Infighting could cost Lions

The Lions will be ‘automatically relegated’ if they do not resolve a long standing dispute with franchise partners the Pumas and Leopards.

This was decided by Saru at its last executive council meeting, according to an article in the The New Age.

Official documentation in possession of the newspaper says the Lions have until the end of this season to come to an agreement with their partners (the Golden Lions, Pumas and Leopards make up the Lions franchise), who this week confirmed that negotiations relating to the repayment of outstanding broadcasting fees have failed.

‘Our endeavours to resolve this matter out of court have been unsuccessful and we have been left with no choice but to arbitrate,’ Leopards president Andre May told The New Age.

According to the official documentation, until the matter is resolved:

a) Broadcast revenue payments are to be withheld from the Lions
b) Payments of R750,000 each be made to the Pumas and Leopards
c) Automatic relegation from Super Rugby at the end of 2012 Super Rugby competition for the Lions.

277 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All

• 1.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Thin pretext.

• 2.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

honestly,
    in its entirety i dont think any tretexts are needed or necessary.

there is a long history of shameful actions across the board at the lions. be it on the field or in the boardroom, management, admin, partnerships, sponsors…you name it…

• 3.Original-Pierre: Reply to this comment

Almost starting to feel sorry for the Lions.
    As if they didn`t have enough problems on the field . . .

• 4.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

They should do the honorable thing and just go

• 5.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

and quietly at that…

• 6.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

into the good night

• 7.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

John Mitchell regretting coaching the Lions??

• 8.Original-Pierre: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-7: Hmmm we`ve got a
    temporary job for Mitchell as Sharks backline coach if he`s interested . . .

• 9.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

In other news, Gumede’s Gijima is financially fcked now that e-tolling is kaput. Explains why they tried to squeeze the Lions.

• 10.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

are these the darkest times for a once powerful and proud test union????

How can you not have a joburg side in S15?????

Louis Luyt come back

• 11.RL: Reply to this comment

This weak cut and paste job first appeared in the press more than 4 months ago. Why is the midget spinning his little legs off?

• 12.Dwarslat: Reply to this comment

Was it not a former Lions CEO that went on to SARU and then created this Kings debacle?

• 13.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Don’t worry Gumede will find another tender katters.

Although it won’t be at Home Affairs after his abortive delivery on a 2 billion rand IT tender.

Lekker.

• 14.groen: Reply to this comment

Stacking the deck. How are the players suppose to focus on a game. !

• 15.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-13: It’s all nicely documented in this piece on the Daily Maverick today.

http://www2.dailymaverick.co.za/article/2012-05-18-analysis-gijimas-groundhog-years

• 16.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Maybe its time for the public protector to have a lookie loo at him.

• 17.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I have it on good authority that she’s been told to stay away from the feeding trough. The trough is a safe zone, like holy ground in Highlander.

• 18.ali: Reply to this comment

The amount of coaching reputations which this Lions franchise has totally destroyed is frightening:
    Frans Ludecke (current Champion coach, redeemed)
    Chester Williams (former Sevens wonder coach)
    **** Muir (former Sharks wonder coach)
    Tim Lane (formerly highly rated)
    John Mitchell (formerly highly rated)

Kind of makes you wonder what in the Lions system is really responsible.

• 19.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Thuli has enough on her hands at the moment, what with her scrap with the DA.

• 20.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-19: TBWA Hunt Lascaris tender should be scrapped :lol:

• 21.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

please just someone dont paint zille’s likeness with no pants on.

we have suffered enough manje.

• 22.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Zille beneath the frille? Have mercy.

• 23.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@ali(ali)-18:
    Frightning
    xcept Ludeke

• 24.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Don’t let this poisoned lot anywhere near my Cheetahs

• 25.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ali(ali)-18: how can you forget Loffie “drie jaar plan” Eloff?

• 26.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

genoeg om n man die rillings te gee.

• 27.Transformation: Reply to this comment

isn’t the New Age the ANC’s own newspaper? :razz:

• 28.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

the Lions must also take full responsibilty for Jorrie (wont pass if my life depended on it) Muller.

i’d relegate them just for that.

• 29.David: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-27:
    I must admit I’ve been pleasantly surprised by its lack of bias. Probably because Pahad is an Mbeki supporter. :lol:

• 30.Dusky: Reply to this comment

By any means necessary hey ?

When I was in Durban to watch the test vs. Australia last year, there was a big article in the Natal Mercury.

The Sharks had previously declined on discussions regarding them relocating to Joseph Mabida stadium (for those of you who don’t know – that’s the government constructed white elephant built across the road from Kings Park). I am sure the grass in that stadium is about hip high already. There is probably a squatter camp in there already.

So – what do the red faced, corrupt government do ? Pass new laws on stadium safety standards which they know the 120 year old Kings Park does not conform to. I cant remember the exact figure but if I recall correctly it was hundreds of millions that would be needed to upgrade Kings Park.

