Leinster power to Euro Cup glory

Leinster cliched back-to-back European Cup titles after a 42-14 win over Ulster at Twickenham on Saturday.

The two Pro12 teams faced off in the tournament final to compete for the northern hemisphere’s most prestigous prize. Leinster were favourites as defending champions, but Ulster, who rested their first-choice players in the last round of their domestic campaign, showed great form late in the season and carried that strong momentum into the title decider.

Leinster grabbed a 14-6 half-time lead as they scored two converted tries via flank Sean O’Brien and loosehead prop Cian Healy. Flyhalf Jonny Sexton slotted the extras. Ulster trailed by eight points as scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar kicked two penalties.

However, Ulster were dominated in the second half as the Leinster juggernaut surged to victory by scoring three more tries. There was a penalty try awarded, while reserve front rowers Heinke van der Merwe and Sean Cronin crossed the chalk in the dying moments. Sexton (three penalties and one conversion) and wing Fergus McFadden (one conversion) added 13 points via the boot.

Ulster only managed a consolation try via lock Dan Tuohy. Fullback Stefan Terblance also received a late yellow card for a dangerous tackle on Cronin.