Bulls optimistic about Stander, Potgieter

The Bulls said scans on injured loose forwards CJ Stander and Dewald Potgieter have shown they could be ready to face the Chiefs on Friday..

Stander (hip) and Potgieter (AC joint) sustained injuries against the Highlanders on Saturday. A statement from the Bulls said they expected them to be ready for the Hamilton match, one the Bulls must win in order to stay in touch with the conference leaders, the Stormers.

‘We were really concerned about both these players but Dr Org Strauss and his medical team did wonderful work and are positive that both will be available for selection,’ the release read. ‘The injuries are not as serious as initially thought. We are fortunate that the other 24 players on tour will all be available for selection.’

63 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

DOnt you mean to face the CHIEFS…..

They just played the Highlanders….

• 2.Airwell: Reply to this comment

I am very positive about us winning against the Chiefs. It is about history and we have their number like the Landers have ours.

• 3.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-2: If its about history then we should be worried dinosaurs could roam the earth again….history counts for nought.

• 4.stew: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-2: Well when you come back to reality , this is not the same Chiefs side of a few years ago ….. The Bulls have been shown to be pretenders not contenders and will be 4 tries down on the weekend … Chiefs by 15

• 5.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-1: Fail every week!

• 6.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-4:

Same way Chiefs were shown to be pretenders by Reds last week? Got steamrolled by the Reds pack with pick and drives. With Ben Lucas at 10….

Yeah right

• 7.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Good for them. They will need every bit of help to beat this Chiefs side. I will go with the Chiefs for this one.

• 8.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Highlanders by 5

• 9.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Chiefs pack still not destructive. Have played above themselves but got a snorting last week by Reds. Where was Retallick last week? Taumololo only one who showed up.

Bulls have a chance with their pack.Would also play Frans Venter in midfield.Sadie and Engelbrecht are still a bit iffy

Loss of Kahui is big for Chiefs as well,Willison hardly in his class.

• 10.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Bulls can win this.

• 11.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

bulls can win this, but so can the chiefs.

• 12.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-9:
    Chiefs coaches misread that Reds game completely, were not expecting them to come at them in the forwards, with their pick and go and short passing game. They will not make the same mistake with the Bulls, because the Bulls will definitely come at them with their behemoth pack.
    Chiefs backline will be the difference and if they can hold on to the pill for sustained periods and move the ball around, Bulls outside backs going to come flying up on defence and Chiefs offloaders and steppers will be off to the races.

• 13.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-11: Every week any team can win just look at the Rebels v Crusacheaters. But I feel confident about this game. I think it will be the Bulls by 7.

• 14.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-11: Way to commit to a result boet

• 15.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-12: That is normal game tactics by the Chiefs and has always been. If Morne kicks well at posts it will be an easy win for the Bulls

• 16.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I said before the tour that 10 points was a realistic points haul for the Bulls.

We got 10 so far. Anything from the Chiefs game will be a bonus.

All this means is that we are back to square one and will have to win everything once we’re back home.

The pressure just never lets up.

Durban in particular will be very tough.

• 17.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-16: We normally do win everything when we get home? I personally think 14 points is what we are coming home with.

• 18.RL: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-8: you mean Chiefs by 5.

I say Chiefs by 7-11 points. Bullies cannot feed injured players to a team looking to claim the no. 1 spot on the log.

• 19.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-15:
    Yes correct, if Chiefs discipline is off, Morne will have a big say in this game, as is normal.

• 20.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-17:

That would be fantastic, but very difficult to achieve. The Bulls aren’t the team of a few years ago.

They are good, but not complete. Their scrums are too weak. They don’t dominate the collissions like previous Bulls teams did, and their midfield combination hasn’t settled yet.

They have a lot of growing to do. In particular, our tight five has disappointed. We should be marching 20 yards with a rolling maul, like the Stormers do.

• 21.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-19: Hopefully the are not for my sakes

• 22.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-18:
    Earlier ,the thread read Bulls were facing Highlanders. Huge game for both teams, whoever wins this game will give them impetus and confidence…whoever loses, could be very costly with congested table

• 23.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-20: When we can throw the ball in straight at the lineout that is.

• 24.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-20: I agree they do have alot to learn. But I was at the Reds Bulls game and the way the Reds were beaten it was like watching that semi final again which I was also at, we were a different league. Then the Chiefs get rolled by the Reds and I get more confident. I just think that the Bulls will know how to beat them and if Morne gets his groove going we are going to win.

• 25.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-23:

Ja, but what this Stormers team always has in the bank is what the Bulls under Heyneke used to have. When all else fails, just go back to the tight five and the other team will wilt under the relentless advance.

It is a huge momentum and confidence booster.

• 26.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-23: At least against the Sharks it will not be such a setback as their linout is so kak.

• 27.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-13:
    yip, fingers crossed.

