Paul Roos implosion continues

Schoolboy Derby reviews the top 1st XV action from around the country.


Paul Roos were beaten 22-20 by Oakdale over the weekend, which was their third consecutive defeat following losses to Tygerberg and Paarl Gym. The Stellenbosch school has been suffering from injuries over this time, but 1st XV head coach Thys Stoltz has blamed a lack of cohesion and dedication for their inconsistencies. This has been disappointing considering their strong start to the season and their recent win over Affies at the Wildeklawer Super Schools.

SACS picked up a big win over Bishops (21-8). It was revenge for a heavy defeat they suffered last year.

In other results, Outeniqua thrashed Brackenfell 94-7, while Tygerberg suffered an upset 23-21 loss to Strand.

Bishops 8 SACS 21
Outeniqua 94 Brackenfell 7
Paul Roos 20 Oakdale 22
Tygerberg 21 Strand 23
Wynberg 42 Durbanville 12


Dale kept their unbeaten record intact with a 21-18 win over Queen’s. As expected, it was a close encounter in the Eastern Cape Reunion derby, but Dale did the business to triumph.

Grey PE bounced back to winning ways with a 32-7 win against Graeme.

Dale 21 Queen’s 18
St Andrew’s vs Daniel Pienaar (cancelled)
Graeme 7 Grey PE 32
Cambridge 32 Stirling 17


Kearsney continued their good run of form with a convincing showing in their 49-13 drubbing of St Stithians. Glenwood also won big as they downed Pinetown 76-0.

There were also wins for Maritzburg and DHS over Hilton (24-14) and Northwood (26-13) respectively.

Maritzburg 24 Hilton 14
Kearsney 49 St Stithians 13
DHS 26 Northwood 13
Glenwood 76 Pinetown 0


KES are the suprising outfit of the season as they recorded another impressive, this time a 40-15 smashing of visiting Westville.

Affies and Waterkloof also dominated Jeppe (52-3) and John Vorster (70-3) respectively, while Grey Bloem eased to a 60-12 victory over Sentraal in the Bloemfontein derby.

Grey Bloem 60 Sentraal 12
KES 40 Westville 15
Jeppe 3 Affies 52
Monument 40 Parktown 7
Waterkloof 70 HTS John Vorster 3
St John’s 3 Michaelhouse 17
Menlopark 32 St Alban’s 23
Die Anker 10 Kempton Park 34
Eldoraigne 19 Zwartkop 16
HTS Witbank 6 HTS Middelburg 19
Middelburg 55 Nelspruit 27
Pretoria Boys’ 38 Sutherland 8
Marais Viljoen 29 St Benedict’s 29
Noord-Kaap 22 EG Jansen 13