Infighting could cost Lions

The Lions will be ‘automatically relegated’ if they do not resolve a long standing dispute with franchise partners the Pumas and Leopards.

This was decided by Saru at its last executive council meeting, according to an article in the The New Age.

Official documentation in possession of the newspaper says the Lions have until the end of this season to come to an agreement with their partners (the Golden Lions, Pumas and Leopards make up the Lions franchise), who this week confirmed that negotiations relating to the repayment of outstanding broadcasting fees have failed.

‘Our endeavours to resolve this matter out of court have been unsuccessful and we have been left with no choice but to arbitrate,’ Leopards president Andre May told The New Age.

According to the official documentation, until the matter is resolved:

a) Broadcast revenue payments are to be withheld from the Lions
b) Payments of R750,000 each be made to the Pumas and Leopards
c) Automatic relegation from Super Rugby at the end of 2012 Super Rugby competition for the Lions.

277 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All

• 101.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Its like reading the blogging version of dumb & dumber ;-)

• 102.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Comparing ticket prices for soccer finals to lion vs stormers rugby matches?

Someone has been drinking since early this morning. Ts ts ts ;-)

• 103.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

I wonder who’s more racist Dusky or Xhosacunt?

• 104.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-46:

Nee Umfaantjie

this is who holds SA back and how we are perceived:

INEPTOCRACY
    by David Hill
    Much like inheriting a billion pounds only to die broke or forfeiting a three goal half time lead; ineptocracy is one’s failure to succeed from a position of strength.
    A political example of ineptocracy would be South Africa’s ruling party the ANC; who after 18 years of leading one of the most fertile and resource rich countries in the world hasn’t developed any sustainable solutions to generating wealth for its people beyond affirmative action, land redistribution and the nationalization of assets.
    After almost two decades of rule, the ANC’s sole solution to endowing its people is still to merely take wealth away from others. Surely this is their failure?
    Consider that South Africa is the only country in the world whose affirmative action policy favours a majority who also happens to have complete political control. In the rest of the world affirmative action is designed to favour the politically un-represented minority, not the politically strong majority.
    South Africa now appears to have a system of government whereby the ruling party is elected by the non- contributing majority, who in turn are then rewarded with subsidies, goods and services paid for from the earnings of the contributing minority.
    The flaw with this system is that nowhere does there exist a plan, nor an incentive, for this impoverished majority to actually start contributing to the economy and hence they continue to demand more from their elected leaders who in turn continue to deflect the wealth generation burden onto the contributing minority.
    Clearly this cycle of diminishing returns is not sustainable as eventually the expectation of the non-contributing majority will become too high and the burden on the contributing minority will become too great. In the end something has got to give as no economy can bear 20 million people supporting 50 million people.
    To further illustrate just how poorly the ANC has done at generating wealth solutions for its people over the past 18 years, consider Germany and Japan who at the end of World War II were completely decimated by the Allied bombings and were thus economically distraught. Neither had any industry, agriculture nor natural resources to generate wealth from, yet within 20 years both countries had uplifted themselves to being highly employed, economic powerhouses. Clearly both these governments achieved vastly more for their people with significantly less over a similar period of time and without disadvantaging any demographic.
    So the fact that after two decades of complete political control the ANC has failed to secure wealth generation systems for its people beyond affirmative action and nationalisation, well is that not the very definition of ineptocracy?
    SOUTH AFRICA IS THE ONLY COUNTRY IN THE WORLD WHOSE AFFIRMATIVE ACTION POLICY FAVOURS A MAJORITY WHO ALSO HAPPENS TO HAVE COMPLETE POLITICAL CONTROL
    13 February2012
    © Times Newspapers Limited 2012 | Version 1.32.0.13 (49261)
    Registered in England No. 894646 Registered office:3 Thomas More Square, London, E98 1XY

• 105.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-103: Dusky hands down. And Im surprized. I always thought he just liked a lekker fight at the mall, not all this drama.

• 106.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

JZ Shake Spear

• 107.David: Reply to this comment

@Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP)-104:
    The author obviously forgot about the Marshal plan, and the fact that both German and Japanese economies had a highly skilled and educated workforce in place. There was never the problem of integrating 40 million people who had been excluded from from the economy, other than as underpaid, manual labour.
    Whilst I agree the ANC has screwed up in many areas, they were stuck with a problem that the Nats had avoided for 40 years. Which was how to create enough wealth and growth to sustain and accomodate all the population.

