Reds rock embattled Lions

RYAN VREDE watch the Lions slump to yet another defeat, going down 34-20 against the Reds in Brisbane.

The week has been testing for the Lions and it ended in the worst possible fashion. A meeting between the domestic unions failed to resolve the issue of the how a sixth franchise will be accommodated in 2013, the Cheetahs indicated that they are not open to a merger and the details emerged of a R1.5 million debt to the Pumas and Leopards that, if left unsettled, will result in automatic relegation from Super Rugby.

Some say the Lions are playing for pride. That couldn’t be further from the truth. They’re playing for their Super Rugby future. And for 20 minutes they played with the desperation, intensity and intelligence that was befitting for men in their position.

Keeping the ball close they found some purchase in punching up around the fringes or when they set up pods of forwards and played through phases. They denied the Reds possession and made them look ordinary and beatable in the process, opening a 6-0 lead through the boot of Elton Janjties.

But the optimism that period elicited was relatively short-lived, the Reds completely dominating possession and territory in a devastating 50 minute spell thereafter. They scored through Liam Gill after depleting the Lions’ defensive line through a multi-phase attack. Mike Harris converted and added two penalties for a comfortable lead. They should have been further ahead at half-time (13-6), Harris spilling a ball with the line at his mercy and the ball being held up in the goal area just before the break.

The Reds replaced Quade Cooper – who had a relatively quiet return to action – at the break, but their primary threat was up front, with their powerful, patient and organised phase play. The Lions lost Franco van der Merwe for cynically halting one such rumble two minutes into the second half and the Reds capitalised immediately, Saia Faingaa powering over from close range and Harris banking the extras.

Five minutes later former schoolboy sensation Chris F’sautia started and finished a move that had the Lions chasing shadows, and when Jantjies and Jaco Taute conspired to butcher the simplest of tries by getting in each other’s way the writing was on the wall.

Under pressure the Lions reverted to the ugly and inefficient expansive approach that had accounted for their lowly log position. The Reds relish such brainless tactics and duly punished them after a runner was isolated, with the ball shifted wide to Will Genia who exploited an unset defensive line and sprinted 50m to score.

The Reds made a string of changes that affected their synergy, and, as they had in previous matches, the Lions profited from this, giving their long-suffering supporters an opportunity to speak of a brave effort. But they are fooling themselves. This is not a side fit for Super Rugby and unless the South African Rugby Union can convince the Cheetahs to alter their stance on a merger the Lions will watch this tournament from the comfort of their couches in 2013.

Follow Ryan on Twitter

188 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

• 51.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

going well puma
    going down to the dam again soon

• 52.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-47: Pietman says when he is in the Cape next week he will look you up. Told him to get your number from gbs.

• 53.4moreyears: Reply to this comment

Wow the Aussies have some phenomanal fetchers in their game,reckon the junior Boks are going to get pumped by there Aus and kiwi counterparts,Liam Gill named captain for Aus under 20.

For me the big problem with SA rugby is firstly they do not turn over enough ball not enough quality fetchers in the country.secondly they have no clue how to unload in the tackle and thirdly the support is never quick enough ie loose ball always goes to the opposition or never there to support the break.

• 54.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-51: Great the weather here is brilliant. Well it had been until today. Overcast today but the last 4 weeks just clear blue sky. You should get the good weather when you go to the Dam. Think this cold front is coming from the Berg, they had snow there a few days back.

• 55.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

puma you must give me your email addie,want to mail you a pic of sunset at the dam

• 56.viewer: Reply to this comment

Yellow
    Maul
    Try

• 57.cane: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-51:

tie a mill stone round your neck and throw yourself in.

• 58.4moreyears: Reply to this comment

Flood gates about to open horror wkend coming up for sa teams.

• 59.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

my dad’s ashes is scattered in the dam

• 60.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Genia coming into excellent form,controlling play as the best halfback in the comp Is beginning to show his running game, very dangerous.

• 61.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Like taking candy from a kid.

It’s becoming an expensive sinbinning.

• 62.Hoops: Reply to this comment

Lets tslk rugby people. This sorry lions circus needs to drop out!! Give me the king over this drivel!!! At leadt some fans would go to the pe games. Sad that they are cc??????!!!!!