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-14:

• 28.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-24:

The Reds on that day would have lost to a club team. They had that weird looking red headed oke at flyhalf and were scraping the bottom of the barrel in a number of other positions as well.

It all is very simple. If the Bulls dominate the collissions, then they build momentum and then they unleash havoc on their opponents.

But when they can’t dominate the collissions, they are very ordinary.

And we just don’t have Bakkies Botha or Danie Rossouw to do that against tough teams anymore.

I think losing Jacques Potgieter further weakened us in that department.

We are always in with a shot, but last game on tour, against the high flying Chiefs will be a very tough ask.

• 29.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

If Dewald is injured, I would actually pick Juandre at 7, and bring Wilhelm Steenkamp in to cover for him at 5. That way we boost the size of our loose trio a bit.

• 30.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

dallan murphy

he brought new meaning to the words ‘finding your feet’ with his interesting repetoire of flyhalf play.

memories of gaffie or edrich… on a good day….

• 31.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-30: Still we had to put them away, they are defending champions after all.

• 32.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-28: I think that we are refining our game with CJ at the helm. You cannot play stampkar anymore else you get penalized out the game. I was impressed on Saturday with the captaincy of the Bulls they were obviously getting the wrong end of the calls but yet there was no arm flapping etc. I think the reason the Bulls are doing so well with a new team has alot to do with the attitude of the leadership in the team.

• 33.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-32:

Well it’s not a question of the team being just good or just bad.

There are lot’s of positives. The captaincy maybe boosts our performance by 10%. But I would argue that the bad scrumming costs us 10% again.

Our settled gameplan boosts us by say 10%. But then our unsettled midfield costs us 10% again.

If Morne is on song, he boosts us by 10%. If he is not, we lose that 10%.

The youngsters add a lot of energy, but our lack of a dominant tight five counteracts that again.

So there are plusses and minuses.

As I said, we have a lot of growing to do.

• 34.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-33: Do you believe if we beat the Chiefs on the weekend we are going to win this thing again?

• 35.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Spies going off on his own on that last lineout surge from Bulls cost them game. Bulls had been on ascendancy with pick and drives after lineout-slowly and efficiently making progress. Spies didnt look if there was support as numbers were depleted after multiple surges,needed to call for reloading to support him.Instead he picked up without surveiying situation,didnt keep his feet long enough and gave away penalty.Game over Bulls.

• 36.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-25: 100%. This aspect of the Stormers this year has done just that, allowed us to win games we otherwise would have lost badly.

If all else fails, give it to the tight 5.

To be honest, after all the years of under performing in that area, this is the most gratifying part of watching the Stormers this year. Watching guys like Eben dominate his opposition.

• 37.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-34:

I believe that it will come down to the Durban clash to decide who tops the SA conference.

If the SA conference leader doesn’t lead the overall log at the end, I don’t think an SA team will win it.

• 38.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Bulls must win in order to stay in touch with the conference leaders, the Stormers.

Yeah, assuming the briesies can beat the Sharks. Like I said they will lose maybe 4 (Tahs) def 3 games still.

Sharks
    Bulls
    Cheaters

• 39.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-31:

• 40.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP)-38:

I believe the Bulls will lose against the Chiefs.
    Bulls will win at Loftus against the Stormers.
    Sharks will win in Durban against the Stormers.

Then the log will be:

Bulls
    Stormers
    Sharks.

It all then comes down to the game in Durban. If we lose that, we end third. If we win it, we end first in the SA conference.

• 41.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-34:
    i’ve been saying that fr about three weeks now.

if this bulls team can beat the chiefs at home, and get a lot of their injured players back for the playoffs… then they will win the comp.

they have the crusaders number, cant see them losing to the brumbies or sharks and the stormers have depth issues.

• 42.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-40:

Don’t discount the Cheetahs in Bloem….

• 43.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP)-42:

I don’t. But that would be a nice bonus. Not something I’m counting on.

• 44.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-35:
    true, but the ref was ‘quick to the whislte’ too.

• 45.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-44:

Look, the difference on Saturday was the yellow card and Steyn’s wayward kicking.

We were in that game as much as we were in the Tahs game. So one win and one loss from those two games seems about fair.

• 46.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-41: I agree and I am confident that we will win. But you have to give it to the Storompies they are doing well as long as the can avoid the Crusacheaters in a playoff the are our biggest threat imo.

• 47.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

What’s up with Kirchner knocking so many balls on tour?

His head seems to be back in Pretoria still.

Very frustrating.

• 48.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP)-38: I think they will win atleast 2 of those three games. I think they will struggle this weekend in Durban.

• 49.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP)-42: Cheetahs succumbed to the Sharks in Bloem and the Cheetahs is suppose to be the Sharks boogey team. Stormers will take them in Bloem. Schalk and Koster will be back for that game. Maybe Duane too.

• 50.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-49:

I think the Bulls will trail the Stormers by 2 log points after this weekend’s games are concluded.

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.