• 108.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-105: Not the mall man….parking lot…get it right :-) I am no racist – just a realist.

• 109.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Well this thread has gone for a ball of kak at the speed of light.

• 110.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-107: There is no solution for that in South Africa at this stage, but I can tell you that purposely excluding those most qualified to drive the economy in favor of an affirmative action candidate is completely counterproductive and is certainly not the answer to South Africa’s problems.

Trust me the ques at foreign embassy’s for residence/work permits has never been longer. Some of the people standing in those ques are highly qualified, earning specialty degrees that South Africa cannot afford to lose.

Unfortunately, those looking at things through the haze of the bushveld braaivleis smoke, the throat lump from singing the national anthem at a Bok test match or the beauty of Table Mountain are either completely blind, or skirting the long list of ways their rights as South Africans and also members of the global community are being robbed of them.

But hey – I am just a negative expat – who wants to hear from me right ?

• 111.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-109: Sorry – that’s my fault. I am though not going to keep quiet. So – sorry about that.

• 112.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-109: Hey dude – Sharks or Cheetahs ? Going to be a tough one ! I always get nervous for these Bloem games. Flippin Cheetahs are capable of beating anyone on the day if they are in the mood.

• 113.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-111:

There is a massive amount of xenophobia toward expats on this site. Let’s hope that rugby will bring us all together. Let’s celebrate the Springbok brand, no matter where we are.

• 114.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-111:

Haha, no worries, I find it entertaining even though I don’t comment on those issues.

• 115.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Here is a great piece to lighten the mood and remind us all what rugby and sport is all about – via Rugby365

In the midst of so much unpleasantness on and next to rugby fields where schoolboys are playing, it is worth reading a letter sent to his school’s community by Keith Richardson, the headmaster of Wynberg Boys’ High.

Of all Mankind’s great inventions, few have succeeded in capturing the imagination more that sport. Soon we are about to witness the greatest sporting pageant of all, the spectacular Summer Olympic games. Sport has a fascination for all of us. It has the power to inspire, to enthuse, to entertain.

It is ironic on the eve of the greatest sporting show on earth, that the local newspapers have been filled with the shenanigans on school rugby fields. Referees have been denigrated, player behaviour condemned and parental and coach over-reaction censured. The notion that ‘sport’ is a pleasurable pastime has been sidelined. The camaraderie, the fellowship of sport, triumph over adversity, the lessons of defeat, the hard work in accomplishing victory have been forgotten in the heat of recrimination.

Somehow in it all, we have forgotten that in the hierarchy of values of a school, sportsmanship must be ranked only marginally below scholarship. Adults, including coaches, parents and referees, should be unified in ensuring the time-honoured ethics of sport are maintained on our school sports fields – to play hard, but fairly; to accept defeat and smile when shaking the hand of an opponent; to be competitive but at the same time co-operative because, without your opponent, there is no game.

A few years back, a local journalist, disillusioned after a disappointing Stormers game wrote that from now on he would be only watching school rugby. ‘It has a youthful innocence,“ he said, “unsullied by cups, leagues and points.”

And he is correct. Schoolboy rugby teams tend to play with enthusiasm and passion and, when well-coached, with an absence of fear. Coaches of schoolboy rugby sides who release their players from negative and safety first tactics soon find their players revelling in the positive enjoyment of displaying their talent.

It is these coaches who have realised the true reason why we play sport at school. It is not played for the benefit or the glory of the school or the egos of the coaches, or the ambitions of the parents – it is played for the benefit of the players.

Whatever the level of the schoolboy player, we want him to learn the lessons of sport – because they are lessons of life. In the end, these lessons will develop confidence and self esteem in the player and he will learn, as a young sportsman, that bitterness and sweetness are opposite sides of the same coin.

As he advances through high school, the young sportsman soon realizes that the natural ability which carried him through Junior School is no longer enough. As the competition becomes keener, those players start coming to the fore who were lucky enough to learn the lessons early in their school lives that only commitment to hard work and the ability to fight back from disappointments, are the foundations for a successful sporting life.

Sometimes these lessons are learnt more effectively after losing a match or being dropped to a C or D team. Schoolboys do not easily learn messages from winning because they fail to examine their performance as they bask in the congratulatory glow of parents and friends.