As far as I know – the Sharks told government they would move – for R 92 Million and they would fight the new laws passed in court for 5 to 10 years. I haven’t heard anything further so I assume the ‘cleva’ government backed off.

So – Lions – stand up for yourself ! But sort out this kak with the Pumas and Leopards man ! These tsotsi’s are going to use this nonsense as a reason to get rid of you.

• 31.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-30: MOSES mabhida dusky, MOSES!!!

poor dusky :cry:

• 32.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Actually this is happening at the right time for the Lions.

The whole skabanga ANC are writhing around trying to slime their way out of this eToll corruption debacle. Zuma has been taking frequent toilet breaks for nervous stomach for the last week after SAAB was re-linked with eToll (eish man Zuma – it just dont go away ne….). He knows as soon as he isn’t president any more – he will be taking over Shabir’s prison cell.

Malema owes the tax man R 15 Million, and has to figure out how he is going to pay this without exposing the fact that he doesn’t earn R 30 000 a month. Pssstt……dooskop….we knew you were lying all along…..

There are a bunch of other ‘cover ups’ underway at the moment so this whole thing will get sparse political attention. Its a good opportunity for the Lions to fight and win this thing.

• 33.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-30: Orlando Pirates & Golden Arrows are playing their last fixtures of the PSL season at MMS, if Pirates wins they retain their league title. ‘

so much for your “squatter camp” :D

R1 billion for Chief & Pirates

WHAT IS believed to be the biggest sponsorship in South African sports history was announced yesterday.

Vodacom will give Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates “plus-minus R1-billion” over the next five years, according to Pirates chairman Irvin Khoza.

The money will be split evenly, with each club getting about R100-million a year.

The new deal would dwarf even that between Absa and Castle for Bafana Bafana, which was made five years ago.

The beer company and the bank jointly gave the SA Football Association R500-million (R250-million from each company) which is up for renewal this year.

Yesterday’s announcement was the renewal of a previous sponsorship agreement between the company and the two football clubs, which began 13 years ago.

The two clubs and the sponsor also jointly stage the Vodacom Challenge, an annual tournament to which an English Premier League team is usually invited.

Khoza said they wanted to invite top teams from Africa to the tournament again.

• 34.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-31: Ah…could just as well have been Sipho Sithole as far as I care.

• 35.ali: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-23: He had to achieve a helluva lot at the bulls for to get his reputation back!
    @Transformation(Transformation)-25: As an age group coach, I reckon Loffie was more of a development coach. Arguably, he didn’t have much of a reputation before his lions stint (as opposed to, say, the international coaches who’ve fell in this occupational quagmire)

• 36.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-33: I could care less about our banana republic soccer either. Do Chiefs and Pirates play at Daniel Sibanda stadium ?

• 37.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-33: R 500 Million per club ? That’s around GBP 38 Million. They could get Lionel Messi for one year ! WOW ! Amazing…..impressive…..what can I say ?

• 38.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ali(ali)-35: a “development coach” allowed to faf around for that long with a super rugby franchise? :shock:

• 39.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-37: which rugby franchise do you know that commands that kind of money?

• 40.Slappes: Reply to this comment

So why are the pk lions fighting relegation again? Bankrupt, no name players, k@k management and 15 wins in 10yrs. Wtf… Woza Kings!

• 41.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@ali(ali)-35:
    I don’t know much about Ludeke before his Lions stint
    I do know HM rates him and they are good friends (talking allot apparently)
    He is a good coach, but most people will credit HM for his structures
    IMOI

• 42.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-30: Moses Mabhida!!!!, Moses Mabhida, where the PSL Final game between Golden Arrows and Pirates will be played and the stadium is sold out!!!!!!, SOLD OUT!!!!,

• 43.ali: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-38: I’m trying to phrase his inadequacy in a nice way.

Although looking at his successors, its become patently obvious that Loffie had no chance in hell.Even Mitchell seems to be replicating his 3 year plan!

• 44.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-39: What’s the point ? That soccer makes more money than rugby ? Are you brain injured ? Did your Norwegian friends try to drown you and now you suffer from cerebral suffocation ?

I am flippin glad if the government finds a use for Piet Dhlamini stadium – even if it is the occasional ‘pity’ soccer game or celebrating indians in South Africa for 100 years concert….good for them – and they can shove their R 500 Million as far up their corrupt backsides as the sharp end of a broomstick will allow. I am also pleased that soccer wont be played at Kings Park any more. I recall all the trouble with stadium damage, littering etc.

Sharks don’t want it. Take the James Tshabalala stadium and keep it !

• 45.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-42: For what ? R 20 a ticket ?

• 46.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-34: You are the slime that is holding South Africa from the shackles of the past, I hope you die a painful death very soon.

• 47.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-42: Wow… One event a year deal… they may be able to pay their electricity bill for January…

• 48.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-45: When was the last time the Sharks filled up Kings Park

• 49.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-48: Ja – the tickets are a bit more than ’20 rant’ though…

• 50.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-44: for someone who hates SA you are still to concerned about, move on Dusky!

do they play rugby in Norway? :D

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.