball with freedom and no fear. To enjoy the game.