On the other hand, losing really does say something about a young sportsman. His reaction to a loss is important. Does he blame others? Does he complain about bad luck? Does he analyze his failure? Does it increase his determination?

In the book, ‘The Hansie Cronje Story’ by Garth King, the author remarks that Hansie never lost a rugby game in his career at Grey College. One can only wonder what lessons Hansie missed because of that.

The role of parents in the development of any sportsman is vital. In my career as a sports coach and schoolmaster, I have seldom come across a truly successful schoolboy sportsman who was not well parented. Parental support, as opposed to parental pressure, invariably determines whether a young player will learn the proper lessons. Some time ago, I sent the following advice to parents:

• Support your son and attend the matches, whatever side he is in.

• Always be there for him, especially in the ‘down times’.

• By all means set the bar for him – but always praise his achievements especially when he has tried hard to reach this bar.

• Praise effort and commitment – much more than results.

• Never criticise the Coach as it will confuse the players. It not only divides loyalty, but offers and excuse. Don’t fall for the common South African sporting curse of blaming the coach or referee.

• Never over-emphasize winning as it will only lead to a fear of failure. One of the curses of schoolboy sport is an unbeaten season.

• Do not relive your own sporting career (or lack of it!) through your son. This leads to frustration and disappointment on both sides.

• Be a true sporting spectator. Let the referee handle the game and let your son make his own mistakes. He will learn more that way.

All parents want what is best for their sons – but then so does every coach and every school. If we expect our players to behave like sportsman on the field, then it is important for adults not to behave like children on the sidelines.

Some years ago in America, the authorities imposed a noise ban on parents and coaches in the Northern Ohio Girls Soccer league. Spectators were instructed to keep their cheers and criticism to themselves.

Some parents waved signs; others put duct tape over their mouths to stay quiet. Goals and saves were met by smiles and nods of approval from parents and coaches. This was an effort to put sport back into perspective after rowdy parents disrupted games and frustrated players. Presumably the point was made – but it was not reported whether these measures had a lasting impact!

There is no doubt that sport can play a pivotal role in education and it is our job as parents and teachers to help our children cope with the pressures of today’s highly competitive world.

As we marvel at the proficiency and expertise of the athletes at the upcoming Olympics, let us at the same time applaud the commitment which saw them reach the pinnacle of sporting success. Yet, somewhere in their past, I hope they too, had a coach like I had, who once said to me: “The next sixty minutes you are about to play will never be repeated. Make the most of every minute.”

KC RICHARDSON
    HEADMASTER
    WYNBERG

• 116.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-112:

Pre-game prediction has to be Sharks unless they fluff badly or Cheetahs play the game of their lives.

As far as predictions goes – has to be Sharks.

• 117.carol: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-115:

Bravo Mr Richardson! :-)

• 118.Jokerstotheright: Reply to this comment

I would put my head on the block that the ‘pre’ in the word “prediction” conclusively says that it is a call before the game(“pre-game”) takes place, not so? Does redundancy come to mind?

Rank bad language used then. Must be a cultural thing hence the utter butchering of the language on this site, daily.

• 119.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2(Jinx2)-113: The only reason people hate hearing from the expats is because people hate hearing the truth. I am actually thinking of writing a book – called ‘The South African conundrum – A view from a distance’

It will probably be banned in South Africa (considering how quickly the South Africa Sucks website was shut down) – so, I will send you a copy of the manuscript :-)

We have gotten so used to it, South Africans have become completely blind to what the situation in South Africa takes away from their lives. Forget the crime, forget the potholes, forget the poor service delivery, the corruption, the petrol price….forget all that…there is a MUCH bigger picture !

For example – Gareth Cliff preaches the gospel about being positive which is great – but Gareth Cliff doesn’t tell his listeners that since 2008 South Africa has lost more than 1000 specialist physicians. And of those 1000, several were internationally recognized as the best in their field. So – that expertise is lost to South Africa.

One day, when you need a neurosurgeon because your child has been in a motor car accident or your dad has had a serious stroke – how happy are you to know that the best in this field is actually South African, but unfortunately now lives in North Carolina – in the USA ? Sorry…..

Some of the farmers turning out the biggest food yields in our country have been ‘poached’ by eastern European countries to bring their expertise to their countries.

I know of South African electronic engineers that have worked for major telecommunications companies, developing novel technologies that could revolutionize communication – the axle of the drive toward a more global approach to business that have been purposely courted and acquired by companies in other countries.