• 63.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

sure try butchered by the lions

• 64.theOracle: Reply to this comment

Taute makes a lot of running meters but the worst hands of all the backs in SR

• 65.viewer: Reply to this comment

Genia!

• 66.IAAS: Reply to this comment

uh-ho. This is getting ugly.

• 67.theOracle: Reply to this comment

“has the worst hands”

• 68.rangerman: Reply to this comment

try lions well done!

@RL(RL)-34: good to see you red pu s s y. is joeys cold today?

• 69.viewer: Reply to this comment

Reds 50 perhaps

• 70.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

ranger
    het jy al eland ge eet?
    ek het vandag eland sosaties gekoop
    nog. nooit ge eet nie.

• 71.viewer: Reply to this comment

Skull onto knee

• 72.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-57:

• 73.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

howzit hurricane my brother
    whats up cuzzy?

• 74.4moreyears: Reply to this comment

The creativity shown by the Aussie teams compared to the SA teams is staggering.There are simply no more set moves in SA rugby anymore quite frankly I am stunned SA teams even compete in rugby anymore,Its like death by a thousand cuts watching this Lions outfit.

Perhaps the kings coming in can be the broom that sweeps the floor clean they are not tainted by history and can build a culture from afresh and build their own brand of rugby(hopefully based on skill and creativity) I mean honestly can they really be as bad as this lot.

• 75.viewer: Reply to this comment

Genia’s the best centre on the field :-)

• 76.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-73:
    I hear there are some pics of the dam going around.

• 77.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

stop fishing hurricane

• 78.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-77:
    nope serious.
    I saw you saying something to Puma

• 79.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

i said to puma if he gives me his email addy i will mail him a sunset pic from the dam.

• 80.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Geez – from being very good, Elton Jantjes has really fallen apart. I know a flyhalf struggles behind struggling forwards, but Jantjes makes the most basic mistakes – forward passes, passes aren’t accurate….very weak…

• 81.viewer: Reply to this comment

So much sideways running

• 82.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Kak option Jantjes….again …..

• 83.viewer: Reply to this comment

Butter fingers here

• 84.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Shame – did Tiaan Meyer also fall for the ‘Butch James on the red carpet’ propaganda ? Eish Tiaan…..swak besluit seun…..

• 85.Dusky: Reply to this comment

I dont think its fair to ask the Cheetahs to merge with these guys. The Cheetahs at least look like they want to play rugby – and they actually play good rugby.

• 86.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Well all of a sudden i have huge respect for this Lions team.
    They throw everything into it. May not be a great team but even still they have some really good periods where they are damn impressive.
    Reds were always going to win but really looking at it, this should hacve been a blow out in the scoreline. I think Lions have done well with what they have.

• 87.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-70: eland is verskrikklik lekker fern.

die vet content van ‘n eland is hoeer as ander wildsvleis en dit bedoel dit raak nie so vinnig droeg as ander wildsvleis maar wees versigstig steeds want dis nie lamb nie.

kamana ya k no b lol.

• 88.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Idiots !

• 89.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Great run by CJ.

• 90.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-86:
    And they have Mitchell as a coach, there is one of the problems

• 91.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-86: What ? Did someone pay you to say that ?

• 92.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Aussie commentators dumbfounded by ref’s refusal to award CJ a try.

• 93.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Lions robbed there…

• 94.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

dankie ranger
    weet jy wat werk
    daai gewone toasted cheese en tomato braaibroodjie
    moenie n vaak seun wees nie,sit biltong by.
    wenner

• 95.rangerman: Reply to this comment

haha double movement se gat man, he is allowed to place the ball.

kill them cj whooohooooooo!

the lions love this final surge when they have already been bent and sent.

• 96.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-91:
    Nope Dusky, not at all.

• 97.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Well done Lions.

• 98.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-52: thanks boet, yeah GBS can give him my details

• 99.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Good on you Yucko….flippin Aussie commentators….

• 100.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-97:
    For sure, Lions done really good here. Away against a Reds team that are a very good side.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.