It affects all South Africans – but shhhhhh….you dare not say anything. The attitude is ‘good riddance’ – a stupid attitude, as I say anesthetized by all the emotive stuff. Lets rather remember the sound of a crackling bushveld braaivleis – the taste of a Klippies and some freshly cut biltong….the rest doesn’t matter to us or our kids does it ?

• 120.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Jokerstotheright(Mostofyou)-118: Geez, and I thought I was a pack of party balloons today ! :-)

• 121.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Fark, Kevin Pietersen can’t even score against a kak Windies attack.
    Hope he can keep his place in the team till we reach their shores.

By the way, howzit ET…..

• 122.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-116: Yes – I would go with Sharks too. But these Cheetahs you know….and in Bloem there is no team they love to beat more than the Sharks…so be sure the Cheetahs will come with all guns blazing. But the Sharks have beaten better Cheetahs teams than this one.

• 123.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-121: England does seem to have reversed back up its own backside after the Ashes ? I really thought after watching those games that South Africa stood no chance. But its gone a bit pear shaped since then ? What’s up with them ? Not enough Pork Pies ?

• 124.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-121:

He is always up for a challenge- so you can be sure he will be at the top of his game when the Proteas arrive

• 125.Robzim: Reply to this comment

No thread for the WP/Griquas vodacom final?

Griquas up 7-0 and all over wp at the moment.

• 126.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-125: Can you update us please ?

• 127.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-123:
    I still rate their team very highly and was surprised when they lost to Pakistan away.

The Proteas will do well to win the series in England.

• 128.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Griquas 10-0 after 15 min. Wp seems nervous- hope it’s not another choke.

• 129.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-127: I agree. Playing England at home will be tough.

• 130.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Poolman in the corner after good backline move – 5-10

• 131.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-124:
    Rob, I love it when KP fails.

But I know his pure class and will step up to the plate when Steyn or Morkel is clocking 145 – 150.

• 132.Robzim: Reply to this comment

The Greek converted from corner 7-10

• 133.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-128: Griquas deserve a trophy. I hope they win this. Nothing to do with WP.

• 134.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-132: Did he stop and get a fish and chips first ? Did his dad set up a shop on the corner ?

• 135.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-132:

Evening Rob, there is a thread for this game on Rugby Talk!! ;-)

• 136.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-131:

He is an arrogant #%- but I sort of like him for some or other reason. Not when he plays against us though.Interesting to see that Vaugn rates their bowling attack as best in world and reckons the spin of Swann will be the difference between the 2 teams.

• 137.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-134:

Lol, he walked over after great hands by both centres

• 138.carol: Reply to this comment

Yep, we Brits are knocking his Saffa accent out of him and ruining his game too!!

For you a win/win situation! :-)

• 139.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-135:

Hi,

Rugby Talk? What is that? :)

Kudu’s to the bloke though.

• 140.David: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-119:
    The people you’re offering as examples are experts in their fields and not threatened by BEE. Britain suffered from a similar brain drain to the US due to better salaries, as have numerous countries. The best brains will always be courted by the organisations with the money to attract them.
    The reality is that SA is not a rich country, and never was. Unfortunately the lifestyle of most whites under apartheid led them to believe this was the land of milk and honey. Which it was for the minority who were isolated and enjoyed the benefit of a privileged and protected position.

• 141.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Miss….no halloumi for you tonight….

• 142.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-139:

Some Lil ole’ Blog that I like.

‘Kudu’s to the bloke’ Do you want to give him a gazelle or something?

Ohhhh Kudos, I get it now!! ;-)

• 143.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Down the slippery slope we go.

Oh well. At least I have DSTV.

I can watch it while Rome burns.

• 144.David: Reply to this comment

KPs weakness is against spin.

• 145.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-135:

The latest Sushi bar in Clifton has been removed btw.
    Beach clean again.

• 146.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Dammit…

• 147.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-115:

Supera Moras, baby….

• 148.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-143:

Oh no, is Italy going down like Spain?

Have I missed something?

• 149.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-138:
    Strauss, Trott, Pietersen, Prior, Kiesweter… all born in SA.

The ECB saves alot of money on accomodation when the English tour SA because half the team go straight home.

• 150.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-145:
    Did they get the 50 tonnes of tuna off the wreck?
    Or did they take the chopsticks on board and eat it raw!

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.